Lippincott Procedures
- Lippincott Procedures This link opens in a new window Point of care evidence-based guidance for over 1700 procedures and skills from a wide variety of nursing specialties. Also includes Mayo site-specific policies.
Click on All Nursing, then Emergency, then Specialty
eBooks
Compassion Fatigue and Burnout in Nursing, 3rd ed. by
Praise for Past Editions "This book is a vital read for individuals and the collective nursing profession... I encourage those who are concerned about the collective nursing profession, about what nurse educators are teaching students, about healthcare's high staff turnover and poor patient quality outcomes to consider reading and using this book." - M. R. Morrow, RN, PhD., Nursing Science Quarterly "This book addresses the issue that all nurses eventually face at one time or another in their career, a loss of passion. The author takes readers on a journey to recapture their passion...Every nurse should read this book." -V. Hedderick, Doody's Review Service As relevant today as it was when the first edition was published in 2012--likely even more so after the devastation of COVID 19--Dr. Vidette Todaro-Franceschi delves deeper into issues surrounding professional quality of life (PQOL) for nurses and the intricate connection to caliber of care and healthcare outcomes. She offers new insights on compassion fatigue, burnout, moral distress, caring for the dying, PTSD, and workplace bullying and violence noting that while the COVID-19 pandemic has grossly exacerbated existing problems in the workplace it has also created a "perfect storm" for nurses to regain a sense of the meaning and purpose of their work. Written by an acknowledged expert in end-of-life education, professional quality of life, and clinical leadership, this book will help empower nurses so that they can create a healthier, more compassionate work environment. Supported by research but written from a holistic and personal perspective, the text includes real-life examples, strategies, and exercises that will help readers to identify negative patterns and explore ways to recapture the joy in their work lives. New to the Third Edition: Integrates the impact of COVID-19 on the nursing profession throughout Provides new information on enhancing PQOL for nurses Includes new real-life examples from multiple nursing disciplines Key Features: Articulates an ethic of care developed from a transdisciplinary perspective Offers a framework--the ART© model, for mindful healing, living and working Shares real-life examples from critical care, end-of-life, oncology, and other clinical areas Provides a template for nurses, nurse educators and leaders to address critical issues affecting nursing workforce health, happiness and the work environment Includes a Nurse Leaders Resource Kit to assist staff with improving PQOL
ISBN: 9780826155283Publication Date: 2024-01-28
The Emergency Department Technician Handbook by
Emergency Department Technicians (EDTs) play a vital role in actively supporting the medical team in today's hospitals, and the role continues to expand in light of staffing shortages and increased emergency department volumes. The Emergency Department Technician Handbook is a reliable, comprehensive resource in this increasingly important field, filling a timely need in EDT workforce development for both technicians and educators. Concise, readable text, along with high-quality clinical photos and a video library that depict procedures and patient positioning, make this new handbook a must-have resource in every emergency department. Provides quick, convenient access to practical guidance and everyday answers in an easy-to-read outline format. Discusses key topics such as patient flow and assessment in the ED, triage, and point-of-care testing. Advises on best practices for wound care, including cleansing, dressing, and splinting a wound as well as how to set up a suture tray and advanced wound care techniques. Covers essential imaging-based procedures, including the use of ultrasound-guided IV. Features a companion video library with a range of clips depicting how to perform procedures and patient examinations in real time. Enhanced eBook version included with purchase. Your enhanced eBook allows you to access all of the text, figures, videos, and references from the book on a variety of devices.
Essential Procedures for Emergency, Urgent, and Primary Care Settings: A Clinical Companion, 3rd ed. by
A comprehensive, step-by-step, well-illustrated introduction to common clinical procedures This text is a user-friendly guide to performing 77 clinical procedures, ranging from those commonly performed to those infrequently called upon when minutes count in emergency, urgent, and primary care settings. This heavily updated third edition includes current and comprehensive text, graphic, and video instruction on the use of bedside ultrasound for procedural guidance in order to increase procedural accuracy and mitigate complications. Edited and written by academically accomplished physicians, physician assistants, and nurse practitioners, an interprofessional approach to the performance of procedures is highlighted throughout the book. Procedures are consistently formatted and presented in clear language with step-by-step detail organized by system-specific categories for easy access to information. Each procedure includes background considerations, indications & contraindications for performing the procedure, technique for safe and correct performance, special considerations, complications, post-procedure considerations, and patient education points. Original photos, videos, high quality sonographic footage, line drawings, and tables reinforce the guidelines and procedures. Abundant "Clinical Pearls" throughout the manuscript offer practical applications of key information representing years of clinical technical experience. Extensive references at the end of each chapter further enhance the book's utility New to the Third Edition: Delivers 16 completely new chapters covering a plethora of newly added procedures, incorporating an interprofessional approach to performing procedures Previous chapters have been extensively updated and expanded Provides new illustrative videos Presents a corresponding list of CPT codes Key Features: Delivers current, concise, step-by-step information for performing 77 commonly and less commonly used clinical procedures Provides abundant four-color photos and figures illustrating each procedure Organized by body system to provide fast access to key information Enriched with point of care ultrasound guided procedures Thoroughly introduces and teaches sonography at the most fundamental level as an important tool to enhance accuracy of procedures Reflects latest guidelines and evidence-based practice Includes prominently displayed links to numerous videos throughout the text Includes 12 months' free Springer Connect Digital Access with print purchase!
Fast Facts for the ER Nurse by
This bestselling resource has successfully prepared thousands of ER nurses to provide safe, effective, and high-quality care to their patients. This new edition is updated with guidelines from the American Heart Association, Neonatal Resuscitation Program, American Stroke Association, Emergency Nursing Pediatric Course, and Trauma Nurse Core Course. This guide presents the most current information on medications, street drugs, the opioid crisis, and intraosseous access. Chapters are replete with new case studies, updated photos, and time-tested tips. This Fast Facts guide is written in bullet-point format and is alphabetically organized by disease and disorder within each body system to emphasize easy access and at-a-glance viewing. All chapters list relevant materials, equipment and drugs; and each diagnosis includes its definition, causes, signs and symptoms, and interventions. Helpful appendices display common abbreviations and lab values, EKG rhythms, frequently used medications, and updated alphabetized skills checklists for self-examination. New to the Fourth Edition: New content on administering Alteplase, coronaviruses, decompression sickness, high altitude illness, human trafficking, influenza, lightning injuries, osteomyelitis, parasitic and insect infestations, post-birth warning signs, post-cardiac arrest care, rhabdomyolysis, status asthmaticus, and triage legal issues. Updates on infectious disease emergencies, disaster response emergencies, environmental emergencies, and OB/GYN emergencies New information on fluid and electrolyte imbalance Shock and Multisystem Trauma divided into two expanded chapters Updated with useful tricks of the trade and 'survival tips' New knowledge on street drugs including vaping, concentrated marijuana, and the opioid crisis Key Features: Educates new ER nurses and their preceptors on the most common injuries and illnesses they will encounter Comes in handy pocket size for reference on the go Provides easy referral to equipment, medications, procedures, and specialty care Delivers hands-on teaching strategies for instructors
Geriatric Emergent/Urgent and Ambulatory Care: The Pocket NP, 2nd ed. by
Now in its second edition, this reference guide for nurse practitioners and other health care providers in emergency, medical, screening, fast track, and/or geriatric settings continues to provide ultra-quick access to key assessment and management information.
The Pocket NP delivers a wealth of information for assessment and management of the most-commonly encountered problems in fast-track settings. Arranged in a logical head-to-toe format, it includes the history, physical examination, and essential medical decision-making considerations needed to walk you step-by-step through a typical patient encounter.
Intubating the Critically Ill Patient: A Step-By-Step Guide for Success in the ED and ICU by
Intubating critically ill patients is a process that requires a well-thought-out, step-by-step plan, specific to each patient. This book teaches the steps necessary to predict, prepare, perform, and provide pre and post-intubation care. The focus of the book is not on how to intubate, but rather all the steps leading up to and after the tube goes in. From the EMS stretcher to the ICU bed, this book has easily accessible, practical information for these tenuous patients, and answers the who, what, where, when and how of airway management. Included are specific chapters on special patient populations outlining the process of intubating patients with neurologic injury, cardiovascular compromise, sepsis, trauma and those with obesity Intubating the Critically Ill Patient: A Step-by-Step Guide for Success in the ED and ICU is an essential resource for physicians, medical students, and allied health professionals in emergency medicine and intensive care settings.
ISBN: 9783030568122Publication Date: 2020-11-20
Orthopaedic and Trauma Nursing: an Evidence-Based Approach to Musculoskeletal Care, 2nd ed. by
Orthopaedic and Trauma Nursing A comprehensive and evidence-based manual for orthopaedic and trauma nurses and students In the newly revised second edition of Orthopaedic and Trauma Nursing: An Evidence-based Approach to Musculoskeletal Care, a team of accomplished practitioners and educators deliver a straightforward and practical textbook for the practice of neonate, infant, child, young person, adult and older person orthopaedic and trauma nursing. The book explores topics of critical importance to those working in acute wards, clinics, community hospitals, nursing homes, and patients' homes. Divided into 5 intuitive sections, this book examines central issues in orthopaedic and musculoskeletal trauma care, specialist practice issues, the care and management of common conditions, and the care of infants, children and young people. Each chapter is based on the latest research and offers practical guidance to practitioners around the world. The book also offers: Practical explorations of topics in specialist practice, including assessment, common musculoskeletal interventions, and complications of musculoskeletal conditions and trauma In-depth discussions of common orthopaedic conditions and their management and care, including elective orthopaedic surgery Holistic musculoskeletal trauma care, including the principles of trauma and fracture management Perfect for pre-registration and qualified adult and children's orthopaedic nurses working in orthopaedic and musculoskeletal trauma units in hospitals and community settings, Orthopaedic and Trauma Nursing will also be of use to students seeking post-qualification education in orthopaedic nursing.
Pediatric Emergency Medicine Secrets, 4th ed. by
The world is very different since the last edition of Pediatric Emergency Medicine Secrets . The COVID-19 pandemic changed us forever. Our priorities were rearranged, and we, perhaps, have a greater appreciation for health care providers on the front lines. However, what never changed is our desire to provide the highest quality emergency care to children across the country. Perhaps even more than ever, clinicians in emergency medicine need rapid access to reliable sources of information to assist in the care of children in the emergency department (ED). Pediatric Emergency Medicine Secrets is a unique textbook because of its question-and-answer format. Some questions focus on “fun trivia.” Most questions are clinically relevant and provide valuable information about common and unusual pediatric conditions seen in the ED.
Those who care for children in the ED know they will be challenged on every shift. Clinical questions arise with each patient and inquisitive trainees often bring interesting, stimulating queries to bedside discussions of pediatric patients. Physicians rarely have time to sort through lengthy texts or volumes of information to get their answers. This book highlights the difficult questions that arise daily in the ED. It offers succinct, up-to-date answers.
The fourth edition of Pediatric Emergency Medicine Secrets is divided into seven sections. The first section addresses life-threatening conditions and immediate stabilization of children. The second section features common chief complaints that are often managed in the ED. Later sections focus on important medical emergencies, surgical emergencies, major and minor trauma, and environmental emergencies. Finally, questions relating to special topics in pediatric emergency medicine (procedural sedation, bio-terrorism, ultrasound, risk management, and the transport of children to specialized centers) are included.
This fourth edition features several new chapters such as Sexual Assault, High-Altitude Illness, Disaster Preparedness, Point-of-Care Ultrasound, and Patient Safety and Quality Improvement. All other chapters have been revised and revamped with new questions and current references. Many chapters have classic photographs and radiographs to enhance learning. Each chapter features Key Points that highlight essential tips and pearls. The Top 100 Secrets have been collated and updated for rapid review and summary.
We recognize how demanding and rewarding it is to care for ill and injured children. We sincerely hope Pediatric Emergency Medicine Secrets fourth edition will be very useful to meet the challenges we all face on every shift. We believe the questions and answers in this book will inform and motivate the reader, as do our patients and our trainees.
ISBN: 9780323930338
eBooks
Prehospital Emergency Medicine Secrets by
For more than 30 years, the highly regarded Secrets Series® has provided students and practitioners in all areas of health care with concise, focused, and engaging resources for quick reference and exam review. Prehospital Emergency Medicine Care Secrets is an all-new addition to this popular series, offering practical, up-to-date coverage of the full range of essential topics in this dynamic field. This new resource features the Secrets' popular question-and-answer format that also includes lists, tables, pearls, memory aids, and an easy-to-read style - making inquiry, reference, and review quick, easy, and enjoyable. The proven Secrets Series® format gives you the most return for your time - succinct, easy to read, engaging, and highly effective. Covers the full range of essential topics including disaster and multiple casualty incidents, psychiatric emergencies, and prehospital skills and procedures for in-training or practicing professionals. Fully revised and updated, including protocols and guidelines that are continuously evolving and that increasingly dictate best practices. Includes chapters on public health and EMS, infectious disease emergencies/sepsis, telemedicine and emerging telecommunications, transport of the highly infectious patient, mass casualty evacuation and patient movement, biological and chemical terrorism, community disaster preparedness, and airway management, oxygenation, and ventilation. Top 100 Secrets and Key Points boxes provide a fast overview of the secrets you must know for success in practice and on exams. Bulleted lists, mnemonics, practical tips from global leaders in the field - all providing a concise overview of important board-relevant content. Portable size makes it easy to carry with you for quick reference or review anywhere, anytime. Enhanced eBook version included with purchase. Your enhanced eBook allows you to access all of the text, figures, and references from the book on a variety of devices.
Rapid Access Guide for Pediatric Emergencies : Providing Expert Nursing Care by
This resource for nurses confronting pediatric emergencies provides immediate access to vital, life-saving information. Ideal for a variety of settings, this guide distills the wisdom of expert pediatric emergency clinicians who provide a wealth of critical information from basic foundational knowledge through red flag presentations and triage.
After describing how to best incorporate the guide into practice, the nursing book conveys important contextual information about pediatric developmental stages, anatomy and physiology, and how to communicate effectively with patients and caregivers. This emergency nurse essential resource provides comprehensive triage content; a combination of concept-based learning, disease pathology, and recognition according to body system; and psychosocial considerations. Additionally, behavioral health issues, congenital cardiac anomalies, and children with unique needs, along with assessments, interventions, critical medications, and selected components of resuscitation are covered.
This text provides emergency, urgent care, clinic, school nurses and others, both experienced and inexperienced, with a pocket reference when caring for the pediatric patient. A quick-reference section highlights emergency pediatric procedures and medication administration for at-a-glance information. Chapters contain space for taking notes, inscribing important phone numbers, or pasting facility-specific policies and procedures.
ISBN: 9780826152435
Sheehy's Manual of Emergency Care, 8th ed. by
Sheehy's Manual of Emergency Care, 8th Edition offers complete, up-to-date coverage of the essentials emergency nurses need to know. Each condition commonly seen in the emergency setting is thoroughly addressed, from signs and symptoms, to diagnosis, treatment, developmental considerations, patient education, and more. Updated material and easy-to-reference contents make this resource a must-have for current practice. Quick-reference format is ideal for updating emergency nursing knowledge and improving patient care. Detailed discussions for each condition include signs and symptoms, diagnosis/diagnostic testing, treatment/interventions, age/developmental considerations, and patient/family education/discharge instructions. Authorship from the Emergency Nurses Association for more than 30 years ensures this book is a mainstay for best practices in emergency nursing. Content presented in a bulleted format provides quick and easy access to vital information. Practice points highlighted in special boxes offer quick reference to important content. NEW! Restructured table of contents presents anatomically related medical and trauma chapters sequentially for quick reference. NEW! Considerations for critical care in the ED. NEW! Considerations for the transgender patient. NEW! Section on human trafficking in the Interpersonal Violence and Abuse chapter. NEW! Section on violent risk assessment in the Workplace Violence chapter. NEW! Color photos insert visually highlights and clarifies key content. EXPANDED! Substance Abuse and Addiction Emergencies chapter covers methamphetamines, bath salts, marijuana edibles, opioid abuse/prescription drug abuse, heroin/Narcan, and substance abuse disorder. EXPANDED! Chapter on end-of-life includes information on palliative care considerations. UPDATED! Infectious Diseases chapter addresses coronavirus 19 (COVID-19), Ebola, and vector-borne malaria.
Urgent Care Dermatology: Symptom-Based Diagnosis by
Urgent Care Dermatology: Symptom-Based Diagnosis, by Drs. James E. Fitzpatrick, Whitney A. High, and Lamar Kyle, helps you quickly identify skin conditions and provide necessary treatment at the point of care. Concise, to-the-point text is highlighted by more than 1,000 high-quality photographs - all conveniently organized by lesion appearance - making this resource ideal for first-line clinicians to quickly identify and treat dermatologic conditions. Appearance-based format designed for non-specialists who diagnose and treat skin conditions, such as family practice physicians, urgent care providers, nurse practitioners, and physician assistants Organized by presentation (scaly lesions, blisters, etc.), with a full chapter on treatment pearls that offers expert advice pertaining to diagnosis and treatment Richly illustrated with more than 1,000 full-color clinical examples of lesions you're likely to see Each topic is covered in a two-page spread for quick reference - text on the left and images on the right Up-to-date coverage of morbilliform eruptions, scaly papular lesions, dermatitis (eczematoid reactions), and abscesses, as well as a timely chapter on cutaneous diseases of travelers organized by global region Expert Consult eBook version included with purchase. This enhanced eBook experience allows you to search all of the text, figures, images, videos (including video updates), glossary, and references from the book on a variety of devices Appearance-based format designed for non-specialists who diagnose and treat skin conditions, such as family practice physicians, urgent care providers, nurse practitioners, and physician assistants. Organized by presentation (scaly lesions, blisters, etc.), with a full chapter on treatment pearls that offers expert advice pertaining to diagnosis and treatment. Richly illustrated with more than 1,000 full-color clinical examples of lesions you're likely to see. Each topic is covered in a two-page spread for quick reference - text on the left and images on the right. Up-to-date coverage of morbilliform eruptions, scaly papular lesions, dermatitis (eczematoid reactions), and abscesses, as well as a timely chapter on cutaneous diseases of travelers organized by global region. Expert Consult eBook version included with purchase. This enhanced eBook experience allows you to search all of the text, figures, images, videos (including video updates), glossary, and references from the book on a variety of devices.
Urgent Care Medicine Secrets, 2nd ed. by
We wanted our second edition of Urgent Care Medicine Secrets to reflect these advancements in the field while focusing on what made our first edition successful: the simplicity of the question-and-answer format, targeting health care providers from different levels of experience and different specialty backgrounds while providing a wealth of knowledge based on the current evidence found in the emergency medicine, sports medicine, and urgent care medicine literature.
Once again, I am blessed to embark on this journey with two colleagues I admire and respect tremendously. Rory O’Neill is a board-certified emergency medicine physician, working both clinically and administratively in the arenas of emergency medicine and urgent care medicine. Matthew Silvis is board-certified in both family medicine and primary care sports medicine, balancing his professional career with clinical medicine, education, administration, and research. We searched far and wide for contributors who have demonstrated scholarship in their careers and are experts in their fields. Our contributors represent varied backgrounds, covering general pediatrics, emergency medicine, pediatric emergency medicine, family medicine, urgent care medicine, sports medicine, and anesthesiology.
“Faith is my sword. Truth is my shield. Knowledge is my armor.”–Stephen Strange, Doctor Strange
Based on your feedback from our first edition, we added several topics, such as the history of urgent care medicine, adult head and neck trauma, adult chest and abdominal trauma, toxicology, general concepts in diagnostic imaging, and obstetrical complaints. The second edition is divided into six sections. The first section includes general concepts in urgent care medicine (the history of urgent care medicine, the business of urgent care medicine, office emergency and disaster preparedness, and the recognition and stabilization of adult and pediatric emergencies). The second and third sections focus on chief complaints, divided into adult and pediatrics. The fourth section focuses on primary care sports medicine, covering common injuries and sports-related infections and illnesses. The fifth section focuses on minor trauma and procedures, including wound assessment/burns/animal bites, laceration repair, orthopedic fracture reduction and splinting, incision and drainage, foreign body removal, dental procedures, and utilization of analgesia and sedation. The last section focuses on miscellaneous topics that may be of interest to the urgent care medicine health care provider, including mental health urgencies, toxicology, travel medicine, general concepts in diagnostic imaging, utilization of diagnostic ultrasound, and obstetrical complaints.
Thank you to those who have utilized Urgent Care Medicine Secrets in your educational advancements and clinical practice. We hope that the second edition will be a valuable tool for those working in the urgent care medicine setting and optimize care delivered to each and every patient who presents to an urgent care center.
ISBN: 9780443107528
The Walls Manual of Emergency Airway Management, 6th ed. by
The Walls Manual of Emergency Airway Management, Sixth Edition, remains the most trusted reference on this challenging topic. This practical reference, edited by Drs. Calvin A. Brown III, John C. Sakles, Nathan W. Mick, Jarrod M. Mosier, and Darren A. Braude, is the foundation text for these nationally recognized programs: The Difficult Airway Course: Emergency(tm), The Difficult Airway Course: Critical Care(tm), The Difficult Airway Course: EMS(tm), and The Difficult Airway Course: Residency Edition(tm). Its hands-on approach provides the concrete guidance you need to effectively respond wherever adult or pediatric airway emergencies may occur, including in and out of hospital settings, emergency departments, and urgent care centers. Includes new chapters on Physiologically Difficult Airway; Human Factors in Emergency Airway Management; Intubating the Highly Infectious Patient (including COVID-19 considerations); and the Massively Soiled Airway Emphasizes practicality with step-by-step instructions, mnemonics, easy-to-follow algorithms, and rich illustrations Esteemed contributors from previous editions, Dr. Jarrod M. Mosier and Dr. Darren A. Braude, bring their extensive expertise in critical care and prehospital airway management, respectively, as new editors of this edition Enrich Your eBook Reading Experience Read directly on your preferred device(s), such as computer, tablet, or smartphone. Easily convert to audiobook, powering your content with natural language text-to-speech.
