Point of Care
- AskMayoExpert This link opens in a new window AskMayoExpert captures Mayo-vetted expert knowledge and delivers it at the point of care. This application is aimed at becoming a highly credible knowledge source for the non-specialist and a tool to facilitate interaction between Mayo clinicians.
- Mayo Formulary This link opens in a new window List of drugs approved for use at Mayo Clinic based upon safety, efficacy, and financial impact.
- Mayo Clinic Guide to Antimicrobial Therapy Quick Guide We designed this electronic handbook to serve as a simplified, quick reference guide for the busy day-to-day office and hospital clinical practice. This guide provides updated information about antimicrobial agents and select infectious disease syndromes in a format that is readily accessible and easily applicable to the clinical environment.
- AJCC Cancer Staging System - Version 9 (2024) The American Joint Committee on Cancer (AJCC) made an important change to how it updates and releases Cancer Staging content. The AJCC shifted from a Cancer Staging Manual to a Cancer Staging System and moved away from Editions to Versions. Updated Version 9 disease sites go into effect on January 1 following their release. AJCC Protocol for Cancer Staging Documentation, Version 9 The new AJCC Protocol Version 9 content is presented in a streamlined, easy-to-use format including synoptic staging report format, tables, explanatory notes, and illustrations. All disease sites in the 8th Edition Cancer Staging Manual remain current until replaced with Version 9. This manual was prepared and published through the support of the American College of Surgeons, the American Cancer Society, the American Society of Clinical Oncology, the College of American Pathologists, and the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention This work is subject to copyright. All rights are reserved by the ACS, whether the whole or the part of the material is concerned, specifically the rights of translation, reprinting, reuse of illustrations, recitations, broadcasting, reproduction on any physical or digital media, transmission or storage and retrieval, electronic adaptation, computer software, or by any similar or dissimilar technology known now or in the future. The use of general descriptive names, registered names, trademarks, service marks, etc. in this content does not imply, even in the absence of a specific statement, that such names are exempt from the relevant protective laws and regulations and therefore free for general use. ACS and the authors of this content are safe to assume that the advice and information in this content are believed to be true and accurate at the date of publication. Neither the ACS nor any authors or editors give a warranty, expressed or implied, with respect to the material contained herein or for any errors or omissions that may have been made. AJCC Cancer Staging Manual – 8th Ed. (2017) Users who require access to the original AJCC Cancer Staging Manual – 8th Ed. (2017) may view it here. The 8th edition manual is provided in its entirety as a reference and should not be used in developing new treatment plans. All current staging protocols are provided within the Version 9 AJCC Cancer Staging System.
- Clinical Overview Critical Care | ClinicalKey Comprehensive Clinical Topic Overviews
- AccessAnesthesiology This link opens in a new window Anesthesiology reference tool including online textbooks, procedural videos, practice guidelines, and self-assessment examinations.
- AccessEmergencyMedicine This link opens in a new window Collection of books, case files, study tools, and procedure videos with an emergency medicine focus.
- AccessMedicine This link opens in a new window Reference tool containing online textbooks, images & illustrations, case files, diagnostic tools, and self-assessment examinations.
- AccessPediatrics This link opens in a new window Comprehensive Pediatric resource containing key textbooks, case files, study tools and videos.
- AccessSurgery This link opens in a new window Contains surgery textbooks, case studies, board reviews, images and procedure videos.
- ClinicalKey This link opens in a new window Clinical medicine resource which includes thousands of Elsevier electronic books and journals, practice guidelines, videos of procedures, images, and more. Login required to view PDF chapters of books. Registration in upper right corner of website.
- Micromedex This link opens in a new window Integrated searching of international drug reference resources from DrugDex, PoisIndex, PDR, Martindale's Extrapharmacopoiea, USP DI, ReproRisk, Material Safety Data Sheets, Index Nominum, and Lab Advisor.
- UpToDate This link opens in a new window UpToDate, an electronic clinical resource tool for physicians and patients that provides information on Adult Primary Care and Internal Medicine, Allergy and Immunology, and more …
Ferri's Best Test: a Practical Guide to Laboratory Medicine and Diagnostic Imaging by
Clinicians at all levels must consider a myriad of tests in the diagnostic process, requiring an up-to-date understanding of changing technology and the demands of time- and cost-efficiency. Ferri's Best Test, 5th Edition, is a unique, easy-to-use guide that simplifies complex information and helps you choose the best test to supplement your clinical diagnostic skills. It includes both lab and imaging tests for concise, convenient access to all diagnostic test options for more than 200 common diseases and disorders. . Practical, concise, spiral-bound, and pocket-sized-designed from cover to cover for quick, on-the-go reference. Three convenient sections provide quick access to key information on clinical laboratory testing, diagnostic imaging, and diagnostic algorithms. New and updated content on cardiac computed tomography angiography, computed tomography perfusion imaging, COVID-19, and much more. Coverage of 23 new laboratory tests and 14 new diseases and disorders. Essential information on indications, advantages, disadvantages, approximate costs, normal ranges, typical abnormalities, likeliest causes, and more. Experienced author Dr. Fred Ferri uses a unique, easy-to-follow format to simplify complex information and help you choose the best test for every patient. New appendices on electrocardiography and respiratory testing and function. Comparison tables and illustrations help improve your test selection. Enhanced eBook version included with purchase. Your enhanced eBook includes an image collection with access on a variety of devices.
Ferri's Clinical Advisor 2025 by
This book is intended to be a clear and concise reference for physicians and allied health professionals. Its user-friendly format is designed to provide a fast and efficient way to identify important clinical information and to offer practical guidance in patient management. The book is divided into five sections and an appendix, each with emphasis on clinical information.
The tremendous success of the previous editions and the enthusiastic comments from numerous colleagues have brought about several positive changes over time. This is the 27th edition of Ferri’s Clinical Advisor , a bestseller nationally and internationally and now available in multiple languages. Each section has been significantly expanded from prior editions, bringing the total number of medical topics covered in this book to more than 1200. New illustrations, tables, and boxes have been added to this edition to enhance recollection of clinically important facts. The expedited claims submission and reimbursement ICD-10CM codes are included in all topics.
ISBN: 9780443117244
Ferri's Practical Guide by
For nearly 25 years, Ferri's concise, pocket-sized resource has served as the go-to reference for practical, clinical information among students, residents, and other medical professionals. Formerly known as Practical Guide to the Care of the Medical Patient, this volume continues to provide a fast, effective, and efficient way to identify the important clinical, laboratory, and diagnostic imaging information you need to get through your internal medicine clerkship or residency "...useful for those planning an elective or clinical work in the USA or countries with a similar approach to health care". Reviewed by: Jacob F de Wolff, on behalf of British Journal of Hospital Medicine Date: October 2014 Benefit from the expert guidance of Dr. Fred Ferri, a leading teacher, clinician, and author. Confidently manage patients with the latest clinical information, drug therapies, and lab tests. Apply the latest knowledge and techniques with this updated and streamlined title, which still stays true to the Ferri name. Quickly find important information with content organized into three major sections: Section I, titled "Surviving the Wards," contains information on charting, laboratory evaluation and formulary; Section II provides the differential diagnosis of common signs and symptoms likely to be encountered in the acute care setting; Section III has been completely revised and subdivided into 11 specialty specific diseases and disorders. Carry just the sections you need, add personalized materials, and keep everything together and safe with an improved ring binder and design. Access the full text and procedural videos online at Expert Consult.
Calculators
- ClinicalKeyCritical Care
- GuidelineCentralCritical Care
- ClinicalKey Interactive tools to support treatment, diagnosis, and screening
- GuidelineCentral Over 100 free commonly used clinical formulas and calculator tools to help diagnose, treat, prevent, and determine prognosis of patients at point of care.
- MDCalc Since 2005, MDCalc has been an essential part of the clinician’s workflow to help achieve better patient outcomes. MDCalc’s evidence-based tools and content written by physician experts support 50+ specialties and cover 200+ patient conditions. MDCalc has a global presence, with users in over 200 countries and territories, with especially strong use in regions and medical centers focused on patient-centered and practice changing evidence-based medicine.
Guidelines
- ClinicalKeyCritical Care
- GuidelineCentralCritical Care
- UpToDate Society GuidelinesPulmonary and Critical Care Medicine
- ClinicalKey Latest clinical guidelines from leading organizations
- GuidelineCentral Access to thousands of clinical practice guidelines for medical professionals.
Education
Mayo Clinic Case Review for Pulmonary and Critical Care Boards by
Mayo Clinic Case Review for Pulmonary and Critical Care Boards is based on cases presented by faculty and fellows at the Mayo Clinic Pulmonary and Critical Care Medicine Wednesday Morning Case Conference, a weekly conference where interesting cases are presented in a "guess the diagnosis" format. The presenter leads the audience through the patient's clinical course highlighting clinically important facts and pearls in a question-and-answer format. The presentation concludes with take-home points relevant to clinical practice. Mayo Clinic is a tertiary-care referral medical center, which gives them the opportunity to see rare diseases or rare presentations of common diseases that don't present as frequently in other medical centers. Mayo Clinic Case Review for Pulmonary and Critical Care Boards is designed to be the optimal resource for board exam preparation in pulmonary and critical care medicine. Sections: · Section I: Obstructive Lung Disease · Section II: Critical Care Medicine · Section III: Diffuse Parenchymal Lung Disease · Section IV: Sleep Medicine, Neuromuscular and Skeletal · Section V: Infections · Section VI: Neoplasia · Section VII: Pleural Diseases · Section VIII: Interventional Pulmonology · Section IX: Transplantation · Section X: Vascular Diseases · Section XI: Occupational and Environmental Diseases
ISBN: 9780197755877Publication Date: 2023-12-07
Mayo Clinic Critical Care Case Review by
Mayo Clinic Critical Care Case Review is a unique compellation of cases presented at the highly rated Mayo Clinic Clinical Pathological Case (CPC) Conference. Designed to cover rare cases in a short amount of time, these reviews are set up in what is called the "unknown" format: highlightingthe clinically key elements of the patient's hospital course, singling out the diagnostic dilemmas, and concludes with a question and answer format that allows clinicians to take home relative points for clinical practice.Written by practicing intensivists and critical care fellows for practicing intensivists and critical care fellows, this book combines interesting reading experiences with critical care medicine review. Each chapter ends with questions and answers that provide a board style review for the readers.Each case begins on the left-hand page with the discussion on the right, written succinctly to provide quick diagnostic understanding. While most critical care review books focus solely on an organ-system format, Mayo Clinic Critical Care Case Review captures the spirit of the CPC Conference in itstext and illustrations.
Mayo Clinic Critical and Neurocritical Care Board Review by
Mayo Clinic Critical and Neurocritical Care Board Review is an all-inclusive review of the pathophysiology and care of the neurocritically ill and critically ill patient. The book reviews the core major critical care and neurocritical care disorders, underlying pathophysiology, treatment decisions with questions and answers for self-directed study and board review purposes. The text is succinct, to the point, relevant, informative, and up-to-date with information from recent clinical trials and facts based on evidence-based medicine. The references are up-to-date and include the most recent critical care guidelines for further study. The book is written and closely supervised by experienced Mayo Clinic faculty and reviewed in detail by the editors. The book is suitable for self-study towards neurocritical care boards and a number of critical care board examinations and certification exams. Tables, explanatory drawings, and bullet points are used throughout the text for high-yield learning.
- Procedural Videos | AccessMedicineCritical Care
Case Files Critical Care, Second Edition by
High-yield cases help you master critical care of patients in the ICU Experience with clinical cases is key to mastering the art and science of medicine and ultimately to providing patients with competent clinical care. Case Files: Critical Care delivers 45 high-yield clinical cases that illustrate essential concepts in critical care. Each case includes a complete discussion, clinical pearls, definitions of key terms, and USMLE-style review questions. With Case Files, you will learn instead of memorize. The Second Edition has been revised throughout to reflect the very latest standard-of-care updates. * Complete discussion of each case makes this an instructive and practical primer for critical care rotations * Helps you learn, rather than just memorize * Vibrant two-color design * NEW! Three all new cases and "Common Sense" Treatment Guidelines for each main diagnosis
Critical Care Examination and Board Review by
A comprehensive one-stop reference for critical care medicine - bolstered by more than 500 Q&A McGraw-Hill Specialty Board Review: Critical Care Medicine is an evidence-based multidisciplinary perspective to critical care medicine. The format of each chapter consists of text followed by questions and answers. Authors from major academic centers discuss the basic principles of their field, along with the most recent studies. This unique review reflects the author's belief that competency in critical care medicine is derived from multiple factors: an understanding of the basics of medicine, access to the most current evidence, clinical experience, and openness to palliative care. Features: *500+ questions and answers, with detailed answer explanations *Covers all key topics on the ABIM Critical Care exam blueprint *Numerous high-quality images, including: x-rays, CT scans, and electrocardiograms *Essential for critical care fellows or intensivists studying for the critical care boards, as well as medical students, residents, and any other healthcare provider interested in critical care *Each of the 36 textbook-style chapters are followed by Q&A *Current guidelines from various specialties are incorporated, including their levels and/or grades of recommendation
Critical Care Secrets by
For more than 30 years, the highly regarded Secrets Series® has provided students and practitioners in all areas of health care with concise, focused, and engaging resources for quick reference and exam review. Critical Care Secrets, 6th Edition, features the Secrets' popular question-and-answer format that also includes lists, tables, and an easy-to-read style - making reference and review quick, easy, and enjoyable. Fully updated throughout, with new chapters on neurological monitoring, obesity in the ICU, new ultrasound practices, ICU survivorship, and the latest cardiac technology such as ventricular assist and percutaneous support devices. Written and fully updated by clinical and thought leaders in critical care who have contributed chapters in their areas of expertise. The proven Secrets Series® format gives you the most return for your time - concise, easy to read, engaging, and highly effective. Covers the full range of essential topics in critical care for in-training or practicing professionals, including anatomy, physiology, immunology, and inflammation - fundamentally important topics in the effective care of critically ill patients. Top 100 Secrets and Key Points boxes provide a fast overview of the secrets you must know for success in practice and on exams. Portable size makes it easy to carry with you for quick reference or review anywhere, anytime. Expert ConsultT eBook version included with purchase. This enhanced eBook experience allows you to search all of the text, figures, and references from the book on a variety of devices.
Core eBooks
Hall, Schmidt, and Wood's Principles of Critical Care, Fifth Edition by
The field's definitive text updated with the latest advances in critical care and 1,000+ color images. Comprehensive and current, Hall, Schmidt, and Wood's Principles of Critical Care is the authoritative guide to diagnosing and treating the most common problems encountered in the practice of critical care. Written by expert critical care physicians who are also experienced teachers, it features an organization, thoroughness, and clarity unavailable in other critical care resources. This peerless guide provides consensus on the complex and often-conflicting data in the practice of critical care, along with copious diagnostic and treatment algorithms. The text covers every aspect of critical care medicine essential to successful clinical practice, ranging from basic principles to the latest technologies. This updated fifth edition is highlighted by: In-depth, up-to-date descriptions of the unique presentation, differential diagnosis, and management of specific critical illnesses A logical organ system approach that simplifies the search for thorough and practical information necessary to manage a patient's specific condition New chapters on Oxygen Delivery Systems; Ultrasound in Critical Care; Fungal and Viral Infections; Pulmonary Hypertension; Alcohol Withdrawal; and COVID-19 and Hemophagocytic Lymphohistiocytosis (HLH) New material regarding critical care pandemic preparedness and response Enhanced cross-disciplinary chapters addressing the structures and systems of critical care, including staffing, safety, and informatics New contributions on caregiver and family issues and the implications of disordered sleep for the critically ill A full-color presentation
Textbook of Critical Care, 8th ed. by
Bridging the gap between medical and surgical specialties in critical care, Textbook of Critical Care, 8th Edition, offers a practical, multidisciplinary approach to the effective management of adult and pediatric patients in the ICU. An outstanding editorial team, led by world-renowned intensivist Dr. Jean-Louis Vincent, assisted by Dr. Frederick A. Moore and new editors Drs. Rinaldo Bellomo and John J. Marini, provides the evidence-based guidance you need to overcome a full range of practice challenges. A full-color art program, relevant basic science and key summary points in every chapter, and expert contributing authors from all over the world make this an indispensable resource for every member of the critical care team. Provides a concise, readable understanding of the pathophysiology of critical illness and new therapeutic approaches to critical care. Addresses both medical and surgical aspects in critical care for adult and pediatric patients in one comprehensive, easy-to-use reference. Shares the knowledge and expertise of the most recognized and trusted leaders in the field, with more international contributing authors than in previous editions. Covers new information on procedural and diagnostic ultrasound, prone positioning, ECMO, and VADs. Discusses key topics such as organ support, telemedicine, echocardiography, antibiotic stewardship, antiviral agents, coagulation and anti-coagulation, and more. Features a wealth of tables, boxes, algorithms, diagnostic images, and key points that clarify important concepts and streamline complex information for quick reference. Includes companion videos and exclusive chapters online that cover commonly performed procedures. Takes a multidisciplinary approach to critical care, with contributions from experts in anesthesia, surgery, pulmonary medicine, and pediatrics. Enhanced eBook version included with purchase. Your enhanced eBook allows you to access all of the text, figures, and references from the book on a variety of devices.
Critical Care Medicine, 5th ed. by
Now completely revised to bring you up to date with the latest advances in the field, Critical Care Medicine: Principles of Diagnosis and Management in the Adult, 5th Edition, delivers expert, practical guidance on virtually any clinical scenario you may encounter in the ICU. Designed for intensivists, critical care and pulmonology residents, fellows, practicing physicians, and nurse practitioners, this highly regarded text is clinically focused and easy to reference. Led by Drs. Joseph Parrillo and Phillip Dellinger, the 5th Edition introduces numerous new authors who lend a fresh perspective and contribute their expertise to that of hundreds of top authorities in the field. Includes new chapters on current applications of bedside ultrasound in the ICU, both diagnostic and procedural; mechanical assist devices; and extra-corporeal membrane oxygenation (ECMO). Contains new administrative chapters that provide important information on performance improvement and quality, length of stay, operations, working with the Joint Commission, and more. Features new videos and images that provide visual guidance and clarify complex topics. Keeps you up to date with expanded chapters on echocardiography in the ICU and valvular heart disease, including TAVR. Includes separate chapters on mechanical ventilation of obstructive airway disease and acute respiratory distress syndrome (ARDS) - including the many recent changes in approach to positive end expiratory pressure setting in ARDS. Covers key topics such as patient-ventilator synchrony and non-invasive ventilation for treating chronic obstructive pulmonary disease patients with acute respiratory failure. Reflects the recent literature and guidance on amount of fluids, type of fluid, vasopressor selection, mean arterial pressure target, and decision on steroid use in septic shock. Provides questions and answers in every chapter, perfect for self-assessment and review. Enhanced eBook version included with purchase. Your enhanced eBook allows you to access all of the text, figures, and references from the book on a variety of devices.
Evidence-Based Practice of Critical Care by
Approach any critical care challenge using a practical, consistent strategy based on best practices with Evidence-Based Practice of Critical Care, 3rd Edition. Unique, question-based chapters cover the wide variety of clinical options in critical care, examine the relevant research, and provide recommendations based on a thorough analysis of available evidence. Drs. Clifford S. Deutschman and Patrick J. Nelligan, along with nearly 200 critical-care experts, provide a comprehensive framework for translating evidence into practice, helping both residents and practitioners obtain the best possible outcomes for critically ill patients. Covers a full range of critical care challenges, from routine care to complicated and special situations. Helps you think through each question in a logical, efficient manner, using a practical, consistent approach to available management options and guidelines. Features revised and updated information based on current research, and includes all-new cases on key topics and controversies such as the use/overuse of antibiotics, drug resistance in the ICU, non-invasive mechanical ventilation, frequency of transfusions, and duration of renal replacement therapies. Provides numerous quick-reference tables that summarize the available literature and recommended clinical approaches. Enhanced eBook version included with purchase. Your enhanced eBook allows you to access all of the text, figures, and references from the book on a variety of devices.
Hagberg and Benumof's Airway Management, 5th ed. by
Considered the go-to reference in airway management not only in anesthesia practice but also in emergency medicine and intensive care settings, Hagberg and Benumof's Airway Management ensures that practitioners worldwide are familiar and proficient with the most recent developments in equipment and scientific knowledge in this fast-changing area. Covering all aspects of this fundamental practice, the new 5th Edition facilitates the safe performance of airway management for all airway practitioners, regardless of specialty, using a concise, how-to approach, carefully chosen illustrations, and case examples and analysis throughout. The only volume of its kind completely dedicated to airway management, this edition features: Well-illustrated and tightly focused coverage, with anatomical drawings, charts, algorithms, photos, and imaging studies for quick reference-many new to this edition. Key Points in every chapter, as well as up-to-date information on the latest ASA guidelines. Two new chapters covering Combination Techniques and Human Factors in Airway Management; all other chapters have been thoroughly revised to reflect current thinking and practice. A significantly expanded video library, including intubating the COVID-19 patient and new videos on ultrasonography of the airway. Enhanced eBook version included with purchase. Your enhanced eBook allows you to access all of the text, figures, and references from the book on a variety of devices.
Oh's Intensive Care Manual by
For nearly 40 years, Oh's Intensive Care Manual has been the quick reference of choice for ICU physicians at all levels of experience. The revised 8th edition maintains this tradition of excellence, providing fast access to practical information needed every day in today's intensive care unit. This bestselling manual covers all aspects of intensive care in sufficient detail for daily practice while keeping you up to date with the latest innovations in the field. New coverage of the latest developments in ICU imaging techniques, including ultrasound. New information on the latest advances in ECMO (Extracorporeal Membrane Oxygenation) for cardiac and respiratory failure, ARDS, septic shock, neurologic disorders, muscle function, and hemodynamic therapy. New co-editor Dr. Jonathan Handy shares his knowledge and expertise on acid-base disturbances during critical illness, critical care transfers, intravenous fluid therapy, cardiovascular physiology, burn management, sepsis, and the immunological impact of surgery and burn injury. Expert ConsultT eBook version included with purchase. This enhanced eBook experience allows you to search all of the text, figures, and references from the book on a variety of devices.
Oxford Textbook of Respiratory Critical Care by
Respiratory critical care is essential to modern critical care medicine. To successfully support critically ill patients, an understanding of specific lung conditions and syndromes, their pathophysiological basis, and evidence-based management strategies is of vital importance. The Oxford Textbook of Respiratory Critical Care provides an authoritative account of respiratory critical care medicine with a clear focus on how to manage respiratory disease in the critically ill. The fundamentals of pathophysiology, diagnosis, and treatment, for respiratory diseases and conditions are outlined with a specific focus on management in the critical care setting. Across 66 chapters, common and unusual respiratory conditions are included as well as those aspects of pulmonary disease in which the management in critical illness is unique. The text equips the reader with up-to-date knowledge of clinical practice for the respiratory system, lung diseases within critical care medicine and the impact of critical illness on lung biology. Each chapter highlights advances in the field as well as emphasising the importance of getting the basics right. Key messages, controversies, and directions to further research points allow both focused reading and deeper engagement. A dedicated chapter to COVID-19, and sections throughout explore the impact of this novel virus in specific areas of respiratory critical care. Edited and written by an international group of recognized experts from many disciplines, this essential textbook is relevant to medics globally. This is an indispensable guide for clinicians, researchers and nurses working in Critical Care, Anaesthesia, Respiratory Medicine, Acute Medicine, and Emergency Medicine.
ISBN: 9780198766438Publication Date: 2024-01-13
Critical Care by
A practical, concise, and up-to-date reference for the ICU A Doody's Core Title for 2019 LANGE Critical Care delivers concise, evidenced-based, and highly clinical coverage of the surgical and medical aspects of critical care. The book provides basic fundamentals, applications and insights that will be of lasting value to all ICU physicians, nurses, advanced care providers, and allied personnel who care for the critically ill and injured patients in all ICUs. Noteworthy features include a well-illustrated Clinical Care Procedures section, high-yield summaries of the full spectrum of essential critical care topics, and the inclusion of "Controversies" chapters throughout each section addressing some of the ambiguous aspects of critical care. This timely book also covers the growing scope of critical care provided outside the ICU and the increasing importance of critical care services within the hospital structure. In keeping with the multi-professional nature of critical care delivery, several chapters are authored or coauthored by critical care fellows, ICU nurses, physician assistants, nurse practitioners, and pharmacists. FEATURES: * Includes both the surgical and medical aspects of critical care, making it valuable to the intensivist working in the medical, surgical, or neurological ICU. Utilizes numerous visual elements such as figures, tables, and algorithms. Appendix contains valuable reference material and formulas, including a chapter on bedside statistics. Excellent primer for internal medicine and anesthesiology ICU rotations and great for board examination review.
Critical Care Emergencies by
Written for residents and practicing community emergency physicians, this volume on critical care emergencies in the What Do I Do Now: Emergency Medicine series uses a case-based approach to cover both common and unique scenarios in critical care emergencies. Featuring chapters written by critical care and emergency medicine trained physicians, this volume provides a unique perspective on the ongoing management of critical illness with a focus on guideline-based protocol care based on national and local recommendations for common presentations such as pneumonia, acute myocardial infarction, or trauma. This volume reviews frequently-encountered diagnoses, procedures, clinical recommendations, and management problems. Brief summaries included at the end of each chapter supply the practicing clinician a quick point-of-care reference during a shift. Critical Care Emergencies is an engaging collection of thought-provoking cases which provides relevant reading for on-clinical shift trainees and for practicing EM physicians who need a refresher. The volume is also a self-assessment tool that tests the reader's ability to answer the question, "What do I do now?"
ISBN: 9780190082581Publication Date: 2023-10-17
eBooks
After the ICU: Multidisciplinary Perspectives on Supporting Critical Illness Survivors by
An essential guide to navigating the journey to recovery from critical illness Millions of patients are admitted to intensive care units (ICUs) each year, one third of whom need a ventilator machine to help them breathe. These critically ill patients may develop health problems related to their illness, injury, ventilator or other treatments. Such problems can continue after the patient leaves the hospital. LANGE: After the ICU: Multidisciplinary Perspectives on Supporting Critical Illness Survivors fills a gap in the existing literature on the subject. Arranged in three sections, the book addresses the ways in which care in the ICU can impact life afterwards and provides a framework for the recovery process. The early chapters feature personal stories from patients describing their life-threatening illness, journey to recovery, and the clinicians who helped them along the way. In the following chapters, clinicians, physicians, nurses, and patients' family members share their unique perspectives on the recovery process. Each chapter includes a specific section dedicated to tips for clinicians. Includes key concepts of care across the arc of the ICU patient encounter Evidence-based interventions are presented and summarized in a practical stepwise approach Features accounts from patients, clinicians, physicians, nurses, and others involved in the care and recovery process
Blood Gases and Critical Care Testing by
Blood gas tests are a group of tests that are widely used and essential for the evaluation and management of a patient's ventilation, oxygenation, and acid-base balance, often in emergent situations, and along with blood gases are other critical care analytes measured on blood: calcium, magnesium, phosphate, and lactate. Blood Gases and Critical Care Testing: Clinical Interpretations and Laboratory Applications, Third Edition, serves as your single most important reference for understanding blood gases and critical care testing and interpretation.The third edition of this classic book is a complete revision and provides the fundamentals of blood gas (pH, pCO2, pO2) and other critical care tests (calcium, magnesium, phosphate, and lactate), including the history, the definitions, the physiology, and practical information on sample handling, quality control and reference intervals. Case examples with clear clinical interpretations of critical care tests have been included to all chapters.This book will serve as a valuable and convenient resource for clinical laboratory scientists in understanding the physiology and clinical use of these critical care tests and for providing practical guidelines for successful routine testing and quality monitoring of these tests.
Clinical Practice Manual for Pulmonary and Critical Care Medicine by
Clinical Practice Manual for Pulmonary and Critical Care Medicine, by Judd W. Landsberg, MD, is a unique point-of-care manual that provides essential information on managing inpatients and outpatients with common, serious respiratory and internal medicine presentation and problems. Easy-to-follow diagnostic and therapeutic algorithms are accompanied by case-based illustrations encountered on a daily basis by attendings, fellows, residents, and students. The bulleted format, concise approach, and familiar examples provide a framework for effective teaching, learning, and patient care. Identifies common but important misconceptions that are regularly encountered in pulmonary and critical care training. Uses a concise, bulleted format throughout, helping you find key information quickly. Illustrates cases with primary data such as x-rays, monitor strips, ventilator wave forms, and other familiar documentation. Helps you develop your ability to effectively explain your thought process in the clinical setting to other practitioners at the bedside. Serves as a 'teachers guide' for clinician educators, organizing topics in an easy to teach fashion, amenable to 'chalk talks' and bedside didactics Provides focused discussions of basic physiology and pathophysiology related to pulmonary and critical care medicine. Expert ConsultT eBook version included with purchase. This enhanced eBook experience allows you to search all of the text, figures, and references from the book on a variety of devices.
Critical Care Nephrology by
Comprehensive and clinically relevant, the 3rd Edition of Critical Care Nephrology provides authoritative coverage of the latest advances in critical care procedures for patients with renal diseases or disorders. Using common guidelines and standardized approaches to critically ill patients, this multidisciplinary reference facilitates better communication among all physicians who care for critically ill patients suffering from kidney disease, electrolyte and metabolic imbalances, poisoning, severe sepsis, major organ dysfunction, and other pathological events. Offers detailed discussions of different forms of organ support, artificial organs, infections, acute illness occurring in chronic hemodialysis patients, and much more. Places a special emphasis on therapeutic interventions and treatment procedures for a hands on clinical reference tool. Presents information clearly, in a format designed for easy reference - from basic sciences to clinical syndromes to diagnostic tools. Covers special populations such as children, diabetic patients, and the elderly. An exceptional resource for nephrologists, intensivists, surgeons, or critical care physicians - anyone who treats critically ill renal patients. Shares a combined commitment to excellence lead by Drs. Claudio Ronco, Rinaldo Bellomo, John Kellum, and Zaccaria Ricci - unparalleled leaders in this field. Addresses key topics with expanded coverage of acute kidney injury, stress biomarkers, and sepsis, including the latest developments on mechanisms and management. Provides up-to-date information on extracorporeal therapies from new editor Dr. Zaccaria Ricci. Expert ConsultT eBook version included with purchase. This enhanced eBook experience allows you to search all of the text, figures, and references from the book on a variety of devices.
Current Therapy of Trauma and Surgical Critical Care by
Drawing on the experience and knowledge of master world-renowned trauma surgeons, Current Therapy of Trauma and Surgical Critical Care, 3rd Edition, offers a comprehensive summary of optimal treatment and post-operative management of traumatic injuries. Ideally suited for everyday use, this practical, concise reference highlights the most important aspects of urgent surgical care, from damage control to noninvasive techniques to chemical and biological injuries. A focus on the surgical techniques required to manage even the most complex injuries makes it both an excellent resource for quick review before entering the operating room and a valuable review tool for board certification or recertification.
The ECMO Book by
ECMO (extracorporeal membrane oxygenation) is a crucial form of support for patients with respiratory failure, severe ARDS, COVID-19, and cardiogenic shock whose use has been increasing exponentially around the world. The ECMO Book offers a comprehensive yet approachable framework for understanding the principles of extracorporeal support as well as the subtleties related to the care of patients needing ECMO. Dr. Jeffrey DellaVolpe provides authoritative, consistent guidance on all aspects of ECMO, making complex information understandable and accessible and helping you increase your knowledge of and proficiency with this multifaceted therapy.
Fuhrman and Zimmerman's Pediatric Critical Care by
In the highly specialized field of caring for children in the PICU, Fuhrman and Zimmerman's Pediatric Critical Care is the definitive reference for all members of the pediatric intensive care team. Drs. Jerry J. Zimmerman and Alexandre T. Rotta, along with an expert team of editors and contributors from around the world, have carefully updated the 6th Edition of this highly regarded text to bring you the most authoritative and useful information on today's pediatric critical care-everything from basic science to clinical applications Contains highly readable, concise chapters with hundreds of useful photos, diagrams, algorithms, and clinical pearls. Uses a clear, logical, organ-system approach that allows you to focus on the development, function, and treatment of a wide range of disease entities. Features more international authors and expanded coverage of global topics including pandemics, sepsis treatment in underserved communities, specific global health concerns by region. Covers current trends in sepsis-related mortality and acute care after sepsis, as well as new device applications for pediatric patients. Provides ultrasound videos and more than 500 board-style review questions and answers on Expert Consult. Enhanced eBook version included with purchase. Your enhanced eBook allows you to access all of the text, figures, and references from the book on a variety of devices.
Handbook of Critical Care and Emergency Ultrasound by
A quick-access practical handbook for the use of ultrasound in critical care and emergency department settings Point-of-care ultrasound offers a readily available, noninvasive, reproducible modality that can expedite and improve care in the critical care and the emergency setting. This handy guide clarifies basic concepts and provides the hands-on guidance necessary for clinicians to arrive at better therapeutic decisions and perform safer procedures with the use of ultrasound. Handbook of Critical Care and Emergency Ultrasound opens with important chapters on ultrasound basics, ultrasound orientation, and probe selection, machine controls, and equipment. 22 additional chapters cover organ or system-specific procedural applications and approaches to the trauma patient. You will also find algorithms for the patient with undifferentiated chest pain, dyspnea, hypotension, and abdominal pain. 259 drawings and photographs support the text, illustrating patient positioning, basic views, anatomy, and common pathology. Handbook of Critical Care and Emergency Ultrasound is the perfect resource for critical care and emergency providers who wish to deepen their knowledge of sonography and broaden their use of ultrasound in the care of their patient.
ICU Quick Drug Guide, 1st ed. by
Offering essential, evidence-based practice guidelines specifically for the critical care setting, ICU Quick Drug Guide contains up-to-date information in a quick-access format. This portable handbook provides fast, accurate drug therapy information needed at the point of care, including expert advice throughout to help clinicians determine optimal pharmacological therapy. Offers a quick summary of current clinical guidelines to experienced clinicians while providing a simplified, focused guide to all entry level clinicians. Covers the wide variety of issues seen in the ICU, including sepsis and septic shock, venous thromboembolism, acute heart failure, anaphylaxis, arrhythmias, asthma and COPD, pain, infections, pancreatitis and liver failure, stroke, and many more. Begins each topic with a brief discussion of the disease state followed by drug tables that compare and contrast different treatment regimens, including pharmacokinetics, pharmacodynamics, drug interactions, contraindications, and hepatic/renal dosing. Contains clinical pearls organized by the top disease states seen in the critical/acute care setting. Provides practical and essential drug information from Dr. Jennifer Pai Lee, a clinical pharmacist with expertise in critical care and pharmacokinetics/pharmacodynamics. Enhanced eBook version included with purchase. Your enhanced eBook allows you to access all of the text, figures, and references from the book on a variety of devices.
Intubating the Critically Ill Patient: A Step-By-Step Guide for Success in the ED and ICU by
Intubating critically ill patients is a process that requires a well-thought-out, step-by-step plan, specific to each patient. This book teaches the steps necessary to predict, prepare, perform, and provide pre and post-intubation care. The focus of the book is not on how to intubate, but rather all the steps leading up to and after the tube goes in. From the EMS stretcher to the ICU bed, this book has easily accessible, practical information for these tenuous patients, and answers the who, what, where, when and how of airway management. Included are specific chapters on special patient populations outlining the process of intubating patients with neurologic injury, cardiovascular compromise, sepsis, trauma and those with obesity Intubating the Critically Ill Patient: A Step-by-Step Guide for Success in the ED and ICU is an essential resource for physicians, medical students, and allied health professionals in emergency medicine and intensive care settings.
ISBN: 9783030568122Publication Date: 2020-11-20
Marino's the ICU Book by
A fundamental and respected resource book in critical care, The ICU Book, Fourth Edition , continues to provide the current and practical guidance that have made it the best-selling text in critical care. The text addresses both the medical and surgical aspects of critical care, delivering the guidance needed to ensure sound, safe, and effective treatment for patients in intensive care--regardless of the specialty focus of the unit. Traditionally available as a printed textbook, the print version now comes with a completely revamped digital experience. Viewable through a browser on PC and Mac or as a download to your iOS tablet or smartphone , the digital version includes: The complete text with optimized navigation A powerful, index-based search function All referenced content is linked throughout for instant access Regular literature and commentary updates integrated into the text The ability to share notes with friends and colleagues Key Features Problem-based approach teaches critical thinking and mirrors the decision-making process of the intensive care unit Expert perspectives from Dr. Marino help sharpen technique, minimize error, and improve outcomes Reader-friendly format makes essential information easy to locate and apply "Final Word" summaries at the conclusion of each chapter highlight salient points and improve retention of key concepts NEW to the Fourth Edition Fully rewritten content (including eight new chapters) assures readers of only the most up-to-date and practical information available Full-color format emphasizes clinical anatomy and facilitates visual learning Additionally, this publication is included on the ANCC: American Nurses Credentialing Center's reference list
Murray & Nadel's Textbook of Respiratory Medicine, 7th ed. by
The printed textbook is a gateway to rich resources online. While there are a whopping 900 figures in the printed text, they are joined by others to make a total of 1650 figures online, all available for download. The text is expanded by an additional 25% online. A total of 190 videos and audio clips are accessible online, popping up with just a click to the link in the text. All the references are online, and each one links to the actual publication. Most importantly, the online textbook will feature regular updates from our editors and authors, with the aim of realizing a “living textbook.”
Principles and Practice of Mechanical Ventilation, 3d ed. by
The definitive guide to the use of mechanical ventilation in critically ill patients - now in full color and updated to reflect the latest advances A Doody's Core Title for 2022! Principles & Practice of Mechanical Ventilation, 3e provides comprehensive, authoritative coverage of all the clinical, pharmacological, and technical issues surrounding the use of mechanical ventilation. Editor Martin J. Tobin - past editor-in-chief of the American Journal of Respiratory and Critical Care Medicine - has enlisted more than 100 authors, all of whom are at the forefront of research in their chosen subfield in order to provide the most authoritative and up-to-date information possible. No other text so thoroughly and comprehensively explores the myriad advances in modes and methodologies that have occurred in this ever-changing field as this cornerstone text. Features: Each chapter has been extensively revised to reflect the latest research A strong focus on the biomedical principles that govern ventilator management Expert insights from contributors in critical care, pulmonary medicine, anesthesiology, surgery, basic science, provide a unique multidisciplinary approach 68 chapters that explore every important aspect of mechanical ventilation, including:Conventional and unconventional methods of ventilator support;Noninvasive methods of ventilator support;Unconventional methods of ventilator support;Physiologic effect of mechanical ventilation;Complications in ventilator supported patients;Weaning of ventilator-support;Management of the ventilator-supported patient;Adjunctive therapy, including fluid management, inhaled antibiotic therapy, and bronchodilator therapy;Ethics and economics Principles & Practice of Mechanical Ventilation, 3e comprehensively covers the principles and practice of keeping patients alive through the use of mechanical ventilation, along with related pharmacological and technical issues.
Journals
Research Tools
- CINAHL This link opens in a new window Covers nursing and allied health disciplines. Includes journal articles, healthcare books, nursing dissertations, selected conference proceedings and standards of professional practice. Some full text available.
- Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews This link opens in a new window Includes the full text of regularly updated systematic reviews of the effects of healthcare prepared by The Cochrane Collaboration.
- EMBASE This link opens in a new window Strong emphasis on drug-related literature & toxicology, in addition to all espects of human medicine. Also covers nursing, dentistry, paramedical professions, podiatry, homeopathy.
- PubMed This link opens in a new window Free access to MEDLINE & PREMEDLINE databases from the National Library of Medicine. Includes links to other NLM resources including NCBI databases, OMIM, MedlinePlus consumer health data & PubMed Central free digital archive of biomedical literature.
- SCOPUS This link opens in a new window Includes articles from more than 4,000 publishers, covering the scientific, medical, technical & the social sciences. For articles published since 1996 many include the full bibliography & abstract, and links to other papers citing those publications.
- Web of Science This link opens in a new window The Web of Science contains a remarkable treasure of data on scientific content, impact, and collaborations from 1900 to the present day on a global scale.
Clinical Trials
- CenterWatch: Clinical Trials Listing Service This link opens in a new window Designed to be a resource for both patients interested in participating in clinical trials and for research professionals.
- Clinical Trials Listing This link opens in a new window Provides regularly updated information about federally and privately supported clinical trials. Provides information about a trial's purpose, who may participate, locations, and phone numbers for more details.
Mayo Clinic Resources
Mayo Clinic Libraries Services
- Patients' Libraries The Mayo Clinic Libraries offer Patients’ Library services at several locations. Visit these guides for details about the collections and services available at each location.
- W. Bruce Fye History of Medicine Library The W. Bruce Fye History of Medicine Library is a specialized library housing important collections in the history of medicine and allied sciences. Several thousand volumes of rare medical classics (from 1479) and early journal literature (from 1665) comprise the core collection of primary literature on all aspects of medicine and allied fields. More recently published histories, biographies, facsimiles, and other support materials comprise the remainder of the collection of some 23,000 total volumes. Special strengths include anesthesiology, cardiology, dermatology, immunology, ophthalmology and neurology. The library also has a large collection of Mayo physician bound reprints.
Please let us know if you have any suggestions, questions, or find broken links. Contact us at: