Lippincott Procedures
- Lippincott Procedures This link opens in a new window Point of care evidence-based guidance for over 1700 procedures and skills from a wide variety of nursing specialties. Also includes Mayo site-specific policies.
Search All Nursing, then Surgical Services
Perioperative also available
eBooks
Anaesthesia, Intensive Care and Perioperative Medicine A-Z by
For 25 years Anaesthesia, Intensive Care and Perioperative Medicine A-Z has provided a comprehensive resource of the relevant aspects of pharmacology, physiology, anatomy, physics, statistics, medicine, surgery, general anaesthetic practice, intensive care, equipment, and the history of anaesthesia and intensive care. Originally prepared as essential reading for candidates for the Fellowship of the Royal College of Anaesthetists and similar exams, this fully updated edition will also prove as invaluable as ever for all anaesthetists and critical care physicians, as well as operating department practitioners and specialist nurses. The alphabetical arrangement with extensive cross-referencing ensures a full understanding of topics. The succinct and clear text and diagrams make for easy quick reference. The exam preparation checklist is ordered by key topics to facilitate effective revision. The contents are easily accessible with the accompanying ebook. There has been a substantial addition of new entries as well as revision of existing ones. This acknowledges the breadth of information needed to satisfy the range of activities performed by anaesthetic, intensive care, nursing and other colleagues, and also reflects the ever-changing field in which they all work. The consolidation of the role of anaesthetists as 'perioperative physicians' is reflected in additional entries of particular relevance and also by the enhanced title of the book. The structured 'revision checklist' of entries which is particularly useful to those preparing for examinations has been further developed for this edition.
Drain's PeriAnesthesia Nursing: A Critical Care Approach, 8th ed. by
Trusted for more than 30 years, Drain's PeriAnesthesia Nursing: A Critical Care Approach, 8th Edition provides comprehensive clinical content tailored specifically for perianesthesia nurses. An easy-to-use format with five distinct sections - covering the PACU, anatomy and physiology, pharmacology, nursing care, and special considerations - means you get the equivalent of five books in one. Nursing and pharmacologic interventions are integrated with in-depth coverage of pathophysiology, and updated content includes the latest standards and current issues affecting perianesthesia nursing practice. Focusing on research, documentation, and psychosocial considerations, this is the one book that can take you all the way from being a novice nurse in the PACU to preparing for CPAN® or CAPA® certification! Five separate sections provide comprehensive coverage, including the PACU, anatomy and physiology, pharmacology, nursing care, and special considerations. Coverage of current policies and issues affecting perianesthesia nursing practice includes patient safety, infection control, managed care implications, pain management, and bioterrorism. Comprehensive information on the various types of anesthetic agents familiarizes you with what will be used in the PACU. Special Considerations section details the care of patients with conditions such as malignant hyperthermia, substance abuse, sickle cell anemia, and cardiac arrest. UPDATED! Revised content throughout provides the most up-to-date information for effective perianesthesia nursing practice. NEW! Full-color layout makes content more visually appealing and highlights important information. NEW! Information on SARS/COVID-19 is now included in the Pathogens chapter. NEW! Chapter on International Care of the Perianesthesia Patient offers complete coverage on this key topic. UPDATED! Coverage of pain management for the perianesthesia patient features the latest guidelines. UPDATED! Patient with Chronic Disorders chapter provides current information on caring for these patients. UPDATED! Evidence-Based Research boxes provide the latest standards of care.
Essentials of Equipment in Anaesthesia, Critical Care and Perioperative Medicine, 6th ed. by
This sixth edition holds true to the original format and philosophy of the trail blazing first edition: syllabus focused text, great illustration, and helpful questions, plus web links. We have maintained the high standards that have made this the equipment book of choice not only for trainees in Anaesthesia, but also for our Operating Department Practitioner and Nursing colleagues. We have extensively updated the text, images and illustrations.
The Healthcare Executive's Guide to Navigating the Surgical Suite by Surgical services carry some of the highest risks and rewards of all healthcare specialties. They also present specific challenges. Those unfamiliar with the surgical suite's inner workings may struggle to lead and manage this complex and often isolated department. The Healthcare Executive's Guide to Navigating the Surgical Suite: A Roadmap to the OR and Perioperative Services provides experienced and novice healthcare leaders with the information, leadership structures, and practical strategies needed to successfully oversee both patient outcomes and balance sheets. This book covers contemporary market realities, business challenges, labor requirements, and clinical and operational complexities as it points leaders toward the most pressing issues in strategic surgical services leadership. Inside you'll find: A comprehensive overview of the competitive landscape and unique market forces, Effective governance and leadership structures, A snared, interdisciplinary decision-making model, Insights on creating accurate budgets and monitoring complicated revenue and expenses Book jacket.
Kaplan's Cardiac Anesthesia: Perioperative and Critical Care, 8th ed. by
Current, comprehensive, and evidence-based, Kaplan's Cardiac Anesthesia: Perioperative and Critical Care Management, 8th Edition, offers practical guidance from today’s international leaders in cardiac anesthesiology, helping you to optimize perioperative outcomes, avoid complications, and ensure maximum patient safety. Dr. Joel A. Kaplan, along with an expert team of associate editors, guides you through today’s clinical challenges, including expanded coverage of critical care, the newest approaches to perioperative assessment and management, state-of-the art diagnostic techniques, and cardiovascular and coronary physiology. Covers the full spectrum of contemporary cardiothoracic anesthesia practice, including preoperative assessment, physiology, pharmacology, monitoring, transesophageal echocardiography, coagulation, specific cardiac procedures, extracorporeal circulation, postoperative pain treatment, and management of the complex patient with cardiac disease.
A Practice of Anesthesia for Infants and Children, 7th ed. by
A Practice of Anesthesia for Infants and Children, Seventh Edition , has continued to evolve from its humble beginnings in 1986 with only 304 pages in the first edition to more than 1100 pages in this, the seventh edition. Of the founding coeditors, Dr. Nishan Goudsouzian has retired from practice and Dr. I. David Todres and Dr. John F. Ryan have passed. Two new coeditors joined to fill the vacancies left by these giants in our field: Dr. Jerrold Lerman joined for the fourth edition and Dr. Brian J Anderson for the fifth edition.
The current edition includes 115 authors from five continents, 53 of whom are new contributors. The book continues to be a highly respected, evidence-based synopsis of the practice of pediatric anesthesia reflecting a broad perspective of reasoning and practice from a host of international experts. As in past editions, many of the current authors are board certified in pediatrics and anesthesiology, surgery, nursing, and a number of pediatric subspecialties, enhancing our understanding of hematology, pulmonology, cardiology, nephrology, hepatology, and neurology. All chapters are meticulously referenced with up to a dozen annotated references that reflect pivotal publications on the topic of the chapter in the printed version with the full list of references at Elsevier eBooks+ with hypertext links to PubMed.org .
To navigate this edition more easily, we have continued several notable changes that we introduced in the last edition. The book is divided into 10 color-coded sections: Introduction, Drug and Fluid Therapy, The Chest, The Heart, The Brain and Glands, The Abdomen, Other Surgeries, Emergencies, Pain, and Special Topics. This format allows the reader to identify sections under broad headings and then within each section, to find specific subjects of interest. We have again sought contributions from pediatric subspecialists who share their perspectives and insights and paired them with a pediatric anesthesiologist to ensure that the basic science is intertwined with a practical anesthesiology clinical perspective. These are the “Essentials” chapters.
Our text is accompanied by a website that contains many supplemental pictures, tables, figures, and video clips that will enhance the readers’ experiences, particularly for performing regional anesthesia and vascular access procedures. A pocket reference card provides general recommendations for doses of commonly used medications by weight and other useful guides such as appropriately sized airway devices, and other quick references.
As with previous editions of our textbook, the current revision involved quite a journey reflecting a microcosm of the world and life in general with many contributors having experienced challenges such as loss of loved ones, personal crises, illness, and others including the stress of the COVID-19 pandemic during the writing of their chapters. Despite these obstacles, our authors have succeeded in crafting masterful chapters to create what we hope you will agree is an up-to-date state of the art text in pediatric anesthesia; the entire text and E-only content is also available for purchase as an eBook.
Once again, while assembling this new edition, the editors spent many days, evenings, and weekends debating controversial issues and crafting the language of the chapters such that all chapters were edited and reviewed by all three editors and common ground reached. This is an especially useful exercise since it improves the readability of the text and represents a fusion of the USA, Canadian, and New Zealand approaches to pediatric anesthesia that combines our global experience and understanding.
We believe that A Practice of Anesthesia for Infants and Children, Seventh edition , continues to provide a framework for residency and fellowship training in pediatric anesthesia globally and will continue to be a valuable resource for passing the subspecialty boards in pediatric anesthesiology as well as a resource for practicing pediatric anesthesiologists and other pediatric care providers around the world. When we look back to the first edition of Leigh and Belton’s Pediatric Anesthesia (1948), the editors stated that “This book ....discusses many of the methods which the authors have employed satisfactorily over a period of years”. Similarly, Smith stated in his first edition of Smith’s Anesthesia for Infants and Children (1959) that “My intention in writing this book is to organize and evaluate this information and to add what I can from first-hand experience and observation.” Dripps, Eckenhoff, & Vandam’s Introduction to Anesthesia (1977), the first anesthesia textbook CJC used as a resident, stated that “ Much of the teaching of anesthesia is by word of mouth.... This is the lore of anesthesia that must be passed on from individual to individual.”
ISBN: 9780323825603
eBooks
Litman's Basics of Pediatric Anesthesia, 3rd ed. by
It covers everything from general pediatric physiology and pharmacology principles through important pediatric diseases; preoperative, intraoperative, and postoperative care; anesthesia for a full range of specific surgical procedures; pain management; and critical care. An excellent resource for learners of pediatric anesthesia.
Miller's Basics of Anesthesia, 8th ed. by
Long regarded as the undisputed leading text of its kind, Miller's Basics of Anesthesia provides comprehensive yet concise coverage of both basic science and clinical topics in anesthesiology. Under the experienced editorial leadership of Dr. Manuel C. Pardo, Jr., the 8th Edition has been meticulously updated to reflect the latest advances in practice and important aspects of contemporary anesthesia care, including pathophysiology, pharmacology, regional anesthesia, anesthetic management, and special problems and patient groups. It remains the first learning resource of choice for anesthesia providers, including anesthesia residents and fellows, medical students, and student registered nurse anesthetists, and is also a valuable review tool for practitioners undergoing maintenance of certification or recertification. Features a reader-friendly format with color-coded section tabs, easy-to-read chapters, and a concise writing style, along with color patterns in every chapter for quick navigation. Contains new chapters on Clinician Well-Being, Perioperative Point-of-Care Ultrasound, Environmental Impact of Anesthetics, and Perioperative Medicine. Covers key topics such as anesthesia neurotoxicity, palliative care, sleep medicine, trauma, and much more. Includes high-quality images that offer a detailed visual understanding of complex topics, while numerous figures and tables condense material for easier retention and review. Shares the knowledge and experience of renowned anesthesia expert Dr. Manuel C. Pardo, Jr. and a team of more than 80 global contributing authors. Serves both as an initial learning resource and a useful tool for solidifying the essential "must know" information and reviewing core knowledge for maintenance of certification. Enhanced eBook version included with purchase. Your enhanced eBook allows you to access all of the text, figures, and references from the book on a variety of devices.
Perioperative Care of the Cancer Patient by
More than 80% of patients with cancer will need the services of anesthesiology and perioperative medicine, intensive care medicine, and pain management specialists during their cancer journey for diagnostic, therapeutic, and symptom management needs, as well as for the management of recurrent disease, secondary cancers, and ongoing non-oncologic surgical needs during survivorship. Perioperative Care of the Cancer Patient is today's most up-to-date, authoritative, comprehensive reference on the acute care of surgical patients with cancer, from a team of international experts in this emerging and dynamic specialty. Covers current clinical practice and perioperative care guidelines during the entire cancer journey for both adult and pediatric patients. Includes a diverse array of topics on cancer care, such as cancer epidemiology, cancer biology, ethics in cancer care delivery, value proposition in cancer care, opportunities and challenges with research programs in perioperative cancer care, application of big data and computational sciences in cancer medicine and care delivery, and the MD Anderson Cancer Center Moon Shots Program®. Discusses newer cancer therapies and their perioperative implications, functional assessment and prehabilitation, enhanced recovery programs in cancer care, challenges with novel cancer therapies in the care of the critically ill cancer patient, chronic and interventional pain management in patients with cancer, and more. An educational resource and clinical reference for surgeons, anesthesia practitioners, hospitalists, internists, pain physicians, intensivists, basic science researchers, and all clinicians involved in the acute care of surgical patients with cancer. Enhanced eBook version included with purchase. Your enhanced eBook allows you to access all of the text, figures, and references from the book on a variety of devices.
ISBN: 9780323695848Publication Date: 2022-07-21
Perioperative Quality Improvement by
Quality improvement (QI) principles are increasingly important in every area of today's healthcare, encompassing efforts to make healthcare delivery safer, more effective, patient-centered, timely, equitable, and efficient. Perioperative Quality Improvement provides up-to-date, easy-to-read guidance for perioperative clinicians on this critical topic. Each chapter covers a pertinent area of QI in the perioperative setting, focusing on both concepts and implementation. Written and edited by key international opinion leaders in the field, this text is a relevant, concise resource for anesthesiologists, surgeons, nurse anesthetists, and hospitalists-anyone involved in perioperative medicine regardless of specialty area. Explains concepts related to understanding the tools and techniques used in improving the quality of care, establishing a culture of quality, prioritizing areas of improvement, collecting and analyzing data, communicating, motivating people to change, and performing ongoing evaluations. Covers key topics such as patient-centered care, equity, shared decision making, process mapping, and sustainability. Addresses the critical areas of structure, process and outcome with a focus on perioperative care and relevant case studies. Enhanced eBook version included with purchase. Your enhanced eBook allows you to access all of the text, figures, and references from the book on a variety of devices.
- A Practice of Anesthesia for Infants and Children, 7th ed. by
A Practice of Anesthesia for Infants and Children, Seventh Edition , has continued to evolve from its humble beginnings in 1986 with only 304 pages in the first edition to more than 1100 pages in this, the seventh edition. Of the founding coeditors, Dr. Nishan Goudsouzian has retired from practice and Dr. I. David Todres and Dr. John F. Ryan have passed. Two new coeditors joined to fill the vacancies left by these giants in our field: Dr. Jerrold Lerman joined for the fourth edition and Dr. Brian J Anderson for the fifth edition.
The current edition includes 115 authors from five continents, 53 of whom are new contributors. The book continues to be a highly respected, evidence-based synopsis of the practice of pediatric anesthesia reflecting a broad perspective of reasoning and practice from a host of international experts. As in past editions, many of the current authors are board certified in pediatrics and anesthesiology, surgery, nursing, and a number of pediatric subspecialties, enhancing our understanding of hematology, pulmonology, cardiology, nephrology, hepatology, and neurology. All chapters are meticulously referenced with up to a dozen annotated references that reflect pivotal publications on the topic of the chapter in the printed version with the full list of references at Elsevier eBooks+ with hypertext links to PubMed.org .
To navigate this edition more easily, we have continued several notable changes that we introduced in the last edition. The book is divided into 10 color-coded sections: Introduction, Drug and Fluid Therapy, The Chest, The Heart, The Brain and Glands, The Abdomen, Other Surgeries, Emergencies, Pain, and Special Topics. This format allows the reader to identify sections under broad headings and then within each section, to find specific subjects of interest. We have again sought contributions from pediatric subspecialists who share their perspectives and insights and paired them with a pediatric anesthesiologist to ensure that the basic science is intertwined with a practical anesthesiology clinical perspective. These are the “Essentials” chapters.
Our text is accompanied by a website that contains many supplemental pictures, tables, figures, and video clips that will enhance the readers’ experiences, particularly for performing regional anesthesia and vascular access procedures. A pocket reference card provides general recommendations for doses of commonly used medications by weight and other useful guides such as appropriately sized airway devices, and other quick references.
As with previous editions of our textbook, the current revision involved quite a journey reflecting a microcosm of the world and life in general with many contributors having experienced challenges such as loss of loved ones, personal crises, illness, and others including the stress of the COVID-19 pandemic during the writing of their chapters. Despite these obstacles, our authors have succeeded in crafting masterful chapters to create what we hope you will agree is an up-to-date state of the art text in pediatric anesthesia; the entire text and E-only content is also available for purchase as an eBook.
Once again, while assembling this new edition, the editors spent many days, evenings, and weekends debating controversial issues and crafting the language of the chapters such that all chapters were edited and reviewed by all three editors and common ground reached. This is an especially useful exercise since it improves the readability of the text and represents a fusion of the USA, Canadian, and New Zealand approaches to pediatric anesthesia that combines our global experience and understanding.
We believe that A Practice of Anesthesia for Infants and Children, Seventh edition , continues to provide a framework for residency and fellowship training in pediatric anesthesia globally and will continue to be a valuable resource for passing the subspecialty boards in pediatric anesthesiology as well as a resource for practicing pediatric anesthesiologists and other pediatric care providers around the world. When we look back to the first edition of Leigh and Belton’s Pediatric Anesthesia (1948), the editors stated that “This book ....discusses many of the methods which the authors have employed satisfactorily over a period of years”. Similarly, Smith stated in his first edition of Smith’s Anesthesia for Infants and Children (1959) that “My intention in writing this book is to organize and evaluate this information and to add what I can from first-hand experience and observation.” Dripps, Eckenhoff, & Vandam’s Introduction to Anesthesia (1977), the first anesthesia textbook CJC used as a resident, stated that “ Much of the teaching of anesthesia is by word of mouth.... This is the lore of anesthesia that must be passed on from individual to individual.”
ISBN: 9780323825603
Journals
Education
Anesthesiology in-Training Exam Review: Regional Anesthesia and Chronic Pain, 2d ed. by
Focused on rotations in regional anesthesia and chronic pain, this book provides a structured review of the concepts covered in the American Board of Anesthesiology in-training exam.The first section of the book covers regional anesthesia with dedicated chapters on basic science, acute postoperative pain, and nerve blocks for neuraxial, lower and upper extremity blocks, and head and neck. The second section on chronic pain includes chapters on basic science and common pain conditions - including craniofacial pain, CRPS, neuropathic pain, and cancer pain. This section closes on multimodal analgesia and other treatment approaches. Each chapter presents a common clinical topic and is organized by indications, preparation, technique, complication, prevention, clinical pearls, and related ABA key points. Highlights must-know information in bold throughout the text. Concise, practical, and easy-to-read, this book will aid anesthesiology residents, certified nurse anesthetists, and medical students in their study regarding patient care practices on regional anesthesia and chronic pain. The book will also be useful to residents going into regional anesthesia and pain medicine subspecialties during the year of their anesthesiology training.
ISBN: 9783030872656Publication Date: 2022-02-12
Certification Review for Nurse Anesthesia, Second Edition by
More than 800 questions and answers provide the practice you need to excel on the National Certification Examination Prepare for the nurse anesthesia certification or recertification with this outstanding review written by an experienced nurse anesthesia educator. Focusing on topics tested by the National Board of Certification and Recertification of Nurse Anesthetists, the text includes over 800 questions and answers in multiple choice, multiple response, and calculation formats, with subjects mixed to reflect the actual test. Detailed explanations augment each answer, with page references to Clinical Anesthesiology, Seventh Edition and other texts, for more detailed topic discussions. This updated edition features new content on ultrasound in regional anesthesia; use of plain film imaging in anesthesia; psych meds in anesthesia; and updated references.
ISBN: 9781265210960Publication Date: 2023-09-07
