Point of Care
- AskMayoExpert This link opens in a new window AskMayoExpert captures Mayo-vetted expert knowledge and delivers it at the point of care. This application is aimed at becoming a highly credible knowledge source for the non-specialist and a tool to facilitate interaction between Mayo clinicians.
- Mayo Formulary This link opens in a new window List of drugs approved for use at Mayo Clinic based upon safety, efficacy, and financial impact.
- Mayo Clinic Guide to Antimicrobial Therapy Quick Guide We designed this electronic handbook to serve as a simplified, quick reference guide for the busy day-to-day office and hospital clinical practice. This guide provides updated information about antimicrobial agents and select infectious disease syndromes in a format that is readily accessible and easily applicable to the clinical environment.
- AJCC Cancer Staging System - Version 9 (2024) The American Joint Committee on Cancer (AJCC) made an important change to how it updates and releases Cancer Staging content. The AJCC shifted from a Cancer Staging Manual to a Cancer Staging System and moved away from Editions to Versions. Updated Version 9 disease sites go into effect on January 1 following their release. AJCC Protocol for Cancer Staging Documentation, Version 9 The new AJCC Protocol Version 9 content is presented in a streamlined, easy-to-use format including synoptic staging report format, tables, explanatory notes, and illustrations. All disease sites in the 8th Edition Cancer Staging Manual remain current until replaced with Version 9. This manual was prepared and published through the support of the American College of Surgeons, the American Cancer Society, the American Society of Clinical Oncology, the College of American Pathologists, and the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention This work is subject to copyright. All rights are reserved by the ACS, whether the whole or the part of the material is concerned, specifically the rights of translation, reprinting, reuse of illustrations, recitations, broadcasting, reproduction on any physical or digital media, transmission or storage and retrieval, electronic adaptation, computer software, or by any similar or dissimilar technology known now or in the future. The use of general descriptive names, registered names, trademarks, service marks, etc. in this content does not imply, even in the absence of a specific statement, that such names are exempt from the relevant protective laws and regulations and therefore free for general use. ACS and the authors of this content are safe to assume that the advice and information in this content are believed to be true and accurate at the date of publication. Neither the ACS nor any authors or editors give a warranty, expressed or implied, with respect to the material contained herein or for any errors or omissions that may have been made. AJCC Cancer Staging Manual – 8th Ed. (2017) Users who require access to the original AJCC Cancer Staging Manual – 8th Ed. (2017) may view it here. The 8th edition manual is provided in its entirety as a reference and should not be used in developing new treatment plans. All current staging protocols are provided within the Version 9 AJCC Cancer Staging System.
- CINAHL This link opens in a new window Covers nursing and allied health disciplines. Includes journal articles, healthcare books, nursing dissertations, selected conference proceedings and standards of professional practice. Some full text available.
- Lippincott Procedures This link opens in a new window Point of care evidence-based guidance for over 1700 procedures and skills from a wide variety of nursing specialties. Also includes Mayo site-specific policies.
- AccessEmergencyMedicine This link opens in a new window Collection of books, case files, study tools, and procedure videos with an emergency medicine focus.
- AccessMedicine This link opens in a new window Reference tool containing online textbooks, images & illustrations, case files, diagnostic tools, and self-assessment examinations.
- AccessPediatrics This link opens in a new window Comprehensive Pediatric resource containing key textbooks, case files, study tools and videos.
- AccessSurgery This link opens in a new window Contains surgery textbooks, case studies, board reviews, images and procedure videos.
- ClinicalKey This link opens in a new window Clinical medicine resource which includes thousands of Elsevier electronic books and journals, practice guidelines, videos of procedures, images, and more. Login required to view PDF chapters of books. Registration in upper right corner of website.
- UpToDate This link opens in a new window UpToDate, an electronic clinical resource tool for physicians and patients that provides information on Adult Primary Care and Internal Medicine, Allergy and Immunology, and more …
Ferri's Clinical Advisor 2025 by
This book is intended to be a clear and concise reference for physicians and allied health professionals. Its user-friendly format is designed to provide a fast and efficient way to identify important clinical information and to offer practical guidance in patient management. The book is divided into five sections and an appendix, each with emphasis on clinical information.
The tremendous success of the previous editions and the enthusiastic comments from numerous colleagues have brought about several positive changes over time. This is the 27th edition of Ferri’s Clinical Advisor , a bestseller nationally and internationally and now available in multiple languages. Each section has been significantly expanded from prior editions, bringing the total number of medical topics covered in this book to more than 1200. New illustrations, tables, and boxes have been added to this edition to enhance recollection of clinically important facts. The expedited claims submission and reimbursement ICD-10CM codes are included in all topics.
ISBN: 9780443117244
Clinical Trials
- CenterWatch: Clinical Trials Listing Service This link opens in a new window Designed to be a resource for both patients interested in participating in clinical trials and for research professionals.
- Clinical Trials Listing This link opens in a new window Provides regularly updated information about federally and privately supported clinical trials. Provides information about a trial's purpose, who may participate, locations, and phone numbers for more details.
Education
- Lippincott Procedures This link opens in a new window Point of care evidence-based guidance for over 1700 procedures and skills from a wide variety of nursing specialties. Also includes Mayo site-specific policies.
- Contact Hour/Credit Sources for Nursing Subject guide This guide contains a listing of resources for nurse continuing education credits.
- Review/Certification Resources for Nurses his guide contains books and multimedia resources available at Plummer and SMH Staff Library that may be useful when preparing for professional nursing certification exams.
Adult CCRN Exam Prep Study Guide by
Adult CCRN® Exam Prep Study Guide gets right to the point with targeted content based on the latest AACN exam blueprint. This easy-to-follow guide includes all the tools you need to prepare, practice, and pass the exam—and nothing you don't. PREPARE Concise coverage of the content you'll be tested on. Quick-reference features with complications, alerts, and nursing pearls. Need-to-know information to prepare you for exam day. PRACTICE Two full-length practice tests—one in book and one online—to assess your readiness and simulate the test-taking experience. Detailed rationales for correct and incorrect answers. Pop quizzes that highlight key information you don't want to miss. PASS The first time with Springer Publishing Exam Prep's 100% Pass Guarantee. With confidence, knowing you're well-prepared with all the skills and knowledge you need on exam day and in practice. With pride in your commitment to patient health and safety. CCRN® is a registered trademark of the American Association of Critical-Care Nurses (AACN). AACN does not endorse this resource, nor does it have a proprietary relationship with Springer Publishing Company.
AGNP Certification Intensive Review: PLUS 875 Practice Questions with Detailed Rationales, 5th ed. by
Includes 6 months' free access to the companion ExamPrepConnect review course! Completely revised and updated, this #1-bestselling resource has prepared thousands of candidates to successfully pass their Adult Gerontology Nurse Practitioner (AGNP) exams. Organized by body system and providing easy-to-navigate content on Danger Signals, Normal Findings, Lab Findings, and Benign Variants, AGNP Certification Intensive Review, Fifth Edition, is a comprehensive yet concise review of exam topics covered on the current AANPCB and ANCC blueprints. With an expanded chapter on question dissection and analysis, as well as test-taking tips throughout, this is the most complete package to prepare fully for the AGNP exam. Featuring full-color photos, illustrations, tables, more than 1,200 practice questions with detailed rationales, and up-to-date content on the latest clinical guidelines, this book will prepare you to pass on exam day. This essential reference empowers you with the tools and materials to study your way and the confidence to pass the first time, guaranteed! Key Features: Reflects the latest AANPCB and ANCC exam blueprints. Contains 4 full-length timed practice exams that provide extensive preparation so you're ready for exam day. Includes hundreds of new end-of-chapter questions with detailed rationales. Provides high-yield review of essential knowledge for the exam and clinical practice. Features an intensive and updated pharmacology review including dosing guidelines. Boosts your confidence with a 100% pass guarantee. Offers on-the-go digital access with ExamPrepConnect. ExamPrepConnect: Review all the high-quality content from the book Take 4 full-length timed practice exams that simulate your exam-day experience. Build custom quizzes or study by exam topic. Sharpen your test-taking skills with interactive Q&A tools. Practice with hundreds of flashcards to review key terms. Take notes, highlight, and bookmark content. Study with your peers in the community discussion boards. Access everything on any device. See access details inside the book. The certifying bodies for the Adult Gerontology Nurse Practitioner exam are the American Academy of Nurse Practitioners Certification Board (AANPCB) and the American Nurses Credentialing Center (ANCC). AANPCB and ANCC do not sponsor or endorse this resource, nor do they have a proprietary relationship with Springer Publishing.
ISBN: 9780826170682Publication Date: 2023-12-28
CNM and WHNP Certification Review: Comprehensive Review, PLUS 400 Questions Based on the Latest Exam Blueprint by
CNM® and WHNP® Certification Review is designed to help you prepare for both the American Midwifery Certification Board (AMCB) CNM®/CM® exam and the National Certification Corporation (NCC) WHNP-BC® exam. This comprehensive resource begins with test-taking strategies and tips on how to manage test anxiety. Chapters are organized according to the exam blueprints and present the information in a clear, concise format. Charts and diagrams are featured to consolidate and illustrate key points and key pharmacology information is highlighted. Each chapter encompasses all the essential knowledge required to pass both exams and includes end-of-chapter questions to assess knowledge retention. The review concludes with two full-length practice tests, one for each certification. With a total of 400 unique practice questions, detailed review content and answer rationales, this resource gives you the tools to study your way and the confidence to pass the first time, guaranteed! Key Features Reflects the latest AMCB and NCC exam blueprints Provides a comprehensive yet concise review of essential knowledge for the exam Covers essential pharmacology content and key medications Highlights key details about diversity, equity, outreach, and inclusion as well as the historical factors that led to health discrepancies Includes end-of-chapter Q&A and two full-length practice tests with detailed rationales Boosts your confidence with a 100% pass guarantee For 70 years, it has been our greatest privilege to prepare busy nurses like you for professional certification and career success. Congratulations on qualifying to sit for the exam. Now let's get you ready to pass! CNM® and CM® are registered service marks of the American Midwifery Certification Board. WHNP-BC® is a registered service mark of the National Certification Corporation. Neither AMCB nor NCC sponsor or endorse this resource, nor do they have a proprietary relationship with Springer Publishing.
ISBN: 9780826170767
Evaluation and Testing in Nursing Education, 7th ed. by
Previous edition AJN 2020 Book of the Year! With expert, comprehensive guidance on the assessment and evaluation of student learning in multiple settings, this award-winning text remains the gold standard in this sphere of nursing education. The seventh edition incorporates the latest changes in the field and presents a new chapter on developing test components that prepare students for the Next Generation NCLEX, including descriptions and illustrations of the novel item types. The resource presents an expanded discussion on assessment of higher-level learning and clinical judgment, new content on assessment of competencies, examples of new item types in all chapters, updated information on online testing, more in-depth explanations of how to analyze and score NGN items with examples, and new content on evaluating students in online nursing programs. Also unique to this edition is practical advice on developing test blueprints and creating all types of test components including NCLEX-type items and the Next Generation NCLEX. The text continues to present fundamental measurement and evaluation concepts to aid current and future nurse educators in designing, critiquing, and employing pertinent test and evaluation tools along with guidance for evaluating instructor and program effectiveness. It also examines key social, ethical, and legal issues associated with testing and evaluation, including prevention of cheating and designing academic policies for testing, grading, and progression. Purchase includes digital access for use on most mobile devices or computers. New to the Seventh Edition: Discussion of competencies for assessment New chapter on developing test questions and other components preparing students for the Next Generation NCLEX In-depth explanations of how to analyze and score NGN items with examples and exhibits Examples of test items in each chapter Strategies for assessing higher-level learning and clinical judgment Updated content for online testing New content on evaluating students in online nursing programs Key Features: Discusses assessment of competencies Presents strategies for evaluating higher-level cognitive skills and clinical judgment Describes how to develop test blueprints and assemble, administer, write, and analyze tests Provides guidelines for writing all types of test items including Next Generation NCLEX (NGN) Includes explanations of how to analyze and score NGN items with examples and exhibits Details how to evaluate written assignments with sample scoring rubrics Includes extensive instructor resources including sample syllabus, course modules, learning activities, discussion questions, online resources, PowerPoints, and more
Fundamentals Success: NCLEX®-Style Q&A Review, 6th ed. by
Fundamentals made manageable! Assure your mastery of the fundamentals of nursing while developing your critical-thinking, clinical judgment, and test-taking skills. Over 1,200 classroom-tested, NCLEX®-style questions—including more than 440 alternate-item-format questions prepare you for success now and on the Next Gen NCLEX®. An easy-to-follow format organizes information into 25 content areas. Each question provides answers and rationales for correct and incorrect responses and strategies for how to develop your critical-thinking skills.
Illustrated Study Guide for the NCLEX-RN® Exam, 11th ed. by
Who says studying for the NCLEX® can't be fun? Illustrated Study Guide for the NCLEX-RN® Exam, 11th Edition uses colorful drawings and mnemonic cartoons to help you review and remember the nursing content found on the NCLEX-RN examination. A concise outline format makes it easier to study key facts, principles, and applications of the nursing process. More than 2,500 NCLEX exam-style questions on the Evolve website allow you to create practice exams, identify your strengths and weaknesses, and review answers and rationales. Written by noted NCLEX expert JoAnn Zerwekh, this study guide provides a visual, unintimidating way to prepare for success on the NCLEX-RN exam. More than 2,500 review questions on the Evolve website allow you to practice test-taking in Study or Exam mode. UNIQUE! Mnemonic cartoons provide a fun, easy way to review and remember key nursing concepts and disease processes. UNIQUE! Integrated systems approach incorporates pediatric, adult, and older adult lifespan considerations for basic nursing care concepts. UNIQUE! Appendixes in each chapter summarize diagnostic tests, medications, and nursing procedures for quick reference. Answers and rationales are provided for all review questions. Alternate item format questions on Evolve prepare you for the interactive question types on the NCLEX examination, including priority, drag-and-drop, and hot-spot questions. Priority Concepts at the beginning of each chapter focus your attention on the chapter's key nursing concepts. Nursing Priority boxes make it easier to distinguish priorities of nursing care. Test Alert boxes highlight concepts frequently found on the NCLEX test plan. Pharmacology tables make key drug information easy to find, with high-alert medications noted by a special icon. Special icons distinguish pediatric and adult disorders, and identify Self-Care and Home Care content. NEW! Patient Scenarios and Next Generation NCLEX® (NGN) Examination-Style question types on the Evolve website provide practice with these new types of questions. NEW! Review of the NCSBN's clinical judgment model and six cognitive skills helps to prepare you for the nursing profession and taking the NCLEX-RN® examination. NEW! Pediatric content is moved into a separate new chapter and organized by body systems.
Medical-Surgical Nursing Certification Review, 1st ed. by
Note to Readers: Publisher does not guarantee quality or access to any included digital components if book is purchased through a third-party seller. Medical-Surgical Nursing Certification Review: A Practical Guide is designed to help you prepare for both the MSNCB Certified Medical-Surgical Registered Nurse (CMSRN (R)) and ANCC Medical-Surgical Nursing Certification (MEDSURG-BC (TM)) certification exams. This comprehensive study aid begins with information about the exams, legal and professional issues, and a homeostasis chapter focused on the core concepts of medical-surgical nursing and bedside emergencies. The remaining chapters are organized by body system and are presented in a concise, easy to follow format which includes pharmacology, laboratory, and diagnostic tables throughout. Relevant case studies, key takeaways, test-taking tips, and illustrations are incorporated to help clarify key concepts. Each chapter covers everything you need to know to pass the exam and includes end-of-chapter questions to check your knowledge. The review concludes with a full-length practice test to get you ready for exam day. With more than 300 practice questions, detailed review content and answer rationales, and access to ExamPrepConnect, this study aid empowers you with the tools and materials to study your way and the confidence to pass the first time, guaranteed! Know that you're ready. Know that you'll pass with Springer Publishing Exam Prep. Key Features Reflects the latest MSNCB and ANCC exam blueprints Provides a comprehensive yet concise review of essential knowledge for the exam Features pharmacology, laboratory, and diagnostic tables to help organize information Highlights case studies, key takeaways, and test-taking tips Includes end-of-chapter Q&A and a full practice test with detailed rationales Boosts your confidence with a 100% pass guarantee Offers on-the-go digital access with ExamPrepConnect ExamPrepConnect-the digital study platform that guides you confidently through your exam prep journey. With this score-boosting study tool, you can: Review all the high-quality content from the book Get organized by using the personalized study plan based on your exam date Study by topic to identify your strengths and weaknesses Strengthen your knowledge with 325 practice questions and detailed answer rationales Prepare for exam day with a full 3-hour timed practice test Connect and chat with fellow med-surg test takers using the discussion board Play games to make studying fun See access code details inside the book. CMSRN (R) is a registered service mark of the Medical-Surgical Nursing Certification Board (MSNCB). MSNCB does not sponsor or endorse this resource, nor does it have a proprietary relationship with Springer Publishing. MEDSURG-BC (TM) is a registered service mark of the American Nurses Credentialing Center (ANCC). ANCC does not sponsor or endorse this resource, nor does it have a proprietary relationship with Springer Publishing.
Pediatric CCRN® Certification Review : Comprehensive Review, PLUS 300 Questions Based on the Latest Exam Blueprint by
Comprehensive Review, PLUS 300 Questions Based on the Latest Exam Blueprint
ISBN: 9780826193193
Research Methodology for Allied Health Professionals by
Research Methodology is one of the essential subjects for Master's and Ph.D. students, which requires a comprehensive understanding of the subjects with their scientific application. This book would target all aspects, including detailed information on components of research methodology, to enable readers to conduct and write their research work. Thus, the book covers a larger audience in the allied health stream, focusing on university students and Ph.D. scholars. The language of the book is simple and lucid, with multiple illustrations for easy understanding. Ultimately the book would aim to prepare competitive health professionals to render the highest quality of research work and enable them to transform it into their clinical practice. With years of vast experience and research output, the project will have a great success and fruitful outcome.
Core eBooks
Davis's Comprehensive Manual of Laboratory and Diagnostic Tests with Nursing Implications by Great for nursing school, you will use it constantly."Best nursing lab book I've encountered. Definitely worth the money."--Online Reviewer Supports nursing practice and clinical judgment better than any other manual! Written by a laboratory scientist and a nurse educator, this easy-to-read, full-color manual delivers all the information you need to understand how tests work, interpret their results, and provide quality patient care--pre-test, intra-test, and post-test--with a unique focus on clinical judgment. Tests and procedures are listed in alphabetical order by their complete name for quick reference. The integrated index allows fast searches by abbreviation, synonym, disease/disorder, specimen type, or test classification. Explore more! An access code in new, print texts unlocks Fast Find: Lab & Dx, the complete monograph library online. New! "Core Lab Study" labels identifying 35 need-to-know, clinically significant laboratory studies New! "Nursing Implications, Nursing Process, Clinical Judgement" sections, and a "Clinical Judgment" statement at the end of every entry "Potential Nursing Problems" tables "Common Use" explanations for each monograph Coverage of patient teaching, patient safety, and "Sensitivity to Social and Cultural Issues" and "Nutritional Considerations," where appropriate Diagnostic imaging monographs with explanations of the reasons for the test results Pathophysiology information that explains why a lab test result is increased or decreased Reference Ranges in both conventional and SI units (with the SI unit conversion factor) that include age- and gender-specific variations when indicated and normal variations due to cultural considerations Interfering Factors, including food, natural products, timing of test, handling of specimens, underlying patient conditions, and drugs that may interfere with the results of the test Laboratory and diagnostic tests for subspecialties, such as maternity, therapeutic drug monitoring, nutrition and sensory Cross referencing of related lab and diagnostic tests in every monograph
Davis's Diseases and Disorders: A Nursing Therapeutics Manual, 7th ed. by
Everything you need to know about caring for patients—in a succinct easy-to-understand "must-have" guide! Put information on more than 240 diseases and disorders at your fingertips. Clear, comprehensive discussions of pathophysiology—with rationales in the test and intervention sections—help you deliver effective care with confidence.
ISBN: 9781719648400
Essential Procedures for Emergency, Urgent, and Primary Care Settings: A Clinical Companion, 3rd ed. by
A comprehensive, step-by-step, well-illustrated introduction to common clinical procedures This text is a user-friendly guide to performing 77 clinical procedures, ranging from those commonly performed to those infrequently called upon when minutes count in emergency, urgent, and primary care settings. This heavily updated third edition includes current and comprehensive text, graphic, and video instruction on the use of bedside ultrasound for procedural guidance in order to increase procedural accuracy and mitigate complications. Edited and written by academically accomplished physicians, physician assistants, and nurse practitioners, an interprofessional approach to the performance of procedures is highlighted throughout the book. Procedures are consistently formatted and presented in clear language with step-by-step detail organized by system-specific categories for easy access to information. Each procedure includes background considerations, indications & contraindications for performing the procedure, technique for safe and correct performance, special considerations, complications, post-procedure considerations, and patient education points. Original photos, videos, high quality sonographic footage, line drawings, and tables reinforce the guidelines and procedures. Abundant "Clinical Pearls" throughout the manuscript offer practical applications of key information representing years of clinical technical experience. Extensive references at the end of each chapter further enhance the book's utility New to the Third Edition: Delivers 16 completely new chapters covering a plethora of newly added procedures, incorporating an interprofessional approach to performing procedures Previous chapters have been extensively updated and expanded Provides new illustrative videos Presents a corresponding list of CPT codes Key Features: Delivers current, concise, step-by-step information for performing 77 commonly and less commonly used clinical procedures Provides abundant four-color photos and figures illustrating each procedure Organized by body system to provide fast access to key information Enriched with point of care ultrasound guided procedures Thoroughly introduces and teaches sonography at the most fundamental level as an important tool to enhance accuracy of procedures Reflects latest guidelines and evidence-based practice Includes prominently displayed links to numerous videos throughout the text Includes 12 months' free Springer Connect Digital Access with print purchase!
Evidence-Based Physical Examination: Best Practices for Health and Well-Being Assessment, 2nd ed. by
The assessment text of today and the future! This unique text is the first to combine scientific and holistic approaches to health assessment while being the first book to also take the health and well-being of the clinician into account. This valuable resource utilizes the best evidence and clinical relevance underpinning advanced history-taking and assessment techniques incorporating the most current guidelines from reliable sources, such as the U.S. Preventative Services Task Force, the Choosing Wisely® initiative, and the NAM's Core Competencies for Health Care Clinicians. The updated second edition offers more in-depth recognition of population health concepts, and as a result includes greater use of inclusive language, social determinants of health assessments, identification of health inequities, and racial, ethnic, gender, and age considerations within advanced assessment. This edition delivers increased coverage of documentation, abundant new content addressing therapeutic communication and changing practice environments, and unique chapters focused on the assessment of a growing cohort of older patients, the LGBTQ+ population, telehealth, abuse, and clinician wellness. Chapters have a consistent structure and include anatomy and physiology, key history questions and considerations, physical exam, lab and imaging considerations, evidence-based practice recommendations, and differential diagnoses for both normal and abnormal findings. Case studies, clinical pearls, and key takeaways aid retention, while abundant illustrations, photographic images, and videos demonstrate history-taking and assessment techniques. Instructor resources include PowerPoint slides, a test bank with multiple-choice and essay questions, additional case studies with short answer questions, an image bank, and a course cartridge. Purchase includes digital access for use on most mobile devices or computers. New to the Second Edition: Prioritization of the importance of clinician well-being as a prerequisite for implementing evidence-based assessment Inclusion of an environmental assessment for clinician safety All chapters, where applicable, include COVID-19 implications and considerations Two brandnew chapters (Chapter 6, "Evidence-Based Assessment of the Older Adult" and Chapter 10, "Evidence-Based Assessment of the Vascular System") Inclusion of Pre-Admission Testing and Pre-employment physical assessments to Chapter 28, "Evidence-Based Assessments for Medical Clearance" Additional content addressing considerations when assessing patients with obesity Inclusion of a checklist denoting best practice guidelines for telehealth visits Key Features: Focused on evidence and practical application of assessment skills to ensure the highest quality of care Emphasizes health and well-being for both the clinician and patient Delivers the evidence, acceptability, and clinical relevance behind history-taking and assessment techniques Focuses on the most current clinical guidelines from the U.S. Preventive Services Task Force, the Choosing Wisely® initiative, and highly recognized clinical practice organizations Aids retention through case studies, clinical pearls, and key takeaways  Demonstrates techniques with abundant illustrations, photographic images, and videos  Includes abundant instructor resources
Fast Facts for Evidence-Based Practice in Nursing by
Helps readers to grasp the language and process of research with ease With updated content and new references throughout, the fourth edition of this quick-access resource delivers key information on the foundations of evidence-based practice (EBP) and fundamental nursing research concepts. Readers of the new edition will benefit from information on the newest trends in EBP, new case studies demonstrating how evidence can be translated into practice, expanded coverage of EBP models, and end-of-chapter study questions with rationales to promote learning. Written for students of EBP and practicing nurses who wish to integrate research-based theory into their daily practice, this resource outlines different types of research in easy-to-understand language with the goal of applying EBP into daily practice. New to the Fourth Edition: Updated throughout with new information and references Includes case studies demonstrating how evidence can be translated into practice Provides expanded coverage of EBP models Offers study questions with rationales at the end of each chapter Key Features: Describes step by step how EBP can be implemented to improve patient care Written in abbreviated "Fast Facts" style with brief, bulleted information Includes examples of how hospitals and healthcare providers are integrating EBP into their practice Advises students on developing and completing EBP projects
ISBN: 9780826146755
The Fifteen Minute Hour by
The Fifteen Minute Hour is well-established as a classic text, providing invaluable support for primary care practitioners aiming to increase patient satisfaction without adding significantly to the length of a visit. This sixth edition continues to emphasise a patient-centred approach to help practitioners enhance the therapeutic relationship with their patients. With a renewed focus on wellness and health promotion, the book offers simple and effective techniques to solve or prevent psychological and behavioural problems manifested in the consultation. The Fifteen Minute Hour has become essential reading around the world, and this sixth edition is completely updated with brand new case material based on real-world consultations, additional techniques for managing chronic conditions including pain, and new references substantiating the efficacy of the authors' methods.
Leadership in Nursing Practice: Changing the Landscape of Health Care by
Each new print copy includes Navigate 2 Premier Access that unlocks a comprehensive eBook, interactive lectures, student practice activities and assessments, a full suite of instructor resources, and learning analytics reporting tools. Leadership in Nursing Practice: Changing the Landscape of Health Care, Third Edition, gives nursing students the opportunity to develop the leadership skill set they will need to succeed in the field. The text acknowledges that not all nurses will be managers, but that all, regardless of career path, will be leaders. The Third Edition focuses on current leadership, innovation, and organization theory and prepares students for a transition into leadership positions. It also explores time management, finance and fiscal management, communication and negotiation, ethical decision making, career management, and much more.The Third Edition features end-of-chapter questions that align with the AONE nurse leader competencies, the AACN BSN Essentials, and NCLEX leadership content. This emphasis increases the text's relevancy for students in both RN-to-BSN and pre-licensure programs.In addition, two new authors lend their expertise on nursing from both the health system and academic perspective, thereby enhancing the applicability and relevancy to students and faculty alike.Key Features:Leadership stylesCareer trajectories in nursingJob search skills, including resume writing and interviewingTechnology and informaticsInterprofessional practiceInnovation and performance improvementLeadership in population health and ambulatory careNavigate 2 Premier Access
Mosby's Diagnostic and Laboratory Test Reference by
Perform today's important lab tests safely and accurately! With test entries organized the way you'll use them, Mosby's® Diagnostic & Laboratory Test Reference makes it fast and easy to look up current testing information. Concise monographs are arranged alphabetically and include vital information such as the type of test, alternate or abbreviated test names, test explanation, normal and abnormal findings, possible critical values, contraindications, potential complications, interfering factors, and guidelines to patient care before, during, and after the test. From the experienced author team of Kathleen Deska Pagana, Timothy J. Pagana, and Theresa Noel Pagana, this bestselling handbook offers a compact size, durable cover, and A-to-Z thumb tabs for quick reference while on the job. Alphabetically organized tests offer quick reference with A-to-Z thumb tabs. Each test entry begins on a new page, making tests easy to find. User's Guide to Test Preparation and Procedures provides an overview and guidelines for each type of laboratory test and diagnostic procedure to ensure that each is performed accurately and safely, and to prevent having to repeat a test due to an error. Normal findings for adult, elderly, and pediatric patients are included where applicable. Abnormal findings are highlighted with directional arrows, and are now alphabetized for fast reference. Possible critical values are highlighted to alert you to situations requiring immediate intervention. Icons for drug-related interfering factors alert you to the effects of pharmacologic agents on tests. Icons for patient teaching-related care indicate information that should be shared with patients and their families. Abbreviations for diagnostic and laboratory tests are provided inside the back cover, and appendices list blood tests used for disease and organ panels as well as symbols and units of measurement. Appendix with lists of tests by body system and by type allow you to quickly locate related studies. Inside front cover includes pages with easy-to-find information on common reference ranges for healthy adults, routine blood testing, and routine urine testing. Durable cover with rounded edges makes this manual ideal for use in the practice setting. NEW! Thirteen new monographs cover the latest tests and procedures; 11 outdated monographs are removed. NEW! Updated content reflects the latest research relating to accuracy of testing, diagnostic values of results, and patient care and education for each test.
Mosby's 2024 Nursing Drug Reference, 37th ed. by
Choose the drug handbook trusted by nurses for over 35 years! Mosby's 2024 Nursing Drug Reference makes it easy to find the most vital information on the drugs you administer most frequently. More than 5,000 drugs are profiled - including more than 25 new entries for drugs recently approved by the FDA. And no other drug guide places a higher emphasis on patient safety, with Black Box Warnings for dangerous adverse reactions, High Alerts for drugs with the greatest risk, and a focus on both common and life-threatening side effects. From nursing pharmacology expert Linda Skidmore-Roth, this perennial bestseller proves there is a difference in drug guides. More than 5,000 generic and trade-name drugs are profiled, covering almost every drug you will administer in practice or in clinicals. Alphabetical organization by generic name provides quick and easy access to specific drugs, with both trade and generic names listed in the index. Bolded coverage of IV drug administration highlights dosage and IV administration instructions, including safety considerations and Y-site, syringe, and additive compatibilities. Nursing Process steps are used as the framework for organizing all nursing care information. Complete pharmacokinetic information is summarized in a table and includes the mechanism and absorption of the drug as well as its action, duration, and excretion. Side effects information is organized by body system and identified as common or life threatening, showing signs to watch for during assessments. High Alert headers highlight drugs that pose the greatest risk if administered improperly. Black Box Warnings provide alerts to FDA warnings of dangerous or life-threatening drug reactions. Overview of drug categories explains the safe administration of common classes of drugs, as well as their common side effects and interactions. Flexible, water-resistant cover provides durability in the clinical setting. NEW! Drug monographs for more than 25 newly released, FDA-approved medications equip you with the latest drug information including generic names, trade names, pronunciations, do-not-confuse drugs, action, uses, contraindications, precautions, dosages and routes, side effects, pharmacokinetics, interactions (including drug/herb, drug/food and drug/lab test), nursing considerations, treatment of overdose, patient/family teaching, and more. NEW! Several online-only drug monographs are added to the Evolve website, creating an overall total of more than 100 Evolve-only drug monographs for lesser-used medications.
Nursing: Scope and Standards of Practice, 4th ed. by
Nursing: Scope and Standards of Practice, 4th Edition is an essential document for every nurse. The scope of practice statement answers the who, what, when, where, how, and why questions of nursing. The standards provide authoritative statements of the actions and behaviors that all registered nurses are expected to competently perform, regardless of role, population, specialty, and setting. Each standard is accompanied by detailed competencies for the three practice levels. The product of extensive thought work by many registered nurses, this new edition provides: A revised and contemporary definition of nursing. An extensive discussion of respect, equity, inclusion, and social justice. The new ANA Professional Nursing Model and the revised Model Representing Regulation of Professional Nursing Practice. An expanded discussion of the application of ethics in nursing. A complete picture of the dynamic and complex practice of nursing and its membership and evolving boundaries. 18 national standards of practice and professional performance and their accompanying competencies. This premier professional resource informs and guides nurses in their vital work providing safe, quality, and competent care. It is a must-have for every registered nurse.
Quick Medical Diagnosis & Treatment Pediatrics by
ISBN: 1264257619
Wallach's Interpretation of Diagnostic Tests, 11th ed. by
Selected as a Doody's Core Title for 2021 and 2023! An excellent resource for appropriate test ordering and interpretation, Wallach's Interpretation of Diagnostic Tests, 11th Edition, helps you save time, avoid errors, and arrive at an accurate diagnosis. Organized into two easy-to-reference sections, this fully revised manual provides comprehensive, practical information on common and uncommon disease states and their diagnosis by laboratory test. The eleventh edition has been revised and reorganized based on reader feedback, helping primary care physicians, subspecialists, physician assistants, nurse practitioners, and medical and nursing students keep pace with a rapidly changing health care environment. An easy-to-use organization presents routine and lesser known lab tests first (alphabetically, with detailed descriptions), with disease states following. Newly concise and streamlined content is highlighted by abundant tables, algorithms, and bulleted lists and checklists. A new pull-out card, "Ask Before You Test," helps you remember to check key factors that affect lab tests. Content updates include new information in the genetic, molecular diagnostics, and neurology testing chapters. Frequently ordered tests are included in tabular form, as well as in a tear-out version for convenient clinical use. An expanded index helps you efficiently locate needed information. Enrich Your Ebook Reading Experience Read directly on your preferred device(s),such as computer, tablet, or smartphone. Easily convert to audiobook,powering your content with natural language text-to-speech.
Wright and Leahey's Nurses and Families by
The ideal "how-to" book for harnessing the power of the nurse-family relationship! Use the Calgary Family Assessment and Intervention Models to assess families effectively and know when and how to intervene to reduce suffering and promote health. They are easy to-apply and practical models for nurses working with a wide variety of complex issues and family structures. You'll develop the knowledge you need to prepare, conduct, and document family interviews while you also hone your skills to use questions more effectively. You'll also learn how to avoid the three most common errors in family nursing and how to conduct a 15-minute interview. Revised & Updated! Applications of the Calgary Family Assessment and Intervention Models to today's complex health care environments and the evolving family New & Expanded! Coverage of diverse groups, pluralism, and cultural dynamics Expanded! Focus on the family within society and the challenges facing families today, including the pandemic and post-pandemic outcomes, bullying, violence, crime, and drugs Expanded! Content on nursing interventions to improve outcomes for the person with the disorder or illness by improving family engagement and effectiveness Detailed clinical guidelines for preparing, conducting, and documenting a family interview Clinical case examples that reflect the diversity of families in society today and the issues encountered in a variety of practice settings, including hospital, primary care, school, community, outpatient, and the home Case scenarios with reflective questions that use the nursing process and illustrate the connection between the Calgary Family Assessment and Intervention Models.
Lippincott Procedures
- Lippincott Procedures This link opens in a new window Point of care evidence-based guidance for over 1700 procedures and skills from a wide variety of nursing specialties. Also includes Mayo site-specific policies.
Research Tools
- CINAHL This link opens in a new window Covers nursing and allied health disciplines. Includes journal articles, healthcare books, nursing dissertations, selected conference proceedings and standards of professional practice. Some full text available.
- Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews This link opens in a new window Includes the full text of regularly updated systematic reviews of the effects of healthcare prepared by The Cochrane Collaboration.
- EMBASE This link opens in a new window Strong emphasis on drug-related literature & toxicology, in addition to all espects of human medicine. Also covers nursing, dentistry, paramedical professions, podiatry, homeopathy.
- PubMed This link opens in a new window Free access to MEDLINE & PREMEDLINE databases from the National Library of Medicine. Includes links to other NLM resources including NCBI databases, OMIM, MedlinePlus consumer health data & PubMed Central free digital archive of biomedical literature.
- SCOPUS This link opens in a new window Includes articles from more than 4,000 publishers, covering the scientific, medical, technical & the social sciences. For articles published since 1996 many include the full bibliography & abstract, and links to other papers citing those publications.
- Web of Science This link opens in a new window The Web of Science contains a remarkable treasure of data on scientific content, impact, and collaborations from 1900 to the present day on a global scale.
Calculators
- ClinicalKey Interactive tools to support treatment, diagnosis, and screening
- GuidelineCentral Over 100 free commonly used clinical formulas and calculator tools to help diagnose, treat, prevent, and determine prognosis of patients at point of care.
Guidelines
- ClinicalKeyAdvanced Practice Nursing
- ClinicalKey Latest clinical guidelines from leading organizations
- GuidelineCentral Access to thousands of clinical practice guidelines for medical professionals.
Mayo Clinic Resources
Mayo Clinic Libraries Services
- Patients' Libraries The Mayo Clinic Libraries offer Patients’ Library services at several locations. Visit these guides for details about the collections and services available at each location.
- W. Bruce Fye History of Medicine Library The W. Bruce Fye History of Medicine Library is a specialized library housing important collections in the history of medicine and allied sciences. Several thousand volumes of rare medical classics (from 1479) and early journal literature (from 1665) comprise the core collection of primary literature on all aspects of medicine and allied fields. More recently published histories, biographies, facsimiles, and other support materials comprise the remainder of the collection of some 23,000 total volumes. Special strengths include anesthesiology, cardiology, dermatology, immunology, ophthalmology and neurology. The library also has a large collection of Mayo physician bound reprints.
Please let us know if you have any suggestions, questions, or find broken links. Contact us at: