Neurosurgery: Spine

An Anatomic Approach to Minimally Invasive Spine Surgery, 2nd ed. by Miguelangelo Jorge Perez-Cruet; Richard G. Fessler; Michael Y. Wang, 2018 Learn state-of-the-art MIS techniques from master spine surgeons! Significant advances have been made in minimally invasive spine (MIS) surgery approaches, techniques, and innovative technologies. By preserving normal anatomic integrity during spine surgery, MIS approaches enable spine surgeons to achieve improved patient outcomes, including faster return to normal active lifestyles and reduced revision rates. Exposing only the small portion of the spine responsible for symptoms via small ports or channels, requires a deep understanding of spinal anatomy and spinal pathophysiology. Building on the widely acclaimed first edition, An Anatomic Approach to Minimally Invasive Spine Surgery, Second Edition, provides an expanded foundation of knowledge to master minimally invasive spine surgery. World-renowned spine neurosurgeons Mick Perez-Cruet, Richard Fessler, Michael Wang, and a cadre of highly regarded spine surgery experts provide masterful tutorials on an impressive array of cutting-edge technologies. Organized by seven sections and 51 chapters, the book presents a diverse spectrum of current safe and efficacious MIS procedures and future innovations. Nonsurgical approaches include injection-based spine procedures and stereotactic radiosurgery. Surgical technique chapters discuss MIS anterior, posterior, and lateral approaches to the cervical, thoracic, and lumbar spine, with procedures such as endoscopic microdiscectomy, vertebroplasty and kyphoplasty, percutaneous instrumentation, and robotic spine surgery. Key Features Step-by-step illustrations, including more than 400 depictions by master surgical and anatomic illustrator Anthony Pazos portray the surgeon's-eye-view of anatomy, intraoperative images, and surgical instruments, thereby aiding in the understanding of anatomy and procedures 20 online videos feature real-time operative fluoroscopy, pertinent anatomy, operative set-up, and common cervical, thoracic, and lumbar approaches Discussion of novel MIS techniques reflected in 16 new or expanded chapters, including Robotic Assisted Thoracic Spine Surgery and Stem-Cell Based Intervertebral Disc Restoration There is truly no better clinical reward for spine surgeons than giving patients suffering from debilitating spinal disorders their life back. This quintessential MIS surgery resource will help surgeons and clinicians accomplish that goal. This book includes complimentary access to a digital copy on https://medone.thieme.com.

Anterior Controllable Antedisplacement and Fusion (ACAF): Technique in Spinal Surgery by Jiangang Shi, 2024 Anterior controllable antedisplacement and fusion (ACAF) is becoming globally regarded as the go-to operative technique for the treatment of ossification of spine ligaments (OSL). Suitable for spinal surgeons and rehabilitation physicians at all levels, this timely reference can help make the surgical intervention of OSL much safer, easier, and more effective. It offers thorough case presentations and discussions on the application of ACAF in the treatment of OSL, ossification of posterior longitudinal ligament (OPLL), ossification of ligamentum flavum (OLF), and spinal stenosis. Describes how to successfully complete an ACAF operation, including surgical instruments, techniques, procedures, and associated key tips. Presents typical clinical cases and covers post-operative rehabilitation of ossification of the posterior longitudinal ligament of cervical spine and cervical spinal canal stenosis. Offers systematic discussions of the clinical and theoretical sources of ACAF technology, and clearly describes the process and details of this technology. Reviews past treatment methods of ACAF-related cervical diseases and the evolution of cervical surgery. Consolidates today's available information on this timely topic into a single, convenient resource.

Atlas of Full-Endoscopic Spine Surgery, 1st ed. by Christoph P. Hofstetter; Sebastian Ruetten; Yue Zhou et al, 2020. Atlas of Full-Endoscopic Spine Surgery by internationally renowned spine surgeons Christoph Hofstetter, Sebastian Ruetten, Yue Zhou, and Michael Wang provides concise, step-by-step guidance on the latest full endoscopic spine procedures. The book is targeted at practicing spine surgeons, fellows, and residents currently not trained in endoscopic spine surgery who have the desire to learn and incorporate these techniques into clinical practice. It is also an excellent curriculum resource for cadaveric training courses taught at the national and international level. The book lays a solid foundation with opening chapters on anesthesia, OR setup and endoscopic tools, applied anatomy, basic endoscopic surgical tasks, and preoperative diagnostics. Additional sections include step-by-step descriptions of the full spectrum of cervical, thoracic, and lumbar endoscopic approaches. The last section provides invaluable pearls on overcoming challenges, avoiding pitfalls, and optimizing postoperative care.

Atlas of Image-Guided Spinal Procedures, 2nd ed. by Michael B. Furman; Leland Berkwits; Isaac Cohen et al, 2018 The second edition of Atlas of Image-Guided Spinal Procedures features a highly visual atlas format to illustrate exactly how to perform each technique. This medical reference walks you through each procedure, step-by-step, to safely and efficiently relieve patients' pain. This book presents an algorithmic, image-guided approach for each technique; trajectory view (demonstrates fluoroscopic "setup"); multiplanar confirmation views (AP, lateral, oblique); and "safety view" (what should be avoided during injection), along with optimal and suboptimal contrast patterns. Each fluoroscopic and ultrasound chapter also has the same "voice" so it is easy to follow. Safely and efficiently relieve your patients' pain with consistent, easy-to-follow chapters that guide you through each technique.  Presents an algorithmic, image-guided approach for each technique: trajectory view (demonstrates fluoroscopic "setup"); multiplanarconfirmation views (AP, lateral, oblique); and "safety view" (what should be avoided during injection), along with optimal and suboptimal contrast patterns. Special chapters on Needle Techniques, Procedural Safety, Fluoroscopic and Ultrasound Imaging Pearls, Radiation Safety, and L5-S1 Disc Access provide additional visual instruction. View drawings of radiopaque landmarks and key radiolucent anatomy that cannot be viewed fluoroscopically. Videos including procedural "set-up" and optimal and suboptimal constrast flow are available in the Expert Consult eBook version. Includes new unique and diagrams demonstrating cervical, thoracic and lumbar radiofrequency probe placement and treatment zones on multiplanar views, as well as new unique tables and examples differentiating between optimal and suboptimal epidural contrast flow Features new coverage of ultrasound techniques, as well as new presentation of procedures for "spine masqueraders" such as the hip and shoulder.  Expert Consult eBook version included with purchase. This enhanced eBook experience allows you to access and search all of the text, figures, images, videos, and references from the book on a variety of devices

Benzel's Spine Surgery, 5th ed. by Michael P. Steinmetz; Sigurd H. Berven; Edward C. Benzel, 2022 Written and edited by world-renowned experts in the Benzel's Spine Surgery: Techniques, Complication Avoidance and Management, 5th Edition, provides expert, step-by-step guidance on the evaluation and management of disorders of the spine. This definitive, two-volume work explores the full spectrum of techniques used in spine surgery, giving you the tools, you need to hone your skills and increase your knowledge in this challenging area. Clearly organized and extensively revised throughout, it features contributions from both neurosurgeons and orthopaedic surgeons to present a truly comprehensive approach to spine disease. Offers a thorough overview of the effective management of patients with spinal disorders, including fundamental principles, biomechanics, applied anatomy, instrumentation, pathophysiology of spinal disorders, surgical techniques, motion preservation strategies, non-surgical management, and complication avoidance and management, as well as controversies. Focuses on both pathophysiology and surgical treatment of spine disease, with an increased emphasis on minimally invasive surgery. Contains new features such as key points boxes at the beginning of chapters and algorithms to help streamline the decision making process. Covers today's hot topics in spine surgery, such as health economics, artificial intelligence, predictive analytics, new less invasive techniques including endoscopic spine surgery, and the future of spine surgery. Provides expert coverage of key topics including biomechanics of motion preservation techniques, spinal injuries in sports, biologics in spine fusion surgery, anterior sub-axial cervical fixation and fusion techniques, complex lumbosacropelvic fixation techniques, and many more.; Features more than 1,500 high-quality illustrations, as well as new procedural videos;bloc spondylectomy, minimally invasive endoscopic posterior cervical foraminotomy, cervical total disc replacement, minimally invasive lumbar decompression of stenosis, and more. Enhanced eBook version included with purchase.Your enhanced eBook allows you to access all of the text, figures, and references from the book on a variety of devices;

Cellular, Molecular, Physiological, and Behavioral Aspects of Spinal Cord Injury by Rajkumar Rajendram; Victor R. Preedy; Colin R Martin, 2022 Spinal injury affects about 10 million people annually worldwide, impacting on the family unit and causing lifelong disabilities, with varied symptoms including paresthesia, spasticity, loss of motor control, and often severe pain. Cellular, Molecular, Physiological, and Behavioral Aspects of Spinal Cord Injurywill enhance readers' understanding of the biological and psychological effects of spinal cord injury. Featuring chapters on gene expression, metabolic effects, and behavior, this volume discusses in detail the impact of spinal cord injury to better understand the underlying pathways and processes. The book has applicability for neuroscientists, neurologists, clinicians, and anyone working to better understand these injuries.

Cervical Spine: Minimally Invasive and Open Surgery, 2nd ed. by Pier Paolo Maria Menchetti, 2022 This heavily revised second edition covers minimally invasive and open surgical techniques for treating a variety of common and rare of cervical pathologies. Extensively revised chapters detail how to successfully perform a variety of the latest procedures for conditions including cervical spine fractures, cervical tumours and cranio cervical anomalies. Guidance on the appropriate techniques for decompression and fusion with cages and autologous bone graft are also described. Cervical Spine: Minimally Invasive and Open Surgery satisfies the need for a multi-disciplinary text covering open and minimally invasive techniques available for treating ailments of the cervical spine. Practicing and trainee orthopedic surgeons, neurosurgeons, radiologists, anesthesiologists and pain management specialists will all find the content of this work to be of a great help to them when seeking guidance on the latest advances in the field.

Cervical Spine Deformity Surgery, 1st ed. by Juanita Garces; Davis G. Taylor; Bhargav D. Desai et al, 2019 The number of cervical fusion procedures has increased in the U.S. and globally during the last decade, in part due to an aging population and higher incidence of complex cervical problems. Despite advances in the surgical treatment of cervical deformities, few resources detail modern clinical assessment, radiographic evaluation, and surgical approaches. Cervical Spine Deformity Surgery by world-renowned spine surgeons Christopher Ames, K. Daniel Riew, Justin Smith, and Kuniyoshi Abumi fills a void in the literature. It provides a concise, state-of-the-art resource on current cervical deformity knowledge compiled from the literature and recognized masters in the field. The generously illustrated text begins with a background on the marked health impact of cervical deformity. Opening chapters provide primers on the clinical and radiographic assessment of patients, malalignment and disability scores, and the physical exam. Subsequent chapters detail surgical planning and approaches for a full spectrum of cervical spine conditions, such as semi-rigid and rigid deformities, sagittal deformities, distal junctional kyphosis, congenital cervical deformity, and hemivertebra.

Comparative Management of Spine Pathology by Kaisorn Chaichana; Alfredo Quinones-Hinojosa, 2023 Unique in the field, Comparative Management of Spine Pathology presents commonly encountered spinal cases with side-by-side, case-by-case comparisons that clearly show how various experts would handle the same case. This second volume in the Neurosurgery: Case Management Comparison Series offers multiple opinions from international experts in both neurosurgery and orthopaedics, each of whom explains their preferred approach and management style for the same case. This format allows for quick and helpful comparisons of different ways to approach a lesion, advantages and disadvantages of each approach, and what each expert is looking for in how they would manage a particular case. Offers 4 expert opinions on each case in a templated format designed to help you quickly make side-by-side comparisons-an ideal learning tool for both trainee and practicing neurosurgeons and orthopaedic surgeons for board review and case preparation. Helps you easily grasp different approaches to spine management with different expert approaches to the same case and summaries from the editors on the advantages and disadvantages to each approach. Features a wide variety of management decisions, from preoperative studies to surgical approach, surgical adjuncts, and postoperative care, from experts in the field who specialize in different aspects of spine surgery. Presents 70 cases in the areas of degenerative spine, traumatic spine, spinal deformity, spinal oncology, and miscellaneous topics such as epidural abscess, osteomyelitis, and post-instrumentation infection. Enhanced eBook version included with purchase. Your enhanced eBook allows you to access all of the text and figures from the book on a variety of devices.

Complications in Orthopaedics: Spine Surgery by Vikas V. Patel; Christopher John Kleck, 2025 We look for medicine to be an orderly field of knowledge and procedure. But it is not. It is an imperfect science, an enterprise of constantly changing knowledge, uncertain information, fallible individuals, and at the same time lives on the line.” Atul Gawande For better or worse, it is the path that we have chosen as physicians to touch the lives of people-individuals, who are our patients. In their care, we strive to take every possible precaution, yet complications are bound to be encountered. Some may be avoidable and many are not, but the more we can reflect on and study our complications, the more we can learn and apply towards better outcomes in our future patients. Learning from our mistakes is integral to advancing medicine. And, unfortunately, the complexity of spine surgery makes encountering complications that much more likely. We are honored to have been asked to organize this book on complications with the hopes that these chapters can add to the body of knowledge in spine surgery and help our colleagues to avoid some of the complications we have encountered. We are even more honored to have such an esteemed group of authors willing to share with us lessons from their incredibly vast experience! The authors assembled in this book represent hundreds of years of collective spine experience whose filtered and organized knowledge provides invaluable insights into the advancement of spine patient care.

Correction Techniques for Spinal Deformity by Mehmet Zileli; Onur Yamn; Max Aebi, 2023 Correction Techniques for Spinal Deformity explains all maneuvers of deformity correction, different osteotomy types, and tips and tricks behind the surgeries. It contains detailed illustrations depicting complex maneuvers to facilitate the readers' understanding. The book has six main divisions: (1) techniques for cervical spinal deformity correction, (2) techniques for congenital spinal deformity correction, (3) spinal osteotomy techniques, (4) sagittal plane correction techniques, (5) coronal plane correction techniques, and (6) special topics. Special features: A total of 40 chapters written by world-renowned authors have created this masterpiece of a spinal deformity book. Complex deformity correction techniques have been explained step-wise using many illustrations. Key points of each method have been discussed by experts on the topic. Crucial topics such as electrophysiologic monitoring, complication avoidance, minimally invasive surgery, lateral access surgery, and dynamic stabilization are covered.

Corrective Osteotomies for Rigid Spinal Deformities, 1st ed. by leon Kaplan; Lawrence G. Lenke, 2023 Despite attempts to detect and treat spine deformities early in younger and older populations, spine deformity surgeons encounter a wide array of complex spine pathologies in patients across the age and pathology continuum. Corrective Osteotomies for Rigid Spinal Deformities, edited by world-renowned spinal deformity specialists Leon Kaplan and Lawrence G. Lenke, features contributions from an impressive group of global experts. The superbly written compendium highlights inherent challenges of managing rigid spinal deformities and provides a wide array of safe and optimal treatment solutions. Thirty-four chapters encompass surgical and nonsurgical management strategies for congenital, neuromuscular, syndrome-associated, and infection- and neoplasm-related rigid spinal deformities. Special topics include secondary correction, pitfalls and difficulties, revision surgeries, and surgical and trauma-related neurological complications. New technologies are covered, including computer-assisted robotic surgery, evaluation and treatment of spinal tuberculosis in adults and children, and biological aspects that enhance spinal fusion. Throughout the text, the authors share firsthand pearls gained over many decades of delivering surgical care.

Degenerative Cervical Myelopathy by Michael G. Fehlings, 2023 Degenerative Cervical Myelopathy: From Basic Science to Clinical Practice lays the foundation for understanding DCM manifestation, pathophysiology, diagnosis and treatment strategies. The book covers the latest basic and clinical research, updates on patient management strategies, and discusses promising neuroprotective therapies for the future of DCM care. Written by international experts across a range of topics related to degenerative cervical myelopathy, the book helps readers understand the challenges and future directions of patient management. As degenerative cervical myelopathy (DCM) is the leading cause of spinal cord dysfunction and one of the most common indications for spinal surgery worldwide, the term DCM encompasses a group of chronic, non-traumatic spinal cord injuries that occur due to degenerative changes in the cervical spine (e.g. disc spondylosis or repetitive dynamic injury from hyper-mobility).

Diagnosis and Treatment of Spinal Cord Injury: The Neuroscience of Spinal Cord Injury by Rajkumar Rajendram; Victor R. Preedy; Colin R Martin, 2022 Diagnosis and Treatment of Spinal Cord Injury will enhance readers' understanding of the complexities of the diagnosis and management of spinal cord injuries. Featuring chapters on drug delivery, exercise, and rehabilitation, this volume discusses in detail the impact of the clinical features, diagnosis, management, and long-term prognosis of spinal cord injuries on the lives of those affected. The book has applicability for neuroscientists, neurologists, clinicians, and anyone working to better understand spinal cord injuries.

Dynamic Reconstruction of the Spine, 2nd ed. by Daniel H. Kim; Dilip D. Sengupta; Frank P. Cammisa et al, 2015 Dynamic Reconstruction of the Spine, Second Edition, is a resource on the instrumentation, technologies, and fundamental science integral to achieving spine motion preservation and stabilization. It is a completely revised text that includes not only the latest technologies and surgical approaches, including MIS techniques, but also significantly more detail on the clinical biomechanics of the spine than the previous edition. Readers will appreciate the guidance this book provides on how to: successfully adopt new technology, find appropriate indications, address common safety and efficacy issues, and answer health economics questions for ethics committees and payers.

Idiopathic Scoliosis: The Harms Study Group Treatment Guide, 2nd ed.. by Patrick J. Cahill; Randal R. Betz, 2021 Idiopathic Scoliosis: The Harms Study Group Treatment Guide, Second Edition, edited by Peter O. Newton, Amer F. Samdani, Harry L. Shufflebarger, Randal R. Betz, and Jürgen Harms and written by an impressive group of experts reflects treatment advances made in the last decade. Greater understanding of the etiology and improved 3D anatomy has resulted in significant strides in clinical management of scoliosis. This richly illustrated book presents all facets of evaluation and treatment of abnormal curvature of the spine, supported by a solid foundation of evidence-based data culled from the prestigious Harms Study Group. Divided into four sections and 31 chapters, this one-stop reference encompasses the full spectrum of surgical and nonoperative interventions—from early treatments to modern novel growth modulation techniques. In this second edition, each chapter has been updated and several new ones have been added, reflecting current literature, practice, and expert perspective. Throughout the book, masters share clinical pearls and firsthand knowledge on managing diverse types of adolescent idiopathic spinal deformity, with the common goal of improved patient outcomes.

Instrumentation for Minimally Invasive Spine Surgery by Kern Singh, 2020 The quintessential guide to state-of-the-art instrumentation in minimally invasive spine surgery In recent decades, technological innovations in minimally invasive surgery (MIS) have revolutionized spine surgery. The integration of devices tailored to MIS spine techniques has allowed spine surgeons to tackle more complex spinal pathologies and generate new ways to improve clinical outcomes. Instrumentation for Minimally Invasive Spine Surgery by renowned orthopaedic surgeon Kern Singh and esteemed collaborators, provides practical, evidence-based insights into important surgical decisions spine surgeons face every day. The primary goal of this book is to help spine surgeons navigate a daunting number of available devices and leverage the optimal ones to achieve improved patient outcomes. Organized in 3 parts and 16 chapters, the text starts with the past, present, and future of MIS spinal instrumentation. The first two parts detail cutting-edge posterior and lateral approaches with discussion of required devices. The final part covers percutaneous cement augmentation, biologics, and navigation systems. The text combines a thorough review of empirical literature with expert experience and manufacturer specifications to elucidate the advantages and capabilities of currently available instrumentation. Key Highlights Discussion of commonly used MIS spinal instrumentation including retractors; percutaneous pedicle, cortical, and facet screw systems; interbody cages; and fixation systems Concise, yet in-depth technical descriptions include an introduction and potential complications, followed by design features, modular aspects, applicable procedures, and compatible devices for each type High-quality detailed images provide greater understanding of techniques This unique book is an essential surgical companion for orthopaedic and neurosurgical residents and fellows, as well as spine surgeons who wish to incorporate MIS techniques into clinical practice. This book includes complimentary access to a digital copy on https://medone.thieme.com.

Lumbar Interbody Fusions by Sunil V. Manjila; Thomas Mroz; Michael P. Steinmetz, 2019 Authored by experienced surgeons and key innovators in the fast-moving field of LIF surgery, Lumbar Interbody Fusions provides an in-depth, focused approach to recent advances in surgical techniques and technology. Covering both minimally invasive and open procedures, this comprehensive reference provides step-by-step details for proven techniques, including extreme lateral, oblique lateral, and direct lateral approaches; intertransverse approaches; axial approaches; and endoscopic approaches. Focuses on the technical nuances, pearls and pitfalls of each procedure, as well as complication avoidance and management. Features high-quality radiographs and intraoperative images for superb visual guidance throughout. Covers topics that have as-yet unsettled surgical management, such as thoracolumbar and lumbosacral overlap diseases. Includes a concise review of evidence-based spine literature at the end of each procedural chapter. Features chapters on adjunct instrumentation such as pedicle screw and facet fixation, as well as graft selection and revision surgeries. Provides real-time guidance in video: Open Transforaminal Lumbar Interbody Fusion, MIDLIF Operative Technique, L5-S1 OLIF, Aspen Surgical Technique, and many more. Enhanced eBook version included with purchase. Your enhanced eBook allows you to access all of the text, figures, and references from the book on a variety of devices.

Lumbar Spine Access Surgery by Joseph R. O'Brien; Jeffrey B. Weinreb; Joseph C. Babrowicz, 2024 Quality surgeons must have all the tips, tricks, and tools to provide their patients with the best care possible. Anterior and lateral approaches have revolutionized spine surgery, but even so, many surgeons have not learned the procedures and treatment involved, and the ones who have demonstrate a very difficult learning curve. This can be partially attributed to a lack of instructional literature, and this book aims to fill this gap so that incoming as well as veteran surgeons can add the anterior and lateral approaches to their arsenal. This text guides the surgeon through the full arc of treatment: from deciding which approach to use to treating the patient post-operatively. Specifically, the reader will gain comprehensive knowledge on how to perform each access procedure, how to care for and treat the patient at every stage, and the best ways to handle an array of complications they may face. Seven sections present everything the surgeon needs to know: history and rationale; preoperative and intraoperative care, surgical techniques, intraoperative complications, postoperative care, and a final section covering additional considerations for revision surgery, biological treatments, and approaches for both outpatient and obese patients. Written by experts in the field, Lumbar Spine Access Surgery will be a valuable reference for spine, orthopedic and vascular surgeons looking to expand their skill set.

Navigation and Robotics in Spine Surgery, 1st ed. by Alexander R. Vaccaro; Jaykar Panchmatia; David Kaye et al, 2019 A unique how-to guide for spine surgeons on state-of-the-art computer-assisted navigation and robotic surgery techniques The past decade has seen major advances in image-guided spine surgery techniques, with robotically assisted approaches emerging in the last five years. While early adopters of this technology paved the way for more widespread use of navigated and robotic systems, barriers still exist. Navigation and Robotics in Spine Surgery by master spine surgeon Alexander Vaccaro and esteemed co-editors Jaykar Panchmatia, I. David Kaye, and Srinivas Prasad addresses existing issues such as the perception of increased upfront costs, intrusion on current workflow, and a lack of understanding about the potential ways these technologies can enhance the surgical experience and improve patient outcomes. Organized into six sections, the book starts with evidence-based fundamentals of navigated spine surgery and robotics including discussion of instrumentation and mechanics. Sections 2-5 serve as a surgical handbook for spine surgeons who wish to introduce these technologies into practice or augment their current repertoire with more complex techniques. Topics range from more routine procedures such as navigated and robotic minimally invasive TLIF to complex approaches like intraoperative ultrasound guided intradural spinal tumor resection. The final section looks at future directions and potential new applications for these technologies. Key Highlights An impressive group of international spine surgeons who pioneered navigation and robotic surgery techniques share invaluable tricks of the trade Discussion of fluoroscopy- and intraoperative CT-based platforms, applications for intraoperative sonography, and radiation exposure and minimization strategies Special topics include OR set-up and workflow, surmounting the learning curve, artificial intelligence, and lessons learned from other industries Procedural videos demonstrate the benefits of computer-assisted navigation and robotic techniques This book is essential reading for orthopaedic surgery and neurosurgery residents and spine fellows who wish to learn about and incorporate these technologies into practice. Seasoned spine surgeons seeking to expand the scope of their navigated/robotic practice will benefit from chapters detailing advanced approaches. This book includes complimentary access to a digital copy on https://medone.thieme.com.

The Netter Collection of Medical Illustrations: Musculoskeletal System, Part II - Spine and Lower Limb, 3rd ed. by Frank H. Netter; Joseph P. Iannotti; Richard D. Parker et al, 2025 Provides a highly visual guide to each major body system in 14 lavishly illustrated books, including new and updated topics throughout. Offers a concise overview of complex information by integrating anatomical and physiological concepts with clinical scenarios. Compiles Dr. Frank H. Netter’s master medical artistry―an aesthetic tribute and source of inspiration for medical professionals for over half a century―along with new art in the Netter tradition for each of the major body systems, making this series a powerful and memorable tool for building foundational knowledge and educating patients or staff.

Neuromodulation Techniques for the Spine by Alaa Abd-Elsayed, 2024 Neuromodulation Techniques for the Spine, a volume in the Atlas of Interventional Pain Management series, is a concise, practical guide that provides clinicians with detailed, step-by-step guidance on how to perform spinal nerve stimulation procedures for patients with chronic pain. This comprehensive, easy-to-follow guide offers expert coverage of how to deliver safe, accurate, and cost-effective pain relief to patients using all clinically useful imaging modalities, including ultrasound-guided techniques and fluoroscopy. With high-quality images and clear, authoritative guidance throughout, it shows exactly how to evaluate the causes of pain, identify the most promising stimulation technique, locate the site with precision, and deliver effective relief. Offers a comprehensive overview of the latest techniques used in spinal neuromodulation.  Features clinically relevant anatomic drawings and radiologic images that provide step-by-step instruction on techniques.  Provides clear guidance on the risks and benefits, as well as indications and contraindications, for each procedure.  Covers key topics such as Spinal Cord Stimulation (percutaneous and paddle lead placements); Dorsal Root Ganglion; Dorsal Root Ganglion Implants; and Intrathecal Pump (implants, refills).   Includes easy-to-follow, templated content on patient selection, preoperative prep, and post-operative care.  Contains full-color line drawings, photographs, and ultrasound images that provide you with a firm grasp of the anatomy and equipment involved with each procedure.  Highlights potential pitfalls for each technique and offers clinical pearls on how to avoid them.  An eBook version is included with purchase. The eBook allows you to access all of the text, figures and references, with the ability to search, customize your content, make notes and highlights, and have content read aloud. 

Neurotrauma and Critical Care of the Spine, 2nd ed. by Jack Jallo; Alexander R. Vaccaro, 2018 Neurotrauma and Critical Care of the Spine, 2nd edition, by a distinguished critical care neurosurgeon, Jack Jallo, and a renowned spine surgeon, Alexander Vaccaro, incorporates salient components of the highly praised first edition. The updated text reflects cutting-edge discussion on spine injury management in a neurocritical care setting. Contributions from top experts in neurosurgery, orthopaedic surgery, neurology, critical care, cardiac and pulmonary care, and trauma surgery infuse this book with a well-rounded perspective. From the pre-hospital to intensive care setting, this unique reference provides a comprehensive, yet concise approach to the treatment of acute spinal cord injury and management of patients with chronic SCI. Chapters new to this edition include neurological assessment of spinal injury, clearing the cervical spine, management of concurrent TBI and spinal injury, blood pressure and oxygen management, temperature management, fluids and osmotherapy, pharmacology, autonomic dysreflexia, infection after SCI, and emerging therapies.

Operative Techniques: Spine Surgery, 4th ed. by Alexander R. Vaccaro; Eli M. Baron, 2025 A plethora of textbooks on spinal surgery are available today. Most provide an overview of the general science of spinal care or are intended as a reference text for specific spinal procedures. They include the background on a particular topic, its clinical presentation, treatment options, and outcomes. Alternatively, they may provide a review of the nuances of a pathologic condition, including a discussion of the nonoperative and operative treatments with case examples. This book is intended to serve a much different purpose. Although some atlases of spine surgery exist, none are meant to serve as an operating room companion. We envision this text as an indispensable tool for spine surgeons who want to accent their knowledge and exposure to interesting and commonly performed surgical procedures encountered in daily practice. Each chapter in this book includes step-by-step illustrations of spinal procedures, along with practical expert advice. Many pearls of wisdom are conveyed by the authors to assist in the learning curve and avoid the commonly experienced pitfalls encountered by many practitioners. We believe this text represents a source of information that will be used repeatedly by the busy spinal clinician. Surgeons will find they want to consult with this text routinely before embarking on a particular procedure, to feel comfortable and confident regarding their chosen techniques. We hope this text serves as a valuable resource, not only to orthopaedic surgeons, neurosurgeons, and surgical trainees such as residents and fellows but also to physician assistants, nursing staff personnel, and anyone involved in the operative care of patients undergoing spinal surgery.

Pocket Atlas of Spine Surgery, 2nd ed. by Kern Singh; Alexander Vaccaro, 2018 Pocket Atlas of Spine Surgery, 2nd Edition by Kern Singh and Alexander Vaccaro is unique in its presentation, utilizing multilayered visuals to delineate the most commonly performed spine procedures. High-definition intraoperative photographs are juxtaposed with translucent anatomic drawings. This facilitates visualization of both the entire surgical field and complex anatomy never "seen" during surgery. It also provides greater insights into the subtleties of both open and technically demanding minimally invasive spine surgery techniques. Unlike many large spine surgery atlases, this is the perfect, on-the-go, pocket-size resource for busy spine surgeons who work in any clinical setting. From the cervical to lumbar spine, 21 concise chapters reflect the collective technical expertise of internationally renowned spine surgeons. Easy-to-follow guidance is provided on fundamental open and minimally invasive techniques, including pedicle screw placement, fusion, discectomy, corpectomy, foraminotomy, laminoplasty, and laminectomy. Each procedural chapter focuses on the importance of accurate visualization, adequate homeostasis, and impacted anatomical structures. Insightful tips, pearls, and potential pitfalls throughout the book expedite acquisition of knowledge Nearly 200 detailed, clearly labeled images of common spine procedures provide invaluable anatomical and clinical guidance Expanded insights on positioning in spine surgery Added discussion of surgical challenges, including warnings and descriptions of internervous planes Orthopaedic surgeons, neurosurgeons, and surgical trainees will discover an indispensable and friendly white coat reference for everyday practice. The visually rich atlas will also benefit physician assistants, surgical nurses, and all practitioners involved in the operative care of spine surgery patients.

Revision Lumbar Spine Surgery by Robert F. Heary, 2022 Offering in-depth coverage of an often-neglected topic, Revision Lumbar Spine Surgery identifies clinical problems and discusses recent major advances in this challenging area. Dr. Robert F. Heary and a team of international experts share their knowledge and experience with even the most difficult lumbar cases, helping you provide optimal outcomes for your patients. You'll find authoritative guidance on indications, diagnosis, approaches, and follow-up, with a focus on the significant advances that have occurred over the past two decades in this fast-changing field. Identifies the clinical problems related to unsuccessful back spine surgery as well as indications, diagnosis, and new treatment options and advances in this complex area. Provides in-depth information on the multiple options that exist for most clinical situations: anterior, posterior, lateral, and combined anterior and posterior approaches. Covers methods of fixation, the use of interbody grafting, and surgical planning related to scar tissues, bleeding, and spinal fluid leaks. Discusses critical follow-up topics such as key clinical procedures, radiography, patient reported outcomes, and pain management. Includes timely chapters on robotics, bone density issues, medical fitness concerns, instrumentation options, imaging considerations, and much more. Enhanced eBook version included with purchase. Your enhanced eBook allows you to access all of the text, figures, and references from the book on a variety of devices.

Robotic and Navigated Spine Surgery by Anand Veeravagu; Michael Y. Wang, 2023 As the benefits of surgical robotic systems in spine surgery become more widely known, spine procedures that utilize these technologies are expected to greatly increase over the next decade. Robotic and Navigated Spine Surgery: Surgical Techniques and Advancements provides up-to-date, authoritative clinical guidance in this dynamic area for surgeons who are already using these innovative methods, as well as for those exploring the field. In a single, convenient source, this title comprehensively summarizes clinical studies, advancements, and expert recommendations regarding today's robotic and navigated spine surgery. Covers the recent advancements and impact that popular neuronavigation devices and surgical robots have had on the surgical management of the spine, including clinical studies, technical guides, review papers, and expert recommendations. Discusses devices that today's surgeons are most likely to use, such as navigation devices, robotics, augmented reality, and virtual reality systems. Includes focused content on complex spine surgeries, where navigation and robotic devices can have the most significant impact. Features procedural images including radiographs, surgical photos, and equipment photos for visual guidance. Contains chapters on navigation in occipital and cervical spine surgery, spinal trauma and navigation, navigated and robotic-assisted deformity correction, cost-effectiveness of robotic and navigation systems, virtual reality and augmented reality in spine surgery, and more. Enhanced eBook version included with purchase. Your enhanced eBook allows you to access all of the text, figures, and references from the book on a variety of devices.

Sagittal Balance of the Spine: From Normal to Pathology: A Key for Treatment Strategy, 1st ed. by Pierre Roussouly; João Luiz Pinheiro-Franco; Hubert Labelle et al, 2019 Unique resource from internationally renowned experts details the key role of sagittal spine balance Through evolution, human verticality became associated with a wide range of normal pelvic shapes and associated pelvic incidence angles (PIs). While all types of sagittal alignment generally provide adequate support to young adults, age, stress, and related degeneration can progressively lead to sagittal imbalance and contribute to various spinal pathologies. Sagittal Balance of the Spine by Pierre Roussouly, João Luiz Pinheiro-Franco, Hubert Labelle, Martin Gehrchen, and a cadre of esteemed international contributors focuses on the importance of sagittal alignment and spino-pelvic shape identification in clinical practice. Offering the most comprehensive text on sagittal balance to date, this state-of-the-art, richly illustrated book fills a void in the literature, offering clinical pearls throughout seven sections and 24 chapters. Key Highlights The biomechanics of sagittal balance including spine modeling, primary parameters, spinal curves segmentation, and lumbar lordosis classification The role of sagittal balance in low back pain and degeneration, with discussion of spinal orientation and the contact forces theory, spinal degeneration associated with spinopelvic morphotypes, and compensatory mechanisms Comprehensive analysis of the relationship between sagittal imbalance and isthmic lysis spondylolisthesis, degenerative spondylolisthesis, Scheuermann's kyphosis, adolescent idiopathic scoliosis, and adult scoliosis Posterior and anterior treatment approaches - from spinal fixation and spinal fusion - to spinal osteotomy techniques and management of surgical failure This text is essential reading for every neurosurgical and orthopaedic resident, as well as veteran surgeons who evaluate and treat patients with spine conditions. Clinicians will learn why incorporating sagittal balance evaluations into spinal exams is integral to devising more effective treatment strategies and achieving improved outcomes. This book includes complimentary access to a digital copy on https://medone.thieme.com.

Spinal Injection Techniques, 2nd ed. by T. Ttheodoridis; J. Kramer, 2019 Written by a multidisciplinary team of experts, Spinal Injection Techniques presents the most effective methods for injecting pharmaceuticals to address acute and chronic pain originating from the cervical spine to the sacrum. This new, second edition has been extensively revised and updated with replacement of many images and addition of an extended chapter with tips and tricks on diagnostic and clinical examination. The authors' emphasis is on techniques that represent viable alternatives to spine surgery and do not rely on diagnostic imaging. The first section of the book provides a general overview of the basic principles, diagnostics, and causal as well as symptomatic pain therapy for the spine. The second section, created in an atlas format, includes chapters on spinal anatomy and pain signaling, techniques for injection therapy of the cervical, thoracic, and lumbar spine, management of potential complications and side effects, and multimodal spine therapy. Illustrated using real-life photographs from the authors' practice, each technique-related chapter guides the reader step-by-step and with great confidence through the injection procedures. Highlights: Provides detailed coverage of injection therapy using anatomic landmarks, without the use of image guidance Features minimally invasive spine therapy for inpatient and outpatient settings, with concomitant pharmaceutical treatments Includes essential information on contraindications and patient consent More than 500 color illustrations and photographs demonstrating the relevant anatomy, patient positioning, and accurate needle placement Conceived as a practical guide and useful compendium, Spinal Injection Techniques is invaluable for orthopedists and practitioners in physical medicine and rehabilitation. It is also a handy reference for anesthesiologists, neurologists, and rheumatologists with a specific interest in pain therapy for the spine.

Spinal Cord Injury: Functional Rehabilitation, 4th ed. by Martha Freeman Somers; Jade J. Bender-Burnett, 2024 Updated & Revised - Incorporates current best practices based on recent evidence and clinical practice guidelines. Includes more therapeutic approaches to restoring locomotor function in patients with the potential to regain ambulatory ability using lower extremity musculature, presenting strategies consistent with current clinical practice guidelines. Expanded! Addresses how to determine whether a given patient will benefit most from therapeutic interventions that stress compensation, restoration of normal movement patterns, or a blend of the two. New! Features problem-solving exercises that offer more opportunities to develop clinical reasoning skills. Updated! Uses the most current International Classification of Functioning, Disability and Health (ICF) as a conceptual framework for understanding both the impact of spinal cord injury and the role of rehabilitation. Builds the broad knowledge base of all areas pertinent to spinal cord injuries needed for optimal program planning and implementation, integrated with an understanding of the relationships between functioning, disability, and health. Develops knowledge of both the physical skills required for functional activities and the therapeutic strategies for achieving these skills. Emphasizes the importance of structuring the social environment of the rehabilitation unit to foster self-reliant attitudes and behaviors and to promote self-respect and autonomy. Considers the importance of psychosocial adaptation after spinal cord injury and the impact rehabilitation professionals can have.

Spinal Cord Injury Pain by Christine N. Sang; Claire E. Hulsebosch, 2022 Spinal Cord Injury Pain presents the basis for preclinical and clinical investigations, along with strategies for new approaches in the treatment of central neuropathic pain. Contributors from the private sector and academia provide a comprehensive review of state-of-the-art research in this challenging space. Topics include Epidemiology of Chronic Pain Following SCI, experimental models and mechanisms of chronic pain in SCI, and new targets and technologies. This book serves as a resource for continued translational research that will result in novel approaches and treatments that improve function and quality of life for individuals with CNP/SCI. Despite a better understanding of the complexity of mechanisms of CNP/SCI, improved medical and surgical management of SCI, and the subsequent acceleration of the identification of new targets and the development of novel analgesics, there is still a great unmet clinical need in the area of CNP following SCI. Hence, this book is a welcomed addition to current research and developments.

Spinal Fusion Techniques by Alaa Abd-Elsayed, 2024 Spinal Fusion Techniques, a volume in the Atlas of Interventional Pain Management series, is a concise, practical guide that provides clinicians with detailed, step-by-step guidance on how to perform the latest interventional techniques for treating patients with chronic pain as a result of spinal stenosis. This comprehensive, easy-to-follow guide offers expert coverage of how to deliver safe, accurate, and cost-effective pain relief to patients using all clinically useful imaging modalities, including ultrasound-guided techniques and fluoroscopy. With high-quality images and clear, authoritative guidance throughout, it shows exactly how to evaluate the causes of pain, identify the most promising stimulation technique, locate the site with precision, and deliver effective relief. Offers a comprehensive overview of the latest techniques used in spinal fusion.  Features clinically relevant anatomic drawings and radiologic images that provide step-by-step instruction on techniques.  Provides clear guidance on the risks and benefits, as well as indications and contraindications, for each procedure.  Covers key topics such as Minimally Invasive Posterior Lumbar Fusion: A Novel Approach to Facet Fusion; Posterior Spinal Fusion; and Interspinous Fusion with Lateral Percutaneous Technique.  Includes easy-to-follow, templated content on patient selection, preoperative prep, and post-operative care.  Contains full-color line drawings, photographs, and ultrasound images that provide you with a firm grasp of the anatomy and equipment involved with each procedure.  Highlights potential pitfalls for each technique and offers clinical pearls on how to avoid them.  An eBook version is included with purchase. The eBook allows you to access all of the text, figures and references, with the ability to search, customize your content, make notes and highlights, and have content read aloud. 

Spinal Injection Techniques, 2nd ed. by T. Ttheodoridis; J. Kramer, 2019 Written by a multidisciplinary team of experts, Spinal Injection Techniques presents the most effective methods for injecting pharmaceuticals to address acute and chronic pain originating from the cervical spine to the sacrum. This new, second edition has been extensively revised and updated with replacement of many images and addition of an extended chapter with tips and tricks on diagnostic and clinical examination. The authors' emphasis is on techniques that represent viable alternatives to spine surgery and do not rely on diagnostic imaging. The first section of the book provides a general overview of the basic principles, diagnostics, and causal as well as symptomatic pain therapy for the spine. The second section, created in an atlas format, includes chapters on spinal anatomy and pain signaling, techniques for injection therapy of the cervical, thoracic, and lumbar spine, management of potential complications and side effects, and multimodal spine therapy. Illustrated using real-life photographs from the authors' practice, each technique-related chapter guides the reader step-by-step and with great confidence through the injection procedures. Highlights: Provides detailed coverage of injection therapy using anatomic landmarks, without the use of image guidance Features minimally invasive spine therapy for inpatient and outpatient settings, with concomitant pharmaceutical treatments Includes essential information on contraindications and patient consent More than 500 color illustrations and photographs demonstrating the relevant anatomy, patient positioning, and accurate needle placement Conceived as a practical guide and useful compendium, Spinal Injection Techniques is invaluable for orthopedists and practitioners in physical medicine and rehabilitation. It is also a handy reference for anesthesiologists, neurologists, and rheumatologists with a specific interest in pain therapy for the spine.

The Spine: Pain Medicine, A Case-Based Learning Series by Steven D. Waldman, 2022 Linking theory to practice through the use of authentic clinical cases, Dr. Steven D. Waldman's Pain Medicine: A Case-Based Learning Series helps readers acquire the valuable skill of effective diagnostic thinking in daily practice. The Spine volume uses an in-depth case format, preparing you to correctly analyze clinical vignettes and formulate a clinically sound, evidence-based approach to realistic patient scenarios. This highly effective leaning and assessment tool provides practical clinical insights into the best methods for diagnosis and treatment for the successful management of patients with spine-related pain. Presents real-world patients in a real-world clinical setting, making learning fun and engaging. The Case-Based Learning approach focuses learners and clinicians on the key elements for each diagnosis and helps develop a deep understanding of how to diagnose and treat each condition. Covers everyday clinical problems such as Herniated Disc, Lumbar Strain, Thoracic Vertebral Compression Fracture, Epidural Abscess, Spondylosis, Spinal Stenosis, Sacroiliac Joint Pain, and more. Cases unfold just the way they do in your clinic. Each case is accompanied with thoughtful clinical commentary and key messages from the author. Each chapter uses high-quality radiographic images, clinical photos, and full-color drawings to facilitate a clear, easy-to-understand approach to evaluation and diagnosis. An ideal self-assessment and review tool for pain medicine practitioners and trainees, as well as those preparing for the American Board of Anesthesiology Pain Medicine certification and recertification exam. Enhanced eBook version included with purchase. Your enhanced eBook allows you to access all of the text, figures, and references from the book on a variety of devices.

Spine Phenotypes by Dino Samartzis; Jaro I. Karppinen; Frances M. K. Williams, 2022 The era of big data and personalized spine care has arrived. Within that, imaging and clinical phenotypes are key in establishing personalized algorithms for patient care. This is particularly important in developing novel diagnostics and therapeutics as well as predicting outcomes and establishing preventative measures for various spinal disorders. Spine Phenotypes is a comprehensive resource that outlines phenotype descriptions, their imaging measurements and classifications, and provides an in-depth discussion regarding spine pathology and its clinical relevance. Multiauthored, with multidisciplinary contributions from world leaders in the field of imaging, spine research, and clinical practice, each chapter is rich in visual depiction of imaging phenotypes, providing examples of some established phenotypic measurements with a range of normal and pathologic images and their clinical implications. Spine Phenotypes will be a first of its kind reference for spine researchers, clinicians, and industry.

Spine Secrets, 3rd ed. by Vincent J. Devlin, 2021 For more than 30 years, the highly regarded Secrets Series® has provided students and practitioners in all areas of health care with concise, focused, and engaging resources for quick reference and exam review. Spine Secrets Plus, 3rd Edition, by Dr. Vincent J. Devlin, features the Secrets' popular question-and-answer format that also includes lists, tables, pearls, memory aids, and an easy-to-read style - making inquiry, reference, and review quick, easy, and enjoyable. The proven Secrets Series® format gives you the most return for your time - succinct, easy to read, engaging, and highly effective. Fully revised and updated throughout, including protocols and guidelines that are continuously evolving and that increasingly dictate best practices. Expanded PLUS format includes extended coverage, a larger format, colorful visual elements, and larger, detailed images and illustrations to provide an overall enhanced learning experience. Remain at the forefront of the nuances of spine surgery and related specialties with updates on new techniques and technologies, as well as changing treatment options and drug information. Top 100 Secrets and Key Points boxes provide a fast overview of the secrets you must know for success in practice and on exams. Zero in on key information with bulleted lists, mnemonics, and practical tips from prominent specialists - all providing a concise overview of important, board-relevant content. Portable size makes it easy to carry with you for quick reference or review anywhere, anytime. Enhanced eBook version included with purchase. Your enhanced eBook allows you to access all of the text, figures, and references from the book on a variety of devices.

Spine Surgery in an Aging Population by Nathaniel P. Brooks; Andrea L. Strayer, 2019 An invaluable primer on the surgical and nonsurgical treatment of aging patients with spine conditions The growing population of people aged 65 and older has significant implications for health care systems and spine care providers. Older patients today demand interventions that enable them to return to a functional lifestyle. Treatment of degenerative spine disease in aging adults requires in-depth understanding of changes in physiology, biomechanics, function, and modifiable risk factors. Equally important, providers need to listen to patients, diagnose thoughtfully, learn about the person's goals, and teach them in plain language about the risks, alternatives, and expectations of treatment options. This foundation is critical to developing informed patient-centered treatment plans to improve outcomes. Spine Surgery in an Aging Population by Nathaniel Brooks, Andrea Strayer, and a cadre of global contributors reflects a rich array of expertise. With multidisciplinary contributions from renowned specialists in neurosurgery, orthopaedic surgery, geriatrics, and rehabilitation, the book provides invaluable insights on caring for aging adults with degenerative spine disease. Throughout 21 chapters, readers are provided with key concepts, expert knowledge, and effective management strategies to avoid complications and improve outcomes for older adult spine patients. Key Highlights Diagnosis and treatment of osteoporosis to help prevent fractures and optimize treatment approaches prior to elective surgery Management of common pathologies of the aging spine such as cervical spondylosis, lumbar stenosis, spondylolisthesis, degenerative scoliosis and trauma Special topics include value-based care, nonsurgical management of spinal pain, vertebral augmentation, minimally invasive surgery, and instrumentation considerations This one-stop compendium is essential reading for orthopaedic and neurosurgical residents and fellows, as well as veteran surgeons and allied health providers who care for older adults with spine conditions. This book includes complimentary access to a digital copy on https://medone.thieme.com.

Spinoplastic Reconstruction by Alexander Ropper; Sebastian Winocour; Michael Bohl; Edward Reece, 2024 The essential multidisciplinary spine reference on optimizing complex bony and soft tissue reconstruction Lessons learned from soft tissue reconstruction, wound healing, and infection prevention in plastic surgery and bony arthrodesis strategies and spinal alignment in orthopaedic surgery and neurosurgery have merged to create a new field of surgery. Spinoplastic Reconstruction, edited by Alexander E. Ropper, Sebastian J. Winocour, Michael A. Bohl, and Edward M. Reece provides in-depth discussion of multidisciplinary techniques and complication management in complex bony and soft tissue reconstruction, with the goal of improved outcomes for spine surgery patients. This textbook encompasses the nomenclature, indications, evidence-based techniques, outcomes, and alternatives that laid the groundwork for spinoplastic surgery. Organized into nine sections and 42 chapters, the book begins by delineating the historical and future relevance of multidisciplinary surgery and advent of spinoplastic surgery to ease the growing global disease burden of spine disease. The second section discusses applied anatomy, biomechanics, and bony spinal stability. Sections three to nine provide detailed discussion and pearls on bone healing, bone adjuncts, perioperative management, surgical spine exposures, vascularized autologous bone grafts and flaps, soft tissue spinal reconstruction, and complication management. Key Features Contributions from an impressive group of multidisciplinary spinoplastic surgery founders and innovators exemplifies the ethos of this emerging field Traditional and novel approaches for managing common challenges in spine surgery, including pseudoarthrosis and wound infection High-quality operative photos, illustrations, and 12 videos provide visual understanding of spinal anatomy and techniques This unique resource provides spine surgeons with a better understanding of the tenets of soft tissue reconstruction and plastic surgeons with a clearer understanding of the challenges faced in complex spine surgery, thereby improving collaborative patient management. This print book includes complimentary access to a digital copy on https://medone.thieme.com. Publisher's Note: Products purchased from Third Party sellers are not guaranteed by the publisher for quality, authenticity, or access to any online entitlements included with the product.

Surgery of the Thoracic Spine: Principles and Techniques by Ali A. Baaj; U. Kumar Kakarla; Han-Jo Kim, 2019 The definitive guide to thoracic spine pathologies and state-of-the-art surgical approaches Surgery of the Thoracic Spine: Principles and Techniques by renowned spine surgeons Ali Baaj, Kumar Kakarla, and Han Jo Kim fills a gap in the literature, with content focused solely on pathologies and surgical techniques of the thoracic spine and vertebral column. Starting with a thoughtful discussion on the uniqueness of the thoracic region as it relates to pulmonary function, the richly illustrated textbook covers a full spectrum of topics from biomechanics and anesthetic considerations to neuromonitoring and neuronavigation. With contributions from a cadre of distinguished experts, the book encompasses pathophysiology, surgical techniques, and reconstructive strategies for common degenerative, congenital, oncologic, and traumatic diseases of the thoracic spine. Dedicated chapters cover treatment options for different types of scoliosis, Scheuermann kyphosis, proximal junctional deformity, and posttraumatic deformity. Key Features Treatment of common degenerative conditions including stenosis and disc herniations Management of less common inflammatory and infectious spinal diseases such as spondylarthropathies, osteomyelitis, discitis, and fungal and tubercular infections Oncologic topics including primary, intradural extramedullary, and intramedullary spinal cord tumors and thoracic spine metastases Surgical treatment of pediatric and adult deformities including congenital, idiopathic, and degenerative scoliosis Classification of thoracic spinal fractures, discussion of complete and incomplete thoracic spinal cord injuries, posterior and ventral treatment of thoracic spine fractures, and osteoporotic compression fractures This is an invaluable evaluation and management tool for neurosurgical and orthopaedic residents and practicing spine surg

Surgical Care of the Painful Degenerative Lumbar Spine, 1st ed. by Edgar Weaver, 2018 The learning curve in the management of painful degenerative lumbar spine patients is steep because every case has singular characteristics. Surgical Care of the Painful Degenerative Lumbar Spine: Evaluation, Decision-Making, Techniques by Edgar Weaver reflects more than 35 years of neurosurgical practice devoted to refining degenerative spine disease evaluation and techniques. The book emphasizes and instructs a symptom-focused approach in the surgical decision-making process, with determinant radiographic features used mainly supportively. The text begins with a thorough overview of anatomy, spino-pelvic and sagittal balance metrics, stabilization, and clinical evaluations. Throughout 11 chapters, step-by-step guidance is provided on therapeutic decision-making to achieve optimal individualized outcomes. From the fundamentals of open and minimally invasive techniques to the impact of socioeconomic factors on the treatment of PDLS patients, the authors offer invaluable firsthand insights. Key Features Discussion of techniques including en bloc laminectomy, the U-turn approach to root decompression, hemilaminectomy - a safe and versatile decompressive technique, and the lateral intra-muscular planar (LIMP) procedure The use of a descriptive clinical sub-classification system for low back pain and grading scale based on a simple testing maneuver Extensive post-operative care chapter emphasizes pain and infection control Challenges including chronic axial lumbar pain, post-operative junctional stress, sagittal imbalance, spondylolisthesis, and coronal deformity Uniquely insightful, this concise guide covers the fundamental clinical and technical skills necessary to care for patients with degenerative lumbar spine pain. It is essential reading for neurosurgical and orthopedic residents, spine fellows, spine surgeons and all clinicians involved in administrating surgical and nonsurgical spine care.

Treatment of Spine Disease in the Elderly by Kai-Ming G. Fu; Michael Y. Wang; Michael S. Virk, 2023 As the population continues to age worldwide, spinal disease will become more prevalent in the elderly population. The treatment of spinal disease requires an individual approach encorporating best practices. Optimal management in the elderly may differ from younger patients due to increased comorbidities, decreased bone health, and a higher risk of perioperative morbidity and mortality. While more and more elderly patients will require evaluation and management of their spinal disease, most modern books discuss operative and nonoperative management based upon disease process. Techniques and approaches are described for a specific pathology, and are usually tailored for a young or middle aged patient. Treatment of Spine Disease in the Elderly: Cutting Edge Techniques and Technologies is designed to address this gap in today's literature by expressly addressing spinal conditions in the elderly and current advanced techniques and technologies for treating their spinal disease. It will be intended as a resource for the beginning to the advanced surgeon and practitioner whom undertakes treatment of patients in this age group.

Vertebral Augmentation Techniques by Alaa Abd-Elsayed, 2024 Vertebral Augmentation Techniques, part of the Atlas of Interventional Pain Management series, is a concise, practical guide that provides clinicians with detailed, step-by-step guidance on how to perform the latest interventional techniques for treating patients with chronic pain as a result of vertebral fractures or osteoporosis. This comprehensive, easy-to-follow guide offers expert coverage of how to deliver safe, accurate, and cost-effective pain relief to patients using all clinically useful imaging modalities, including ultrasound-guided techniques and fluoroscopy. With high-quality images and clear, authoritative guidance throughout, it shows exactly how to evaluate the causes of pain, identify the most promising stimulation technique, locate the site with precision, and deliver effective relief. Offers a comprehensive overview of the latest techniques used in vertebral augmentation. Features clinically relevant anatomic drawings and radiologic images that provide step-by-step instruction on techniques. Provides clear guidance on the risks and benefits, as well as indications and contraindications, for each procedure.  Covers key topics such as Vertebroplasty/Kyphoplasty: Transpedicular Approach; Balloon Augmentation; Vertebral Augmentation with Osteotome; Vertebral Augmentation Using Expandable Intravertebral Implants; Basivertebral Nerve Ablation; and more.  Includes easy-to-follow, templated content on patient selection, preoperative prep, and post-operative care. Contains full-color line drawings, photographs, and ultrasound images that provide you with a firm grasp of the anatomy and equipment involved with each procedure. Highlights potential pitfalls for each technique and offers clinical pearls on how to avoid them. An eBook version is included with purchase. The eBook allows you to access all of the text, figures and references, with the ability to search, customize your content, make notes and highlights, and have content read aloud.

Video Atlas of Spine Surgery by Howard S. An; Philip K. Louie; Bryce Basques et al, 2020 A high-yield and comprehensive text-and-video resource for managing commonly encountered spinal conditions Spine surgery has experienced several paradigm shifts during the past few decades, with highly complex techniques introduced at an astoundingly rapid pace. In order for new generations of spine surgeons to stay current and thrive in this innovative era of spine surgery, access to diverse multimedia learning tools is imperative. Video Atlas of Spine Surgery by renowned spine surgeon and educator Howard An and Rush University Medical Center colleagues Philip Louie, Bryce Basques, and Gregory Lopez, is a cutting-edge resource for non-operative and operative management of a diverse spectrum of cervical, thoracic, and lumbar spine conditions. Consisting of 19 chapters, the text is streamlined to facilitate learning the most important steps for each procedure. The book begins with discussion of physical exam maneuvers used to accurately diagnose specific spinal pathologies. Subsequent chapters detail extensive spine surgery techniques for managing degenerative cervical and lumbar conditions. The remaining chapters cover spinal cord, cervical, and thoracolumbar injuries; idiopathic, degenerative, and early-onset scoliosis; kyphosis; spondylolisthesis; spinal infections and inflammatory disorders; and thoracic disc disorders. Key Features Concise, bulleted text and consistent chapter outlines feature epidemiology and prevalence, pathogenesis, clinical presentation, image findings, classification, conservative and surgical management, techniques, postoperative care, and more A myriad of meticulous diagrams and illustrations, spinal imaging and photographs, and 50 high-quality spine surgery videos maximize learning Technical pearls, case examples, and board-style orthopaedic surgery questions at the end of each section optimize comprehension and retention of information This remarkable resource is a must-have for orthopaedic and neurosurgery residents and fellows, as well as practicing spine surgeons. This book includes complimentary access to a digital copy on https://medone.thieme.com.