eBooks
Challenging Neuropathic Pain Syndromes by
Get a quick, expert overview of the many key facets of neuropathic pain syndromes with this concise, practical resource by Drs. Mitchell Freedman, Jeff Gehret, George Young, and Leonard Kamen. This easy-to-read reference presents a summary of today's best evaluation methods and evidence-based treatment options for complex regional pain syndrome as well as other challenging syndromes. Covers key topics such as: Evidence Based Approach to Many Uncommon and Difficult Neuropathic Pain Syndromes Review of Pathophysiology of Pain Approach to Chronic Pain Syndromes Work Up and Treatments for Complex Regional Pain Syndromes Consolidates today's available information and experience in this multifaceted area into one convenient resource.
ISBN: 9780323485661Publication Date: 2017-11-30
Decompressive Techniques by
Atlas of Interventional Pain Management Series provides indications for and describes techniques associated with advanced interventional pain management and decompression procedures.
The field of interventional pain medicine has progressed significantly in the past decade. Interventional pain physicians previously performed simple procedures and injections that both alleviated pain and eradicated the impetus for the noxious stimuli. Advanced procedures are now available to providers and patients that address painful conditions that were previously not amenable to intervention.
The Atlas series represents a landmark milestone in the published pain literature, as it provides a comprehensive guide to all currently available advanced pain procedures.
This Atlas title, Decompressive Techniques , discusses the critical topics of foraminotomy, discectomy, laminotomy, and more. Knowledge of the anatomy, patient selection, procedure techniques and strategies to optimize performance, and perioperative management is essential to the safe and successful performance of these procedures.
ISBN: 9780323877510
Diagnosis and Treatment of Spinal Cord Injury: The Neuroscience of Spinal Cord Injury by
Diagnosis and Treatment of Spinal Cord Injury will enhance readers' understanding of the complexities of the diagnosis and management of spinal cord injuries. Featuring chapters on drug delivery, exercise, and rehabilitation, this volume discusses in detail the impact of the clinical features, diagnosis, management, and long-term prognosis of spinal cord injuries on the lives of those affected. The book has applicability for neuroscientists, neurologists, clinicians, and anyone working to better understand spinal cord injuries.
ISBN: 9780128224984Publication Date: 2022-10-11
Dysimmune Neuropathies by
Dysimmune Neuropathies provides readers with detailed, basic information that will enable users to recognize and differentiate each neuropathy to adequately guide an investigation and create a treatment plan. An overview of recent progress, avenues for future research, and the desired benefits are also covered. The book highlights the many developments in the field that have occurred in terms of pathophysiological mechanisms, particularly immunological, that have direct implications on treatment strategies. This book is a great reference for trainees, clinicians and researchers specializing in neurology, neuromuscular diseases and neurophysiology.
ISBN: 9780128145722Publication Date: 2020-04-29
Headache and Facial Pain: Pain Medicine, a Case-Based Learning Series by
Here is the perfect text you need to provide your learners with real-life clinical scenarios that are ideal for Case-Based Learning and Discussion. Presents real-world patients in a real-world clinical setting, making learning fun and engaging. The Case-Based Learning approach focuses learners and clinicians on the key elements for each diagnosis and helps develop a deep understanding of how to diagnose and treat each condition. Covers everyday clinical problems such as migraine and other headaches, occipital neuralgia, temporal arteritis, trigeminal neuralgia, temporomandibular joint dysfunction, and more. Cases unfold just the way they do in your clinic. Each case is accompanied with thoughtful clinical commentary and key messages from the author. Each chapter uses high-quality radiographic images, clinical photos, and full-color drawing to facilitate a clear, easy-to-understand approach to evaluation and diagnosis. A ideal self-assessment and review tool for pain medicine practitioners and trainees, as well as those preparing for the American Board of Anesthesiology Pain Medicine certification and recertification exam. Enhanced eBook version included with purchase. Your enhanced eBook allows you to access all of the text, figures, and references from the book on a variety of devices.
ISBN: 9780323834568Publication Date: 2022-03-15
Headache and Migraine in Practice by
Headache and Migraine in Practice provides practical and precise approaches to the headaches and facial pains commonly encountered in hospitals and clinics. The book pays specific attention to the clinical features of headaches to present treatment solutions, while also recommending ICHD3 differential diagnoses based on diagnostic criteria. Topics covered were developed by colleagues with expertise in Neurology, Nutrition, Psychiatry, Physical Medicine, and Sports Medicine, thus providing a collaborative authorship that adds interdisciplinary value. Sections cover the diagnosis and treatment of various types of headaches in children, the elderly and women during different periods of pregnancy, lactation and hormone-related stages. This book is recommended for general practitioners, internists, neurologists, headache nurse specialists, and all others who would like to contribute to better diagnoses and more effective treatment plans for patients with headaches and facial pains.
Migraine Management by
Migraine Management, Volume 196 covers the effective treatment of migraines, including different subtypes of migraines in different patient populations. The classification and diagnostic criteria of common and uncommon subtypes of migraine is explored in detail, including childhood variants. An in-depth analysis of the pharmacology of acute and prophylactic agents is presented, along with an evidence-based review of pharmacologic management. This includes recently developed CGRP monoclonal antibodies and non-peptide small molecule CGRP antagonists. Advances in neuromodulatory treatments, both noninvasive and implantable, are also critically reviewed. Finally, specific treatment-related issues in pregnancy and lactation and childhood as well as the elderly are covered. Issues related to the diagnosis and management of vestibular migraine and the co-morbid disorder of persistent postural-perceptual dizziness is also explored. Summarizes evidence-based best treatment for migraines Differentiates treatment based on patient population, migraine type, and clinical setting Includes pharmacological, biobehavioral, and physical treatments Provides specialized treatments for children, the elderly, and pregnant patients
ISBN: 9780128234815Publication Date: 2024-02-01
The Neurobiology, Physiology, and Psychology of Pain by
The Neurobiology, Physiology and Psychology of Pain focuses on bettering readers' understanding of acute and chronic pain. Featuring chapters on neurotransmitters, pharmacology, and brain imaging, this volume discusses, in detail, the mechanisms of pain and experimental studies undertaken to better understand the pathways involved. The translational work in this area has applicability for neurologists, anesthesiologists, pharmacologists, and anyone working in the intersection of these areas. This volume is integral for anyone interested in the molecular underpinnings of pain at every level.
ISBN: 9780128205891Publication Date: 2022-02-16
Neuroimmune Interactions in Pain : Mechanisms and Therapeutics by
As lifespans increase, more people around the world find themselves victims of chronic pain. In spite of this, treatment options continue to be severely limited. Anti-inflammatory drugs can only do so much, while painkillers like opioids have led to crippling addictions and fatal overdoses. The subject of the book is the role of immune cells, including glial cells, and neuroimmune interactions in chronic pain. The book begins by examining the preclinical and clinical evidence supporting the involvement of non-neuronal cells in chronic pain. It discusses the interactions between non-neuronal cells and neurons in the regulation of chronic pain. It then presents the implications of these findings, including promising and emerging treatments such as specialized pro-resolving mediators (SPMs, such as resolvins and protectins), immune cell therapy, and complementary and alternative medicine, as well as neuromodulation and regenerative medicine, which may prove to be theturning point for hundreds of millions of patients world-wide who struggle to escape from the shadow of chronic pain. The book presents ground-breaking research that will alter current perspectives on chronic pain.
ISBN: 9783031292316
eBooks
Peripheral Nerve Stimulation by
At last-a single, convenient reference on this interventional pain management technique, covering all recent advances in this fast-changing field. Peripheral Nerve Stimulation: A Comprehensive Guide is a one-stop resource offering practical guidance on performing a wide array of pain-relieving procedures using office-based ultrasound-guided techniques, fluoroscopy, and more. Concise and user-friendly, this easy-to-use guide helps physicians deliver safe, accurate, and cost-effective care by demonstrating how to evaluate the causes of pain, identify the most promising stimulation technique, locate the site with precision, and provide effective pain relief. Offers clear guidance on peripheral nerve stimulation procedures for patients with chronic pain, incorporating all clinically useful imaging modalities. Illustrates the anatomical targets for each procedure and the appropriate placement of wireless micro devices. Presents information in an easy-to-follow, consistent format: anatomy; diagnosis by history, exam, imaging, and diagnostic block; indications for PNS; contraindications for PNS; and techniques. Provide superb visual guidance with clinically relevant anatomic drawings, color line drawings, clinical photographs, and ultrasound images. Discusses the risks and benefits of each procedure, highlights potential pitfalls, and offers clinical pearls on how to avoid them. Enhanced eBook version included with purchase. Your enhanced eBook allows you to access all of the text, figures, and references from the book on a variety of devices.
Spinal Cord Injury: Functional Rehabilitation, 4th ed. by
Updated & Revised - Incorporates current best practices based on recent evidence and clinical practice guidelines. Includes more therapeutic approaches to restoring locomotor function in patients with the potential to regain ambulatory ability using lower extremity musculature, presenting strategies consistent with current clinical practice guidelines. Expanded! Addresses how to determine whether a given patient will benefit most from therapeutic interventions that stress compensation, restoration of normal movement patterns, or a blend of the two. New! Features problem-solving exercises that offer more opportunities to develop clinical reasoning skills. Updated! Uses the most current International Classification of Functioning, Disability and Health (ICF) as a conceptual framework for understanding both the impact of spinal cord injury and the role of rehabilitation. Builds the broad knowledge base of all areas pertinent to spinal cord injuries needed for optimal program planning and implementation, integrated with an understanding of the relationships between functioning, disability, and health. Develops knowledge of both the physical skills required for functional activities and the therapeutic strategies for achieving these skills. Emphasizes the importance of structuring the social environment of the rehabilitation unit to foster self-reliant attitudes and behaviors and to promote self-respect and autonomy. Considers the importance of psychosocial adaptation after spinal cord injury and the impact rehabilitation professionals can have.
ISBN: 9781719648103Publication Date: 2024-03-12
Spinal Cord Injury Pain by
Spinal Cord Injury Pain presents the basis for preclinical and clinical investigations, along with strategies for new approaches in the treatment of central neuropathic pain. Contributors from the private sector and academia provide a comprehensive review of state-of-the-art research in this challenging space. Topics include Epidemiology of Chronic Pain Following SCI, experimental models and mechanisms of chronic pain in SCI, and new targets and technologies. This book serves as a resource for continued translational research that will result in novel approaches and treatments that improve function and quality of life for individuals with CNP/SCI. Despite a better understanding of the complexity of mechanisms of CNP/SCI, improved medical and surgical management of SCI, and the subsequent acceleration of the identification of new targets and the development of novel analgesics, there is still a great unmet clinical need in the area of CNP following SCI. Hence, this book is a welcomed addition to current research and developments.
ISBN: 9780128186626Publication Date: 2021-10-22
Surgical Management of Pain, 2nd ed. by
A contemporary reference on the current state of pain surgery Surgical Management of Pain, Second Edition, is a completely updated state-of-the-art reference on neurosurgical pain management. This new edition is in full color and includes the following sections: Anatomic and Physiologic Foundations for Nociceptive and Neuropathic Pain, Pain Medicine, Pain Diagnoses, Surgical Procedures for Pain, and New Directions for Pain Surgery. The chapters in the book focus on procedures that are currently performed by neurosurgeons to relieve pain. Key Features: Emphasizes "best evidence" treatment options Free online access to videos demonstrating surgical techniques described in the book Explores nonsurgical and pharmacologic methods of pain control Beautifully illustrated drawings convey the wisdom of expert surgeons This book is a must-have for all neurosurgeons treating patients suffering from acute and/or chronic pain. Includes bonus videos! Sign up for a free account at http://mediacenter.thieme.com and add this title to your Favorites to view the videos.
ISBN: 9781604067514Publication Date: 2015-01-02
Trigeminal Nerve Pain by
This book provides an overview of the history, anatomy, epidemiology, diagnosis (HPI, PE, Imaging), non-pharmacological management and medication management of trigeminal nerve pain. Nerve blocks for the trigeminal nerve and branches, Radiofrequency ablation, chemodenervation, cryotherapy, botox injections, neuromodulation infusion therapy, balloon compression gamma knife therapy, decompression surgery, peripheral neurectomy and the psychological impact are also examined with an algorithm for management recommendations included in the final chapter. Trigeminal Nerve Pain - A Guide Clinical Management comprehensively covers how to manage patients with this often debilitating pain and is of use to trainees and practising internists, hospitalists, surgeons and anaesthesiologists seeking to increase their understanding of this complex condition.
ISBN: 9783030606862Publication Date: 2020-12-17
Umphred's Neurological Rehabilitation, 7th ed. by
Develop problem-solving strategies for individualized, effective neurologic care! Under the new leadership of Rolando Lazaro, Umphred's Neurological Rehabilitation, 7th Edition, covers the therapeutic management of people with activity limitations, participation restrictions, and quality of life issues following a neurological event. This comprehensive reference reviews basic theory and addresses the best evidence for evaluation tools and interventions commonly used in today's clinical practice. It applies a time-tested, evidence-based approach to neurological rehabilitation that is perfect for both the classroom and the clinic. Now fully searchable with additional case studies through Student Consult, this edition includes updated chapters and the latest advances in neuroscience. Comprehensive reference offers a thorough understanding of all aspects of neurological rehabilitation. Expert authorship and editors lend their experience and guidance for on-the-job success. UNIQUE! A section on neurological problems accompanying specific system problems includes hot topics such as poor vision, vestibular dysfunction, dementia and problems with cognition, and aging with a disability. A problem-solving approach helps you apply your knowledge to examinations, evaluations, prognoses, and intervention strategies. Evidence-based research sets up best practices, covering topics such as the theory of neurologic rehabilitation, screening and diagnostic tests, treatments and interventions, and the patient's psychosocial concerns. Case studies use real-world examples to promote problem-solving skills. Comprehensive coverage of neurological rehabilitation across the lifespan - from pediatrics to geriatrics. Terminology adheres to the best practices, follows The Guide to Physical Therapy Practice and the WHO-ICF World Health model. NEW! enhanced eBook on Student Consult. UPDATED! Color photos and line drawings clearly demonstrate important concepts and clinical conditions students will encounter in practice. NEW and EXPANDED! Additional case studies and videos illustrate how concepts apply to practice. Updated chapters incorporate the latest advances and the newest information in neurological rehabilitation strategies. NEW and UNIQUE! New chapter on concussion has been added. Separate and expanded chapters on two important topics: Balance and Vestibular.
ISBN: 9780323611176Publication Date: 2019-12-16
