eBooks
Clinical Challenges in Therapeutic Drug Monitoring by
Clinical Challenges in Therapeutic Drug Monitoring: Special Populations, Physiological Conditions and Pharmacogenomics focuses on critical issues in therapeutic drug monitoring including special requirements of therapeutic drug monitoring important to special populations (infants and children, pregnant women, elderly patients, and obese patients). The book also covers issues of free drug monitoring and common interferences in using immunoassays for therapeutic drug monitoring. This book is essential reading for any clinician, fellow, or trainee who wants to gain greater insight into the process of therapeutic drug monitoring for individual dosage adjustment and avoiding drug toxicity for certain drugs within a narrow therapeutic window. The book is written specifically for busy clinicians, fellows, and trainees who order therapeutic drug monitoring and need to get more familiar with testing methodologies, issues of interferences, and interpretation of results in certain patient populations.
Clinical Ethics: a Practical Approach to Ethical Decisions in Clinical Medicine, Ninth Edition by
The go-to textbook on the increasingly important and rapidly evolving topic of medical ethics Ethical issues are embedded in every clinical encounter between patients and clinicians. In order to practice excellent clinical care, clinicians must understand ethical issues such as informed consent, decisional capacity, surrogate decision making, truth telling, confidentiality, privacy, the distinction between research and clinical care, and end-of-life care. This popular, clinically-oriented guide provides crystal-clear case-based coverage of the ethical situations encountered in everyday medical practice. Clinical Ethics introduces the proven Four Box Method--a much-needed pattern for collecting, sorting, and ordering the facts of a clinical ethical problem. This easy-to-apply system is based on simple questions about medical indications, patient preferences, quality of life, and contextual features that explain clinical ethics and help clinicians formulate a sound diagnosis and treatment strategy. In each chapter, the authors discuss case examples and provide analysis, comments, and specific recommendations. The book is divided into the four topics that constitute the essential ethical structure of every clinical encounter: Medical Indications, Preferences of Patients Quality of Life Contextual Features
Clinical Wards Secrets by
Finally, a book that answers the questions you have as you begin your clinical rotations. In the popular format of the Secrets Series, this book will help ease the transition from the classroom to the clinical wards. The popular Q&A format is an easy-to-use, didactic approach and covers all of the important procedures and processes you will need to know in the hospital, in the clinic, and on the ward. Throughout you will find valuable tips and "secrets" written by students and residents. This student-to-student approach ensures you are getting the most current and accurate information. Uses bulleted lists, tables, short answers, and a highly detailed index to expedite reference. Provides tips and "secrets" from top-performing students and residents, ensuring relevance and practicality. Covers all of the information you will need to stay completely current and transition smoothly to the clinical setting. Includes a list of the "Top 100 Secrets" to keep in mind during a rotation or residency. Features a compact, trim size (5 1/4" x 8 1/2") for enhanced portability. Makes information easier to find with a two-color page layout and "Key Points" boxes. Contains a glossary of common medical abbreviations and 3 new appendices; history taking, neurological exam, and miscellaneous, for even more complete coverage.
ISBN: 9780323057509Publication Date: 2008-12-17
Current Diagnosis and Treatment: Geriatrics, 3/e by
The highly rated geriatrics guide has been updated and streamlined, getting you up to speed on everything you need to know--quickly and efficiently One of the top-selling geriatrics guides in medicine, Current Diagnosis & Treatment:Geriatrics now covers the unique challenges clinicians are facing today,such as policies concerning special populations, care in collaboration with teams, and working within healthcare systems. Presented by a top-ranked group of internationally renowned experts, this concise and authoritative guide delivers everything you need to know about assessment, care, conditions, diseases, and symptoms of geriatric patients; provides a new focus on policy, society, and the global environment;and includes new chapters on assisted-living settings, HIV and aging, and aid in dying.
Death and Bereavement Across Cultures by
All societies have their own customs and beliefs surrounding death. In the West, traditional ways of mourning are disappearing, and although Western science has had a major impact on how people die, it has taught us little about the way to die or to grieve. Many whose work brings them into contact with the dying and the bereaved from Western and other cultures are at a loss to know how to offer appropriate and sensitive support. Death and Bereavement Across Cultures 2nd Edition is a handbook which meets the needs of doctors, 　nurses, social workers, hospital; chaplains, counsellors and volunteers caring for patients with life-threatening illness and their families before and after bereavement. It is a practical guide explaining the religious and other differences commonly met with in multi-cultural societies when someone is dying or bereaved. In doing so readers may be surprised to find how much we can learn from other cultures about our own attitudes and assumptions about death. Written by international experts in the field the book: Describes the rituals and beliefs of major world religions; Explains their psychological and historical context; Shows how customs are changed by contact with the West; Considers the implications for the future The second edition includes new chapters that: explore how members of the health care professions perform roles formerly conducted by priests and shamans can cross the cultural gaps between different cultures and religions; consider the relevance of attitudes and assumptions about death for our understanding of religious and nationalist extremism and its consequences; discuss the Buddhist, Islamic and Christian ways of death. Death raises questions which science cannot answer. Whatever our personal beliefs we can all gain from learning how others view these ultimate problems. This book explores the richness of mourning traditions around the world with the aim of increasing the sensitivity and understanding which we all bring to the issue of death and bereavement.
ISBN: 9781315721088Publication Date: 2015-06-05
Decision Making in Perioperative Medicine: Clinical Pearls by
Minimize risk for your surgery-bound patient with this concise high-yield clinical reference Ideal for hospitalists, internists, family physicians, physician assistants, nurse practitioners and others involved in the perioperative period, Decision Making in Perioperative Medicine: Clinical Pearls focuses on the critical process of assessing and managing patients with medical comorbidities undergoing surgical procedures. It provides preoperative validated risk assessment tools and mitigation strategies for identified comorbidities. Emphasizing risk factors and filled with clinical pearls for postoperative complications, this thorough, expertly written resource covers perioperative medication management; cardiac, pulmonary, and frailty risk indices with modification strategies; diabetes management using target-specific anticoagulants; and challenging perioperative cases. Features *Includes only the top references for each topical area streamlining the search for key literature *Tables throughout convey massive amounts of information for quick access *Provides need-to-know evidence-based clinical decision making informatio
Developing Your Compassion Strengths: A Guide for Healthcare Students and Practitioners by
This practical book suggests ways in which healthcare students and practitioners can develop their compassion strengths. Discussing what compassion is and means, it includes a new compassion strength model and a series of exercises the reader can use for reflecting on and developing their practice. A hallmark of healthcare practice is compassion, yet there is a lack of understanding as to what compassion is and how it can be developed in practice. The book begins with the challenge of defining compassion, particularly looking at healthcare contexts and making links between self-care and caring for others. It then presents a new, evidence-based holistic model that brings together key elements of compassion for self and other, along with a scale that readers can measure themselves against. Identifying eight strengths "self-care, connection, communication, competency, empathy, interpersonal skills, character, and engagement" Durkin provides the theoretical background to each, accompanied with suggestions for practice and reflective activities. It ends with a selection of vignettes that readers can use to try out their strengths. Highlighting the concept of compassion strengths, and compassion as a way of being, this is an essential read for healthcare students and practitioners, whether involved in direct patient care or management.
ISBN: 9781032232089Publication Date: 2023-04-25
DeVita, Hellman, and Rosenberg's Cancer: Principles and Practice of Oncology, 12th ed. by
The standard-setting text in oncology for 40 years, DeVita, Hellman and Rosenberg's Cancer: Principles and Practice of Oncology, 12th Edition, provides authoritative guidance and strategies for managing every type of cancer by stage and presentation. Drs. Vincent T. DeVita, Jr., Theodore S. Lawrence, and Steven A. Rosenberg oversee an outstanding team of expert contributing authors who keep you up to date and fully informed in this fast-changing field. This award-winning reference is also continually updated on Health Library and VitalSource platforms for the life of the edition. Integrates basic science into individual cancer chapters for more efficient reference Features quarterly updates that include late-breaking developments in oncology such as new drugs and clinical trials, as well as new case studies and interactive algorithms Offers balanced, multidisciplinary advice from a surgeon, a medical oncologist, and a radiation oncologist Provides updated content on immunotherapy and genetics throughout Includes important related topics such as cancer screening and prevention, palliative care, supportive oncology, and quality of life issues Now available in a convenient single volume, or a seven-multivolume option for portability and ease of use Enrich Your eBook Reading Experience Read directly on your preferred device(s), such as computer, tablet, or smartphone. Easily convert to audiobook, powering your content with natural language text-to-speech.
eBooks
Diabetes Management in Hospitalized Patients by
As the diabetes epidemic continues to burden the healthcare system, and with the literature supporting enhanced patient outcomes with improved glycemic control, the need for expertise in the clinical management of inpatient diabetes is an increasingly important and timely matter. While some books have been published on inpatient diabetes, this guide serves as a comprehensive but clinically relevant review of the available literature and recommended management for the key areas surrounding hospital diabetes management. This book is designed to provide practical guidance on diabetes management for hospitalized patients. The number of topics covered is meant to be comprehensive and include discussion on many potential scenarios encountered on the inpatient service, but in a concise and user-friendly manner. This book is intended to be a valuable resource for fellows, residents, students, and existing providers looking to improve their knowledge and skills in evidence-based inpatient diabetes management. The enclosed chapters were written by many globally renowned physicians, researchers, and clinicians. Diabetes Management in Hospitalized Patients: A Comprehensive Clinical Guide is a valuable resource for endocrinologists, hospitalists, pharmacists, PAs and NPs, and all staff responsible for clinical care of these patients.
ISBN: 9783031446474Publication Date: 2024-01-19
Essential Clinical Procedures, 4th ed. by
Provide safe and effective care to every patient with the fully revised 4th Edition of Essential Clinical Procedures. Written by experts in the field, this widely used reference shows you step by step how to perform more than 70 of the most common diagnostic and treatment-related procedures in today's primary care and specialist settings. You'll find clear, concise coverage of the skills you need to know, including new and advanced procedures and new procedure videos. Covers patient preparation, the proper use of instruments, and potential dangers and complications involved in common procedures, as well as nonprocedural issues such as informed consent, standard precautions, patient education, and procedure documentation. Includes new chapters on Point-of-Care Ultrasound and Ring Removal, as well as 34 new procedure videos. Features significantly revised content on cryosurgery . injection techniques . arterial puncture . shoulder/finger subluxations . sterile technique . outpatient coding . casting and splinting . blood cultures . standard precautions . and more. Contains more than 200 high-quality illustrations, including updated images of office pulmonary function testing and wound closure. Uses a consistently formatted presentation to help you find information quickly. Reflects the latest evidence-based protocols and national and international guidelines throughout. Enhanced eBook version included with purchase. Your enhanced eBook allows you to access all of the text, figures, and references from the book on a variety of devices.
Essentials of Mechanical Ventilation, 4th ed. by
The acclaimed application-based guide to adult mechanical ventilation --- updated to reflect the latest topics and practice guidelines A Doody's Core Title for 2022! This practical guide is written from the perspective of authors who have nearly 100 years' experience as clinicians, educators, researchers, and authors. Unlike other references on the topic, this resource is about mechanical ventilation rather than mechanical ventilators. It is written to provide a solid understanding of the general principles and essential foundational knowledge of mechanical ventilation as required by respiratory therapists and critical care physicians. To make it clinically relevant, Essentials of Mechanical Ventilation includes disease-specific chapters related to mechanical ventilation in these conditions. The Fourth Edition has been carefully updated throughout. New content includes coverage of mechanical ventilation of the obese patient and advanced monitoring procedures. Concepts such as driving pressure are included, and the content has been checked against the most recently published clinical practice guidelines. Essentials of Mechanical Ventilation, Fourth Edition is divided into four parts: Part One, Principles of Mechanical Ventilation describes basic principles of mechanical ventilation and then continues with issues such as indications for mechanical ventilation, appropriate physiologic goals, and ventilator liberation. Part Two, Ventilator Management, gives practical advice for ventilating patients with a variety of diseases. Part Three, Monitoring During Mechanical Ventilation, discusses blood gases, hemodynamics, mechanics, and waveforms. Part Four, Topics in Mechanical Ventilation, covers issues such as airway management, aerosol delivery, and extracorporeal life support.
Managing Stress: Skills for Anxiety Reduction, Self-Care, and Personal Resiliency, 11th ed. by
Offering a greater focus on anxiety reduction and self-care, Managing Stress: Skills for Anxiety Reduction, Self-Care, and Personal Resiliency, Eleventh Edition provides a comprehensive approach to stress management, honoring the balance and harmony of the mind, body, spirit, and emotions. Referred to as the “authority on stress management” by students and professionals, this book equips readers with the tools needed to identify and manage stress while also coaching on how to strive for health and balance in these changing times. The holistic approach taken by internationally acclaimed lecturer and author Brian Luke Seaward gently guides the reader to greater levels of mental, emotional, physical, and spiritual well-being by emphasizing the importance of the mind-body-spirit connection. Key Features: - New Chapter (1) on Living in an Upside-Down World - New Learning Objectives open each chapter offering direction to students in the learning ahead. - New Self-Care Toolboxes within each chapter provide helpful suggestions for taking care of oneself. - New Chapter (27) on Getting a Good Night’s Sleep - Updates throughout, including new studies and updated statistics that align with current literature. - Added coverage of newer social media platforms, such as Instagram and TikTok - New final chapter (28) provides “Additional Relaxation Techniques”, combining and revising content from chapter, 24, 25, and 26 of prior edition. - Unparalleled student resources, including “The Art of Peace and Relaxation” digital workbook, interactive eBook with audio introduction, knowledge check questions, eBook quizzes, relaxation media, flashcards, and more.
On Call Principles and Protocols, 7th ed. by
Taking calls at night is one of the traditional duties of medical students and residents in teaching hospitals. On Call Principles and Protocols facilitates the transition of medical students and residents from the classroom to the hospital setting. We believe that the initiation of the medical student to hospital practice needn’t be one of trial and error and needn’t be recalled as a time of stress and uncertainty.
The seventh edition of On Call Principles and Protocols provides referenced updates for the assessment and management of common problems for which medical students and residents are called at night. The popular On Call Formulary, a quick reference of commonly prescribed medications, has also been expanded and updated.
We have been careful to maintain an approach that provides both instruction and reference while emphasizing the rational thought processes required for optimal patient care in specific clinical situations. In this edition of On Call Principles and Protocols , medications are in blue type and, where appropriate, the thought processes behind management decisions and instructions are indented.
It is our belief that this structured approach deserves greater emphasis in the undergraduate years, and we are hopeful that it will help students in their introduction to clinical medicine.
ISBN: 9780443111044
Optimizing Metabolic Status for the Hospitalized Patient : The Role of Macro- and Micronutrition on Disease Management by
This book is a guide for clinicians seeking to use metabolic approaches in the care of hospitalized patients. Since a nutritional component exists for practically any disease process managed, it is important to properly address the macro- and micronutrient issues that can help facilitate a favourable clinical outcome. Metabolic medicine is a newly recognized speciality that applies proven nutritional approaches to support hospitalized patients within existing standards of care. Optimizing Metabolic Status for the Hospitalized Patient: The Role of Macro- and Micronutrition on Disease Management addresses the gap of nutrition knowledge among physicians who generally care for patients without addressing the nutritional and metabolic perspective. Features: State-of-the-art guidelines for practicing metabolic medicine in the hospital setting "Hands on" guide for day-to-day metabolic management of hospitalized patients Personal insights from one of the field's leading practitioners, drawing upon decades of experience Historical reviews of key scientific developments This book is written by Dr Michael M. Rothkopf, Clinical Professor of Medicine at Rutgers/New Jersey Medical School. Dr Rothkopf founded the Metabolic Medicine Center at Morristown Medical Center and is the current Metabolic Medicine Consultant for the Heart Transplant, Lung Transplant, Cardiac Surgery and Wound Care Programs at RWJBH/Newark Beth Israel Medical Center. This book is directed at the physician level of hospital care. It provides value to a broad range of physicians regardless of their medical specialty or subspecialty. It will also be useful for medical students and resident physicians in training as well as nurse practitioners and physician assistants working in hospital settings.
ISBN: 9781138611641Publication Date: 2022-08-26
Procedures in Critical Care by
A Complete "Visual Atlas" for Core Critical-Care Procedures "As a practicing nurse for more than 30 years and currently a clinical risk manager, I can say that this book as a reference has multiple uses. Most importantly, it serves as an educational reference tool for healthcare staff at the bedside; however, it also serves as a useful reference for risk management, as we review the steps and multiple complex processes involved in caring for our most critically ill patients. This book gives clear guidance on the standard of care and is supported by up-to-date reference literature. I highly recommend it as a library 'must-have' in the critical care environment."--Dimensions of Critical Care Nursing Procedures in Critical Care gives you practical, on-the-spot management strategies for the broad range of conditions encountered in daily critical care practice. Supporting this coverage are full-color illustrations that take you step-by-step through each procedure. You also get a DVD containing nine narrated videos that demonstrate how to complete both the simple and the complex procedures that are featured in the book. The guide spans the entire spectrum of critical care procedures--from general monitoring through neurologic and infectious disease procedures. The procedures discussed are organized by anatomy, adding clarity and clinical relevance to the book's skill-building perspectives. The high-yield, streamlined coverage emphasizes exactly what you need: indications, process, pitfalls, consensus, and recommendations. Within each chapter, you'll find An introduction to the procedure Definitions and terms Detailed techniques, including indications and contraindications and preparation and complications where applicable Radiographic imaging and drawings Clinical pearls and common pitfalls Suggested readings All in a striking full-color presentation
Understanding Crisis in Critical Care by
From a team of global experts comes the first detailed retrospective of the spread and management of COVID-19--and a blueprint for better management of the next major healthcare crisis From a team of global experts comes the first detailed retrospective of the spread and management of COVID-19--and a blueprint for better management of the next major healthcare crisis Understanding the Standard of Critical Crisis Care describes the global spread of COVID-19 and analyzes how it was managed compared to other deadly epidemics, such as SARS and MERS. The editor has gathered contributors from across the world who dealt first-hand with COVID-19, making this a truly global retrospective on new global pandemics. Understanding the Standard of Critical Crisis Care is organized into four sections, covering critical care changes associated with crisis standard of care; health and management issues of specific populations; infectious agents WHO has identified as those that can cause pandemics; and trauma and warfare. You'll learn how hospitals are transformed to accommodate surges in patients, while dealing with shortages in staffing, medications, mechanical ventilators, and personal protective equipment and get an invaluable look at how real-time critical decision were made during the height of the pandemic. This one-of-a-kind guide covers: *Working the Frontlines *Research and the Clinical Trials *Anti-microbials versus Immunomodulators *Respiratory Failure and Mechanical Ventilation *Ultrasound *Endocrinologic and cardiovascular Issues *Transfusion *Special Populations: Pediatrics, Pregnancy, Immunocompromised Patients *SARS, MERS, COVID-19, Ebola, Anthrax, Influenza *Traumatic Brain and Lung Injury *Palliative Care and Bioethics
