Lippincott Procedures
- Lippincott Procedures This link opens in a new window Point of care evidence-based guidance for over 1700 procedures and skills from a wide variety of nursing specialties. Also includes Mayo site-specific policies.
Click on All Nursing, then Behavioral Health
eBooks
Addictions Nursing: Scope and Standards of Practice, 3rd ed. by ISBN: 9781947800861Publication Date: 2021-09-01
Advanced Practice Psychiatric Nursing: Integrating Psychotherapy, Psychopharmacology, and Complementary and Alternative Approaches Across the Life Span, 3rd ed. by
"This textbook is our go-to book, it is an excellent overview of advanced practice in psychiatric nursing. This is the text that we use in our seminar courses during clinical, and we also use it in our review for our ANCC boards. Our student's scores were 92% this past year! We are very pleased with this textbook!" -Dr. Cheryl Zauderer, PhD, CNM, PMHNP-BC Associate Dean of Graduate Programs Co-Coordinator, PMHNP Program Hunter-Bellevue School of Nursing Now in its third edition, this revised reference continues to serve as the only foundational resource for APRNs to incorporate a focus on integrative interventions with mental health issues across the lifespan. New chapters on Legal and Ethical Decision Making and LGBTQ+ Issues: Care of Sexual and Gender Minority Patients, and Increasing Resilience in Advanced Practice Mental Health Nurses, shed light on vital contemporary issues. This text offers expanded coverage on telehealth, population health, and the updated AACN Essentials. Additionally, the third edition provides 10 practical case studies illustrating specific syndromes as well as 2019 updates to the ANCC certification exam. It provides expanded instructor resources including a Test Bank and PowerPoints. Comprehensive and practical, this text is organized around commonly seen clinical constellations of psychiatric symptoms and covers neurobiology, theory, and research evidence along with pharmacological information relevant to each syndrome. It delivers an abundance of valuable interventions from which clinicians and clients can co-create the most effective, individualized interventions. Popular decision trees provide an algorithm to help students work through the process of evaluating and treating patients, and a lifespan focus prepares students for treating patients in all age groups. New to the Third Edition: New Chapters: Legal and Ethical Decision Making LGBTQ+ Issues: Care of Sexual and Gender Minority Patients Increasing Resilience in Advanced Practice Mental Health Nurses Includes 10 new case studies delivering practical information on specific syndromes Updated to reflect 2019 ANCC certification exam and 2020 AACN Essentials Key Features: Simplifies complex concepts using clear language while retaining depth of information Includes diverse treatment options, decision trees, easy-to-follow algorithms, and pertinent pharmacological data Edited by internationally acclaimed PMH-APRN practitioner/educators Contains "Aging Alerts" and "Pediatric Points" Reflects the DSM 5 and discusses genetic testing Expanded instructor resources include a Test Bank and PowerPoints
Fast Facts for Nurse Practitioners: Practice Essentials for Clinical Subspecialties, 1st ed. by
The first book to provide an insider view of the latest advances and trends in the full range of clinical subspecialty areas. Fast Facts for Nurse Practitioners: Practice Essentials for Clinical Subspecialties takes the busy advanced practice provider or student on a journey through the clinical subspecialties. The author, a highly experienced nurse practitioner, has immersed herself in each of these clinical areas and interviewed medical specialists to identify the latest advances, trends, and tips to more confidently and competently assess, diagnose, manage, and refer patients across the lifespan. The book addresses hot topics in allergy and immunology, cardiology, dermatology, endocrinology, gastroenterology, hematology and oncology, infectious disease, nephrology, neurology, obstetrics and gynecology, ophthalmology, orthopedics, otolaryngology, pediatrics, psychiatry, pulmonology, rheumatology, and urology. Each chapter provides information on common chief complaints, pathophysiology, diagnostic considerations, and key points for management or referral. This concise reference provides evidence-based strategies for managing ever-changing patient needs in an easy-to-digest format. Key Features: Serves the needs of advanced practice providers and students Offers the latest advances and trends for all clinical subspecialty areas in one concise, quick-reference resource Provides evidence-based guidelines to support the principles of assessment, differential diagnosis, management, and referral Highlights only the most relevant and timely information, allowing readers to save time, stay current, and improve patient outcomes
Mental Health Nursing by
Here's the must-know information LPN/LVN students need to care for patients with mental health disorders where they'll encounter them?in general patient care settings. An easy-to-read, conversational writing style shows you how to recognize and respond to the most important mental health issues. You'll also explore important communication techniques, ethical and legal issues, and alternative and complementary treatments. Coverage of nursing interventions, basic psychiatric nursing skills, and psychopharmacology prepares you for the NCLEX-PN® exam and clinical practice.
ISBN: 9781719645607Publication Date: 2022-09-27
Prescribing Mental Health Medication: The Practitioner's Guide by
Prescribing Mental Health Medication is a comprehensive text for all practitioners who treat mental disorders with medication. This new (third) edition is fully updated and includes a variety of additional chapters. Prescribing Mental Health Medication covers the latest digital methodologies including Internet-based mental health treatment, electronic medical records and prescriber use of social media. Including information on all psychotropic medications in use in the United States and the United Kingdom, the book incorporates clinical tips, sample dialogues for talking about mental health medications to patients, and information specifically relevant in primary care settings. It looks at: • how to determine if medication is needed, proper dosing and how to start, stop and change medication • specific mental health symptoms and appropriate medication • special populations including non-adherent patients, medication abusers, those mixing alcohol and psychotropics, confused patients, children, adolescents, pregnant women and seniors • management of medication side effects and avoidance of medication risk • prescription of generic preparations • organizing a prescriptive office and record keeping. The additional chapters in this new edition of Prescribing Mental Health Medication cover topics such as combining specific medications, combining medications and psychological therapies, use of'natural'substances in mental health treatment, successfully managing patient relapse, and appropriate prescriptions of potentially controversial medications such as stimulants and benzodiazepines. This practical text explains the entire process of medication assessment, management and follow up for general medical practitioners, mental health practitioners, students, residents, prescribing nurses and others perfecting this skill.
eBooks
Psychiatry: An Illustrated Colour Text, 3d ed. by
This book is aimed at medical students, but should be suitable for anyone learning about psychiatry for the first time, or needing to refresh their knowledge. What makes it different from other introductory psychiatry texts is its format, which will be familiar to readers of other books from the Illustrated Colour Text series. There are illustrations and clinical examples throughout, and each topic is covered in two facing pages. This has allowed us to keep the book relatively brief and still cover a wide range of information. There are summary boxes, questions about clinical problems, with answers in ‘Case history comments’ at the end of the book followed by a multiple-choice ‘Self-assessment’ section, all of which should help you monitor and revise your learning. We have tried to produce a book that is stimulating and easy to read. Psychiatry is a fascinating and highly rewarding field and we hope this book will help you make the most of it. If we encourage you to meet and work with psychiatric patients and their families, and give you the knowledge you need to do this effectively, then we will have succeeded.
ISBN: 9780323935807
Psychotherapy for the Advanced Practice Psychiatric Nurse, 3rd ed. by
The leading textbook on psychotherapy for advanced practice psychiatric nurses and students Award-winning and highly lauded, Psychotherapy for the Advanced Practice Psychiatric Nurse is a how-to compendium of evidence-based approaches for both new and experienced advanced practice psychiatric nurses and students. This expanded third edition includes a revised framework for practice based on new theory and research on attachment and neurophysiology. It advises the reader on when and how to use techniques germane to various evidence-based psychotherapy approaches for the specific client problems encountered in clinical practice. This textbook guides the reader in accurate assessment through a comprehensive understanding of development and the application of neuroscience to make sense of what is happening for the patient in treatment. Contributed by leaders in the field, chapters integrate the best evidence-based approaches into a relationship-based framework and provides helpful patient-management strategies, from the first contact through termination. This gold-standard textbook and reference honors the heritage of psychiatric nursing, reaffirms the centrality of relationship for psychiatric advanced practice, and celebrates the excellence, vitality, depth, and breadth of knowledge of the specialty. New to This Edition: Revised framework for practice based on new theory and research on attachment and neurophysiology New chapters: Trauma Resiliency Model Therapy Psychotherapeutics: Re-uniting Psychotherapy and Psychopharmacotherapy Trauma-Informed Medication Management Integrative Medicine and Psychotherapy Psychotherapeutic Approaches with Children and Adolescents Robust instructor resources Key Features: Offers a "how to" of evidence-based psychotherapeutic approaches Highlights the most-useful principles and techniques of treatment for nurse psychotherapists and those with prescriptive authority Features guidelines, forms, and case studies to guide treatment decisions Includes new chapters and robust instructor resources--chapter PowerPoints, case studies, and learning activities Purchase includes digital access for use on most mobile devices or computers
Varcarolis' Essentials of Psychiatric Mental Health Nursing, 5th ed. by
Gain the essential knowledge and skills you need to succeed as a psychiatric nurse! Varcarolis' Essentials of Psychiatric-Mental Health Nursing: A Communication Approach to Evidence Based Care, 5th Edition provides a concise, easy-to-understand guide to today's leading psychiatric theories and therapeutic modalities. Emphasizing evidence-based care, the book balances coverage of scientifically based treatment approaches with insights into effective communication skills, so you will be prepared to offer the best possible care when you enter practice. Written by nursing expert Chyllia D. Fosbre, this edition adds new Next Generation NCLEX® (NGN) examination-style case studies to help you develop critical thinking skills and prepare for the NGN exam. Applying Critical Judgment questions introduce clinical situations in psychiatric nursing and encourage critical thinking. Neurobiology of the Brain feature includes illustrations depicting how a disorder affects brain function and how drugs help to mitigate the symptoms. Applying Evidence-Based Practice boxes in the clinical chapters pose a question, walk you through the process of gathering evidence-based data from a variety of sources, and present a plan of care based on the evidence. Vignettes describe real-world psychiatric patients and their disorders. Assessment Guidelines boxes summarize the steps of patient assessment for various disorders. Applying the Art boxes offer clinical scenarios demonstrating the interaction between a nurse and a patient, the nurse's perception of the interaction, and the mental health nursing concepts in play. Potential Nursing Diagnoses tables list possible nursing diagnoses for a particular disorder, based on ICNP terminology, along with the associated signs and symptoms. Nursing Interventions tables list interventions for a given disorder or clinical situation, along with rationales for each intervention. DSM-5 Criteria boxes identify the diagnostic criteria for most major disorders. Integrative Care boxes highlight the different types of therapy may be used to enhance treatment. Giddens Concept boxes at the beginning of each chapter tie concepts to the topics to be discussed. NEW! Next Generation NCLEX® (NGN) examination-style case studies are included in the clinical disorders chapters to promote critical thinking and help to prepare you for the NGN exam.
What Your Patients Need to Know about Psychiatric Medications by
Whether it is patients' anxiety at being in the physician's office, psychiatric disorders that may impair attention and concentration, skepticism at the effectiveness of medication, or the physician's own busyness, there are varied reasons why patients may not request all of the information they need about a psychiatric medication that is being prescribed or why physicians may not provide it. What Your Patients Need to Know About Psychiatric Medications, Third Edition, remedies this problem by offering clear, accurate, and accessible information on more than 70 medications from all of the major medication classes, from antianxiety medications such as diazepam and lorazepam, to antidepressants such as fluoxetine and sertraline, to stimulants for attention-deficit/hyperactivity disorder such as dexmethylphenidate and oral methylphenidate. Updated to reflect new medications that have come into the marketplace and changes to the dosing, format, and methods of prescription of existing medications, the book evaluates each medication in eight categories: * General information* Dosing information* Common side effects* Adverse reactions and precautions* Risk in during pregnancy and breast-feeding* Potential drug interactions* Overdose* Treatment summary With its quick-reference format, What Your Patients Need to Know About Psychiatric Medications, Third Edition, is not just an invaluable resource for clinical social workers, clinical psychiatrists, psychiatric nurses and residents, and community and psychiatric pharmacists. It is also a source of accessible, jargon-free guidance for patients, who can leave the physician's office with tangible material about their specific medication, which they can retain and refer to later.
