eBooks
Access Device Guidelines, 4th ed. by
It is critical that oncology nurses understand the latest research, guidelines, and evidence-based practices in access devices. With the latest edition of Access Device Guidelines: Recommendations for Nursing Practice and Education, nurses can explore a foundation for practice and support in their day-to-day care of patients with cancer. The fourth edition of this text explores recommendations for a range of access devices, their common complications, and other relevant indications. Oncology nurses will learn about updates in dressing changes, flushing and locking, contraindications for peripheral IV administration, implanted port flushing frequency, and more. Additionally, the latest edition includes aseptic non-touch technique terminology and framework throughout the book and new appendices on dressings and vascular access teams. With access device technology becoming more complex, this book is an essential resource for practicing nurses in a wide range of settings to ensure safe and effective care of patients with vascular access devices.
Acute and Chronic Wounds: Intraprofessionals from Novice to Expert, 6th ed. by
Acute & Chronic Wounds, 6th Edition provides the latest diagnostic and treatment guidelines to help novice to expert clinicians provide evidence-based, high-quality care for patients with wounds. This textbook presents an interprofessional approach to maintaining skin integrity and managing the numerous types of skin damage, including topics that range from the physiology of wound healing, general principles of wound management, special patient populations, management of percutaneous tubes, and specific care instructions to program development. Written by respected wound experts Ruth Bryant and Denise Nix, this bestselling reference also provides excellent preparation for all wound certification exams. Comprehensive approach addresses the prevention and management of acute and chronic wounds, making it the preeminent resource for skin health and wound management across all disciplines involved in wound care, from novice to expert. Learning Objectives at the beginning of each chapter emphasize the most important content. Clinical Consult feature in each chapter provides a synthesis of the chapter content, illustrating how to assess, manage, and document a realistic clinical encounter using the ADPIE or SBAR framework. Checklists provide a concise list of actions necessary to achieve the best patient care outcomes or satisfy a particular objective. Practical tools and algorithms help in performing risk assessment, differential diagnosis, classification, treatment, and documentation. Coverage of practice development issues addresses outcomes and productivity in agencies and institutions, home care, acute care, long-term care, and long-term acute care settings. Self-assessment questions help you test your knowledge and prepare for certification exams. Helpful appendices provide answers to self-assessment questions, as well as various tools, policies and procedures, competencies, patient and family education guidance, and more. NEW! Chapters on Postacute Care Settings; Telehealth and Wound Management; Quality Tracking Across the Continuum; and Medications and Phytotherapy: Impact on Wounds provide evidence-based coverage of these important topics. UPDATED! Consolidated pressure injuries content puts everything you need to know into one chapter. Expanded full-color insert includes 50 new images - for a total of 95 color plates with more than 160 images - that visually reinforce key concepts. New information presents the latest developments in biofilm assessment and management, topical oxygen therapy, skin manifestations related to COVID-19, and strategies to enhance engagement, as well as updated product photos and more authors who are clinical experts and providers.
Compassion Fatigue and Burnout in Nursing, 3rd ed. by
Praise for Past Editions "This book is a vital read for individuals and the collective nursing profession... I encourage those who are concerned about the collective nursing profession, about what nurse educators are teaching students, about healthcare's high staff turnover and poor patient quality outcomes to consider reading and using this book." - M. R. Morrow, RN, PhD., Nursing Science Quarterly "This book addresses the issue that all nurses eventually face at one time or another in their career, a loss of passion. The author takes readers on a journey to recapture their passion...Every nurse should read this book." -V. Hedderick, Doody's Review Service As relevant today as it was when the first edition was published in 2012--likely even more so after the devastation of COVID 19--Dr. Vidette Todaro-Franceschi delves deeper into issues surrounding professional quality of life (PQOL) for nurses and the intricate connection to caliber of care and healthcare outcomes. She offers new insights on compassion fatigue, burnout, moral distress, caring for the dying, PTSD, and workplace bullying and violence noting that while the COVID-19 pandemic has grossly exacerbated existing problems in the workplace it has also created a "perfect storm" for nurses to regain a sense of the meaning and purpose of their work. Written by an acknowledged expert in end-of-life education, professional quality of life, and clinical leadership, this book will help empower nurses so that they can create a healthier, more compassionate work environment. Supported by research but written from a holistic and personal perspective, the text includes real-life examples, strategies, and exercises that will help readers to identify negative patterns and explore ways to recapture the joy in their work lives. New to the Third Edition: Integrates the impact of COVID-19 on the nursing profession throughout Provides new information on enhancing PQOL for nurses Includes new real-life examples from multiple nursing disciplines Key Features: Articulates an ethic of care developed from a transdisciplinary perspective Offers a framework--the ART© model, for mindful healing, living and working Shares real-life examples from critical care, end-of-life, oncology, and other clinical areas Provides a template for nurses, nurse educators and leaders to address critical issues affecting nursing workforce health, happiness and the work environment Includes a Nurse Leaders Resource Kit to assist staff with improving PQOL
ISBN: 9780826155283Publication Date: 2024-01-28
Davis's Diseases and Disorders : A Nursing Therapeutics Manual, 7th ed. by
Everything you need to know about caring for patients—in a succinct easy-to-understand "must-have" guide! Put information on more than 240 diseases and disorders at your fingertips. Clear, comprehensive discussions of pathophysiology—with rationales in the test and intervention sections—help you deliver effective care with confidence.
ISBN: 9781719648400
Developing Your Compassion Strengths: A Guide for Healthcare Students and Practitioners by
This practical book suggests ways in which healthcare students and practitioners can develop their compassion strengths. Discussing what compassion is and means, it includes a new compassion strength model and a series of exercises the reader can use for reflecting on and developing their practice. A hallmark of healthcare practice is compassion, yet there is a lack of understanding as to what compassion is and how it can be developed in practice. The book begins with the challenge of defining compassion, particularly looking at healthcare contexts and making links between self-care and caring for others. It then presents a new, evidence-based holistic model that brings together key elements of compassion for self and other, along with a scale that readers can measure themselves against. Identifying eight strengths "self-care, connection, communication, competency, empathy, interpersonal skills, character, and engagement" Durkin provides the theoretical background to each, accompanied with suggestions for practice and reflective activities. It ends with a selection of vignettes that readers can use to try out their strengths. Highlighting the concept of compassion strengths, and compassion as a way of being, this is an essential read for healthcare students and practitioners, whether involved in direct patient care or management.
ISBN: 9781032232089Publication Date: 2023-04-25
Holistic Nursing by
The premier resource for today's holistic nurses, Holistic Nursing: Scope and Standards of Practice, 3rd Edition is informed by the advances in health care and professional nursing today. This new edition of the publication contains information on core role accountabilities, role qualifications, ethics in holistic nursing, along with trends, issues and opportunities that every holistic nurse must know. Holistic Nursing: Scope and Standards of Practice, 3rd Edition covers the full extent of holistic nursing practice needs in any setting or role and at any level of influence and authority. This specialty's core accountabilities illustrate that depth and breadth of practice: Safety, quality, and risk management Patient and population health advocacy Clinical care delivery and optimal patient outcomes Healthy work environments Strategic, financial, and human resource management Legal and regulatory compliance Networking, partnering, and collaborating Accountability/advocacy for their employees The publication also addresses 17 updated national standards, which offer a framework for evaluating practice outcomes and goals, as well as for what is expected of all gerontology nurses, and its scope of practice specifies the who, what, where, when, why, and how of their practice. This new book is a must-have for the aspiring or practicing holistic nurse, or any registered nurse.
Nursing Informatics and the Foundation of Knowledge by
Nursing Informatics and the Foundation of Knowledge, Fifth Edition is a foundational text for teaching nursing students the core concepts of knowledge management while providing an understanding of the technology tools and applications where a certain level of proficiency is required. A practical guide for understanding how to leverage modern technology, the text teaches students how to acquire, process and disseminate knowledge. Grounded in the Foundation of Knowledge Model, the authors leverage this framework throughout as an organizational structure by which to teach and learn nursing informatics. The Fifth Edition gives nurses the tools and knowledge they need to succeed in the information age. Each chapter has been carefully updated to reflect the most current advances in technology, healthcare and reimbursement services. The authors also highlight the timely and impactful contribution of informatics to quality improvement, interprofessional collaboration, and the pandemic response. Finally, a thought-provoking chapter ties all of the elements of informatics together and asks students to consider the future impact of technology on the patient care experience by examining care bots, cyborgs and artificial intelligence.
eBooks
Nursing Informatics by Nursing Informatics: Scope and Standards of Practice describes a competent level of nursing care at each level of nursing informatics practice and provides comprehensive overviews of the dynamic and complex practice of the nursing informatics specialty. Published by ANA, this book is informed by advances in health care and professional nursing practice. It contains national standards of practice and performance that define the who, what, where, when, why, and how of nursing informatics practice and is a vital reference for: Quality improvement initiatives Certification and credentialing Position descriptions and performance appraisals Classroom teaching and in-service education programs Boards of nursing members' orientation programs and regulatory decision-making activities Nursing Informatics: Scope and Standards of Practice is intended to guide nurses, as well as administrators, legislators, regulators, legal counsel, and other interprofessional colleagues.
Nutrition Counseling and Education Skills: a Practical Guide, 8th ed. by
Collaboratively written members of the Nutrition Educators of Dietetic Preceptors (NDEP) of the Academy of Nutrition and Dietetics under the editorship of Judith A. Beto, Nutrition Counseling and Education Skills: A Practical Guide helps students and dietetic practitioners develop the communications, counseling, interviewing, motivational, and professional skills they'll need as Registered Dietitian professionals. Throughout the book, the authors focus on effective nutrition interventions, evidence-based theories and models, clinical nutrition principles, and knowledge of behavioral science and educational approaches.Key features:- Offers enhanced case studies and hands-on activities that allow students to put concepts into practice, and relate specifically to real world situations RDNs will face- Demonstrates the shift to online/hybrid modes of education and counseling, exploring telehealth, digital presentation tools, social media, and more.- Provides a focus on the dietary patterns of people vs. simply concentrating on BMI- Meets the newest ACEND accreditation standards, covering CP, DI, and DPD requirements for ACEND accredited programs. - Includes the latest USDA Dietary Guideline for Americans 2020-2025 and data throughout, and provides the Australian and Canadian dietary guidelines within the digital appendices.- Offers four new videos that demonstrate nutrition and counseling and encourage role play- Features unparalleled instructor resources, which include a test bank with 200+ questions, PowerPoint slides, instructor manual, and over 100 supplemental forms.
ISBN: 9781284238532Publication Date: 2023-02-02
Oxford Textbook of Palliative Nursing by
The Oxford Textbook of Palliative Nursing remains the most comprehensive treatise on the art and science of palliative care nursing available. Dr. Betty Rolling Ferrell and Dr. Judith A. Paice have invited 162 nursing experts to contribute 76 chapters addressing the physical, psychological, social, and spiritual needs pertinent to the successful palliative care team. Organized within 7 Sections, this new edition covers the gamut of principles of care: from the time of initial diagnosis of a serious illness to the end of a patient's life and beyond. This fifth edition features several new chapters, including chapters on advance care planning, organ donation, self-care, global palliative care, and the ethos of palliative nursing. Each chapter is rich with tables and figures, case examples for improved learning, and a strong evidence-based practice to support the highest quality of care. The book offers a valuable and practical resource for students and clinicians across all settings of care. The content is relevant for specialty hospice agencies and palliative care programs, as well as generalist knowledge for schools of nursing, oncology, critical care, and pediatric. Developed with the intention of emphasizing the need to extend palliative care beyond the specialty to be integrated in all settings and by all clinicians caring for the seriously ill, this new edition will continue to serve as the cornerstone of palliative care education.
Phlebotomy: a Competency Based Approach, 6th ed. by
Competency is within your reach with Phlebotomy: A Competency-Based Approach. With Phlebotomy's pedagogy-rich format and plentiful "Learn How" features and "Competency Checklists", you can easily grasp not only essential phlebotomy skills and competencies but also the critical soft skills needed for a successful transition from classroom to lab.
Syndromes: Rapid Recognition and Perioperative Implications, 2nd ed. by
The ULTIMATE reference about syndromes to have on hand to facilitate rapid recognition and perioperative implications --- in full color. Syndromes: Rapid Recognition and Perioperative Implications, Second Edition, is the ultimate reference for anesthesiologists, surgeons, internists, pediatricians, emergency physicians and nurses caring for patients affected with special operative needs and acute medical care. This updated book provides a complete A-to-Z encyclopedic clinical presentation of more than 2,200 syndromes. Extensive cross-referencing of international synonyms, classifications, and other conditions to be considered in the differential diagnosis further expands coverage to more than 5,000 entries..It is the most comprehensive reference on the subject. Syndromes: Rapid Recognition and Perioperative Implications, Second Edition, is enhanced by 200 high-quality photographs, in addition to tables, classifications and clinical management considerations. The addition of color tabs, a new feature, improve consultation and speed information retrieval. Each syndrome, listed in alphabetical order.
Telephone Triage Protocols for Nurses by
Assess the nature and severity of callers'' symptoms quickly and confidently, with Telephone Triage Protocols for Nurses, 6th Edition. More than 200 alpha-organized protocols address a wide range of symptoms, disorders and medical emergencies, while the flow chart format leads callers to provide vital Yes or No answers to appropriate questions. This comprehensive manual - a must-have for nurses both new and experienced - offers accurate care recommendations even when client information is limited. Follow expert direction and make quick, accurate assessments ... NEW and updated protocols offer current best practices and reflect changes in access to medications and health care Protocols address adult, pediatric, geriatric, maternal/child, home health concerns, current health issues, and communicable disease outbreaks NEW protocols include arthritis, chronic obstructive pulmonary disease (COPD), elder abuse, stroke symptoms, and Zika virus Post-operative conditions and considerations have been added to numerous protocols Expanded appendices include altered mental status, PTSD, suicide prevention, and emergency preparedness Alpha-organized protocols help you quickly locate topics by symptom or condition Table of contents by body system helps you quickly locate topics by body system, body part or set of related symptoms Peer-reviewed by nursing experts Easy-to-follow question-asking flow chart - Yes or No answers lead to specific care recommendations Ideal guidance for all nurses, particularly those in triage and ambulatory practice Sorts life-threatening problems from those not requiring physician or emergency care Increases consistency of advice and documentation Nurse Alerts - help the nurse identify potentially life-threatening conditions related to the symptoms and provides additional information to consider when choosing a protocol or triaging the caller's concern Symptoms alpha-organized and grouped by level of urgency, addressing injuries, trauma, pain, swelling and other symptoms for: Body part problems Body system problems Chronic and infectious diseases Behavioral problems Pediatric-specific problems Maternal/obstetric specific problems or conditions Sections under every symptom or condition include: Key Questions to ask caller Other Protocols to Consider Reminder - what to note for proper documentation Assessment - Yes or No questions to determine the urgency of symptoms or conditions Actions - clear direction following Yes or No answers to questions Immediate actions - proven protocols that refer caller to emergency, physician, or at-home care instructions Home Care Instructions - comprehensive actions to take before emergency care, before appointment, or at-home care Emergency Instructions - in-the-moment first aid Report the Following Problems - what caller should tell their personal or ER physician Seek Emergency Care Immediately - if certain symptoms occur Reminder to determine if caller agrees with the advice provided and if not, reevaluate Must-have resource for medical offices, clinics, schools, community referrals, emergency departments, urgent care centers, home health agencies and managed healthcare providers About the Author Julie Briggs, RN, BSN, MHA, has an extensive background in Emergency Nursing, Management, Telephone Triage, Emergency Preparedness, Utilization Review and Quality Management. She is currently providing consulting and training services. She has been employed by Providence Health and Services in Portland, Oregon for the past 15 years in the capacity of Medical Management RN Care Coordinator and as the Manager of the Emergency Department at Providence St. Vincent Medical Center. Additionally, she served in the role of Director for multiple units including the Emergency Department, Critical Care, Cardiac Cath Lab, Ambulatory Care, and Radiology for 13 years at Good Samaritan Medical Center in Puyallup, Washington. She has authored numerous books in Telephone Triage, Emergency Nursing Triage, and Homemaker/Home Health Aide Training.
