Skip to Main Content
Atlas of Spinal Imaging by
Spine-related pain is the world's leading disabling condition, affecting every population and a frequent reason for seeking medical consultation and obtaining imaging studies. Numerous spinal phenotypes (observations/traits) and their respective measurements performed on various spine imaging have been shown to directly correlate and predict clinical outcomes. Atlas of Spinal Imaging: Phenotypes, Measurements and Classification Systems is a comprehensive visual resource that highlights various spinal phenotypes on imaging, describes their clinical and pathophysiological relevance, and discusses and illustrates their respective measurement techniques and classifications. Complies the knowledge and expertise of Dr. Dino Samartzis, the preeminent global authority on spinal phenotypes who has discovered and proposed new phenotypes and classification schemes; Dr. Howard S. An, a leading expert in patient management and at the forefront of 3D imaging of various spinal phenotypes; and Dr. Philip Louie, a young surgeon who is involved in one of the largest machine learning initiatives of spinal phenotyping. *Includes a Foreword by renowed spine surgeons Alexander Vaccaro and Max Aebi* Helps readers better understanding spinal phenotypes and their imaging, and how today's knowledge will facilitate new targeted drug discovery, novel diagnostics and biomarker discovery, and outcome predictions. Features step-by-step instructions on performing the radiographic measurements with examples of normal and pathologic images to demonstrate the various presentations. Presents clinical correlation of the phenotypes as well as the radiographic measurements with landmark references. Includes validated classification systems that complement the phenotypes and radiographic measurements. Complies the knowledge and expertise of Dr. Dino Samartzis, the preeminent global authority on spinal phenotypes who has discovered and proposed new phenotypes and classification schemes; Dr. Howard S. An, a leading expert in patient management and at the forefront of 3D imaging of various spinal phenotypes; and Dr. Philip Louie, a prolific surgeon who is involved in one of the largest machine learning initiatives of spinal phenotyping.
Brain Imaging by
Dx-Direct is a series of eleven Thieme books covering the main subspecialties in radiology. It includes all the cases you are most likely to see in your typical working day as a radiologist. For each condition or disease you will find the information you need -- with just the right level of detail. Dx-Direct gets to the point: - Definitions, Epidemiology, Etiology, and Imaging Signs - Typical Presentation, Treatment Options, Course and Prognosis - Differential Diagnosis, Tips and Pitfalls, and Key References ...all combined with high-quality diagnostic images. Whether you are a resident or a trainee, preparing for board examinations or just looking for a superbly organized reference: Dx-Direct is the high-yield choice for you! The series covers the full spectrum of radiology subspecialties including: Brain Gastrointestinal Cardiac Breast Urogenital Spinal Head and Neck Musculoskeletal Pediatric Thoracic Vascular
Brain Tumor Imaging by
A concise yet in-depth analysis of imaging modalities for brain tumors FOUR STARS from Doody's Star Ratings(tm) Brain Tumor Imaging is a practical, comprehensive reference that covers all the methods of imaging used in the diagnosis and assessment of brain tumors. It includes key information on the use of advanced imaging technologies in the clinical setting for the successful treatment of patients with brain tumors. Key Features: Includes more than 500 high-quality images (color as well as black and white) that help illustrate the latest imaging modalities used in neuro-oncology Covers advanced, functional imaging techniques, giving readers the latest information on clinically advanced imaging tools for brain tumor assessment Provides details on how to accurately evaluate treatment effects and differentiate from tumor progression This book is an essential guide to advanced imaging modalities for all radiologists, neuro-radiologists, neuro-oncologists, and neurosurgeons involved in the treatment and evaluation of patients with brain tumors.
Casting Light on the Dark Side of Brain Imaging by
Most people find colorful brain scans highly compelling--and yet, many experts don't. This discrepancy begs the question: What can we learn from neuroimaging? Is brain information useful in fields such as psychiatry, law, or education? How do neuroscientists create brain activation maps and why do we admire them? Casting Light on The Dark Side of Brain Imaging tackles these questions through a critical and constructive lens--separating fruitful science from misleading neuro-babble. In a breezy writing style accessible to a wide readership, experts from across the brain sciences offer their uncensored thoughts to help advance brain research and debunk the craze for reductionist, headline-grabbing neuroscience. This collection of short, enlightening essays is suitable for anyone interested in brain science, from students to professionals. Together, we take a hard look at the science behind brain imaging and outline why this technique remains promising despite its seldom-discussed shortcomings.
Endovascular Management of Ischemic Stroke by
A case-based guide to the interventional management of stroke from leading international experts! Stroke is the most prevalent cerebrovascular emergency, impacting an estimated 15 million people worldwide every year. Endovascular treatment (EVT) of ischemic stroke has expanded at an unforeseen pace, with EVT the most common neurointerventional procedure performed at most large centers. Endovascular Management of Ischemic Stroke: A Case-Based Approach by renowned stroke pioneer Vitor Mendes Pereira and distinguished co-editors features contributions from a "who's who" of global experts. This practical resource provides straightforward guidance for clinicians who need to learn and master state-of-the-art endovascular interventions reflecting the new, evidenced-based treatment paradigm for acute stroke. This carefully crafted reference takes readers on a journey from the early building blocks that led to modern stroke interventions to meticulous step-by-step descriptions of the latest approaches. Fifty high-yield cases mirror real-life scenarios trainees and professionals are likely to encounter in clinical practice. Seven sections encompass a full spectrum of diverse patient presentations, anatomical variations, advanced techniques, complex pathologies, complications, and stroke mimics. Key Highlights Discussion of emerging techniques likely to stand the test of time such as SAVE, ARTS, transradial access, and transcarotid access Stroke mimics important for differential diagnoses, including hemiplegic migraine, MELAS, RCVS, seizure, and more An appendix that covers fundamental terms, trials, and tools This cutting-edge resource is essential reading for trainee and early-career interventionalists, as well as seasoned practitioners in interventional radiology, neuroradiology, endovascular neurosurgery, and interventional neurology. This book includes complimentary access to a digital copy on https://medone.thieme.com.
Epidemiology of Brain and Spinal Tumors by
Epidemiology of Brain and Spinal Tumors provides a single volume resource on imaging methods and neuroepidemiology of both brain and spinal tumors. The book covers a variety of imaging techniques, including computed tomography (CT), MRI, positron emission tomography (PET), and other laboratory tests used in diagnosis and treatment. Detailed epidemiology, various imaging methods, and clinical considerations of tumors of the CNS make this an ideal reference for users who will also find diverse information about structures and functions, cytology, epidemiology (including molecular epidemiology), diagnosis and treatment. This book is appropriate for neuroscience researchers, medical professionals and anyone interested in a complete guide to visualizing and understanding CNS tumors.
Fetal, Neonatal and Pediatric Neuroradiology by
Ideal for exam preparation and everyday clinical practice, Fetal, Neonatal and Pediatric Neuroradiology brings you fully up to date with recent advances in knowledge and image quality in this fast-changing field. World-renowned pediatric neuroradiologist Dr. Thierry A. G. M. Huisman, along with expert coauthors Drs. Stephen Kralik, Nilesh Desai, and Avner Meoded, utilizes an easy-to-read, quick-reference format of bulleted lists and high-quality images to enhance your understanding and help you quickly grasp and retain critical information. Balances state-of-the-art images and clinical features pertinent to the diagnosis in a bulleted format for quick reference and identification. Includes more than 400 diagnoses encountered in pediatric, neonatal, and fetal neuroimaging, including brain, head, neck, spine, and metabolic disorders. Features thousands of high-quality MRI, CT, ultrasound, and radiographic images. An eBook version is included with purchase. The eBook allows you to access all of the text, figures and references, with the ability to search, customize your content, make notes and highlights, and have content read aloud.
Imaging in Neurology by
Written by two renowned leaders in neuroradiology and neurology, this unique reference is a high-level imaging resource ideal for today's clinical neurologist or neuroscientist. Using straightforward, jargon-free prose, this book provides an overview of neurological disorders coupled with typical imaging findings - all designed for use at the point of care. You will be expertly guided throughout, from radiologic appearance and the significance of the imaging findings to the next appropriate steps in effective patient care. Expert Consult eBook version included with purchase, which allows you to search all of the text, figures, images, and references from the book on a variety of devices Discusses radiologic appearances of common neurological diseases, their significance, and the next steps in patient care in a clear manner perfectly suited for neurologists or neuroscientists Provides high-level information from both a neuroradiologist and a neurologist, making it a balanced and appropriate clinical reference for day-to-day neurology practice Covers imaging in stroke, infectious disease, brain malformations, tumors, and more Keeps you up-to-date with unusual emerging neurologic disorders, such as Susac syndrome, West Nile Virus, and IRIS
Imaging in Neurovascular Disease by
Unique case-based reference presents high-yield images and expertise focused on vascular neuroradiology Imaging in Neurovascular Disease: A Case-Based Approach by Waleed Brinjikji and Timo Krings is unique in its approach, detailing diagnostic and interventional neuroradiology cases based on radiologic findings. The book explores the key role vascular imaging can play in treatment decision making, prognostication, and improving the understanding of the pathophysiology of neurovascular diseases. Spread over 11 chapters, this book covers a full spectrum of neurovascular diseases spanning the age continuum, starting with acute ischemic stroke, concluding with spinal vascular disease. All vascular neuroradiology cases follow a consistent format. After a succinct introduction describing the clinical scenario with relevant case images, the authors present key facts about the disease and the integral role of different neurovascular imaging procedures in disease management. Imaging findings are discussed in depth, with insightful clinical pearls on image-guided procedures and tips on managing potential pitfalls. Key Highlights Almost 800 high-quality noninvasive images, such as MR angiography/MR imaging, CT angiography/CT perfusion, with angiography where applicable, elucidate a spectrum of findings Analysis of the imaging appearance of a diverse array of common to rare neurovascular diseases provides diagnostic and treatment insights Each case concludes with the most important points clinicians need to know, high-yield facts about a specific cerebrovascular disease, and suggested readings for further exploration This unique case-based book is essential reading for radiology, neurology and neurosurgery residents. It will greatly benefit neurovascular disease specialists including radiologists, neurosurgeons and neurologists as well as interested in furthering
Imaging in Spine Surgery by
Imaging in Spine Surgery tailors the highly regarded Diagnostic Imaging series templates with radiology images and color graphics to the needs of neurosurgeons, orthopedic spine surgeons, pain management and rehab (PM&R) physicians, and anesthesiologists. It provides clinical information for diagnosis and appropriate care for the patient, resulting in the perfect comprehensive text for spine surgeons. Combines chapters that include all entities that neurosurgeons, orthopedic spine surgeons, PM&R physicians, and anesthesiologists who do spine procedures are likely to encounter from the following Amirsys radiology titles: Imaging Anatomy: Musculoskeletal by Manaster Diagnostic Imaging: Spine by Ross Specialty Imaging: Craniovertebral Junction by Ross Specialty Imaging: Postoperative Spine by Ross Specialty Imaging: Pain Management by LaBarge Allows readers to understand the significance of a given radiologic finding and what should be done next for the appropriate care of that patient Each chapter contains Key Facts and 4 images (a mix of radiology images and drawings) with captions and extensive annotations designed specifically for surgeons, important clinical information, and definitions and clarifications of unfamiliar radiology nomenclature Selected prose intros and imaging anatomy chapters help nonradiology clinicians quickly master the key points of imaging relevant to spine surgery Written at a level accessible to neurosurgery and orthopedic residents, but also contains "pearls" the most experienced surgeons will find useful Expert Consult eBook version included, which allows you to search all of the text, figures, and references from the book on a variety of devices
Imaging of Cerebrovascular Disease by
Imaging plays an integral role in the diagnosis and intervention of debilitating, often fatal vascular diseases of the brain, such as ischemic and hemorrhagic stroke, aneurysms, and arteriovenous malformations (AVMs). Written by a world renowned neuro-radiologist and pioneer in the early adoption of magnetic resonance (MR) technology, Imaging of Cerebrovascular Disease is a concise yet remarkably thorough textbook that advances the reader's expertise on this subject. The text draws on the author's vast personal experience, case studies, and traditional educational sources, offering didactic dialogue with accompanying images. A practical clinical resource organized into six chapters, this book offers unparalleled breadth in delineating the diagnostic and treatment usages of modern imaging techniques. Chapter one sets a foundation with extensive coverage of modalities and their applications, including MR, computed tomography (CT) and digital subtraction angiography (DSA). Subsequent chapters cover utilization of imaging techniques specific to underlying pathologies. Key Features: In-depth discussion of medical and neuroradiologic/neurosurgical interventions, focusing on the use of imaging prior to, during, and following treatment Comprehensive text enhanced with more than 700 high-quality images Detailed evaluation of normal brain anatomy, as well as gyral anatomy in brain ischemia, an important subtopic Advantages, disadvantages, mortality, and morbidity of surgery (clipping) versus endovascular techniques (coiling and flow diversion) for aneurysms Presented in a style that facilitates cover-to-cover reading, this is an essential tool for residents and fellows, and provides a robust study guide prior to sitting for relevant certification exams. It is also a quick, invaluable reference for radiologists, neurosurgeons, and neurologists in the midst of a busy clinical day.
Imaging of the Spine by
Imaging of the Spine-an exhaustive, full-color reference-combines the ease of use of an atlas with the comprehensive coverage of a definitive reference work, in print and online. Renowned experts Drs. Thomas P. Naidich, Mauricio Castillo, Charles Raybaud, James G. Smirniotopoulos, Soonmee Cha, and Spyros Kollias cover every aspect of spine imaging, including the latest diagnostic modalities, interventional techniques, and image-guided procedures through over 1300 digital quality illustrations. Access the fully searchable text online at expertconsult.com, with downloadable images. View 1300 digital quality images of both radiographic images and cutting edge modalities-MR, multislice CT, ultrasonography, and nuclear medicine. Consult the expertise of a diverse group of experts from around the globe on the imaging of the spine. Tap into comprehensive coverage that includes diagnostic and therapeutic options, with an emphasis on cost-effective imaging. Find information quickly and easily thanks to consistent and tightly focused chapters, a full color design, and key points boxes.
Netter's Correlative Imaging: Neuroanatomy by
Interpret the complexities of neuroanatomy like never before with the unparalleled coverage and expert guidance from Drs. Srinivasan Mukundan and Thomas C. Lee in this outstanding volume of the Netter's Correlative Imaging series. Beautiful and instructive Netter paintings and illustrated cross-sections created in the Netter style are presented side by side high-quality patient images and key anatomic descriptions to help you envision and review intricate neuroanatomy. View the brain, spinal cord, and cranial nerves, as well as head and neck anatomy through modern imaging techniques in a variety of planes, complemented with a detailed illustration of each slice done in the instructional and aesthetic Netter style. Find anatomical landmarks quickly and easily through comprehensive labeling and concise text highlighting key points related to the illustration and image pairings. Correlate patient data to idealized normal anatomy, always in the same view with the same labeling system. Access NetterReference.com where you can quickly and simultaneously scroll through images and illustrations.
Neuroradiology: Spectrum and Evolution of Disease by
Acquire a better understanding of disease evolution and treatment response with Neuroradiology Spectrum and Evolution of Disease. The unique format includes carefully chosen clinical images that depict the pathologic evolution of disease from initial presentation across the continuum of progression. Colorful graphics plot characteristic changes, helping you visualize how normal and abnormal variations alter over time. Extensive illustrations and concise descriptions distill complex concepts, making this first-of-its-kind resource an excellent tool for imaging interpretation and clinical problem solving. Presents neurologic disease from a novel imaging perspective, emphasizing evolutionary development and pointing out patterns to recognize. Provides a state-of-the-art understanding of image interpretation based on early, middle, and late imaging characteristics; typical and atypical variants; and pre-treatment, post-treatment, progression, and regression characteristics. Guides you through the progression of disease with chronological indicators, additional clinical images and descriptions, and annotations that highlight atypical findings - for an easy-to-digest, visually memorable presentation. Helps you correctly interpret specific imaging characteristics you have never seen, even when the disease process is one you are familiar with. Enhanced eBook version included with purchase. Your enhanced eBook allows you to access all of the text, figures, and references from the book on a variety of devices.
Neuroradiology: the Requisites by
Now in its 4th Edition, this bestselling volume in the popular Requisites series, by Drs. Rohini Nadgir and David M. Yousem, thoroughly covers the extensive field of neuroradiology in an efficient and practical manner. Ideal for both clinical practice and ABR exam study, it presents everything you need to know about diagnostic imaging of the most commonly encountered neurological conditions. The authors address the conceptual, technical, and interpretive core knowledge needed for imaging the brain, spine, and head and neck, and discuss all the latest imaging modalities used, including diffusion weighted imaging, perfusion imaging, MR and CT angiography, and MR spectroscopy. Features 1,200 high-quality images throughout. Makes it easy to locate any topic of interest thanks to a logical organization by diseases and locations. Summarizes differential diagnoses in quick reference tables to reinforce important characteristics of diseases and aid in interpretation. Focuses on essentials to pass the boards and the Certificate of Added Qualification exam. Contains 50% new, updated, or improved illustrations. Covers new techniques such as diffusion tensor imaging tractography to identify white matter tracts. Offers new understandings of demyelination diseases such as neuromyelitis optica (NMO), reversible cerebral vasoconstriction syndrome (RCVS), immune reconstitution inflammatory syndrome (IRIS), and IgG4 related inflammatory disease. Provides updated World Health Organization classification of brain tumors and the recent American Joint Commission on Cancer TNM staging of head and neck cancers.
Pediatric Neuroradiology by
Written in the concise and engaging style of leading neuroradiologist Dr. Asim Choudhri, Pediatric Neuroradiology is a highly practical reference focusing on the most common, serious, and challenging conditions seen in the specialty. This book offers concise guidelines on very complex topics related to the areas of pediatric neuroradiology in which it is crucial that radiologists make correct diagnoses.
Radiosurgery of the Skull Base: a Case-Based Approach by
This book, Radiosurgery of the Skull Base: A Case-Based Approach , by Agazzi, Berk, and Noureldine, serves as an important reference for all Skull Base Neurosurgeons. Its value rests not just on the technical details it provides on the radiation treatment of complex skull base tumors, but also on the philosophical tenet it espouses – that every patient deserves the benefits of having their surgeon guide them through their radiation decision-making, implementation, and surveillance. When radiosurgery was first added to the neurosurgical armamentarium, the question was binary (operate or radiate) and often contentious between specialists. Now it has morphed into one of the skull base surgeon’s most valuable and versatile tools that can be used to modify the degree of planned surgical resection, prevent or control recurrence, or avoid surgery altogether, all to the benefit of the patient.
As radiosurgery and radiotherapy become part of the overall surgical plan, the Skull Base Surgeon becomes the patient’s guide to choosing the correct modality, designing the dosimetry plan, and managing complications, which, in the case of radiation necrosis, may become a second surgical decision point. Determining the interplay between radiation and surgery requires intimate knowledge of the patient’s place in life, personal goals, reliability for surveillance, and emotional as well as physical tolerance for additional surgery. Designing the dosimetry plan for complex skull base tumors is not simply determined by tables and charts, nor is it an outline of anything that enhances after surgery. The surgeon must factor into the dosimetry plot areas where tumor has been left behind but does not show up on imaging, areas that enhance but represent only inflammation, scarring, or grafting material, and areas where the surgeon predicts the tumor will recur. It requires a qualitative assessment of how surgical trauma to critical neurovascular structures might have altered their radiation tolerance and must take into consideration any disconnect between the cellular characteristics of the tumor and its observed biological behavior. Appropriate and tailored radiation planning must incorporate a deep understanding of the patient’s tolerance for the risk of radiation injury versus the risk of progression or recurrence.
As Skull Base Surgeons incorporate radiation and radiosurgery into their surgical plan and guide the patient through both decision-making and implementation, the consequences of those decisions will also accrue to the surgeons. They should study both the science and the art of radiation and radiosurgery. Like a fireman running towards a burning building and not away from it, do not run away from your patients when the time for radiation arrives, but run towards the burning building. This book is a good place to start that journey.
Skull Base Imaging by
Use today's latest technology and methods to optimize imaging of complex skull base anatomy. This practical reference offers expert guidance on accurate preoperative lesion localization and the evaluation of its relationship with adjacent neurovascular structures. Features a wealth of information for radiologists and surgeons on current CT and MR imaging as they relate to skull base anatomy. Covers localizing skull base lesions, reaching the appropriate differential diagnosis, and deciding which surgical approach is best. Consolidates today's available information and guidance in this challenging area into one convenient resource.
Top 3 Differentials in Neuroradiology: a Case Review by
Top 3 Differentials in Radiology: A Case Review is a practical case-based reference that will enable radiologists and radiology residents to hone their skills in developing differential diagnoses for common imaging findings. Presented as unknowns, the cases are arranged into twelve main sections based on radiology subspecialties. The book presents each case as a two-page unit. The left page features clinical images and a brief description of the clinical presentation. The right page provides the key imaging finding, Top 3 differential diagnoses, additional differential diagnoses, the final diagnosis, and imaging pearls. The final section of the book contains selected cases from all radiology subspecialties with distinctive imaging findings that should lead definitively to a single diagnosis.
Video Atlas of Acute Ischemic Stroke Intervention by
The go-to resource for managing a full spectrum of clinical scenarios in acute ischemic stroke Ever-evolving technological advances have created a daunting number of emergent neurointerventional protocols and therapies for treating acute ischemic stroke. This has created an urgent need for reader-friendly, hands-on resources. Video Atlas of Acute Ischemic Stroke Intervention edited by renowned neuroinventional stroke experts Maxim Mokin, Elad I. Levy, Adnan H. Siddiqui, and esteemed contributors fills a void in education and knowledge with interactive, case-based guidance on mastering challenging stroke interventions. The atlas leverages current knowledge and decades of experience in acute stroke treatment and device innovations to familiarize clinicians at various career stages with a wide repertoire of techniques available in the neurointerventional suite. The book focuses on technical aspects of interventional stroke procedures including pitfalls and complications, an overview of the most useful tools of the trade, and discussion of pre- and post-procedural care. Eighteen chapters provide comprehensive coverage on the most common endovascular treatment approaches for acute stroke--aspiration and stent-retriever thrombectomy of proximal, distal, and tandem occlusions. Several cases focus on recognition and management of complications that clinicians may encounter during emergent procedures. Topics include the importance of arterial access, unmet need in current devices, and methods for overcoming these challenges. Key Highlights Thirty-eight individually narrated, high-definition videos describe angiographic and procedural cases, step by step High-quality illustrations emphasize and delineate key aspects of complex procedures Firsthand tips and tricks enhance the ability to manage highly challenging and less common pathologies, including arterial dissection, atherosclerosis, and venous strokes This must-have resource will benefit all practitioners involved in the interventional care of patients with acute ischemic stroke. This book includes complimentary access to a digital copy on https://medone.thieme.com.