Lipincott Procedures
- Lippincott Procedures This link opens in a new window Point of care evidence-based guidance for over 1700 procedures and skills from a wide variety of nursing specialties. Also includes Mayo site-specific policies.
Click on All Nursing, then Surgical Services or Perioperative
eBooks
Atlas of Suturing Techniques: Approaches to Surgical Wound, Laceration, and Cosmetic Repair, Second Edition by
This accessible, meticulously illustrated atlas provides everything you need to effectively treat wounds and conduct surgical, reconstructive, and cosmetic repairs with minimal scarring Understanding the subtleties of suture choice and placement often makes the difference between positive and negative patient outcomes. The Atlas of Suturing Techniques: Approaches to Surgical Wound, Laceration, and Cosmetic Repair, Second Edition provides the information and insight readers need to surgically treat a range of wounds and surgical defects--from simple lacerations to complex reconstructive surgery--with the utmost expertise. Presented in an at-a-glance format and packed with 450 photos and illustrations, this guide kicks off with chapters on principles of wound management and wound repair, then describes equipment, positioning, key principles, and 75 suture techniques--complete with step-by-step instructions adjacent to drawings and photos of the techniques. Finally, it covers each area of anatomy, guiding the practitioner in which suture to use when and how to modify certain sutures in specific locations. Techniques are diagrammatically illustrated and supplemented by the online videos, and the author includes tips and pearls for each technique, as well as caveats, drawbacks and cautions. This updated edition includes new sections on: Laceration repair Pin-point pexing sutures Leveling sutures Three-dimensional continuous suturing Basting sutures And more
Drain's PeriAnesthesia Nursing: A Critical Care Approach, 8th ed. by
Trusted for more than 30 years, Drain's PeriAnesthesia Nursing: A Critical Care Approach, 8th Edition provides comprehensive clinical content tailored specifically for perianesthesia nurses. An easy-to-use format with five distinct sections - covering the PACU, anatomy and physiology, pharmacology, nursing care, and special considerations - means you get the equivalent of five books in one. Nursing and pharmacologic interventions are integrated with in-depth coverage of pathophysiology, and updated content includes the latest standards and current issues affecting perianesthesia nursing practice. Focusing on research, documentation, and psychosocial considerations, this is the one book that can take you all the way from being a novice nurse in the PACU to preparing for CPAN® or CAPA® certification! Five separate sections provide comprehensive coverage, including the PACU, anatomy and physiology, pharmacology, nursing care, and special considerations. Coverage of current policies and issues affecting perianesthesia nursing practice includes patient safety, infection control, managed care implications, pain management, and bioterrorism. Comprehensive information on the various types of anesthetic agents familiarizes you with what will be used in the PACU. Special Considerations section details the care of patients with conditions such as malignant hyperthermia, substance abuse, sickle cell anemia, and cardiac arrest. UPDATED! Revised content throughout provides the most up-to-date information for effective perianesthesia nursing practice. NEW! Full-color layout makes content more visually appealing and highlights important information. NEW! Information on SARS/COVID-19 is now included in the Pathogens chapter. NEW! Chapter on International Care of the Perianesthesia Patient offers complete coverage on this key topic. UPDATED! Coverage of pain management for the perianesthesia patient features the latest guidelines. UPDATED! Patient with Chronic Disorders chapter provides current information on caring for these patients. UPDATED! Evidence-Based Research boxes provide the latest standards of care.
Essentials of Equipment in Anaesthesia, Critical Care and Perioperative Medicine, 6th ed. by
This sixth edition holds true to the original format and philosophy of the trail blazing first edition: syllabus focused text, great illustration, and helpful questions, plus web links. We have maintained the high standards that have made this the equipment book of choice not only for trainees in Anaesthesia, but also for our Operating Department Practitioner and Nursing colleagues. We have extensively updated the text, images and illustrations.
Fast Facts for Nurse Practitioners: Practice Essentials for Clinical Subspecialties, 1st ed. by
The first book to provide an insider view of the latest advances and trends in the full range of clinical subspecialty areas. Fast Facts for Nurse Practitioners: Practice Essentials for Clinical Subspecialties takes the busy advanced practice provider or student on a journey through the clinical subspecialties. The author, a highly experienced nurse practitioner, has immersed herself in each of these clinical areas and interviewed medical specialists to identify the latest advances, trends, and tips to more confidently and competently assess, diagnose, manage, and refer patients across the lifespan. The book addresses hot topics in allergy and immunology, cardiology, dermatology, endocrinology, gastroenterology, hematology and oncology, infectious disease, nephrology, neurology, obstetrics and gynecology, ophthalmology, orthopedics, otolaryngology, pediatrics, psychiatry, pulmonology, rheumatology, and urology. Each chapter provides information on common chief complaints, pathophysiology, diagnostic considerations, and key points for management or referral. This concise reference provides evidence-based strategies for managing ever-changing patient needs in an easy-to-digest format. Key Features: Serves the needs of advanced practice providers and students Offers the latest advances and trends for all clinical subspecialty areas in one concise, quick-reference resource Provides evidence-based guidelines to support the principles of assessment, differential diagnosis, management, and referral Highlights only the most relevant and timely information, allowing readers to save time, stay current, and improve patient outcomes
Handbook of Perioperative and Procedural Patient Safety by
Offering a concise yet comprehensive review of current practices in surgery and patient safety, Handbook of Perioperative and Procedural Patient Safety is an up-to date, practical resource for practicing surgeons, anesthesiologists, surgical nurses, hospital administrators, and surgical office staff. Edited by Drs. Juan A. Sanchez and Robert S. D. Higgins and authored by expert contributors from Johns Hopkins, it provides an expansive look at the scope of the problem, causes of error, minimizing errors, surgical suite and surgical team design, patient experience, and other related topics. Presents the knowledge and experience of a multidisciplinary team from Johns Hopkins University, which created the Comprehensive Unit-based Safety Program (CUSP), an approach for improving safety culture and engaging frontline clinicians to identify and mitigate defects in care delivery. Discusses the scope and prevalence of perioperative harm, causes of error in healthcare, and perioperative never events. Covers safe practices, cognitive workload and fatigue, and the effects of noise in the OR. Includes several team-based chapters such as the dynamics of surgical teams, safer perioperative team communication, and the culture of safety. Consolidates today's available information and guidance into a single, convenient resource.
The Healthcare Executive's Guide to Navigating the Surgical Suite by Surgical services carry some of the highest risks and rewards of all healthcare specialties. They also present specific challenges. Those unfamiliar with the surgical suite's inner workings may struggle to lead and manage this complex and often isolated department. The Healthcare Executive's Guide to Navigating the Surgical Suite: A Roadmap to the OR and Perioperative Services provides experienced and novice healthcare leaders with the information, leadership structures, and practical strategies needed to successfully oversee both patient outcomes and balance sheets. This book covers contemporary market realities, business challenges, labor requirements, and clinical and operational complexities as it points leaders toward the most pressing issues in strategic surgical services leadership. Inside you'll find: A comprehensive overview of the competitive landscape and unique market forces, Effective governance and leadership structures, A snared, interdisciplinary decision-making model, Insights on creating accurate budgets and monitoring complicated revenue and expenses Book jacket.
Introduction to the Operating Room by
A unique "survival manual" for those new to the operating room This one-of-a-kind resource answers all the questions that newbie clinicians, nurses, and allied health workers have about the Operating Room but are afraid to ask. It is a complete and candid explanation of the sights, sounds, technologies, personalities, and culture that you will experience when you enter that complex, stress-inducing world. With coverage ranging from "Who Are These People?" to "Equipment from A to Z," Introduction to the Operating Room delivers the practical, real-world guidance newcomers need to ensure patient safety and their own career success. ■ The first book to combine a description of Operating Room people (and their roles), culture, and rules with a discussion of equipment and technology ■ Logically divided into three sections: Pre-Op, Intraop, and Post-Op ■ Includes a valuable appendix, "Quick Guide Answers to the What If's of the OR" ■ A must-have resource for anyone wishing to impress the attending surgeons and staff of the Operating Room If you are looking for a concise, engagingly written operating room primer that delves into topics not covered in any other resource, Introduction to the Operating Room is required reading.
Intubating the Critically Ill Patient: A Step-By-Step Guide for Success in the ED and ICU by
Intubating critically ill patients is a process that requires a well-thought-out, step-by-step plan, specific to each patient. This book teaches the steps necessary to predict, prepare, perform, and provide pre and post-intubation care. The focus of the book is not on how to intubate, but rather all the steps leading up to and after the tube goes in. From the EMS stretcher to the ICU bed, this book has easily accessible, practical information for these tenuous patients, and answers the who, what, where, when and how of airway management. Included are specific chapters on special patient populations outlining the process of intubating patients with neurologic injury, cardiovascular compromise, sepsis, trauma and those with obesity Intubating the Critically Ill Patient: A Step-by-Step Guide for Success in the ED and ICU is an essential resource for physicians, medical students, and allied health professionals in emergency medicine and intensive care settings.
ISBN: 9783030568122Publication Date: 2020-11-20
eBooks
Manual of Perioperative Care in Adult Cardiac Surgery by
Now in its sixth edition, Robert M. Bojar's Manual of Perioperative Care in Adult Cardiac Surgery remains the go-to practical guide for all of those involved in the care of the cardiac surgery patient. Written in outline format, it provides a comprehensive, detailed, and clearly explained review of cardiac surgical disease and perioperative management that is of value to practicing cardiac surgeons as well as to cardiologists, residents, fellows, advanced practice providers, critical care and floor nurses, perfusionists, and medical students. Extensively rewritten with updated references to incorporate the latest concepts, guidelines, protocols, and medications used in cardiac surgical practice, this classic text retains the pragmatic features that have made it the gold standard reference that clinicians have used worldwide for the past 30 years. Highlights include: Full coverage of cardiac surgical diseases, including pathophysiology, indications for surgery per guidelines, and figures of operative procedures and diagnostic techniques, with a panoply of examples Chronologic evaluation of patients from preoperative assessment to intraoperative considerations to postoperative care for each procedure Extensive chapters discussing organ system management in the ICU, followed by a discussion of later postoperative management and problems Incorporation of newer techniques (TAVR, Mitraclip, etc.) within the chronologic format Easy access to information using an outline format, markers on the free edges to identify chapters, synopsis pages at the beginning of each chapter, and a comprehensive index to provide easy referencing within the text Updated references throughout that are available from on-line resources 21 appendices summarizing order sheets, protocols, commonly used drug doses, body mass index, and other important information Praise for the fifth edition: "Surgeons are frequently asked to recommend a text that can be used to guide the care of their patients. This comprehensive text is the standard by which any other text should be judged." --Critical Care Medicine "It remains a classic and a must have for anyone involved in cardiac surgery." --Perfusion.com
Medical-Surgical Nursing Certification Review, 1st ed. by
Note to Readers: Publisher does not guarantee quality or access to any included digital components if book is purchased through a third-party seller. Medical-Surgical Nursing Certification Review: A Practical Guide is designed to help you prepare for both the MSNCB Certified Medical-Surgical Registered Nurse (CMSRN (R)) and ANCC Medical-Surgical Nursing Certification (MEDSURG-BC (TM)) certification exams. This comprehensive study aid begins with information about the exams, legal and professional issues, and a homeostasis chapter focused on the core concepts of medical-surgical nursing and bedside emergencies. The remaining chapters are organized by body system and are presented in a concise, easy to follow format which includes pharmacology, laboratory, and diagnostic tables throughout. Relevant case studies, key takeaways, test-taking tips, and illustrations are incorporated to help clarify key concepts. Each chapter covers everything you need to know to pass the exam and includes end-of-chapter questions to check your knowledge. The review concludes with a full-length practice test to get you ready for exam day. With more than 300 practice questions, detailed review content and answer rationales, and access to ExamPrepConnect, this study aid empowers you with the tools and materials to study your way and the confidence to pass the first time, guaranteed! Know that you're ready. Know that you'll pass with Springer Publishing Exam Prep. Key Features Reflects the latest MSNCB and ANCC exam blueprints Provides a comprehensive yet concise review of essential knowledge for the exam Features pharmacology, laboratory, and diagnostic tables to help organize information Highlights case studies, key takeaways, and test-taking tips Includes end-of-chapter Q&A and a full practice test with detailed rationales Boosts your confidence with a 100% pass guarantee Offers on-the-go digital access with ExamPrepConnect ExamPrepConnect-the digital study platform that guides you confidently through your exam prep journey. With this score-boosting study tool, you can: Review all the high-quality content from the book Get organized by using the personalized study plan based on your exam date Study by topic to identify your strengths and weaknesses Strengthen your knowledge with 325 practice questions and detailed answer rationales Prepare for exam day with a full 3-hour timed practice test Connect and chat with fellow med-surg test takers using the discussion board Play games to make studying fun See access code details inside the book. CMSRN (R) is a registered service mark of the Medical-Surgical Nursing Certification Board (MSNCB). MSNCB does not sponsor or endorse this resource, nor does it have a proprietary relationship with Springer Publishing. MEDSURG-BC (TM) is a registered service mark of the American Nurses Credentialing Center (ANCC). ANCC does not sponsor or endorse this resource, nor does it have a proprietary relationship with Springer Publishing.
Perioperative Care of the Cancer Patient by
More than 80% of patients with cancer will need the services of anesthesiology and perioperative medicine, intensive care medicine, and pain management specialists during their cancer journey for diagnostic, therapeutic, and symptom management needs, as well as for the management of recurrent disease, secondary cancers, and ongoing non-oncologic surgical needs during survivorship. Perioperative Care of the Cancer Patient is today's most up-to-date, authoritative, comprehensive reference on the acute care of surgical patients with cancer, from a team of international experts in this emerging and dynamic specialty. Covers current clinical practice and perioperative care guidelines during the entire cancer journey for both adult and pediatric patients. Includes a diverse array of topics on cancer care, such as cancer epidemiology, cancer biology, ethics in cancer care delivery, value proposition in cancer care, opportunities and challenges with research programs in perioperative cancer care, application of big data and computational sciences in cancer medicine and care delivery, and the MD Anderson Cancer Center Moon Shots Program®. Discusses newer cancer therapies and their perioperative implications, functional assessment and prehabilitation, enhanced recovery programs in cancer care, challenges with novel cancer therapies in the care of the critically ill cancer patient, chronic and interventional pain management in patients with cancer, and more. An educational resource and clinical reference for surgeons, anesthesia practitioners, hospitalists, internists, pain physicians, intensivists, basic science researchers, and all clinicians involved in the acute care of surgical patients with cancer. Enhanced eBook version included with purchase. Your enhanced eBook allows you to access all of the text, figures, and references from the book on a variety of devices.
ISBN: 9780323695848Publication Date: 2022-07-21
Perioperative Quality Improvement by
Quality improvement (QI) principles are increasingly important in every area of today's healthcare, encompassing efforts to make healthcare delivery safer, more effective, patient-centered, timely, equitable, and efficient. Perioperative Quality Improvement provides up-to-date, easy-to-read guidance for perioperative clinicians on this critical topic. Each chapter covers a pertinent area of QI in the perioperative setting, focusing on both concepts and implementation. Written and edited by key international opinion leaders in the field, this text is a relevant, concise resource for anesthesiologists, surgeons, nurse anesthetists, and hospitalists-anyone involved in perioperative medicine regardless of specialty area. Explains concepts related to understanding the tools and techniques used in improving the quality of care, establishing a culture of quality, prioritizing areas of improvement, collecting and analyzing data, communicating, motivating people to change, and performing ongoing evaluations. Covers key topics such as patient-centered care, equity, shared decision making, process mapping, and sustainability. Addresses the critical areas of structure, process and outcome with a focus on perioperative care and relevant case studies. Enhanced eBook version included with purchase. Your enhanced eBook allows you to access all of the text, figures, and references from the book on a variety of devices.
Surgical Notes by
The OR Survival Guide From aseptic technique to effective communication and everything in between, here's the on-the-spot guidance you need to succeed in the OR in a pocket-sized, quick reference format. Consult it at the start of your day or between cases to jog your memory and build your confidence. Refresh your knowledge of the essentials of aseptic technique, surgical conscience, anatomy, basic set-up, instruments, and sutures. Be ready for challenging situations with tips for communicating effectively in the OR. Anticipate need and attune your critical thinking to be able to set up your back table and mayo stand quickly and efficiently, count effectively, and communicate well with your team. A Must Have in the OR "This little book is amazing. I've only had it a week and I absolutely love it. It has great tips and pointers that I've referred to many times throughout my day in the OR as a new nurse. The anatomy, prep and suture pages are my favorite-there is so much information on everything. Anything you write down with pen is erasable as well. I've showed my coworkers and many are going to buy it, even the seasoned nurses."--Kathaleen, Online Reviewer I absolutely love it. It very helpful and i love how. I'm a CST and this is the pocket book to have on you at all times!!!! I absolutely love it. It very helpful and i love how it breaks it down. So easy to understand."--Stefany, Online Reviewer Perfect! "Covers the basics. A must for a surgical technologist."--Online Reviewer
