eBooks
Biomarkers of Kidney Disease by
Biomarkers of Kidney Disease, Second Edition, focuses on the basic and clinical research of biomarkers in common kidney diseases, detailing the characteristics of an ideal biomarker. The latest techniques for biomarker detection, including metabolomics and proteomics are covered in the book. This comprehensive book details the latest advances made in the field of biomarker research and development in kidney diseases. The book is an ideal companion for those interested in biomarker research and development, proteomics and metabolomics, kidney diseases, statistical analysis, transplantation, and preeclampsia. New chapters include biomarkers of cardiovascular disease in patients with CKD, biomarkers of Polycystic Kidney Disease, and biomarkers and the role of nanomedicine.
Chronic Kidney Disease, Dialysis, and Transplantation, 4th ed. by
From basic science to practical clinical tools, Chronic Kidney Disease, Dialysis, and Transplantation, 4th Edition provides you with the up-to-date, authoritative guidance you need to safely and effectively manage patients with chronic renal disease. Covering all relevant clinical management issues, this companion volume to Brenner and Rector's The Kidney presents the knowledge and expertise of renowned researchers and clinicians in the fields of hemodialysis, peritoneal dialysis, critical care nephrology, and transplantation - for an all-in-one, indispensable guide to every aspect of this fast-changing field. Contains expanded content on economics and outcomes of treatment, as well as acute kidney injury. Covers hot topics such as the genetic causes of chronic kidney disease, ethical challenges and palliative care, and home hemodialysis. Discusses the latest advances in hypertensive kidney disease, vitamin D deficiency, diabetes management, transplantation, and more. Provides a clear visual understanding of complex information with high-quality line drawings, photographs, and diagnostic and treatment algorithms. Expert ConsultT eBook version included with purchase. This enhanced eBook experience allows you to search all of the text, figures, and references from the book on a variety of devices.
Chronic Renal Disease, 2nd ed. by
Chronic Renal Disease, Second Edition, comprehensively investigates the physiology, pathophysiology, treatment and management of chronic kidney disease (CKD). This translational reference takes an in-depth look at CKD with no coverage of dialysis or transplantation. Chapters are devoted to the scientific investigation of chronic kidney disease, the most common problems faced by nephrologists in the management of chronic kidney disease, specific illnesses in the CKD framework, and how the management of CKD in a polycystic kidney disease patient differs from other CKD patients. This award-winning reference features a series of case studies, covering both clinical aspects and pathophysiology. Questions are open ended, progressively more difficult, and repetitive across different patient clinical problems and different chapters. The cases and questions included will be useful for medical students, residency board reviews, and clinician teaching or conference preparation.
ISBN: 9780128158760Publication Date: 2019-11-14
Endocrine Hypertension: From Basic Science to Clinical Practice by
Endocrine Hypertension: From Basic Science to Clinical Practice bridges the gap between scientists and practicing clinicians by providing a comprehensive overview on all forms of endocrine hypertension, covering epidemiological aspects, pathophysiology, clinical presentation, laboratory evaluation and practical management aspects of endocrine hypertension. This book is a great resource for endocrinologists, physicians, general practitioners and researchers who are eager to understand the complex facets of endocrine hypertension. Endocrine hypertension is a term used to describe a group of endocrine pathologies that cause an elevation of blood pressure, estimated to account for up to 10% of all hypertension cases. Although common, this clinical condition is often overlooked. Patients with this condition are at risk of late diagnosis, delayed treatment and detrimental health consequences.
ISBN: 9780323961202Publication Date: 2022-10-26
Fluid, Electrolyte and Acid-Base Physiology by
With a strong focus on problem solving and clinical decision making, Fluid, Electrolyte, and Acid-Base Physiology is your comprehensive, go-to guide on the diagnosis and management of fluid, electrolytes, and acid-base disorders. This in-depth reference moves smoothly from basic physiology to practical clinical guidance, taking into account new discoveries; new understanding of fluid, acid-base, and electrolyte physiology; and new treatment options available to today's patients. An essential resource for nephrologists and emergency practitioners, this extensively revised edition helps you make the best management decisions based on the most current knowledge. Presents questions and explanations throughout that let you test your knowledge and hone your skills. High-yield margin notes and key point boxes make essential information easy to review. Numerous line drawings, diagnostic algorithms, and tables facilitate reference. Distinguished authors apply their extensive experience in research, clinical practice, and education to make theoretical and clinical knowledge easy to understand and apply. Expert Consult eBook version included with purchase. This enhanced eBook experience allows you to search all of the text, figures, images, and references from the book on a variety of devices. More patient-based problem solving illustrates how key principles of renal physiology, biochemistry, and metabolic regulation are applied in practice, challenging you to test your knowledge and hone your decision-making skills. Highlights updated clinical approaches to the diagnosis and management of fluid, electrolyte, and acid-base disorders based on current research and understanding. Integrative whole-body physiology provides a more comprehensive grasp of the pathophysiology of fluid, electrolyte, and acid-base disorders.
Handbook of Dialysis Therapy, 6th ed. by
Edited and written by top experts and pioneers in dialysis, Handbook of Dialysis Therapy, 6th Edition, provides the entire dialysis team with a comprehensive overview of this growing field. It covers traditional and advanced procedures, what pitfalls to expect and how to overcome them, and how best to treat various patient populations-all with a practical approach that can be directly applied to patient care. This must-have resource has been updated with the latest cutting-edge technology, dialysis techniques, and complications related to various diseases for both pediatric and adult patients. Explains complex dialysis concepts through abundant diagrams, photos, line drawings, and tables, while its readable, hands-on approach allows for quick review of key information. Covers both adult and pediatric patients in detail, and offers guidance on special populations such as the geriatric patients and the chronically ill. Features increased content on home-based dialysis modalities, new alternatives for establishing vascular access for hemodialysis, new protocols for reducing the risk of infection and complications, and advancements in establishing and managing peritoneal dialysis. Includes extensive pediatric content such as prevention and treatment of bone disease, management of anemia, assessing quality of life in pediatric patients undergoing dialysis, and immunizations in children undergoing dialysis. Defines the quality imperatives, roles, and responsibilities of dialysis facility medical directors and attending nephrologists. Updates nephrologists on the latest alternative dialysis modalities. Enhanced eBook version included with purchase. Your enhanced eBook allows you to access all of the text, figures, and references from the book on a variety of devices.
Handbook of Home Hemodialysis by
Get all the facts and build your expertise on the fast-growing practice of home hemodialysis The use of home hemodialysis is becoming more popular every year. Home dialysis modalities not only provide more flexibility for patients, they are associated with numerous benefits, including improved cardiovascular parameters and better quality of life. Most dialysis resources tend to focus on in-center hemodialysis with little to no discussion of home hemodialysis. The Handbook of Home Hemodialysis aims to change that with focused, detailed coverage on the topic. This timely, one-of-a-kind resource offers everything you need to build your expertise on the subject. It's also small enough to fit in your pocket and designed to provide accurate, easy-to-find answers on the fly. Clear drawings and illustrations clarify and highlight key information. The Handbook of Home Hemodialysis provides essential information on: The of history home hemodialysis Vascular access Patient recruitment and training Prescribing home hemodialysis Water handling Laboratory parameters/monitoring Emerging benefits Common complications Special populations Remote monitoring Building a home dialysis program, and more
eBooks
Molmenti's Kidney and Pancreas Transplantation: Operative Techniques and Medical Management by
With 600 photos and illustrations--this highly visual, concise guide provides everything you need to know about transplanting the kidney and pancreas The kidney is are the most commonly transplanted organ, and the liver is the second most-common (80% of pancreas transplantations are done in combination with kidneys). Kidney and Pancreas Transplantation provides a concise, visual approach to learning through hundreds of high-quality operative images and bulleted text--everything you need to successfully perform operations on and medically manage these vital organs. It covers every relevant topic, including ethics, complications, live and deceased donor evaluation, pharmacology, and anesthesia. Each chapter provides an overview of the essentials of kidney disease, pre- and post-operative patient management, operative techniques, pathology, and imaging.
Renal Physiology by
Gain a foundational understanding of renal physiology and how the renal system functions in health and disease. Renal Physiology, a volume in the Mosby Physiology Series, explains the fundamentals of this complex subject in a clear and concise manner, while helping you bridge the gap between normal kidney function and disease with pathophysiology content throughout the book. Helps you easily master the material in a systems-based curriculum with learning objectives, "In the Clinic" and "At the Molecular Level" boxes, chapter summaries, clinical cases with review questions and answers, self-study questions, and a comprehensive exam. Includes more than 250 clear, 2-color diagrams that simplify complex concepts. Features clinical commentaries that show you how to apply what you've learned to real-life clinical situations. Enhanced eBook version included with purchase. Your enhanced eBook allows you to access all of the text, figures, and references from the book on a variety of devices. Complete the Mosby Physiology Series! Systems-based and portable, these titles are ideal for integrated programs. Blaustein, Kao, & Matteson: Cellular Physiology and Neurophysiology Cloutier: Respiratory Physiology Pappano & Wier: Cardiovascular Physiology Johnson: Gastrointestinal Physiology White, Harrison, & Mehlmann: Endocrine and Reproductive Physiology Hudnall: Hematology: A Pathophysiologic Approach
Seldin and Giebisch's the Kidney by
A classic nephrology reference for over 25years, Seldin and Giebisch's The Kidney, is the acknowledged authority on renal physiology and pathophysiology. In this 5th edition, such new and powerful disciplines as genetics and cell biology have been deployed to deepen and widen further the explanatory framework. Not only have previous chapters been extensively updated, but new chapters have been added to incorporate additional disciplines. Individual chapters, for example, now provide detailed treatment of the significance of cilia; the role of stem cells is now given special consideration. Finally, there has been a significant expansion of the section of pathophysiology, incorporating the newer findings of cell biology and genetics. If you research the development of normal renal function or the mechanisms underlying renal disease, Seldinand Giebisch's The Kidney is your number one source for information.
Textbook of Nephro-Endocrinology by
Textbook of Nephro-Endocrinology, Second Edition, continues to be the definitive translational reference in the field of nephro-endocrinology, investigating both the endocrine functions of the kidneys and how the kidney acts as a target for hormones from other organ systems. It offers researchers and clinicians expert analyses of nephro-endocrine research and translation into the treatment of diseases such as anemia, chronic kidney disease (CKD), rickets, osteoporosis, and hypoparathyroidism. Changes to this edition include new chapters focused on hypercalcemia/hypocalcemia and the interaction of dialysis, chronic renal disease, and endocrine diseases. All chapters have been updated to include more preclinical data and more tables and schema that help translate this data into clinical recommendations. The section on hormones and renal insufficiency discusses insulin/diabetes, growth hormone, sex steroids, thyroid hormone, acid-base disturbances, and pregnancy.
Vanders Renal Physiology, Ninth Edition by
Perfect for USMLE® and Course Review in Renal Physiology! Combining the latest research with a fully integrated teaching approach, Vander's Renal Physiology, Ninth Edition clearly and expertly explains how the kidneys affect other body systems and how they in turn are affected by these systems. There is no better way learn the fundamental principles of the structure, function, and pathologies of the human kidney that are essential for an understanding of clinical medicine, than this time-tested resource. Here's why Vander's is the best review of renal physiology available for the USMLE® Step 1: * Begins with the basics and works up to advanced principles * Learning Aids include flow charts, diagrams, key concepts, clinical examples, boxed statements to emphasize major points, learning objectives, and review questions with answers and explanations * Focuses on the goals of renal processes and the logic of them * Presents the normal function of the kidney with clinical correlations to disease states
