Lippincott Procedures
- Lippincott Procedures This link opens in a new window Point of care evidence-based guidance for over 1700 procedures and skills from a wide variety of nursing specialties. Also includes Mayo site-specific policies.
Click on All Nursing, then Specialty (Advanced Practice, Critical Care, Emergency, Home Care, Hospice, Long Term Care, Medical-Surgical, Neonatal Critical Care, Oncology, Pediatric, Pediatric Critical Care) then Neurologic Care
eBooks
The Acute Neurology Survival Guide by
This practical guide for trainees and advanced practice providers covers the essential management of hospitalized patients with acute neurologic conditions. Divided into five sections, this text serves as an incredibly easy-to-use, visually accessible, how-to manual that covers exactly what every responding clinician needs to know to care for the patient in front of them. The first section provides tangible guidance about how to pre-round, structure a presentation, examine neurologically ill patients, and interpret the core diagnostics obtained in many neurology patients: CT, MRI and EEG. The next three sections cover common complaints encountered in the hospital: spanning from non-vascular admissions, vascular & stroke neurology topics, and core neurocritical care principals and chief complaints. Throughout are checklists, scoring systems, pro-tips, images, helpful reminders, as well as concise summary of the pertinent literature. This is an ideal guide for medical students, neurology & neurosurgery trainees and advanced practice providers, as well as experienced professionals who want to brush up on the latest updates.
The Clinical Practice of Neurological and Neurosurgical Nursing, 8th ed. by
Base your care of neurological patients on evidence-based best practices, with the completely updated, fully illustrated The Clinical Practice of Neurological and Neurosurgical Nursing , 8th Edition. This is the most current and comprehensive neuroscience nursing text, written to support you in the everyday high-level assessments, information processing and decision making required of the neurological nurse. A must-have for offering accurate, efficient care of adult/geriatric neuroscience patients, this is ideal for both beginning and advanced neuro nurses and nursing students. NEW chapter on hydrocephalus NEW chapter on neurological care in the community NEW and revised content throughout the text that reflects current best practices Case studies that offer real-life scenarios to reinforce concepts Treatment Summaries, Clinical Vignettes and Clinical Pearls that provide vital clinical tips Sections covering a broad range of neuroscience care considerations: Ethical perspectives and end-of-life care - Preparing and caring for patients after acute care, brain death and organ donation Assessment and evaluation of neuroscience patients - Overview of neuroanatomy and neurophysiology, diagnostics for patients with neurological disorders, comprehensive neurological examination, neurological assessment Common management challenges - Intracranial hypertension, hydrocephalus, management of patients with altered level of consciousness, evaluation/treatment of delirium, common neuroendocrine syndromes, neurosurgical procedures, rehabilitation Nursing management of patients with injury to the neurological system; cranial nerve disorders and peripheral nerve injuries; neoplasms of the neurological system; cerebrovascular disease; pain, seizures, and CNS infections; movement disorders; neurodegenerative and neuromuscular diseases Ideal for nurses working in intensive care units, emergency departments, neuroscience specialty units and medical-surgical units that admit neuroscience patients Nursing management guidance that is infused with pathophysiology content, providing a rationale for care and for identifying patient outcomes Guide for establishing and updating a neuroscience patient database Excellent study aid for preparing for the certified neuroscience registered nurse (CNRN) exam and stroke certification (SCRN) Thorough overview of neurology team communications - Best practices for coordination, continuity, and patient safety Your book purchase includes a complimentary download of the enhanced eBook for iOS(tm), Android(tm), PC, and Mac. Take advantage of these practical features that will improve your eBook experience: The ability to download the eBook on multiple devices at one time--providing a seamless reading experience online or offline Easily convert to audiobook, powering your content with natural language text-to-speech Powerful search tools and smart navigation cross-links that allow you to search within this book, or across your entire library of VitalSource eBooks About the Clinical Editors Joanne V. Hickey, PhD, RN, ACNP, FAAN, FCCM, is Patricia L. Starck/PARTNERS Professor of Nursing, Department of Research at the Cizik School of Nursing, University of Texas Health Science Center at Houston at the University of Texas Health School of Nursing in Houston, Texas. Andrea L. Strayer, MS, NP, CNRN, is Inpatient Neurosurgery Nurse Practitioner at the University of Wisconsin Hospital in Madison, Wisconsin.
Fast Facts for Nurse Practitioners: Practice Essentials for Clinical Subspecialties, 1st ed. by
The first book to provide an insider view of the latest advances and trends in the full range of clinical subspecialty areas. Fast Facts for Nurse Practitioners: Practice Essentials for Clinical Subspecialties takes the busy advanced practice provider or student on a journey through the clinical subspecialties. The author, a highly experienced nurse practitioner, has immersed herself in each of these clinical areas and interviewed medical specialists to identify the latest advances, trends, and tips to more confidently and competently assess, diagnose, manage, and refer patients across the lifespan. The book addresses hot topics in allergy and immunology, cardiology, dermatology, endocrinology, gastroenterology, hematology and oncology, infectious disease, nephrology, neurology, obstetrics and gynecology, ophthalmology, orthopedics, otolaryngology, pediatrics, psychiatry, pulmonology, rheumatology, and urology. Each chapter provides information on common chief complaints, pathophysiology, diagnostic considerations, and key points for management or referral. This concise reference provides evidence-based strategies for managing ever-changing patient needs in an easy-to-digest format. Key Features: Serves the needs of advanced practice providers and students Offers the latest advances and trends for all clinical subspecialty areas in one concise, quick-reference resource Provides evidence-based guidelines to support the principles of assessment, differential diagnosis, management, and referral Highlights only the most relevant and timely information, allowing readers to save time, stay current, and improve patient outcomes
Handbook of Neuroscience Nursing by
Written by advanced practice nurses in collaboration with physician experts from one of the world's most renowned neurosurgical institutions, this is the first point-of-care book designed to enhance patient care at the bedside. Every chapter is written by leading authorities in their respective specialties, resulting in a concise but robust neuroscience nursing management tool. The authors lay a foundation with an in-depth description of central nervous system anatomy, followed by step-by-step processes required to perform accurate and thorough neurological assessments. Subsequent chapters describe common neurological disorders and conditions such as tumors, vascular anomalies, and traumatic brain injury. The authors deftly guide the reader through managing neurological diagnoses and help the reader understand the treatment that patients with these conditions may undergo. Key Highlights Superb illustrations and 10 animations created by master artists bring to life the anatomical structures, pathologies, and mechanisms of injury described in the chapters Lists, tables, and boxes are organized in a concise layout that allows quick consultation and implementation Diagnostic images, medical illustrations, and treatment algorithms help elucidate the implications of managing patients with complex neurological conditions Appendices contain extensive complementary information including discharge instructions and checklists that are of great help to family caregivers and healthcare professionals alike This book is an accessible, easy-to-navigate reference for nurses and ancillary staff of varied experience levels and specialties who are caring for neurosurgical patients. It is a must-have resource for nurse practitioners and physician assistants at any institution with a high-volume neurosurgical service. This book includes complimentary access to a digital copy on
eBooks
Koht, Sloan, Toleikis's Monitoring the Nervous System for Anesthesiologists and Other Health Care Professionals, 3rd ed. by
As a single-source volume on intraoperative neurophysiological monitoring (IOM), previous editions of this celebrated resource amounted to a mission statement from the pioneer generation in intraoperative neurophysiology, converting insights, techniques, and perspectives into tools providing clinical utility for the assessment of the nervous system in patients who could not be assessed by a standard neurological examination. Now directed by a new generation of experts, this thoroughly illustrated Third Edition is updated with new case material, images, videos, practice guidelines, references, and technologies, and is intended for those who encounter IOM in the operating room and intensive care unit, including anesthesiologists, technologists, neurophysiologists, surgeons, and nurses, as well as graduate students and trainees. Offering topical, applicable information, this accessible reference and teaching tool provides practical knowledge to help students, trainees, andteam members better understand one another's roles, thereby improving patient safety and care.
ISBN: 9783031097188Publication Date: 2022-12-01
Neurovascular Nursing: Scope and Standards of Practice by
The Neurovascular Nursing: Scope and Standards of Practice is an essential document for every Neurovascular nurse practicing in the United States. The scope of practice statement answers the who, what, when, where, how, and why questions of neurovascular nursing. The standards provide authoritative statements of the actions and behaviors that all registered neurovascular nurses are expected to competently perform, regardless of role, population, specialty, and setting. The product of extensive thought work by many registered nurses, this new edition provides 18 national standards of practice and professional performance. Each standard is accompanied by detailed competencies for the three practice levels. This premier professional resource informs and guides Neurovascular nurses in their vital work providing safe, quality, and competent care. It is a must-have for every registered neurovascular nurse.
ISBN: 9781953985651Publication Date: 2023-02-19
Practical Approach to the Neurological Patient by
To the non-neurologist, neurology can be one of the most intimidating fields of medicine, yet it includes many common problems faced in everyday primary care practice. Written specifically for the general clinician, Practical Approach to the Neurological Patient: A Clinician's Guide provides clear, up-to-date, and easy-to-understand guidance on commonly encountered issues, helping you take an informed approach to patients with neurological concerns. Dr. William J. Mullally and a team of expert contributing authors address headache, dizziness, stroke, pain, head trauma, and much more, making this volume an indispensable resource for primary care practitioners, internists, family practitioners, medical specialists, medical residents, nurse practitioners, physician associates, and students. Offers concise, comprehensive content designed to help guide the primary care provider or non-neurologist on how to manage patients with common neurological conditions. Covers timely topics such as women's neurology, neurogenetics, pain neurology, sleep disorders, dementia, and headache (including facial pain). Includes Key Points in every chapter, MRI images that show brain lesions, figures and tables throughout, and clinical algorithms to support everyday decision making. Features multidisciplinary input from physician authors who are contributors to the American Journal of Medicine, as well as a nurse practitioner and physician associates. An eBook version is included with purchase. The eBook allows you to access all of the text, figures, and references, with the ability to search, customize your content, make notes and highlights, and have content read aloud. Additional digital ancillary content may publish up to 6 weeks following the publication date.
ISBN: 9780443126420Publication Date: 2024-10-28
Volpe's Neurology of the Newborn, 7th ed. by
The 40 years since the publication of the first edition of this book have witnessed a remarkable evolution of the discipline of the neurology of the newborn. In 1981, when the first edition was published, in the preface I expressed a sense of a “new frontier” to be pioneered. Currently, articles on neonatal neurology are abundant in the major clinical journals in the fields of pediatrics, neurology, neonatology, perinatology, and obstetrics, among others, and in multiple scientific journals of the many neurobiological disciplines. Moreover, annual meetings of scientific societies in these fields are replete with clinical studies and clinical and basic research on the neurology of the newborn. Thus venturing into the new frontier sensed in 1981 has led to an extraordinarily exciting discipline and, perhaps most importantly, to the promise of effective interventions to prevent or ameliorate neurological disability in our neonatal patients.
As with previous editions, this book is intended for a broad audience, from the most highly specialized neonatal physicians to those with a broader, more general perspective. This breadth of focus creates challenges in writing. We have avoided presenting a compendium of disembodied facts and, rather, have attempted to create a scaffold of principles upon which the ever-expanding corpus of relevant information is added. A particular effort has been exerted to bring the latest science into the clinical setting, with a special emphasis on translating new knowledge to the infant’s bedside.
To facilitate the fundamental messaging throughout the book, we have made liberal use of tables and boxes to synthesize major points. The great illustrative value of figures, in the form of flow diagrams, key experimental findings, clinical and pathological specimens, and all types of state-of-the-art neuroimaging, is emphasized in every chapter. Approximately 1000 figures are presented in this edition.
The explosion of new knowledge from the study of the newborn is reflected in the citation of more than 17,000 references. Although they are numbered consecutively in the text, the reference list in the print edition contains only the most recent citations, but all are contained in the list in the online edition.
The organization of the book is similar to that of the sixth edition, but with an addition of five chapters, for a total of 43. The chapters are presented in 14 units. Unit I contains eight chapters that address human brain development and the disorders that present when this development is disturbed. Molecular genetics, advanced imaging, and modern-day neuropathological and neuroembryological studies have greatly advanced this area. Unit II, new to this edition, contains three chapters that address fetal neurology and illustrate the importance of understanding and investigating the maternal-fetal origins of neonatal disease. The third unit, concerning the neurological evaluation, describes new methodologies to study the newborn brain, including advanced magnetic resonance imaging (MRI) techniques. A new chapter on neurodevelopmental follow-up has been added to this unit. The fourth unit focuses entirely on neonatal seizures and has been expanded significantly. This unit serves as an effective bridge to the subsequent disease-focused units.
Unit V, the largest in the book, consists of 10 chapters and addresses the critical area of hypoxic-ischemic and related disorders, especially those involving systemic/neuroinflammation. Each of these chapters has been updated and revised accordingly. A new chapter on inflammation has been added to this unit. Unit VI addresses intracranial hemorrhage and involves three chapters. Major advances in the study of intraventricular hemorrhage, posthemorrhagic hydrocephalus, cerebellar hemorrhage, and new MRI-delineated lesions (for example, subpial hemorrhage) are emphasized. Unit VII addresses metabolic encephalopathies, involving particularly glucose, bilirubin, and amino acid and organic acid metabolism. New insights into molecular genetics, pathogenetic mechanisms, and management are highlighted. Unit VIII comprises a single chapter on degenerative disorders. Emphasis is placed on major insights provided by molecular genetics and advances in therapies. Unit IX addresses neuromuscular disorders. The four chapters in this unit are notably comprehensive and emphasize recent advances in diagnosis by molecular genetics and in treatment. Unit X on intracranial infections includes chapters on viral, protozoan, and related intracranial infections and on bacterial and fungal infections. These two chapters have been greatly expanded. Unit XI focuses on perinatal trauma and a wide variety of injuries involving intracranial structures, the spinal cord, and peripheral nerves.
Unit XII addresses intracranial mass lesions, especially brain tumors and vein of Galen malformations. Especially emphasized are new insights into molecular characterization of brain tumors and the relation of this characterization to management and outcomes. Advances in diagnosis and management of vein of Galen malformations are presented. Unit XIII is a single chapter on drugs and the developing nervous system. Recent insights into the spectrum of drugs involved, the related prenatal and postnatal syndromes, and optimal management are described in this appreciably expanded chapter. The final unit contains a new chapter that illustrates the disappointing gap in resources available in low-resource settings and the resulting adverse effects on incidence of injuries and outcomes.
ISBN: 9780443105135
