Skip to Main Content
Controversies in Pediatric Neurosurgery by
World-renowned experts debate key topics in pediatric neurosurgery In Controversies in Pediatric Neurosurgery, leading clinicians from around the globe present concrete advice and frank commentary on alternative options for the treatment and management of specific cranial and spinal disorders. Each succinct, easily accessible chapter addresses a different condition in a point/counterpoint format that discusses the pros and cons of the various treatment options, including surgical approaches and techniques. This highly practical, balanced coverage equips readers to make well-informed choices when selecting the most appropriate treatment modality for a particular diagnosis. Features: Lessons Learned at the end of each chapter, in which the authors summarize the debate with multiple viewpoints and carefully considered recommendations based on published evidence and their own clinical experience Incisive dialogue on twenty hot topics in the field, including how to manage arachnoid cysts, craniosynostosis, tethered cord, hydrocephalus, chiari malformations, epilepsy, aneurysms, and more Clinical and personal insights from international contributors on the variability of surgical training, experience, and available resources in different parts of the world Guidance on how to discuss treatment options and strategies to patients and their families This book is essential reading for every clinician, resident, or fellow who needs a firm understanding of the most controversial issues in pediatric neurosurgery to be able to make the best decision for the appropriate treatment option for patients in their care.
Endoscopic Craniosynostosis Surgery by
Destined to be the definitive reference in this complex surgical area, Endoscopic Craniosynostosis Surgery is the first single resource to offer complete coverage of techniques, outcomes, complications, and results when treating patients with craniosynostosis endoscopically. Dr. David F. Jimenez, a pioneer in the field who has developed minimally invasive endoscopic surgeries to treat very young infants with this condition, provides all appropriate data and detailed guidance on every aspect of the management of craniosynostosis using endoscopic techniques. Covers the surgical management of every type of single suture synostosis as well as multiple and complex synostosis. Presents surgical techniques in depth, with a complete review of short- and long-term outcomes and results. Provides detailed information on patient anesthesia and how to set up the operating room for surgery. Includes detailed descriptions of helmets and their management. Features hundreds of radiographs, clinical photos, and procedural illustrations, as well as procedural videos. Discusses complication avoidance, provides surgical pearls throughout, and supplies patient information online. Enhanced eBook version included with purchase. Your enhanced eBook allows you to access bonus images plus all of the text, figures, and references from the book on a variety of devices.
Handbook of Pediatric Neurosurgery by
An essential backpack-size resource on the treatment of pediatric neurological conditions Pediatric neurosurgery has witnessed considerable technological advances, resulting in more efficacious outcomes for young patients with hydrocephalus, epilepsy, brain tumors, spinal deformities, and a host of other conditions. The art of pediatric neurosurgery is a delicate balancing act--taking into account child and parents and emotional and disease challenges. As such, the management of serious neurological conditions in pediatric patients must encompass the big picture in addition to treating underlying pathologies. Handbook of Pediatric Neurosurgery by George Jallo, Karl Kothbauer, and Violette Recinos covers the full depth and breadth of this uniquely rewarding subspecialty including congenital, developmental, and acquired disorders. The latest information is provided on anatomy, radiological imaging, and principles guiding the surgical and nonsurgical management of a full spectrum of neurological pathologies impacting infants and children. The book is divided into 11 sections and 56 chapters with state-of-the-art procedures, best practices, and clinical pearls from top pediatric neurosurgeons. Key Features Cranial disorders including Chiari malformations, encephaloceles, Dandy-Walker malformation, and craniosynostosis Benign and malignant tumors--from the hypothalamus and optic pathways to the brainstem and spinal column Spinal abnormalities such as spina bifida, tethered cord, and scoliosis Clinical questions and answers at the end of chapters--ideal for self-testing and exam prep Comprehensive and compact, this is the perfect backpack reference for neurosurgery residents and pediatric neurosurgery fellows to carry on rounds. It is also a must-have resource for seasoned pediatric neurosurgeons and all practitioners entrusted with the neurological care of pediatric patients.
Operative Techniques in Pediatric Neurosurgery by
This atlas of pediatric neurosurgery describes and demonstrates the spectrum of operations to treat the major disorders, including congential malformations, hydrocephalus, tumors, vascular and functional disorders, and trauma. The chapters present state of the art techniques and are written by nationally recognized authorities. The text serves as a companion to Principles and Practice of Pediatric Neurosurgery.
Pediatric Neurosurgery: Tricks of the Trade by
First prize from the 2016 BMA Medical Book Awards for Surgical Specialties! Winner of the 2017 PROSE Awards for Textbook/Clinical Medicine This state-of-the-art volume is an unparalleled teaching tool that reveals invaluable tricks of the trade. It is an essential resource for pediatric and general neurosurgeons, neurosurgery residents and fellows. Pediatric Neurosurgery is a uniquely exacting subspecialty in which surgeons are given the extraordinary privilege of alleviating suffering for gravely ill children, and in best-case scenarios, restoring their health. Understanding the vast and complex anatomy, pathology, and pathophysiology that evolves throughout childhood presents considerable challenges. Further, the field is rapidly progressing with advancements in neurodiagnostic imaging and surgical instrumentation, as well as an expanding knowledge of the molecular and genetic bases underlying many neurosurgical disorders. While this book's primary focus is on how to achieve technical excellence in the OR, this is a remarkably personal book about the art of pediatric neurosurgery. In it you will find wisdom gained from decades of experience. Read this book, use the knowledge you gain from it, and you will become a safer, more skillful neurosurgeon. Special Features: More than 800 stunning, full-color illustrations Online access to videos in which experts from all over the world demonstrate the operative nuances and techniques that help surgeons get patients safely in and out of the OR Written by master surgeons from 10 countries who share a wealth of insightful wisdom garnered from years of experience, refinement of surgical techniques, and development of numerous innovations Surgical pearls, operative nuances, procedural modifications, and techniques for avoiding and dealing with pitfalls
Principles and Practice of Pediatric Neurosurgery by
Principles and Practice of Pediatric Neurosurgery, Third Edition is a completely revised edition of the most authoritative guide to the management of pediatric neurosurgical disorders encountered in clinical practice. Written by leaders in the field, it provides pediatric neurosurgeons with a clear understanding of the current standards of practice and treatment in the subspecialty. Key Features: Now in full color, with more than 1,000 images An increased emphasis on clinical management strategies in pediatric neurosurgery Seven new chapter topics, including cellular therapy for pediatric neurosurgical disease, conjoined twins, lipomeningoceles, and skeletal syndromes Pearls and pitfalls in every chapter This book is an essential reference for all residents and practitioners in pediatric neurosurgery and pediatric neurology.