Point of Care
- AskMayoExpert This link opens in a new window AskMayoExpert captures Mayo-vetted expert knowledge and delivers it at the point of care. This application is aimed at becoming a highly credible knowledge source for the non-specialist and a tool to facilitate interaction between Mayo clinicians.
- Mayo Formulary This link opens in a new window List of drugs approved for use at Mayo Clinic based upon safety, efficacy, and financial impact.
- Mayo Clinic Guide to Antimicrobial Therapy Quick Guide We designed this electronic handbook to serve as a simplified, quick reference guide for the busy day-to-day office and hospital clinical practice. This guide provides updated information about antimicrobial agents and select infectious disease syndromes in a format that is readily accessible and easily applicable to the clinical environment.
- AJCC Cancer Staging System - Version 9 (2024) The American Joint Committee on Cancer (AJCC) made an important change to how it updates and releases Cancer Staging content. The AJCC shifted from a Cancer Staging Manual to a Cancer Staging System and moved away from Editions to Versions. Updated Version 9 disease sites go into effect on January 1 following their release. AJCC Protocol for Cancer Staging Documentation, Version 9 The new AJCC Protocol Version 9 content is presented in a streamlined, easy-to-use format including synoptic staging report format, tables, explanatory notes, and illustrations. All disease sites in the 8th Edition Cancer Staging Manual remain current until replaced with Version 9. This manual was prepared and published through the support of the American College of Surgeons, the American Cancer Society, the American Society of Clinical Oncology, the College of American Pathologists, and the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention This work is subject to copyright. All rights are reserved by the ACS, whether the whole or the part of the material is concerned, specifically the rights of translation, reprinting, reuse of illustrations, recitations, broadcasting, reproduction on any physical or digital media, transmission or storage and retrieval, electronic adaptation, computer software, or by any similar or dissimilar technology known now or in the future. The use of general descriptive names, registered names, trademarks, service marks, etc. in this content does not imply, even in the absence of a specific statement, that such names are exempt from the relevant protective laws and regulations and therefore free for general use. ACS and the authors of this content are safe to assume that the advice and information in this content are believed to be true and accurate at the date of publication. Neither the ACS nor any authors or editors give a warranty, expressed or implied, with respect to the material contained herein or for any errors or omissions that may have been made. AJCC Cancer Staging Manual – 8th Ed. (2017) Users who require access to the original AJCC Cancer Staging Manual – 8th Ed. (2017) may view it here. The 8th edition manual is provided in its entirety as a reference and should not be used in developing new treatment plans. All current staging protocols are provided within the Version 9 AJCC Cancer Staging System.
- Clinical Overviews Psychiatry and Mental Health | ClinicalKey Comprehensive Clinical Topic Overview
- AccessEmergencyMedicine This link opens in a new window Collection of books, case files, study tools, and procedure videos with an emergency medicine focus.
- AccessMedicine This link opens in a new window Reference tool containing online textbooks, images & illustrations, case files, diagnostic tools, and self-assessment examinations.
- AccessPediatrics This link opens in a new window Comprehensive Pediatric resource containing key textbooks, case files, study tools and videos.
Calculators
- ClinicalKeyNeurology / Psychiatry
- GuidelineCentralPsychiatry
- UpToDateSelect Psychiatry from the list of specialties
Guidelines
- American Psychiatric AssociationPractice Guidelines
- American Psychological AssociationAPA-Approved Standards and Guidelines
- ClinicalKeyPsychiatry / Mental Health
- GuidelineCentralAddiction Medicine
- GuidelineCentralPediatric Psychiatry
- GuidelineCentralPsychiatry
Clinical Trials
- CenterWatch: Clinical Trials Listing Service This link opens in a new window Designed to be a resource for both patients interested in participating in clinical trials and for research professionals.
- ClinicalTrials.gov What is ClinicalTrials.gov and who uses it? ClinicalTrials.gov is a website and online database of clinical research studies and information about their results. The purpose of ClinicalTrials.gov is to provide information about clinical research studies to the public, researchers, and health care professionals. The U.S. government does not review or approve the safety and science of all studies listed on this website.
Education
- American Psychiatric AssociationLearning Center
- American Psychological AssociationContinuing education programs
Addiction Psychiatric Medicine: A Comprehensive Board Review by
Easy to read and use, Addiction Psychiatric Medicine: A Comprehensive Board Review provides a systematic and comprehensive review of all diseases and disorders frequently tested on addiction psychiatry and addiction medicine board examinations. This high-yield manual is divided into two sections: the first section contains short chapters covering important topics in addiction medicine and psychiatry, including alcohol, sedatives, opioids, tobacco, cannabis, and stimulants; the second section divides questions into three 50-question blocks to resemble the board exam format. This learning tool is essential for exam study in addiction psychiatry or addiction medicine and an excellent resource for interacting with patients with substance abuse disorders. Includes close to 300 multiple choice questions and detailed answer explanations Presents information on clinical concepts, etiologies of diseases, treatments, and preventive measures in a format that's easy to remember and apply, with tables and clinical points. Includes commonly missed concepts on exams for addiction psychiatry and addiction medicine to help users achieve optimal sores. Offers quick access to high-yield content critical for success on board exams, clinical clerkships, and medical practice. Enhanced eBook version included with purchase. Your enhanced eBook allows you to access the question bank, plus all of the text, figures, and references from the book on a variety of devices.
Case Files Psychiatry, Sixth Edition by
REAL-LIFE CASES SHARPEN YOUR CRITICAL THINKING SKILLS FOR YOUR CLERKSHIP AND THE SHELF EXAM Case Files: Psychiatry presents realistic clinical scenarios to enhance and hone your clinical decision-making skills. Sixty high-yield cases illustrate essential concepts in psychiatric care. Each case begins with a vignette accompanied by relevant open-ended questions designed to teach diagnostic or therapeutic approaches relevant to psychiatry. The answers that follow emphasize mechanisms and underlying principles. This sixth edition features a new format with bulleted summaries, shorter paragraphs, and clearer headings. Realistic cases are accompanied by questions that encourage you to think through DSM-5 diagnostic criteria and therapeutic options Real-life psychiatry cases with high-yield discussions aligned to clerkship guidelines USMLE-style review questions and clinical pearls accompany each case Primer on how to approach clinical problems and think like an experienced doctor
Core eBooks
Kaplan and Sadock's Comprehensive Textbook of Psychiatry, 10th ed. by
50th Anniversary Edition The cornerstone text in the field for 50 years, Kaplan & Sadock's Comprehensive Textbook of Psychiatry has consistently kept pace with the rapid growth of research and knowledge in neural science, as well as biological and psychological science. This two-volume Tenth Edition shares the expertise of over 600 renowned contributors who cover the full range of psychiatry and mental health, including neural science, genetics, neuropsychiatry, psychopharmacology, and other key areas. It remains the gold standard of reference for all those who work with the mentally ill, including psychiatrists and other physicians, psychologists, psychiatric social workers, psychiatric nurses, and other mental health professionals. New authors bring a fresh perspective to many topics, keeping you at the forefront of current developments in the field. Thoroughly updated coverage of neural sciences, with new sections on epigenetics, the microbiome, systems neuroscience, the Human Connectome Project, neurodevelopment, and many more. Extensively revised sections on schizophrenia, mood disorders, anxiety disorders, geriatric psychiatry and neurocognitive disorders. Uniquely comprehensive information of psychosomatic medicine, including chapters on obesity, chronic pain, and psychiatric sequella of critical illness. Timely information on public and global psychiatry, biological therapies, and psychotherapies. "Text within a text" coverage of child psychiatry includes thorough information on neuroimaging, assessment, genetics, sleep disorders, and the impact on parents of raising a psychiatrically disabled child. Abundant case histories add clarity and represent the vast clinical experiences and wisdom of hundreds of contributing authors. Your book purchase includes a complimentary download of the enhanced eBook for iOS, Android, PC & Mac. Take advantage of these practical features that will improve your eBook experience: The ability to download the eBook on multiple devices at one time -- providing a seamless reading experience online or offline Powerful search tools and smart navigation cross-links allow you to search within this book, or across your entire library of VitalSource eBooks Multiple viewing options offer the ability to scale images and text to any size without losing page clarity as well as responsive design The ability to highlight text and add notes with one click
The American Psychiatric Association Publishing Textbook of Geriatric Psychiatry, 6th ed. by
Over the course of more than two decades and five previous editions, The American Psychiatric Association Publishing Textbook of Geriatric Psychiatry has established itself as a foundational resource in the field. This new edition retains the multidisciplinary and developmental perspectives of its predecessors, drawing on the knowledge not only of psychiatrists but also of relevant biomedical and behavioral experts in order to present the most comprehensive approach to patient care. It has been extensively updated to reflect the latest scientific advances and clinical developments in the field. Not only will readers find the most up-to-date information on phenomenology, diagnosis, and assessment of late-life mental disorders, they will also access the latest research on psychotherapeutic, psychopharmacological, and other somatic treatments. A dedicated chapter delves into the role of technology―including digital phenotyping, wearables, digital and Web-based neurocognitive testing, and more―in aiding the geriatric mental health workforce and improving both access to care and ongoing support. Throughout the book, several sections also candidly examine the impact of COVID-19, and its attendant social isolation, on older adult mental health and the evolution of treatment approaches, revealing insights learned about telepsychiatry and care in nursing homes during the pandemic. Chapters on the legal and ethical factors in the psychiatric care of older adults close out the book, the most exhaustive on the topic. Extensively researched and with key points for ease of reference, this edition will equip both the scholar and the clinician with the current state of scientific understanding as well as the practical skills and knowledge base required for dealing with mental disorders in late life.
The American Psychiatric Association Publishing Textbook of Psychiatry, 7th ed. by
The American Psychiatric Association Publishing Textbook of Psychiatry, first published more than 30 years ago, is a landmark text with a legacy of sound scholarship, expert knowledge, and effective pedagogy. Thoroughly revised and featuring new authors and content, the seventh edition raises the bar, adding age-related, cultural, societal, and population considerations in the practice of psychiatry to the authoritative text that generations of students, residents, and clinicians have heretofore relied upon. The book first focuses on foundational knowledge, with chapters on psychiatric interviewing, diagnostic formulation, developmental assessment, laboratory testing and neuroimaging, and ethical and legal aspects of clinical psychiatry, and then proceeds to a full presentation of psychiatric disorders in alignment with DSM-5. The third section offers an overview of treatment strategies and methods in present-day psychiatry, a combination of evidence-based biological interventions and psychotherapies, and gives a clear sense of exciting new directions in psychiatric therapeutics. The final section of the textbook is focused on the care of special patient populations, including women; children and adolescents; lesbian, gay, bisexual, and transgender individuals; older adults; and culturally diverse individuals. Many topics are new to this volume, including the following: * Suicide risk assessment, a critically important subject, is addressed in a new chapter that provides the reader with up-to-date knowledge needed to conduct a thorough, attuned, and accurate psychiatric interview in line with best practices.* A new chapter on the social determinants of mental health has been added, reflecting an increased emphasis on populations whose specific concerns have been historically underappreciated in American psychiatry, and illuminating factors that influence mental health needs and barriers to care in specific patient populations.* Precision psychiatry, an integrative approach that pulls together the scientific foundation of the discipline and recent technological advances and directs them toward closing the gap between discovery and clinical translation, is explored in a new chapter.* E-health strategies in mental health have become increasingly available to psychiatrists and other health professionals, especially in the mobile and monitoring spheres. A new chapter offers insights into these intriguing new options for delivering treatment.* A chapter on complementary and integrative therapies explores the integration of conventional medicine with alternative treatments for which there is an evidence base, providing an overview of nutrients, phytomedicines, hormones, mind-body practices, and electromagnetic treatments. With features such as key clinical points and recommended readings for further study, The American Psychiatric Association Publishing Textbook of Psychiatry is a comprehensive course book, an indispensable reference, and the ultimate resource for clinical care.
The American Psychiatric Association Publishing Neuropsychiatry and Clinical Neurosciences, 6th ed. by
For more than three decades, the Textbook of Neuropsychiatry and Clinical Neurosciences has been the gold standard for understanding the structural and functional foundations and rapidly evolving knowledge base of neuropsychiatric disorders. In the new edition, the esteemed editors have undertaken a complete reorganization, reconceptualizing the way the material is presented and integrating considerations of neuropsychiatric symptoms, syndromes, and treatments into chapters addressing the neuropsychiatry of neurodevelopmental disorders, acquired neurological conditions, neurodegenerative disorders, and primary psychiatric disorders. The result is a text that flows easily and logically from general principles to specific diagnostic tools and conditions, making it a clinically relevant and eminently practical guide for medical students and residents, psychiatrists, neurologists, psychologists and neuropsychologists, as well as a broad range of professionals who work in diverse clinical settings (e.g., the general hospital setting, physical medicine/rehabilitation hospitals, psychiatric institutes, community mental health centers, alcohol and chemical dependency programs, and outpatient services and doctors' offices).The book possesses a multitude of useful attributes and features: * The new edition is thoroughly compatible with the 5th edition of the Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders.* The chapters are complete unto themselves, allowing for easy retrieval and use by clinicians facing daily challenges in the field. Extensive references allow for further research and study in quieter moments.* Chapters on specific disorders have consistent structures, where appropriate. For example, the chapter on "Autism Spectrum Disorders" has sections on background, prevalence, etiology, neurobiology, clinical presentation, assessment, differential diagnosis, comorbidity, research, interventions and treatment, and medication.* The prestigious roster of contributors boasts both luminaries and emerging leaders in behavioral neurology and neuropsychiatry, providing readers with diverse perspectives.* The material is supported by scores of tables, graphs, and illustrations, including PET, CT, and MRI images. Neuropsychiatry has come a long way from the days when patients with neuropsychiatric conditions routinely fell through the cracks of the healthcare system. The Textbook of Neuropsychiatry and Clinical Neurosciences provides comprehensive, current, and evidence-based coverage in a forward-looking volume to train a new generation of clinicians in this important work.
The American Psychiatric Association Publishing Textbook of Psychosomatic Medicine and Consultation-Liaison Psychiatry, 3rd ed. by
As with the first two editions, this third edition of The American Psychiatric Association Publishing Textbook of Psychosomatic Medicine and Consultation-Liaison Psychiatry is the most comprehensive reference on the subspecialty available. Extensively revised and updated, this new edition also features 30 new authors. The emphasis on a diversity of perspectives remains as strong as ever: Chapter authors represent a range of backgrounds and disciplines, and of opinions and viewpoints, and 24 of the 88 contributors are from countries other than the United States. Organized into four sections, the textbook addresses * General principles of evaluation and management, legal and ethical issues, and psychological reactions to illness.* Psychiatric symptoms and disorders--including delirium, aggression, depression, suicidality, psychosis, anxiety, eating and sleep disturbances, sexual dysfunction, and substance use problems--commonly encountered in medically ill populations.* Psychological and social aspects of diseases and disorders affecting the various organ systems.* Psychiatric treatments in the medically ill, including psychopharmacology, psychotherapy, electroconvulsive and other neurostimulation therapies, and palliative care. Encyclopedic in its scope and accessible in its presentation, The American Psychiatric Association Publishing Textbook of Psychosomatic Medicine and Consultation-Liaison Psychiatry is an essential resource for psychiatry residents, psychosomatic medicine fellows, attending psychiatrists, and other specialists who need to stay up to date with the rapidly expanding evidence base in the field.
The American Psychiatric Association Publishing Textbook of Substance Abuse Treatment by
A robust revision, including many entirely new chapters addressing policy, the latest treatment approaches, and special topics, the Sixth Edition of The American Psychiatric Association Publishing Textbook of Substance Use Disorder Treatment offers a comprehensive and compelling review of this ever-evolving field. New sections address important topics that have gained prominence or become the focus of increased research attention since the Fifth Edition was released. For example, substance use and other psychiatric disorders often co-occur, and the resulting dual disorder is frequently associated with greater symptom severity and worse long-term prognosis than either disorder alone. Accordingly, the section on psychiatric comorbidity covers the epidemiology, assessment, and treatment of substance use disorders (SUDs) that co-occur with psychotic, mood, anxiety, eating, attention-deficit/hyperactivity, or trauma-related disorders. The section devoted to special populations has been revamped, and the topics have been thoroughly updated, some now covered by new contributors and others completely new to this edition. SUDs among women (including perinatal issues), adolescents, patients with chronic pain, sexual and gender minority populations, and older adults are addressed in detailed chapters, as are behavioral addictive disorders and cross-cultural aspects of substance-related and addictive disorders. Finally, the editors have included a section devoted to critically important topics in public health, including the U.S. opioid epidemic, cannabis policy and use, HIV/AIDS and hepatitis C, nicotine and public health, and the prevention of SUDs. New or noteworthy coverage includes the following: * A chapter devoted to the legal and practical aspects of addiction in the occupational sphere, designed for clinicians who treat people with SUDs and/or develop workplace testing programs, employee assistance programs, and occupational drug/alcohol policies for these workers.* A chapter that surveys the growing literature supporting the use of mindfulness, exercise, and other "mind and body" practices (e.g., yoga, acupuncture, tai chi) as complements or alternatives to standard SUD treatment models.* A chapter devoted to hallucinogens, which clarifies their actions, psychoactive effects, historical uses, potential therapeutic benefits, and neural mechanisms, and both identifies their risks and seeks to dispel some of the misconceptions that have continued to surround them.* A suite of chapters devoted to cannabis, encompassing a review of its neurobiology and history, a survey of effective treatment approaches and harm-reduction strategies for cannabis use disorder, and a consideration of evolving public policy around cannabis use.* A trio of chapters devoted to nicotine and tobacco, encompassing a review of neurobiology, a survey of clinical assessment tools, a summary of the research base for effective treatments for tobacco use disorder, and a consideration of public health policy and interventions regarding tobacco use. Evidence-based, down to earth, and meticulously edited, the new Sixth Edition of The American Psychiatric Association Publishing Textbook of Substance Use Disorder Treatment is an essential resource for clinicians who treat SUDs in a variety of settings--from examining rooms to emergency departments, and from hospitals to recovery facilities.
- Addiction Psychiatric Medicine, 1st ed. by
Easy to read and use, Addiction Psychiatric Medicine: A Comprehensive Board Review provides a systematic and comprehensive review of all diseases and disorders frequently tested on addiction psychiatry and addiction medicine board examinations. This high-yield manual is divided into two sections: the first section contains short chapters covering important topics in addiction medicine and psychiatry, including alcohol, sedatives, opioids, tobacco, cannabis, and stimulants; the second section divides questions into three 50-question blocks to resemble the board exam format. This learning tool is essential for exam study in addiction psychiatry or addiction medicine and an excellent resource for interacting with patients with substance abuse disorders. Includes close to 300 multiple choice questions and detailed answer explanations Presents information on clinical concepts, etiologies of diseases, treatments, and preventive measures in a format that's easy to remember and apply, with tables and clinical points. Includes commonly missed concepts on exams for addiction psychiatry and addiction medicine to help users achieve optimal sores. Offers quick access to high-yield content critical for success on board exams, clinical clerkships, and medical practice. Enhanced eBook version included with purchase. Your enhanced eBook allows you to access the question bank, plus all of the text, figures, and references from the book on a variety of devices.
ISBN: 9780323754866Publication Date: 2022-05-24
Behavioral Medicine: A Guide for Clinical Practice, 5th ed. by
Publisher's Note: Products purchased from Third Party sellers are not guaranteed by the publisher for quality, authenticity, or access to any online entitlements included with the product. The #1 guide to behavioral issues in medicine delivering thorough, practical discussion of the full scope of the physician-patient relationship "This is an extraordinarily thorough, useful book. It manages to summarize numerous topics, many of which are not a part of a traditional medical curriculum, in concise, relevant chapters."--Doody's Review Service - 5 stars, reviewing an earlier edition The goal of Behavioral Medicine is to help practitioners and students understand the interplay between psychological, physical, social and cultural issues of patients. Within its pages readers will find real-world coverage of behavioral and interactional issues that occur between provider and patient in everyday clinical practice. Readers will learn how to deliver bad news, how to conduct an effective patient interview, how to care for patients at the end of life, how to clinically manage common mental and behavioral issues in medical patients, the principles of medical professionalism, motivating behavior change, and much more. As the leading text on the subject, this trusted classic delivers the most definitive, practical overview of the behavioral, clinical, and social contexts of the physician-patient relationship. The book is case based to reinforce learning through real-world examples, focusing on issues that commonly arise in everyday medical practice and training. One of the significant elements of Behavioral Medicine is the recognition that the wellbeing of physicians and other health professionals is critically important to caring for patients.
Comprehensive Clinical Psychology, 2nd ed. by
Comprehensive Clinical Psychology, Second Edition, 11 Volume Set brings together important information in the field, making this reference a current state-of-the-art of contemporary research and discussion. The book covers foundational history, professional and training issues, clinical research considerations and methods, assessments and treatments for clinical conditions experienced across the lifespan, clinical considerations for diverse populations, and emerging trends and future directions. In addition, this new release focuses on key areas, such as the emergence of new professional and training issues, new research and statistical approaches to clinical psychology, changes to the manner in which various mental health conditions are conceptualized, and more. Readers will find this to be an ideal, one-stop, comprehensive resource in clinical psychology that is thoroughly modernized to include all recent advances in the field. Provides an update to this much-loved classic reference work with all the scientific advances of the past 20 years Presents comprehensive and authoritative articles on all aspects of clinical psychology Offers readers a 'one-stop' resource for access to a wealth of information that will fully support their research and activities Written by leading experts in psychology across the globe, thus ensuring the knowledge within is easily understood by, and applicable to, a large audience
Current Diagnosis & Treatment: Psychiatry, 4th Edition by
Quickly and accurately diagnose and treat the psychiatric disorders you will encounter in clinical practice CURRENT Diagnosis & Treatment: Psychiatry offers instant access to relevant etiology, phenomenology, pathophysiology, and drug information. Designed in the time-saving outline style that makes LANGE® CURRENT titles so popular, the book covers need-to-know information on interviewing techniques, emergency psychiatry, treatment strategies, psychiatry and the law, psychological testing, emergency psychiatry, and evaluating infants. This authoritative resource reviews essential psychopharmacologic and psychotherapeutic approaches, and provides evaluation, testing, and decision-making tools and criteria. Renowned authorities on the subject, the editors have a cumulative 100+ years treating patients and teaching residents. Covers both adult and pediatric disorders. Reviews essential psychopharmacologic and psychotherapeutic approaches. Provides evaluation, testing, and decision-making tools and criteria.
ISBN: 9781265411091Publication Date: 2024-12-02
Encyclopedia of Behavioral Neuroscience, 2nd ed. by
Behavioral Neuroscience is a relatively recent discipline which unifies different fields encompassing Cognitive Psychology, Cognitive Science, Clinical Neurology, Neuroanatomy, and Neurophysiology. Encyclopedia of Behavioral Neuroscience, Three Volume Set is a comprehensive, multidisciplinary work written by the best experts in the field, addressing the relationship between the neurological and biological basis of behavior and models of cognition, spanning from perception to memory and covering phenomena that occur in human and other animals. Published in 2010, it comprised 212 articles and was a unique and essential resource for students and professionals in several fields including neuroscience, psychology, neurology, psychiatry, and cognitive science. It was by far the most comprehensive reference work available addressing the advances in all the field of behavioral neuroscience. It does however, now need revising with the latest science. The new edition will again cover the relationship between brain and behavior, both in humans and other animals, as well as mental and brain disorders. This new edition spans accross three volumes, 250 chapters and approximately 2000 pages. It will build on the foundations of the first edition by thoroughly updating all current articles with the latest research that has developed in the last decade. In addition, 40 brand new articles on the hottest topics within behavioral neuroscience will be added, covering areas such as advances in behavioral genetics and epigenetics, cognitive ageing, neuroepidemiology, social neuroscience, as well as the upsurge of new technologies like diffusion tensor imaging or transcranial direct current stimulation. The result will be an all-encompassing one-stop interdisciplinary major reference work on how the brain and its disorders influence behavior, perfect for neuroscience students, clinicians and scientists interested in knowing more about behavior from a biological perspective. Much-loved classic reference work fully revised with all the scientific advances of the last decade Comprehensive and authoritative articles on all aspects of behavioural neuroscience Offers readers a 'one-stop' resource for access to a wealth of information to fully support their research and activities in this area Chapters written by leading experts in neuroscience across the globe, thus ensuring the knowledge within is easily understood by and applicable to a large audience Articles intuitively and meticulously organized into 10 coherent sections on key topics, making it easier for the reader to access relevant information quickly Lists of key references and further reading for each article means that related content will be easier to find, and latest/key research in the field will be highlighted
Fish's Clinical Psychopathology, 5th ed. by
Psychopathology lies at the centre of effective psychiatric practice and mental health care. Fish's Clinical Psychopathology has shaped the training and clinical practice of generations of psychiatrists. The fifth edition of this modern classic presents the clinical descriptions and psychopathological insights for which this text is renowned, and adds suggested questions to assist with eliciting key symptoms. It also covers recent revisions of diagnostic classification systems, including the World Health Organization's ICD-11: International Classification of Diseases. Clear and readable, this new edition provides concise descriptions of the signs and symptoms of mental illness and astute accounts of the varied manifestations of disordered psychological function. Designed for use in clinical practice, this is an essential text for students of medicine, trainees in psychiatry, and practising psychiatrists. It is also useful for psychiatric nurses, mental health social workers, clinical psychologists, and anyone engaged in the expanding field of mental health care.
ISBN: 9781009372695Publication Date: 2024-02-01
Gabbard’s Textbook of Psychotherapeutic Treatments, 2nd ed. by
Updated for the first time since 2012, this volume reflects advances not only in psychotherapy itself―the latest empirical data, as well as our increased understanding of the interface between brain and mind―but also in the culture at large. In these pages, readers will find • A new section on racial and ethnic diversities in psychotherapy, including discussions on working with patients of African American, Asian American, South Asian American, and Latin American backgrounds • A new section on gender and sexualities in psychotherapy that examines the unique issues and opportunities that arise when treating gay, lesbian, bisexual, trans, and gender diverse individuals • A chapter on the rapidly expanding role of cyberspace in psychotherapy, including the increased use of telepsychiatry, driven in no small part by the pandemic Additionally, this second edition features a new chapter on supervision and consultation, which describes both the important role they play in a therapist's training and development and common pitfalls to be aware of. Lastly, readers can expect to find the most up-to-date information on a range of psychotherapeutic modalities that include psychodynamic psychotherapy; cognitive behavioral therapy; dialectical therapy; supportive psychotherapy; and family, couple, and group psychotherapy. With chapter summaries and key points that make it easy to reference the comprehensive information, as well as extensive lists of recommended readings, this volume is more than just the authoritative guide to the range of current psychotherapeutic treatments―it is also a gateway to further exploration and learning.
Massachusetts General Hospital Comprehensive Clinical Psychiatry, 3rd ed. by
This third edition was created by a stalwart group of more than 200 psychiatrists, psychologists, and neurologists, largely from the MGH. It was designed to solidify and expand the knowledge base of busy practitioners to improve clinical care.
ISBN: 9780443118449
On Call Psychiatry, 4th ed. by
Ideal for any on-call professional, resident, or medical student, this best-selling reference by Drs. Carol A. Bernstein, Molly E. Poag, and Mort Rubinstein covers the common problems you'll encounter while on call without direct supervision in the hospital. On Call Psychiatry, 4th Edition, fits perfectly in your pocket, ready to provide key information in time-sensitive, challenging situations. You'll gain speed, skill, and knowledge with every call - from diagnosing a difficult or life-threatening situation to prescribing the right medication. Highlights medications, doses, and critical information in a second color for fast reference. Features a logical, highly templated format so you can locate key information quickly. Delivers consistent, easy-to-follow coverage of the most common on-call problems and approaches, including what to do from the initial phone call, questions you should ask to assess the urgency of each situation, "Elevator Thoughts," how to immediately identify major threats to life, what to do at the bedside, and how to avoid common mistakes for every call. Provides updated content and references, keeping you on the cutting edge of current, evidence-based information. NEW! Expert ConsultT eBook version included with purchase. This enhanced eBook experience allows you to search all of the text, figures, and references from the book on a variety of devices.
Psychiatry: An Illustrated Colour Text, 3d ed. by
This book is aimed at medical students, but should be suitable for anyone learning about psychiatry for the first time, or needing to refresh their knowledge. What makes it different from other introductory psychiatry texts is its format, which will be familiar to readers of other books from the Illustrated Colour Text series. There are illustrations and clinical examples throughout, and each topic is covered in two facing pages. This has allowed us to keep the book relatively brief and still cover a wide range of information. There are summary boxes, questions about clinical problems, with answers in ‘Case history comments’ at the end of the book followed by a multiple-choice ‘Self-assessment’ section, all of which should help you monitor and revise your learning. We have tried to produce a book that is stimulating and easy to read. Psychiatry is a fascinating and highly rewarding field and we hope this book will help you make the most of it. If we encourage you to meet and work with psychiatric patients and their families, and give you the knowledge you need to do this effectively, then we will have succeeded.
ISBN: 9780323935807
Textbook of Psychoanalysis, 3d ed. by
Psychoanalysis is no stranger to evolution, but even for a field as accustomed to transformation as it is, the last several years have seen a profound shift in its practice--not least because of COVID-19 and social and cultural factors. Whether those changes are permanent remains to be seen, but this third edition of the Textbook of Psychoanalysis addresses them head-on. Its first section includes not only how the pandemic has affected psychoanalysis but also how racial and ethnic tensions, redefined gender and sexual identities, and the effects of climate change have affected both the psychoanalyst and the patient, as well as the relationship between the two. In subsequent sections, more than 40 contributors bring their expertise to bear as they discuss * Diverse schools of thought, including object relations theory, self psychology, interpersonal psychoanalysis, and contemporary field theory* Core concepts, such as the role of the unconscious in psychoanalytic discourse; transference, countertransference, and enactment; and contemporary theories of unrepresented states* Techniques and approaches that include child analysis, the integration of psychoanalysis and pharmacotherapy, and the place of ethics in psychoanalysis* Research, including psychoanalytic process research, developmental research, and neuroscience research This volume's editors, in the Introduction, confess that "none of us can predict the outcome" of the changes that psychoanalysis--and, indeed, society--is facing. But, as another contributor later points out, "psychoanalysis is a profession centrally concerned with what is not known" and, therefore, may have a critical role to play in uncertain, extraordinary times. With this new edition of the Textbook of Psychoanalysis, readers will have a firm foundation in psychoanalytic thought and practice from which to tackle today's--and tomorrow's--myriad unknowns.
ISBN: 9781615374861Publication Date: 2024-07-05
Mayo Clinic Resources
Journals
DSM Resources
DSM-5-TR® Diagnostic And Statistical Manual Of Mental Disorders, Fifth Edition, Text Revision by
The American Psychiatric Association’s Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders, Fifth Edition, Text Revision (DSM-5-TR), is the first published revision to DSM-5. This revised manual integrates the original published DSM-5 diagnostic criteria with modifications (mostly for clarity) for over 70 disorders, comprehensively updated descriptive text accompanying each of the DSM disorders based on reviews of the literature since the publication of DSM-5, and the addition of a new diagnosis, prolonged grief disorder, and symptom codes for reporting suicidal and nonsuicidal self-injurious behavior. These changes differ from the scope of the prior text revision, DSM-IV-TR, in which the updates were confined almost exclusively to the text, leaving the diagnostic criteria virtually unchanged. This edition also integrates all prior online updates made to DSM-5 after its publication in 2013, in response to usage, specific scientific advances, and ICD-10-CM coding adjustments through an iterative revision process. Consequently, DSM-5-TR is the product of three separate revision processes, each one overseen by separate (but overlapping) groups of experts: the development of the original DSM-5 diagnostic criteria and text by the DSM-5 Task Force, published in 2013; updates to the DSM-5 diagnostic criteria and text by the DSM Steering Committee, which has overseen the iterative revision process; and fully updated text overseen by the Revision Subcommittee.
DSM-5-TR® Handbook Of Differential Diagnosis by
The DSM-5-TR Handbook of Differential Diagnosis is the preeminent guide to differential diagnosis for both clinicians and students learning psychiatric diagnosis. Fully updated to reflect the recent Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders, Fifth Edition, Text Revision (DSM-5-TR), this handbook includes two newly developed diagnostic trees (for dissociative symptoms and repetitive pathological behaviors). This indispensable guide offers a rich selection of diagnostic lenses through which to consider symptomatic presentations, grounded in the latest research and standards of practice.Written by the DSM-5-TR Editor, an expert on psychiatric diagnosis and assessment, the handbook guides clinicians and students on how to differentiate between disorders with similar presentations in an accessible, easy-to-use format.
DSM-5-TR Clinical Cases by
This book clarifies and discusses psychiatric diagnosis with a particular focus on how diagnoses have evolved from DSM-5. The cases are followed by a discussion by an expert clinician, who describes an approach to diagnosis through an exploration of psychiatric and personal history, symptom clusters, laboratory tests, and clinical ambiguities.
DSM-5-TR® Made Easy by
Fully updated for the DSM-5 Text Revision (DSM-5-TR), this trusted guide presents the breadth of DSM diagnoses in an accessible, engaging, and clinically useful format. Master diagnostician James Morrison demystifies the dense DSM-5-TR criteria with more than 130 detailed case vignettes that illustrate typical patient presentations. Succinct descriptions of each disorder, along with many tips, sidebars, tables, and caveats, capture the intricacies of psychiatric symptoms and impairments to make accurate diagnosis cleaner and simpler. For DSM-5-TR, Morrison has incorporated the new diagnosis of prolonged grief disorder, updates to over 70 criteria sets, new and revised ICD-10-CM codes, and vignettes for additional subtypes. See also Morrison's Diagnosis Made Easier, Second Edition, which offers principles and decision trees for integrating diagnostic information from multiple sources.
DSM-5® Handbook on the Cultural Formulation Interview by
DSM-5(R) Handbook of the Cultural Formulation Interview provides the background, context, and detailed guidance necessary to train clinicians in the use of the Cultural Formulation Interview (CFI), which was created as part of the 2007-2013 DSM revision process. The purpose of the CFI -- and this unique handbook -- is to make it easier for providers to account for the influence of culture in their clinical work to enhance patient-clinician communication and improve outcomes. Cultural psychiatry as a field has evolved enormously from the days when it was principally concerned with epidemiological and clinical studies of disease prevalence; it now examines a multitude of issues, primary among them the differing patient, family, and practitioner models of illness and treatment experiences within and across cultures.
Anxiety and Related Disorders Interview Schedule for DSM-5, Child and Parent Version: Clinician Manual by
The Anxiety Disorders Interview Schedule for DSM-5, Child and Parent Versions, are the gold standard semi-structured interviews used in clinical research and services to assess and diagnose the major mental health conditions affecting children, adolescents and young adults. These interviews cover the range of conditions identified in the Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders (DSM), while also providing information for careful case formulation in treatment planning and evaluation of outcomes. Evaluators are able to quantify the severity of illness using a Clinician Severity Rating (CSR), as well as level of severity of symptoms and associated avoidance behavior. Decision rules for combining parent and youth reports, examples of CSR levels for the child anxiety triad of separation anxiety disorder, social anxiety disorder, and generalized anxiety disorder are included in the Clinician Guide, as well as detailed information on use of the Autism Supplement. This item is a Clinician Manual.
ISBN: 9780199348350
Research Tools
- APA PsycINFO This link opens in a new window Covers the world's literature in psychology and the behavioral sciences including psychiatry, sociology, anthropology, education, pharmacology, physiology, linguistics and medicine.
- Health and Psychosocial Instruments (HaPI) This link opens in a new window Provides access to information on a wide variety of measurement instruments for the health sciences, psychology, and social sciences.
- PubMed This link opens in a new window Free access to MEDLINE & PREMEDLINE databases from the National Library of Medicine. Includes links to other NLM resources including NCBI databases, OMIM, MedlinePlus consumer health data & PubMed Central free digital archive of biomedical literature.
- CINAHL This link opens in a new window Covers nursing and allied health disciplines. Includes journal articles, healthcare books, nursing dissertations, selected conference proceedings and standards of professional practice. Some full text available.
- Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews This link opens in a new window Includes the full text of regularly updated systematic reviews of the effects of healthcare prepared by The Cochrane Collaboration.
- EMBASE This link opens in a new window Strong emphasis on drug-related literature & toxicology, in addition to all espects of human medicine. Also covers nursing, dentistry, paramedical professions, podiatry, homeopathy.
- SCOPUS This link opens in a new window Includes articles from more than 4,000 publishers, covering the scientific, medical, technical & the social sciences. For articles published since 1996 many include the full bibliography & abstract, and links to other papers citing those publications.
- Web of Science This link opens in a new window The Web of Science contains a remarkable treasure of data on scientific content, impact, and collaborations from 1900 to the present day on a global scale.
Mayo Clinic Libraries Services
- Patients' Libraries The Mayo Clinic Libraries offer Patients’ Library services at several locations. Visit these guides for details about the collections and services available at each location.
- W. Bruce Fye History of Medicine Library The W. Bruce Fye History of Medicine Library is a specialized library housing important collections in the history of medicine and allied sciences. Several thousand volumes of rare medical classics (from 1479) and early journal literature (from 1665) comprise the core collection of primary literature on all aspects of medicine and allied fields. More recently published histories, biographies, facsimiles, and other support materials comprise the remainder of the collection of some 23,000 total volumes. Special strengths include anesthesiology, cardiology, dermatology, immunology, ophthalmology and neurology. The library also has a large collection of Mayo physician bound reprints.
Please let us know if you have any suggestions, questions, or find broken links. Contact us at: