Point of Care
- AskMayoExpert This link opens in a new window AskMayoExpert captures Mayo-vetted expert knowledge and delivers it at the point of care. This application is aimed at becoming a highly credible knowledge source for the non-specialist and a tool to facilitate interaction between Mayo clinicians.
- Mayo Formulary This link opens in a new window List of drugs approved for use at Mayo Clinic based upon safety, efficacy, and financial impact.
- AJCC Cancer Staging System - Version 9 (2024) The American Joint Committee on Cancer (AJCC) made an important change to how it updates and releases Cancer Staging content. The AJCC shifted from a Cancer Staging Manual to a Cancer Staging System and moved away from Editions to Versions. Updated Version 9 disease sites go into effect on January 1 following their release. AJCC Protocol for Cancer Staging Documentation, Version 9 The new AJCC Protocol Version 9 content is presented in a streamlined, easy-to-use format including synoptic staging report format, tables, explanatory notes, and illustrations. All disease sites in the 8th Edition Cancer Staging Manual remain current until replaced with Version 9. This manual was prepared and published through the support of the American College of Surgeons, the American Cancer Society, the American Society of Clinical Oncology, the College of American Pathologists, and the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention This work is subject to copyright. All rights are reserved by the ACS, whether the whole or the part of the material is concerned, specifically the rights of translation, reprinting, reuse of illustrations, recitations, broadcasting, reproduction on any physical or digital media, transmission or storage and retrieval, electronic adaptation, computer software, or by any similar or dissimilar technology known now or in the future. The use of general descriptive names, registered names, trademarks, service marks, etc. in this content does not imply, even in the absence of a specific statement, that such names are exempt from the relevant protective laws and regulations and therefore free for general use. ACS and the authors of this content are safe to assume that the advice and information in this content are believed to be true and accurate at the date of publication. Neither the ACS nor any authors or editors give a warranty, expressed or implied, with respect to the material contained herein or for any errors or omissions that may have been made. AJCC Cancer Staging Manual – 8th Ed. (2017) Users who require access to the original AJCC Cancer Staging Manual – 8th Ed. (2017) may view it here. The 8th edition manual is provided in its entirety as a reference and should not be used in developing new treatment plans. All current staging protocols are provided within the Version 9 AJCC Cancer Staging System.
- Clinical Overviews Surgery | ClinicalKey Comprehensive Clinical Topic Summaries
- AccessAnesthesiology This link opens in a new window Anesthesiology reference tool including online textbooks, procedural videos, practice guidelines, and self-assessment examinations.
- AccessSurgery This link opens in a new window Contains surgery textbooks, case studies, board reviews, images and procedure videos.
- ClinicalKey This link opens in a new window Clinical medicine resource which includes thousands of Elsevier electronic books and journals, practice guidelines, videos of procedures, images, and more. Login required to view PDF chapters of books. Registration in upper right corner of website.
- Micromedex This link opens in a new window Integrated searching of international drug reference resources from DrugDex, PoisIndex, PDR, Martindale's Extrapharmacopoiea, USP DI, ReproRisk, Material Safety Data Sheets, Index Nominum, and Lab Advisor.
- UpToDate This link opens in a new window Point-of-care clinical information resource covering multiple medical specialties.
Calculators
- GuidelineCentralSurgery, General
- UpToDateGeneral Surgery
- ClinicalKey Interactive tools to support treatment, diagnosis, and screening
- GuidelineCentral Over 100 free commonly used clinical formulas and calculator tools to help diagnose, treat, prevent, and determine prognosis of patients at point of care.
Guidelines
- ClinicalKeySurgery
- GuidelineCentralSurgery, General
- UpToDate Society GuidelinesGeneral Surgery
- ClinicalKey Latest clinical guidelines from leading organizations
- GuidelineCentral Access to thousands of clinical practice guidelines for medical professionals.
Clinical Trials
- CenterWatch: Clinical Trials Listing Service This link opens in a new window Designed to be a resource for both patients interested in participating in clinical trials and for research professionals.
- Clinical Trials Listing This link opens in a new window Provides regularly updated information about federally and privately supported clinical trials. Provides information about a trial's purpose, who may participate, locations, and phone numbers for more details.
eBooks
The Foundation and Art of Robotic Surgery by
The first multimedia medical text of its kind--presenting the most comprehensive and up-to-date full-color material about robotics in General Surgery. Written by the senior editors with the contribution of international renowned robotic surgeons and academics, The Foundation and Art of Robotic Surgery shows how to apply robotics in multiple anatomical locations, using a comprehensive, concise and practical written description of each standardized surgical procedure. Fifty-one chapters cover topics including General Principles of Robotic Surgery, Thyroid Surgery, Chest Surgery, Gastric and Bariatric Surgery, Intestinal Surgery, Spleen and Pancreas Surgery, Liver Surgery, Biliary Surgery, Adrenal Surgery, Hernia Surgery, Transplant Surgery and Additional Procedures (including principles of Single Port Robotic Surgery). Each operation is divided into steps with specific timeframes, for learning and teaching purposes, and each of these steps is a unit/block that needs to be sequentially acquired to become proficient in that specific procedure. Packed with 900+ photos and 900+ detailed anatomical and surgical drawings with also quick and easy access to 200+ surgical videos (including video clips of the most important steps and longer videos of full-procedures), The Foundation and Art of Robotic Surgery provides clear, concise and hands-on description of the instruments requirements, indications and relative contraindications to the robotic approach, preoperative phases including trocar placement, patient positioning, OR set-up, and a detailed and step-wise description of the operative steps. The Foundation and Art of Robotic Surgery guides the reader through the processes of using robots to make smaller incisions, decrease blood loss and postoperative pain, as well as foster quicker healing time and reduce hospital stays. Benefits to the surgeon include improved control over the instruments, better views of the surgical field, reduced fatigue, and decreased hand tremors, which are filtered out by the robot's software. Quick access to 200+ videos/video clips is available through the book in addition to boxed text highlighted tips and tricks, anatomical variations, common pitfalls, and average timeframes. Features 900+ photos 900+ drawings of the standard anatomy, anatomical variations and surgical maneuvers. Clear, concise presentation of the instruments/tools/material, indications and relative contraindications to the robotic approach, preoperative phases and each operative steps. Access to instructive videos clips (of the main steps and of the full procedures) appearing alongside numerous photos and anatomical illustrations. Boxed text highlight tips and tricks, anatomical notions, common pitfalls, editorial comments and average time frames. Techniques for robotic transplant surgery, renal aneurysm repair and Single Port Robotic Surgery principles are also covered.
Handbook of Robotic and Image-Guided Surgery by
Handbook of Robotic and Image-Guided Surgery provides state-of-the-art systems and methods for robotic and computer-assisted surgeries. In this masterpiece, contributions of 169 researchers from 19 countries have been gathered to provide 38 chapters. This handbook is 744 pages, includes 659 figures and 61 videos. It also provides basic medical knowledge for engineers and basic engineering principles for surgeons. A key strength of this text is the fusion of engineering, radiology, and surgical principles into one book.
ISBN: 9780128142455Publication Date: 2019-09-24
On Call Surgery by
Ideal for any on-call professional, resident, or medical student, this best-selling reference by Drs. Gregg A. Adams, Stephen D. Bresnick, Jared Forrester, and Graeme Rosenberg covers the common problems you'll encounter while on call without direct supervision in the hospital. On Call Surgery, 4th Edition, fits perfectly in your pocket, ready to provide key information in time-sensitive, challenging situations. You'll gain speed, skill, and knowledge with every call - from diagnosing a difficult or life-threatening situation to prescribing the right medication. Highlights medications, doses, and critical information in a second color for fast reference. Features a logical, highly templated format so you can locate key information quickly. Delivers consistent, easy-to-follow coverage of the most common on-call problems and approaches, including what to do from the initial phone call, questions you should ask to assess the urgency of each situation, "Elevator Thoughts," how to immediately identify major threats to life, what to do at the bedside, and how to avoid common mistakes for every call. Provides updated content and references, as well as an up-to-date drug formulary, keeping you on the cutting edge of current, evidence-based information. NEW! Expert ConsultT eBook version included with purchase. This enhanced eBook experience allows you to search all of the text, figures, and references from the book on a variety of devices.
Principles and Practice of Robotic Surgery by
lt has been a long time in its coming, a textbook focused entirely on robotic surgery. This magnificent work created and curated by the world-renowned robotic surgeon and educator Anthony J. Costello, MD, contains chapters covering the use of robotic surgery in adult and pediatric patients. The author list is a Who’s Who among the best robotic surgeons worldwide. This book covers all contemporary aspects of foundational and robotic surgery, taking an anatomic approach to these important areas.
The first 11 chapters, the Foundations section, cover the history of robotic surgery and the important aspects of robotic training. Topics such as robotic anesthesia, the operating room prep, and positioning of the equipment are discussed in great detail. Likewise, certification for robotic training, the use of artificial intelligence and virtual reality in the present, and the potential future use of robotic surgery are covered.
Urology was the first discipline to fully embrace robotic surgery. There is a large section devoted to all urologic procedures that are now performed robotically. Chapter 12, Chapter 13, Chapter 14, Chapter 15, Chapter 16, Chapter 17 delve into every aspect of robotic surgery for the prostate both for benign and malignant conditions. Careful attention to patient selection, port placement for a particular procedure, and tips, tricks, and nuances associated with a specific operation are clearly explained with excellent illustration and video. The specialist authors offer guidance for management of all routine and complex renal and adrenal robotic surgeries. Novel topics such as renal transplantation with the robot and robotic microsurgery are covered. The use of a new single port da Vinci platform is also well described.
To my knowledge, this is the first compilation for comprehensive access to all present robotic surgeries in all the various disciplines.
Textbook of Emergency General Surgery by
This text aims to provide a comprehensive review of general emergency surgery, the branch of medicine that treats patients presenting to the hospital with a wide variety of emergency conditions. It includes a section focusing on clinical aspects, management, logistics, patient cohorts and perioperative considerations in the context of general emergency surgery and trauma. Other sections describe various conditions and diseases in specific anatomical structures to enable readers to easily find the information they need. Written and edited by international experts and opinion leaders in the field, this book is a valuable reference resource for general and emergency surgeons, trauma surgeons, emergency physicians and nurses. It will also be of interest to residents, students and all other healthcare professionals involved in the management of emergency surgical patients.
Core eBooks
Mayo Clinic General Surgery by
Mayo Clinic General Surgery is a concise text that aims to provide learners with knowledge crucial to the development of surgical skill. Featuring nearly 200 "challenge" questions designed to reveal the gaps in your surgical knowledge and over 200 instructional videos, with accompanying videostills and transcripts, this book offers multiplatform educational content in a learner-friendly format. Contents include surgery by organ system, such as the esophagus and colon, and a special chapter for trauma assessment. Each chapter contains information on the organ system, includingembryology, anatomy, and physiology, as well as clinical presentations and imaging techniques. Finally, every chapter offers descriptions of operations and potential postoperative complications.Dr. Farley and his coauthors present the core concepts of general surgery instruction at Mayo Clinic, offering a unique glimpse at surgical training in this world-renowned institution. This book provides succinct and accurate information in a written, visual, and audiovisual format that allowsefficient access to surgical learners-especially those with just a few minutes to spare. Ultimately, the goal is to better prepare students, residents, and fellows for their surgical experiences and lead to better understanding with long-term retention.
Maingot's Abdominal Operations. 13th Edition by
The best edition yet of the cornerstone text on abdominal operations--enhanced by thousands of full-color photographs and illustrations and thoroughly updated content A Doody's Core Title for 2019! Edition after edition, Maingot's Abdominal Operations has been hailed as the most complete, current, and trusted resource among general, colorectal, and gastrointestinal surgeons. Presented in full color, this classic textbook carefully details common and important abdominal procedures, offering a concise, yet complete, survey of the diagnosis and management of benign and malignant digestive disorders. Bolstered by more than 650 photographs and 1,250 full color illustrations, Maingot's 78 chapters deliver everything you need to understand congenital, acquired, and neoplastic disorders - and optimize surgical outcomes for any type of abdominal disorder. FEATURES: * Contemporary focus on operative procedures, and new concepts in the diagnosis and management of abdominal disease * Convenient organ/procedure presentation provides a seamless review of surgical protocols, as well as pre- and postoperative strategies and techniques * Added chapters on quality metrics, ERAS, and robotic surgery; and an increased number of "Perspective" commentaries by experts in the field * Disease-focused and organ/procedure presentation provides a seamless review of surgical protocols, as well as pre- and postoperative strategies and techniques * More than 650 photographs and 1,250 full color illustrations, many new to this edition
Mulholland and Greenfield's Surgery, 7th ed. by
Selected as a Doody's Core Title for 2022 and 2023! Newly streamlined and focused on quick-access, easy-to-digest content, Mulholland and Greenfield's Surgery: Scientific Principles & Practice, 7th Edition, remains an invaluable resource for today's residents and practicing surgeons. This gold standard text balances scientific advances with clinical practice, reflecting rapid changes, new technologies, and innovative techniques in today's surgical care. New lead editor Dr. Justin Dimick and a team of expert editors and contributing authors bring a fresh perspective and vision to this classic reference. Presents the science that underpins the practice of surgery alongside practical clinical content. Features newly streamlined and condensed information with a clear, concise focus, as well as additional tables, procedural summaries of key steps, and pearls and pitfalls throughout. Covers general scientific principles such as inflammation, shock, nutrition, pain management, and much more, followed by surgical practice chapters arranged by organ system. Contains 2,100 full-color illustrations, anatomic drawings, and intraoperative photographs that visually support the text and make complex concepts easier to grasp. Chapters begin with Key Points and decision-making algorithms are listed in the front of the book for quick reference. eBook version features over 40 "Morbidity and Mortality" case discussions and an Interactive Question Bank with nearly 900 questions.
Operative Techniques in Surgery, 2nd ed. by
Selected as a Doody's Core Title for 2023! With an emphasis on the "how and why" of contemporary surgery, Operative Techniques in Surgery, Second Edition, features concise, bulleted text, full-color illustrations, and intraoperative photographs to clarify exactly what to look for and how to proceed. Meticulously edited by Drs. Mary T. Hawn, Aurora D. Pryor, Steven J. Hughes, Daniel Albo, Michael S. Sabel, Kellie R. Brown and Amy J. Goldberg, this comprehensive, two-volume surgical atlas focuses on the steps of each technique, rapidly directing you to the information you need to choose the right approach for each patient, perform it successfully, and achieve the best possible results. Coverage includes open as well as laparoscopic, robotic, endoscopic, and endovascular procedures in gastrointestinal, thoracic, esophageal, colorectal, hepatobiliary, breast, endocrine, dermatologic, vascular, and trauma surgery New, comprehensive section on trauma surgery, helmed by trauma expert Dr. Amy J. Goldberg New section editors for esophageal and foregut surgery and vascular surgery, Dr. Aurora D. Pryor minimally invasive surgery leader and Kellie R. Brown, expert in vascular surgery. New videos, personally selected by contributing authors and editors, accompany numerous chapters throughout the book Extensive updates throughout, including new coverage of the American Board of Surgery's SCORE Curricula for General Surgery and for Complex General Surgical Oncology Each procedure follows the same format: differential diagnosis, patient history and physical findings, imaging and other diagnostic studies, surgical management, techniques, pearls and pitfalls, postoperative care, outcomes, and complications Enrich Your eBook Reading Experience Read directly on your preferred device(s), such as computer, tablet, or smartphone. Easily convert to audiobook, powering your content with natural language text-to-speech.
Principles and Practice of Surgery, 8th ed. by
This comprehensive textbook is the surgical companion to the international bestseller, Davidson's Principles and Practice of Medicine. It provides an overview of core surgical topics encountered in an integrated medical curriculum and, later, in the clinical setting. The book takes a succinct and practical approach to the understanding of surgical disease and care of the surgical patient. It offers comprehensive coverage of the key surgical specialties and includes emerging issues around patient safety and the critical importance of clinical human factors in surgical practice. Fully updated to reflect changes in understanding and evidence-based practice, this is a text that keeps the student up to date and that no trainee surgeon should be without. Easy to read, logical to follow Summary boxes and evidence boxes throughout to complement the text Superbly presented with line drawings, high quality radiographic images and colour photographs to help in exams and in the clinical setting. Aligned with undergraduate and postgraduate surgical curricula New chapters on professional and ethical responsibilities, global surgery, patient safety and clinical human factors Comprehensive information on global surgical practice Full online and eBook version available as part of Student Consult
Sabiston Textbook of Surgery, 21st ed. by
For more than 80 years, Sabiston Textbook of Surgery: The Biological Basis of Modern Surgical Practice has been the go-to text for trainees and surgeons at all levels of experience for definitive guidance on every aspect of general surgery. As the oldest continuously published textbook of surgery in North America, this fully revised 21st Edition continues to provide the key information, essential teaching pearls, and completely updated content needed to make the most informed surgical decisions and achieve optimal outcomes for patients. Concisely written and evidence based throughout, it covers the breadth of material required for certification and practice of general surgery, highlighted by detailed, full-color intraoperative illustrations and high-quality video clips. Follows a clear, consistent progression beginning with principles common to surgical specialties including fluid and electrolyte management, metabolic support, and wound healing. Subsequent sections review the management of injury, transplantation, oncology, breast, endocrine, and abdominal procedures. Covers key topics such as emerging surgical technologies and devices, regenerative medicine, the latest concepts in cancer biology and treatments, and evidence-based management and treatment. Emphasizes the most up-to-date minimally invasive techniques and the use of robotics when indicated. Features more than 2,000 superb illustrations and intraoperative photographs and 25 procedural videos that facilitate quick comprehension of surgical techniques. Includes more schematic diagrams, summary tables, boxes, and algorithms that provide a rich resource for reviewing surgical techniques and preparing for in-training and board exams. Shares the expertise of dozens of new authors and includes two new chapters on robotic surgery and fetal surgery. Contains fully updated content on topics encountered by general surgery residents in training as well as in-depth coverage of subspecialty areas including head and neck, thoracic, vascular, urology, neurosurgery, pediatrics, and gynecology. Enhanced eBook version included with purchase. Your enhanced eBook allows you to access all of the text, figures, and references from the book on a variety of devices.
Schwartz's Principles of Surgery, 11th Edition by
The BEST EDITION yet of the #1 text for surgical practice and education For half-a-century, no other text has provided such a solid grounding in basic science, anatomy, operative techniques, and more recently, professional development and leadership training, as Schwartz's Principles of Surgery. Written by the world's foremost surgeons, this landmark reference offers distinctly modern and all-encompassing coverage of every important topic in general surgery. Enhanced by a new two volume presentation, the Eleventh Edition has been completely updated and refreshed with an emphasis on state-of-the-art, evidence-based surgical care. You will find an exciting array of new contributors from around the world, new chapters on cutting-edge topics, plus the acclaimed learning aids that make the material easier to understand and memorize. This outstanding content is bolstered by more than 800 photographs and 1,300 line drawings, most in full color, as well as online videos demonstrating key operations. Here's why the Eleventh Edition is the best edition yet: Six timely new chapters on important topics such as enhanced recovery after surgery (ERAS), ambulatory/outpatient surgery, evidence for surgery practice, skills and simulation, and web-based education and social media High-quality full-color design showcases an unsurpassed illustration program Emphasis on high-yield discussion of diagnosis and treatment of surgical disease, arranged by organ system and surgical specialty Acclaimed learning aids (many new to this edition), including an abundance of completely up-to-date tables that summarize the most current evidence, boxed key points, detailed anatomical figures, diagnostic and management algorithms, and an abundance of completely up-to-date tables, and key references More than the field's cornerstone textbook, Schwartz's Principles of Surgery is an international compendium of the knowledge and technique of the world's leading surgeons.
Current Diagnosis and Treatment Surgery, 15th Edition by
Evidence-based, point-of-care information on the full scope of diseases and disorders most often treated by surgeons * Expansive coverage of general surgery and all subspecialties you need to be versed in, including otolaryngology, plastic and reconstructive surgery, gynecology, orthopedics, urology, oncology, organ transplantation, and pediatric surgery * Intuitively organized to help you find answers quickly and easily * More than 600 photographs and illustrations * Detailed treatment algorithms * Concise overview of core topics in the general surgery curriculum * Hundreds of chapter-ending multiple-choice review questions * Updated throughout with the latest research and discoveries
Current Surgical Therapy, 14th ed. by
An essential resource for written, oral, and recertifying board study, as well as an excellent reference for everyday clinical practice, Current Surgical Therapy, 14th Edition, provides trusted, authoritative advice on today's best treatment and management options for general surgery. Residents and practitioners alike appreciate the concise, highly formatted approach to each topic, as well as the practical, hands-on advice on selecting and implementing current surgical approaches from today's preeminent general surgeons. This highly regarded text remains the only surgical reference of its kind, offering a complete array of topics and delivering just the key facts. Covers virtually every problem that a general surgeon may encounter, synthesizing vast amounts of information into concise, digestible chapters. Provides thoroughly updated information throughout, including focused revisions to the most in-demand topics. Presents each topic using the same easy-to-follow format: disease presentation, pathophysiology, diagnostics, and surgical therapy. Includes eight all-new surgical videos covering enteral stents in the treatment of colonic obstruction; multiple management approaches to spigelian, obturator, and lumbar hernias; spontaneous and secondary pneumothorax, and acute mesenteric ischemia. Features more than 2,000 illustrations-line drawings, graphs, algorithms, clinical/operative photographs, micrographs, and radiological images-including hundreds new to this edition. Integrates minimally invasive surgical techniques, basic science, and critical care aspects of surgical practice throughout. Discusses which approach to take, how to avoid or minimize complications, and what outcomes to expect. Provides a quick, efficient review prior to surgery and when preparing for surgical boards and ABSITEs. Enhanced eBook version included with purchase. Your enhanced eBook allows you to access all of the text, figures, and references from the book on a variety of devices.
Kirk's Basic Surgical Techniques, 8th ed. by
The first edition of Kirk’s Basic Surgical Techniques was published in 1973. Since that time Professor Jerry Kirk updated and revised his classic work five times, reducing and refining the text into a more synoptic publication. He intended it to be a reference and learning text for trainee surgeons learning the foundations of their surgical craft. I was one of those surgical trainees who carried a well-thumbed third edition in my now defunct white coat. Thus, I was most honoured when he personally asked me to update the previous, seventh, edition, in particular as it was his personal favourite of all of his publications. Sadly, Professor Kirk is no longer with us, but I hope this further update of his little book will give both a flavour of his direct and personal teaching method and a source of reference for aspiring and practising trainee surgeons.
The book is intentionally written in the second person. This was Professor Kirk’s style, providing personal instruction by addressing the reader directly. It is not intended to be an operative surgery book, and any reference to specific operations is to put into context the basic techniques used. If you are reading this book as a trainee surgeon, I wish you every success in your surgical career.
ISBN: 9780443113673- The Foundation and Art of Robotic Surgery by
The first multimedia medical text of its kind--presenting the most comprehensive and up-to-date full-color material about robotics in General Surgery. Written by the senior editors with the contribution of international renowned robotic surgeons and academics, The Foundation and Art of Robotic Surgery shows how to apply robotics in multiple anatomical locations, using a comprehensive, concise and practical written description of each standardized surgical procedure. Fifty-one chapters cover topics including General Principles of Robotic Surgery, Thyroid Surgery, Chest Surgery, Gastric and Bariatric Surgery, Intestinal Surgery, Spleen and Pancreas Surgery, Liver Surgery, Biliary Surgery, Adrenal Surgery, Hernia Surgery, Transplant Surgery and Additional Procedures (including principles of Single Port Robotic Surgery). Each operation is divided into steps with specific timeframes, for learning and teaching purposes, and each of these steps is a unit/block that needs to be sequentially acquired to become proficient in that specific procedure. Packed with 900+ photos and 900+ detailed anatomical and surgical drawings with also quick and easy access to 200+ surgical videos (including video clips of the most important steps and longer videos of full-procedures), The Foundation and Art of Robotic Surgery provides clear, concise and hands-on description of the instruments requirements, indications and relative contraindications to the robotic approach, preoperative phases including trocar placement, patient positioning, OR set-up, and a detailed and step-wise description of the operative steps. The Foundation and Art of Robotic Surgery guides the reader through the processes of using robots to make smaller incisions, decrease blood loss and postoperative pain, as well as foster quicker healing time and reduce hospital stays. Benefits to the surgeon include improved control over the instruments, better views of the surgical field, reduced fatigue, and decreased hand tremors, which are filtered out by the robot's software. Quick access to 200+ videos/video clips is available through the book in addition to boxed text highlighted tips and tricks, anatomical variations, common pitfalls, and average timeframes. Features 900+ photos 900+ drawings of the standard anatomy, anatomical variations and surgical maneuvers. Clear, concise presentation of the instruments/tools/material, indications and relative contraindications to the robotic approach, preoperative phases and each operative steps. Access to instructive videos clips (of the main steps and of the full procedures) appearing alongside numerous photos and anatomical illustrations. Boxed text highlight tips and tricks, anatomical notions, common pitfalls, editorial comments and average time frames. Techniques for robotic transplant surgery, renal aneurysm repair and Single Port Robotic Surgery principles are also covered.
A Manual of Basic Microsurgical Techniques by
A practical surgical manual providing a step-by-step guide to basic microsurgical techniques for the reconstruction of small vessels, nerves, and vas deferens. Includes access to videos demonstrating core microsurgical techniques.
ISBN: 9781032535760Publication Date: 2023-11-16
Education
Abernathy's Surgical Secrets by
For more than 30 years, the highly regarded Secrets Series® has provided students and practitioners in all areas of health care with concise, focused, and engaging resources for quick reference and exam review. Abernathy's Surgical Secrets, 7th Edition, features the Secrets' popular question-and-answer format that also includes lists, tables, and an easy-to-read style - making reference and review quick, easy, and enjoyable. The proven Secrets® format gives you the most return for your time - concise, easy to read, engaging, and highly effective. Covers the full range of essential topics in general surgery for in-training or practicing professionals. Written by global experts and thought leaders in surgery. Top 100 Secrets and Key Points boxes provide a fast overview of the secrets you must know for success in practice and on exams. Portable size makes it easy to carry with you for quick reference or review anywhere, anytime. Fully updated throughout, with clear illustrations, figures, and flow diagrams that expedite study and review. Expert ConsultT eBook version included with purchase. This enhanced eBook experience allows you to search all of the text, figures, and references from the book on a variety of devices.
ABSITE Review Questions by ISBN: 9781266139680
ABSITE Slayer, 2nd Edition by
Ace the ABSITE with the most rigorous, high-yield exam review available Focusing specifically on the American Board of Surgery In-Training Examination, ABSITE Slayer reduces pre-test anxiety and provides the knowledge and confidence you need to pass the exam. Packed with critical, up-to-date information, this powerful study aid provides a complete framework for your exam preparation and is highly efficient for last-minute review, as well. You'll find everything you need to ace the exam in one comprehensive package--from full-color illustrations to "make or break" tips--delivered by expert authors who know exactly what it takes to succeed. What makes ABSITE Slayer the leading study aid on the market? 450+ multiple-choice and 1,000+ quick-hit single answer questions Test-taking tips that can make the difference between success and failure Full-color illustrations of must-know anatomy Valuable clinical pearls Easy-to-retain concise text Logical organ-based organization Chapters on pharmacology, anesthesia, cell biology, and fluids/electrolytes/nutrition
Case Files Surgery, Sixth Edition by
Real-life cases sharpen your critical thinking skills for your clerkship and the shelf exam The 60 cases in Case Files: Surgery feature realistic clinical scenarios designed to help you enhance and hone your clinical decision-making skills. Each case includes an easy-to-understand discussion correlated to key concepts, definitions of key terms, clinical pearls, and Board-style review questions to reinforce learning. The format allows you to review a patient vignette and then explore/examine the case in a contextual, application-based manner. The book is ideal for both quick-access and slow and careful study. Realistic cases are accompanied by questions that encourage you to think through the differential diagnosis and treatment options Real-life surgery cases with high-yield discussions aligned to clerkship guidelines USMLE-style review questions and clinical pearls accompany each case Primer on how to approach clinical problems and think like an experienced doctor
The General Surgeon's Guide to Passing the Oral Boards by
A comprehensive, accessible study resource for the general surgery oral boards Preparing for the American Board of Surgery certifying exam can be daunting. Based on the ACS curriculum outline, The General Surgeon's Guide to Passing the Oral Boards is an invaluable tool for maximizing your study time. The unique format makes this book optimal for quick referencing and self-study. The table of contents is broken down by organ system and surgical sub-specialties. Topics on the curriculum are categorized as either core or advanced. Each chapter begins with a list of topics. And each disease process is covered along with the relevant points of the history and physical, work-up, staging, treatment options, key surgical steps, and post-operative care. Designed as a tool to study for the oral boards, this is also an ideal quick reference guide for residents and practicing surgeons looking to brush up on procedural steps or the work up of complex conditions.
General Surgery Examination and Board Review, Second Edition by
The best cases, the best questions, the best review--the BEST way to prepare for the General Surgery Boards and ABSITE Ideal for both written and oral board prep, General Surgery Examination and Board Review is the perfect way to prepare for your certification exams. Covering the full range of exam topics, this high-yield review features an effective case-based approach that sharpens clinical decision-making skills and gives the content real-world relevance. Each of the 100+ chapters opens with a clinical case and is followed by Q&A related to that particular case. You also get detailed evidenced-based answer explanations and references to facilitate more in-depth study. Features: 175 photos and illustrations 700+ questions with detailed answer explanations Topics mirror the exam blueprint to maximize the effectiveness of the study process Includes chapters on ethical/legal issues, robotic-assisted surgery, end of life care, and surgical nutrition Content reflects the latest clinical advances.
Metabolic and Bariatric Surgery Exam and Board Review by
With 500+ questions, this case-based study guide provides the hands-on practice surgeons need to ace the board exam for metabolic and bariatric surgery Metabolic and Bariatric Surgery Exam and Board Review delivers the most relevant clinical information for preparing for this rigorous test. And with hundreds of practice questions and complete explanations for each one, this unmatched case-based study guide enables you to prepare for the test before exam day--building your knowledge and confidence for when it matters most. Features 200 photos and illustrations 500+ questions with detailed answer explanations Topics mirror the certification exam outline Case-based approach sharpens clinical decision-making skills.
Pocket Journal Club: Essential Articles in General Surgery by
A combination primer on evaluating the surgical literature and summary of landmark articles in general surgery Pocket Journal Club: Essential Articles in General Surgery is a complete primer on how to efficiently evaluate the surgical literature, conduct literature searches, and identify high-impact articles. It also delivers concise, high-yield summaries of more than 130 of the most important surgical papers of the past few decades. These carefully selected summaries help you better understand the studies that have shaped surgical specialties and continue to inform clinical practice today. Features:Articles are conveniently arranged by subspecialty fields within general surgery * Each article summary is accompanied by brief commentary explaining the paper's importance and relevance to current practice * Designed to guide you towards a practice grounded in evidence, and enhance your ability to find and evaluate new information ;Essential reading for medical students, surgical trainees, as well as practicing clinicians who want an index of cornerstone literature
Resident Readiness General Surgery by
ARE YOU READY? GET RESIDENT READY. Resident Readiness: General Surgery prepares you for success during your surgical internship. Inside is a full range of scenarios you may experience during your residency, supported by comprehension questions with detailed answer explanations and tips to help you remember. You will also learn the clinical problem-solving process so you can think quickly on your feet, especially when time is critical. With the book's step-by-step guidance, you will gain the confidence you need to perform at your best on Day One of your residency. BEYOND TREATING YOUR PATIENT, RESIDENT READINESS PREPARES YOU TO Handle inpatient problems on the floor Manage patients in the ED, including trauma Follow up with patients in the outpatient clinics post-surgery Triage multiple simultaneous admissions and/or consults.
Schwartz's Principles of Surgery ABSITE and Board Review, 11th Edition by
The premier exam-prep guide for surgery--with 800+ board-style practice questions with detailed answers and rationales Based on general surgery's cornerstone text, Schwartz's Principles of Surgery, this unmatched study guide provides everything they need to ace your exams--whether you're a resident or a practicing surgeon seeking recertification. Developed by the top minds in modern surgery, Schwartz's Principles of Surgery ABSITE and Board Review, 11th Edition delivers the most current, authoritative perspectives on surgical practice. Each practice question is accompanied by answers and comprehension-building rationales, ensuring complete understanding of the material. Answers are keyed to the latest edition of Schwartz's Principles of Surgery providing only the studying only relevant, applicable material from the most authoritative source possible. Features *300 photos and illustrations *Updated chapters--all aligned with the latest American Board of Surgery Qualifying Board Examination blueprint *Questions reflect those most likely to appear on the American Board of Surgery in-training exam and the surgery board exam *Excellent prep for both written and oral boards
Journals
Research Tools
- CINAHL This link opens in a new window Covers nursing and allied health disciplines. Includes journal articles, healthcare books, nursing dissertations, selected conference proceedings and standards of professional practice. Some full text available.
- Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews This link opens in a new window Includes the full text of regularly updated systematic reviews of the effects of healthcare prepared by The Cochrane Collaboration.
- EMBASE This link opens in a new window Strong emphasis on drug-related literature & toxicology, in addition to all espects of human medicine. Also covers nursing, dentistry, paramedical professions, podiatry, homeopathy.
- PubMed This link opens in a new window Free access to MEDLINE & PREMEDLINE databases from the National Library of Medicine. Includes links to other NLM resources including NCBI databases, OMIM, MedlinePlus consumer health data & PubMed Central free digital archive of biomedical literature.
- SCOPUS This link opens in a new window Includes articles from more than 4,000 publishers, covering the scientific, medical, technical & the social sciences. For articles published since 1996 many include the full bibliography & abstract, and links to other papers citing those publications.
- Web of Science This link opens in a new window The Web of Science contains a remarkable treasure of data on scientific content, impact, and collaborations from 1900 to the present day on a global scale.
Mayo Clinic Resources
Mayo Clinic Libraries Services
- Patients' Libraries The Mayo Clinic Libraries offer Patients’ Library services at several locations. Visit these guides for details about the collections and services available at each location.
- W. Bruce Fye History of Medicine Library The W. Bruce Fye History of Medicine Library is a specialized library housing important collections in the history of medicine and allied sciences. Several thousand volumes of rare medical classics (from 1479) and early journal literature (from 1665) comprise the core collection of primary literature on all aspects of medicine and allied fields. More recently published histories, biographies, facsimiles, and other support materials comprise the remainder of the collection of some 23,000 total volumes. Special strengths include anesthesiology, cardiology, dermatology, immunology, ophthalmology and neurology. The library also has a large collection of Mayo physician bound reprints.
Please let us know if you have any suggestions, questions, or find broken links. Contact us at: