eBooks
Adams and Victor's Principles of Neurology, Twelfth Edition by
The definitive text on the full spectrum of neurology--updated and better than ever! Long considered the field's gold-standard text, Adams and Victor's Principles of Neurology provides the very latest treatment and management strategies needed to confidently handle both common and rare neurologic conditions. Presented in full color, this classic resource meets the needs of the aspiring clinician or the seasoned professional, and has been hailed as the most detailed, thorough, and authoritative text on the subject. Some of the features that have made this resource so renowned: The most cohesive and consistent approach to clinical management--acclaimed as the most readable book in the literature A scholarly approach that gives readers a comprehensive overview of every neurologic illness Unmatched coverage of signs and symptoms A focus on the full range of therapeutic options available to treat neurologic diseases, including drug therapy and rehabilitation methods Coverage of the most exciting discoveries and hypotheses of modern neuroscience that bear on and explain neurologic disease Puts the latest scientific discovery into a larger clinical context An evenness of style and a uniform approach to subject matter across subspecialties that allows a quick and easy review of each topic and condition More than 900 full-color, high-quality images and illustrations
Addiction Medicine: Science and Practice, 2nd ed. by
Integrating scientific knowledge with today's most effective treatment options, Addiction Medicine: Science and Practice, 2nd Edition, provides a wealth of information on addictions to substances and behavioral addictions. It discusses the concrete research on how the brain and body are affected by addictions, improving your understanding of how patients develop addictions and how best to personalize treatment and improve outcomes. This essential text is ideal for anyone who deals with patients with addictions in clinical practice, including psychiatrists, health psychologists, pharmacologists, social workers, drug counselors, trainees, and general physicians/family practitioners. Clearly explains the role of brain function in drug taking and other habit-forming behaviors, and shows how to apply this biobehavioral framework to the delivery of evidence-based treatment. Provides clinically relevant details on not only traditional sources of addiction such as cocaine, opiates, and alcohol, but also more recently recognized substances of abuse (e.g., steroids, inhalants) as well as behavioral addictions (e.g., binge eating, compulsive gambling, hoarding). Discusses current behavioral and medical therapies in depth, while also addressing social contexts that may affect personalized treatment. Contains new information on compliance-enhancing interventions, cognitive behavioral treatments, behavioral management, and other psychosocial interventions. Includes neurobiological, molecular, and behavioral theories of addiction, and includes a section on epigenetics. Contains up-to-date information throughout, including a new definition of status epilepticus, a current overview of Lennox Gastaut syndrome, and updates on new FDA-approved drugs for pediatric neurological disorders. Features expanded sections on evidence-based treatment options including pharmacotherapy, pharmacogenetics, and potential vaccines. Addresses addiction in regards to specific populations, including adolescents, geriatric, pregnant women, and health care professionals. Includes contributions from expert international authors, making this a truly global reference to addiction medicine. Enhanced eBook version included with purchase. Your enhanced eBook allows you to access all of the text, figures, and references from the book on a variety of devices.
Adolescents and Adults with Autism Spectrum Disorders, 2nd ed. by
The second edition of this book examines the numerous research and practice advances with regard to adolescents and adults with autism spectrum disorders (ASD). Expert contributors offer cogent reviews of complex issues, from education to employment, leisure activities to illegal behaviors, mental health issues to medical health concerns. The volume explores the latest findings in key areas, such as psychosocial and residential treatments, social skills programs, epidemiology, the impact of ASD on families. The book focuses on areas of research and practice that require improved models of assessment, current data, new interventions, and increased support services. Key areas of coverage include: Transition from high school to adulthood for adolescents and young adults with ASD. Innovative programming to support college students with ASD. Romantic relationships, sexuality and ASD. Treatment of mental health comorbidities. Assessment and treatment planning in adults with ASD. The range of outcomes and challenges in middle and later life for individuals with autism. The second edition of Adolescents and Adults with Autism Spectrum Disorders is a must-have reference for researchers, professors, and graduate students as well as clinicians, therapists, and other practitioners in clinical child, school, and developmental psychology, psychiatry, social work, rehabilitation medicine/therapy, special education, and general practice/family medicine.
ISBN: 9783031464638
Alternatives to Suicide by
Alternatives to Suicide: Beyond Risk and Toward a Life Worth Living demonstrates how fostering resilience and a desire for life can broaden and advance an understanding of suicide. The book summarizes the existing literature and outlines a new focus on the dynamic interplay of risk and resilience that leads to a life-focus approach to suicide prevention. It calls for a treatment approach that enhances the opportunity to collaboratively engage clients in discussion about their lives. Providing a new perspective on how to approach suicide prevention, the book also lays out key theories on resilience and the interplay of risk and protective factors. Finally, the book outlines how emerging technologies and advances in data-analytic sophistication using real-time monitoring of suicide dynamics are ushering the field of suicide research and prevention into a new and exciting era.
Artificial Intelligence, Machine Learning, and Mental Health in Pandemics by
Artificial Intelligence, Machine Learning, and Mental Health in Pandemics: A Computational Approach provides a comprehensive guide for public health authorities, researchers and health professionals in psychological health. The book takes a unique approach by exploring how Artificial Intelligence (AI) and Machine Learning (ML) based solutions can assist with monitoring, detection and intervention for mental health at an early stage. Chapters include computational approaches, computational models, machine learning based anxiety and depression detection and artificial intelligence detection of mental health. With the increase in number of natural disasters and the ongoing pandemic, people are experiencing uncertainty, leading to fear, anxiety and depression, hence this is a timely resource on the latest updates in the field.
ISBN: 9780323911962Publication Date: 2022-04-22
The Assessment and Treatment of Addiction by
Get a quick, expert overview of all types of addiction - from substance use disorders to behavioral addictions and more. This practical resource presents a focused summary of today's current knowledge on topics of interest to all health care professionals who work with those who suffer from this wide-ranging problem. It provides current, relevant information on emerging findings, best practices, and treatment challenges, covering a variety of assessment and treatment strategies and making it a one-stop resource for staying up to date in this critical area. Discusses precision health in addiction; the latest trend of electronic cigarettes; state-of-the-art treatments for opioid use disorder and cannabis use disorder; best practices for chronic pain; prevention among adolescents; the role of physicians in the prescription drug epidemic; and the role of integrative interventions in addiction treatment. Includes coverage of behavioral addictions such as internet, sex, and gambling; food addiction; PTSD and substance use disorders; preventing relapse; the neurobiology of addiction; and more. Consolidates today's available information on this timely topic into one convenient resource.
Bipolar by
It is estimated that as many as fifty percent of patients initially diagnosed with major Unipolar depression (UP, MDD) will subsequently incur a manic episode or discover a past subtle episode and will have had Bipolar depression rather than MDD. The average Bipolar individual suffers with episodic symptoms for ten years before receiving an accurate diagnosis. As many as 16 million individuals in the United States will have a Bipolar episode in their lives, diagnosed or not. With the recognition of these growing numbers of patients with a Bipolar Disorder, it is imperative that patients are diagnosed and treated earlier, accurately and efficiently. Untreated Bipolar usually gets worse. Bipolar aims to improve recognition, acceptance, and compliance. Dr. C. Raymond Lake applies two different approaches , comprehensive research and case studies, to the understanding of Bipolar Disorders, presenting basic, selected Bipolar data including history, diagnostic criteria, definitions of terms, and classifications, as well as management and treatment strategies to help the reader fully comprehend the disorder. In addition, case studies provide the reader with real-life examples to help increase recognition of various Bipolar presentations beyond the stark black-and-white diagnostic criteria of the DSM and ICD.
Circuit Breaking : Using Neuroscience-Informed Psychotherapy to Treat Substance Abuse by
Circuit Breaking presents a paradigm shift from traditional forensic and medical treatments for psychoactive substance abuse. This new paradigm teaches therapists and students that a three-stage neurocircuitry of psychoactive substance abuse is the etiological cause of psychoactive substance abuse. Therapists learn how to teach people in treatment to change neurocircuitry within their brains enabling a sustained and successful recovery. This neuroscience-informed, non-disease-oriented treatment approach, inspired by evidence-based research, indicates that positive neuroplastic changes within one's brain and cognitive change within one's mind creates an opportunity for people to cease abusing psychoactive substances. An example of improper and moralistic treatment for impoverished people and people of color occurs when jail or prison becomes their treatment. For middle and upper-class people, mental health practitioners ascribing to the medical model view them as having a disease that causes their abuse of psychoactive substances. These people are propagandized that they have a lifelong chronic illness needing episodic stays in rehab facilities, intensive outpatient treatment programs, detox facilities, and/or attendance in 12-step programs. Circuit Breaking provides a step-by-step guide on how to track daily frequencies of wanting (craving) to reveal activity of an underlying three-stage neurocircuitry of psychoactive substance abuse. By combining cognitive-behavioral interventions, mindfulness-based interventions, brief motivational interviewing techniques, and harm reduction interventions a therapist enables people to learn how to achieve a recovery process that culminates in being recovered. This occurs by extinguishing the underly neurocircuitry driving abuse of psychoactive substances. Using this integrative approach, therapists select techniques and interventions based on individual needs rather than a generic psychotherapeutic approach applied equally to all people being treated. Case vignettes throughout Circuit Breaking show the various ways different people experience neuroscience-informed psychotherapy and harm reduction interventions.
ISBN: 9780197575031
Clinical Integration of Neuropsychological Test Results by
The interpretation of neuropsychological tests is a complex process which requires recognition of the multiple skills required to complete even the simplest tests. The purpose of this volume is to explore the various interpretive strategies used with a wide variety of commonly used tests in order to see beyond the skills suggested by the test title. By integrating these possible interpretations across multiple tests, the neuropsychologist can pinpoint those deficits which lie at the core of a client's pattern of test results. It is intended for both professionals and for students starting to learn the clinical practice of neuropsychology.
ISBN: 9781032314099Publication Date: 2024-05-01
Clinical Obesity in Adults and Children, 4th ed. by
Clinical Obesity in Adults and Children A comprehensive and incisive exploration of obesity in society and the clinical setting In the newly revised Fourth Edition of Clinical Obesity in Adults and Children, a team of expert medical practitioners deliver a comprehensive exploration of the increasingly widespread disease of obesity. The book discusses topics such as the causes of obesity, the disease-model of obesity, the management of adult and childhood obesity, and policy approaches to obesity. Designed to enable readers to better understand the full complexity of obesity -- both within society and in the clinical setting -- the book discusses a disease that is the leading cause of ill health around the world. The editors have included contributions from leading international experts in their respective fields that address every major aspect of this often misunderstood disease. Readers will also benefit from the inclusion of: Introductions to the history and scale of the obesity problem across the world and its epidemiology and social determinants Comprehensive explorations of those affected by obesity, including fetal and infant origins, genetic causes, bias and stigma encountered by those affected by obesity, and the psychobiology of obesity Practical discussions of obesity as a disease, including its co-morbidities of dyslipidemia, fertility, cardiovascular consequences, and obstructive sleep apnea In-depth examinations of the management of obesity in adults and children, including contemporary approaches to clinical and dietary management, and behavioral treatments Perfect for doctors and allied health professionals who regularly work with patients suffering from obesity, Clinical ;Obesity in Adults and Children will also earn a place in the libraries of health researchers and scholars studying obesity and nutrition, dieticians, nutritionists, and anyone else with a professional interest in an increasingly prevalent health problem.
ISBN: 9781119695271Publication Date: 2022-09-13
Cognitive and Behavioral Dysfunction in Schizophrenia by
According to the World Health Organization, schizophrenia affects more than 21 million people worldwide, causing distortions in thinking, perception, emotions, language, sense of self, behavior, and hallucinations. Cognitive and Behavioral Dysfunction in Schizophrenia provides an overview of topics and theories related to cognitive dysfunction in schizophrenia. This book discusses what schizophrenia is and its relationship with the cognitive domains including, but not limited to, learning, working memory, attention, and both deductive and inductive reasoning. This book also reviews theories as to why some individuals develop schizophrenia following cannabis and amphetamine abuse and how these relate to additional cognitive problems. The book further discusses recent topics related to religious delusions in psychotic patients, impact of sleep on psychosis, how urban life increases the likelihood of developing schizophrenia, as well as sexual dysfunction in schizophrenia patients. Unlike other books, Cognitive and Behavioral Dysfunction in Schizophrenia covers many cognitive domains related to the occurrence and development of positive and negative symptoms of schizophrenia. Advanced students and researchers in cognitive and behavioral neuroscience, psychology, psychiatry, and psychotherapy will find it useful for a well-rounded understanding of the subject.
Comprehensive Care of the Transgender Patient by
From a renowned specialist at the Cleveland Clinic and medical and surgical experts in this growing field comes an up-to-date, multidisciplinary resource on transgender health care and surgery. Comprehensive Care of the Transgender Patient, by Dr. Cecile Ferrando, covers all aspects of transgender health care, beginning with epidemiology and history and progressing to an in-depth review of the complex transition for patients, including mental health services, endocrine and hormone therapy treatment, and surgical options. Incorporates all of the latest guidelines for providers and patients, written by experts from a wide variety of disciplines involved in transgender patient care. Contains outstanding surgical chapters contributed by prominent surgeons who regularly perform these procedures, providing clear guidance on male-to-female and female-to-male surgical options. Features high-quality, full-color illustrations throughout. Covers key topics in every area of transgender health care, including Mental Health Care for the Adult and for the Child and Adolescent Transgender Patient; Hormone Treatment for the Adult and Adolescent Transgender Patient; Facial Surgery for Transgender Patients; Breast and Genital Surgeries for Transgender Patients; and Primary, Preventive, and Gynecologic Care. Expert ConsultT eBook version included with purchase. This enhanced eBook experience allows you to search all of the text, figures, Q&As, and references from the book on a variety of devices.
Conducting Interviews with Child Victims of Abuse and Witnesses of Crime: a Practical Guide by
This book is a practical and thoughtful guide for the forensic interview of children, presenting a synthesis of the empirical and theoretical knowledge necessary to understand the account of child victims of abuse or witnesses of crime. It is a complex task to interview children who are suspected of being abused in order to gather their stories, requiring the mastery of many skills and knowledge. This book is a practical one in that constant links are made between the results of the research and their relevance for the interventions made when interviewing child victims of abuse or witnesses of crime and in understanding their accounts. This book also presents in a detailed and concrete way the revised version of the National Institute of Child Health and Human Development (NICHD-R) Protocol, a forensic structured interview guide empirically supported by numerous studies carried out in different countries. The step-by-step explanations are illustrated with a verbatim interview with a child, as well as other tools to help the interviewer to prepare and handle an efficient and supportive interview. Conducting Interviews with Child Victims of Abuse and Witnesses of Crime is essential reading for stakeholders in the justice, social and health systems as well as anyone likely to receive allegations from children such as educators or daycare staff. Although the NICHD-R Protocol is intended for forensic interviewers, the science behind its development and application is relevant to all professionals working with children.
ISBN: 9781000562200Publication Date: 2022-02-13
Contemporary Psychodynamic Psychotherapy: Evolving Clinical Practice by
Contemporary Psychodynamic Psychotherapy: Evolving Clinical Practice covers the latest applications of psychodynamic therapy for a range of clinical issues, including depression, anxiety, psychosis, borderline personality and trauma. It discusses psychodynamic practice as an evidence-based therapy, providing reviews of outcome and process research. Covering a wide array of treatments tailored for specific disorders and populations, this book is designed to appeal to clinicians and researchers who are looking to broaden their knowledge of the latest treatment strategies, novel applications, and current developments in psychodynamic practice.
Coping after COVID-19: Cognitive Behavioral Skills for Anxiety, Depression, and Adjusting to Chronic Illness | Therapist Guide by
It is now well recognized that some individuals who develop COVID-19 will experience persisting symptoms such as sensory and movement challenges, fatigue, shortness of breath, dizziness, cognitive difficulties (difficulty concentrating, multitasking, and brain fog), and many other debilitating changes to the body and mind. Many individuals with persisting COVID-19 symptoms, also known as Long Covid, may additionally experience anxiety and depression while struggling to adjust to changes to their everyday life and the uncertainty around their symptoms. These adjustment difficulties, anxiety, and depression can lead to poor adherence to medical treatments, contribute to disability, and negatively impact overall quality of life. Drawing from existing evidence-based interventions, and their experience treating clients with COVID-19, the authors have developed a set of cognitive behavioral strategies to help clients with persisting symptoms of COVID-19. The therapist guide contains information on how to conceptualize psychiatric symptoms in the context of COVID-19 within a cognitive behavioral framework, tips on conducting an initial intake assessment, and a suite of cognitive behavioral strategies to help clients manage emotional difficulties, cognitive challenges, fatigue, and sleep disturbances, tailored for COVID-19. The book also includes optional modules on enhancing adherence to medical treatment, managing grief and loss, and working with families. An accompanying client workbook contains worksheets and client-friendly explanations of CBT concepts and techniques.
ISBN: 9780197699379Publication Date: 2023-11-28
Decoding Delusions: A Clinician's Guide to Working with Delusions and Other Extreme Beliefs by
For the individuals experiencing them, delusions and strong beliefs can be profoundly distressing and extremely limiting to healthy living. They also present significant challenges to the mental health professionals working with these individuals--not least because there is not always consensus around what might be considered delusional. For the first time, Decoding Delusions gathers the literature and treatment guidance materials related to delusions in one place to offer clinicians an up-to-date, culturally informed, and illustrated guide to managing the spectrum of delusions and other extreme beliefs encountered in daily practice. In Part I, chapter authors define and assess delusions, examining the current research literature into their linguistic and cultural aspects, as well as the history of their treatment. Crucially, it also provides a lived-experience perspective. Part II features the insights of a series of international experts on interventions--including third-wave cognitive-behavioral models such as compassion-focused therapy--for delusional presentations that include the following: * Persecutory paranoia* Delusional jealousy* Erotomania* Capgras syndrome* Delusions of thought possession* Trauma as a pathway to delusions Readers also will find a nuanced discussion of working with patients from Japanese backgrounds that will enhance their cultural competency and encourage them to think about extreme beliefs through a cultural lens. In Part III, the chapter authors explore the management of delusions in specific settings. Examples include delusions in forensic settings and use of remote technologies such as Zoom and digital media for measurement-based care. Finally, live-action demonstrations of key clinical skills at work are provided through video clips. Unlike any other resource currently available, Decoding Delusions proposes an approach that supports the exploration of extreme beliefs with the aim not only of distress reduction but also meaningful recovery.
ISBN: 9781615372966Publication Date: 2023-06-12
Depressive Disorders: Integrated and Unified Psychotherapy Approaches by
Depressive Disorders uses an integrative view to explore the etiology of depression, its development and maintenance, and highlights contemporary unified psychotherapy approaches.
ISBN: 9780367742393Publication Date: 2023-07-01
Dissociative Identity Disorder: Treatment and Management by
This book contains new evidence and more ideas for treatment and management of dissociative identity disorder (DID). It is written from the standpoint of an expert in the field for other professionals that deal with or are interested in DID. Chapters are divided into 4 parts. Part 1 acts as an introduction to understanding dissociative identity disorder, such its history, the different types of the disorder, and its portrayal in popular culture. The chapters in this part cover multiple personality disorder, theories, and epidemiology of the disease. Part 2 discusses the pathology and neuroscience of the disease. The comorbidities related to the disorder will be explained, such as PTSD, depression, anxiety, schizophrenia, and more. This part concludes with the potential causes of dissociative identity disorder, which ties into the previously mentioned comorbidities throughout this part. Supplementing the aforementioned topics, Part 3 discusses management of the disease. The chapters will cover modern psychiatry, diagnosis, and treatment options. Drug treatment and psychotherapy are some examples of the treatment options available. The authors share their experiences and perspectives of managing DID, including clinical trials and recovery. Finally, Part 4 discusses the sociology of DID, such as potential drug abuse, social media presence, and the difficulties that psychiatrists face in diagnosing the disease. This part provides advice for clinicians and healthcare providers by sharing different perspectives from psychiatrists that encounter the disease. Written by experts in the field, Dissociative Identity Disorder serves as a valuable resource for psychiatrists and clinicians seeking to understand, treat, and manage the disease.
Doing CBT: A Comprehensive Guide to Working with Behaviors, Thoughts, and Emotions, 2nd ed. by
With new case material, expanded pedagogical tools, and updated theory and research, the second edition of this reader-friendly text is an ideal introduction to cognitive-behavioral therapy (CBT) for graduate students and practitioners. In a witty, empathic style, David F. Tolin explains the "whats," "whys," and "how-tos" of addressing the behavioral, cognitive, and emotional elements of clients' psychological problems. Featuring helpful graphics, vivid examples and sample dialogues, and 39 reproducible worksheets and forms that can also be downloaded and printed, the book concludes with four chapter-length case illustrations. New to This Edition *New or expanded discussions of case formulation, transdiagnostic interventions, therapeutic strategies like mindfulness and acceptance, and more. *Increased attention to cultural competence, intermediate beliefs, and linking conceptualization to intervention. *Additional chapter-length case example. Pedagogical Features *Numerous engaging boxes, including "Try This," "The Science Behind It," "Things that Might Bug You about This," and more. *New in the second edition--chapter-opening "Essential Points," "CBT Spotlight" boxes on popular variants of CBT, and end-of-chapter discussion questions. *Learning worksheets for self-practice of core CBT skills. *End-of-chapter key terms with definitions. See also Experiencing CBT from the Inside Out, by James Bennett-Levy, Richard Thwaites, Beverly Haarhoff, and Helen Perry, a unique self-practice/self-reflection workbook, and The Therapeutic Relationship in Cognitive-Behavioral Therapy, by Nikolaos Kazantzis, Frank M. Dattilio, and Keith S. Dobson, which provides key recommendations for optimizing outcomes.
ISBN: 9781462553624Publication Date: 2024-03-15
Emerging Adulthood: A Psychodynamic Approach to the New Developmental Phase of the 21st Century by
What makes an adult? Is it living independently, having a stable career path, getting married, or becoming a parent? In the digital age, particularly in Western societies, such traditional markers have been increasingly postponed and redefined. Thus, the concept of emerging adulthood, first described by Jeffrey Jensen Arnett, Ph.D., is a period between adolescence and adulthood properly characterized by identity exploration, instability, self-focus, feeling in-between, and a sense of wide-open possibilities. Many contemporary researchers have defined emerging adulthood as the period between ages 18 and 29 years, but this new volume argues that it is more useful to look at early emerging adulthood, or late adolescence (ages 18-23), and later emerging adulthood (ages 24-29) separately. Although certain broad trends characterize the entire decade in question (role experimentation, focus on self-discovery), the developmental capacities and tasks of the earlier years are distinct from those of the mid- to late 20s. In accessible chapters made even more applicable by the use of illustrative vignettes and videos that provide an individualized depiction of the broader concepts addressed more abstractly within the book, Emerging Adulthood: A Psychodynamic Approach to the New Developmental Phase of the 21st Century examines the overarching similarities and developmental distinctions between these two periods and subsequently delves into * The identity process in contemporary society, and its inevitable intersection with the digital world, focusing on domains such as race/ethnicity, gender and sexuality, values, and professional roles * The centrality of youth culture in aiding the individuation from family of origin, particularly through the lens of technology, connection to peers, and trends in music and fashion * How to distinguish between typical emotional experiences and behaviors in the years leading up to adulthood and psychopathologies that require mental health interventions * Treatment modalities for individuals in this phase of life, including cognitive-behavioral therapy, dialectical behavior therapy, digital enhancements, and peer involvement Key points for each chapter will help readers reference the most salient takeaways as they gain a deepened understanding of the interface of culture and society, family, development, and individual psychology during these dynamic life phases.
ISBN: 9781615374205Publication Date: 2023-10-04
eBooks
Emotion in the Clinical Encounter by
The foundational knowledge and practical actions you need to effectively address your patients' emotions--and manage your own emotions Medical schools acknowledge that emotional well-being and clinical outcomes are connected, but the research that should inform emotion management is scattered. Emotion in the Clinical Encounter brings together theory and research on this important topic. In addition, to revealing how emotion processing affects clinician wellness, it links clinician response to patients' affective cues to care outcomes--making this book unique among health provider "burnout books." Emotion in the Clinical Encounter builds your understanding of the science of emotion and delivers practical insights for recognizing, acknowledging, and responding to patients' emotions, as well as your own. It provides in-depth coverage of the evolutionary and social function of emotion, the role of emotion in illness, the culture of medicine and its relationship to emotional management, and the neuroscience of emotion as it pertains to clinical medicine.
Empowering Behavior Change in Patients: Practical Strategies for the Healthcare Professional by
This book presents information to help people adopt and sustain healthy lifestyle habits. It instructs healthcare providers on motivational interviewing, appreciative inquiry coaching, and stages of change. The book reviews and provides educational tips that clinicians can implement into practice.
ISBN: 9780367751500Publication Date: 2023-10-30
Environmental Psychology and Human Well-Being by
Environmental Psychology and Human Well-Being: Effects of Built and Natural Settings provides a better understanding of the way in which mental and physical well-being is affected by physical environments, along with insights into how the design of these environments might be improved to support better health outcomes. The book reviews the history of the field, discusses theoretical constructs in guiding research and design, and provides an up-to-date survey of research findings. Core psychological constructs, such as personal space, territoriality, privacy, resilience, stress, and more are integrated into each environment covered.
Essential Health Care Services Addressing Intimate Partner Violence by
A National Academies committee was tasked with identifying essential health care services for women related to intimate partner violence (IPV) during steady state conditions, determining whether the essential health care services related to IPV differ during public health emergencies (PHEs), and identifying strategies to sustain access to those essential health care services during PHEs. This report, Essential Health Care Services Addressing Intimate Partner Violence, presents findings from research and deliberations and lays out recommendations for leaders of health care systems, federal agencies, health care providers, emergency planners, and those involved in IPV research.
ISBN: 9780309713900Publication Date: 2024-05-14
Exercise-Based Interventions for Mental Illness by
Exercise-Based Interventions for People with Mental Illness: A Clinical Guide to Physical Activity as Part of Treatment provides clinicians with detailed, practical strategies for developing, implementing and evaluating physical activity-based interventions for people with mental illness. The book covers exercise strategies specifically tailored for common mental illnesses, such as depression, schizophrenia, bipolar disorder, and more. Each chapter presents an overview of the basic psychopathology of each illness, a justification and rationale for using a physical activity intervention, an overview of the evidence base, and clear and concise instructions on practical implementation. In addition, the book covers the use of mobile technology to increase physical activity in people with mental illness, discusses exercise programming for inpatients, and presents behavioral and psychological approaches to maximize exercise interventions. Final sections provide practical strategies to both implement and evaluate physical activity interventions.
ISBN: 9780128126059Publication Date: 2018-08-25
Giftedness and Talent: What Educators and Psychologists Need to Know by
Answers common questions of professionals and trainees / Presents the state-of-art of theory, research, and practice / Explores the characteristics of gifted students / Understanding and supporting gifted and talented children and adolescentsWhat is giftedness? How do talents develop? Are gifted people "different"? How can gifted children be recognized and supported in their development? Based on the authors' many years of expertise in giftedness research and education practice, this book answers these and many other questions about giftedness and talent development in a scientifically sound and at the same time application-oriented way. This new volume offers an up-to-date overview of the theoretical foundations, pioneering studies, and research findings on gifted childrenand adolescents, and explores evidence-based options for diagnostics and support. The development of giftedness as well as the characteristics of gifted students, such as performance-related attributes and temperament traits, are also examined. This book is of interest to child psychologists and psychiatrists, educational and school psychologists, educators, and students, and is an ideal textbook for self-study or for those training to become a professional.
Global Emergency of Mental Disorders by
Global Emergency of Mental Disorders is a comprehensive, yet easy-to-read overview of the neurodevelopmental basis of multiple mental disorders and their accompanying consequences, including addiction, suicide and homelessness. Compared to other references that examine the treatment of psychiatric disorders, this book uniquely focuses on their neurodevelopment. It is designed for neuroscience, psychiatry, psychology students, and various other clinical professions. With chapters on anxiety, depression, schizophrenia and others, this volume provides information about incidence, prevalence and mortality rates in addition to developmental origins. With millions worldwide affected, this book will be an invaluable resource.
ISBN: 9780323858373Publication Date: 2021-05-19
Handbook of Eating Disorders and Obesity, 3rd ed. by
This book covers the entire spectrum of eating disorders, including obesity, in a psychotherapy procedure-independent manner and is based on the latest treatment guidelines. All disorders are presented on the basis of current evidence and treatment guidelines that combine psychotherapeutic and pharmacological interventions to provide therapists with clear recommendations for treatment. The 3rd edition has been completely revised to include important current topics and chapters, such as the inclusion of eating disorders in ICD 11/DSM 5, the role of the microbiome and the role of modern media e.g. ehealth in prevention and treatment. In addition, the editors and authors address, among other topics, systemic therapy as a new evidence-based psychotherapy and the discussion of addiction mechanisms in eating and weight disorders, and provide an outlook on the role of neurostimulation procedures to address current developments in obesity and eating disorders. The book is suitable as a reference for physicians in training, educators, and psychologists, especially colleagues from the field of psychosomatics, psychiatrists, and psychotherapists in research, clinic and practice.
ISBN: 9783662676622
Handbook of Spirituality, Religion, and Mental Health, 2nd ed. by
Research has indicated that spiritual and religious factors are strongly tied to a host of mental health characteristics, in both positive and negative ways. That body of research has significantly grown since publication of the first edition of this book 20 years ago. The seconnd edition of the Handbook of Spirituality, Religion and Mental Health identifies not only whether religion and spirituality influence mental health and vice versa, but also how, why, and for whom. Hence 100% of the book is now revised with new chapters and new contributors. Contents address eight categories of mental disorders, as well as other kay aspects of social, emotional, and behavioral health.
The Handbook of Personality Dynamics and Processes by
The Handbook of Personality Dynamics and Processes is a primer to the basic and most important concepts, theories, methods, empirical findings, and applications of personality dynamics and processes. This book details how personality psychology has evolved from descriptive research to a more explanatory and dynamic science of personality, thus bridging structure- and process-based approaches, and it also reflects personality psychology's interest in the dynamic organization and interplay of thoughts, feelings, desires, and actions within persons who are always embedded into social, cultural and historic contexts. The Handbook of Personality Dynamics and Processes tackles each topic with a range of methods geared towards assessing and analyzing their dynamic nature, such as ecological momentary sampling of personality manifestations in real-life; dynamic modeling of time-series or longitudinal personality data; network modeling and simulation; and systems-theoretical models of dynamic processes.
ISBN: 9780128139950Publication Date: 2021-04-20
Handbook of Psychological Assessment, 4th ed. by
The fourth edition of the Handbook of Psychological Assessment, provides scholarly overviews of the major areas of psychological assessment, including test development, psychometrics, technology of testing, and commonly used assessment measures. Psychological assessment is included for all ages, with new coverage encompassing ethnic minorities and the elderly. Assessment methodology discussed includes formal testing, interviewing, and observation of behavior. The handbook also discusses assessment of personality and behavior, including intelligence, aptitude, interest, achievement, personality and psychopathology. New coverage includes use of assessments in forensic applications.
ISBN: 9780128022030Publication Date: 2019-02-26
HIV-Associated Neurocognitive Disorders by
HIV-Associated Neurocognitive Disorders (HAND) presents a complex and evolving challenge in the context of HIV-1 infection and treatment. This comprehensive volume dives into the clinical manifestations, molecular and cellular mechanisms, and therapeutic strategies underlying HAND and its associated comorbidities. This book brings together cutting-edge research and clinical insights, making it an essential resource for researchers, clinicians, and students engaged in HIV-related studies and neurocognitive research. This resource also aims to advance our understanding of HAND to contribute to the development of novel diagnostic tools and therapeutic interventions for improved patient outcomes.
ISBN: 9780323997447Publication Date: 2024-02-27
Human Sexuality: Function, Dysfunction, Paraphilias, and Relationships by
Human sexuality touches us all, pun intended. We all either enjoy it, struggle with it, or may have been victims of it. Sexuality is not just about sex, but about human sexual function, the physiology of sex, the hormones involved and how they affect us, and the cultural norms related to it. Sexual function and dysfunction are closely tied to one's self-esteem, self-respect, and to relationships with intimate partners. Human Sexuality: Function, Dysfunction, Paraphilias, and Relationships, explores the interplay of intimacy and sexuality; how it can enhance relationships, and how it can negatively affect them, or be affected by them. When individuals or partners encounter sexual problems or dysfunctions it can have a long-lasting affect both biologically and psychologically. Dr. Rokach explores the causes and the reasons that these dysfunctions are maintained, and successful treatment methods. Chapters on sexual offenses and paraphilias and what treatment options are available to sexual offenders are also included. This book is the first book to place sexuality where it belongs, within the context of relationships demonstrating how sexuality relates to intimacy by both enhancing and negatively affecting it.
ISBN: 9780128191743Publication Date: 2021-01-29
The Immune System and Mental Health by
The Immune System and Mental Health fully investigates how immune-related cellular, molecular and anatomical changes impact mental functioning. The book combines human and animal studies to reveal immunological changes related to mental-health problems. In addition, users will find comprehensive information on new research related to the microbial composition of the gut, aka, the microbiome, and how it influences brain function and mental health. Common comorbidities with mental illness and their inherent immunological or inflammatory components are also covered. Written by leaders in the field, the book synthesizes basic and clinical research to provide a thorough understanding on the role of immunity in neuropsychiatry. Sociology, psychology, psychiatry, neuroscience and genetics have provided considerable explanations and solutions to some of the most intractable mental-health problems. But researchers are increasingly relying on investigations of the immune system to identify factors that can undermine and impair mental health. This book covers devastating mental-health conditions, such as depression, anxiety, schizophrenia, and autism-like spectrum disorders. In addition, degenerative disorders of the brain, such as Parkinson's and Alzheimer's-like dementia are explored.
ISBN: 9780128113516Publication Date: 2018-07-30
Inflammation and Immunity in Depression by
Inflammation and Immunity in Depression: Basic Science and Clinical Applications is the first book to move beyond the established theory of cytokine-induced depression and explore the broader role the immune system plays in this devastating mood disorder. The book fully explores the most recent lines of research into this rapidly advancing field, including alterations of T-cells, the neurobiological implications of neuroinflammation and immune alterations for brain development and function, and the genetic components of neuroinflammation in depression, including the relationships between stress and inflammation that are revealing gene-environment interactions in the disorder. Combining contributions from researchers worldwide, this book provides the most comprehensive discussion available today on the involvement of the innate immune and adaptive immune systems in depressive disorder. Chapters span neuroscience, psychology, clinical applications and future directions, making this book an invaluable resource for advanced students, researchers and practitioners who need to understand the complex and varied role of inflammation and immune responses in depression.
ISBN: 9780128110737Publication Date: 2018-05-26
Integrated Behavioral Health in Primary Care, 3rd ed. by
In its third edition, Integrated Behavioral Health in Primary Care details the relevant updates in the field behavioral health care practitioners and offers targeted clinical assessment and intervention strategies that will the future needs of educators, students, and clinicians. Drawing on comprehensive research evidence and the authors' decades of clinical experience, this book offers practical guidance for behavioral health care practitioners who want to work more effectively in the fast-paced and complex setting of primary care. Chapters provide an overview of the key foundational concepts and applications of behavioral health within the primary care setting, and detail the competencies required for optimal assessment and intervention outcomes. The authors give detailed, practical advice for addressing common behavioral health concerns including depression, anxiety, health behaviors, pain disorders, substance misuse, and other pertinent problems, as well as special issues such as managing suicidal risk. Key updates to this third edition include: An expanded exploration of core competencies and clinical practice management skills; A review of the neuromatrix theory of pain model, as well as additional important considerations for assessing and treating fibromyalgia and other pain disorders, and; Assessment and intervention guidelines for opioid misuse.
Intermittent Explosive Disorder by
Intermittent Explosive Disorder: Etiology, Assessment, and Treatment provides a complete overview on this disorder, focusing on its etiology, how the disorder presents, and the clinical assessment and treatment methods currently available. The book presents the history of the disorder, discusses the rationale for its inclusion in the DSM, and includes diagnostic considerations, comorbidity, epidemiology, intervention, and how treatments have evolved. Each section is bolstered by clinical case material that provides real-world context and clinical lessons on how to distinguish intermittent explosive disorder from other presentations of aggression.
ISBN: 9780128138588Publication Date: 2019-06-12
Kaufman's Clinical Neurology for Psychiatrists by
The only reference to focus on the must-know aspects of neurology for psychiatrists, Kaufman's Clinical Neurology for Psychiatrists, 9th Edition, brings you up to date with the knowledge you need to excel on the American Board of Psychiatry and Neurology and other examinations. It fully covers the exam topics you'll encounter, along with new content, high-quality illustrations, and multiple-choice questions. In addition, this book prepares you for clinical work in the 21st century. Discusses timely, clinically-relevant topics ;such as chronic and acute traumatic brain injury, Alzheimer's disease, correctible causes of dementia, violence, neurologic illnesses that present with symptoms of autism, illicit drug use, stroke, migraine, Parkinson's disease, tardive dyskinesia current treatments, and more. Includes nearly 2,000 multiple-choice questions both in print and online-all written to help you succeed on the ABPN certifying exam. Features new content, new and improved clinical illustrations: life-like patient sketches, anatomy line drawings, CTs, MRIs, and EEGs. Explains each condition's neurologic and psychiatric features, easily performed office and bedside examinations, appropriate tests, differential diagnosis, and management options. Correlates neurologic illnesses with the DSM-5. Enhanced eBook version included with purchase. Your enhanced eBook allows you to access all of the text, figures, and references from the book on a variety of devices.
Major Depressive Disorder by
Get a quick, expert overview of the key issues surrounding best practices and current consensus on major depressive disorder (MDD). This concise resource by Drs. Roger S. McIntyre, Carola Rong, Mehala Subramaniapillai, and Yena Lee consolidates today's available information on this complex topic into one convenient resource, making it an ideal, easy-to-digest reference for both psychiatrists and primary care physicians. Get a quick, expert overview of the key issues surrounding best practices and current consensus on major depressive disorder (MDD). This concise resource by Drs. Roger S. McIntyre, Carola Rong, Mehala Subramaniapillai, and Yena Lee consolidates today's available information on this complex topic into one convenient resource, making it an ideal, easy-to-digest reference for both psychiatrists and primary care physicians.
ISBN: 9780323581318Publication Date: 2019-08-26
Managing Self-Harm Using Psychological Treatment ATMAN : A Guide for Counsellors by
The book presents the session wise details of ATMAN psychological treatment for managing self-harm in youth in low- and middle- income countries. Based on global evidence, ATMAN treatment has been designed using a systematic, sequential approach and has been co-designed by the self-harm patients and mental health professionals in Mumbai, India. The word ATMAN in Sanskrit refers to the "eternal self' that functions in harmony with the Universe. Suicide is a leading cause of premature mortality across the world. Three quarters of global suicides occur in low- and middle-income countries. Most of the psychotherapies available to reduce the recurrence of self-harm have been developed and tested in high-income countries. Far less attention has been given to develop and evaluate context specific psychotherapeutic programmes for self-harm in low- and middle income countries. The book includes contextually appropriate treatment elements; age appropriate and culturally relevant case vignettes and scripts; and is easy to understand for non-specialist providers. It is based on problem solving therapy integrated with emotion regulation and social network strengthening skills. Available treatments for self-harm are sub-optimal globally and this book might become an extremely useful resource for mental health professionals in high-income countries due to its easy to use format, brief structure, and utility for culturally diverse populations. From the systems perspective, the possibility of scaling it up and training non-specialist counsellors to deliver this treatment in the community setting makes Managing Self-Harm Using Psychological Treatment ATMAN a very useful addition to the limited resources available to address the global health challenge of self-harm.
ISBN: 9783031564062Publication Date: 2024-06-19
Managing Treatment-Resistant Depression by
Managing Treatment-Resistant Depression: Road to Novel Therapeutics defines TRD for readers, discussing the clinical and epidemiological predictors, economic burden and neurobiological factors. In addition, staging methods for treatment resistance are fully covered in this book, including serotonin specific reuptake inhibitors, serotonin norepinephrine reuptake inhibitors, other classes of antidepressants, including tricyclic antidepressants and monoamine oxidase inhibitors, augmentation strategies, and newer antidepressant treatments like ketamine and esketamine. In addition, evidence supporting the use of psychotherapies and neuromodulation strategies are also reviewed. Written by top experts in the field, this book is the first of its kind to review all methods of treatment for TRD.
eBooks
Mental Health in a Digital World by
Mental Health in a Digital World addresses mental health assessments and interventions using digital technology, including mobile phones, wearable devices and related technologies. Sections discuss mental health data collection and analysis for purposes of assessment and treatment, including the use of electronic medical records and information technologies to improve services and research, the use of digital technologies to enhance communication, psychoeducation, screening for mental disorders, the problematic use of the internet, including internet gambling and gaming, cybersex and cyberchondria, and internet interventions, ranging from online psychotherapy to mobile phone apps and virtual reality adjuncts to psychotherapy.
ISBN: 9780128222010Publication Date: 2021-11-16
The Mental Status Examination Handbook by
The ability to effectively assess cognitive and other behavioral functions is an essential skill for neurologists, psychiatrists, geriatricians, nurses, and other clinicians who perform clinic and bedside examinations. Unique in the field, The Mental Status Examination Handbook is a user-friendly, comprehensive resource that provides practical guidance on cognitive assessment, clarifies mental status testing procedures, and assists with decision making for neuropsychological referrals. This detailed manual draws from the full history of behavioral neurology testing, making the complex and challenging area of cognitive assessment accessible for both students and practitioners. Offers guidance on how to choose and perform a large number of mental status tests, with information on selected test materials and normative values. Covers the bedside evaluation of arousal, attention, memory, language, perception, executive abilities, and other cognitive and behavioral areas. Provides an authoritative assessment and compendium of commonly used mental status scales, inventories and questionnaires. Describes relevant correlations with formal neuropsychological testing, neuroimaging, and neuropsychiatric disease. Explains how to weigh, use, and understand mental status scales and neuropsychological instruments. Discusses the meaning of cognitive symptoms and signs, and their neuroanatomical and neuropathological correlations. Enhanced eBook version included with purchase. Your enhanced eBook allows you to access all of the text, figures, and references from the book on a variety of devices.
The Nature of Depression by
The Nature of Depression: An Updated Review provides clear connections between psychiatric and neurological disorders. Unlike prior books on depression, this book covers many neurological and psychiatric disorders, including Parkinson's disease, major depressive disorder, Alzheimer's disease, PTSD, addiction and anxiety disorder. In addition, this book covers different forms of depression, including transition-induced depression and the development of depression following major life events, including birth of a child, menopause and retirement.
Neuropsychological Tools for Dementia: Differential Diagnosis and Treatment by
Neuropsychological Tools for Dementia: Differential Diagnosis and Treatment takes a unique approach by combining the neuroscientific background of neuropsychology, neuropsychological tools for diagnosis and disease staging, and neuropsychological treatment into one comprehensive book for researchers and clinicians. Sections present an introduction to neuropsychological assessment in dementias, Alzheimer's disease, Parkinson's disease and Lewy body dementia (alpha-synucleinopathies), atypical Parkinson's diseases (tauopathies), language and behavioral variants of frontotemporal lobe degeneration, and normal pressure hydrocephalus. Each chapter elucidates the point that neuropsychological measures provide the tools to differentiate disease-specific impairments from normal age-related cognitive decline, and from other neurodegenerative diseases. Moreover, the book discusses the possibility of helping patients through neuropsychological intervention. Case studies aid in the reader's comprehension of the field, and two short guidelines for each disease's specific assessment and treatment prepare readers for handling real-life patients.
The Neuroscience of Depression by
The Neuroscience of Depression: Genetics, Cell Biology, Neurology, Behaviour and Diet is a comprehensive reference to the aspects, features and effects of depression. This book provides readers with the behavior and psychopathological effects of depression, linking anxiety, anger and PSTD to depression. Readers are provided with a detailed outline of the genetic aspects of depression including synaptic genes and the genome-wide association studies (GWAS) of depression, followed by a thorough analysis of the neurological and imaging techniques used to study depression. This book also includes three full sections on the various effects of depression, including diet, nutrition and molecular and cellular effects. The Neuroscience of Depression: Genetics, Cell Biology, Neurology, Behaviour and Diet is the only resource for researchers and practitioners studying depression.
Perinatal Care and Considerations for Survivors of Child Abuse by
This edited collection collates research concerning the challenges and opportunities of pregnancy and the postpartum period for perinatal women who are survivors of child abuse. Drawing on empirical findings and theory, this is the first book to identify emerging and topical issues around screening and disclosure and how clinicians and professionals may help to build resilience for child abuse survivors. Pregnancy and the postpartum period present unique challenges and opportunities for clinicians and mental health professionals who may encounter pregnant women with adverse childhood experiences. Challenges include antenatal care considerations for survivors of child abuse such as triggering events that may further traumatize women or result in avoidance behaviours such as failing to engage in routine antenatal care, and other associated adverse outcomes including increased health concerns and, in some cases, prolonged labour and preterm birth. These challenges point to the need for identifying women at risk and providing sensitive care, and this book demonstrates the opportunities which arise through interventions and resilience building.
ISBN: 9783031336386Publication Date: 2023-11-10
A Pragmatic Guide to Low Intensity Psychological Therapy by
With the rapidly growing demand for mental health care there is a need for efficient and effective psychological treatment options. Low Intensity Psychological Therapy has become well established in the England Improving Access to Psychological Therapies (IAPT) programme as a beneficial and versatile treatment option for mild-moderate symptoms of depression and anxiety. A Pragmatic Guide to Low Intensity Psychological Therapy: Care in High Volume, provides a guide to Low Intensity Psychological Therapy from the perspective of the Low Intensity Practitioner. This book describes the Low Intensity role as part of a multi-disciplinary approach to psychological care. The authors use a series of case vignettes, personal experience and current literature to help navigate the context of the role and its potential for ethical and safe expansion.
Principles of Cognitive Rehabilitation by
Principles of Cognitive Rehabilitation is designed to familiarize readers with the deep-rooted principles of cognitive rehabilitation and cognitive training. Presenting a new comprehensive framework in cognitive rehabilitation for therapeutic, educational, and research purposes, this volume introduces five components that are introduced for cognitive rehabilitation, including primary principles, patient, practitioner, program, and process (5Ps). Detailing the developmental stages of a program will help readers understand the logistics of cognitive interventions and also help them to design and evaluate their own therapeutic interventions.
Psychiatric Genomics by
Psychiatric Genomics presents and synthesizes available knowledge in the field of psychiatric genomics, offering methodologies to advance new research and aid clinical translation. After providing an introduction to genomics and psychiatry, international experts discuss the genomic basis of schizophrenia, bipolar disorder, depression, personality disorders, anxiety disorders, addictions, eating disorders, and sleep disorders, among other disorders. In addition, recommendations for next steps in clinical implementation and drug discovery are discussed in-depth, with chapters dedicated to pharmacogenomics and antipsychotics, antidepressants and mood stabilizers, adverse drug reactions, implementation of pharmacogenomics in psychiatric clinics, and ethical issues. Finally, methods sections provide a solid grounding in research approaches and computational analytics, from using animal models in psychiatric genomics and accessing biobanks, to employing computational analysis, genome-wide association studies (GWAS), brain pathophysiology, and endophenotypes in psychiatric research. Thoroughly examines the genetic mechanisms underlying a broad range of psychiatric disorders Offers genomic methodologies and analytical approaches supporting new research and clinical translation, including personalized diagnosis and treatment models Features chapter contributions from international leaders in the field
ISBN: 9780128214008Publication Date: 2022-03-18
The Psychology of Cardiovascular Illness by
This important book shows those working with clinical populations how to develop an understanding of the psychology of patients with cardiovascular problems to support appropriate medical care. An understanding of the psychological underpinnings of physical illness can alter the way clinicians conceptualize their patients and the communities they serve. Based on the latest research, this book offers suggestions about how to approach cardiovascular disease holistically in multidisciplinary medical settings with competence and professionalism in mind. With the escalating prevalence of cardiovascular diseases, this book flags the importance of understanding the psychological mechanisms at play in affected patients, highlighting the multifactorial pathways that lead to the development of physical health maladies and comorbid psychopathology. It describes the bidirectional relationship of cardiovascular disease with personality pathology and offers best practices in interacting between primary care, cardiology, psychologists, and other allied professionals. It also provides specific instruction about how to navigate the relationship with medical doctors while illustrating the unique ethical challenges or limitations of the health psychologist working with patients, their families, and providers in clinical practice. Moreover, it includes coverage of treatment plans taking into consideration individual differences in age, health status, and culture. This book will be of interest to anyone interested in furthering their knowledge about the complex interplay between cardiovascular problems and mental health conditions, especially clinical health psychologists who collaborate with social workers, primary care physicians, cardiologists, and surgeons alike.
Psychotic Disorders by
A counterintuitive and novel approach to the long-sought goal of subtyping schizophrenia and other psychotic disorders emerges from ongoing research.? Five psychosis associated anxiety and depressive subtypes each help define five corresponding psychosis diagnoses, their fixed false beliefs, and most importantly, their treatments. These anxiety and depressive comorbidities have long been long overlooked as an understandable hodgepodge of distressing symptoms caused by the pain of psychosis.? But these five comorbidities usually precede onset of the psychosis, and their treatment can significantly improve outcome. So, maybe, the causation is the other way around: maybe they are among the underlying contributors to schizophrenia and other psychotic disorders. The chapter authors expertly detail the data supporting this innovative approach.? They provide fictional case studies, DSM-5 diagnostic criteria, specific interviewing approaches for the five comorbidities in psychosis patients, and improved treatment options.? Other chapters explore psychoses related to substance use, medical illness and medical treatment, as well as other factors that contribute to psychotic disorders. This first-of-its-kind reference is a valuable clinical, educational, research and training resource for psychiatrists, psychologists, nurses, social workers, neurologists and anyone interested in the care and treatment of someone with a psychotic disorder. Reflects current research, diagnosis, and treatment options for: Schizophrenia with Voices and Panic Anxiety Obsessive-Compulsive Schizophrenia and Obsessive-Compulsive Disorder Persecutory Delusional Disorder and Social Anxiety Delusional Depression and Melancholic Depression Bipolar I Disorder and Atypical Depression Substance Use Psychoses Medical Illness and Iatrogenic Psychoses Covers treatment options and outcomes with medication and psychotherapy.? Includes sample patient interview approaches and/or biological tests for each diagnosis. Highlights symptoms, quasi-psychotic symptoms and secondary signs of the comorbidities when alone, and when in conjunction with psychosis. Reviews diagnosis-specific significance and contributory roles of neurotransmitters, hypofrontality, psychological trauma, and genetics. Enhanced eBook version allows access to entire book contents on most devices.? Included free with book purchase, or purchase separately.
Psychiatric Interviewing, 3rd ed. by
Print purchase includes enhanced Expert Consult eBook with over 7.5 hours of streaming video; quickly search text, figures, references, and videos on laptops, tablets, and smart phones. With time at a premium, today''s clinicians must rapidly engage their patients while gathering an imposingly large amount of critical information. These clinicians appropriately worry that the "person" beneath the diagnoses will be lost in the shuffle of time constraints, data gathering, and the creation of the electronic health record. Psychiatric Interviewing: The Art of Understanding: A Practical Guide for Psychiatrists, Psychologists, Counselors, Social Workers, Nurses, and other Mental Health Professionals, 3rd Edition tackles these problems head-on, providing flexible and practical solutions for gathering critical information while always attending to the concerns and unique needs of the patient. Over five years in the making, this classic introduction to the art of clinical interviewing returns, updated, expanded and innovatively designed for today''s reader with over 7.5 hours of streaming video integrated directly into the text itself. Readers now also become viewers, acquiring the rare opportunity to see the author both illustrating specific interviewing techniques and subsequently discussing effective ways in which to employ them. The founder and Director of the acclaimed Cape Cod Symposium, Rob Guerette, describes Dr. Shea''s skills as a speaker as follows, "Dr. Shea is an extremely gifted teacher, whose vibrant story-telling skills and compelling videos have led to him garnering some of the highest evaluations in the 30 year history of the Cape Cod Symposium. In short, readers are in for a rare treat when viewing the book''s video component." Within the text, Dr. Shea deftly integrates interviewing techniques from a variety of professional disciplines from psychiatry to clinical psychology, social work, and counseling providing a broad scope of theoretical foundation. Written in the same refreshing, informal writing style that made the first two editions best sellers, the text provides a compelling introduction to all of the core interviewing skills from conveying empathy, effectively utilizing open-ended questions, and forging a powerful therapeutic alliance to sensitively structuring the interview while understanding nonverbal communication at a sophisticated level. Updated to the DSM-5, the text also illustrates how to arrive at a differential diagnosis in a humanistic, caring fashion with the patient treated as a person, not just another case. Whether the reader is a psychiatric resident or a graduate student in clinical psychology, social work, counseling or psychiatric nursing, the updated third edition is designed to prepare the trainee to function effectively in the hectic worlds of community mental health centers, inpatient units, emergency rooms, and university counseling centers. To do so, the pages are filled with sample questions and examples of interviewing dialogue that bring to life methods for sensitively exploring difficult topics such as domestic violence, drug abuse, incest, antisocial behavior, and taking a sexual history as well as performing complex processes such as the mental status. The expanded chapter on suicide assessment includes an introduction to the internationally acclaimed interviewing strategy for uncovering suicidal ideation, the Chronological Assessment of Suicide Events (CASE Approach). Dr. Shea, the creator of the CASE Approach, then illustrates its techniques in a compelling video demonstrating its effective use in an interview involving a complex presentation of suicidal planning and intent. A key aspect of this text is its unique appeal to both novice and experienced clinicians. It is designed to grow with the reader as they progress through their graduate training, while providing a reference that the reader will pull off the shelf many times in their subsequent career as a mental health professional. Perhaps the most unique aspect in this regard is the addition of five complete chapters on Advanced and Specialized Interviewing (which comprise Part IV of the book) which appear as bonus chapters in the accompanying e-book without any additional cost to the reader. With over 310 pages, this web-based bonus section provides the reader with essentially two books for the price of one, acquiring not only the expanded core textbook but a set of independent monographs on specialized skill sets that the reader and/or faculty can add to their curriculum as they deem fit. New and Expanded Content: Expert Consult eBook version included with purchase. This enhanced eBook experience allows you to search all of the text, figures, references, and videos from the book on a variety of devices Bonus chapter on advanced aspects of cross-cultural interviewing, including approaches for recognizing clinician biases and exploring the client''s spirituality and framework for meaning Bonus chapter on motivational interviewing Bonus chapter on transforming patient anger and moments of potential disengagement Bonus chapter for prescribing clinicians -- such as psychiatrists and psychiatric nurse clinicians -- on how to collaboratively talk with patients about their medications Includes over 7.5 hours of video illustration and instruction Brings to life the pain and phenomenology of people coping with severe mental illnesses, such as schizophrenia, bipolar disorder, and major depressive disorder An entire chapter on engaging patients with difficult personality disorders, such as borderline personality disorder and narcissistic personality disorder A new and unique chapter covering often overlooked areas, such as positive psychology and methods for uncovering client wellness and strengths Extensive chapter on nonverbal communication, including the complex challenges related to interviewing on the web by text and/or tele-psychiatry A comprehensive introduction to facilics (an innovative supervision system for helping clinicians learn how to transform interviews into naturalistically flowing conversations), including an interactive web-based self-learning module on facilic supervision schematics for both faculty and students Practical tips for creating a good EHR/write-up, in addition to sample clinical forms for EHR/written documentation A specialized appendix for faculty, which includes four complete articles from the Psychiatric Clinics of North America that address educational topics including: effectively designing interviewing training courses and macrotraining suicide assessment skills
Psychological Approaches to the Treatment of Pediatric Obesity by
This book offers a comprehensive review of current research and theoretical approaches​ to pediatric obesity. Pediatric obesity is a significant public health concern that currently affects 1 in 5 children and adolescents. Prevention and treatment of this complex health condition requires a multifaceted approach that acknowledges the intersecting roles of gender, race and ethnicity, socioeconomic status, and other factors that play key roles in the onset and maintenance of pediatric obesity. Written for mental health clinicians, as well as medical practitioners such as physicians, nurses, dietitians, and exercise physiologists who care for children and adolescents, this helpful resource offers a comprehensive review of current research and theoretical approaches, as well as clear descriptions of effective strategies to prevent and treat pediatric obesity. Through a lens of diversity, equity, and inclusion, the authors incorporate cutting edge research and their extensive clinical experience and expertise as they review evidence-based treatments that can be incorporated into various settings, including primary care, mental health, and specialty medical care clinics as well as schools and community organizations. With a special focus on psychological factors, including mental health conditions that frequently co-occur with pediatric obesity, this book incorporates case examples, treatment guidelines, and reproducible handouts to make addressing pediatric obesity more accessible to clinicians and practitioners.
Risky Decision Making in Psychological Disorders, 2020 by
Risky Decision Making in Psychological Disorders provides readers with a detailed examination of how risky decision making is affected by a wide array of individual psychological disorders. The book starts by providing important background information on the construct of risky decision making, the assessment of risky decision making, and the neuroscience behind such decision making. The Iowa Gambling Task, Balloon Analogue Risk Task, and other behavioral measures are covered, as are topics such as test reliability and the pros and cons of utilizing tasks that have strong practice effects. The book then moves into how risky decision making is affected by specific psychological disorders, such as addictive behaviors, anxiety disorders, mood disorders, schizophrenia, sleep disorders, eating disorders, and more.
Schizophrenia: A Practical Primer by
Schizophrenia is a devastating illness that affects well over 20 million people worldwide and is one of the top ten causes of disability in developed countries. Because patients with schizophrenia are encountered in many health care provider settings, a broad range of health practitioners should to be able to recognize schizophrenia and treat it effectively. This book is for the professional trainee and early career mental health worker (psychiatrists, psychologists, social workers, counselors, and nurses) and is written to cover in a concise and accessible way what is of immediate and practical relevance to gain familiarity with schizophrenia.
ISBN: 9781498754798Publication Date: 2024-01-24
States and Processes for Mental Health: Advancing Psychotherapy Effectiveness by
States and Processes for Mental Health: Advancing Psychotherapy Effectiveness presents a novel mechanism of action for psychotherapy, revealing how psychotherapy actually works by advancing key states and processes characterizing mental health. This new understanding is presented in three sections. The first section identifies 7 states and processes for mental health. The second section examines 15 major forms of psychotherapy and non-specific factors with a comprehensive overview of each, followed by an empirical and theoretical proof of concept showing how they do indeed enhance the states and processes for mental health. In the third section, the author explores conceptual and practical problems in the current approach to psychotherapy, whereby discrete forms of psychotherapy are oriented to remedying psychopathology. Dr. Bowins then offers a new trans-therapy approach applying general strategies and those derived from existing forms of psychotherapy, to advance each of the states and processes characterizing mental health.
Sims' Symptoms in the Mind: Textbook of Descriptive Psychopathology, 7th ed. by
Psychopathology - the study of abnormal mental states - is a foundational discipline of psychiatry that is formidable to master. Since 1988, Sims' Symptoms in the Mind has been the leading introductory textbook in this area and provides the conceptual backbone needed by every psychiatrist in training. It defines and explains the main symptoms and syndromes of mental illness encountered in clinical practice. Now in its seventh edition, the text has been fully revised and updated by renowned psychiatry professor Femi Oyebode. It provides a masterful introduction to this difficult area that will challenge the reader intellectually, while at the same time supporting his or her learning. With a combination of accessible text and audiovisual materials in the online ebook, this is the standard postgraduate text for psychiatric trainees as well as a valued reference for academics, clinical psychiatrists and psychologists, allied health professionals, and researchers. Complete and practical overview of clinical psychopathology New chapter on the emerging area of abnormalities of aesthetic sense Expanded information on musical hallucinations, erotomania, abnormalities of the form of thinking, and the intriguing nature of gesture and its disturbance Online videos and podcasts covering interviewing techniques and tips Multiple choice questions and extended answers, offering different ways to learn Fully updated with new knowledge, concepts and theoretical and explanatory models
Textbook of Traumatic Brain Injury, 3rd ed. by
Despite the increased public awareness of traumatic brain injury (TBI), the complexities of the neuropsychiatric, neuropsychological, neurological, and other physical consequences of TBI of all severities across the lifespan remain incompletely understood by patients, their families, healthcare providers, and the media. Keeping pace with advances in the diagnosis, treatment, and science of TBI, the Textbook of Traumatic Brain Injury, Third Edition, comprehensively fills this gap in knowledge. Nearly all 50 chapters feature new authors, all of them experts in their field. Chapters new to this edition include biomechanical forces, biomarkers, neurodegenerative dementias, suicide, endocrine disorders, chronic disease management, and social cognition. An entirely new section is devoted to the evaluation and treatment of mild TBI, including injuries in athletes, military service members and veterans, and children and adolescents. These chapters join newly updated sections on the assessment and treatment of the cognitive, emotional, behavioral, and other physical sequelae of TBI. The Textbook of Traumatic Brain Injury is a must-read for all of those working in any of the multitude of disciplines that contribute to the care and rehabilitation of persons with brain injury. This new volume is also a potentially useful reference for policymakers in both the public and private sectors.
Textbook of Women's Reproductive Mental Health by
Finally--a definitive guide to women's reproductive mental health. The Textbook of Women's Reproductive Mental Health is the first comprehensive text for understanding, diagnosing, and supporting the unique mental health needs of women and others who undergo female reproductive transitions during their entire reproductive life cycle. Based on the award-winning National Curriculum in Reproductive Psychiatry, this groundbreaking book collects the latest thinking, research, and real-world practice from the brightest minds in psychiatry, obstetrics, gynecology, and other women's health specialties to provide the most complete compendium on women's reproductive mental health and the mental illnesses that arise at times of reproductive transition. This much-needed resource is positioned to be a cornerstone in the burgeoning field of reproductive psychiatry. Practitioners, researchers, and academics alike will gain an inclusive understanding of the mental, emotional, and behavioral disturbances related to female reproductive stages, including menstruation, pregnancy and the postpartum period, and perimenopause. Organized for everyday use, this convenient resource presents up-to-date information, case examples, and practical tools alongside data-supported guidance for treatment. A thorough introduction to the physiology of the woman's reproductive life cycle is included, with focused chapters that dive deep into a full range of mental health conditions related to reproductive hormone transitions. Highly visual coverage brings concepts to life using informative illustrations, charts, and graphs to discuss topics such as * Sexual health and contraception* Premenstrual mood disorders* Psychiatric disorders and treatments during pregnancy, the postpartum period, and perimenopause* The effects of stress during pregnancy and attachment* Infertility, pregnancy loss, birth trauma, and delivery of offspring with major health problems* Managing psychiatric emergencies* Prescribing commonly used drugs, including usage during pregnancy and lactation No other resource provides the depth of knowledge on reproductive psychiatry presented in the Textbook of Women's Reproductive Mental Health. Keep this book at your side for the latest screening tools and treatment options, as well as instant answers to questions about the epidemiology, clinical presentation, and pathophysiology of specific disorders.
Transgender and Gender Diverse Health Care: the Fenway Guide by
The first case-based comprehensive textbook to address the unique health care needs of transgender and gender diverse adults A Doody's Core Title for 2023! Demand for state-of-the-art health care services for transgender and gender diverse communities is rapidly increasing. Transgender and Gender Diverse Health Care: The Fenway Guide offers a roadmap for clinicians to provide culturally responsive care that meets the primary, preventive, and specialty health needs of transgender and gender diverse adult patients. With the most up-to-date scientific and clinical information, this practical guide reviews new data on terminology, demographics, and epidemiology; highlights key aspects of gender identity emergence across the lifespan; and provides guidance on both hormonal and surgical gender affirmation. Applying a health-equity model of care, this invaluable resource offers a foundation for clinicians when addressing health needs of transgender and gender diverse communities. Transgender and Gender Diverse Health Care: The Fenway Guide features essential information that includes the following topics and more: The history and epidemiology of transgender and gender diverse health care Primary, preventive, and specialty care considerations for transgender and gender diverse patients Hormonal, surgical and non-medical gender affirmation Trauma-informed and gender-affirming care Behavior health, eating disorders and body positivity Reproductive health, obstetrical care, and family building Treatment of HIV and sexually transmitted infections Community building, advocacy and partnership
Understanding and Coping with Illness Anxiety by
This book offers comfort and psychoeducation to readers as well as psychological explanation of concepts to mental health and medical professionals. The importance of understanding how disease, illness, and health affect our emotional and mental wellbeing cannot be overstated. The book is divided into four sections: a description of illness anxiety and its diagnostic criteria; coping strategies for managing illness-related anxiety; a section describing how patients heal from Illness Anxiety Disorder; and a section containing practical exercises, meditations, and activities. This book is a relevant resource that will highlight an underrepresented area of psychological literature.
ISBN: 9781003836858
Understanding Young Onset Dementia: Evaluation, Needs and Care by
Understanding Young Onset Dementia provides a state-of-the-art overview of approaches to care and evaluation for people with young onset dementia. It reviews the challenges in providing care and services, outlines new innovations in treatment and explores the impact of the condition to offer guidance about best practice in care. Written by world-leading researchers and experts in the field, this book gives key evidence for best practice and focuses on lived experience of those with young onset dementia. It has a broad focus looking at aspects of care beyond diagnosis and gives a comprehensive summary of the current qualitative and quantitative research in the field of young onset dementia. This international collaboration fills a much-needed gap in the academic market and is vital to guide learning and deliver future innovations. This book will be of great interest for academics, scholars and post graduate students in the field of mental health and dementia research. It will also appeal to neurologists, psychiatrist, geriatricians and psychologists looking to update their knowledge or already working in the field.
ISBN: 9781000414097Publication Date: 2021-07-22
