Point of Care
- AskMayoExpert This link opens in a new window AskMayoExpert captures Mayo-vetted expert knowledge and delivers it at the point of care. This application is aimed at becoming a highly credible knowledge source for the non-specialist and a tool to facilitate interaction between Mayo clinicians.
- Mayo Formulary This link opens in a new window List of drugs approved for use at Mayo Clinic based upon safety, efficacy, and financial impact.
- Mayo Clinic Guide to Antimicrobial Therapy Quick Guide We designed this electronic handbook to serve as a simplified, quick reference guide for the busy day-to-day office and hospital clinical practice. This guide provides updated information about antimicrobial agents and select infectious disease syndromes in a format that is readily accessible and easily applicable to the clinical environment.
- AJCC Cancer Staging System - Version 9 (2024) The American Joint Committee on Cancer (AJCC) made an important change to how it updates and releases Cancer Staging content. The AJCC shifted from a Cancer Staging Manual to a Cancer Staging System and moved away from Editions to Versions. Updated Version 9 disease sites go into effect on January 1 following their release. AJCC Protocol for Cancer Staging Documentation, Version 9 The new AJCC Protocol Version 9 content is presented in a streamlined, easy-to-use format including synoptic staging report format, tables, explanatory notes, and illustrations. All disease sites in the 8th Edition Cancer Staging Manual remain current until replaced with Version 9. This manual was prepared and published through the support of the American College of Surgeons, the American Cancer Society, the American Society of Clinical Oncology, the College of American Pathologists, and the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention This work is subject to copyright. All rights are reserved by the ACS, whether the whole or the part of the material is concerned, specifically the rights of translation, reprinting, reuse of illustrations, recitations, broadcasting, reproduction on any physical or digital media, transmission or storage and retrieval, electronic adaptation, computer software, or by any similar or dissimilar technology known now or in the future. The use of general descriptive names, registered names, trademarks, service marks, etc. in this content does not imply, even in the absence of a specific statement, that such names are exempt from the relevant protective laws and regulations and therefore free for general use. ACS and the authors of this content are safe to assume that the advice and information in this content are believed to be true and accurate at the date of publication. Neither the ACS nor any authors or editors give a warranty, expressed or implied, with respect to the material contained herein or for any errors or omissions that may have been made. AJCC Cancer Staging Manual – 8th Ed. (2017) Users who require access to the original AJCC Cancer Staging Manual – 8th Ed. (2017) may view it here. The 8th edition manual is provided in its entirety as a reference and should not be used in developing new treatment plans. All current staging protocols are provided within the Version 9 AJCC Cancer Staging System.
- Clinical Overviews Neurosurgery | ClinicalKey Comprehensive Clinical Topic Summaries
- MedOne Neurosurgery This link opens in a new window Provides access to a suite of Neurosurgery resources published by Thieme including E-books, journals, procedures, cases, images, and video files.
- Neurosurgical Atlas This link opens in a new window A comprehensive collection of neurosurgical techniques that includes book chapters, case videos, interactive neuroanatomical images, and more.
- AccessAnesthesiology This link opens in a new window Anesthesiology reference tool including online textbooks, procedural videos, practice guidelines, and self-assessment examinations.
- AccessEmergencyMedicine This link opens in a new window Collection of books, case files, study tools, and procedure videos with an emergency medicine focus.
- AccessSurgery This link opens in a new window Contains surgery textbooks, case studies, board reviews, images and procedure videos.
- ClinicalKey This link opens in a new window Clinical medicine resource which includes thousands of Elsevier electronic books and journals, practice guidelines, videos of procedures, images, and more. Login required to view PDF chapters of books. Registration in upper right corner of website.
- UpToDate This link opens in a new window UpToDate, an electronic clinical resource tool for physicians and patients that provides information on Adult Primary Care and Internal Medicine, Allergy and Immunology, and more …
Calculators
- GuidelineCentralNeurological Surgery
- ClinicalKey Interactive tools to support treatment, diagnosis, and screening
- GuidelineCentral Over 100 free commonly used clinical formulas and calculator tools to help diagnose, treat, prevent, and determine prognosis of patients at point of care.
Guidelines
- ClinicalKeyNeurosurgery
- GuidelineCentralNeurological Surgery
- ClinicalKey Latest clinical guidelines from leading organizations
- GuidelineCentral Access to thousands of clinical practice guidelines for medical professionals.
eBooks
Comparative Management of Spine Pathology by
Unique in the field, Comparative Management of Spine Pathology presents commonly encountered spinal cases with side-by-side, case-by-case comparisons that clearly show how various experts would handle the same case. This second volume in the Neurosurgery: Case Management Comparison Series offers multiple opinions from international experts in both neurosurgery and orthopaedics, each of whom explains their preferred approach and management style for the same case. This format allows for quick and helpful comparisons of different ways to approach a lesion, advantages and disadvantages of each approach, and what each expert is looking for in how they would manage a particular case. Offers 4 expert opinions on each case in a templated format designed to help you quickly make side-by-side comparisons-an ideal learning tool for both trainee and practicing neurosurgeons and orthopaedic surgeons for board review and case preparation. Helps you easily grasp different approaches to spine management with different expert approaches to the same case and summaries from the editors on the advantages and disadvantages to each approach. Features a wide variety of management decisions, from preoperative studies to surgical approach, surgical adjuncts, and postoperative care, from experts in the field who specialize in different aspects of spine surgery. Presents 70 cases in the areas of degenerative spine, traumatic spine, spinal deformity, spinal oncology, and miscellaneous topics such as epidural abscess, osteomyelitis, and post-instrumentation infection. Enhanced eBook version included with purchase. Your enhanced eBook allows you to access all of the text and figures from the book on a variety of devices.
Complications in Neurosurgery by
Learn from key leaders in the field of neurosurgery with the practical guidance presented in this first-of-its-kind resource. Complications in Neurosurgery uses a case-based format to explore complications across the full range of commonly performed neurosurgical procedures. As you review dozens of up-to-date, real-life cases, you'll become better equipped to identify pitfalls ahead of time and have the knowledge to handle difficult situations that arise during surgery. Presents commonly encountered cases provided by experienced neurosurgeons in all areas of this challenging specialty. Includes high-quality photographs, images, and dynamic video to ensure complete visual understanding of the procedures. Uses a consistent, easy-to-read format throughout, covering a wide range of surgeries including general neurosurgery and cranial complications, as well as spinal and peripheral complications. Numerous videos depict possible complications for each type of surgery; for example, Complications of Cerebral Bypass Surgery includes videos showing how to obtain venous hemostasis without risking injury to the STA, how to manage atheroma within the donor vessel, and how to manage intraoperative occlusion of the bypass. Enhanced eBook version included with purchase. Your enhanced eBook allows you to access all of the text, figures, and references from the book on a variety of devices
Controversies in Neurosurgery II by
Controversies in Neurosurgery II reflects real-world situations where multiple treatment options are often considered for difficult neurosurgical cases. Each chapter begins with an opening case in which experts describe the pros and cons of different treatment methodologies and operative techniques, helping neurosurgeons select the best treatment plan for individual patients in their practice. It is informed with the expertise of more than 100 of the world's preeminent neurosurgeons. Key features: Experts from all over the world offer their opinions on more than 20 controversial "hot" topics in neurosurgery, including a discussion about whether transcranial or endoscopic approaches are the better option for resecting colloid cysts and a lively debate about the optimal treatment of giant ophthalmic artery aneurysms All treatment options are presented concisely in one volume, so that neurosurgeons don't have to spend time consulting other sources The moderators' conclusion at the end of each chapter explains the scientific evidence about the case and synthesizes the views presented Controversies in Neurosurgery II will be treasured by neurosurgeons and neurosurgery residents as well as by neurologists and neuroradiologists and will be a key volume in their medical libraries for years to come.
Controversies in Skull Base Surgery by
State-of-the-art approaches and insightful discussions on challenging topics in skull base surgery Advances in endoscopic, microsurgical, radiosurgical, and pharmacotherapeutic strategies have revolutionized the treatment of skull base pathologies. Controversies in Skull Base Surgery, edited by Andrew Little and Michael Mooney and authored by esteemed multidisciplinary contributors, focuses on management strategies and treatment options for a wide range of tumors affecting the skull base, while addressing the most urgent and challenging questions facing skull base surgeons today. Throughout nine sections and 46 chapters, experts describe the treatment of neoplasms such as vestibular schwannoma, meningioma, pituitary adenoma, craniopharyngioma, chordoma, cranial nerve schwannoma, sinonasal malignancies, and others. In many chapters, authors provide instructional case studies and suggestions for future studies to help clarify areas of controversy. This textbook is unique in that it tackles problems typically minimized or ignored by other texts that impact a patient's quality of life and recovery. Key Highlights Reader-friendly tables feature concise summaries, author pearls, and levels of available evidence Pearls and insights on hotly debated issues such as the role of radiosurgery, surgery vs. medical management, radical resection vs. subtotal resection, and proton-beam vs. photon therapy for various pathologic conditions Controversies not frequently discussed in depth, including the use of lumbar drains, postoperative antibiotics, and cerebral revascularization in skull base surgery; multidisciplinary collaboration in endoscopic endonasal surgery; skull base reconstruction techniques; and the future of robotics in skull base surgery This stellar resource will benefit all residents and advanced practice providers who evaluate and treat patients with sk
Functional Neurosurgery by
Functional neurosurgery resource features state-of-the-art approaches from renowned experts! For patients with inadequately treated epilepsy, tremor, dystonia, spasticity, depression, obsessive-compulsive disorder, Parkinson's and Alzheimer's disease, functional neurosurgery offers hope. Functional Neurosurgery: The Essentials is a reader-friendly introduction to this fascinating and rapidly evolving field. The text is edited by internationally prominent functional neurosurgeons Jeffrey A. Brown, Julie G. Pilitsis, and Michael Schulder. It features contributions from authors with expertise spanning the disciplines of neurosurgery, neurology, rehabilitation and physical medicine, neurophysiology, bioengineering, psychiatry and ophthalmology. Opening with a brief history of stereotaxy/functional neurosurgery and brain stereotactic frames, 41 concise and coherent chapters explore cutting-edge approaches to a broad range of functionally treatable conditions. The chapters yield a solid foundation of understanding of the field, with insightful commentary, pearls, and nuances from the editors. The starting question in the neuroprosthetics chapter, "Can a computer infer human intention or perception?" brings to life the exciting, inquisitive, and pioneering spirit of this subspecialty. The robust reference list provides a guide to deeper study that should continue throughout training and practice. Highlights Imaging: MRI and CT for stereotactic neurosurgery, fMRI and resting state MRI Movement disorders: A comparative analysis of the risks and benefits of deep brain stimulation versus lesioning Epilepsy: Temporal lobectomy and extra-temporal surgery; invasive monitoring, neuromodulation, laser interstitial thermal therapy, and vagus nerve stimulation Dystonia: Etiology to diagnosis, medical and surgical options Future innovations: Exoskeletons, intention controlled, and visual neuroprosthetics The text is a fundamental resource for neurosurgical residents during their functional neurosurgery rotations and for general neurosurgeons and functional subspecialists on procedures they may not routinely perform in clinical practice. This book includes complimentary access to a digital copy on https://medone.thieme.com.
Fundamentals of Operative Techniques in Neurosurgery by
Operative neurosurgery made concise, practical, and portable Thieme congratulates Tanvir F. Choudhri on being chosen by New York magazine for its prestigious 'Best Doctors 2014' list. The only portable handbook on operative techniques in neurosurgery, this step-by-step guide offers unparalleled coverage of every major operative procedure seen in daily practice. Concise chapters hold key clinical information on indications, preoperative planning, intraoperative technique, postoperative care, and complications, with insights and advice from renowned experts representing every main specialty in the field. Features: Detailed coverage of all common neurosurgery procedures Over 40 new chapters featuring the latest information on intradural nerve sheath tumors, ulnar nerve submuscular transposition, lambdoid synostosis, radiosurgery for skull base lesions, and much more Succinct bullet-point format for quick and easy reference Management pearls at the end of every chapter highlight and expand on each procedure Nearly 200 new drawings emphasize key surgical steps A reliable companion to Greenberg's Handbook, the second edition of Fundamentals of Operative Techniques in Neurosurgery is a must-have resource for those in training or for anyone who provides mentorship or support in the field of neurosurgery. Errata: The first printing of Fundamentals of Operative Techniques in Neurosurgery, Second Edition contained an incorrect version of Chapter 102, Posterior Cervical Arthrodesis. To verify which printing of the book you have, please refer to bottom of the copyright page; if you see the notation "Printed in Canada" above the book ISBN, you have the first printing of the book and should reference the corrected chapter.
Neurosurgery Fundamentals by
The quintessential guide providing a one-stop roadmap to a neurosurgical career! Neurological surgery is a complex, highly selective specialty. For medical students and residents, navigating a huge array of neurosurgical information can be overwhelming. Neurosurgery Fundamentals by Nitin Agarwal is a portable reference enabling swift assimilation of neurosurgical care essentials. The book starts with a roadmap to a career in neurosurgery. It concludes with Advice from the Masters, featuring invaluable resources and insights from prominent neurosurgeons. Comprehensive technical overviews are provided on the neurological exam, neuroanatomy, neuroradiology, neurocritical care, traumatic brain and spinal cord injury, degenerative and deformity spine, neurovascular surgery, neurosurgical oncology, pediatric neurosurgery, functional neurosurgery, stereotactic radiosurgery, neurological infectious diseases, and interdisciplinary care. Socioeconomic topics include training, licensure, credentialing, and advocacy. Key Features Fundamental diseases, tests, and operative approaches are summarized. Top Hits feature the most salient questions, aiding in retention of knowledge. High-yield resources are highlighted to augment reader identification. Neurosurgical Pearls offer advice from the masters relevant to each chapter. High-quality illustrations, photographs, and radiographs enrich understanding. Aspiring neurosurgical providers will benefit from the easy-to-digest wealth of information in this concise, yet comprehensive guide. This book includes complimentary access to a digital copy on https://medone.thieme.com.
Neurosurgical Emergencies by
A state-of-the-art reference on the management and treatment of neurosurgical emergencies The third edition of this acclaimed book covers frequently encountered neurosurgical emergencies, with contributions from renowned experts in their respective subspecialties. Clinical insights and easy-to-follow protocols are presented for emergencies associated with disease, infection, and trauma - and complications such as status epilepticus and acute shunt malfunction. Injury classification, evaluation, clinical presentation, imaging, surgical indications, approaches, and prognosis are presented for each condition. Concise, evidence-based descriptions enable readers to rapidly gain a solid understanding of the pathogenesis of each problem. The authors retained the scope and content of previous editions and added six new chapters that reflect recent advances. These include novel invasive brain monitoring techniques and their relevance to clinical practice, emergency surgery for stroke, emergency endovascular stroke treatment, cerebral venous thrombosis, consideration of cervical stenosis as an emergency, and emergent presentation and management of spinal dural arteriovenous fistulas and vascular lesions. Key Features Updated from black and white to full-color illustrations Current guidelines for managing a full spectrum of intracranial, spinal, and peripheral nerve emergencies - from assessment of acute loss of consciousness - to pituitary apoplexy, cerebral herniation, and penetrating spine and peripheral nerve injuries Neurosurgical emergencies in pediatric patients including spinal cord injury and perinatal management of myelomeningocele Treatment and management of spontaneous intracerebral, subarachnoid, and intraspinal hemorrhages Recognition and management of intrathecal baclofen and narcotic withdrawal This stellar resource is a must-have for practicing neurosurgeons and emergency medicine specialists. It will also greatly benefit residents and fellows in these fields of medicine.
Quality and Safety in Neurosurgery by
Quality and Safety in Neurosurgery covers recent improvements and presents solutions for problems that impact patient care. This book is written for anyone who works at the intersection of quality, safety and neurosurgery, including neurosurgeons, neurologists, clinical researchers looking to improve outcomes in neurosurgery, hospital quality and safety officers, department leaders, fellows and residents. Edited by neurosurgeons who helped build the culture of quality and safety in the Department of Neurosurgery at UMN, this work emphasizes quality and safety, whether through 'value based purchasing', finding specialty specific quality and safety metrics, or just the professional desire to provide quality care.
Robotic and Navigated Spine Surgery by
As the benefits of surgical robotic systems in spine surgery become more widely known, spine procedures that utilize these technologies are expected to greatly increase over the next decade. Robotic and Navigated Spine Surgery: Surgical Techniques and Advancements provides up-to-date, authoritative clinical guidance in this dynamic area for surgeons who are already using these innovative methods, as well as for those exploring the field. In a single, convenient source, this title comprehensively summarizes clinical studies, advancements, and expert recommendations regarding today's robotic and navigated spine surgery. Covers the recent advancements and impact that popular neuronavigation devices and surgical robots have had on the surgical management of the spine, including clinical studies, technical guides, review papers, and expert recommendations. Discusses devices that today's surgeons are most likely to use, such as navigation devices, robotics, augmented reality, and virtual reality systems. Includes focused content on complex spine surgeries, where navigation and robotic devices can have the most significant impact. Features procedural images including radiographs, surgical photos, and equipment photos for visual guidance. Contains chapters on navigation in occipital and cervical spine surgery, spinal trauma and navigation, navigated and robotic-assisted deformity correction, cost-effectiveness of robotic and navigation systems, virtual reality and augmented reality in spine surgery, and more. Enhanced eBook version included with purchase. Your enhanced eBook allows you to access all of the text, figures, and references from the book on a variety of devices.
Surgery of the Thoracic Spine: Principles and Techniques by
The definitive guide to thoracic spine pathologies and state-of-the-art surgical approaches Surgery of the Thoracic Spine: Principles and Techniques by renowned spine surgeons Ali Baaj, Kumar Kakarla, and Han Jo Kim fills a gap in the literature, with content focused solely on pathologies and surgical techniques of the thoracic spine and vertebral column. Starting with a thoughtful discussion on the uniqueness of the thoracic region as it relates to pulmonary function, the richly illustrated textbook covers a full spectrum of topics from biomechanics and anesthetic considerations to neuromonitoring and neuronavigation. With contributions from a cadre of distinguished experts, the book encompasses pathophysiology, surgical techniques, and reconstructive strategies for common degenerative, congenital, oncologic, and traumatic diseases of the thoracic spine. Dedicated chapters cover treatment options for different types of scoliosis, Scheuermann kyphosis, proximal junctional deformity, and posttraumatic deformity. Key Features Treatment of common degenerative conditions including stenosis and disc herniations Management of less common inflammatory and infectious spinal diseases such as spondylarthropathies, osteomyelitis, discitis, and fungal and tubercular infections Oncologic topics including primary, intradural extramedullary, and intramedullary spinal cord tumors and thoracic spine metastases Surgical treatment of pediatric and adult deformities including congenital, idiopathic, and degenerative scoliosis Classification of thoracic spinal fractures, discussion of complete and incomplete thoracic spinal cord injuries, posterior and ventral treatment of thoracic spine fractures, and osteoporotic compression fractures This is an invaluable evaluation and management tool for neurosurgical and orthopaedic residents and practicing spine surg
Core eBooks
Schmidek and Sweet: Operative Neurosurgical Techniques by
Schmidek and Sweethas been an indispensable reference for neurosurgery training and practice for nearly 50 years, and the 7th Edition of Operative Neurosurgical Techniques continues this tradition of excellence. A new editorial board led by editor-in-chief Dr. Alfredo Quinones-Hinojosa, along with more than 330 internationally acclaimed contributors, ensures that readers stay fully up to date with rapid changes in the field.New chapters, surgical videos, and quick-reference features throughout make this edition a must-have resource for expert procedural guidance for today's practitioners. Discusses indications, operative techniques, complications, and results for nearly every routine and specialized procedure for brain, spinal, and peripheral nerve problems in adult patients. Covers the latest techniques and knowledge in deep brain stimulation for epilepsy, movement disorders, dystonia, and psychiatric disorders; surgical management of blast injuries; invasive electrophysiology in functional neurosurgery; and interventional management of cerebral aneurysms and arterio-venous malformations. Includes n
ew chapters on bypass techniques in vascular disease, previously coiled aneurysms, CSF diversion procedures, surgical management of posterior fossa cystic and membranous obstruction, laser-ablation techniques, and brain stem tumors. Explores hot topics such as wide-awake surgery and ventriculo-peritoneal, ventriculoatrial and ventriculo-pleural shunts. Provides detailed visual guidance ;with more than 1,600 full-color illustrations and 50 procedural videos. Contains quick-reference boxes with surgical pearls and complications. Enhanced eBook version included with purchase. Your enhanced eBook allows you to access all of the text, figures, and references from the book on a variety of devices.
Youmans and Winn Neurological Surgery, 8th ed. by
Widely regarded as the definitive reference in the field, Youmans and Winn Neurological Surgery offers unparalleled, multimedia coverage of the entirety of this complex specialty. Fully updated to reflect recent advances in the basic and clinical neurosciences, the 8th Edition covers everything you need to know about functional and restorative neurosurgery, deep brain stimulation, stem cell biology, radiological and nuclear imaging, and neuro-oncology, as well as minimally invasive surgeries in spine and peripheral nerve surgery, and endoscopic and other approaches for cranial procedures and cerebrovascular diseases. In four comprehensive volumes, Dr. H. Richard Winn and his expert team of editors and authors provide updated content, a significantly expanded video library, and hundreds of new video lectures that help you master new procedures, new technologies, and essential anatomic knowledge in neurosurgery. Discusses current topics such as diffusion tensor imaging, brain and spine robotic surgery, augmented reality as an aid in neurosurgery, AI and big data in neurosurgery, and neuroimaging in stereotactic functional neurosurgery. 55 new chapters provide cutting-edge information on Surgical Anatomy of the Spine, Precision Medicine in Neurosurgery, The Geriatric Patient, Neuroanesthesia During Pregnancy, Laser Interstitial Thermal Therapy for Epilepsy, Fetal Surgery for Myelomeningocele, Rehabilitation of Acute Spinal Cord Injury, Surgical Considerations for Patients with Polytrauma, Endovascular Approaches to Intracranial Aneurysms, and much more. Hundreds of all-new video lectures clarify key concepts in techniques, cases, and surgical management and evaluation. Notable lecture videos include multiple videos on Thalamotomy for Focal Hand Dystonia and a video to accompany a new chapter on the Basic Science of Brain Metastases. An extensive video library contains stunning anatomy videos and videos demonstrating intraoperative procedures with more than 800 videos in all. Each clinical section contains chapters on technology specific to a clinical area. Each section contains a chapter providing an overview from experienced Section Editors, including a report on ongoing controversies within that subspecialty. Enhanced eBook version included with purchase. Your enhanced eBook allows you to access all of the text, figures, and references from the book on a variety of devices.
Greenberg's Handbook of Neurosurgery by
The fundamental, one-stop global resource for neurosurgical practice in updated 10th edition Unlike traditional medical textbooks, the origins of the now legendary Handbook of Neurosurgery by Mark Greenberg took root in the late 1980's in the notes the author kept while taking care of his patients, from his weekly grand rounds presentations, and in the literature he read. Now in its 10th edition, the book that is often referred to as the "bible for neurosurgeons" has grown organically over the years to include more topics of importance to those who provide healthcare to patients with neurologic ailments, and to reflect advances in the understanding and management of the underlying conditions and diseases. Throughout 23 sections and 116 chapters, the generously illustrated text covers information ranging from pediatrics to geriatrics. The comprehensive, conveniently compact book provides detailed, high-value, and actionable information that can be quickly accessed to enhance patient management, thereby eliminating the need to wade through superfluous material. It is also a perfect study companion for board examination and preparation for the maintenance of certification. Key Features Updated classification and diagnostic criteria of central and peripheral nervous system tumors, based on the most recent WHO classifications Reworking of numerous sections, including current concepts in pseudotumor cerebri, seizure classification, and more Addition of new chapters, including idiopathic scoliosis, LOVA, and tuberculosis of the CNS Current principles of nonsurgical and surgical management, including risk factors, indications, diagnostics, prognoses, contraindications, and differential diagnoses Nearly 500 figures, including new summary flow charts, illustrations, and simplified diagrams for early learners, enhance understanding of material discussed in the text As in prior editions, thousands of references for further study This unique book encompasses a wide breadth of neurosurgical topics in an easy digestible format, making it an indispensable daily reference for all neurosurgical residents, fellows, neurosurgeons, and allied health practitioners. This print book includes complimentary access to a digital copy on https://medone.thieme.com. Publisher's Note: Products purchased from Third Party sellers are not guaranteed by the publisher for quality, authenticity, or access to any online entitlements included with the product.
Benzel's Spine Surgery, 5th ed. by
Written and edited by world-renowned experts in the Benzel's Spine Surgery: Techniques, Complication Avoidance and Management, 5th Edition, provides expert, step-by-step guidance on the evaluation and management of disorders of the spine. This definitive, two-volume work explores the full spectrum of techniques used in spine surgery, giving you the tools, you need to hone your skills and increase your knowledge in this challenging area. Clearly organized and extensively revised throughout, it features contributions from both neurosurgeons and orthopaedic surgeons to present a truly comprehensive approach to spine disease. Offers a thorough overview of the effective management of patients with spinal disorders, including fundamental principles, biomechanics, applied anatomy, instrumentation, pathophysiology of spinal disorders, surgical techniques, motion preservation strategies, non-surgical management, and complication avoidance and management, as well as controversies. Focuses on both pathophysiology and surgical treatment of spine disease, with an increased emphasis on minimally invasive surgery. Contains new features such as key points boxes at the beginning of chapters and algorithms to help streamline the decision making process. Covers today's hot topics in spine surgery, such as health economics, artificial intelligence, predictive analytics, new less invasive techniques including endoscopic spine surgery, and the future of spine surgery. Provides expert coverage of key topics including biomechanics of motion preservation techniques, spinal injuries in sports, biologics in spine fusion surgery, anterior sub-axial cervical fixation and fusion techniques, complex lumbosacropelvic fixation techniques, and many more.; Features more than 1,500 high-quality illustrations, as well as new procedural videos;bloc spondylectomy, minimally invasive endoscopic posterior cervical foraminotomy, cervical total disc replacement, minimally invasive lumbar decompression of stenosis, and more. Enhanced eBook version included with purchase.Your enhanced eBook allows you to access all of the text, figures, and references from the book on a variety of devices;
The Neurosurgical Consult Book by
Written by neurosurgery residents for neurosurgery residents and other providers, The Neurosurgical Consult Book focuses on the initial care and treatment of the neurosurgical consult patient, providing the key guidance you need when quick clinical management decisions are critical. You will learn to recognize the acuity of patient presentation and determine how to immediately triage the needs of the patient at an appropriate level of care. This portable, practical guide helps you quickly steer neurosurgical patients to medical stability and safety until a definitive treatment plan is implemented. Features a real-life approach, based on actual consults, with chapters titled by the symptoms and clinical presentation of the patient, not by neurosurgical diagnosis. Begins each chapter with the actual consult notification from the consulting team, mimicking how the neurosurgery provider is notified about a new patient in practice. Presents initial imaging as it occurs in real life-whether imaging has already been done or whether the consulting physician needs guidance on what imaging is needed. Includes "Walking Thoughts", guidance on how to tailor your thoughts toward the most important and pressing issues facing the patients before even meeting them, so that upon evaluation, the most important questions are asked first. Covers the most essential neurosurgical grading scales, key physical exam findings, the systematic thought process behind triage management, and learning points to remember when seeing a particular type of neurosurgical patient. Summarizes evidence-based standards of care and key literature. Stepwise video demonstration of the most common emergent bedside procedures. An excellent learning tool for neurosurgery residents as well as neurosurgery fellows, neurology residents, emergency room providers, neurocritical care providers, registered nurses, clinical fellows, physician assistants, nurse practitioners, clinical nurse specialists, medical students, and nursing students. Enhanced eBook version included with purchase. Your enhanced eBook allows you to access all of the text, figures, videos, and references from the book on a variety of devices.
Core Techniques in Operative Neurosurgery by
Get step-by-step, expert guidance on fundamental procedures in neurosurgery - both in print and on video. Core Techniques in Operative Neurosurgery, 2nd Edition, provides the tools needed to hone existing surgical skills and learn new techniques, helping you minimize risk and achieve optimal outcomes for every procedure. Led by Dr. Rahul Jandial, this concise reference offers quick access to the expertise and experience of the world's leading authorities in the field of neurosurgery. Presents consistent, easy-to-follow chapters that cover the indications and contraindications, pitfalls, tips and tricks from the experts, and more for each procedure. Covers minimally invasive spine techniques such as Thoracic Corpectomy and Minimally Invasive Direct Lateral Transpsoas Interbody Fusion. Includes new chapters on Microvascular Decompression and Brachial Plexus Injury Nerve Grafting and Transfers. Features procedural videos that summarize the key steps in neurosurgery. Expert ConsultT eBook version included with purchase. This enhanced eBook experience allows you to search all of the text, figures, and references from the book on a variety of devices.
Principles of Neurological Surgery by
Perfect for anyone considering or training in this challenging specialty, Principles of Neurological Surgery, 4th Edition, by Drs. Richard G. Ellenbogen, Laligam N. Sekhar, and Neil Kitchen, provides a clear, superbly illustrated introduction to all aspects of neurosurgery-from general principles to specific techniques. Thorough updates from leading authors ensure that you'll stay abreast of the latest advances in every area of neurosurgery, including pre- and post-operative patient care, neuroradiology, pediatric neurosurgery, neurovascular surgery, trauma surgery, spine surgery, oncology, pituitary adenomas, cranial base neurosurgery, image-guided neurosurgery, treatment of pain, epilepsy surgery, and much more. Offers comprehensive coverage without being encyclopedic - just the right amount of information for those in training or who need an introduction to the field. Provides a strong visual understanding of the essentials of neurosurgery with abundant high-quality illustrations, including imaging, pathology, clinical and operative photographs, surgical line drawings, diagrams, tables, and figures. Presents information in an easy-to-understand, well-written manner, helping you quickly grasp the principles and problems of today's neurosurgery. Features new and improved videos, more emphasis on anatomy and radiology, and new evidence and techniques, keeping you up to date with the latest advances in the field. Expert ConsultT eBook version included with purchase. This enhanced eBook experience allows you to search all of the text, figures, and references from the book on a variety of devices.
Education
- Neurosurgical AtlasCases - Each video or chapter in the ATLAS describes the unspoken secrets for safe and efficient performance of complex brain operations.
- Neurosurgical AtlasGrand Rounds - Each video or chapter in the ATLAS describes the unspoken secrets for safe and efficient performance of complex brain operations.
Brain Injury Medicine: Board Review by
The only review book currently available in this complex field, Brain Injury Medicine: Board Review focuses on the prevention, diagnosis, treatment, and management of individuals with varying severity levels of brain injury. Focused, high-yield content prepares you for success on exams and in practice, with up-to-date coverage of traumatic brain injury (TBI), stroke, CNS neoplasms, anoxic brain injury, and other brain disorders. This unique review tool is ideal for residents, fellows, and practitioners studying or working in the field and preparing to take the brain injury medicine exam.
Supports self-assessment and review with 200 board-style questions and explanations.
ISBN: 9780323779449
The Comprehensive Neurosurgery Board Preparation Book by
The Comprehensive Neurosurgery Board Preparation Book: Illustrated Questions and Answers Board certification by the American Board of Neurological Surgery is considered the gold standard for neurosurgeons practicing in the U.S. The ABNS primary examination requires many months of preparation, and passing it is both a significant accomplishment and integral component in becoming board certified. Contributions from current neurosurgical residents and seasoned practitioners infuse this book with a well-rounded perspective. Having been there and done that, the authors incorporated what they felt was missing from board review books when they sat for the exam - resulting in a "bucket list" study guide. The review is organized by neurosurgical topic with 20 chapters equally divided among questions followed by answers. Starting with physiology and anatomy, each chapter methodically covers core topics including radiology, neurology, pathology/histology, ophthalmology, and more. The authors provide brief explanations and pearls that accompany each question, which provide a solid springboard for delving deeper into any given topic. The easy-to-follow format enables residents to partake in long study sessions or tackle just a question or two in the midst of a busy day of neurosurgical service. Key Highlights More than 1,300 questions reflect key concepts in the ABNS primary exam Enhanced with more than 350 images, most in color, which reflect the computerized, image-rich format of the current exam A full-length practice test at the end of the book mirrors the cadence and time constraints of the actual exam Explanations of correct and incorrect answers facilitate learning and retaining vast amounts of material This comprehensive board review book will help neurosurgical residents of all levels prepare thoroughly for the March exam. It is a one-stop self-assessment tool for any neurosurgeon who endeavors to attain and maintain ABNS certification.
Comprehensive Neurosurgery Board Review by
The quintessential neurosurgical text review for acing the ABNS written exam! Since its publication nearly 20 years ago, Comprehensive Neurosurgery Board Review has garnered legendary status as the leading high-yield review for neurosurgical residents preparing for the American Board of Neurological Surgery (ABNS) primary exam. The updated third edition by Jonathan S. Citow and associate editors R. Loch Macdonald, Ross C. Puffer, Syed I. Khalid, Bob S. Carter, Alan R. Cohen, Robert J. Spinner, and Daniel Refai reflects technological advances made in the past decade. Seven comprehensive, systematically formatted chapters succinctly cover the tested core topics: anatomy, physiology, neuropathology, neuroradiology, neurology, neurosurgery, and critical care. Key Highlights: The streamlined outline format and handy tables enhance memorization and retention of knowledge More than 1200 high-quality illustrations and images, many in full color, detail impacted anatomy and processes Each chapter has concise sections encompassing important concepts, disease states, diagnostic criteria, and treatment approaches As with prior editions, this reader-friendly textbook does a remarkable job summarizing the vast data and knowledge required to ace the ABNS exam. The new edition is destined to build on its legacy as an indispensable resource for every young neurosurgeon sitting for the exam. This book includes complimentary access to a digital copy on https://medone.thieme.com.
Neurosurgery Board Review by
Designed to evaluate candidates' expertise and provide direction for continued learning, the American Board of Neurological Surgery (ABNS) primary (written) examination is a required step to attaining board certification in the U.S. The rigorous exam requires substantial preparation. Each author brings unique qualifications to this publication from writing previous editions, to achieving the second highest exam score in the U.S. to the insights of a current chief resident. Their mission is to help readers comprehend the material and retain this knowledge, rather than solely striving for the highest score. This essential board prep review mirrors the exam's multiple-choice format and seven sections: neurosurgery, clinical neurology, neuroanatomy, neurobiology, neuropathology, neuroradiology, and clinical skills/critical care. Presented in a new and improved layout, the third edition encompasses the numerous advances in neurosurgery since the 2004 edition was published. New Key Features: Expanded coverage of endovascular techniques for the treatment of cerebral aneurysms, the latest advanced imaging technologies, and treatment paradigm updates for acute ischemic stroke More than 1,000 questions with answers that include detailed, insightful explanations High-quality illustrations and superb anatomical dissections by Albert L. Rhoton Jr., MD, and other masters This invaluable board review will help neurosurgical residents prepare thoroughly for the primary ABNS exam. It is also beneficial for neuroscience residents specializing in neurology and neuropathology.
Neurosurgery Case Review: Questions and Answers by
Neurosurgical vignettes in question and answer format provide robust prep for the ABNS oral exam! Neurosurgery Case Review: Questions and Answers, 2nd Edition by Remi Nader, Abdulrahman Sabbagh, Samer Elbabaa, Hosam Al-Jehani, Jaime Gasco, and Cristian Gragnaniello provides a robust study guide for the American Board Neurological Surgery and the Royal College of Physicians and Surgeons of Canada oral board examinations. The second edition expands on the highly successful first edition, presenting 148 cases commonly encountered by neurosurgeons in clinical practice. The cases are broadly divided into seven sections--tumor, vascular intracranial pathology, trauma, pediatric, functional, spine, and peripheral nerves. The chapters are arranged in a manner that mirrors the oral board exam. Each case includes a brief clinical scenario followed by questions on presentation, diagnosis, imaging, management, surgical detail, complications, and outcome. The presented information is backed by the latest available evidence-based references and data. Key Features: Contributions from internationally renowned neurosurgical educators Detailed answers enhance readers' knowledge and provide guidance on how to respond to questions asked in the oral board exams More than 750 high-quality images, many in full color, ensure visual understanding of key concepts Suggested readings at the end of cases offer additional study resources This is an indispensable, one-stop resource for neurosurgical residents and fellows prepping for the ABNS and Royal College oral board examinations. Neurosurgeons studying for recertification will also find this book an invaluable reference for rapid review. This book includes complimentary access to a digital copy on https://medone.thieme.com.
Neurosurgery Knowledge Update by
A contemporary board review guide and MOC prep text all in one! Certification from the American Board of Neurological Surgeons (ABNS) is the gold standard for certification of neurosurgeons practicing in the U.S. This text is the most up-to-date board review guide for neurosurgeons. It features actual cases, over 300 high-quality illustrations and images, clinical overviews, and a Q and A that mimics the ABNS exam format. Uniquely qualified as esteemed experts in organized neurosurgery as well as past or present Directors of the ABNS, the editors have compiled a book of remarkable depth and scope. With contributions from top neurosurgeons in each subspecialty, this text will prepare neurosurgeons for the rigorous ABNS exams. This indispensable book will help neurosurgeons and neurosurgical residents prepare thoroughly for written and oral board examinations, and benefit board-certified neurosurgeons who need to fulfill MOC requirements.
Neurosurgery Oral Board Review by
The perfect white coat study companion for acing the ABNS oral boards! The certification by the American Board of Neurological Surgery is considered as the gold standard for neurosurgeons. The final hurdle in accomplishing the certification process is the challenging oral examination. In 2017, the format of the ABNS oral exam was revised to make it more relevant, rigorous, and reflective of recent advances in neurosurgery. Therefore, in the third edition of Neurosurgery Oral Board Review the authors have expanded on the widely acclaimed prior editions. The user-friendly book is packed with all the essentials that are needed to prepare for the exam. It can be used either for a rapid review a few days prior to the exam or as an outline to organize study preparation. Each chapter starts with a collection of salient facts, followed by cases that simulate the actual oral board experience. Key Highlights Eighty entirely new, first-rate cases supplemented by a large number of images In-depth focus on the current state-of-the-art in neurosurgery, including endovascular and functional approaches, minimally-invasive brain and spine procedures, arthrodesis, etc. More than 300 outstanding anatomic drawings and radiographs to enhance the ability to visualize complex concepts Complications and emergency procedures discussed in greater detail This quintessential pocket-sized oral board review has earned its place as a trusted study companion in the past 15 years. The new and improved edition will continue to play an invaluable role for neurosurgeons prepping for this challenging final stage of ABNS certification. This book includes complimentary access to a digital copy on https://medone.thieme.com.
Neurosurgery Practice Questions and Answers by
Essential prep for maintenance of certification exams as well as neurosurgery boards Comprehensive, but small enough to take on rounds, the updated second edition of this popular neurosurgical board review provides a robust study companion for the American Board of Neurological Surgery (ABNS) primary examination. The text includes an impressive number of questions with concise and well-delineated explanations. Suitable for thorough board preparation, the question and answer format enables busy neurosurgical residents to efficiently practice, review, and improve upon their comprehension. In addition to all the fundamental disciplines that are relevant to the practice of neurosurgery, this edition encompasses the latest advances in the field including endovascular approaches, minimally invasive spinal surgery techniques, and genetics. The diverse and challenging questions encourage the acquisition of factual knowledge and application of logic. This is the definitive ABNS study book because it most closely mimics the written board examination format. Key Highlights: Multiple choice Q&A format provides highly effective study tool Questions organized randomly, thereby simulating the written examination Short explanations provide readers with a clear understanding of the correct answers This is a must-have primer that will help neurosurgeons and neurosurgical residents study and pass the rigorous written board exam. Board-certified neurosurgeons will also find it a handy and useful resource to prepare for MOC examinations or to brush up on clinical know-how.
Neurosurgery Primary Examination Review by
Practical Q&A guide enhanced with unique diagrams and tables to ace the ABNS primary exam! Neurosurgery Primary Examination Review: High Yield Questions, Answers, Diagrams, and Tables by Amgad S. Hanna addresses the knowledge gaps in currently existing neurosurgical board study guides. It is based on a collection of highly effective practice questions previously administered to neurosurgical residents at the University of Wisconsin. Each chapter covers two to three topics with 60 multiple choice and matching questions and only one correct answer. The reader-friendly content and layout make it easy to organize and review the complex subject matter in preparation for the ABNS written exam or for educational review. Section I is divided into 20 chapters with questions followed by answer keys. This section covers anatomy, neurology, pathology, radiology, critical care, neurosurgery, and neurobiology. Chapters 17-20 cover comprehensive exam questions and answers across all specialty areas including sarcoidosis, lead toxicity, central neurocytoma, and prion disease. Key Highlights Approximately 600 questions divided into 10 tests cover relevant knowledge for the exam Answer keys include salient information on important differentials More than 60 tables and diagrams provide a practical, self-directed method for organizing and retaining important facts More than 200 high-quality images including radiographs, pathology slides, anatomical drawings, and operative photographs accompany questions and answers This concise textbook is a must-have reference for all neurosurgical residents preparing to sit for the ABNS primary exam. Its format is also ideal for incorporating into the neurosurgical curriculum or as a study guide for the maintenance of certification exams.
Neurosurgery Rounds: Questions and Answers by
The second edition of Neurosurgery Rounds: Questions and Answers Neurosurgery Rounds: Questions and Answers, Second Edition by Mark Shaya and an impressive cadre of coauthors and contributors, thoroughly prepares medical students and residents for common yet challenging questions frequently encountered during neurosurgery rounds. The convenient, easy-to-follow format provides diverse coverage of multiple disciplines intertwined in the understanding, care, and treatment of neurosurgical patients. Bringing the state of the art in neurosurgery up to date, nine revised and expanded chapters cover a full range of congenital, degenerative, traumatic, neoplastic, infectious, vascular, and inflammatory conditions impacting the brain, spine and peripheral nerves. Short answers and explanations appear directly below the questions, enabling quick reference during busy hospital shifts. Key Features More than 1,600 questions and answers test readers on a wide range of basic neuroscience, brain, spine, and peripheral nerve topics 30 featured cases provide invaluable clinical pearls and insightful discussions More than 175 high-quality radiographs and anatomical illustrations enhance the text This concise review is an essential lab coat companion for all medical students pursuing neurosurgical clerkships or sub-internships and junior residents on rounds.
Spine Secrets, 3rd ed. by
For more than 30 years, the highly regarded Secrets Series® has provided students and practitioners in all areas of health care with concise, focused, and engaging resources for quick reference and exam review. Spine Secrets Plus, 3rd Edition, by Dr. Vincent J. Devlin, features the Secrets' popular question-and-answer format that also includes lists, tables, pearls, memory aids, and an easy-to-read style - making inquiry, reference, and review quick, easy, and enjoyable. The proven Secrets Series® format gives you the most return for your time - succinct, easy to read, engaging, and highly effective. Fully revised and updated throughout, including protocols and guidelines that are continuously evolving and that increasingly dictate best practices. Expanded PLUS format includes extended coverage, a larger format, colorful visual elements, and larger, detailed images and illustrations to provide an overall enhanced learning experience. Remain at the forefront of the nuances of spine surgery and related specialties with updates on new techniques and technologies, as well as changing treatment options and drug information. Top 100 Secrets and Key Points boxes provide a fast overview of the secrets you must know for success in practice and on exams. Zero in on key information with bulleted lists, mnemonics, and practical tips from prominent specialists - all providing a concise overview of important, board-relevant content. Portable size makes it easy to carry with you for quick reference or review anywhere, anytime. Enhanced eBook version included with purchase. Your enhanced eBook allows you to access all of the text, figures, and references from the book on a variety of devices.
Surgical Neuro-Oncology, 1st ed. by
This book is the first review book that uses the multiple-choice question format in neurosurgical oncology which mirrors the format of the majority of shelf and board examinations. The mission of the book is to help readers understand the content and maintain the knowledge, rather than merely finding answers for complicated questions. It provides more than 800 MCQs in a convenient format that is suitable for self-study. Answers and definitions appear immediately below the questions to facilitate information retention. The chapters provide comprehensive coverage of the core concepts in neurosurgical oncology. They provide a step-by-step, thorough explanations of each disease from the definition, associated anatomy, pathology, clinical features, radiology to surgical decision-making, and surgical tricks, providing a comprehensive and concise overview. This book is an adjunct to the existing texts and does not intend to be the primary source of information; it ratheraims to help readers identify their relevant strengths and weaknesses in the area. The book is an important asset for residents across neurosurgical disciplines as it includes much of the neuro-oncology knowledge that neurosurgical residents need to prepare for their certification tests. It is also useful for those seeking ways to solidify their knowledge or maintain their current certification.
ISBN: 9783031536410Publication Date: 2024-04-17
Journals
Research Tools
- CINAHL This link opens in a new window Covers nursing and allied health disciplines. Includes journal articles, healthcare books, nursing dissertations, selected conference proceedings and standards of professional practice. Some full text available.
- Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews This link opens in a new window Includes the full text of regularly updated systematic reviews of the effects of healthcare prepared by The Cochrane Collaboration.
- EMBASE This link opens in a new window Strong emphasis on drug-related literature & toxicology, in addition to all espects of human medicine. Also covers nursing, dentistry, paramedical professions, podiatry, homeopathy.
- PubMed This link opens in a new window Free access to MEDLINE & PREMEDLINE databases from the National Library of Medicine. Includes links to other NLM resources including NCBI databases, OMIM, MedlinePlus consumer health data & PubMed Central free digital archive of biomedical literature.
- SCOPUS This link opens in a new window Includes articles from more than 4,000 publishers, covering the scientific, medical, technical & the social sciences. For articles published since 1996 many include the full bibliography & abstract, and links to other papers citing those publications.
- Web of Science This link opens in a new window The Web of Science contains a remarkable treasure of data on scientific content, impact, and collaborations from 1900 to the present day on a global scale.
Clinical Trials
- CenterWatch: Clinical Trials Listing Service This link opens in a new window Designed to be a resource for both patients interested in participating in clinical trials and for research professionals.
- Clinical Trials Listing This link opens in a new window Provides regularly updated information about federally and privately supported clinical trials. Provides information about a trial's purpose, who may participate, locations, and phone numbers for more details.
Mayo Clinic Resources
Mayo Clinic Libraries Services
- Patients' Libraries The Mayo Clinic Libraries offer Patients’ Library services at several locations. Visit these guides for details about the collections and services available at each location.
- W. Bruce Fye History of Medicine Library The W. Bruce Fye History of Medicine Library is a specialized library housing important collections in the history of medicine and allied sciences. Several thousand volumes of rare medical classics (from 1479) and early journal literature (from 1665) comprise the core collection of primary literature on all aspects of medicine and allied fields. More recently published histories, biographies, facsimiles, and other support materials comprise the remainder of the collection of some 23,000 total volumes. Special strengths include anesthesiology, cardiology, dermatology, immunology, ophthalmology and neurology. The library also has a large collection of Mayo physician bound reprints.
Please let us know if you have any suggestions, questions, or find broken links. Contact us at: