Lippincott Procedures
- Lippincott Procedures This link opens in a new window Point of care evidence-based guidance for over 1700 procedures and skills from a wide variety of nursing specialties. Also includes Mayo site-specific policies.
Click on All Nursing, then Specialty (Advanced Practice, Ambulatory Care, Critical Care, Emergency, Home Care, Hospice, Long Term Care, Maternal-Neonatal, Medical-Surgical, Neonatal Critical Care, Oncology, Pediatric, Pediatric Critical Care) then Skin and Wound Care
Dermatology also available
eBooks
Acute and Chronic Wounds: Intraprofessionals from Novice to Expert, 6th ed. by
Acute & Chronic Wounds, 6th Edition provides the latest diagnostic and treatment guidelines to help novice to expert clinicians provide evidence-based, high-quality care for patients with wounds. This textbook presents an interprofessional approach to maintaining skin integrity and managing the numerous types of skin damage, including topics that range from the physiology of wound healing, general principles of wound management, special patient populations, management of percutaneous tubes, and specific care instructions to program development. Written by respected wound experts Ruth Bryant and Denise Nix, this bestselling reference also provides excellent preparation for all wound certification exams. Comprehensive approach addresses the prevention and management of acute and chronic wounds, making it the preeminent resource for skin health and wound management across all disciplines involved in wound care, from novice to expert. Learning Objectives at the beginning of each chapter emphasize the most important content. Clinical Consult feature in each chapter provides a synthesis of the chapter content, illustrating how to assess, manage, and document a realistic clinical encounter using the ADPIE or SBAR framework. Checklists provide a concise list of actions necessary to achieve the best patient care outcomes or satisfy a particular objective. Practical tools and algorithms help in performing risk assessment, differential diagnosis, classification, treatment, and documentation. Coverage of practice development issues addresses outcomes and productivity in agencies and institutions, home care, acute care, long-term care, and long-term acute care settings. Self-assessment questions help you test your knowledge and prepare for certification exams. Helpful appendices provide answers to self-assessment questions, as well as various tools, policies and procedures, competencies, patient and family education guidance, and more. NEW! Chapters on Postacute Care Settings; Telehealth and Wound Management; Quality Tracking Across the Continuum; and Medications and Phytotherapy: Impact on Wounds provide evidence-based coverage of these important topics. UPDATED! Consolidated pressure injuries content puts everything you need to know into one chapter. Expanded full-color insert includes 50 new images - for a total of 95 color plates with more than 160 images - that visually reinforce key concepts. New information presents the latest developments in biofilm assessment and management, topical oxygen therapy, skin manifestations related to COVID-19, and strategies to enhance engagement, as well as updated product photos and more authors who are clinical experts and providers.
Aesthetic Procedures : Nurse Practitioner's Guide to Cosmetic Dermatology, 2nd ed. by
This second edition is a resource that offers guidance to advanced practice providers who are experienced or novice aesthetic practitioners and would like to improve their aesthetic practice and enhance patient safety and satisfaction. This new book reviews skin structure and anatomy, what happens as facial structures age, the effects of aging coupled with environmental exposures, pharmacology of medications used in aesthetics, light-based device properties, patient selection, danger zones, complications, new treatments, and benefits of treatments. In addition, it includes suggestions on how to communicate with patients to achieve successful outcomes. Aesthetic Procedures: Nurse Practitioner's Guide to Cosmetic Dermatology provides practitioners a one-source resource to attain more in-depth learning about cosmetic dermatology. Although there are several texts on individual aspects of aesthetic medicine, there is no all-inclusive book for advanced practice providers. This book also affords the primary care practitioner the opportunity to add minimally invasive cosmetic dermatology procedures to their practice and perform the treatments safely, efficiently and effectively while avoiding common mistakes and minimizing complication risks. Education and hands-on practice and training are paramount in creating a safe patient environment and as more clinicians turn to aesthetics to augment their practice, this book will be a valuable resource for practitioners all over the world.
ISBN: 9783031514401
Chronic Wound Management : The Significance of Evidence and Technology by
This book describes how chronic wounds follow a completely different healing trajectory to acute wounds and discusses the factors associated with these poor healing trajectories. These factors include age, chronic inflammation, phenotypic changes in such cells as macrophages, fibroblasts, and keratinocytes, colder, alkaline wound milieu, wound related hypoxemia, and diabetes. Other factors implicated include reperfusion injury, poor patient compliance, presence of undiagnosed and therefore unmanaged biofilms and wound pain. The past decades have yielded reliable evidence-based guidelines and standardized care, but the healing of diabetic foot wounds continues to be unpredictable notwithstanding these advances, while the recurrence rates are also high. The benefits of technology in wound diagnosis are evidence-based and the use of this technology also features in guidelines. However, the same argument cannot be extended to adjuvant devices to facilitate wound closure even though many devices potentially benefit wound healing. Chronic Wound Management describes how innovation is based on technology that itself informs evidence, the gap between the evidence available, the performance of technology and how do we bridge this gap. It reviews the lessons learnt from the COVID-19 pandemic and whether traditional medicine systems offer us real or imaginary benefits. Consequently, this book is an important addition to the literature in the area and an essential read for all healthcare professionals working with these patients.
ISBN: 9783031261107
Dermatologic Procedures in Office Practice, 2nd ed. by
It is a great pleasure to release the second edition of our Dermatologic Procedures in Office Practice book with online videos and mobile application. The work on this book began in the 1990s when I had the great fortune of collaborating with leaders in dermatologic surgery to produce Skin Surgery: A Practical Guide . As a family physician, I was enthusiastic to learn these dermatologic procedures so that I could perform them well for my patients and teach them to other clinicians through photographs, writing, lectures, and workshops. Over the following 25 years, my additional experiences have led to a book and a mobile application that have better photographs, newer chapters and procedures, and high-definition video. Dermatologic and Cosmetic Procedures in Office Practice was published in 2012 by a team of four family physicians with additional expertise in dermatology. In this second edition, Dr. Stulberg and I decided to focus on core surgical procedures with the goal of diagnosing and treating skin cancers and benign skin conditions while maximizing the cosmetic outcome. We decided to not include lasers, fillers, and Botox as there are so many other available resources for these cosmetic procedures. We did add more content on dermoscopy, ultrasound, and procedures performed in challenging anatomical regions.
The book begins with a section entitled “Getting Started” and then follows with sections on basic procedures, advanced procedures, and a final section “Putting It All Together.” The book with online videos and mobile application are especially directed toward family physicians and other primary care providers. Nurse practitioners and physician assistants practicing dermatology or primary care will also find the material useful. In addition, this set of resources has a lot to offer dermatology residents and dermatologists in their early stages of training.
The video segments have been developed over the past 14 years, mostly from surgeries performed in the University Health Skin Clinic in San Antonio. It is a unique clinic in which we train our dermatology fellows and family medicine residents to perform dermatologic procedures. It is the home of the first and only underserved family medicine dermatology fellowship in the country. I started this fellowship in 2009, and we now have three fellows a year training to provide dermatology care to communities that often lack access to dermatologists.
Whatever your current level of procedural skills, the videos, photographs, and text will take you to the next level. You and your patients will benefit greatly from the material presented. Start by reading the initial section on “Getting Started.” Then learn to master all the “Basic Procedures” by providing these procedures for your patients as needed. If you are inclined to learn more advanced procedures, start with a few at a time and learn them well. Finally, use the “Putting It All Together” section to round out your procedural skills.
After 40 years as a family doctor including 17 years practicing full-time dermatology, I feel fortunate to be able to pass on my learning to the next generation of clinicians. Wishing you all a fulfilling career in medicine. We are all lucky to have opportunities to improve the lives of our patients through kind, compassionate, and competent healthcare delivery.
ISBN: 9780323930628
Fast Facts for Nurse Practitioners: Practice Essentials for Clinical Subspecialties, 1st ed. by
The first book to provide an insider view of the latest advances and trends in the full range of clinical subspecialty areas. Fast Facts for Nurse Practitioners: Practice Essentials for Clinical Subspecialties takes the busy advanced practice provider or student on a journey through the clinical subspecialties. The author, a highly experienced nurse practitioner, has immersed herself in each of these clinical areas and interviewed medical specialists to identify the latest advances, trends, and tips to more confidently and competently assess, diagnose, manage, and refer patients across the lifespan. The book addresses hot topics in allergy and immunology, cardiology, dermatology, endocrinology, gastroenterology, hematology and oncology, infectious disease, nephrology, neurology, obstetrics and gynecology, ophthalmology, orthopedics, otolaryngology, pediatrics, psychiatry, pulmonology, rheumatology, and urology. Each chapter provides information on common chief complaints, pathophysiology, diagnostic considerations, and key points for management or referral. This concise reference provides evidence-based strategies for managing ever-changing patient needs in an easy-to-digest format. Key Features: Serves the needs of advanced practice providers and students Offers the latest advances and trends for all clinical subspecialty areas in one concise, quick-reference resource Provides evidence-based guidelines to support the principles of assessment, differential diagnosis, management, and referral Highlights only the most relevant and timely information, allowing readers to save time, stay current, and improve patient outcomes
eBooks
Guidebook to Dermatologic Diagnosis by
A unique, highly visual and systematic approach to dermatologic diagnosis Guidebook to Dermatologic Diagnosis provides an innovative and methodical approach to the diagnosis of skin lesions and rashes. The mainstay of diagnosis in dermatology is the physical exam which rests on visual diagnosis. This resource classifies dermatoses on morphologic grounds with diseases that look the same grouped together. Centered around "The Wheel of Diagnosis" which factors in several important clinical considerations necessary to formulate an accurate diagnosis, the book is enhanced by numerous images organized by clinical appearance rather than known diagnosis. This type of image grouping is specifically designed to teach readers how to think through and eventually arrive at an accurate diagnosis. Each chapter is enhanced by tips on special testing, management, as well as the diagnostic approach. Although primarily written to be an innovative way to enhance dermatologic diagnostic skills, this unique resource can also be used at the point of care to confirm diagnosis. Whether you are a medical student, dermatology resident, internist, family practitioner looking to develop your approach to dermatology, or a seasoned dermatologist looking to augment your methodology of teaching differential diagnosis, this book is intended to be your guide, your authority, and your companion. Guidebook to Dermatologic Diagnosis provides in-depth coverage of: How to use the "Wheel of Diagnosis" Diagnostic clues from secondary lesions and pigment changes Reaction patterns and color differentials as diagnostic determinants Dermal, papulosquamous, vesiculobullous, vascular, and eczematous reaction patterns Examining the scalp, hair, nails, mucous membranes, and lymph nodes Bedside diagnostic maneuvers, and more
Text and Atlas of Wound Diagnosis and Treatment, 3rd ed. by
The acclaimed on-the-go wound care guide--offering the benefits of both a foundational textbook and a full-color atlas. Text and Atlas of Wound Diagnosis and Treatment delivers outstanding visual guidance and clear, step-by-step instruction on caring for patients with wounds. Packed with hundreds of full-color illustrations and clear, concise text, this unique learning tool provides thorough easy-to-understand coverage of evidence-based concepts of would treatment. Each chapter follows a similar design, with consistent headings, brief bulleted text, and numerous high-quality illustrations. Learning aids include case studies, chapter objectives, assessment guidelines, chapter references, chapter summaries, and NPTE-style review questions at the end of each chapter. This innovative format allows you to see actual examples via high-quality color photographs and learn foundational concepts through text. The case studies also give real-world relevance to the principles discussed. This third edition has been updated to reflect the latest research and treatments and features new content on scar management and biotechnologies, including extracorporeal shock wave therapy.
Urgent Care Dermatology: Symptom-Based Diagnosis by
Urgent Care Dermatology: Symptom-Based Diagnosis, by Drs. James E. Fitzpatrick, Whitney A. High, and Lamar Kyle, helps you quickly identify skin conditions and provide necessary treatment at the point of care. Concise, to-the-point text is highlighted by more than 1,000 high-quality photographs - all conveniently organized by lesion appearance - making this resource ideal for first-line clinicians to quickly identify and treat dermatologic conditions. Appearance-based format designed for non-specialists who diagnose and treat skin conditions, such as family practice physicians, urgent care providers, nurse practitioners, and physician assistants Organized by presentation (scaly lesions, blisters, etc.), with a full chapter on treatment pearls that offers expert advice pertaining to diagnosis and treatment Richly illustrated with more than 1,000 full-color clinical examples of lesions you're likely to see Each topic is covered in a two-page spread for quick reference - text on the left and images on the right Up-to-date coverage of morbilliform eruptions, scaly papular lesions, dermatitis (eczematoid reactions), and abscesses, as well as a timely chapter on cutaneous diseases of travelers organized by global region Expert Consult eBook version included with purchase. This enhanced eBook experience allows you to search all of the text, figures, images, videos (including video updates), glossary, and references from the book on a variety of devices Appearance-based format designed for non-specialists who diagnose and treat skin conditions, such as family practice physicians, urgent care providers, nurse practitioners, and physician assistants. Organized by presentation (scaly lesions, blisters, etc.), with a full chapter on treatment pearls that offers expert advice pertaining to diagnosis and treatment. Richly illustrated with more than 1,000 full-color clinical examples of lesions you're likely to see. Each topic is covered in a two-page spread for quick reference - text on the left and images on the right. Up-to-date coverage of morbilliform eruptions, scaly papular lesions, dermatitis (eczematoid reactions), and abscesses, as well as a timely chapter on cutaneous diseases of travelers organized by global region. Expert Consult eBook version included with purchase. This enhanced eBook experience allows you to search all of the text, figures, images, videos (including video updates), glossary, and references from the book on a variety of devices.
