Point of Care
- AskMayoExpert This link opens in a new window AskMayoExpert captures Mayo-vetted expert knowledge and delivers it at the point of care. This application is aimed at becoming a highly credible knowledge source for the non-specialist and a tool to facilitate interaction between Mayo clinicians.
- Mayo Formulary This link opens in a new window List of drugs approved for use at Mayo Clinic based upon safety, efficacy, and financial impact.
- Mayo Clinic Guide to Antimicrobial Therapy Quick Guide We designed this electronic handbook to serve as a simplified, quick reference guide for the busy day-to-day office and hospital clinical practice. This guide provides updated information about antimicrobial agents and select infectious disease syndromes in a format that is readily accessible and easily applicable to the clinical environment.
- AJCC Cancer Staging System - Version 9 (2024) The American Joint Committee on Cancer (AJCC) made an important change to how it updates and releases Cancer Staging content. The AJCC shifted from a Cancer Staging Manual to a Cancer Staging System and moved away from Editions to Versions. Updated Version 9 disease sites go into effect on January 1 following their release. AJCC Protocol for Cancer Staging Documentation, Version 9 The new AJCC Protocol Version 9 content is presented in a streamlined, easy-to-use format including synoptic staging report format, tables, explanatory notes, and illustrations. All disease sites in the 8th Edition Cancer Staging Manual remain current until replaced with Version 9. This manual was prepared and published through the support of the American College of Surgeons, the American Cancer Society, the American Society of Clinical Oncology, the College of American Pathologists, and the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention This work is subject to copyright. All rights are reserved by the ACS, whether the whole or the part of the material is concerned, specifically the rights of translation, reprinting, reuse of illustrations, recitations, broadcasting, reproduction on any physical or digital media, transmission or storage and retrieval, electronic adaptation, computer software, or by any similar or dissimilar technology known now or in the future. The use of general descriptive names, registered names, trademarks, service marks, etc. in this content does not imply, even in the absence of a specific statement, that such names are exempt from the relevant protective laws and regulations and therefore free for general use. ACS and the authors of this content are safe to assume that the advice and information in this content are believed to be true and accurate at the date of publication. Neither the ACS nor any authors or editors give a warranty, expressed or implied, with respect to the material contained herein or for any errors or omissions that may have been made. AJCC Cancer Staging Manual – 8th Ed. (2017) Users who require access to the original AJCC Cancer Staging Manual – 8th Ed. (2017) may view it here. The 8th edition manual is provided in its entirety as a reference and should not be used in developing new treatment plans. All current staging protocols are provided within the Version 9 AJCC Cancer Staging System.
- Drug Approvals and Databases | FDA Includes information about drugs approved for human use in the United States: Drug information, Regulatory history, Most recent FDA-approved Prescribing Information and patient labeling, and Reviews by FDA staff that evaluate the safety and effectiveness of the drug.
- Drug Monographs | ClinicalKey Drug and dosing information to guide treatment
- Facts & Comparisons e-Answers Facts and Comparisons eAnswers is a collection of clinical databases and clinical decision support tools that provides users with an extensive drug information library. This guide is designed to help users understand and navigate the Facts and Comparisons eAnswers application. The application home screen provides users with access to Facts and Comparisons content via global search or by using the tools in the blue bar.
- FDA Approved Drug List | CenterWatch The following database contains a listing of drugs approved by the Food and Drug Administration (FDA) for sale in the United States. Drug information typically includes the drug name, approval status, indication of use, and clinical trial results.
- DailyMed | National Library of Medicine DailyMed provides high quality information about marketed drugs. The National Library of Medicine (NLM) provides this as a public service and does not accept advertisements
- LactMed | National Library of Medicine The LactMed® database contains information on drugs and other chemicals to which breastfeeding mothers may be exposed. It includes information on the levels of such substances in breast milk and infant blood, and the possible adverse effects in the nursing infant. Suggested therapeutic alternatives to those drugs are provided, where appropriate. All data are derived from the scientific literature and fully referenced. A peer review panel reviews the data to assure scientific validity and currency.
- LiverTox | National Library of Medicine LiverTox® provides up-to-date, unbiased and easily accessed information on the diagnosis, cause, frequency, clinical patterns and management of liver injury attributable to prescription and nonprescription medications and selected herbal and dietary supplements. The LiverTox site is meant as a resource for both physicians and patients as well as for clinical academicians and researchers who specialize in idiosyncratic drug induced hepatotoxicity.
- Micromedex This link opens in a new window Integrated searching of international drug reference resources from DrugDex, PoisIndex, PDR, Martindale's Extrapharmacopoiea, USP DI, ReproRisk, Material Safety Data Sheets, Index Nominum, and Lab Advisor.
- NatMed Pro This link opens in a new window Formed by the merger of Natural Standard and Natural Medicines Comprehensive Database, it contains evidence-based information on complementary and alternative therapies. Also features the ability to compare the effectiveness of different natural medicines for a given condition. Interactions, pregnancy & lactation, and adverse effects checkers are also included.
- PubChem | National Library of Medicine PubChem is the world's largest collection of freely accessible chemical information. Search chemicals by name, molecular formula, structure, and other identifiers. Find chemical and physical properties, biological activities, safety and toxicity information, patents, literature citations and more.
- RxNorm | National Library of Medicine RxNorm provides normalized names for clinical drugs and links its names to many of the drug vocabularies commonly used in pharmacy management and drug interaction software, including those of First Databank, Micromedex, Multum, and Gold Standard Drug Database. By providing links between these vocabularies, RxNorm can mediate messages between systems not using the same software and vocabulary. RxNorm now includes the United States Pharmacopeia (USP) Compendial Nomenclature from the United States Pharmacopeial Convention. USP is a cumulative data set of all Active Pharmaceutical Ingredients (API).
- PharmGKB Research tool developed to aid researchers in understanding how genetic variation among individuals contributes to differences in reactions to drugs.
- AccessAnesthesiology This link opens in a new window Anesthesiology reference tool including online textbooks, procedural videos, practice guidelines, and self-assessment examinations.
- AccessEmergencyMedicine This link opens in a new window Collection of books, case files, study tools, and procedure videos with an emergency medicine focus.
- AccessMedicine This link opens in a new window Reference tool containing online textbooks, images & illustrations, case files, diagnostic tools, and self-assessment examinations.
- AccessPediatrics This link opens in a new window Comprehensive Pediatric resource containing key textbooks, case files, study tools and videos.
- ClinicalKey This link opens in a new window Clinical medicine resource which includes thousands of Elsevier electronic books and journals, practice guidelines, videos of procedures, images, and more. Login required to view PDF chapters of books. Registration in upper right corner of website.
- UpToDate This link opens in a new window UpToDate, an electronic clinical resource tool for physicians and patients that provides information on Adult Primary Care and Internal Medicine, Allergy and Immunology, and more …
Herbal & Dietary Supplements
- Natural Medicines | Therapeutic Research Center Contains evidence-based information on complementary and alternative therapies. Also features the ability to compare the effectiveness of different natural medicines for a given condition. Interactions, pregnancy & lactation, and adverse effects checkers are also included.
Calculators
- ClinicalKeyDrug Calculators
Guidelines
- ClinicalKeyPharmacology
- ClinicalKey Latest clinical guidelines from leading organizations
- GuidelineCentral Access to thousands of clinical practice guidelines for medical professionals.
Lippincott Procedures
- Lippincott Procedures This link opens in a new window Point of care evidence-based guidance for over 1700 procedures and skills from a wide variety of nursing specialties. Also includes Mayo site-specific policies.
Click on All Nursing then Specialty (Advanced Practice, Ambulatory Care, Behavioral Health, Critical Care, Dermatology, Emergency, Home Care, Hospice, Long Term Care, Maternal-Neonatal, Medical-Surgical, Neonatal Critical Care, Oncology, Pediatric, Pediatric Critical Care, then Drug Administration
Core eBooks
Katzung's Basic & Clinical Pharmacology, 16th ed. by
The most comprehensive and authoritative pharmacology text --updated with new content and USMLE-style questions Presented in full-color and packed with hundreds of illustrations, Basic and Clinical Pharmacology is the wide-ranging, engaging guide students have counted on for decades. To be as clinically relevant as possible, the book includes sections that specifically address the clinical choice and use of drugs in patients and the monitoring of their effects, along with case studies that introduce clinical problems. Each chapter opens with a case study, covers drug groups and prototypes, and closes with summary tables and diagrams that encapsulate important information. Updated to reflect the latest research, this sixteenth edition features a new chapter on cannabinoids, USMLE-style questions, new drug tables, and more. Basic and Clinical Pharmacology, Sixteenth Edition features: * 330 full-color illustrations * NEW: 100 drug tables * NEW: 50 USMLE-style questions * NEW: Chapter on cannabinoids * A strong emphasis on drug groups and prototypes * Case studies and chapter-ending summary tables * Organization that reflects the syllabi of pharmacology courses * Descriptions of important new drugs
Brenner and Stevens' Pharmacology, 6th ed. by
More detailed than an outlined review but less overwhelming than an encyclopedic reference, Brenner and Stevens' Pharmacology, 6th Edition, focuses on the essential principles you need to know in a concise, easy-to-understand manner. Authored by Craig W. Stevens, PhD, this highly illustrated introductory text helps you learn and retain key information in pharmacology-taking you from course exams and the USMLE Step 1 right through to clinical practice. New and extensively revised content keeps you up to date with the latest pharmacologic mechanisms and applications. Teaches the fundamental aspects of pharmacology using full-color illustrations, detailed explanations, and a consistent format to present classification of drugs for each system/disease. Helps you understand both the basic science foundations and clinical applications of pharmacology, with useful tables, drug classifications boxes, case studies, and self-assessments in each chapter to help you review and prepare for course exams and Step 1. Includes the latest drugs and therapeutic indications (more than 100 are new to this edition), along with an entirely new chapter on recent developments of immunopharmacology drugs, including antivirals and vaccinations. Addresses key topics such as antiviral and monoclonal drugs to treat COVID-19, the opioid epidemic, and gene therapy. Features more than 700 new and updated images, with many revised figures focused on clearing presenting the mechanism of action of drugs. Includes access to bonus eBook content such as animations, an additional glossary, chapter-by-chapter summaries and case studies, a full list of featured drugs, 150 USMLE-style self-assessment questions, and more. Enhanced eBook version included with purchase. Your enhanced eBook allows you to access all of the text, figures, and references from the book on a variety of devices.
Brody's Human Pharmacology, 7th ed. by
Brody's Human Pharmacology is a well-established and much-loved textbook that guides students of medicine, pharmacology and other health professions through pharmacology from both basic and clinical perspectives. What can be a very difficult and complex topic is divided into easily digestible chapters, each of which is clearly structured from a therapeutic overview to mechanisms of action, relationships to clinical responses, pharmacokinetics, pharmacovigilance, new developments, and clinical relevance for all health professionals. Contains all the essential aspects of pharmacology - suitable for exam preparation Full color illustrations explain important processes and color-coded boxes enhance understanding Therapeutic overviews, clinical problems and trade names - everything you need to know Self-assessment questions and further reading to reinforce learning Current developments for each class of drugs and how information relates to students in the healthcare professions bring learning to life Updated content throughout Pharmacodynamics chapter revised to include discussions of positive and negative allosteric modulators, as well as biased agonism Pharmacogenetics chapter considers genetic variations and their relationship to drug responses Section on cancer drugs revised to reflect major advances New chapter on immunological and cell-based therapies
ISBN: 9780323846738Publication Date: 2023-03-01
Dale's Pharmacology Condensed, 3rd ed. by
Covering the essential basic science and principles of pharmacology using concise text and diagrams, Dale's Pharmacology Condensed, 3rd Edition, presents the key facts and concepts that are key to understanding how drugs work and their underlying pathophysiological processes. Each chapter provides an organized, consistent approach to efficient learning and retention of complex information. This concise text is an ideal companion volume to Rang and Dale's Pharmacology, as well as a stand-alone condensed textbook or review book for exams. All content has been thoroughly revised and updated, with new coverage of fast-moving therapeutic areas such as the development of biologics, new therapeutics for cancer treatments, dermatology and immune mediated diseases, and new advances in pharmacological principles such as biased agonism. Each chapter condenses key information to provide the necessary core knowledge, as well as essential therapeutic information. Written by experienced teachers who provide a clear focus on what today's students need to know. Ideal for exam preparation with explanatory diagrams throughout, important drugs identified with bold type, and multiple choice questions for self-assessment and review. Enhanced eBook version included with purchase. Your enhanced eBook allows you to access all of the text, figures, and references from the book on a variety of devices.
Elsevier's 2024 Intravenous Medications, 40th ed. by
Find the essential information you need to safely administer more than 400 intravenous drugs! For nearly 50 years, Elsevier's Intravenous Medications: A Handbook for Nurses and Health Professionals has been a trusted resource for complete, accurate drug information in a concise, quick-access format. New to the 2024 edition are 8 monographs of the most recent IV drugs to be approved by the FDA, in addition to updated drug uses, interactions, precautions, alerts, and patient teaching instructions for all current IV drugs. Known as the #1 IV drug handbook on the market, this annual publication is ideal for use in critical care areas, at the nursing station, in the office, and in public health and home care settings. Detailed monographs on more than 400 IV drugs provide an impressive breadth of coverage that goes well beyond any comparable drug reference. Individual monographs include the drug name, phonetic pronunciation, usual dose, dilution, compatibility, rate of administration, actions, indications and uses, contraindications, precautions, interactions, side effects, antidote, and more. Additional drug monographs are provided on the Evolve website. Highlighted Black Box Warnings make it easy to locate information on medications with serious safety risks. Blue-screened text calls attention to special circumstances not covered by Black Box Warnings. Dosage and dilution charts within monographs provide quick summaries of essential clinical information. Life-stage dosage variances are highlighted for geriatric, pediatric, infant, and neonatal patients. Convenient, A-to-Z format organizes all drug monographs by generic name, allowing you to find any drug in seconds. Spiral binding allows the book to lie flat, leaving your hands free to perform other tasks. NEW! Drug monographs for 8 newly approved drugs by the FDA include the most current information. NEW! Updates on drug uses, interactions, precautions, alerts, and more are included throughout the guide to reflect changes to existing medications. NEW! Information on preparation and administration of injectable drugs from the National Coalition for IV Push Safety
2024 Nelson's Pediatric Antimicrobial Therapy, 30th ed. by
Completely updated and revised, the 30th edition of this best-selling reference provides instant access to the latest recommendations for treatment of infectious diseases in children. For each disease, the authors provide a commentary to help select the best of all antimicrobial choices. Drug descriptions cover all antimicrobial agents available today and include complete information about dosing regimens. Free updates are available at aap.org/Nelsons. New in the 30th Edition Updated multiple drug-resistant gram-negative pathogens treatment recommendations with newly approved antibiotics Newer antibiotics, beyond vancomycin, to treat MRSA infections Updates on children's influenza, COVID-19, and enterovirus treatments Updates on travelers' diarrhea Latest guidelines for treatment of invasive pediatric fungal infections New guidelines for treatment of pediatric bacterial arthritis Recommendations on hepatitis C virus and cytomegalovirus treatment options; CHAPTERS INCLUDE Antimicrobial Therapy According to Clinical Syndromes Antimicrobial Therapy for Neonates Choosing Among Antibiotics Antifungal Agents Antiviral Agents Antiparasitic Agents Preferred Therapy for Specific Bacterial and Mycobacterial Pathogens; Fungal Pathogens; Viral Pathogens; and Parasitic Pathogens Approach to Antibiotic Therapy for Drug-Resistant Gram-Negative Bacilli and Methicillin-Resistant Staphylococcus aureus Systemic and Topical Antimicrobial Dosing and Dose Forms Sequential Parenteral-Oral Antibiotic Therapy (Oral Step-Down Therapy) for Serious Infections Antimicrobial Prophylaxis/Prevention of Symptomatic Infection Approach to Antibiotic Allergies Antibiotic Stewardship Antibiotic Therapy for Children With Obesity And more...
ISBN: 9781610026970Publication Date: 2024-02-01
Litt's Drug Eruption and Reaction Manual, 30th ed. by
Litt's Drug Eruption & Reaction Manual is a succinct reference to give clinicians the essential information for an informed decision about patient management. The full database from which it is derived -- Litt's Drug Eruption & Reaction database: www.drugeruptiondata.com -- currently holds over 1800 drug profiles with over 73,000 documented drug reactions, as evidenced by well over 156,000 references on PubMed, and is internationally relied upon by medical practitioners for its unparalleled focus on adverse effects and cutaneous reactions. As a special offer for this 30th edition, a 12-month free access to the database is offered to buyers of a new print copy of this edition in 2024. This edition: Provides documentation of adverse reactions to the 1500 most consulted drug and herbal profiles Gives clinicians managing patients with many different medications a route to making an informed decision about problematic reactions Offers clinicians a one-stop reference for the essential information about a drug CONTENTS: A to Z listing of the 1500 most consulted drug and herbal profiles (including supplements, vaccines, and botanicals), including generic name and trade names; pharmaceutical company; indications; half-life; and pregnancy category Descriptions of important reactions List of drugs that cause important adverse reactions List of main classes of drugs 28 tables showing reactions of members of a class of drugs (such as statins or monoclonal antibodies), enabling clinicians to see at a glance whether a reaction is common to all drugs included in that class, or to a majority of them, or is known in only a handful--information that is critical for an informed decision to change drugs within the same class 2 tables showing reported genetic associations with cutaneous adverse drug reactions and recommendations regarding genetic screening to prevent cutaneous adverse drug reactions A concordance of synonyms and trade names for ease of cross-reference
ISBN: 9781032663593
Goldfrank's Toxicologic Emergencies, 11th ed. by
The best edition yet of the landmark text in medical toxicology A Doody's Core Title for 2019; Covering every aspect of poison management, this indispensable case-based resource has been thoroughly refreshed to deliver evidence-based principles viewed through the lens of an active bedside clinical practice. In no other reference will you find such a diverse roster of esteemed editors and authors who deliver expert insights into every type of toxicologic emergency, whether due to substance abuse or exposure to toxins; Fully referenced and supported by a cohesive organization and full-color format, Goldfrank's begins with a historical perspective on medical toxicology principles and the general approach to the patient. It then progresses to the fundamental principles of medical toxicology, encompassing biochemical and molecular concepts; the effect of xenobiotics on vital organs and body systems; and toxicologic principles in special populations; The Eleventh Edition of Goldfrank's Toxicologic Emergencies is the most rigorous volume to date, driven by a precise analysis of the latest medical literature and complex cases designed to facilitate differential diagnosis; New to this Edition: * Additional cases and "Special Considerations" chapters designed to enhance clinical decision-making and patient outcomes * New "Antidotes in Depth" provides timely, critical information on toxicologic treatment strategies; * New content on toxicogenomics explores its increasingly important role in predictive toxicology * Chapter-ending bulleted summaries of key points; * Updated coverage of synthetics such as "K2" * Revised chapters on medical, clinical, and chemical toxicology include updated insights on poison emergencies, treatment strategies, and risk assessment tools
Goodman and Gilman's the Pharmacological Basis of Therapeutics, 14th ed. by
The go-to pharmacology reference that medical and health science professionals have relied upon for more than 50 years! For more than 50 years, Goodman & Gilman's The Pharmacological Basis of Therapeutics, has been the comprehensive, go-to reference that medical and health science professionals have relied upon as the pinnacle of authority and accuracy in describing the actions and uses of therapeutic agents in relation to physiology and pathophysiology. Goodman & Gilman's balance of basic science and clinical applications has guided thousands of health care practitioners and students to a clear understanding of the drugs essential to preventing, diagnosing and treating disease. The fourteenth edition features more than 600 color illustrations, including 50 new figures on mechanism of drug actions which emphasizes the link between basic mechanisms of action of drug action, pathophysiology of disease, and therapeutic use of drugs. Features: * Five NEW chapters:  Pharmacovigilance  Gastrointestinal Microbiome and Drug Response  The Blood-Brain Barrier  Cannabis  Antibodies, Immune Checkpoint Inhibitors, CAR-T cells, and other Biological Agents * 600+ color illustrations * 50 NEW figures on mechanism of drug actions * All chapters have been revised and generally expanded with new material * Throughout: Expanded coverage of the need to consider genetic polymorphisms in designing appropriate therapies * A greatly revised and expanded chapter on Pharmacodynamics and the Molecular Mechanisms of Drug Action * 53 NEW contributors * NEW online updates
Poisoning and Drug Overdose, 8th ed. by
When every moment counts, count on Poisoning & Drug Overdose Speed is crucial when dealing with toxicologic and drug-related emergencies. Finding answers quickly is easier than ever with this streamlined eighth edition of Poisoning and Drug Overdose. This instant-answer guide provides the critical information needed to diagnose and manage drug-related emergencies and chemical exposures. Updated with newly released drugs and new information on existing drugs, the guide covers initial emergency management, including treatment of coma, seizures and hypotension; physical and laboratory diagnosis; and methods of decontamination and enhanced elimination of poisons. Poisoning and Drug Overdose, Eighth Edition is divided into four sections: Section I. Provides a stepwise approach to the evaluation and treatment of coma, seizures, shock, and other complications of poisoning and the proper use of gastric decontamination and dialysis procedures. Section II. Lists specific poisons and drugs, as well as the pathophysiology, toxic dose and level, clinical presentation, diagnosis, and specific treatment associated with each substance. Section III. Covers descriptions of therapeutic drugs and antidotes, including pharmacology indications, adverse effects, drug interactions, and recommended dosage. Section IV. Describes the approach to hazardous materials incidents; the evaluation of occupational exposures; and the toxic effects, physical properties, and workplace limits for over 500 common industrial chemicals. Poisoning and Drug Overdose, Eighth Edition is enhanced by numerous tables and charts, as well as a user-friendly index. This trusted resource has consistently been relied upon by front line professionals responding to drug-related emergencies and chemical exposures.
Rang & Dale's Pharmacology, 10th ed. by
In this edition, as in its predecessors, we set out not just to describe what drugs do but to explain the mechanisms by which they act. This entails analysis of physiological mechanisms and pathological disturbances at the cellular and molecular level. Pharmacology has its roots in therapeutics as well as in organic chemistry and biotechnology, so we have attempted to make the link between effects at the molecular and cellular level and the range of beneficial and harmful effects that humans experience when drugs are used for therapeutic or other reasons. Many psychoactive drugs are not prescribed as medicines or sold over the counter. Some of these are widely used for pleasure, especially by young people, sometimes with harmful consequences. While our main emphasis is on therapeutic use, psychoactive drugs, drug addiction and tolerance are also covered. Similarly, there is a chapter on drugs used (or abused) in sport and for other lifestyle purposes.
Education
- Hospital Pharmacist's Letter | Therapeutic Research Center Covers new developments in drug therapy and trends in pharmacy practice. Includes monthly recommendations with the latest drug therapy updates, plus educational resources and tools.
- Hospital Pharmacy Technician's Letter | Therapeutic Research Center Provides reliable recommendations and practical help for hospital pharmacy technicians.
Case Files Pharmacology, 3rd ed. by
REAL-LIFE CLINICAL CASES FOR THE BASIC SCIENCES AND USMLE STEP 1 Experience with clinical cases is key to excelling on the USMLE Step 1 and shelf exams, and ultimately to providing patients with competent clinical care. Case Files: Pharmacology provides 56 true-to-life clinical cases that illustrate essential concepts in pharmacology. Each case includes an easy-to-understand discussion correlated to key basic science concepts, definitions of key terms, pharmacology pearls, and USMLE-style review questions. With Case Files, you'll learn instead of memorize. Learn from 56 high-yield cases, each with board-style questions Master key concepts with clinical pearls Polish your approach to clinical problems and to patient care Maximize your board scores with the proven Case Files system
Katzung & Trevor's Pharmacology Examination & Board Review, Fourteenth Edition by
Score your highest on medical pharmacology courses and board exams with the world's bestselling pharmacology review book! The #1 Review Book in Pharmacology Features: * Beautiful illustrations and tables in the text * Summary of the drugs covered at the end of each chapter * Text with MCQs after each chapter, which provide a good review in itself * Two full syllabus tests at the end, with 100 MCQs in each test * Very specific checklist that ensures you don't skip learning key topics * Exposure to international curriculum and drugs * Accessible approach and easy to understand text * Short and crisp outline of Katzung's Basic and Clinical Pharmacology Katzung & Trevor's Pharmacology Exam and Board Review covers all current drugs and antiretrovirals, immunologic agents, and chemotherapies. Edited by the world leading figures in pharmacology and medicine, the high-yield text focuses on basic principles, autonomic drugs, cardiovascular-renal drugs, and drugs with actions on smooth muscle, central nervous system drugs, and drugs used to treat chemotherapeutic drugs, and toxicology. This authoritative resource delivers a clear, concise review of fundamental concepts backed by more than 1,000 review questions and answers. With fully up-to-date content, the chapter-based approach facilitates use with course notes or larger texts. Katzung & Trevor's Pharmacology Exam and Board Review includes: 1,000+ board-review type questions with detailed answers Two 100-question exams with an answer key with detailed explanations Lists of high-yield terms and definitions in each chapter Skill Keeper Questions that help you understand the connections of related topics Checklist of tasks you should be able to perform upon completion of the chapter Summary tables that provide key information about specific drug mechanisms of action and effects, clinical uses, pharmacokinetics, drug interactions, and toxicities Test-taking strategies for improving your test performance 160 photos and illustrations--including explanatory figures and tables, and overview diagrams that visually organize drug groups and concepts
ISBN: 9781265084905Publication Date: 2024-06-19
Workbook and Casebook for Goodman and Gilman's the Pharmacological Basis of Therapeutics by
A new companion study guide to the most respected text in pharmacy education. Workbook and Casebook for Goodman and Gilman's The Pharmacological Basis of Therapeutic delivers concise, high-yield summaries of the world-renowned coverage of the actions and uses of therapeutic agents in relation to physiology and pathophysiology found in Goodman & Gilman's The Pharmacological Basis of Therapeutics. In order to maximize the learning and teaching experience, this unique review is packed with pedagogical aids such as learning objectives, summaries of key points, self-assessment Q&A, case vignettes, and a complete test bank in the final chapter. Perfect as a self-study guide or as a required classroom review, the book contains features and content that will appeal to both students and professors.
Journals
Research Tools
- CINAHL This link opens in a new window Covers nursing and allied health disciplines. Includes journal articles, healthcare books, nursing dissertations, selected conference proceedings and standards of professional practice. Some full text available.
- Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews This link opens in a new window Includes the full text of regularly updated systematic reviews of the effects of healthcare prepared by The Cochrane Collaboration.
- EMBASE This link opens in a new window Strong emphasis on drug-related literature & toxicology, in addition to all espects of human medicine. Also covers nursing, dentistry, paramedical professions, podiatry, homeopathy.
- PubMed This link opens in a new window Free access to MEDLINE & PREMEDLINE databases from the National Library of Medicine. Includes links to other NLM resources including NCBI databases, OMIM, MedlinePlus consumer health data & PubMed Central free digital archive of biomedical literature.
- SCOPUS This link opens in a new window Includes articles from more than 4,000 publishers, covering the scientific, medical, technical & the social sciences. For articles published since 1996 many include the full bibliography & abstract, and links to other papers citing those publications.
- Web of Science This link opens in a new window The Web of Science contains a remarkable treasure of data on scientific content, impact, and collaborations from 1900 to the present day on a global scale.
Clinical Trials
- CenterWatch: Clinical Trials Listing Service This link opens in a new window Designed to be a resource for both patients interested in participating in clinical trials and for research professionals.
- Clinical Trials Listing This link opens in a new window Provides regularly updated information about federally and privately supported clinical trials. Provides information about a trial's purpose, who may participate, locations, and phone numbers for more details.
Mayo Clinic Libraries Services
- Patients' Libraries The Mayo Clinic Libraries offer Patients’ Library services at several locations. Visit these guides for details about the collections and services available at each location.
- W. Bruce Fye History of Medicine Library The W. Bruce Fye History of Medicine Library is a specialized library housing important collections in the history of medicine and allied sciences. Several thousand volumes of rare medical classics (from 1479) and early journal literature (from 1665) comprise the core collection of primary literature on all aspects of medicine and allied fields. More recently published histories, biographies, facsimiles, and other support materials comprise the remainder of the collection of some 23,000 total volumes. Special strengths include anesthesiology, cardiology, dermatology, immunology, ophthalmology and neurology. The library also has a large collection of Mayo physician bound reprints.
Please let us know if you have any suggestions, questions, or find broken links. Contact us at: