Point of Care
- AskMayoExpert This link opens in a new window AskMayoExpert captures Mayo-vetted expert knowledge and delivers it at the point of care. This application is aimed at becoming a highly credible knowledge source for the non-specialist and a tool to facilitate interaction between Mayo clinicians.
- Mayo Formulary This link opens in a new window List of drugs approved for use at Mayo Clinic based upon safety, efficacy, and financial impact.
- Mayo Clinic Guide to Antimicrobial Therapy Quick Guide We designed this electronic handbook to serve as a simplified, quick reference guide for the busy day-to-day office and hospital clinical practice. This guide provides updated information about antimicrobial agents and select infectious disease syndromes in a format that is readily accessible and easily applicable to the clinical environment.
- AJCC Cancer Staging System - Version 9 (2024) The American Joint Committee on Cancer (AJCC) made an important change to how it updates and releases Cancer Staging content. The AJCC shifted from a Cancer Staging Manual to a Cancer Staging System and moved away from Editions to Versions. Updated Version 9 disease sites go into effect on January 1 following their release. AJCC Protocol for Cancer Staging Documentation, Version 9 The new AJCC Protocol Version 9 content is presented in a streamlined, easy-to-use format including synoptic staging report format, tables, explanatory notes, and illustrations. All disease sites in the 8th Edition Cancer Staging Manual remain current until replaced with Version 9. This manual was prepared and published through the support of the American College of Surgeons, the American Cancer Society, the American Society of Clinical Oncology, the College of American Pathologists, and the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention This work is subject to copyright. All rights are reserved by the ACS, whether the whole or the part of the material is concerned, specifically the rights of translation, reprinting, reuse of illustrations, recitations, broadcasting, reproduction on any physical or digital media, transmission or storage and retrieval, electronic adaptation, computer software, or by any similar or dissimilar technology known now or in the future. The use of general descriptive names, registered names, trademarks, service marks, etc. in this content does not imply, even in the absence of a specific statement, that such names are exempt from the relevant protective laws and regulations and therefore free for general use. ACS and the authors of this content are safe to assume that the advice and information in this content are believed to be true and accurate at the date of publication. Neither the ACS nor any authors or editors give a warranty, expressed or implied, with respect to the material contained herein or for any errors or omissions that may have been made. AJCC Cancer Staging Manual – 8th Ed. (2017) Users who require access to the original AJCC Cancer Staging Manual – 8th Ed. (2017) may view it here. The 8th edition manual is provided in its entirety as a reference and should not be used in developing new treatment plans. All current staging protocols are provided within the Version 9 AJCC Cancer Staging System.
- Clinical Overviews Nephrology | ClinicalKey Comprehensive Clinical Topic Overview
- AccessEmergencyMedicine This link opens in a new window Collection of books, case files, study tools, and procedure videos with an emergency medicine focus.
- AccessMedicine This link opens in a new window Reference tool containing online textbooks, images & illustrations, case files, diagnostic tools, and self-assessment examinations.
- AccessPediatrics This link opens in a new window Comprehensive Pediatric resource containing key textbooks, case files, study tools and videos.
- ClinicalKey This link opens in a new window Clinical medicine resource which includes thousands of Elsevier electronic books and journals, practice guidelines, videos of procedures, images, and more. Login required to view PDF chapters of books. Registration in upper right corner of website.
- UpToDate This link opens in a new window UpToDate, an electronic clinical resource tool for physicians and patients that provides information on Adult Primary Care and Internal Medicine, Allergy and Immunology, and more …
Calculators
- ClinicalKeyNephrology
- GuidelineCentralNephrology
- ClinicalKey Interactive tools to support treatment, diagnosis, and screening
- GuidelineCentral Over 100 free commonly used clinical formulas and calculator tools to help diagnose, treat, prevent, and determine prognosis of patients at point of care.
Guidelines
- American Society of Clinical Oncology (ASCO)Genitourinary Cancer
- ClinicalKeyNephrology
- GuidelineCentralNephrology
- UpToDate Society GuidelinesNephrology and Hypertension
- ClinicalKey Latest clinical guidelines from leading organizations
- GuidelineCentral Access to thousands of clinical practice guidelines for medical professionals.
Clinical Trials
- CenterWatch: Clinical Trials Listing Service This link opens in a new window Designed to be a resource for both patients interested in participating in clinical trials and for research professionals.
- Clinical Trials Listing This link opens in a new window Provides regularly updated information about federally and privately supported clinical trials. Provides information about a trial's purpose, who may participate, locations, and phone numbers for more details.
Core eBooks
Brenner and Rector's The Kidney by
Put the world's most well-known kidney reference to work in your practice with the 11th Edition of Brenner & Rector's The Kidney. This two-volume masterwork provides expert, well-illustrated information on everything from basic science and pathophysiology to clinical best practices. Addressing current issues such as new therapies for cardiorenal syndrome, the increased importance of supportive or palliative care in advanced chronic kidney disease, increasing live kidney donation in transplants, and emerging discoveries in stem cell and kidney regeneration, this revised edition prepares you for any clinical challenge you may encounter. Extensively updated chapters throughout, providing the latest scientific and clinical information from authorities in their respective fields. Lifespan coverage of kidney health and disease from pre-conception through fetal and infant health, childhood, adulthood, and old age. Discussions of today's hot topics, including the global increase in acute kidney injury, chronic kidney disease of unknown etiology, cardiovascular disease and renal disease, and global initiatives for alternatives in areas with limited facilities for dialysis or transplant. New Key Points that represent either new findings or "pearls" of information that are not widely known or understood. New Clinical Relevance boxes that highlight the information you must know during a patient visit, such as pertinent physiology or pathophysiology. Hundreds of full-color, high-quality photographs as well as carefully chosen figures, algorithms, and tables that illustrate essential concepts, nuances of clinical presentation and technique, and clinical decision making. A new editor who is a world-renowned expert in global health and nephrology care in underserved populations, Dr. Valerie A. Luyckx from University of Zürich. Board review-style questions to help you prepare for certification or recertification. Enhanced eBook version included with purchase, which allows you to access all of the text, figures, and references from the book on a variety of devices
Chronic Kidney Disease, Dialysis, and Transplantation, 4th ed. by
From basic science to practical clinical tools, Chronic Kidney Disease, Dialysis, and Transplantation, 4th Edition provides you with the up-to-date, authoritative guidance you need to safely and effectively manage patients with chronic renal disease. Covering all relevant clinical management issues, this companion volume to Brenner and Rector's The Kidney presents the knowledge and expertise of renowned researchers and clinicians in the fields of hemodialysis, peritoneal dialysis, critical care nephrology, and transplantation - for an all-in-one, indispensable guide to every aspect of this fast-changing field. Contains expanded content on economics and outcomes of treatment, as well as acute kidney injury. Covers hot topics such as the genetic causes of chronic kidney disease, ethical challenges and palliative care, and home hemodialysis. Discusses the latest advances in hypertensive kidney disease, vitamin D deficiency, diabetes management, transplantation, and more. Provides a clear visual understanding of complex information with high-quality line drawings, photographs, and diagnostic and treatment algorithms. Expert ConsultT eBook version included with purchase. This enhanced eBook experience allows you to search all of the text, figures, and references from the book on a variety of devices.
Clinical Handbook of Nephrology by
Nephrology, the subspecialty of internal medicine which covers the diagnosis and treatment of kidney diseases, hypertension, electrolyte and acid-base disorders, dialysis, and kidney transplantation, is often viewed as very difficult to master. Moreover, many major nephrology textbooks offer more information than students, residents, fellows, internists, family physicians, physician assistants, and nurse practitioners usually require. Clinical Handbook of Nephrology is an updated edition of Nephrology Pocket , a textbook published in 2014 by Börm Bruckmeier, which was used worldwide to provide clinicians with essential information regarding the diagnosis and treatment of renal disorders.
Comprehensive Clinical Nephrology, 7th ed. by
Written for fellows, practicing nephrologists, and internists who treat patients with disorders affecting the renal system, Comprehensive Clinical Nephrology, 7th Edition, offers a practical approach to this complex field, supported by underlying scientific facts and pathophysiology. World leaders in nephrology provide current information on clinical procedures and conditions, covering everything from fluid and electrolyte disorders to hypertension, diabetes, dialysis, transplantation, and more-all in a single, convenient volume. Provides a "just right" amount of basic science and practical clinical guidance to help you make efficient and informed decisions. Contains new chapters on Blood Pressure Management in the Dialysis Patient, Kidney Diseases Associated with Corona Viruses, Ultrasound Imaging in Nephrology, and Radiologic and Nuclear Imaging in Nephrology. Includes more than 1,500 full-color illustrations that highlight key topics and detail pathogenesis for a full range of kidney conditions and clinical management. Covers key topics such as COVID-19, chronic kidney disease, end stage kidney disease, kidney transplantation, glomerular disease, onco-nephrology, dialysis, and much more. Features popular, color-coded algorithms that provide easy access to important content: yellow boxes for general information, green boxes for therapeutic intervention, and blue boxes for necessary investigations. Includes quick-reference boxes with links to clinical guidelines in all relevant chapters, plus self-assessment questions online. An eBook version is included with purchase. The eBook allows you to access all of the text, figures and references, with the ability to search, customize your content, make notes and highlights, and have content read aloud.
Critical Care Nephrology by
Comprehensive and clinically relevant, the 3rd Edition of Critical Care Nephrology provides authoritative coverage of the latest advances in critical care procedures for patients with renal diseases or disorders. Using common guidelines and standardized approaches to critically ill patients, this multidisciplinary reference facilitates better communication among all physicians who care for critically ill patients suffering from kidney disease, electrolyte and metabolic imbalances, poisoning, severe sepsis, major organ dysfunction, and other pathological events. Offers detailed discussions of different forms of organ support, artificial organs, infections, acute illness occurring in chronic hemodialysis patients, and much more. Places a special emphasis on therapeutic interventions and treatment procedures for a hands on clinical reference tool. Presents information clearly, in a format designed for easy reference - from basic sciences to clinical syndromes to diagnostic tools. Covers special populations such as children, diabetic patients, and the elderly. An exceptional resource for nephrologists, intensivists, surgeons, or critical care physicians - anyone who treats critically ill renal patients. Shares a combined commitment to excellence lead by Drs. Claudio Ronco, Rinaldo Bellomo, John Kellum, and Zaccaria Ricci - unparalleled leaders in this field. Addresses key topics with expanded coverage of acute kidney injury, stress biomarkers, and sepsis, including the latest developments on mechanisms and management. Provides up-to-date information on extracorporeal therapies from new editor Dr. Zaccaria Ricci. Expert ConsultT eBook version included with purchase. This enhanced eBook experience allows you to search all of the text, figures, and references from the book on a variety of devices.
Current Diagnosis & Treatment Nephrology & Hypertension, 2nd Edition by
ird Party sellers are not guaranteed by the publisher for quality, authenticity, or access to any online entitlements included with the product. A practical, up-to-date guide to the diagnosis, understanding, and treatment of kidney problems and hypertension in adult patients "In contrast to many other books in this area, this one provides a concise yet comprehensive review of each topic without getting lost in too much detail..." - Doody's Review Service (review of previous edition) Presented in the consistent, easy-to-follow CURRENT format, CURRENT Diagnosis & Treatment Nephrology & Hypertension, Second Edition delivers incisive, ready-to-use management protocols and valuable therapeutic guidelines from authors who are recognized as the field's foremost authorities. This essential clinical companion features a practical learn-as-you-go approach to diagnosing and treating renal disorders and hypertension that combines disease management techniques with the latest proven therapies. *NEW! Chapter-ending clinically based Q&A *NEW CHAPTERS include The Kidney in Malignancy, Chronic Kidney Disease-Mineral Bone Disorder (CKD-MBD), Palliative Care Nephrology, and Clinical Pharmacology and the Kidney *Fifty-nine chapters deliver a one-of-a-kind overview of all major diseases and disorders, from end-stage renal disease to primary and secondary hypertension *Emphasizes the clinical aspects of kidney care, while also providing comprehensive discussion of pathophysiology and relevant basic and clinical science *Includes an important review of subspecialty considerations: dialysis, transplantation, critical care nephrology, interventional nephrology, palliative care nephrology, clinical renal pharmacology, as well as a new area of specialization - onco-nephrology *Consistently formatted chapters make it easy to locate the essential information you need on diagnosis, testing, disease processes, and the latest treatment and management strategies *Valuable as a clinical refresher or for board review *Strikes the perfect balance between clinical necessity and brevity
Evidence-Based Nephrology, 2nd ed. by
Evidence-based Nephrology provides students of nephrology and practicing clinicians with a convenient single source of clinical evidence that has been passed through an evidence-based filter. This fully revised second edition incorporates substantial new available data, updated methods of research synthesis, and a renewed focus on consumer engagement in the evaluation and management kidney disease. This updated textbook includes twenty new chapters and three new sections, covering supportive care and patient-centered care and outcomes. In addition, every chapter that was in the first edition has been extensively updated. This new edition covers epidemiology, acute kidney injury, primary diseases of the kidney, secondary diseases of the kidney, chronic kidney disease and complications, hemodialysis, chronic kidney disease stage 5, peritoneal dialysis, supportive care, transplantation, electrolytes and acid-base disorders, and patient centered care and outcomes for both adult and for pediatric patients. Boasting a new co-editor along with several new chapter authors and section editors, Evidence-based Nephrology is now an even better evidence-based nephrology tool, where each chapter provides a clear foundation of the topic that is supported by the best current evidence. This new edition includes broader coverage of the available evidence and addresses crucial clinical questions regarding the treatment and care of people with all stages of chronic kidney disease, including people undergoing any form of dialysis (hemodialysis or peritoneal dialysis), those requiring kidney transplantation and pediatric patients. Evidence-based Nephrology, Second Edition, is a core resource for the evidence-based nephrology practitioner who is otherwise limited by time constraints from researching every question that may arise daily in the care of their patients.
ISBN: 9781119105923Publication Date: 2022-11-07
Handbook of Nephrology and Hypertension, 7th ed. by
Concise, thorough, and easy to use, Handbook of Nephrology and Hypertension 7th Edition, provides authoritative guidance on diagnosing and treating patients with a wide range of kidney disorders and hypertension, including coverage of dialysis and transplantation. Lead editor Dr. Christopher Wilcox and his team of section editors Drs. Michael Choi, Limeng Chen, Winfred N. Williams, and Mark S. Segal oversee a group of expert authors, both faculty and fellows, who focus on common problems and challenges in this complex field. Brief, focused chapters contain abundant figures and algorithms and have been updated to reflect new findings in renal cystic diseases, new drugs used for hypertension, transplantation and renal protection, and much more. Includes new chapters on Urinalysis and Hematuria, Hypertensive Nephropathy, Drug Use in Kidney Disease, Resistant and Secondary Forms of Hypertension, and Medical Reimbursement and Economics of Nephrology Practice Contains dedicated chapters on drugs for edema, hypertension, and glomerulonephritis, as well as drugs pertaining to renal transplant, covering how to select and use drugs, doses, and adverse effects, and how prescribing should be altered in patients with renal insufficiency Features a new four-color design and more figures and algorithms throughout Shares the experience and knowledge of distinguished international authors from top universities in both the U.S. and China, with many chapters co-authored by a faculty and a fellow Enrich Your eBook Reading Experience Read directly on your preferred device(s),such as computer, tablet, or smartphone. Easily convert to audiobook,powering your content with natural language text-to-speech.
Hypertension: a Companion to Braunwald's Heart Disease, 4th ed. by
There have been many books published dealing with the topic of hypertension across a spectrum of diseases. However, it is rare to find one source that has an encyclopedic and timely spectrum of topics across the disease spectrum with a focus on hypertension. The book is divided into multiple parts including epidemiology, mechanisms of hypertension, the pathophysiology of disease, pharmacology of antihypertensive drugs, clinical outcome trials, and guideline discussions focusing on process rather than what was produced. Thus, there is something for everyone.
This fourth edition of Hypertension has expanded the topic variety from previous editions and presents novel topics of emerging areas of hypertension. Examples include the integration of updated hypertension guidelines from around the world, a chapter dealing with exercise and hypertension, and a chapter specifically focused on hypertension in women. There is also a new chapter about digital health and its use in managing blood pressure, which has been made more crucial given the COVID-19 pandemic. In addition to these new chapters, other chapters have been consolidated and updated with the latest information sourced from basic science to clinical trials and guidelines so that information is applicable to the clinician.
Although there are now more than 125 different antihypertensive medications, blood pressure control rates around the world vary from as low as 15% in some Southeast Asian countries to over 40% in North America. Clearly, this does not relate to the price of medication but rather to individual patients, understanding, attitudes, and behaviors toward quelling a silent killer, hypertension. There are chapters in the book that address some of these issues, but the only real solution is a multipronged approach involving governmental policymakers, the pharmaceutical industry, payers, and medical professionals. We hope you will find the book a valuable resource to address a spectrum of questions surrounding the disease of hypertension.
Hypertension and Heart Failure, 2nd ed. by
The second edition of this well-received book will offer both new insights into the intimate mechanisms of transition from hypertension to heart failure and clinical practice advice on the prevention and treatment of heart failure in hypertensive population. Heart failure is the result of the hypertension's effects on the heart and it is a growing public health problem, as it affects 20-50% of the adult population in developed countries. In this context the international scientific community is continuously struggling to develop better strategies in screening, diagnosing and treating hypertension and its deleterious effects. Thus, this field is continuously changing, with new important information being added constantly. A part of the book dedicated to diagnostics, comprising a chapter on new perspectives on multimodality imaging and a special chapter on diastolic dysfunction. The arrhythmic complications of hypertensive heart disease are discussed in two chapters on atrial fibrillation and ventricular arrhythmias respectively. Readers will also find new chapters regarding hypertension and heart failure in special populations such as cancer patients, young patients, pregnancy and patients with a history of SARS-CoV2 infection. This book is a useful tool for clinicians but also to the research community interested in heart failure and consequences of hypertension on heart who want to be up-to-date with the new developments in the field.
ISBN: 9783031393143Publication Date: 2024-03-05
Interventional Nephrology, 2nd ed. by
This book provides a comprehensive, state-of-the-art overview of interventional nephrology. Similar to the previous edition, this text describes a direct approach to clinical problems encountered by the community of care providers who treat chronic kidney disease and dialysis patients. Practical scenarios faced on a day-to-day basis are presented by experts in the field, utilizing the latest scientific information. The book also features updated therapeutic guidelines and fully revised and new chapters. Written by the foremost authorities in the field, Interventional Nephrology: Principles and Practice, Second Edition is a must-have resource for clinicians and practitioners who treat and manage patients with hemodialysis and peritoneal dialysis access problems.
Kaplan's Clinical Hypertension, 11th ed. by
Selected as a 2023 Doody's Core Title! Accessible, evidence-based guidance on managing patients with hypertension. Kaplan's Clinical Hypertension provides you with current, practical, evidence-based recommendations for preventing and treating all forms of hypertension. Integrating the latest basic science findings and clinical trial data, this 11th Edition enables you to put the latest approaches to work in managing your patients. Comprehensive updates throughout place the most recent management recommendations at your fingertips. Updated coverage brings you up to speed on the pathogenesis of hypertension and many other evolving areas. Abundant algorithms and flow charts facilitate clinical decision-making. An accessible, straightforward writing style and a user-friendly two-color design makes it easy to find and apply the information you need. Full- text online access includes links to Pub Med for many key bibliographical references. Now with the print edition, enjoy the bundled interactive eBook edition, offering tablet, smartphone, or online access to: Complete content with enhanced navigation A powerful search feature that pulls results from your notes, everything in the book, and even the web Cross-linked pages, references, and more for easy navigation Ability to highlight text for easier reference of key content Ability to share notes with friends and colleagues Ability to save your favorite content for future, quick reference
Kidney Transplantation - Principles and Practice, 8th ed. by
Offering practical guidance for all members of the transplant team, Kidney Transplantation, Principles and Practice, 8th Edition, provides the balanced, up-to-date information you need to achieve optimal outcomes for your patients. A global team of internationally renowned surgeons and nephrologists, many new to this edition, offers fresh perspectives on everything from applied science and surgical techniques to immunosuppressive methods, outcomes, risks, and medical considerations related to kidney transplantation, in both adults and children. Offers state-of-the-art coverage of all areas of kidney transplantation such as preservation of kidneys; mechanisms of rejection and the induction of tolerance; techniques of laparoscopic live donor nephrectomy; and immunosuppression. Contains up-to-date outcomes data and analysis of the evidence supporting current practice in the field. Includes new information on desensitization and considerable new data on the clinical use of costimulation blockade. Keeps you current with new chapters on kidney allocation policy that reflects the ethical and societal values of different countries and populations; and biomarkers of kidney injury and rejection, including the need for better monitoring tools to guide therapy and patient management. Covers hot topics such as management of chronic allograft failure, the sensitized patient and antibody-mediated rejection, and paired exchange principles. Features hundreds of superb illustrations to help you visualize key concepts and nuances of renal transplantation. Provides dynamic visual guidance with new real-time video coverage of ultrasound-guided pancreas allograft biopsy; a new animation of calcineurin inhibitor mechanism of action animation; and videos that demonstrate the formation of an immune synapse, 3-D rotational images of immune synapses, an NK cell killing its target, peritoneal dialysis-catheter insertion techniques, laparoendoscopic single site (LESS) donor nephrectomy, and more. Enhanced eBook version included with purchase, which allows you to access all of the text, figures, and references from the book on a variety of devices
National Kidney Foundation Primer on Kidney Diseases by
Well organized and highly readable, the National Kidney Foundation Primer on Kidney Diseases has offered clear, comprehensive coverage of adult and pediatric kidney diseases for more than 25 years. The thoroughly revised 8th Edition of this authoritative, practical reference covers every relevant topic in the field, making it an excellent resource for residency, fellowship, clinical practice, and board review. It brings you completely up to date with key topics in this fast-changing field, including ongoing clinical research and changing treatment protocols. This powerful learning tool and clinical reference is a joint publication of Elsevier and the National Kidney Foundation. Covers every relevant topic in nephrology-from anatomy, physiology, and pathophysiology to diagnosis and management of kidney disease, to fluid and electrolyte disorders, hypertension, dialysis, and renal transplantation. Presents complex material in a clear, easy-to-understand manner that is both accessible for residents and fellows and comprehensive enough for practicing nephrologists. Offers new guidance for management of COVID-19 in the Viral Nephropathies chapter. Contains two new chapters on Global Kidney Disease, and Conservative Kidney Management (CKM), a palliative care option for treating kidney failure without dialysis. Enhanced eBook version included with purchase. Your enhanced eBook allows you to access all of the text, figures, and references from the book on a variety of devices.
Education
Hypertension Secrets, 2nd ed. by
For more than 30 years, the highly regarded Secrets Series® has provided students and practitioners in all areas of health care with concise, focused, and engaging resources for quick reference and exam review. Hypertension Secrets, 2nd Edition, offers practical, up-to-date coverage of the full range of essential topics in this dynamic field. This highly regarded resource features the Secrets' popular question-and-answer format that also includes lists, tables, pearls, memory aids, and an easy-to-read style - making inquiry, reference, and review quick, easy, and enjoyable. The proven Secrets Series® format gives you the most return for your time - succinct, easy to read, engaging, and highly effective. Covers the full range of pathophysiology, natural history, and diagnosis and management of hypertension for in-training or practicing professionals. Fully revised and updated, including protocols and guidelines that are continuously evolving and that increasingly dictate best practices. Includes chapters on obstructive sleep apnea; drug- or alcohol-induced hypertension; hypertension and diabetes, the obese individual, African Americans, the elderly, thyroid disorders, and pregnancy; and the role of device therapy. Top 100 Secrets and Key Points boxes provide a fast overview of the secrets you must know for success in practice and on exams. Bulleted lists, mnemonics, practical tips from global leaders in the field - all providing a concise overview of important board-relevant content. Portable size makes it easy to carry with you for quick reference or review anywhere, anytime. Enhanced eBook version included with purchase. Your enhanced eBook allows you to access all of the text, figures, and references from the book on a variety of devices.
Nephrology Secrets by
For more than 30 years, the highly regarded Secrets Series® has provided students and practitioners in all areas of health care with concise, focused, and engaging resources for quick reference and exam review. Nephrology Secrets, 4th Edition, features the Secrets' popular question-and-answer format that also includes lists, tables, and an easy-to-read style - making reference and review quick, easy, and enjoyable. The proven Secrets® format gives you the most return for your time - concise, easy to read, engaging, and highly effective. Covers the full range of essential topics in nephrology for in-training or practicing professionals. Written and fully updated by global experts and thought leaders in nephrology. Top 100 Secrets and Key Points boxes provide a fast overview of the secrets you must know for success in practice and on exams. Portable size makes it easy to carry with you for quick reference or review anywhere, anytime. New chapters on home dialysis, onco-nephrology, and palliative care nephrology. Fully updated throughout, with clear illustrations, figures, and flow diagrams that expedite study and review. Expert ConsultT eBook version included with purchase. This enhanced eBook experience allows you to search all of the text, figures, Q&As, and references from the book on a variety of devices.
Neonatology Questions and Controversies: Renal, Fluid and Electrolyte Disorders, 4th ed. by
Dr. Richard Polin’s Neonatology Questions and Controversies series highlights the toughest challenges facing physicians and care providers in clinical practice, offering trustworthy guidance on up-to-date diagnostic and treatment options in the field. In each volume, renowned experts address the clinical problems of greatest concern to today’s practitioners, helping you handle difficult practice issues and provide optimal, evidence-based care to every patient.
The thoroughly updated, full-color, 4th Edition of Renal, Fluid, and Electrolyte Disorders: Provides a clear management strategy for common and rare neonatal renal, fluid, and electrolyte disorders, offering guidance based on the most up-to-date understanding of underlying pathophysiology. Places emphasis on controversial areas that can entail different approaches. Features the most current clinical information throughout, with many chapters written by new authors who offer a fresh perspective on key topics. Includes numerous new chapters, including assessment of neonatal kidney function, pulmonary hypoplasia in the fetus with oligohydramnios, genetic causes of congenital renal malformations, effect of preterm birth on renal outcomes, dialysis and kidney transplantation, renal tubular acidosis, and more. Highlights gaps in knowledge that should serve as a strong stimulus for future research. Utilizes a consistent chapter organization to help you find information quickly and easily, and contains numerous charts, graphs, radiographic images, and photographs throughout. Offers the most authoritative advice available from world-class neonatologists who share their knowledge of new trends and developments in neonatal care.
Journals
Research Tools
- CINAHL This link opens in a new window Covers nursing and allied health disciplines. Includes journal articles, healthcare books, nursing dissertations, selected conference proceedings and standards of professional practice. Some full text available.
- Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews This link opens in a new window Includes the full text of regularly updated systematic reviews of the effects of healthcare prepared by The Cochrane Collaboration.
- EMBASE This link opens in a new window Strong emphasis on drug-related literature & toxicology, in addition to all espects of human medicine. Also covers nursing, dentistry, paramedical professions, podiatry, homeopathy.
- PubMed This link opens in a new window Free access to MEDLINE & PREMEDLINE databases from the National Library of Medicine. Includes links to other NLM resources including NCBI databases, OMIM, MedlinePlus consumer health data & PubMed Central free digital archive of biomedical literature.
- SCOPUS This link opens in a new window Includes articles from more than 4,000 publishers, covering the scientific, medical, technical & the social sciences. For articles published since 1996 many include the full bibliography & abstract, and links to other papers citing those publications.
- Web of Science This link opens in a new window The Web of Science contains a remarkable treasure of data on scientific content, impact, and collaborations from 1900 to the present day on a global scale.
Mayo Clinic Libraries Services
- Patients' Libraries The Mayo Clinic Libraries offer Patients’ Library services at several locations. Visit these guides for details about the collections and services available at each location.
- W. Bruce Fye History of Medicine Library The W. Bruce Fye History of Medicine Library is a specialized library housing important collections in the history of medicine and allied sciences. Several thousand volumes of rare medical classics (from 1479) and early journal literature (from 1665) comprise the core collection of primary literature on all aspects of medicine and allied fields. More recently published histories, biographies, facsimiles, and other support materials comprise the remainder of the collection of some 23,000 total volumes. Special strengths include anesthesiology, cardiology, dermatology, immunology, ophthalmology and neurology. The library also has a large collection of Mayo physician bound reprints.
Please let us know if you have any suggestions, questions, or find broken links. Contact us at: