Lippincott Procedures
- Lippincott Procedures This link opens in a new window Point of care evidence-based guidance for over 1700 procedures and skills from a wide variety of nursing specialties. Also includes Mayo site-specific policies.
Click on All Nursing, then Specialty (Ambulatory Care, Critical Care, Emergency, Medical-Surgical) then Geriatric Care
eBooks
Adult-Gerontology Practice Guidelines, 3rd ed. by
Each chapter defines the problem, how often it occurs, and what leads to the problem. To aid in assessment, the book includes the physical examination landmarks as well as diagnostic tests that might be needed. A plan of care is offered with several different alternatives for treatment and then notes what type of follow-up is needed. This would be a great resource for anyone working in the field of geriatrics...Score: 92 - 4 Stars! --Doody's Reviews This hands-on text and clinical reference--used by thousands of NP students and practitioners alike--delivers national practice guidelines and professional standards of care to help clinicians deliver optimal primary care to adult and older adult patients. The new third edition, featuring the expert input of two renowned Adult-Gerontology practitioners, updates all chapters, teaching guides, and illustrative charts and provides new charts to enhance readability. Fresh content includes information on Sjogren's syndrome; reactive arthritis; elder abuse; LGBTQ health; concussion assessment; joint pain, bursitis, and fractures; peripheral neuropathy; and perimenopause/menopause. The third edition also includes the updated Beers Criteria and covers COVID-19 treatment and vaccines. Ideal for quick reference and as a study guide, the text presents the most up-to-date guidelines in a consistent, easy-to-read, bulleted format. Conveniently organized by body system, it features detailed content on the physical examination and diagnostic testing, information on health promotion, guidelines of care, dietary information, common procedures, national patient resources, and popular Client Teaching Guides--available in print and digital format--that serve as both patient handouts and concise study tools. Clinical points throughout the text highlight critical practice considerations. The book, with its great breadth and depth of information, will be a welcome companion for NP students as they transition to professional practice and beyond. Purchase includes access to eBook for use on most mobile devices or computers. New to the Third Edition: Completely updated content including patient teaching guides and charts New charts added to enhance comprehension Coverage of Sjogren's syndrome; reactive arthritis; elder abuse; LGBTQ health; concussion assessment; joint pain, bursitis, and fractures; peripheral neuropathy, and perimenopause/menopause Latest guidelines on COVID-19 treatment and vaccines Updated Beers Criteria Current CDC recommendations on vaccines and cancer screening Key Features: Offers consistent guidelines for over 275 disorders Presents practice guidelines organized by body system Lists disorders alphabetically for easy access Highlights key considerations for practice Delivers individual care considerations for adult, geriatric, and pregnant patients Provides Client Teaching Guides serving as both take-home teaching supplements for patients and a concise study tool for students
Evidence-Based Geriatric Nursing Protocols for Best Practice by
AJN Book of the Year 2016 First-Place Winner in Gerontological Nursing! "The evidence-based protocols are designed as a primary reference and are useful, substantive, and timely....The broader contributions of useful format and succinct review of the evidence make it likely that this text will continue to be the leading resource in nursing education and practice." --The Gerontologist "As a gerontological clinical educator/research nurse, I will often use this as a reference. The format and the content are good, and the explanations of how to best use the evidence simplify the process of sifting through mountains of information to figure the best practice." Score: 97, **** --Doody's The newest edition of this distinguished reference in geriatric nursing delivers updated guidelines, new illustrative case studies, and the latest evidence-based protocols developed by leading researchers, educators, and practitioners in each topic area. The sixth edition includes new approaches devoted to supporting LGBTQ+ elders, persons living with dementia and their families, and older adults living with HIV. New operational strategies provide guidance in using the electronic health record, implementing improved person-centered care approaches, and maintaining age-friendly atmospheres. Using evidence derived from all levels of care, this text offers developed guidelines for improving both quality and outcomes when caring for older adults in multiple disciplines, including interprofessional team members, long-term care and other staff educators, social workers, dietitians, and physicians. Chapters provide assessment and management principles, clinical interventions, specialty practice, and models of care. They consistently feature chapter objectives, annotated references, evidence ratings for each protocol, and resources for further investigation. Each protocol is embedded within the chapter content to provide context and detailed evidence. The protocols consistently include an overview, evidence-based assessment, intervention strategies, and a supporting case study with discussion. PowerPoint presentations and a test bank are available as instructor's resources.New Chapters: Informational Technology: Embedding CPGsOrganizational Approaches to Promote Person-Centered CareEnvironmental Approaches to Support Aging-Friendly CareHIV Prevention and Care for the Older AdultLGBTQ+ PerspectivesKey Features: Best practices for in-patient, in-home, and long-term care settingsCase studies with discussions in each chapter to illustrate application of clinical practice and related Nursing Standard of Practice ProtocolThe AGREE systematic method was used to evaluate each protocol and validate this book's contentInstructor's resources including PowerPoints and a Test BankPurchase includes digital access for use on most mobile devices and computers
Geriatric Emergent/Urgent and Ambulatory Care: The Pocket NP, 2nd ed. by
Now in its second edition, this reference guide for nurse practitioners and other health care providers in emergency, medical, screening, fast track, and/or geriatric settings continues to provide ultra-quick access to key assessment and management information.
The Pocket NP delivers a wealth of information for assessment and management of the most-commonly encountered problems in fast-track settings. Arranged in a logical head-to-toe format, it includes the history, physical examination, and essential medical decision-making considerations needed to walk you step-by-step through a typical patient encounter.
Gerontological Nursing: Competencies for Care, 5th ed. by
Gerontological nursing remains a critical specialty area for the profession of nursing, especially as the older adult population grows. The Fifth Edition of Gerontological Nursing: Competencies for Care takes a holistic approach and teaches students how to provide quality patient care for the older adult, preparing them to effectively care for this population. Students and faculty appreciate the practical approach as well as the author's logical organization of competency-based content both of which are a hallmark of this text. Following the framework outlined by the AACN's recommended baccalaureate competencies and curricular guidelines for the care of older adults, the text guides students through the core foundations of gerontological nursing as a specialty. The Fifth Edition emphasizes these essential competencies coupled with the management of geriatric syndromes that impact this population including falls, sleep disorders, depression/anxiety, and elder abuse. Key Features: * Practical information on dementia for nurses and caregivers * Expanded content on fall prevention * New content on COVID-19 and telehealth care * "Healthy Aging Tips" found throughout the text* Updated research highlights* Critical thinking and personal reflection exercises * Video case studies in the form of author-conducted interviews accessible via Navigate Premier Access
Palliative Care Nursing: Caring for Suffering Patients, 2d.ed. by
Kathleen Ouimet Perrin, Caryn A. Sheehan, Mertie L. Potter
ISBN: 9781284209877
Rapid Response Situations: Management in Adult and Geriatric Hospitalist Medicine by
Practically focused and evidence based, Rapid Response Situations: Management in Adult and Geriatric Hospitalist Medicine compiles the essential information needed by rapid response teams (RRT) for early intervention at the bedside of an acutely ill patient. This portable resource is ideal for hospitalists and other members of the RRT, offering step-by-step coverage of the assessment and stabilization information most needed at the time of emergency. Addresses the most common rapid response situations in a brief, highly templated, and bulleted format designed for quick reference at the point of care. Step-by-step coverage includes: Which stabilization measures to implement; Which tests to order and why; Which medications to administer, including dosage; Which specialists to consult for further interventions. A must-have reference for hospitalists, intensivists, ICU nurses, and other rapid response team members, including those working in rural settings with few intensivists specialists available for consults. Enhanced eBook version included with purchase. Your enhanced eBook allows you to access all of the text, figures, and references from the book on a variety of devices.
