eBooks
American Psychiatric Association Publishing Textbook of Psychopharmacology, 5th ed. by
The American Psychiatric Association Publishing Textbook of Psychopharmacology is an indispensable and comprehensive resource for clinicians and trainees who prescribe psychotropic medications. Updated to reflect the new DSM-5 classification, this revised Fifth Edition maintains the user-friendly structure of its predecessors while offering in-depth coverage of the latest research in pharmacological principles, classes of drugs, and psychiatric disorders. Introductory chapters provide a theoretical grounding in clinical applications, with topics ranging from neurotransmitters to brain imaging in psychopharmacology. The bulk of the book is devoted to various classes of drugs, including antidepressants, anxiolytics, antipsychotics, mood stabilizers, and other agents, with each class divided into chapters on specific drugs--either new or revised to include the latest findings and trends. Finally, the section on psychopharmacological treatment addresses evidence-based principles of clinical care for the full spectrum of mental disorders and conditions--from depression to chronic pain--as well as for specific populations and circumstances--from children and adolescents to psychiatric emergencies--offering information on topics such as medication selection, combination and maintenance dosing regimens, monitoring and management of side effects, and strategies for optimizing treatment response. The book's beneficial features are many: * The section on principles of pharmacology has been revised and reorganized to incorporate recent discoveries from the fields of neurobiology, genetics, brain imaging, and epidemiology.* History and discovery, structure-activity relationships, pharmacological profiles, pharmacokinetics and disposition, mechanisms of action, indications and efficacy, side effects and toxicology, and drug-drug interactions are addressed for each agent. This consistent structure places the desired information at the clinician's fingertips and facilitates study for trainees.* Coverage of drugs approved since the last edition is thorough, encompassing new antidepressants (e.g., vortioxetine), new antipsychotics (e.g., cariprazine), and agents on the clinical horizon (e.g., ketamine).* More than 180 tables and graphs present critically important data in an accessible way. A work of uncommon scientific rigor and clinical utility, The American Psychiatric Association Publishing Textbook of Psychopharmacology provides state-of-the-art information on both the principles and the practice of psychopharmacological treatment of psychiatric disorders.
Cannabis Use, Neurobiology, Psychology, and Treatment by
Cannabis Use, Neurobiology, Psychology, and Treatment offers readers a comprehensive reference on neurological changes, both transient and long-term, and other factors surrounding the use of these compounds and extracts. With coverage of both natural and synthetic cannabinoids, this broad coverage allows readers to learn about both adverse and non-adverse effects, including reactivity to pain, changes in behavior, and neuroactivity. This volume provides a platform for research on the effects of these compounds in brain function and neurological dysfunction. Extracts from the Cannabis sativa plant contain scores of psychoactive compounds in addition to the principal agent tetrahydrocannabinol, many of which are neuroactive.
Ending the Crisis: Mayo Clinic's Guide to Opioid Addiction and Safe Opioid Use by
What if we could help loved ones misusing opioids and support them as they seek treatment? In Ending the Crisis, addiction medicine specialist Dr. Holly Geyer goes beyond the science of addiction to offer those struggling with opioids a real solution. Developed by trusted Mayo Clinic experts, this empowering and accessible book contains vital information about opioids and addiction, as well as practical tools for recovery, and impactful personal stories from those who've lived through the experience. Recovery is a marathon, not a sprint. Key topics include: Managing pain and using prescribed opioids safely Understanding addiction and opioid use disorder, The intervention: a play-by-play example Treatment programs and help taking the first step Helping loved ones recover from opioid use disorder Opioid overdose: how you can save a life. "The opioid epidemic is a story about all of us. It's about the people we love, the people we've lost and the people we fear losing. Whether the stories we have shared come from friends, family, or total strangers, they're all passed on with a purpose: to educate and plead for change, to pave the path for a different tomorrow."
Neuropsychopharmacology by
Neuropsychopharmacology reviews the principles of pharmacology with a focus on the central nervous system and autonomic nervous system. Beyond autonomic and central nervous system pharmacology, this volume uniquely discusses psychiatric disorders and the pharmacological interventions that are available for conditions including depression, schizophrenia and anxiety disorders. With a focus on these specific body systems, readers will see end-of-chapter questions that offer real-world case studies, as well as multiple-choice questions for further learning. Beneficial features and content also include two extensive examination tests, which each contain 100 questions for better learning or to be used in teaching, and a glossary. Helpful appendices cover high-alert medications and toxicology effects on the nervous system. Each chapter will contain classifications of medications, pharmacokinetics, mechanism of action, clinical indications and toxicities.
Pediatric Psychopharmacology for Primary Care, 4th ed. by
Completely updated and revised, the fourth edition provides practice-tested, condition-specific treatment recommendations for various childhood mental disorders. Obtain clear evidence-based guidance on dosing, monitoring, and potential adverse reactions of psychotropic medications for treatment of common psychiatric disorders and mental health or behavioral problems in children and adolescents. The book is designed not only for the pediatric primary care clinician but also for specialists such as developmental-behavioral pediatricians, psychiatric nurse practitioners, and allied mental health professionals among others. TOPICS INCLUDE Core pediatric principles and conceptual framework for prescribing psychotropics Medications for specific diagnoses--ADHD, anxiety, and depression Food and Drug Administration approved antipsychotics and mood stabilizers and all other medications Midcourse medication corrections and managing treatment impasses
ISBN: 9781610027663Publication Date: 2024-09-09
Pharmacology in Rehabilitation by
Up-to-date, must-know coverage Bring your understanding of the rapidly evolving world of pharmacological agents and their impact on rehabilitation up to date with the Updated 5th Edition of this groundbreaking reference. An easy-to-understand writing style and easy-to-follow design help you to understand the what, why, and how of this complex subject to ensure the most effective plans of care for your patients.
eBooks
Prescribing Mental Health Medication: The Practitioner's Guide by
Prescribing Mental Health Medication is a comprehensive text for all practitioners who treat mental disorders with medication. This new (third) edition is fully updated and includes a variety of additional chapters. Prescribing Mental Health Medication covers the latest digital methodologies including Internet-based mental health treatment, electronic medical records and prescriber use of social media. Including information on all psychotropic medications in use in the United States and the United Kingdom, the book incorporates clinical tips, sample dialogues for talking about mental health medications to patients, and information specifically relevant in primary care settings. It looks at: • how to determine if medication is needed, proper dosing and how to start, stop and change medication • specific mental health symptoms and appropriate medication • special populations including non-adherent patients, medication abusers, those mixing alcohol and psychotropics, confused patients, children, adolescents, pregnant women and seniors • management of medication side effects and avoidance of medication risk • prescription of generic preparations • organizing a prescriptive office and record keeping. The additional chapters in this new edition of Prescribing Mental Health Medication cover topics such as combining specific medications, combining medications and psychological therapies, use of'natural'substances in mental health treatment, successfully managing patient relapse, and appropriate prescriptions of potentially controversial medications such as stimulants and benzodiazepines. This practical text explains the entire process of medication assessment, management and follow up for general medical practitioners, mental health practitioners, students, residents, prescribing nurses and others perfecting this skill.
Psychostimulants by
A current survey and synthesis of the most important findings in our understanding of the neurobiological mechanisms of addiction are detailed in our Neurobiology of Addiction series, each volume addressing a specific area of addiction. Psychostimulants, Volume 2 in the series, explores the molecular and cellular systems in the brain responsible for psychostimulant addiction, including both direct/indirect sympathomimetics and nonsympathomimetics. This volume introduces the readers to the history of psychostimulant use. The authors clearly differentiate the neurobiological effects into three distinct stages of the addiction cycle: binge/intoxication, withdrawal/negative affect, and preoccupation/anticipation.
Schatzberg's Manual of Clinical Psychopharmacology, 10th ed. by
Schatzberg's Manual of Clinical Psychopharmacology is a meticulously researched, yet down-to-earth guide for practitioners prescribing psychotropic medications to individuals with psychiatric disorders or symptoms mandating treatment. The ninth edition offers up-to-date information on current drugs, interactions, side effects, and dosing guidelines, and retains the strengths and features that have made it a standard text for trainees and practicing clinicians. The authors also include a new chapter on important developments in laboratory-guided pharmacotherapy, including pharmacogenomic testing, neurocognitive testing, quantitative EEG, and neuroimaging. Although the book's primary purpose is to provide the reader-practitioner with basic and practical information regarding the many classes of psychiatric medications, the authors stress that understanding how to select and prescribe psychotropic medications does not obviate the basic need to comprehensively evaluate and understand psychiatric patients. Accordingly, the book draws on the authors' clinical experience, as well as on the scientific literature, resulting in an accessible, yet rigorous text. Features that have helped cement this book's reputation include: * Coverage is not limited to long-standing and newly approved medications, but also includes agents that are likely to receive approval from the FDA in the near future, ensuring that the reader stays up-to-date.* References are provided for key statements, and each chapter is then followed by a list of selected relevant articles and books for readers who want to go beyond the material presented, making for a leaner, more reader-friendly guide.* Dozens of summary tables with key information on classes of psychotropics function as quick-reference guides, promoting learning and serving as convenient resources for overloaded clinicians.* The appendix offers two kinds of suggested readings. The first, for clinicians, is invaluable to trainees, while the second, for patients and families, helps point clinicians to books aimed at a lay audience to supplement information provided to patients. Staying abreast of both new medications and promising treatment protocols is essential in this rapidly evolving field. Schatzberg's Manual of Clinical Psychopharmacology delivers authoritative information in a friendly, collegial style, ensuring that both students and practicing clinicians are equipped to provide a superior standard of care.
ISBN: 9781615372300Publication Date: 2019-03-25
