Skip to Main Content
Controversies in Neurological Surgery by
Expand your knowledge of state-of-the-art neurological surgery techniques! This text provides insights into current trends and controversial issues regarding state-of-the-art techniques in neurosurgery, interventional neuroradiology, and endovascular surgery. The authors confront such questions as: Are unruptured aneurysms managed most effectively by neurosurgical clipping or endovascular coiling? Is surgery or endovascular coiling the best treatment for ruptured cerebral aneurysms of the anterior or posterior cerebral circulation? In managing arteriovenous malformations and fistulas, should clinicians use neurointerventional techniques or surgery, or a combination of both? Highlights: More than 240 excellent illustrations, figures, and radiological images reviewing key concepts Detailed coverage of treatments for ischemic diseases, including extracranial and intracranial atherosclerosis Discussion of the organizational issues of integrating subspecialties and training subspecialists This text also offers you the opportunity to earn valuable CME credits online. Neurosurgeons, neuroradiologists, neurologists, vascular surgeons, and specialists will find the book's balanced coverage of critical current issues in neurosurgery an indispensable aid in making informed decisions. (A co-publication of Thieme and the American Association of Neurological Surgeons)
Differential Diagnosis in Neurology and Neurosurgery by
Now in a greatly expanded and updated new edition: The essential pocketbook for rapid and correct differentiation and interpretation of signs and symptoms of neurological and neurosurgical diseases and conditions. Key Features: Exhaustive range of neurologic and neurosurgical disease and conditions covered Vital information presented in short texts, high-yield lists, and concise tables, for maximum efficiency in diagnostic work-ups Clinical and neuroimaging findings, guidelines and classifications, summarized in readily accessible tabular form Statistic overviews (common vs. rare, etc.) help guide diagnostic thought processes Special chapters highlight epidemiology, pediatric disorders, neuroradiology Differential Diagnosis in Neurology and Neurosurgery is ideal as a quick reference in your daily practice, or as an exam preparation guide. This wealth of easily accessed information makes it invaluable to experienced practitioners (especially ER physicians) and to novices alike. This book includes complimentary access to a digital copy on https://medone.thieme.com.
Evidence-Based Neurosurgery by
Evidence-Based Neurosurgery: An Introduction will teach the practitioner to employ evidence-based approaches to common problems in neurosurgery. The book begins with a review of the concepts and techniques involved in the practice of evidence-based medicine, including the basics of critical analysis using methodologically rigorous evidence-synthesis techniques. The second part of the text provides useful examples of the use of this critical analysis for common clinical situations, such as stent placement, managing infection, metastases, craniocerebral trauma, cervical spine trauma, and more.
Handbook of Bleeding and Coagulation for Neurosurgery by
This practical handbook presents the current options and best methods for bleeding prevention and management as well as treatment strategies for deep venous thrombosis (DVT) and pulmonary embolism (PE), all of which are important yet potentially intimidating issues frequently faced by neurosurgeons. The chapters in the book are designed to help readers quickly and easily locate urgently needed information or go directly to a specific topic related to patient care. Key Features: Review of drugs and herbal products that affect coagulation with specific reversal strategies Preoperative and intraoperative methods to prevent and manage blood loss including strategies for blood replacement Recommendations for prophylaxis and treatment of DVT and PE Chapters dealing with the management of nine specific neurosurgical situations including brain tumor, cerebrovascular, trauma, spinal and pediatric with patient examples Comprehensive and conveniently portable, this handbook is essential for both residents and practicing neurosurgeons or ENT physicians who need to master and/or refresh their knowledge of the best approaches for prevention and management of bleeding and DVT in their patients.
Handbook of Spine Surgery by
An updated edition of the most comprehensive guide to spine surgery Handbook of Spine Surgery, Second Edition, is a completely updated and comprehensive reference that distills the basic principles of contemporary spine surgery. Its coverage of both principles and techniques makes it an excellent refresher before surgery or a valuable daily companion for residents and surgeons caring for patients with spinal disorders. Key Features of the Second Edition: New chapters on adult degenerative deformity, pediatric scoliosis and radiographic principles of deformity Expanded spinal trauma section now includes separate chapters on cervical, thoracolumbar, and sacropelvic injuries Common clinical questions (with answers) at the end of each chapter highlight topics frequently encountered in the operating room and on board exams Easy-to-read bulleted format The second edition of this handbook is the go-to guide for all those involved in spine surgery.
Intracranial Arteriovenous Malformations by
Focusing on both the patient’s perspective and the neurosurgeon’s concerns, Intracranial Arteriovenous Malformations: Essentials for Patients and Practitioners, edited by leading experts Drs. Philip E. Stieg, Alexander A. Khalessi, and Michael L. J. Apuzzo, starts with an up-to-date approach to the matter of doctor-patient communication and moves on to the highly technical details of AVM treatment options. The first section covers communication with patients (who may well want to read it themselves); the second section is directed to neurosurgeons and other specialists caring for patients with intracranial AVMs, including those in emergency medicine, obstetrics, anesthesia, and intensive care. It offers a highly sophisticated but readable approach to the contemporary treatment of these challenging lesions.
Intraoperative MRI-Guided Neurosurgery by
The definitive reference on intraoperative MR-guided neurosurgery Comprehensive in scope and packed with practical information, Intraoperative MR-Guided Neurosurgery contains detailed coverage of this state-of-the-art technology from the pioneers who developed it. Renowned neurosurgeons and neuroradiologists combine their collective wisdom and experience to demonstrate how MR-guided neuronavigation can be used to view real-time images of a patient's brain during surgery to help remove tumors with greater precision. The authors provide step-by-step descriptions of how to perform procedures, including advice based on their clinical results. Readers will learn about the advantages and drawbacks of the various MR imaging systems, clinical indications for MR-guidance, anesthesia considerations, safety concerns related to working in a magnetic environment, and much more. Features: In-depth coverage of all MR imaging systems helps readers to make informed choices about which technique will best suit their surgical needs Guidelines on the most appropriate imaging sequences for the resection of different types of brain tumors More than 200 high-quality intraoperative photographs taken during actual procedures to orient readers who want to use MRI in the operating room Tips from the experts on safety issues, suitable magnet designs and field strengths, cost and benefit analysis, room design, equipment, and logistics Discussion of other forms of technology that have been combined with intraoperative MR-guidance, such as focused ultrasound, neurosurgical robotics, and other promising innovations This leading-edge text has everything that neurosurgeons, neuroradiologists, and interventionalists need to know to implement an intraoperative MR-guided neurosurgery program.
Lumbar Interbody Fusions by
Authored by experienced surgeons and key innovators in the fast-moving field of LIF surgery, Lumbar Interbody Fusions provides an in-depth, focused approach to recent advances in surgical techniques and technology. Covering both minimally invasive and open procedures, this comprehensive reference provides step-by-step details for proven techniques, including extreme lateral, oblique lateral, and direct lateral approaches; intertransverse approaches; axial approaches; and endoscopic approaches. Focuses on the technical nuances, pearls and pitfalls of each procedure, as well as complication avoidance and management. Features high-quality radiographs and intraoperative images for superb visual guidance throughout. Covers topics that have as-yet unsettled surgical management, such as thoracolumbar and lumbosacral overlap diseases. Includes a concise review of evidence-based spine literature at the end of each procedural chapter. Features chapters on adjunct instrumentation such as pedicle screw and facet fixation, as well as graft selection and revision surgeries. Provides real-time guidance in video: Open Transforaminal Lumbar Interbody Fusion, MIDLIF Operative Technique, L5-S1 OLIF, Aspen Surgical Technique, and many more. Enhanced eBook version included with purchase. Your enhanced eBook allows you to access all of the text, figures, and references from the book on a variety of devices.
Neuromonitoring Techniques by
Neuromonitoring Techniques: Quick Guide for Clinicians and Residents provides a quick and easy guide to understanding various neuromonitoring equipment. Chapters include intracranial pressure monitoring, EEG-based monitors, evoked potentials and transcranial doppler. This book is written for trainees, clinicians and researchers in the fields of neurosurgery, neurocritical care, neuroradiology, neuroanesthesia and neurology. As specialized neuromonitoring is now routinely done in neurosurgical cases, it provides an important resource for neurologists, neurophysiologists, anesthesiologists and residents who are expected to have theoretical and practical knowledge on different systems. Each monitoring system is discussed separately, with examples, images, reference values and their interpretations.
Neurophysiology in Neurosurgery by
Over the last 18 years, there have been many advances in the field of intraoperative monitoring. This new edition of Neurophysiology in Neurosurgery: A Modern Approach provides updates on the original techniques, as well as other more recent methodologies that may either prove beneficial or are commonly used in neuromonitoring. The purpose of this book is to describe the integration of neuromonitoring with surgical procedures. Each methodology is discussed in detail as well as chapters describing how those methodologies are applied to multiple surgical procedures and the evidence used to support those uses. The second edition features a surgical procedure section, which focuses on specific surgical procedures and the type of monitoring used during these procedures. The original chapters have been updated, expanded, and the structure modified to ensure the book is beneficial to both physiologists and surgeons. This book is written for neurosurgeons, neurophysiologists, neurologists, anesthesiologists, interventional neuroradiologists, orthopedic surgeons, and plastic surgeons.
Neurosurgery Outlines by
Pocket-size, user-friendly roadmap outlines most common surgical procedures in neurosurgery! Surgery requires a combination of knowledge and skill acquired through years of direct observation, mentorship, and practice. The learning curve can be steep, frustrating, and intimidating for many medical students and junior residents. Too often, books and texts that attempt to translate the art of surgery are far too comprehensive for this audience and counterproductive to learning important basic skills to succeed. Neurosurgery Outlines by neurosurgeon Paul E. Kaloostian is the neuro-surgical volume in the Surgical Outlines series of textbooks that offer a simplified roadmap to surgery. This unique resource outlines key steps for common surgeries, laying a solid foundation of basic knowledge from which trainees can easily build and expand. The text serves as a starting point for learning neurosurgical techniques, with room for adding notes, details, and pearls collected during the journey. The chapters are systematically organized and formatted by subspecialty, encompassing spine, radiosurgery, brain tumors and vascular lesions, head trauma, functional neurosurgery, epilepsy, pain, and hydrocephalus. Each chapter includes symptoms and signs, surgical pathology, diagnostic modalities, differential diagnosis, treatment options, indications for surgical intervention, step-by-step procedures, pitfalls, prognosis, and references where applicable. Key Features Provides quick procedural outlines essential for understanding procedures and assisting attending neurosurgeons during rounds Spine procedures organized by cervical, thoracic, lumbar, sacral, and coccyx regions cover traumatic, elective, and tumor/vascular-related interventions Cranial topics include lesion resection for brain tumors and cerebrovascular disease and TBI treatment This is an ideal, easy-to-read resource for medical students and junior residents to utilize during the one-month neurosurgery rotations and for quick consultation during the early years of neurosurgical practice. It will also benefit operating room nurses who need a quick guide on core neurosurgical procedures. This book includes complimentary access to a digital copy on https://medone.thieme.com.
Neurosurgery Tricks of the Trade - Cranial by
A collection of core procedures for the neurosurgeon... 2015 PROSE Award First Prize Winner! Neurosurgery Tricks of the Trade: Cranial presents core surgical procedures in a concise, highly didactic format, enabling surgeons to quickly grasp their essence from the bulleted text and superb illustrations that accompany them. Expert neurosurgeons specializing in the cranial region describe how they perform common procedures and offer surgical tips and pearls. Key Features: Distills a wealth of information in a concise, step-by-step format, making it easy for novice surgeons to review how procedures are performed Includes more than 150 surgical procedures for the cranial region, each accompanied by high-quality, original illustrations Presents topics in either a pathology-based or an approach-based manner Consistently organizes the procedures into the headings Introduction and Background, Operative Detail and Preparation, Outcomes and Postoperative Course, and References, enabling rapid reference Neurosurgeons at all levels, from residents learning procedures to experienced practitioners needing a quick refresher, will find this book, along with its companion volume, Neurosurgery Tricks of the Trade: Spine and Peripheral Nerves, to be invaluable resources throughout their surgical careers.
Neurosurgery Tricks of the Trade: Spine and Peripheral Nerves by
Neurosurgery Tricks of the Trade: Spine and Peripheral Nerves presents core surgical procedures in a concise, highly didactic format, enabling surgeons to quickly grasp their essence from the bulleted text and superb illustrations that accompany them. Expert neurosurgeons specializing in the spine and peripheral nerves describe how they perform common procedures and offer surgical tips and pearls. Key Features: Distills a wealth of information in a concise, step-by-step format, making it easy for neurosurgeons and other spine specialists to review how procedures are performed Includes more than 100 procedures focusing on the spine and peripheral nerves, each accompanied by high-quality, original illustrations Presents all procedures using a consistent outline and covers topics in either a pathology-based or an approach-based manner Surgeons at all levels, from residents learning procedures to experienced practitioners needing a quick refresher, will find this book and its companion volume, Neurosurgery Tricks of the Trade: Cranial, to be invaluable resources throughout their surgical careers. This book has been developed from Thieme eNeurosurgery, the world's most comprehensive neurosurgical resource online. For a free trial, go to: http://thieme.com/eneurotrial
Neurosurgical Diseases by
A structured, evidence-based approach to neurosurgical decision-making for brain pathologies Evidence-based neurosurgery is one of the most important pillars upon which to build decision management pathways. Effective delivery of care involves understanding the natural history of the disease and the evidence behind available treatment options. Neurosurgical Diseases: An Evidence-Based Approach to Guide Practice by esteemed neurosurgeons Leon T. Lai, Cristian Gragnaniello, and expert contributors covers cranial pathologies neurosurgeons commonly encounter in everyday practice. The book combines a structured approach to evidence-based neurosurgery with expert opinions, analysis of up-to-date clinical data, understanding of patient preferences and values, and firsthand experiences to facilitate translation of evidence into clinical practice. Twenty-seven consistently formatted chapters are each dedicated to a different disease state, including brain tumors, cerebrovascular disease, Cushing's disease, traumatic brain injury, trigeminal neuralgia, and normal pressure hydrocephalus. All chapters include an introduction, current statistics and data, natural history of the pathology, selected papers for further reading, procedural options and outcomes, and recommended treatment protocols from the authors. Key Features Key content summarized in reader-friendly bullets, diagrams, tables, and illustrative figures enhances acquisition of knowledge Discussion of new developments including treatment recommendations for primary and metastatic brain tumors Statistical data on cerebral aneurysm treatment outcomes and recommendations for treatment New protocols for treating head trauma, closed head injuries, and spontaneous intracranial hemorrhage This essential resource will help neurosurgical residents and junior neurosurgeons make challenging surgical treatment decisions for complex conditions, clearly and concisely and based on the best evidence. This book includes complimentary access to a digital copy on https://medone.thieme.com.
Neurosurgical Review by
Robust ABNS exam prep and didactic review of the entire spectrum of neurosurgery from A to Z The American Board of Neurological Surgery oral examination has undergone periodic review and revision over the years, with a new format instituted in spring 2017. This review book is specifically geared to the new format. The ABNS oral examination process is relevant, rigorous, and of value to the neurosurgical specialty and the public, ensuring neurosurgeons meet the highest standards of practice. Neurosurgical Review: For Daily Clinical Use and Oral Board Preparation by Vasilios A. Zerris and distinguished contributors is a multimodal and a visually rich prep tool for the ABNS exam. The resource provides a unique approach to studying and melding online didactic materials with audio-enhanced charts. Readers can use the material as a complete online exam prep course with audio, or use the print version as a quick reference guide. Key Features Charts and schematics provide an excellent learning tool and study prep The high yield and easy to memorize format helps readers "visualize" knowledge Audio files enhance the ability to create a mental framework, thereby increasing comprehension and retention of content Cases presented at the end of each chapter focus primarily on core material tested in the general neurosurgery ABNS exam session taken by all candidates irrespective of their declared subspecialty This is an essential textbook for neurosurgical residents, fellows, and practitioners prepping for the ABNS boards. It also serves as a user-friendly refresher of fundamental knowledge all neurosurgeons need to know. This book includes complimentary access to a digital copy on https://medone.thieme.com.
Radiosurgery of the Skull Base: a Case-Based Approach by
This book, Radiosurgery of the Skull Base: A Case-Based Approach , by Agazzi, Berk, and Noureldine, serves as an important reference for all Skull Base Neurosurgeons. Its value rests not just on the technical details it provides on the radiation treatment of complex skull base tumors, but also on the philosophical tenet it espouses – that every patient deserves the benefits of having their surgeon guide them through their radiation decision-making, implementation, and surveillance. When radiosurgery was first added to the neurosurgical armamentarium, the question was binary (operate or radiate) and often contentious between specialists. Now it has morphed into one of the skull base surgeon’s most valuable and versatile tools that can be used to modify the degree of planned surgical resection, prevent or control recurrence, or avoid surgery altogether, all to the benefit of the patient.
As radiosurgery and radiotherapy become part of the overall surgical plan, the Skull Base Surgeon becomes the patient’s guide to choosing the correct modality, designing the dosimetry plan, and managing complications, which, in the case of radiation necrosis, may become a second surgical decision point. Determining the interplay between radiation and surgery requires intimate knowledge of the patient’s place in life, personal goals, reliability for surveillance, and emotional as well as physical tolerance for additional surgery. Designing the dosimetry plan for complex skull base tumors is not simply determined by tables and charts, nor is it an outline of anything that enhances after surgery. The surgeon must factor into the dosimetry plot areas where tumor has been left behind but does not show up on imaging, areas that enhance but represent only inflammation, scarring, or grafting material, and areas where the surgeon predicts the tumor will recur. It requires a qualitative assessment of how surgical trauma to critical neurovascular structures might have altered their radiation tolerance and must take into consideration any disconnect between the cellular characteristics of the tumor and its observed biological behavior. Appropriate and tailored radiation planning must incorporate a deep understanding of the patient’s tolerance for the risk of radiation injury versus the risk of progression or recurrence.
As Skull Base Surgeons incorporate radiation and radiosurgery into their surgical plan and guide the patient through both decision-making and implementation, the consequences of those decisions will also accrue to the surgeons. They should study both the science and the art of radiation and radiosurgery. Like a fireman running towards a burning building and not away from it, do not run away from your patients when the time for radiation arrives, but run towards the burning building. This book is a good place to start that journey.
Revision Lumbar Spine Surgery by
Offering in-depth coverage of an often-neglected topic, Revision Lumbar Spine Surgery identifies clinical problems and discusses recent major advances in this challenging area. Dr. Robert F. Heary and a team of international experts share their knowledge and experience with even the most difficult lumbar cases, helping you provide optimal outcomes for your patients. You'll find authoritative guidance on indications, diagnosis, approaches, and follow-up, with a focus on the significant advances that have occurred over the past two decades in this fast-changing field. Identifies the clinical problems related to unsuccessful back spine surgery as well as indications, diagnosis, and new treatment options and advances in this complex area. Provides in-depth information on the multiple options that exist for most clinical situations: anterior, posterior, lateral, and combined anterior and posterior approaches. Covers methods of fixation, the use of interbody grafting, and surgical planning related to scar tissues, bleeding, and spinal fluid leaks. Discusses critical follow-up topics such as key clinical procedures, radiography, patient reported outcomes, and pain management. Includes timely chapters on robotics, bone density issues, medical fitness concerns, instrumentation options, imaging considerations, and much more. Enhanced eBook version included with purchase. Your enhanced eBook allows you to access all of the text, figures, and references from the book on a variety of devices.
Rothman-Simeone and Herkowitz's the Spine by
Get comprehensive, practical coverage of both surgical and non-surgical treatment approaches from the world's most trusted authorities in spine surgery and care. Rothman-Simeone and Herkowitz's The Spine, 7th Edition, edited by Drs. Steven R. Garfin, Frank J. Eismont, Gordon R. Bell, Jeffrey S. Fischgrund, and Christopher M. Bono, presents state-of-the-art techniques in both text and video formats, helping you apply today's newest developments in your practice. Highlights critical information through the use of pearls, pitfalls, and key points throughout the text, as well as more than 2,300 full-color photographs and illustrations. Offers a newly revised, streamlined format that makes it easier than ever to find the information you need. Contains new chapters on the clinical relevance of finite element modeling and SI joint surgery. Includes an expanded section on minimally invasive spine surgery, including recent developments and future directions. Provides the latest evidence-based research from high-quality studies, including new randomized controlled trials for lumbar stenosis, surgery, fusion, and injections. Presents the knowledge and expertise of new international contributors, as well as new editorial leadership from Dr. Steven Garfin. Expert ConsultT eBook version included with purchase. This enhanced eBook experience allows you to search all of the text, figures, and references from the book on a variety of devices.
Surgery of the Brainstem by
The ultimate guide to navigating and treating brainstem pathologies from master neurosurgeon Robert Spetzler The brainstem is one of the last bastions of surgical prohibition because of its densely packed ascending and descending tracts and nuclei carrying information to and from the brain. Although 10% of all pediatric tumors and 5% of all vascular anomalies occur in the brainstem, neurosurgeons have traditionally resisted dissecting lesions in this area. Recent advances in imaging, microscopy, anesthesia, and operative techniques have expanded the treatment paradigm for this most eloquent region of the brain. Surgery of the Brainstem, by internationally renowned neurosurgeons Robert F. Spetzler, M. Yashar S. Kalani, and Michael T. Lawton, along with an impressive cadre of global experts, is a comprehensive guide to managing disorders of the brainstem, thalamic region, and basal ganglia. Organized in seven sections with 33 chapters, the text opens with four sections covering a variety of topics. Section I presents the history of brainstem surgery; Section II examines anatomy, development, and pathology; Section III reviews patient examination, imaging, and monitoring; and Section IV provides a succinct overview of surgical approaches. Sections V-VII cover a wide range of adult and pediatric tumors, ischemia, stroke, aneurysms, arteriovenous malformations, and cerebral cavernous malformations. More than 300 high-quality clinical images and medical illustrations enhance the text. Key Highlights A full spectrum of treatment modalities and outcomes, including open surgery, endoscopic approaches, stereotactic radiosurgery, radiotherapy, endovascular techniques, and revascularization An anatomy chapter featuring stunning Rhoton-style anatomical dissections delineates critical landmarks in the brainstem, thalamus, pineal region, and cranial nerves Detailed discussion of patient positioning and exposure of various brainstem domains Pearls on overcoming psychological, pathological, and anatomical barriers and managing complications Understanding the basic anatomy, pathology, and clinical complexities of the brainstem and thalamic regions is essential for safe navigation and treatment. This remarkable book will provide neurosurgeons with additional insights on performing resections and achieving the best possible outcomes for patients with pathologic conditions in this delicate region. This book includes complimentary access to a digital copy on https://medone.thieme.com