eBooks
Anaesthesia, Intensive Care and Perioperative Medicine A-Z by
For 25 years Anaesthesia, Intensive Care and Perioperative Medicine A-Z has provided a comprehensive resource of the relevant aspects of pharmacology, physiology, anatomy, physics, statistics, medicine, surgery, general anaesthetic practice, intensive care, equipment, and the history of anaesthesia and intensive care. Originally prepared as essential reading for candidates for the Fellowship of the Royal College of Anaesthetists and similar exams, this fully updated edition will also prove as invaluable as ever for all anaesthetists and critical care physicians, as well as operating department practitioners and specialist nurses. The alphabetical arrangement with extensive cross-referencing ensures a full understanding of topics. The succinct and clear text and diagrams make for easy quick reference. The exam preparation checklist is ordered by key topics to facilitate effective revision. The contents are easily accessible with the accompanying ebook. There has been a substantial addition of new entries as well as revision of existing ones. This acknowledges the breadth of information needed to satisfy the range of activities performed by anaesthetic, intensive care, nursing and other colleagues, and also reflects the ever-changing field in which they all work. The consolidation of the role of anaesthetists as 'perioperative physicians' is reflected in additional entries of particular relevance and also by the enhanced title of the book. The structured 'revision checklist' of entries which is particularly useful to those preparing for examinations has been further developed for this edition.
Critical Care Emergency Medicine, Second Edition by
The groundbreaking text on critical care emergency medicine - updated with the latest evidence and recommendations. A Doody's Core Title for 2019 Critical Care Emergency Medicine has become the standard reference for all clinicians who wish to understand the overlap between emergency medicine and critical care. Much like the field of emergency medicine itself, this text is a collaborative effort involving emergency physicians as well as clinicians from trauma, critical care, infectious diseases, and pulmonary medicine. Critical Care Emergency Medicine teaches emergency physicians everything they must know and do to better care for critically ill patients in an emergency department or to provide care in an ICU. Enhanced by numerous algorithms that speed decision making and full-color illustrations demonstrating anatomy and technique, this book is an essential practice tool. Incorporating the wisdom of both academic and community emergency medicine experts, Critical Care Emergency Medicine, Second Edition delivers expert coverage of Airway and Ventilatory Support , Pulmonary Disorders, Cardiovascular Disorders, Gastrointestinal and Renal Disorders, Neurologic and Neurosurgical Disorders, Hematologic and Endocrine Disorders, Infectious Disorders, Toxicologic Conditions, Ultrasonography in Critical Care. Special Considerations (including nutritional support, end-of-life issues, fluid management, and more) If you are looking for an up-to-date, evidence-based text designed to take your critical care to the next level, your search ends here.
Critical Care Ultrasonography, 2nd Edition by
The premier training guide for the use of ultrasound in the intensive care unit. Includes online access to interactive cases and more than 180 videos " . . . the authors have succeeded in providing a reference standard to support bedside critical care providers to understand the context for their personal sonographically guided decision-making processes." -- Critical Care Medicine reviewing previous edition Critical Care Ultrasonography is a complete, hands-on guide to successful image acquisition and interpretation at the bedside. It delivers an all-inclusive, yet concise review of the optimal use and interpretation of ultrasonographic images in everyday practice. With this how-to guide, you'll learn how to systematically apply diagnostic ultrasound as part of an augmented physical examination in an array of therapeutic areas, from emergency medicine to the inpatient ward and intensive care unit. The book begins with a high-yield overview of the basic principles and physics of ultrasound, while subsequent chapters cover its use in evaluating the organs of the head and neck; the chest, abdomen, and pelvis; and the limbs and musculoskeletal system. A final section considers the use and application of ultrasound to improve the safety and performance of common, invasive procedures. Features: A pioneering, top-to-bottom examination of all the major technical concepts that physicians must know to use ultrasound in everyday clinical practice Valuable coverage of clinical algorithms and how to incorporate them into the clinical decision-making process, the formulation of differential diagnosis, and therapeutic recommendations Includes online access to more than 180 videos that illustrate the ultrasonographic appearance of normal and abnormal anatomic structures and function Color illustrations that depict the use of color in ultrasound images An A-to-Z glossary of technical and clinical terms in ultrasonography
Critical Care Ultrasound by
For physicians and nurses in critical care medicine, the increased demand and use of ultrasound necessitates further training. Critical Care Ultrasound helps meet that need. A straightforward, practical approach, an abundance of detailed ultrasound images and online video demonstrations provide step-by-step guidance on the principles and effective use of this important imaging modality in both diagnosis and assistance with specific procedures. Coverage includes the latest applications of ultrasound for neurologic critical care; vascular problems; chest; hemodynamic monitoring; and abdominal and emergency uses, as well as assistance in a variety of specific procedures in critical care medicine. "...the book aims to and succeeds in fulfilling the appetite of different levels of expert in the use of ultrasound - from the beginner to the advanced practitioner." Reviewed by British Journal of Anaesthesia, June 2015 "This book is a tremendous resource of practical knowledge and reference material. It will be of great help to trainees, critical care specialists, ICU nursing, allied health professionals, and anyone practicing acute medicine. Editors Philip Lumb and Dimitrios Karakitsos and the contributors are to be congratulated. " Foreword by: Professor Teik E. Oh, AM , University of Western Australia, May 2015 Incorporate a holistic approach. Visualize all or any parts of the body, tissues, organs and systems in their live, anatomically and functionally interconnected state and in the context of the whole patient's clinical circumstances. See exactly how it's done. Numerous ultrasound images and dozens of videos demonstrate the use of ultrasound in critical care. Rely on the guidance of more than 80 different experts from Australia, China, Middle East, Europe, USA, and Canada regarding the current and future use of CCU. Adapt the use of emergency ultrasound in specialized out-of-hospital (i.e., war zones, animals) and in-hospital (i.e., pediatric units) settings. Additionally, issues regarding CCU logistics, training, and education are analyzed for the first time. Access the complete contents, images, and video online at Expert Consult -fully searchable!
Manual of Cardiac Intensive Care by
Addressing the changing needs of clinicians in today's CCU, ICU and CICU, Manual of Cardiac Intensive Care is an easy-to-use, point-of-care reference or cardiologists, intensivists, physicians, trainees, and other health care professionals who care for critically ill patients with cardiovascular disease (CVD). This clinically-focused manual offers practical guidance from leading cardiac intensive care experts on the specialized and highly technological care of patients with severe CVD-myocardial infarction, heart failure, cardiogenic shock, and their complications, including respiratory failure and renal failure. The portable, paperback format makes it an excellent resource for day-to-day practice or as an exam or recertification study tool. Provides the information you need in the CCU, ICU or CICU to deliver high-quality care to increasingly complex and critically ill patients with CVD. Covers important and emerging topics such as COVID-19, fulminant myocarditis, cardiogenic shock, cardiorenal syndrome, cardiac tamponade, acute aortic dissection, takotsubo cardiomyopathy, and much more. Describes key procedures including arterial and radial central vascular access, temporary cardiac pacing, invasive hemodynamic monitoring, pericardiocentesis, and more. Covers a range of topics for effective practice including common misconceptions, clinical presentations, pathophysiology, management, and imaging. Includes more than 100 radiographic images, echocardiograms, ECGs, anatomic illustrations, and algorithms throughout. Enhanced eBook version included with purchase.Your enhanced eBook allows you to access all of the text, figures, and references from the book on a variety of devices.
Management of Dysregulated Immune Response in the Critically Ill by
This book, part of the European Society of Intensive Care Medicine (ESICM) textbook series, deals with dysregulated host response a relatively new term introduced by the Sepsis-3 definitions in 2016. In contrast to systemic inflammatory response syndrome (SIRS) that has been used for nearly 30 years, this is a fundamentally new concept, which requires some sort of a paradigm shift in the way of thinking of critical care physicians. This change obviously requires time and after 5 years, time is ripe to summarize the knowledge in the form of a comprehensive book. The book is split in 4 sections. In the first one, the host immune response is explained in 11 chapters, followed by the next part, summarizing the possible tools for assessment at the bedside. The third and the fourth parts focus on the effects of dysregulated immune response on vital organ function and on the possible ways of immunomodulation. Written by internationally acclaimed experts of the field, the bookis of value for all those intensivists and allied professionals working in ICUs.
ISBN: 9783031175718Publication Date: 2023-03-12
eBooks
Optimizing Metabolic Status for the Hospitalized Patient : The Role of Macro- and Micronutrition on Disease Management by
This book is a guide for clinicians seeking to use metabolic approaches in the care of hospitalized patients. Since a nutritional component exists for practically any disease process managed, it is important to properly address the macro- and micronutrient issues that can help facilitate a favourable clinical outcome. Metabolic medicine is a newly recognized speciality that applies proven nutritional approaches to support hospitalized patients within existing standards of care. Optimizing Metabolic Status for the Hospitalized Patient: The Role of Macro- and Micronutrition on Disease Management addresses the gap of nutrition knowledge among physicians who generally care for patients without addressing the nutritional and metabolic perspective. Features: State-of-the-art guidelines for practicing metabolic medicine in the hospital setting "Hands on" guide for day-to-day metabolic management of hospitalized patients Personal insights from one of the field's leading practitioners, drawing upon decades of experience Historical reviews of key scientific developments This book is written by Dr Michael M. Rothkopf, Clinical Professor of Medicine at Rutgers/New Jersey Medical School. Dr Rothkopf founded the Metabolic Medicine Center at Morristown Medical Center and is the current Metabolic Medicine Consultant for the Heart Transplant, Lung Transplant, Cardiac Surgery and Wound Care Programs at RWJBH/Newark Beth Israel Medical Center. This book is directed at the physician level of hospital care. It provides value to a broad range of physicians regardless of their medical specialty or subspecialty. It will also be useful for medical students and resident physicians in training as well as nurse practitioners and physician assistants working in hospital settings.
ISBN: 9781138611641Publication Date: 2022-08-26
Procedures in Critical Care by
A Complete "Visual Atlas" for Core Critical-Care Procedures "As a practicing nurse for more than 30 years and currently a clinical risk manager, I can say that this book as a reference has multiple uses. Most importantly, it serves as an educational reference tool for healthcare staff at the bedside; however, it also serves as a useful reference for risk management, as we review the steps and multiple complex processes involved in caring for our most critically ill patients. This book gives clear guidance on the standard of care and is supported by up-to-date reference literature. I highly recommend it as a library 'must-have' in the critical care environment."--Dimensions of Critical Care Nursing Procedures in Critical Care gives you practical, on-the-spot management strategies for the broad range of conditions encountered in daily critical care practice. Supporting this coverage are full-color illustrations that take you step-by-step through each procedure. You also get a DVD containing nine narrated videos that demonstrate how to complete both the simple and the complex procedures that are featured in the book. The guide spans the entire spectrum of critical care procedures--from general monitoring through neurologic and infectious disease procedures. The procedures discussed are organized by anatomy, adding clarity and clinical relevance to the book's skill-building perspectives. The high-yield, streamlined coverage emphasizes exactly what you need: indications, process, pitfalls, consensus, and recommendations. Within each chapter, you'll find An introduction to the procedure Definitions and terms Detailed techniques, including indications and contraindications and preparation and complications where applicable Radiographic imaging and drawings Clinical pearls and common pitfalls Suggested readings All in a striking full-color presentation
Sleep in Critical Illness by
For decades heavily sedated ICU patients were assumed to be asleep. However, in the past 20 years, physiologic and epidemiologic studies have established sleep is frequently disrupted in the ICU. The inter-relationship between ICU sleep, delirium, and survivorship has come to the forefront of ICU practice. We now routinely aim for lighter sedation, delirium assessment has become standardized, and knowledge regarding the ICU factors leading to Post- Intensive Care Syndrome (PICS) has evolved. The importance of sleep in routine ICU management was codified for the first time in SCCM's 2018 PADIS guidelines. This state of the art book summarizes current knowledge regarding sleep during critical illness and recovery and how the risk factors, recognition, and outcomes associated with sleep in the ICU differ from those of healthy adults. Chapters address sleep quality in both the research environment and during routine care, the factors that disrupt sleep architecture and circadian biology in the ICU setting, medications that alter sleep architecture and those that can be used to improve it, the relationship between sleep and sedation and between sleep and delirium, and current strategies that can be used to improve sleep in the vulnerable ICU population. Written by experts in the field, Sleep in Critical Illness is a valuable resource for all members of the ICU interprofessional team including critical care physicians, nurses, physician assistants, pharmacists, and respiratory therapists as well as clinicians who consult in the ICU and post-ICU settings.
Understanding Crisis in Critical Care by
From a team of global experts comes the first detailed retrospective of the spread and management of COVID-19--and a blueprint for better management of the next major healthcare crisis From a team of global experts comes the first detailed retrospective of the spread and management of COVID-19--and a blueprint for better management of the next major healthcare crisis Understanding the Standard of Critical Crisis Care describes the global spread of COVID-19 and analyzes how it was managed compared to other deadly epidemics, such as SARS and MERS. The editor has gathered contributors from across the world who dealt first-hand with COVID-19, making this a truly global retrospective on new global pandemics. Understanding the Standard of Critical Crisis Care is organized into four sections, covering critical care changes associated with crisis standard of care; health and management issues of specific populations; infectious agents WHO has identified as those that can cause pandemics; and trauma and warfare. You'll learn how hospitals are transformed to accommodate surges in patients, while dealing with shortages in staffing, medications, mechanical ventilators, and personal protective equipment and get an invaluable look at how real-time critical decision were made during the height of the pandemic. This one-of-a-kind guide covers: *Working the Frontlines *Research and the Clinical Trials *Anti-microbials versus Immunomodulators *Respiratory Failure and Mechanical Ventilation *Ultrasound *Endocrinologic and cardiovascular Issues *Transfusion *Special Populations: Pediatrics, Pregnancy, Immunocompromised Patients *SARS, MERS, COVID-19, Ebola, Anthrax, Influenza *Traumatic Brain and Lung Injury *Palliative Care and Bioethics
