Other eBooks
Anesthesiologist's Manual of Surgical Procedures, 6th ed. by
Selected as a Doody's Core Title for 2022 and 2023! Covering both surgical and anesthetic considerations, Anesthesiologist's Manual of Surgical Procedures, Sixth Edition, is an essential resource for formulation of an anesthetic plan and perioperative management of patients. All chapters are written by both surgeons and anesthesiologists, giving you a detailed, real-world perspective on the many variables that accompany today's surgical procedures. Presents preoperative, intraoperative, and postoperative anesthetic considerations in a clear, templated format, summarizing all courses of action in easy-to-read tables. Describes what the surgeon will likely be doing, variants of the procedure or approaches, patient population characteristics, and details of the procedure including positioning, length of procedure, postop care, and more. Features a full-color design to enhance readability of the tables and clarity of the illustrations. Updates to this edition include a new, heavily illustrated chapter overviewing regional blocks and new appendices covering individual components of enhanced recovery (ERAS) protocols and intraoperative use of transnasal humidified rapid-insufflation ventilatory exchange (THRIVE); as well as new, rapidly accessible tables and figures set on the inside back cover reviewing useful, but easily forgotten facts and dermatomes. An ideal reference for anesthesiologists, anesthesia residents, and CRNAs. Enrich Your eBook Reading Experience Read directly on your preferred device(s), such as computer, tablet, or smartphone. Easily convert to audiobook, powering your content with natural language text-to-speech.
Artificial Intelligence in Surgery: Understanding the Role of AI in Surgical Practice by
The first surgical AI guide of its kind! Machine learning, neural networks, and computer vision for surgical education, practice, and research While radiology and pathology are on the leading edge of AI in healthcare, surgery is showing tremendous potential for disruption by AI. Written for anyone not steeped in mathematics, technology, or engineering, this matchless guide gets ahead of the knowledge curve now--so you can evaluate new technologies with a critical eye and make informed decisions about bringing AI into your practice. Artificial Intelligence in Surgery covers the history, principles, and main subfields of AI, offering examples of current and near-future use cases for AI in surgery. It gives you a clear understanding of the ethical implications of AI, its potential impact on healthcare policy, and how to read and interpret papers that use AI. The appendix includes a quick reference on AI techniques, their use cases, strengths, and limitations; glossary of terms; important learning resources; and techniques (including examples of appropriate use cases, advantages, and limitations)--all of which can be used to interpret claims made by studies or companies using AI.
Blumgart's Surgery of the Liver, Biliary Tract and Pancreas, 7th ed. by
Balancing basic science with information on everyday clinical practice, Blumgart's Surgery of the Liver, Biliary Tract and Pancreas, 7th Edition, provides you with expert guidance and advances in the field so you can offer patients the most optimal diagnostic and surgical care. In two convenient volumes, Dr. William Jarnagin and his team of internationally recognized surgeons cover exactly what you need to know, including advances in diagnostic and surgical techniques, minimally invasive surgeries, new interventional diagnostic techniques, and all relevant diseases. This comprehensive, practical reference is designed to help you choose and perform the most appropriate procedures that will minimize inpatient hospital time, curtail costs, and reduce overall recovery time for your patients. Presents cutting-edge guidance on pathology, diagnostics, surgery and non-operative intervention of the liver, biliary tract, and pancreas in one highly regarded, authoritative reference. Covers all surgical approaches, both open and minimally invasive. Considers all worldwide opinions and approaches to management, and includes key data on surgical outcomes to better inform clinical decision-making. Contains 161 chapters with updated references and additional figures-more than 1,500 illustrations in all. The imaging section has been reorganized to reflect a disease-based approach. Includes new and expanded sections on advances in molecular characterization of benign and malignant HPB diseases, perioperative management, interventional techniques, minimally invasive surgery and robotics, and therapeutic advances for malignant disease. Features a section dedicated entirely to operative technique, plus a new historical chapter authored by Professor Jacques Belghitti: "Hepatobiliary and Pancreatic Surgery: Historical Perspective." Enhanced eBook version included with purchase. Your enhanced eBook allows you to access all of the text, figures, and references from the book on a variety of devices.
Current Procedures Surgery by
Learn to perform more than 50 of the most common surgical procedures with this step-by-step, superbly illustrated guide! "This book covers basic surgical procedures at an appropriate level of detail for midlevel surgical residents....The book is unique in that it presents information in a bullet-point format, making for fast and efficient reading....This book does a good job of breaking down the steps of a common general surgery procedure. It is easy to read and understand, with good visuals. It is among the best in its field because the text is easy to read and the illustrations highlight key anatomical parts. 3 Stars."--Doody's Review Service CURRENT Procedures Surgery is a unique combination atlas and text that details everything that you must know to perform more than 50 key surgical procedures. It covers the full spectrum of general surgery in an ultra-convenient, at-a-glance format, with more than 400 beautifully rendered illustrations to guide you every step of the way. An easy to follow template for each procedure includes: Indications,Contraindications,Informed Consent,Equipment,Patient Preparation,Patient Positioning,Procedure,Postoperative Care,Potential Complications,Pearls and Tips,References. Features: More than 400 illustrations created specifically for this book along with clear, concise text show you how to perform essential surgical procedures Coverage includes procedures for the breast, gastrointestinal tract, diaphragm, pancreas, liver, thyroid, parathyroid, adrenal, arteries and veins, and more Templated presentation facilitates rapid review Author's pearls and tips included for each procedure A must-have resource for anyone starting their surgical residency
Death and Bereavement Across Cultures by
All societies have their own customs and beliefs surrounding death. In the West, traditional ways of mourning are disappearing, and although Western science has had a major impact on how people die, it has taught us little about the way to die or to grieve. Many whose work brings them into contact with the dying and the bereaved from Western and other cultures are at a loss to know how to offer appropriate and sensitive support. Death and Bereavement Across Cultures 2nd Edition is a handbook which meets the needs of doctors, 　nurses, social workers, hospital; chaplains, counsellors and volunteers caring for patients with life-threatening illness and their families before and after bereavement. It is a practical guide explaining the religious and other differences commonly met with in multi-cultural societies when someone is dying or bereaved. In doing so readers may be surprised to find how much we can learn from other cultures about our own attitudes and assumptions about death. Written by international experts in the field the book: Describes the rituals and beliefs of major world religions; Explains their psychological and historical context; Shows how customs are changed by contact with the West; Considers the implications for the future The second edition includes new chapters that: explore how members of the health care professions perform roles formerly conducted by priests and shamans can cross the cultural gaps between different cultures and religions; consider the relevance of attitudes and assumptions about death for our understanding of religious and nationalist extremism and its consequences; discuss the Buddhist, Islamic and Christian ways of death. Death raises questions which science cannot answer. Whatever our personal beliefs we can all gain from learning how others view these ultimate problems. This book explores the richness of mourning traditions around the world with the aim of increasing the sensitivity and understanding which we all bring to the issue of death and bereavement.
ISBN: 9781315721088Publication Date: 2015-06-05
Essential Surgery: Problems, Diagnosis and Management, 6th ed. by
Essential Surgery is well-established as one of the leading textbooks of surgery for medical students, core surgical trainees and those in professions allied to medicine. Covering general surgery, trauma, orthopaedics, vascular surgery, urology, paediatric surgery, cardiothoracic surgery, neurosurgery, maxillofacial surgery and ENT, it also incorporates appropriate levels of basic science throughout. The book is ideal to accompany clinical courses, as well as being a practical manual for readers at more advanced levels requiring a revision aid for exams. Its main aim is to stimulate the reader to a greater enjoyment and understanding of the practice of surgery. The uniformity of the writing style and the clarity of elucidation will encourage continued reading, while the emphasis on the principles of surgery will enable a real understanding of the subject matter. The book incorporates a problem-solving approach wherever possible, emphasising how diagnoses are made and why particular treatments are used. The pathophysiological basis of surgical diseases is discussed in relation to their management, acting as a bridge between basic medical sciences and clinical problems. The book's extensive use of original illustrations, colour photographs, radiology images, boxes and tables emphasises important concepts and will promote easy revision of topics. The principles of operative surgery and pre-, peri- and postoperative care are explained together with outlines of common operations, enabling students and trainee surgeons to properly understand procedures and to participate intelligently in the operating department. A major and comprehensive revision of the text has taken full account of the progressive evolution of surgery and includes new scientific and clinical concepts that have advanced medical understanding. Ensuring the book's contents are aligned to the curriculum of the UK Intercollegiate MRCS examination has resulted in the addition of new topics including an emphasis on peri-operative care optimisation, enhanced recovery programmes, antibiotic use and resistance, updated cancer staging, minimally invasive surgery, and the evolving role of interventional radiology. Additional essential governance and management topics are covered, including patient safety, surgical ethics, communication, consent, clinical audit and principles of research. The broad experience of surgical teaching and training of two new editors and many new contributors, all with sub-specialist expertise, have brought a contemporary perspective on the book's contents and its presentation. New national and international guidelines for managing common disorders have been incorporated where appropriate, including major haemorrhage management pathways and trauma. There are new dedicated chapters on major trauma management and elective orthopaedics.
Essentials of Equipment in Anaesthesia, Critical Care and Perioperative Medicine, 6th ed. by
This sixth edition holds true to the original format and philosophy of the trail blazing first edition: syllabus focused text, great illustration, and helpful questions, plus web links. We have maintained the high standards that have made this the equipment book of choice not only for trainees in Anaesthesia, but also for our Operating Department Practitioner and Nursing colleagues. We have extensively updated the text, images and illustrations.
Handbook of Perioperative and Procedural Patient Safety by
Offering a concise yet comprehensive review of current practices in surgery and patient safety, Handbook of Perioperative and Procedural Patient Safety is an up-to date, practical resource for practicing surgeons, anesthesiologists, surgical nurses, hospital administrators, and surgical office staff. Edited by Drs. Juan A. Sanchez and Robert S. D. Higgins and authored by expert contributors from Johns Hopkins, it provides an expansive look at the scope of the problem, causes of error, minimizing errors, surgical suite and surgical team design, patient experience, and other related topics. Presents the knowledge and experience of a multidisciplinary team from Johns Hopkins University, which created the Comprehensive Unit-based Safety Program (CUSP), an approach for improving safety culture and engaging frontline clinicians to identify and mitigate defects in care delivery. Discusses the scope and prevalence of perioperative harm, causes of error in healthcare, and perioperative never events. Covers safe practices, cognitive workload and fatigue, and the effects of noise in the OR. Includes several team-based chapters such as the dynamics of surgical teams, safer perioperative team communication, and the culture of safety. Consolidates today's available information and guidance into a single, convenient resource.
Other eBooks
Liver Transplantation: Operative Techniques and Medical Management by
A concise, illustrated guide to the operative techniques and medical management of liver transplantation Filled with more than 1,000 images, illustrations, and bulleted text, this invaluable book provides a highly visual approach to liver transplantations for surgeons, gastroenterologists, hepatologists, and other healthcare professionals who treat patients with acute and chronic liver failure that requires full or partial transplantation.;You'll find coverage of all the topics relevant to liver transplantation, including ethics, complications, live and deceased donor evaluation, pharmacology, and anesthesia. This book will serve as a guide to residents, fellows, and senior physicians. It is easy to read, simple, and practical; FEATURES. Over 1,000 high quality images and illustrations Ethical considerations of organ transplantation Essentials of liver disease Pre- and post-operative patient management Donor considerations Quality of life issues Operative techniques Pathology and imaging, and more
Managing Stress: Skills for Anxiety Reduction, Self-Care, and Personal Resiliency, 11th ed. by
Offering a greater focus on anxiety reduction and self-care, Managing Stress: Skills for Anxiety Reduction, Self-Care, and Personal Resiliency, Eleventh Edition provides a comprehensive approach to stress management, honoring the balance and harmony of the mind, body, spirit, and emotions. Referred to as the “authority on stress management” by students and professionals, this book equips readers with the tools needed to identify and manage stress while also coaching on how to strive for health and balance in these changing times. The holistic approach taken by internationally acclaimed lecturer and author Brian Luke Seaward gently guides the reader to greater levels of mental, emotional, physical, and spiritual well-being by emphasizing the importance of the mind-body-spirit connection. Key Features: - New Chapter (1) on Living in an Upside-Down World - New Learning Objectives open each chapter offering direction to students in the learning ahead. - New Self-Care Toolboxes within each chapter provide helpful suggestions for taking care of oneself. - New Chapter (27) on Getting a Good Night’s Sleep - Updates throughout, including new studies and updated statistics that align with current literature. - Added coverage of newer social media platforms, such as Instagram and TikTok - New final chapter (28) provides “Additional Relaxation Techniques”, combining and revising content from chapter, 24, 25, and 26 of prior edition. - Unparalleled student resources, including “The Art of Peace and Relaxation” digital workbook, interactive eBook with audio introduction, knowledge check questions, eBook quizzes, relaxation media, flashcards, and more.
The Mont Reid Surgical Handbook by
Essential reading for residents and medical students, this popular handbook is a must-have resource for convenient, quick access to information on managing common surgical problems. Written by current surgery residents at the University of Cincinnati, the completely updated 7th Edition focuses on the surgical treatments, guidelines, procedures, and topics you need to know - both in print and online. Provides comprehensive guidelines for the treatment of the most common surgical conditions, including preoperative and postoperative care, as well as relevant pathophysiology. Includes surgical management that encompasses state-of-the-art technology and emphasizes minimally invasive techniques, including important coverage of laparoscopic cholecystectomy, appendectomy, and herniorrhaphy. Provides guidelines for proper medical record keeping as well as other mediocolegal aspects of surgical care. Offers detailed figures depicting important anatomical structures and operative techniques. New chapters cover Surgical Risk Assessment, Head and Neck Malignancy, Mediastinal Tumors, Dialysis Access, and Robotics. Rapid References section offers handy formulas and charts in one easy-access location. Thoroughly revised content throughout ensures that you stay up to date. Expert ConsultT eBook version included with purchase. This enhanced eBook experience allows you to search all of the text, figures, Q&As, and references from the book on a variety of devices.
Obesity: Clinical, Surgical and Practical Guide, 2nd ed. by
This heavily revised second edition comprehensively examines the causes and effects of obesity, both on the human body as well as society as a whole. The significance obesity plays in the development of a variety of lethal and non-lethal diseases is discussed, and the prevention and treatment of obesity are looked at in detail. Treatment strategies such as bariatric surgical techniques and descriptions of how to apply the latest assessment technologies are provided for obese adult and pediatric patients. A new section to this edition covers the impact of COVID-19 on obese patients and how it can create extra complications. Obesity: Clinical, Surgical and Practical Guide describes how to best treat and manage individuals with obesity utilizing the latest methodologies. Furthermore, it brings together a large number of international specialists in their field, making it a valuable resource for gastroenterologists, surgeons, researchers, dieticians, physicians, and healthcare providers.
ISBN: 9783031624919
Social Determinants of Health in Surgery by
At the core of the book Social Determinants of Health is the role of the physician best demonstrated by the quote of Sir William Osler, “the good physician treats the disease, the great physician treats the patient who happens to have that disease.” This statement foreshadows the necessary and critical understanding of social determinants and the impact that they have on the patients' health disparities and the delivery of care they receive. Many of these patients live in impoverished settings, who often are underrepresented minorities in healthcare in America. One of the most significant challenges for American Healthcare is addressing health disparities. The problem we saw highlighted best during the COVID-19 pandemic with the differential suffering of those who lived with disparities and significant social determinants of health. These social determinants are the factors that affect healthcare outcomes that are driven by either racial or ethnic differences that do not relate to medical-related factors. These determinants are the circumstances in which people are born, grow up, live, and work and the health systems that are put in place to deal with their illnesses. Determinants of health also relate to clinical care, genes, and biology but are the minority factors that determine health outcomes. Behaviors are largely driven by the educational, social, and economic factors and physical environment that make up the vast majority of the outcomes of health. These factors bolster the understanding that one's zip code versus genetic code is still the greatest determinant of your health outcome. It is crucial for the “great” (competent) physician to understand these social determinants in the context of their impact on their patient who happens to have diseases that are often driven by them. The impact of social determinants and their cost to American Healthcare is framed by the economic instability, the limited physical environment for both exercise and safety, a lack of quality education, food insecurity, the lack of full integration within communities, persistent discrimination, as well as limited access to health systems. All of these factors are critical for surgeons and physicians alike, to understand their implications and the healthcare outcomes of the patients they serve. Unfortunately, this is a burden we have ignored too long. This book provides the opportunity to look at each of these significant determinants, provides a basis for understanding and their impact, as well as the research that has been accomplished around this, demonstrating in many ways how we may address these determinants and improve disparities. Finally, we must avoid the misconception of this being a zero-sum game. In fact, we will create better healthcare for all both by taking down barriers and by creating more effective, efficient, and cost-effective healthcare systems by addressing these social determinants.
Surgical Decision Making by
Using a proven, practical, algorithmic approach, Surgical Decision Making summarizes evidence-based guidelines and practice protocols in an easy-to-follow format. Designed to sharpen the decision-making skills of both trainees and practicing surgeons, the 6th Edition directs your focus to the critical decision points in a wide range of clinical scenarios, helping you determine optimal evaluation and management to secure the best possible patient outcomes. Algorithms are accompanied by annotations that explain all critical factors affecting decisions in a concise, readable manner. Reflects the scope of practice of today's general surgeon, with fresh, expert perspectives from new editor Dr. Richard Schulick and numerous new contributors. Contains 58 new chapters and thoroughly revised content throughout. Includes new coverage of Preoperative Evaluation of the Geriatric Patient, Pancreatic Cystic Neoplasm, Familial Breast Cancer, Resuscitative Endovascular Balloon Occlusion of the Aorta, Blunt Cerebrovascular Injury, and much more. Uses an easy-to-follow, consistent format, with an algorithm on one page and short descriptions explaining the various steps in the decision-making process on the opposite page. Includes explanatory notes that summarize presenting signs and symptoms, laboratory investigation, diagnostic modalities, surgical therapies, and adjuvant therapies for each condition. Encompasses both general surgery and surgical subspecialties?helping you directly manage a broad range of problems. Emphasizes information that frequently appears on board exams. Enhanced eBook version included with purchase. Your enhanced eBook allows you to access all of the text, figures, and references from the book on a variety of devices.
Trauma, 9th ed. by
The world's leading resource for to diagnosing and treating any injury--quickly, safely, and effectively Unparalleled in its breadth and depth of expertly crafted content, Trauma takes you through the full range of injuries you are likely to encounter. With a full-color atlas of anatomic drawings and surgical approaches, this trusted classic provides thorough coverage of kinematics and the mechanisms of trauma injury, the epidemiology of trauma, injury prevention, the basics of trauma systems, triage, and transport, and more. It then reviews generalized approaches to the trauma patient, from pre-hospital care and managing shock, to emergency department thoracotomy and the management of infections; delivers a clear, organ-by-organ survey of treatment protocols; and shows how to handle specific challenges in trauma including alcohol and drug abuse, and combat-related wounds in addition to post-traumatic complications such as multiple organ failure. *500 photos and illustrations *Color atlas *Numerous X-rays, CT scans, and algorithms *High-yield section on specific approaches to the trauma patient *A-to-Z overview of management of specific traumatic injuries *Detailed discussion of the management of complications
The Washington Manual of Surgery, 7th ed. by
Concise, portable, and user-friendly, The Washington Manual of Surgery, 7th Edition , focuses on the essential information you need to know for successful care of patients with surgical disease. This bestselling reference presents brief, logical approaches to the management of patients with comprehensive surgical problems. Throughout the manual, content has been completely updated, including new review questions, new chapters, and new treatment algorithms. This 7th Edition provides a clear view of the challenges surgical residents face, practical solutions, and expert guidance - all in one convenient and easily accessible source. Key Features: Thoroughly revised with information on the latest advances in surgical technique, instrumentation, and standards of practice. New chapters on Biostatistics for the General Surgeon, Quality Improvement and Patient Safety, and Fundamentals of Endoscopic, Laparoscopic, and Robotic Surgery. Reorganized content emphasizes clarity and consistency, so you can find what you need more quickly. Comprehensive coverage addresses all areas taught in general surgical residencies, including pediatric surgery. Concise guidelines and algorithms assist in the diagnosis and management of surgical diseases. Updated references are provided for readers who would like additional information on a particular topic. Written by faculty and residents from the Washington University School of Medicine in St. Louis, one of the world's top surgical training programs. Now with the print edition, enjoy the bundled interactive eBook edition, which can be downloaded to your tablet and smartphone or accessed online and includes features like: Complete content with enhanced navigation Powerful search tools and smart navigation cross-links that pull results from content in the book, your notes, and even the web Cross-linked pages, references, and more for easy navigation Highlighting tool for easier reference of key content throughout the text Ability to take and share notes with friends and colleagues Quick reference tabbing to save your favorite content for future use
