Lippincott Procedures
- Lippincott Procedures This link opens in a new window Point of care evidence-based guidance for over 1700 procedures and skills from a wide variety of nursing specialties. Also includes Mayo site-specific policies.
Click on All Nursing, then Pediatric, then Specialty
E-Books
2024 Nelson's Pediatric Antimicrobial Therapy, 30th ed. by
Completely updated and revised, the 30th edition of this best-selling reference provides instant access to the latest recommendations for treatment of infectious diseases in children. For each disease, the authors provide a commentary to help select the best of all antimicrobial choices. Drug descriptions cover all antimicrobial agents available today and include complete information about dosing regimens. Free updates are available at aap.org/Nelsons. New in the 30th Edition Updated multiple drug-resistant gram-negative pathogens treatment recommendations with newly approved antibiotics Newer antibiotics, beyond vancomycin, to treat MRSA infections Updates on children's influenza, COVID-19, and enterovirus treatments Updates on travelers' diarrhea Latest guidelines for treatment of invasive pediatric fungal infections New guidelines for treatment of pediatric bacterial arthritis Recommendations on hepatitis C virus and cytomegalovirus treatment options; CHAPTERS INCLUDE Antimicrobial Therapy According to Clinical Syndromes Antimicrobial Therapy for Neonates Choosing Among Antibiotics Antifungal Agents Antiviral Agents Antiparasitic Agents Preferred Therapy for Specific Bacterial and Mycobacterial Pathogens; Fungal Pathogens; Viral Pathogens; and Parasitic Pathogens Approach to Antibiotic Therapy for Drug-Resistant Gram-Negative Bacilli and Methicillin-Resistant Staphylococcus aureus Systemic and Topical Antimicrobial Dosing and Dose Forms Sequential Parenteral-Oral Antibiotic Therapy (Oral Step-Down Therapy) for Serious Infections Antimicrobial Prophylaxis/Prevention of Symptomatic Infection Approach to Antibiotic Allergies Antibiotic Stewardship Antibiotic Therapy for Children With Obesity And more...
ISBN: 9781610026970Publication Date: 2024-02-01
AWHONN's Perinatal Nursing, 5th ed. by
Leave the self-doubt behind -- get fully grounded in effective perinatal care, with Perinatal Nursing, 5th Edition, an official publication of the Association of Women''s Health, Obstetric and Neonatal Nurses (AWHONN). This freshly updated, comprehensive resource offers expert guidelines and best practices for the full range of patient care issues, from cultural practices and pregnancy complications to newborn assessments and nutrition. Stay current with this must-have, evidence-based support for both perinatal and labor and delivery nursing. Strengthen and upgrade your perinatal nursing strengths and expertise: NEW and expanded content on pregnancy complications - Bleeding in pregnancy, preterm labor and birth, diabetes, cardiac disease, pulmonary complications, multiple gestation, obesity and more NEW content on newborn nutrition - The infant feeding decision, breastfeeding benefits, nutritional components, and preterm milk and lactation NEW and updated content on patient safety and maternal morbidity and mortality in the United States - Instructions on how to make maternity units safer based on the most current evidence, and through application of various care bundles Evidence-based information on clinical conditions - Includes chapter on obesity that covers risks to the mother and fetus, care from preconception to postpartum, and bariatric surgery Text boxes emphasize crucial care standards and guidelines Practical guidance and current best practices for areas including: Perinatal patient safety and quality care Integrating patient cultural beliefs and practices into perinatal care Physiologic changes of pregnancy Antenatal care Hypertensive disorders of pregnancy Pregnancy complications Multiple gestation Maternal-fetal transport Labor and birth Fetal assessment Managing pain during labor Postpartum care Newborn care - Adaptation to extrauterine life, physical assessment and nutrition Common neonatal complications All chapters written by expert nurse clinicians and researchers to support positive perinatal outcomes Nursing staffing standards are included as they apply to each patient population Ideal for those seeking certification in obstetrics nursing (RNC-OB) and maternal newborn nursing (RN-MNN, RNC-LRN) Perfect on-the-job resource and review text for all perinatal nurses, maternal units, and students. Your book purchase includes a complimentary download of the enhanced eBook for iOS(tm), Android(tm), PC and Mac. Take advantage of these practical features that will improve your eBook experience: The ability to download the eBook on multiple devices at one time -- providing a seamless reading experience online or offline Powerful search tools and smart navigation cross-links that allow you to search within this book, or across your entire library of VitalSource® eBooks Multiple viewing options that enable you to scale images and text to any size without losing page clarity, as well as responsive design The ability to highlight text and add notes with one click. About the Clinical Editors Kathleen Rice Simpson, PhD, RNC, FAAN is Perinatal Clinical Nurse Specialist and Editor-in-Chief MCN, The American Journal of Maternal Child Nursing in Saint Louis, Missouri. Patricia A. Creehan, MSN, RNC is Manager of Clinical Operations, Labor and Delivery at Advocate Christ Medical Center in Oak Lawn, Illinois. Nancy O''Brien-Abel, MSN, RNC is Perinatal Clinical Nurse Specialist at Perinatal Consulting, LLC and Affiliate Instructor at the School of Nursing, University of Washington in Seattle, Washington. Cheryl K. Roth, PhD, WHNP-BC, RNC-OB, RNFA is a Nurse Practitioner, Labor and Delivery at HonorHealth Scottsdale Shea/Osborn Medical Centers in Scottsdale, Arizona. Annie J. Rohan, PhD, RN, NNP-BC, CPNP-PC,FAANP is Director of the Doctor of Nursing Practice Program and Director of Pediatric Research at the School of Nursing, Office of Nursing Research and Innovation at Stony Brook University (SUNY at Stony Brook) in Stony Brook, New York.
Caring for the Hospitalized Child, 3rd ed. by
Developed by top pediatric hospitalists, Caring for the Hospitalized Child: A Handbook of Inpatient Pediatrics, 3rd Edition, is sure to become your go-to resource from initial patient evaluation all the way through discharge management. Quickly obtain the essential information for managing a wide range of pediatric medical conditions in patients who have been admitted to the hospital with this trusted, pocket-sized reference. Each chapter not only discusses clinical presentation, essential laboratory tests, differential diagnosis, treatment, indications for consultation, and disposition but contains many helpful tables and an easy-to-follow template. Chapters also include a short bulleted list of essential pearls and pitfalls. Although the book focuses primarily on diseases and conditions, it contains helpful sections that address the many other issues practicing hospitalists are confronted with, including ethics, billing, utilization management, surge planning, and transport, as well as a brief section on common equipment. The alphabetized Contents has been updated to include Autism Spectrum Disorder, Hypertension, Constipation, Surge Planning, Utilization Management, and both Acute COVID-19 Disease and Multisystem Inflammatory Syndrome in Children (MIS-C). A new part on newborn care has been added, covering topics such as breastfeeding, hypoglycemia of the newborn, and early onset sepsis.
Fast Facts for Nurse Practitioners: Practice Essentials for Clinical Subspecialties, 1st ed. by
The first book to provide an insider view of the latest advances and trends in the full range of clinical subspecialty areas. Fast Facts for Nurse Practitioners: Practice Essentials for Clinical Subspecialties takes the busy advanced practice provider or student on a journey through the clinical subspecialties. The author, a highly experienced nurse practitioner, has immersed herself in each of these clinical areas and interviewed medical specialists to identify the latest advances, trends, and tips to more confidently and competently assess, diagnose, manage, and refer patients across the lifespan. The book addresses hot topics in allergy and immunology, cardiology, dermatology, endocrinology, gastroenterology, hematology and oncology, infectious disease, nephrology, neurology, obstetrics and gynecology, ophthalmology, orthopedics, otolaryngology, pediatrics, psychiatry, pulmonology, rheumatology, and urology. Each chapter provides information on common chief complaints, pathophysiology, diagnostic considerations, and key points for management or referral. This concise reference provides evidence-based strategies for managing ever-changing patient needs in an easy-to-digest format. Key Features: Serves the needs of advanced practice providers and students Offers the latest advances and trends for all clinical subspecialty areas in one concise, quick-reference resource Provides evidence-based guidelines to support the principles of assessment, differential diagnosis, management, and referral Highlights only the most relevant and timely information, allowing readers to save time, stay current, and improve patient outcomes
Neonatal Nursing Care Handbook, 3rd ed. by
This benchmark handbook for neonatal nurse practitioners describes the most common conditions and procedures in an easy-to-access streamlined format. This thoroughly revised third edition continues to promote the foundational principles of evidence-based nursing practice worldwide, while taking the resources and requirements of different practice settings into account. It delivers updated information on trauma-informed care and offers new sections on parent perspectives about transition to home, neonatal opioid withdrawal syndrome (NOWS), and therapeutic hypothermia.Designed with a logical organization, Neonatal Nursing Care Handbook, Third Edition features brief narratives and plentiful illustrations and charts. This quick reference is easily used by English-as-second-language nurses and can be conveniently stored in a pocket for on-the-go referral. Part I uses a systems approach to address management of disorders related to each body system. All chapters include a brief definition of the neonatal problem, followed by diagnostic tests and labs. Part II encompasses special care considerations such as nutrition, surgical care, and palliative care. Part III discusses widely seen procedures and diagnostic tests, complete with lab values. Appendices contain additional useful content on weights and temperatures, common abbreviations, and pertinent web resources.New to the Third Edition:Addresses trauma-informed careAdditional Content On:Generalized nursing care regarding respiratory, cardiovascular, gastrointestinal, renal, and hematologic/immune systemsBottle feedingOral/Nasogastric/Gastrointestinal Tube FeedingsParent perspective on the transition home/primary careHigh frequency ventilation and new techniquesNeonatal Abstinence Syndrome (NAS) and Neonatal Opioid Withdrawal (NOW)Total body cooling/therapeutic hypothermia
ISBN: 9780826135483Publication Date: 2021-12-28
Neonatal Palliative Care for Nurses by
This textbook details the nursing care of babies with life limiting conditions and sets the context within the philosophy of internationally collaborative neonatal palliative care emphasising emotional and practical support for their families. Currently, increasing interest from nursing and medical fields regarding palliative care for babies in the antenatal and neonatal period is evident. This innovative and unique text provides experienced nurses and student nurses alike with realistic guidance in caring for babies with palliative care needs, alongside the crucial support for their families and identifies important strategies for professional self care. Nursing experts in this field collaborated to develop a reference book which supports holistic and integrated clinical practice. Parents' experiences of what they consider helpful or not so helpful are interwoven throughout the chapter. There is currently no other textbook which offers the above information and guidance specifically for nurses and allied health professionals. As such this book will appeal to all nurses and health professionals working within the neonatal palliative care specialty in a global context.
Pediatric Acute Care by
Stay up-to-date on the latest evidence and clinical practice in pediatric acute care with the definitive textbook in the field. Now in its second edition, Pediatric Acute Care: A Guide for Interprofessional Practice takes an evidence-based, interprofessional approach to pediatric acute care as it exemplifies the depth and diversity that's needed for the dynamic healthcare environments in which acutely ill children receive care. Coverage includes how to work with the pediatric patient and family, major acute care disorders and their management, emergency preparedness, common acute care procedures, and much more. With contributions from more than 200 practicing clinicians and academic experts, it represents a wide variety of disciplines including medicine, nursing, pharmacy, child life, nutrition, law, integrative medicine, education, public health, and psychology, among others. The second edition also features the addition of new physician and nurse practitioner co-editors as well as extensive content updates including updated evidence-based content throughout the text, the integration of the 2016 IPEC Core Competencies for Interprofessional Collaborative Practice, a new full-color design, and new vivid illustrations throughout. UNIQUE! Interprofessional collaborative approach includes contributions from more than 200 practicing clinicians and academic experts from the U.S. and Canada, including nursing, medicine, pharmacy, child life, nutrition, law, integrative medicine, education, public health, and psychology. Consistent organization within disorder chapters begins with a section on Physiology and continues with sections on Pathophysiology, Epidemiology and Etiology, Presentation, Differential Diagnosis, Diagnostic Studies, and a Plan of Care that include Therapeutic Management, Consultation, Patient and Family Education and Disposition and Discharge Planning. Comprehensive content spanning five units divides coverage into introductory information, the approach to the pediatric patient and family, major acute care disorders and their management, emergency preparedness, and common acute care procedures. NEW! Updated evidence-based content has been added throughout to ensure that you're up-to-date on all topics needed to provide care for pediatric patients in acute, inpatient, emergency, transport, and critical care settings. NEW! Full-color design and illustrations enhance learning and make content easier to navigate and digest. NEW! Integration of the 2016 IPEC Core Competencies ensure that you're learning the professional skills and protocols required for effective, contemporary interprofessional collaborative practice. UPDATED! Streamlined procedures unit focuses more sharply on need-to-know content.
Pediatric CCRN Certification Review by
Pediatric CCRN (R) Certification Review is designed to help you prepare for the AACN certification exam. This comprehensive study aid is organized according to the latest exam blueprint and presents information in a clear, concise format. Key words, case studies, and practice questions that test clinical judgment are included throughout. Each chapter covers everything you need to know to pass the exam and includes end-of-chapter questions to check your knowledge. The review concludes with a full-length practice test to get you ready for exam day. With 300 practice questions, detailed review content and answer rationales, and a convenient print + digital package, this study aid empowers you with the tools and materials to study your way and the confidence to pass the first time, guaranteed! Know that you're ready. Know that you'll pass with Springer Publishing Exam Prep. Key Features Reflects the latest AACN exam blueprint Provides a comprehensive yet concise review of essential knowledge for the exam Highlights key terms and clinical pearls Features case studies in each chapter Includes end-of-chapter Q&A and a full practice test with detailed rationales Boosts your confidence with a 100% pass guarantee Includes digital access for use on most mobile devices or computers. For 70 years, it has been our greatest privilege to prepare busy nurses like you for professional certification and career success. Congratulations on qualifying to sit for the exam. Now let's get you ready to pass! CCRN (R) is a registered service mark of the American Association of Critical-Care Nurses (AACN). AACN does not sponsor or endorse this resource, nor does it have a proprietary relationship with Springer Publishing.
eBooks
Pediatric Nursing Care: a Concept-Based Approach, 2nd ed. by
Pediatric Nursing Care: A Concept-Based Approach, Second Edition provides pre-licensed nursing students the need-to-know information for working as a pediatric nurse in a variety of settings. The concept-based perspective, information on pathologies and diagnoses unique to children, and focus on family-centered care set it apart from other pediatric nursing textbooks.The Second Edition was updated to offer the latest information on family education, current research, safety, and pharmacology. Chapters unique to this text include those focusing on symptoms assessment and management for children, working and communicating in interdisciplinary teams, caring for children across healthcare settings, cultural care models, essential safety models, and pediatric-specific skills. Pediatric Nursing Care: A Concept-Based Approach, Second Edition is a helpful guide and reference for attaining a deeper understanding of the unique aspects of pediatric nursing.
ISBN: 9781284262179Publication Date: 2022-12-27
Physical Assessment of the Newborn by
"The text is... a core text for any program preparing individuals for advanced practice roles in perinatal and neonatal care, and it should be a resource in every setting providing care to neonates. At all levels of practice, it serves as a convenient reference to normal parameters, common variations, and less commonly seen abnormalities." --Susan Tucker Blackburn, RN, PhD, FAAN Author of Maternal, Fetal, and Neonatal Physiology: A Clinical Perspective From the Foreword The newly revised, 25th anniversary edition of this definitive publication on neonatal care continues to illustrate how to systematically and accurately gather assessment data and interpret results. Because even normal newborns feature a wide range of physical variation, subtle signs that indicate internal malformations or syndromes may escape notice without a proper assessment. Many problems in the neonate can be noticed early by an astute nurse, neonatal nurse practitioner, neonatal physician assistant, or physician with honed assessment skills, long before electronic monitors or other equipment can detect them. Physical Assessment of the Newborn, Sixth Edition, addresses the physical, physiologic, neurologic, and behavioral implications of a thorough assessment, and explains how healthcare providers can reduce the risks associated with the transition to extrauterine life and the neonatal period. Grounded with a scientific basis and rationale, each system assessment represents the most up-to-date clinical content. Because assessment skills are such an integral aspect of practice, many individuals take them for granted, yet all health professionals who perform newborn examinations--including nurses, neonatal and pediatric nurse practitioners, nurse-midwives, physicians, therapists, and students preparing for advanced practice roles in neonatal care--can benefit from the essential content presented in this book. New to the Sixth Edition: Provides clinical updates throughoutPresents an enhanced art programOffers an all-new chapter on the perinatally substance-exposed neonateIncludes an image bank and PowerPoints Key Features: Addresses all key aspects of newborn assessmentProvides a well-organized evaluation of individual body systemsAssists practitioners in identifying infant state, behavioral clues, and signs of painExamines the wide range of variation among newborns of different gestational agesProvides information related to a maternal history, including antepartum testing and intrapartum monitoringWritten in an easy-to-read, user-friendly styleIncludes continuing education exam
Practical Office Orthopedics by
A comprehensive full-color guide to orthopedics in the primary care setting Especially written for the practitioner of general medicine, Practical Office Orthopedics delivers outstanding full-color drawings, state-of-the-art radiographs, and a step-by-step approach to the evaluation and management of common bone and musculoskeletal complaints. This unique text is authored by Dr. Edward (Ted) Parks, whose musculoskeletal workshop at the annual American College of Physicians Conference draws overflow crowds. Common injuries to the knee, the shoulder, the hip, hand/wrist/elbow, foot/ankle, and the spine are covered in detail. Readers will find a consistent chapter template that presents information logically and facilitates treatment and learning: History, Physical Exam, Radiography, Treatment, and Follow-Up. * Full-color presentation illustrates musculoskeletal anatomy and procedure in great detail * Includes discussion of common non-ultrasound guided joint injection techniques * Perfect for the generalist who does not require an exhaustive orthopedic text * Special sections on injection techniques in each chapter
ISBN: 9781259642869Publication Date: 2017-12-29
Quick Medical Diagnosis & Treatment Pediatrics by ISBN: 1264257619
Wright and Leahey's Nurses and Families by
The ideal "how-to" book for harnessing the power of the nurse-family relationship! Use the Calgary Family Assessment and Intervention Models to assess families effectively and know when and how to intervene to reduce suffering and promote health. They are easy to-apply and practical models for nurses working with a wide variety of complex issues and family structures. You'll develop the knowledge you need to prepare, conduct, and document family interviews while you also hone your skills to use questions more effectively. You'll also learn how to avoid the three most common errors in family nursing and how to conduct a 15-minute interview. Revised & Updated! Applications of the Calgary Family Assessment and Intervention Models to today's complex health care environments and the evolving family New & Expanded! Coverage of diverse groups, pluralism, and cultural dynamics Expanded! Focus on the family within society and the challenges facing families today, including the pandemic and post-pandemic outcomes, bullying, violence, crime, and drugs Expanded! Content on nursing interventions to improve outcomes for the person with the disorder or illness by improving family engagement and effectiveness Detailed clinical guidelines for preparing, conducting, and documenting a family interview Clinical case examples that reflect the diversity of families in society today and the issues encountered in a variety of practice settings, including hospital, primary care, school, community, outpatient, and the home Case scenarios with reflective questions that use the nursing process and illustrate the connection between the Calgary Family Assessment and Intervention Models.
Zitelli and Davis' Atlas of Pediatric Physical Diagnosis by
Thousands of high-quality clinical photographs paired with authoritative clinical content make Zitelli and Davis' Atlas of Pediatric Physical Diagnosis the trusted, go-to resource for residents and physicians alike. In this thoroughly revised 8th Edition, Drs. Basil J. Zitelli, Sara C. McIntire, Andrew J. Nowalk, and Jessica Garrison, provide a much-needed visual perspective on pediatric illness, helping you hone your visual examination skills and improve your diagnostic accuracy. Features more than 3,000 color photographs supplemented by clear explanatory text, laboratory tests, tables, algorithms, imaging, and approximately 25 clinical videos. Emphasizes pertinent historical factors, examination techniques, visual findings, and diagnostic methods. Provide meticulously updated content throughout, including an extensively revised ophthalmology chapter. Discusses key topics in pediatrics such as development, child abuse, and adolescent gynecology. Covers both common and uncommon disorders, making it an excellent resource not only for clinical diagnosis, but also for studying for the pediatric boards. Lists actionable and practical references, bibliographies, and resources at the end of each chapter. Enhanced eBook version included with purchase. Your enhanced eBook allows you to access all of the text, figures, and references from the book on a variety of devices.
