ATLAS | Neurosurgical
- ATLAS | Neurosurgical - Home PageThis neurosurgical atlas is the most comprehensive and respected resource for advanced neurosurgical techniques in the world. It features an interactive multi-media collection that unveils novel and efficient techniques for brain surgery.
- ATLAS | Neurosurgical - Meyer AtlasLink to an online version of Dr. Fredric B. Meyer's Atlas of Neurosurgery: Basic Approaches to Cranial and Vascular Procedures.
eBooks
Atlas of Emergency Neurosurgery by
A beautifully illustrated neurosurgical atlas covering key emergency procedures Atlas of Emergency Neurosurgery, part of the Neurosurgical Operative Atlas Series co-published by Thieme and the AANS, is a step-by-step visual guide to performing surgical procedures used in neurotrauma as well as non-traumatic emergency cases. The chapters address such topics as cerebral trauma and stroke, shunt failure, central nervous system infection, pituitary apoplexy, and reconstructive procedures. Special sections on pediatrics as well as military-related injuries are also included. Key Features: More than 500 beautiful, full-color illustrations help clarify each procedure Contains the most current information on how to perform emergency neurosurgical procedures Concise presentation of procedures gives readers quick, easy access to key information This atlas is an ideal guide for neurosurgery residents who are participating in emergency procedures while on call and need to deal with operative trauma situations. It is also an excellent practical reference for neurosurgeons performing emergency neurosurgical interventions on a regular basis.
Atlas of Frontal Sinus Surgery : A Comprehensive Surgical Guide by
The atlas offers a comprehensive and up-to-date overview of frontal sinus surgery. In recent years there have been great advances in endoscopic nasosinusal surgery but they have been particularly prominent in frontal sinus surgery. The book provides complete instructions for a gradual learning of the different surgical techniques and includes surgical pearls. It is enriched with videos presenting real-time guidance for frontal sinus endoscopic procedures. The book will meet the needs of both trainees and more experienced practitioners, and will enable them to make steady progress in endoscopic surgery and to adopt a more complete and safe approach to the frontal sinus. It will be of interest also for ophthalmologists, maxillofacial surgeons and neurosurgeons.
ISBN: 9783030981280
Atlas of Neurosurgical Techniques: Brain, Volume 1 by
This thoroughly revised and expanded atlas is the ideal reference for residents, fellows, and clinicians to review surgical procedures before entering the OR. The authors provide step-by-step descriptions of techniques, clearly delineating indications and contraindications, goals, operative preparation and anesthesia, and postoperative management. The main focus of this book is on teaching neurosurgical techniques at the most detailed level.
Atlas of Neurosurgical Techniques: Brain, Volume 2 by
This thoroughly revised and expanded atlas is the ideal reference for residents, fellows, and clinicians to review surgical procedures before entering the OR. The authors provide step-by-step descriptions of techniques, clearly delineating indications and contraindications, goals, operative preparation and anesthesia, and postoperative management. The main focus of this book is on teaching neurosurgical techniques at the most detailed level.
Atlas of Neurosurgical Techniques: Spine and Peripheral Nerves by
Atlas of Neurosurgical Techniques: Spine and Peripheral Nerves Originally published in 2006, the second edition of this award-winning neurosurgical atlas is written by a notable cadre of world-renowned spine surgeons. Reflecting the enormous depth and breadth of spine surgery, this volume has been completely updated with current, state-of-the-art surgical methodologies and minimally invasive options. Pathologies include degenerative changes, congenital abnormalities, rheumatic diseases, tumors, and trauma. The authors have divided the book into six consistent sections: occipital-cervical, midcervical spine, cervicothoracic junction, thoracic and thoracolumbar spine, lumbar and lumbosacral spine, and peripheral nerve. Within each section, the opening chapters cover comprehensive discussion of pathology, etiology, and differential diagnosis. Succeeding chapters present step-by-step surgical techniques encompassing anterior, anterolateral, posterior, and posterolateral approaches, separately and in sequence. Minimally invasive techniques and peripheral nerve procedures, including the brachial plexus, lumbosacral plexus, and individual nerves are covered independently, following the same organization. Key Highlights: Clearly delineated indications, contraindications, advantages, and disadvantages provided for each surgery Operations with same opening and closing technique covered just once, thereby minimizing redundancy Beautifully illustrated with more than 1,000 images Video compendium created by master surgeons provides up-close guidance on a wide array of surgical procedures Ideal for both the busy practitioner seeking review and resident looking for robust study materials This book is an incomparable learning tool for residents, who will likely read it several times during the course of residency. A precisely edited, didactic atlas, neurosurgeons and orthopaedic surgeons will also find it an invaluable resource.
Color Atlas of Neuroscience: Neuroanatomy and Neurophyisology by
Taking a uniquely visual approach to complex subject matter, this pocket Flexibook gives you a full understanding of the basics of neuroscience with 193 exquisite color plates and concise text. Following in the successful tradition of the basic sciences Thieme Flexibooks, this title presents anatomy, physiology, and pharmacology of neuroscience. You will find in-depth coverage of: neuroanatomy, embryology, cellular neuroscience, somatosensory processing, motor control, brain stem and cranial outflow, autonomic nervous system, and much more!
The book is designed to supplement larger texts and is ideal as both an introduction to the subject and a complete study guide for exam preparation. It will prove invaluable for all medical and biology students.
The Netter Collection of Medical Illustrations: Nervous System, Part I: Brain, 3rd ed. by
Offering a concise, highly visual approach to the basic science and clinical pathology of the nervous system, this updated volume in The Netter Collection of Medical Illustrations (the CIBA "Green Books") contains unparalleled didactic illustrations reflecting the latest medical knowledge. Revised by Drs. Michael J. Aminoff, Scott L. Pomeroy, and Kerry H. Levin, Spinal Cord and Peripheral Motor and Sensory Systems, Part 2 of the Nervous System, Volume 7, integrates core concepts of anatomy, physiology, and other basic sciences with common clinical correlates across health, medical, and surgical disciplines. Classic Netter art, updated and new illustrations, and modern imaging continue to bring medical concepts to life and make this timeless work an essential resource for students, clinicians, and educators.
Provides a highly visual overview of the anatomy, pathology, and major clinical syndromes of the nervous system, from cranial nerves and neuro-ophthalmology to spinal cord, neuropathies, autonomic nervous system, pain physiology, and neuromuscular disorders.
Provides a concise overview of complex information by integrating anatomical and physiological concepts with clinical scenarios.
ISBN: 9780323880848
The Netter Collection of Medical Illustrations: Nervous System, Part II: Spinal Cord and Peripheral Motor and Sensory Systems, 3rd ed. by
Offering a concise, highly visual approach to the basic science and clinical pathology of the nervous system, this updated volume in The Netter Collection of Medical Illustrations (the CIBA "Green Books") contains unparalleled didactic illustrations reflecting the latest medical knowledge. Revised by Drs. Michael J. Aminoff, Scott L. Pomeroy, and Kerry H. Levin, Spinal Cord and Peripheral Motor and Sensory Systems, Part 2 of the Nervous System, Volume 7, integrates core concepts of anatomy, physiology, and other basic sciences with common clinical correlates across health, medical, and surgical disciplines. Classic Netter art, updated and new illustrations, and modern imaging continue to bring medical concepts to life and make this timeless work an essential resource for students, clinicians, and educators.
Provides a highly visual overview of the anatomy, pathology, and major clinical syndromes of the nervous system, from cranial nerves and neuro-ophthalmology to spinal cord, neuropathies, autonomic nervous system, pain physiology, and neuromuscular disorders.
ISBN: 9780323880855
Neuroanatomy: An Illustrated Colour Text, 7th ed. by
An appropriate level of knowledge of human neuroanatomy is essential for anyone aspiring to understand the function or dysfunction of the human nervous system. Originally, in its first edition, Neuroanatomy was written with undergraduate medical students primarily in mind, because without such knowledge it is impossible to understand the myriad of signs and symptoms that arise from disorders of the nervous system and which medical students will encounter as they embark upon clinical studies. During the ensuing two and a half decades and six revisions it has become clear, through feedback from both students and teachers, that the book has proved useful to students of many disciplines allied to medicine and also to students of neuroscience per se .
In revising and updating Neuroanatomy for a seventh edition, I have stayed true to my original intention of producing a relevant, clear, succinct and well-illustrated account of the anatomy of the human nervous system.
Relevance is of key importance. Neuroanatomy is an extensive subject, and the pace of research in both the basic and clinical sciences means that it is ever-expanding. At the same time, students are under pressure from various quarters and neuroanatomy will almost certainly not be the only subject that they are studying. Although the question ‘What do I need to know?’ is anathema to some educators, it is perfectly understandable to me. What to include and what to leave out of Neuroanatomy has, of course, been a matter of judgement. My approach has been to include what I consider to be essential material to make sense of the subject, correlating, wherever possible, anatomical structure with function and, where applicable, relating it to clinical significance. I believe that the breadth and depth of coverage of the subject in Neuroanatomy are sufficient to enable students to commence their studies in any branch of preclinical or clinical neuroscience with confidence.
Clarity is also of great importance. Neuroanatomy is a complex subject and one with which, I know from experience, students often find difficulty. I have made every effort, therefore, to avoid vagueness, opacity or ambiguity and to present descriptions and concepts as straightforwardly as possible.
The text in Neuroanatomy is deliberately succinct and to the point – terse, some might say. Students do not, I believe, need or desire a weighty tome on the subject but, rather, one that helps them master the fundamentals and even, perhaps, tantalise them into delving deeper.
The internal anatomy of the central nervous system – its nuclei, nerve fibre tracts and, in particular, their connection – is often not readily visualised in dissections, histological sections or clinical scans. As a consequence, clear, uncomplicated and explicit illustrations are an absolute necessity. The illustrations have always been a strong point of the book – and one of the features that has attracted most compliments from readers. Since the third edition, Ben Crossman has been responsible for illustration of the entire book. For this edition, all of the figures have been critically scrutinized and numerous revisions and adjustments have been made to further improve clarity. I am grateful to Ben for his skillful artistic interpretation of my primitive sketches and his enhancement and annotation of the photographs of anatomical specimens.
ISBN: 9780443113666
Neurosurgical Operative Atlas: Functional Neurosurgery by
A state-of-the-art guide to evolving functional neurosurgery approaches from world-renowned innovators Functional neurosurgery focuses on improving the lives of patients with epilepsy, movement disorders, pain, and psychiatric illnesses. In recent years, approaches ranging from open surgery to minimally invasive techniques have been leveraged to improve daily functioning and quality of life in people struggling with painful, highly disruptive, and/or treatment-resistant symptoms. These approaches focus on reducing or eliminating seizures, alleviating pain, decreasing abnormal movements or lessening debilitating symptoms associated with specific psychiatric disorders. Neurosurgical Operative Atlas: Functional Neurosurgery, Third Edition, by renowned functional neurosurgeons Robert Gross, Nicholas Boulis, and esteemed contributors reflects the latest advances in functional and stereotactic neurosurgical approaches. The entire atlas has been streamlined and updated with new content, including the use of stereotactic surgery to treat obsessive compulsive disorder, Tourette syndrome, and major depression. Key Highlights A full spectrum of epilepsy treatment techniques, including intracranial monitoring with stereo-electroencephalography, selective amygdalohippocampectomy, MRI-guided stereotactic laser ablation, vagus nerve stimulation, and more Deep brain stimulation (DBS) for Parkinson's disease, tremor, dystonia, epilepsy and medically intractable pain syndromes, with in-depth implantation guidance The use of neurosurgical and interventional techniques to treat pain including percutaneous ablation, peripheral nerve stimulation, spinal cord and motor cortex stimulators, and pumps More than 300 high quality color illustrations detail anatomy and surgical procedures This is the ultimate guide on functional neurosurgery for managing a wide range of incapacitating neurological conditions. Neurosurgical residents, fellows, and veteran neurosurgeons specializing in this rapidly evolving subspecialty will find this state-of-the-art book invaluable -- reading it cover to cover will ultimately benefit patients. Series descriptionThe American Association of Neurological Surgeons and Thieme have collaborated to produce the third edition of the acclaimed Neurosurgical Operative Atlas series. Edited by leading experts in the field, the series covers the entire spectrum of neurosurgery in five volumes. In addition to Functional Neurosurgery, the series also features: Spine and Peripheral Nerves, edited by Christopher E. Wolfa and Daniel K. ResnickVascular Neurosurgery, edited by R. Loch MacdonaldNeuro-Oncology, edited by Behnam Badie and Mike Y. ChenPediatric Neurosurgery, edited by James Tait Goodrich and Robert F. Keating
eBooks
Neurosurgical Operative Atlas: Neuro-Oncology by
Neuro-Oncology is the first volume in the second edition of the highly regarded Neurosurgical Operative Atlas series first published by the American Association of Neurological Surgeons. The book provides an accessible, step-by-step guide to the newest approaches for managing brain, skull base, and spinal tumors. Organized into concise sections according to anatomical location, type of tumor, and surgical approach, this book enables the reader to rapidly review key concepts in preparation for surgery. In each chapter the author describes the case selection, the operative indications and contraindications, special points concerning anesthesia, the various operative approaches available, and the possible complications during and after surgery. Concise, yet thorough, this text will be an invaluable reference for both beginning and established neurosurgeons.
Neurosurgical Operative Atlas: Pediatric Neurosurgery by
A full-color atlas for current techniques in pediatric neurosurgery Featuring the clinical expertise of leading authorities in the field, this book is a lavishly illustrated surgical atlas of the latest neurosurgical approaches to frequently encountered problems in the pediatric patient. Each chapter in the book opens with a brief overview of the problem and then goes on to provide concise discussions of preoperative preparation, operative procedure, and postoperative management. The authors address the possible complications involved in each procedure and provide recommendations for how to avoid and manage them. Features: 380 full-color illustrations and photographs demonstrate key concepts with precision and clarity Step-by-step descriptions offer practical guidance for skin incision, operative exposure, patient positioning, surgical approaches, and various closing techniques Consistent organization throughout the chapters facilitates rapid reference to topics of interest This atlas is an invaluable visual reference that is ideal for neurosurgeons, pediatric neurosurgeons, as well as residents preparing for board examinations. Series Description: The American Association of Neurological Surgeons and Thieme have collaborated to produce the second edition of the acclaimed Neurosurgical Operative Atlas series. Edited by leading experts in the field, the series covers the entire spectrum of neurosurgery in five volumes. In addition to Pediatric Neurosurgery, the series also features: Spine and Peripheral Nerves, edited by Christopher Wolfla and Daniel K. Resnick Neuro-Oncology, edited by Behnam Badie Vascular Neurosurgery, edited by R. Loch Macdonald Functional Neurosurgery, edited by Philip Starr, Nicholas M. Barbaro, and Paul Larson
Neurosurgical Operative Atlas: Spine and Peripheral Nerves by
Updated atlas refl ects state-of-the-art advances in spine and peripheral nerve procedures Written by a Who's Who of renowned spine surgeons, the third edition of Neurosurgical Atlas: Spine and Peripheral Nerves provides a detailed tutorial on the latest surgical procedures. The three comprehensive spine sections cover decompression modalities followed by fusion/instrumentation and fixation. Rounding out these sections are special topics such as vascular malformations in the spinal cord, stereotactic radiosurgery in the thoracic spine, and lumboperitoneal shunting. The peripheral nerves section includes treatment of conditions including carpal tunnel, brachial plexus, meralgia paresthetica, and cervical nerve root avulsion. Throughout the book, the authors provide minimally invasive options and clinical pearls on patient selection, preoperative preparation, anesthesia, operative positioning, surgical methodologies, patient monitoring, and common complications. Key Features Anterior, posterior, transoral, and lateral approaches to the craniocervical junction, subaxial cervical spine; and operations specific to the cervicothoracic junction Thoracic spine techniques for burst fractures, vertebral body metastasis, penetrating spine wounds, tumors, etc. Lumbosacral spine approaches for herniation, degenerative disease with multiplanar deformity, spondylolisthesis, and more Close to 700 illustrations and color photographs elucidate key concepts Superb videos demonstrate hands-on techniques This book is a must-have reference for neurosurgery residents seeking in-depth knowledge of spine and peripheral nerve procedures prior to scheduled cases. It will also benefit veteran neurosurgeons looking for clinical insights on infrequently performed surgeries.
Neurosurgical Operative Atlas: Vascular Neurosurgery by
A state-of-the-art neurovascular surgery atlas from internationally renowned neurosurgeon R. Loch Macdonald Neurosurgical Operative Atlas: Vascular Neurosurgery, Third Edition, by R. Loch Macdonald and expert contributors, reflects the latest advances in endoscopic, endovascular, microsurgical, and bypass techniques used in the treatment of cerebrovascular disease. The entire atlas has been streamlined and updated with new content, including 38 videos that complement the concise step-by-step guidance in the text. The book begins with five chapters on vascular and microsurgical instrumentation and equipment, clipping versus coiling, aneurysm surgery techniques, the pterional approach, and minimally invasive approaches. Disease and procedure-specific chapters are organized by three sections: aneurysms and subarachnoid hemorrhage, vascular malformations, and ischemic and other cerebrovascular disease. Every chapter includes salient tips on patient selection and procedural indications, preoperative information and tests, patient positioning, operative nuances, and postoperative complications. Key Highlights Nearly 300 high-quality color illustrations detail impacted anatomy and procedures The latest techniques for treating a full spectrum of aneurysms, such as ophthalmic segment, supraclinoid internal carotid artery, middle and anterior cerebral artery, basilar and posterior cerebral artery, and others Treatment of vascular abnormalities including arteriovenous malformations, superficial and brainstem cavernous malformations, arteriovenous fistulae, Moyamoya disease, and more Neurosurgical residents will benefit from the firsthand knowledge shared by international masters, while veteran neurosurgeons will glean invaluable insights on cutting-edge endovascular techniques to enhance clinical practice. This book includes complimentary access to a digita
Operative Cranial Neurosurgical Anatomy by
One-of-kind textbook provides comprehensive tutorial on cranial anatomy with step-by-step text and visuals Dissection in the anatomical laboratory is a mandatory component of training for neurosurgeons. Acquisition of highly technical skills is a long and arduous task, requiring knowledge of complex surgical anatomy and basic steps for single surgical approaches. Unlike dense textbooks, Operative Cranial Neurosurgical Anatomy by Filippo Gagliardi, Cristian Gragnaniello, Pietro Mortini, and Anthony Caputy provides readers with a user-friendly tutorial on cranial approaches, clearly delineated through concise written instructions and serial images. Essential procedural aspects are discussed in 53 chapters, starting with sections on pre-surgical training and planning, patient positioning, and basic techniques. Subsequent sections detail cranial approaches; transpetrosal approaches; endonasal, transoral, and transmaxillary procedures; vascular procedures; and ventricular shunts procedures. Surgical technique fundamentals and basic variants, including surgical anatomy and landmarks, are highlighted in 500 figures and illustrations. Key Features Summaries, graphics, and schematic drawings provide immediate access to salient information to utilize during surgical dissections and for surgical preparation A wide spectrum of cranial procedures covered in 23 chapters - from the precaruncular approach to the medial orbit and central skull base - to surgical anatomy of the petrous bone Diverse endonasal procedures including sublabial, transphenoidal, modified lothrop, odontoidectomy, and endoscopic endonasal transmaxillary Vascular procedures such as middle cerebral artery bypass and internal maxillary artery bypass This reader-friendly handbook is a must-have resource for every neurosurgical resident and an excellent refresher for all neurosurg
Rhoton's Atlas of Head, Neck, and Brain by
Masterful 2D and 3D head, neck, and brain dissections provide unsurpassed insights into head, neck, and brain anatomy An internationally renowned and beloved author, educator, brain anatomist, and neurosurgeon, Professor Albert Rhoton has a special place in medical history. He was revered by students and colleagues and is regarded as one of the fathers of modern microscopic neurosurgery. A driving principle in his anatomy lab was the simple phrase, "Every Second." This was embraced in his philosophy that every second of every day, a patient's life was improved by a surgeon assisted by the anatomic knowledge his lab helped elucidate and distribute. Rhoton's Atlas of Head, Neck, and Brain is the visually exquisite crowning achievement of Dr. Rhoton's brilliant career and unwavering dedication to the intertwined pursuits of surgical anatomy and neurosurgery. The atlas reflects the unparalleled contributions Dr. Rhoton made to the contemporary understanding of neurosurgical anatomy. Dr. Peris-Celda, with the collaboration of an impressive cadre of international multidisciplinary experts, worked closely under Dr. Rhoton's tutelage on this project. This book is the culmination of 5 years of work and experience gleaned from more than 40 years of surgical anatomy research and exquisite dissection techniques performed in Dr. Rhoton's laboratory. Special Features Each anatomic dissection meticulously labeled with English and Latin descriptors for easy cross referencing with other resources. Multiple views of the most complex regions of the head, neck, and brain provide a deeper understanding of anatomy. More than 600 anatomical images systematically organized in four major sections: Osteology of the Head and Neck; Face and Neck; Ear, Nose, Pharynx, Larynx, and Orbit; and Neuroanatomy and Cranial Base. Superb 2D images presented in a large printed format to optimize the viewing experience. 3D digital images fully realize the beauty of the dissections and enhance the learning process. Specimens injected with colored silicone provide better visualization of arteries and veins. Breathtakingly stunning, this atlas is certain to be a treasured reference for medical students, residents, and clinicians specializing in neurosurgery, facial plastic surgery, otolaryngology, maxillofacial surgery, and craniofacial surgery for many years to come.
Surgical Anatomy of the Cervical Plexus and Its Branches by
The first work of its kind devoted to the surgical anatomy of the cervical plexus, Surgical Anatomy of the Cervical Plexus and Its Branches clearly explains and illustrates this important subset of peripheral nervous system anatomy. Ideal for physicians and residents from a wide range of medical and surgical disciplines, this unique title details new methods of imaging the cervical plexus, as well as its pathology and appropriate surgical approaches. Demonstrates the surgical anatomy of each branch of the cervical plexus using fresh cadaveric dissections. Color-codes nerves to differentiate them from other tissues and dissects them in a layer-by-layer manner. Complies the knowledge and expertise of renowned clinical anatomists and researchers in this key area of surgical anatomy.
ISBN: 9780323831321Publication Date: 2021-04-29
Video Atlas of Neurosurgery by
"One can only imagine the prodigious amount of work involved in producing this educational treasure chest. Credit is due to the authors and to the publishers for creating this appealing and useful Atlas." Reviewed by: Edward R. Laws, Professor of Neurosurgery, Harvard Medical School, Oct 2015 "Useful, complete and visual are the words which best summarize the aim of this masterpiece. Really great job! Congratulations for this excellent Video-Book!!" Reviewed by: Dr. J. Gonzalez, Director of the Residency Program Hospital Clinic Barcelona, Oct 2015 Step-by-step, state-of-the-art videos - 40 in total - are accessible through Expert Consult and narrated by Dr. Quiñones-Hinojosa. Each video is around 10 minutes with a total running time of over 6 hours Videos highlight key surgical anatomy, focusing special attention on the relationship between lesions and important landmarks. Procedures are broken down step-by-step for easy overview and comprehension. Covers advanced techniques such as: intraoperative brain mapping; intraoperative assessment of resection through iMRI; fluorescence imaging; brain stem mapping techniques; combined open-and-endoscopic approaches, cortical-subcortical stimulation in awake surgery; and more. Dedicated neurosurgical artwork by Devon Stuart includes superb figures that depict the surgical neuroanatomy and approaches in a step-wise fashion. Chapters are presented from the less complex, more common surgeries to the most complex and cutting-edge procedures that may require multidisciplinary approaches. Expert Consult eBook version included with purchase. This enhanced eBook experience allows you to access all of the text, figures, videos, and references from the book on a variety of devices.
