eBooks
Neonatology Questions and Controversies: Gastroenterology and Nutrition, 4th ed. by
Dr. Richard Polin’s Neonatology Questions and Controversies series highlights the toughest challenges facing physicians and care providers in clinical practice, offering trustworthy guidance on up-to-date diagnostic and treatment options in the field. In each volume, renowned experts address the clinical problems of greatest concern to today’s practitioners, helping you handle difficult practice issues and provide optimal, evidence-based care to every patient.
The thoroughly updated, full-color, 4th Edition of Gastroenterology and Nutrition:
Provides in-depth clinical overviews of both common and rare neonatal GI and nutritional disorders, offering guidance based on the most up-to-date understanding of underlying pathophysiology. Places emphasis on controversial areas that can entail different approaches. Features the most current clinical information throughout, including the dynamic composition of human milk for precision nutrition, how the developmental biology of the GI tract relates to optimizing nutrition for the most vulnerable infants, interactions of the gut with the brain and other organs, associations between the GI tract and nutritional health and disease with individual nutrients, microbes, and metabolites, and more. Covers rapidly emerging technologies such as artificial intelligence and multiomics for predictive analytics, as well as in augmenting our understanding of mechanisms of pathophysiology. Discusses how diagnoses such as sepsis, bronchopulmonary dysplasia, and central nervous system disorders relate to a breakdown of homeostasis in the intestinal tract. Utilizes a consistent chapter organization to help you find information quickly and easily, and contains numerous charts, graphs, radiographic images, and photographs throughout. Offers the most authoritative advice available from world-class neonatologists who share their knowledge of new trends and developments in neonatal care.
Pediatric Colorectal Surgery by
Based on 30 years of experience as a surgeon working in the field of pediatric colorectal and pelvic reconstructive surgery, author Marc Levitt shares the tips and tricks that he has developed to make operations and patient management easier and reproducible. This book teaches these skills to achieve positive results. Patients with anorectal malformations (ARMs), Hirschsprung disease (HD), fecal incontinence from a variety of conditions, colonic motility disorders, and a myriad of other conditions comprise the field of pediatric colorectal and pelvic reconstruction. Such patients require care throughout their lives from specialists across numerous fields, which may include colorectal surgery, urology, gynecology, and GI motility, as well as specialized nursing, orthopedics, neurosurgery, anesthesia, pathology, radiology, psychology, social work, and nutrition. Sometimes the field can seem chaotic and unpredictable. Reconstruction requires creativity and at times it feels that artwork is being created during the actual operation with no pre-plan in mind. Marc Levitt and his colleagues have worked very hard to counter that feeling, to be fully prepared, and to develop protocols, techniques, and processes that can be adopted by other clinicians, so that optimal results for patients can be achieved. This book reflects both this experience and this approach.
ISBN: 9781000553352Publication Date: 2022-09-14
Pediatric Critical Care Nutrition by
Understand the unique nutritional needs of infants and children in the pediatric critical care unit Written with the goal of shortening recovery time and improving overall clinical outcomes, Pediatric Critical Care Nutrition is the first text to offercomprehensive, in-depth coverage of the nutritional needs of infants and children in the pediatric care unit. This practical text imparts basic concepts, critically appraises the literature, and provides a completereview of the key principles of pediatric critical care nutrition. Combining clinical strategies with a compilation of available evidence, Pediatric Critical Care Nutrition, covers essential topics such as: Metabolic alterations and nutrients in the critically ill child Delivery of nutrition support to the critically ill child Disease-related nutrition considerations including burns and wound healing, solid-organ transplantation, renal and pulmonary failure, gastrointestinal issues, cancer, obesity, and more Practical aspects of the delivery of nutrition support Optimum nutrition therapy is essential during the entire continuum of critical illness until recovery, and requires the multidisciplinary awareness, knowledge, and effort taught in this groundbreaking text.
Pediatric Gastrointestinal and Liver Disease by
Now with full-color illustrations throughout, dozens of new review questions, and state-of-the-art coverage of this fast-changing area, Pediatric Gastrointestinal and Liver Disease, 6th Edition, remains the leading text in the field. You'll find definitive guidance on diagnosis and treatment from experienced editors Drs. Robert Wyllie, Jeffrey S. Hyams, and Marsha Kay, as well as globally renowned contributors who share their knowledge and expertise on complex issues. Features an enhanced art program with full-color anatomical figures, clinical photos, and other illustrations throughout the text. Includes a new chapter on fecal transplantation (FCT), covering donor and recipient screening, preparation, delivery, follow-up, and safety considerations, as well as investigative uses for FCT for disorders such as IBD, IBS, and D-lactic acidosis. Prepares you for certification and recertification with more than 400 board review-style questions, answers, and rationales - 30% new to this edition. Includes detailed diagrams that accurately illustrate complex concepts and provide at-a-glance recognition of disease processes. Contains numerous algorithms that provide quick and easy retrieval of diagnostic, screening, and treatment information. Provides up-to-date information on indigenous flora and the gut microbiome and clinical correlations to treatment, as well as advancements in liver transplantation including split liver transplantation (SLT) and living donor liver transplantation (LDLT). Details key procedures such as esophagogastroduodenoscopy and related techniques; colonoscopy and polypectomy; endoscopic retrograde cholangiopancreatography; capsule endoscopy and small bowel enteroscopy; gastrointestinal pathology; and more. Enhanced eBook version included with purchase. Your enhanced eBook allows you to access all of the text, figures, and references from the book on a variety of devices.
Pediatric Hematology and Oncology Secrets, 2d ed. by
For more than 30 years, the highly regarded Secrets Series® has provided students and practitioners in all areas of health care with concise, focused, and engaging resources for quick reference and exam review. Pediatric Hematology & Oncology Secrets, 2nd Edition, offers practical, up-to-date coverage of the full range of essential topics in this dynamic field. This highly regarded resource features the Secrets' popular question-and-answer format that also includes lists, tables, pearls, memory aids, and an easy-to-read style - making inquiry, reference, and review quick, easy, and enjoyable. The proven Secrets Series® format gives you the most return for your time succinct, easy to read, engaging, and highly effective. Fully revised and updated, including discussions of supportive care of children with cancer and psychosocial aspects of care. New chapters on Precision Medicine and Systems Biology; Health Equity and Disparities in Pediatric and Adolescent/Young Adult Oncology; Transfusion Medicine; Neoplastic Hematopathology; Hemophagocytic Lymphohistiocytosis; and more.Top 100 Secrets and Key Points boxes provide a fast overview of the secrets you must know for success in practice and on exams. Bulleted lists, mnemonics, practical tips from global leaders in the field - all providing a concise overview of important board-relevant content. Portable size makes it easy to carry with you for quick reference or review anywhere, anytime. Enhanced eBook version included with purchase. Your enhanced eBook allows you to access all of the text, figures, and references from the book on a variety of devices.
ISBN: 9780323810470Publication Date: 2023-02-01
Pediatric Inflammatory Bowel Disease, 4th ed. by
The latest edition of this essential text provides a comprehensive overview of the unique pediatric issues of inflammatory bowel disease. Through new and thoroughly revised chapters, the volume features updates on all aspects of etiology, diagnosis, and treatment, with an emphasis on recent understanding of pharmacokinetics and the utilization of cutting edge therapeutic monitoring to maximize efficacy of medical management. The new edition also highlights newer, recently approved drugs, emerging therapies, and the most recent recommendations regarding post-operative management for patients who ultimately require surgery. Written by experts in the field, Pediatric Inflammatory Bowel Disease, Fourth Edition is a valuable resource for both pediatric and adult gastroenterologists involved in the care of children with inflammatory bowel disease.
eBooks
Pediatric Liver Transplantation by
Written and edited by global leaders in the field, Pediatric Liver Transplantation: A Clinical Guide covers all aspects of treatment and management regarding this multifaceted procedure and unique patient population. This practical reference offers detailed, focused guidance in a highly templated, easy-to-consult format, covering everything from pre-transplantation preparation to surgical techniques to post-operative complications. Provides an in-depth understanding of all aspects of pediatric liver transplantation, ideal for pediatric hepatologists, pediatric transplant surgeons, and others on the pediatric transplant team. Covers all surgical techniques in detail, including split graft, living related, auxiliary, and domino. Discusses pediatric liver transplantation consideration for an increasing number of additional metabolic, hematologic and renal conditions; breakthroughs in grafting and stem cell therapy; and techniques and present role of hepatocyte transplantation. Uses a quick-reference templated format; each chapter includes an overview, pathophysiology, conventional management, controversies, and bulleted summary of key take-aways. Includes state-of-the-art mini-reviews based on updated references and author experience throughout the text. Features a full-color design with numerous algorithms, figures, and radiological and histopathological photos. Enhanced eBook version included with purchase. Your enhanced eBook allows you to access all of the text, figures, and references from the book on a variety of devices.
Pediatric Neurogastroenterology: Gastrointestinal Motility Disorders and Disorders of Gut Brain, 3rd ed. by
This third edition brings together the latest in research and clinical practice of the expanding field of pediatric neurogastroenterology. In addition to a comprehensive review of the current state of the art, many chapters have been significant revised and updated, covering the latest discoveries of the delicate and detailed mechanisms of the neuroenteric system as well as relationships of the latter with microbiota and metabolites produced by resident intestinal bacteria. The book also covers rapidly-changing techniques to assess clinical problems, along with international diagnostic criteria and recommendations and guidelines for clinical management. The content is supported by ample figures, photographs and selected video segments. Remaining the gold standard text in this up-and-coming field, Pediatric Neurogastroenterology 3e is dedicated to reporting the most accurate and recent knowledge available. Written by international experts in the field, the book is a comprehensive and up-to-date theoretical review and practical guide to pediatric gastrointestinal motility and functional disorders to pediatricians, pediatric gastroenterologists and all professionals involved in the treatment of children with such disorders.
Pediatric Practice Gastroenterology by
Complete how-to guidance on managing gastrointestinal diseases and disorders in children In full color! "Pediatric Practice: Gastroenterology is a beautifully illustrated and reader-friendly textbook that provides a well-rounded overview of pediatric gastroenterology that provides an excellent resource for general pediatricians and allied health professionals caring for children in general practice."--Gastroenterology Part of the Pediatric Practice series, Pediatric Practice: Gastroenterology is a unique source of clinically relevant information on the diagnosis and treatment of children with gastrointestinal symptoms and disorders. The care of the patient forms the core of this full-color resource, which also provides perspectives on epidemiology, pathophysiology, and diagnosis that every pediatrician, pediatric resident, gastroenterologist, and pediatric nurse needs to know. Expert authors in each subject area provide detailed, yet concise overviews of important disorders of the esophagus, stomach, intestine, pancreas, and liver. You will also find discussion of common symptoms, their differential diagnosis, and how they should be evaluated and treated along with an introduction to the use of diagnostic modalities such as radiology, nuclear medicine, and endoscopy. A listing of relevant, recent articles appears at the end of each chapter allowing you to expand your exploration of a given topic. The Pediatric Practice series simplifies the care of pediatric patients by delivering: Tips that tell you what you must know--and what you must do--at every stage of care Diagnostic and treatment algorithms Signs/Symptoms and Differential Diagnosis boxes "When to Refer" boxes, which examine all the relevant clinical considerations Diagnostic Tests--with a realistic emphasis on the right tests to order Medical Treatment coverage that includes drugs, dosages, and administration in an easy-to-read tabular format Convenient icons and a templated chapter design Numerous clinical color photos and didactic diagrams Logical section organization, with consistent headings among chapters covering similar topics Introductory sections that provide an update on recent research that informs clinical practice Full-color throughout
Textbook of Pediatric Gastroenterology, Hepatology and Nutrition: A Comprehensive Guide to Practice, 2nd ed. by
The latest edition of this textbook provides a comprehensive, state-of-the-art overview of the major issues specific to the field of pediatric gastroenterology, hepatology, and nutrition. The textbook begins with a section on gastroenterology and nutrition that presents the overall scope of issues encountered in children suffering from disorders of the gastrointestinal tract, pancreas, and/or presenting nutritional issues, as well as current and future prospects on the use of prebiotics, probiotics, and postbiotics. The second section is centered around hepatology, reviewing congenital and acquired disorders of the biliary tract and liver, as well as analyzing available diagnostic and therapeutic procedures and future perspectives. Written by experts in the field, Textbook of Pediatric Gastroenterology, Hepatology and Nutrition: A Comprehensive Guide, Second Edition is an indispensable resource for students, trainees, and clinicians, sure to distinguish itselfas the definitive reference on this topic.
