eBooks
Critical Heart Disease in Infants and Children, 3rd ed. by
Now in brilliant full color and reflecting recent significant changes in the field, Critical Heart Disease in Infants and Children, 3rd Edition, keeps you abreast of the skills and knowledge required to safely care for children with congenital and acquired heart disease in the ICU. Pediatric intensivists, cardiologists, cardiac surgeons, and anesthesiologists from leading centers around the world provide a well-rounded perspective on basic scientific principles, medical and pharmacologic treatments, surgical techniques, and equipment. Features comprehensive updates throughout the text, including indications, techniques, potential complications in perioperative management of patients, and surgical techniques for congenital heart disease. Covers recent advances in the treatment of pulmonary hypertension, developments in mechanical assist devices, heart and lung transplantation, and interventional cardiac catheterization. Features an all-new, full-color format that speeds navigation and helps clarify complex concepts. Contains 27 new chapters with an emphasis on the team approach to patient care in the ICU including creating multidisciplinary teams, quality and performance improvement, training , and challenges and solutions to developing a cohesive team environment. Includes a detailed chapter on bedside ultrasound, walking you through the techniques you're most likely to encounter in the ICU. Employs well-documented tables, text boxes, and algorithms to make clinical information easy to access, and more than two dozen video clips provide a more complete understanding of echocardiography, imaging modalities, pulmonary hypertension, and more. Describes the basic pharmacology and clinical applications of new pharmacologic agents. Examines issues affecting adults with congenital heart disease. Enhanced eBook version included with purchase. Your enhanced eBook allows you to access all of the text, figures, and references from the book on a variety of devices. Offers four completely new chapters: Cardiac Trauma, Congenital Heart Disease in the Adult, Congenitally Corrected Transposition of the Great Arteries, and Outcome Evaluation. Describes the basic pharmacology and clinical applications of all of the new pharmacologic agents. Details important refinements and developments in surgical techniques, including the Ross pulmonary autograft replacement of the aortic valve, video-assisted fluoroscopy, and the extracardiac Fontan connection, and discusses their indications and potential complications. Explores the latest advances in the treatment of pulmonary hypertension, new developments in mechanical assist devices, heart and lung transplantation, and interventional cardiac catheterization. Examines issues affecting adults with congenital heart disease.
The ECMO Book by
ECMO (extracorporeal membrane oxygenation) is a crucial form of support for patients with respiratory failure, severe ARDS, COVID-19, and cardiogenic shock whose use has been increasing exponentially around the world. The ECMO Book offers a comprehensive yet approachable framework for understanding the principles of extracorporeal support as well as the subtleties related to the care of patients needing ECMO. Dr. Jeffrey DellaVolpe provides authoritative, consistent guidance on all aspects of ECMO, making complex information understandable and accessible and helping you increase your knowledge of and proficiency with this multifaceted therapy.
Foundations in Neonatal and Pediatric Respiratory Care, 2nd ed. by
Advances in respiratory care over the past years have made a significant impact on the health and well-being of infants, children, and their families. Designed to be the primary text for the 'Neonatal and Pediatric' course as part of the respiratory care core curriculum, Foundations in Neonatal and Pediatric Respiratory Care provides students and practitioners alike with a comprehensive yet reader-friendly resource. In this second edition, the authors recognize the importance of sharing the essential elements of care that are unique to children as they grow and develop and provide the clinician with the knowledge needed to effectively communicate recommendations for therapeutic intervention or changes to the plan of care. This text has contributions in each chapter by national experts who are actively practicing in their subject areas, providing the most relevant evidence-based material and content that has a significant and practical application to current practice. Every new print copy includes Navigate Premier Access that unlocks an interactive eBook, the Heart & Lungs Module, an Equipment Simulator, Anatomy & Physiology Module, additional case studies, test prep, and additional flashcards.
ISBN: 9781284234992Publication Date: 2022-06-08
Fuhrman and Zimmerman's Pediatric Critical Care, 6th ed. by
In the highly specialized field of caring for children in the PICU, Fuhrman and Zimmerman's Pediatric Critical Care is the definitive reference for all members of the pediatric intensive care team. Drs. Jerry J. Zimmerman and Alexandre T. Rotta, along with an expert team of editors and contributors from around the world, have carefully updated the 6th Edition of this highly regarded text to bring you the most authoritative and useful information on today's pediatric critical care-everything from basic science to clinical applications Contains highly readable, concise chapters with hundreds of useful photos, diagrams, algorithms, and clinical pearls. Uses a clear, logical, organ-system approach that allows you to focus on the development, function, and treatment of a wide range of disease entities. Features more international authors and expanded coverage of global topics including pandemics, sepsis treatment in underserved communities, specific global health concerns by region. Covers current trends in sepsis-related mortality and acute care after sepsis, as well as new device applications for pediatric patients. Provides ultrasound videos and more than 500 board-style review questions and answers on Expert Consult. Enhanced eBook version included with purchase. Your enhanced eBook allows you to access all of the text, figures, and references from the book on a variety of devices.
Goldsmith’s Assisted Ventilation of the Neonate, 7th ed. by
A must-have reference for the entire NICU, Goldsmith’s Assisted Ventilation of the Neonate, 7th Edition, is the fully comprehensive, evidence-based guide to all aspects of this fast-changing field. Easy to use and multidisciplinary in scope, this trusted reference provides authoritative guidance on contemporary management of neonatal respiratory diseases, with an emphasis on evidence-based pharmacologic and technologic advances that improve outcomes and quality of life in newborns. It’s an outstanding resource for neonatologists and NICU professionals to acquire new knowledge and techniques in this critical area of neonatal care.
Kendig and Wilmott’s Disorders of the Respiratory Tract in Children, 10th ed. by
The authors and editors have extensively refreshed this new volume, the 10th edition. All the chapters have been rewritten. Many authors have retired, and we thank them for earlier contributions. We have nearly 90 new authors and 11 new chapters. As well as standard old favorites, we have a chapter on big data and -omics in respiratory disease, a topic that has exploded since the last edition. COVID has an important place in the chapter on novel respiratory diseases. The evils of vaping and nicotine addiction have a chapter, which is important as the tobacco industry markets aggressively and successfully to children and young people. Increased molecular knowledge has led to hereditary hemorrhagic telangiectasia and pulmonary lymphatic disorders being separated from congenital lung disease and being allocated their own chapters. Obesity and its consequences figure in many chapters as prevalence increases, not least due to worsening child poverty. There is also a huge new library of on-line video resources, especially including bronchoscopic videos thanks to Bob Wood. This greatly augments what was available in the previous edition.
eBooks
Neonatology Questions and Controversies: The Newborn Lung, 4th ed. by
Chapters from leading experts provide the reader with the most current developments in the pathophysiology, diagnosis, and management of the most common neonatal respiratory problems.
While there are important advances in respiratory management that have been implemented to reduce lung damage and long-term sequelae in extremely premature infants, the incidence of complications of neonatal intensive care remains unacceptably high. Ongoing and future research will seek to improve our understanding of injury mechanisms and focus on intact survival, not only survival itself.
The fourth edition of The Newborn Lung emphasizes those areas where there have been major new developments in recent years, and several chapters deal with strategies that may reduce lung damage and some of the consequences of neonatal respiratory failure and its management.
Pediatric Critical Care Nutrition by
Understand the unique nutritional needs of infants and children in the pediatric critical care unit. Written with the goal of shortening recovery time and improving overall clinical outcomes, Pediatric Critical Care Nutrition is the first text to offer comprehensive, in-depth coverage of the nutritional needs of infants and children in the pediatric care unit. This practical text imparts basic concepts, critically appraises the literature, and provides a complete review of the key principles of pediatric critical care nutrition. Combining clinical strategies with a compilation of available evidence, Pediatric Critical Care Nutrition, covers essential topics such as: Metabolic alterations and nutrients in the critically ill child Delivery of nutrition support to the critically ill child Disease-related nutrition considerations including burns and wound healing, solid-organ transplantation, renal and pulmonary failure, gastrointestinal issues, cancer, obesity, and more Practical aspects of the delivery of nutrition support Optimum nutrition therapy is essential during the entire continuum of critical illness until recovery, and requires the multidisciplinary awareness, knowledge, and effort taught in this groundbreaking text.
Pediatric Pulmonology, 2nd ed. by
Completely revised and updated, the second edition of this authoritative guide provides the latest information on the diagnosis, treatment, and ongoing management of pulmonary issues in children. The book covers genetic, congenital, and allergic conditions, as well as acquired and infectious respiratory ailments. Pulmonary issues related to other systemic disorders are also covered, along with respiratory care and pediatric sleep medicine. More than 300 finely detailed images complement the text. New Second Edition Features Expanded content on sleep medicine, including sleep development and maturation, insomnia, parasomnias, sleep-related movement disorders, and obstructive sleep apnea Cystic fibrosis newborn screening and CFTR-related metabolic syndrome Expanded coverage of pneumonia, including when caused by COVID-19 Expanded coverage of primary ciliary dyskinesia Vaping and other forms of nicotine exposure Content Highlights Foundation-anatomy; physiology; physical examination; pulmonary testing; imaging; and bronchoscopy Allergic Conditions-bronchopulmonary aspergillosis; hypersensitivity pneumonitis; eosinophilic pneumonia; and asthma Anatomical Disorders-congenital abnormalities of the upper airway; congenital lung anomalies; and chest wall and spinal deformities Upper Airway Infections-croup, epiglottitis, and bacterial tracheitis Lower Airway Infections-bronchiectasis; bronchiolitis; viral pneumonia (including when caused by COVID-19); nonviral pneumonia; complications of pneumonia; recurrent pneumonia; tuberculosis; and nontuberculous mycobacteria Noninfectious Pulmonary Disorders-atelectasis; respiratory disorders associated with systemic inflammatory diseases; interstitial lung disease; bronchopulmonary dysplasia; pleural effusion (noninfectious); pneumothorax and pneumomediastinum; and pulmonary hemorrhage Pediatric Sleep Medicine-sleep development and maturation; obstructive sleep apnea; home sleep testing; sleep-related movement disorders; insomnia; parasomnias; narcolepsy and other disorders of excessive somnolence; sudden infant death syndrome and brief resolved unexplained events; and congenital central hypoventilation syndrome Other Pulmonary Issues-acute aspiration and aspiration-related lung disease; lung transplant; asthma and other respiratory disorders associated with obesity; and functional respiratory disorders Genetic Disorders-cystic fibrosis; cystic fibrosis newborn screening and CFTR-related metabolic syndrome; and primary ciliary dyskinesia and other genetic lung diseases Lung Disease Associated With Systemic Disorders-respiratory considerations in children with cardiac disease; lung disease associated with endocrine disorders; pulmonary complications of gastrointestinal diseases; pulmonary complications of sickle cell disease; pulmonary manifestations of oncological disease and treatment; pulmonary complications of immunologic disorders; and pulmonary complications of neuromuscular disorders Treating and Managing Pulmonary Disease-airway clearance techniques; aerosol delivery of medication; bronchodilators; antibiotics for pulmonary conditions; nutritional aspects of pulmonary conditions; oxygen therapy; and nicotine and tobacco.
The PICU Handbook by
An innovative new survival guide for the pediatric intensive care unit (PICU). The PICU Handbook is a unique, portable compilation of the information essential for residents and fellows to successfully navigate the modern Level 1 and Level 2 pediatric intensive care unit (PICU). Enhanced by numerous tables, formulas, algorithms, guidelines, checklists, rapid-sequence medication formularies, troubleshooting guides, and clinical pearls this is a true must read for all residents and fellows in pediatrics, family medicine, emergency medicine, and critical care, as well as pediatric hospitalists, pediatric nurse practitioners and advance practice nurses, physician assistants, and medical students. The Handbook is designed to be an easy-reference guide and is logically divided into two parts: Part 1: General Pediatric Critical Care - covers important topics such as resuscitation and stabilization, surgical critical care procedures, and pharmacology Part 2: Organ Systems - includes sections on respiratory, cardiovascular, neurology, renal/fluids & electrolytes, hematology/oncology, gastroenterology/nutrition/hepatology, environmental/toxicology emergencies, and allergy/immunology/genetics The book reflects the fact that pediatric critical care medicine requires a true multidisciplinary approach, with expert chapter contributors who are physicians, nurses, nurse practitioners, respiratory therapists, pharmacists, and nutritionists.
Sleep Medicine : A Comprehensive Guide for Transitioning Pediatric to Adult Care by
Many fields of medicine have looked at the issue of transitioning care from pediatrics to adults. This book focuses on that transition within the field of sleep medicine. This book gathers and presents in volume information that will assist practitioners to transition the care of their pediatric patients suffering from sleep disorders. The book will discuss anatomical, physiological and psychological aspects as children grow into adulthood. Specifically, changes in brain function and anatomy, cardiorespiratory function and anatomy, and changes in facial structure are explored. Also discussed are the tools that are used for assessing sleep and how it may apply differently to children and adults. Chapters cover each group of sleep disorders with focus on how the diagnosis, prognosis, and management may change with the transition from childhood through adolescence to adulthood. In addition, gaps in needs and research are discussed.
ISBN: 9783031300103
