Skip to Main Content
Child Neurology by
Child Neurology: Its Origins, Founders, Evolution and Growth, Second Edition updates the first biographical study of important contributors to the field of child neurology, consisting of over 250 biographical sketches written by over 100 physicians specializing in neurology, child neurology, pediatrics and obstetrics. Organized chronologically into six chapters, beginning before 1800 and continuing to the present, Child Neurology traces the emergence of child neurology as a separate specialty from its roots in pediatrics and neurology. With a definitive historical introduction by the editor, Dr. Stephen Ashwal. This new edition will feature a new section on The Dynamic Growth and Expansion of Child Neurology: The Late Twentieth Century (1960 to 2000+) and features about 138 new biographical sketches of leaders in the field during this recent time frame. Child Neurology: Its Origins, Founders, Evolution and Growth, Second Edition will be published on behalf of the Child Neurology Society, a professional society that strives to foster recognition and support for children with neurological disorders and to promote and exchange national and international scientific research, education, and training in the field of neurology.
Current Diagnosis and Treatment Pediatric Neurology by
Get the latest evidence-based methods for diagnosing and treating neurologic disorders in infants, children, and adolescents Perfect for rotations and board exam preparation, CURRENT Diagnosis and Treatment Pediatric Neurology fills a void of up-to-date reference material on this topic. Presented in the time-saving style that makes LANGE CURRENT books so popular, this comprehensive resource includes detailed descriptions of neurologic diseases, along with as safe, effective diagnostic and therapeutic procedures and treatments. Organized to maximize review time, it includes Problem, Essentials of Diagnosis, Clinical Findings, Differential Diagnosis, Treatment, and Prognosis for each topic covered. Features include summaries of the latest guidelines and treatment recommendations for all pediatric neurology diseases and disorders, as well as multiple choice questions--invaluable for board review. Packed with nearly 50 chapters, CURRENT Diagnosis and Treatment Pediatric Neurology covers the full spectrum of pediatric neurologic conditions, including sections on: Cardinal manifestations of neurologic disease Developmental disorders Pain and other disorders of somatic sensation Epilepsy and disorders of consciousness Major categories of neurologic disease Diseases of spinal cord, peripheral nerve and muscle.
Fenichel's Clinical Pediatric Neurology by
Taking a practical, easy-to-reference signs and symptoms approach, Fenichel's Clinical Pediatric Neurology, 8th Edition, provides a solid foundation in the diagnosis and management of primary neurologic disorders of childhood while bringing you fully up to date with recent developments in the field. It offers step-by-step, authoritative guidance that considers each presenting symptom in terms of differential diagnosis and treatment, reflecting real-life patient evaluation and management. Perfect for board exam preparation, office use, or residency reference, this well-organized, revised edition is an ideal introduction to this complex and fast-changing field. Includes a new chapter on genetics in relation to epilepsy, autism, and many neurometabolic disorders, with up-to-date coverage of genetic testing, diagnosis, and pharmacogenomics. Brings you up to date with the new definition of status epilepticus; new guidelines for Lennox Gastaut syndrome; new FDA-approved drugs for epilepsy, ADHD, dystonia, and more; new data on sudden infant death syndrome; and revised consensus criteria which unifies the concepts of neuromyelitis optica (NMO) and neuromyelitis optica spectrum disorders (NMOSD). Defines age at onset, course of illness, clinical features, and treatment options for each neurological disease, all logically organized by neurological signs and symptoms in a highly templated format. Features weighted differential diagnosis tables and treatment algorithms that help you quickly identify the more common and most treatable neurological disorders, as well as evaluate and manage the most difficult neurodegenerative disorders, including those caused by inborn errors of metabolism. Shares the knowledge and experience of Dr. J. Eric Piña-Garza, MD, a longtime associate and protégé of Dr. Gerald Fenichel, and Dr. Kaitlin C. James, Medical Director of the Pediatric Epilepsy Monitoring Unit at Vanderbilt Children's Hospital. Enhanced eBook version included with purchase. Your enhanced eBook allows you to access all of the text, figures, and references from the book on a variety of devices.
Movement Disorders in Childhood by
Movement Disorders in Childhood, Third Edition provides the most up-to-date information on the diseases and disorders that affect motor control, an important area of specialization within child neurology. In this new edition, each chapter has been fully revised to include all of the latest scientific and therapeutic advances. Updates include new insights in motor development, control, goal-directed and habitual behaviors, classifications of movements and their complex and integrated circuitry. The authors also discuss developments in pathophysiologic mechanisms, immunology and metabolic disorders. New chapters include coverage of genetics of movement disorders and movement disorders in psychiatric conditions. Appendices include an updated and revised drug index and genetic search strategy. An updated Companion website hosts selected educational videos to help diagnose movement disorders.
Neurology: Neonatology Questions and Controversies by
The primary goal of this fourth edition is to provide the reader with a clearer management strategy for common and rare neonatal neurological disorders of based on the most updated comprehension of their underlying pathophysiology. A desired secondary goal is to highlight gaps in knowledge which should serve as a strong stimulus for future research.
Neuromuscular Disorders of Infancy, Childhood, and Adolescence by
Neuromuscular disorders are diagnosed across the lifespan and create many challenges especially with infants, children and adolescents. This new edition of the definitive reference, edited by the established world renowned authorities on the science, diagnosis and treatment of neuromuscular disorders in childhood is a timely and needed resource for all clinicians and researchers studying neuromuscular disorders, especially in childhood. The Second Edition is completely revised to remain current with advances in the field and to insure this remains the standard reference for clinical neurologists and clinical research neurologists. The Second Edition retains comprehensive coverage while shortening the total chapter count to be an even more manageable and effective reference.
Pediatric Epilepsy by
Practical, easy-to-follow guidance on every aspect of the diagnosis and treatment of epilepsy in children 350 full-color illustrations Pediatric Epilepsy comprehensively addresses the needs of all physicians treating children with epilepsy - from the specialized pediatric epileptologist to the general pediatric practitioner. Written by a team of international experts, this full-color text offers a consistent, age-based approach to the diagnosis and treatment of every type of seizure and epilepsy syndrome that may occur in childhood. The book's primary focus is on specific treatment modalities, both surgical and medical. Features Algorithms and drug-dosage tables throughout emphasize patient care Includes first, second, and combination drug treatments with recommended starting ranges and other essential information Specific types of seizures and syndromes are organized by the age group in which they most often present Logically organized by age group, then by the seizures and syndromes that tend to first occur at those ages Co-morbidities section addresses illnesses caused by epilepsy treatment and illnesses that often present with epilepsy treatment International authorship by a team of five award-winning pediatric epileptologists 350 full-color illustrations
Swaiman's Pediatric Neurology by
Since 1975, Dr. Kenneth Swaiman's classic text has been the reference of choice for authoritative guidance in pediatric neurology, and the 6th Edition continues this tradition of excellence with thorough revisions that bring you fully up to date with all that's new in the field. Five new sections, 62 new chapters, 4 new editors, and a reconfigured format make this a comprehensive and clearly-written resource for the experienced clinician as well as the physician-in-training. Nearly 3,000 line drawings, photographs, tables, and boxes highlight the text, clarify key concepts, and make it easy to find information quickly. Expert ConsultT eBook version included with purchase. This enhanced eBook experience allows you to search all of the text, figures, and references from the book on a variety of devices. A practical new configuration featuring an expanded electronic version (both online and eBook format) in addition to a one-volume condensed print version. New content includes 12 new epilepsy chapters, 5 new cerebrovascular chapters, and 13 new neurooncology chapters, as well as new chapters on neuroimmunology and neuromuscular disorders, as well as chapters focused on clinical care (e.g., Counseling Families, Practice Guidelines, Transitional Care, Personalized Medicine, Special Educational Law, Outcome Measurements, Neurorehabilitation, Impact of Computer Resources, and Training Issues). Additional new chapters cover topics related to the developmental connectome, stem cell transplantation, and cellular and animal models of neurological disease. Greatly expanded sections to increase your knowledge of perinatal acquired and congenital disorders, neurodevelopmental disabilities, pediatric epilepsy, and nonepileptiform paroxysmal disorders and disorders of sleep. Coverage of new, emerging, or controversial topics includes developmental encephalopathies, non-verbal learning disorders, and the pharmacological and future genetic treatment of neurodevelopmental disabilities.
Volpe's Neurology of the Newborn by
A clear, engaging writing style, hundreds of full-color images, and new information throughout make Volpe's Neurology of the Newborn, 6th Edition, an indispensable resource for those who provide care for neonates with neurological conditions. World authority Dr. Joseph Volpe, along with Dr. Terrie E. Inder and other distinguished editors, continue the unparalleled clarity and guidance you've come to expect from the leading reference in the field - keeping you up to date with today's latest advances in diagnosis and management, as well as the many scientific and technological advances that are revolutionizing neonatal neurology. Provides comprehensive coverage of neonatal neurology, solely written by the field's founding expert, Dr. Joseph Volpe - for a masterful, cohesive source of answers to any question that arises in your practice. Focuses on clinical evaluation and management, while also examining the many scientific and technological advances that are revolutionizing neonatal neurology. Organizes disease-focused chapters by affected body region for ease of reference. Features a brand new, full-color design with hundreds of new figures, tables, algorithms, and micrographs. Includes two entirely new chapters: Neurodevelopmental Follow-Up and Stroke in the Newborn; a new section on Neonatal Seizures; and an extensively expanded section on Hypoxic-Ischemia and Other Disorders. Showcases the experience and knowledge of a new editorial team, led by Dr. Joseph Volpe and Dr. Terrie E. Inder, Chair of the Department of Pediatric Newborn Medicine at Brigham and Women's Hospital, all of whom bring a wealth of insight to this classic text. Offers comprehensive updates from cover to cover to reflect all of the latest information regarding the development of the neural tube; prosencephalic development; congenital hydrocephalus; cerebellar hemorrhage; neuromuscular disorders and genetic testing; and much more. Uses an improved organization to enhance navigation. Expert ConsultT eBook version included with purchase. This enhanced eBook experience allows you to search all of the text, figures, Q&As, and references from the book on a variety of devices.