Guides: 2024 Plummer Library New Resources: January 2024

Nursing/Allied Health

AACN Essentials of Critical Care Nursing, Fifth Edition The standard bearer of critical care nursing guides--this succinct, comprehensive resource delivers the most current concepts for treating adult, critically ill patients and their families Written by top leaders in their field, AACN Essentials of Critical Care Nursing provides everything you need to excel in your job or secure your CCRN certification. This unmatched guide is filled with helpful tables and learning aids, including Knowledge Competencies for gauging progress, Principles of Management that summarize key concepts, and Essential Content case studies with questions and answers to reinforce lessons learned. The most thorough, learner-friendly text of its kind, AACN Essentials of Critical Care Nursing has everything you need to master your profession. AACN Essentials of Critical Care Nursing is organized into four sections: The Essentials presents core information for providing safe, competent nursing care to all critically ill patients, regardless of their underlying medical diagnoses. Pathologic Conditions covers conditions and management strategies commonly encountered among adult critical care patients. Advanced Concepts in Caring for the Critically Ill Patient describes specific pathologic conditions that require specialized critical care management. Key Reference Information features normal laboratory and diagnostic values, ,cardiac rhythms and their treatment  and crisis standards of care.
Call Number: RT120.I5 A165 2024
AACN Essentials of Progressive Care Nursing, Fifth Edition This engaging, evidence-based guide provides everything nurses and students need to know to provide safe, effective progressive care Whether you're going through orientation on the hospital floor or you're enrolled in critical care courses, AACN Essentials of Progressive Care Nursing helps you care for every progressive care patient. Written by top experts in acute and progressive care nursing, this authoritative peer-reviewed guide covers all the must-know details on the care of adult progressive care patients and their families. Supported by helpful tables and algorithms, the book's practical, building-block organization starts with the basics before proceeding to more complex concepts. AACN Essentials of Progressive Care Nursing is conveniently organized into four sections: The Essentials presents information you need to provide safe, competent nursing care to the majority of progressive care patients, with a wide range of underlying diagnoses. Pathological Conditions covers pathologic conditions and management strategies commonly encountered among adult, progressive care patients. Advanced Concepts offers advanced progressive care concepts to support the delivery of specialized care Key Reference Information features normal laboratory and diagnostic values; summary tables of cardiac rhythms, ECG characteristics, and treatment guides, and new crisis standards of care content
Call Number: RT120.I5 A167 2024
AACN Procedure Manual for Progressive and Critical Care Edited by the American Association of Critical-Care Nurses and written by more than 100 critical care experts under the direction of Karen L. Johnson, PhD, RN, FAAN, this definitive reference represents the gold standard of care for procedures performed in progressive and critical care settings. It guides you through procedures common to the adult critical care environment, including those performed by advanced practice nurses, in an illustrated, step-by-step format. This edition ― now in in full color ― features new procedures, new and updated illustrations, and updated content throughout, reflecting the latest evidence-based guidelines and national and international protocols. Quick-reference tabs make it easier than ever to locate content quickly. This new edition integrates key AACN initiatives, such as Practice Alerts, and coordinates closely with the AACN Core Curriculum for Progressive and Critical Care Nursing, 8th Edition. Chapter-specific quick-links employ QR codes for instant access to high-quality online references. Edited by the American Association of Critical-Care Nurses, written by more than 100 expert critical care clinicians under the direction of Karen L. Johnson, PhD, RN, FAAN, and extensively reviewed by more than 100 additional critical care experts to ensure the accuracy and currency. Comprehensive coverage includes all procedures commonly performed in progressive and critical care settings, including those performed by advanced practice nurses (indicated by an AP icon). Straightforward, step-by-step organization uses consistent headings to make following a procedure (and finding the various supporting elements) quick and easy, with bulleted lists, tables, and detailed illustrations throughout to ensure that content is easy to reference and follow. Rationales for all interventions in patient and family education, assessment, patient preparation, procedure, and monitoring help students understand the rationale for every step, and a level of evidence is provided when a research base exists to substantiate an intervention, giving insight into the strength of recommendations. NEW! Additional procedures, new and updated illustrations, and updated content throughout reflect the latest evidence-based guidelines and national and international protocols. NEW! Full-color design with color reference tabs enhances navigation, plus full-color illustrations reinforce understanding. UPDATED! Key AACN initiatives, such as Practice Alerts, are integrated throughout, and content coordinates with the AACN Core Curriculum for Progressive and Critical Care Nursing, 8th Edition. NEW! Chapter-specific quick-links via QR codes provide quick access to online references, which have been updated and limited to the highest-value sources.
Call Number: RT120.I5 A17 2024
Advancing Your Career: concepts of professional nursing Advance your career to the next level of professional practice! Here are all the concepts and theories returning and practicing RNs need to continue their education and reach the next level of professional practice. You'll find in-depth coverage of the critical components of professional nursing practice, including effective communication, professional ethics, leadership, group theory, teaching/learning, and multicultural issues.   Explore the challenges and issues that are changing the field of nursing. Then, apply them to the situations you encounter in practice today . . . and to the challenges you'll encounter tomorrow.   The Textbook of Choice For West Haven University's RN to BSN "... expertly written by professionals within the field of nursing who have an appreciation for the needs of returning RN students in a unique training environment. From time management to conflict resolution in a dynamic health care setting, this book covers it all. It is simply a panoply of the essential ingredients needed to cultivate the nursing leaders of tomorrow. In a word, it is excellent."--Dr. Charles M. Frye, President, West Haven University, Online Reviewer   New! The AACN's Essentials 2021 and ANA's 2021 Scope & Standards of Practice, and the National Academy of Medicine's Future of Nursing 2020-2030: Charting a Path to Achieve Health Equity New, Revised & Expanded! Content on the progress of the Healthy People 2030 initiatives, the social determinants of health, structural racism, cultural humility, and public health emergencies like COVID-19 as well as overage of interoperability and data security, artificial intelligence/machine learning, wearables, remote patient monitoring, and interprofessional practice as a collaborative partner on a healthcare team New! The importance of clinical reasoning and judgment in clinical practice and communication "Evidence-Based Practice" boxes with questions and online "Case Scenarios" with questions Discussions of the abilities critical to professional nursing, including communication, critical thinking, teaching and learning, leadership and management skills, and professional ethics Section on quality care for individuals and groups with emphasis on safety, population health, economics, and the politically active nurse  
Call Number: RT82 .N85 2024
Beyond Burnout in Nursing: overcoming stress in nursing & healthcare for optimal health & well-being "The healthcare profession typically attracts those who give deeply of themselves to make a positive difference in other peoples lives. But that giving can come at a significant price: Burnout. While the healthcare vocation offers myriad options in work settings and career paths, it can also involve tremendous amounts of stress because of long shifts, mental and physical exhaustion, patient challenges, and regulatory changes. When stress and fatigue overtake a healthcare providers ability to prioritize self-care, burnout is often the result, leading to compromises in quality and patient safety. Since the publication of the first edition of this book, the COVID-19 pandemic has only added dramatically to nurses stress, exacerbating existing problems with strained resources and labor shortages. In Beyond Burnout, 2nd edition, author Suzanne Waddill-Goad adds new strategies and up-to-date, data-driven information for building resilience and practicing self-care so that nurses and other healthcare workers can navigate their increasingly challenging environment while reducing stress and preventing burnout"--
Call Number: RT42 .W292 2023
Chemotherapy and Immunotherapy Guidelines and Recommendations for Practice "Oncology nursing is a unique specialty that requires continuous learning to stay up to date on cancer pathophysiology, cutting-edge drugs, and the evidence-based management of cancer and cancer treatment-related toxicities. The Oncology Nursing Societys (ONSs) second edition of Chemotherapy and Immunotherapy Guidelines and Recommendations for Practice provides nurses with the tools to understand how medications are used in cancer treatment, the effect of medication-related toxicities, and evidence-based recommendations to manage and treat these toxicities. This edition features many new cancer therapies approved since the 2019 publication. Each drug is categorized as chemotherapy, hormone, targeted, or immunotherapy agents. Extensive drug tables in the book provide nurses with tips for managing patients receiving these drugs. The expansion of oral antineoplastic therapies, alone or in combination with infusion therapy, requires that nurses review a patients complete cancer treatment plan and consider the side effects, toxicities, and adherence to oral drugs to ensure patient tolerance and efficacy. This second edition has seen content expanded on the topic of genomics as we move forward in the world of personalized oncology. Health equity is approached with information discussing financial distress, cultural disparities, and health literacy. The latest guidelines and recommendations for treatment, symptom management, and survivorship have been integrated into this new text. This edition features a QR code, provided with the purchase of this book, to download quarterly drug updates. You will see new evidence related to many aspects of cancer nursing care incorporated into this edition, such as hypersensitivity response, safe handling of hazardous drugs, and more. The editors want to thank all of the contributors to this edition who worked tirelessly, despite a pandemic, to make this new edition a reality. This work builds on the knowledge of many generations of oncology nurses and has been used nationally and internationally to guide oncology nursing practice. We are proud to continue to serve oncology nurses worldwide with an essential resource to guide their practice"--
Call Number: RC266 .C484 2023
Essentials of Nursing Leadership and Management Transition from student to professional with confidence. Stepping out of the classroom and into professional nursing practice can be stressful. This handy guide will build your confidence and prepare you to meet the challenges you'll face as a new staff nurse in today's dynamic health-care environments. You'll explore your future responsibilities as a leader and a manager and the workplace issues and trends that you'll encounter in practice.   Easy to read & worth it!"The book was a required one for my L&M course and I can definitely say that it was a really good book. The material was presented in an easy-to-read format and the chapters themselves were very short, providing practice questions to review what you learned. Definitely worth buying!"--Brenda, Online Reviewer   Overview"This was a great overview of things that impact nursing leadership and management. It gives the reader a general introduction or explanation which can offer new or emerging nurse leader some preliminary knowledge of leadership/management issues they may encounter. Good intro to administrative nursing practice."--Karen, Online Reviewer   Revised, Expanded & Updated! Encompassing the expanding challenges and responsibilities of nurses in practice today, the current health care environment, safety and quality initiatives, and changes in nursing practice New & Expanded! Content on diversity, the aging population, and LGBTQ+ community as well as resilience in times of unexpected stress and nurses as creative innovators Updated! Case studies with questions that promote clinical judgment End-of-chapter Case Studies, Study Questions, and NCLEX®-style review questions with answers and rationales in the appendix Comprehensive, practical advice on how to develop and sustain a successful nursing career Coverage of the concepts essential to assuming leadership and management roles as well as career mobility, advanced degrees, magnet status, practice levels, and professional organizations Coverage of quality and safety issues, including the roles of QSEN, the Institute of Medicine, research, and evidence-based practice Self-assessment tools to identify personal strengths and empower the development of leadership skills Integrated coverage of Canadian nursing  
Call Number: RT89 .T357 2024
Managing Long-Term Conditions and Chronic Illness in Primary Care: a guide to good practice This practical guide will assist healthcare practitioners to manage and meet the physical and psycho-social needs of people with complex chronic diseases/long-term conditions. Systematic and evidence-based care which takes account of the expert patient and reduces unnecessary hospital admissions is vital to support those with long-term conditions/chronic diseases and those who care for them. Effective management of long-term conditions is an essential part of contemporary nursing and healthcare policy and practice globally. Reflecting recent changes in the curriculum, this fully updated multidisciplinary edition highlights the key issues in managing long-term conditions. It provides a practical and accessible guide for nurses and allied health professionals in the primary care environment including: case studies on HIV and dementia and content on mental health the physical and psychosocial impact of living with long-term conditions effective case management self-management and the expert patient behavioural change strategies and motivational counselling Packed with helpful, clearly written information, Managing Long-term Conditions and Chronic Illness in Primary Care includes case studies, fact boxes and pointers for practice. It is ideal reading for pre- and post-registration nursing students taking modules on long-term conditions and will be a valuable companion for pre-registration students on community placements.
Call Number: RC108 .C37 2023
Mentoring in Nursing Through Narrative Stories Across the World The book explores how mentoring, theoretical background of mentoring and how mentoring is used by nurses in all arenas where they work in health care, education, research, policy, politics, and academia in supporting nurses with their professional and career development. Over 300 mentors and mentees, from a wide range of countries across all continents, share their stories of mentoring reflecting on their development in leadership, clinical practice, education, research and politics. The book describes various types of mentoring including more traditional types of mentoring as well as virtual, online and peer mentoring. During the mentorship trajectories the nurses address an inclusive collection of issues that they are faced with and share supporting strategies. The book highlights the importance of mentoring for nurses to support their personal, and professional leadership development. Also, it emphasizes the importance of mentoring for when nurses engaged in variety of projects that could entail or encompass evidence-based clinical practice, development within education, research in the clinical arena, policy formation, political affairs, or cultural inclusion that present significant impact in patient care and healthcare outcomes within and across countries. With The Future of Nursing 2020-2030: Charting a Path to Achieve Health Equity report from the National Academies of Sciences, published in 2021, the role of nursing will become ever more dynamic and therefore the profession of nursing must be visible in improving and securing the future for patients, families, and communities across the globe. Mentoring practices to build the profession's leaders are forever essential, acute, and imperative. This book shows how mentoring can support nurses in further developing nursing as a profession and scientific discipline across countries to support clinical application of evidence based practice, and nursing education and research dissemination. Accordingly, this book shares essential, diverse and pioneering expertise through wide range of narrative stories that will benefit nurses at all years of experience, from early career nurses, emerging leaders, nurse educators, leaders, policy makers and nurse scientists around the globe. The nursing profession must magnify its position in health care and nurses need to proliferate their contributions throughout the globe. They can accomplish that through mentoring and "growing and nurturing other nurses" to advance and thrive in today's world.
Call Number: RT86.45 .M45 2023x
Palliative and Hospice Care Nursing Guidelines Supports clinicians in providing the best possible care to patients with serious illness The first comprehensive clinical guide for practicing palliative care and hospice clinicians, this evidence-based reference is designed to promote best practices in the delivery of safe, compassionate patient care. With a dual focus on evaluation and intervention, the book covers all aspects of providing palliative and hospice care for vulnerable and diverse populations. It provides an overview of common disease manifestations, typical trajectories of illness, symptom management, and recommendations for nursing care. Written in easy-to-access outline format, the resource is organized by body system and includes common diagnoses encountered in palliative and hospice care. Individual diagnoses include a definition, incidence, etiology, pathophysiology, predisposing factors, subjective and objective data, diagnostic tests, differential diagnoses, complications, disease-modifying treatments, palliative interventions/symptom management, prognosis, and nursing interventions. The text provides referral guidelines for serious illness as well as general and disease-specific hospice care admission guidelines. Also included are comprehensive tables of diagnostic testing, disease-specific palliative and symptom management interventions, prognostic and screening tools, patient teaching and clinician resources, and guides to pain management and wound care. Purchase includes digital access for use on most mobile devices or computers. Key Features: Delivers current guidelines for management of symptoms associated with serious illness Provides an in-depth review of common conditions seen in palliative and hospice care Organized by body system for quick information retrieval Delivers in-depth, evidence-based, and consistently organized disease-specific guidelines Presents hospice and palliative care management guidelines Contains reproducible patient/family education handouts Reviews procedures commonly used in hospice and palliative practice
Call Number: RT87.T45 W754 2024x
Prenatal and Postnatal Care: a person-centered approach Prenatal and Postnatal Care Situate pregnancy in the emotional and physical life of the whole person with this bestselling guide Prenatal and postnatal care are important and dynamic areas in healthcare research and practice. The needs of the childbearing person before and after birth are complex and intensely personal, combining significant physiological impact with broader emotional needs. In order to supply optimal care, providers must account not only for physiological factors, but also for cultural, social, experiential, and psychological ones. Prenatal and Postnatal Care takes a holistic, person-centered approach to prenatal and postnatal care. Emphasizing the pregnant person and their unique needs, this book presents prenatal and postnatal care as foundational care for a healthy start to family life. This accessible, comprehensive book provides unique knowledge and skills to practitioners so that they can make a positive difference to the people they serve. Readers of the third edition of Prenatal and Postnatal Care will also find: New chapters covering health equity, ethics in perinatal care, exercise, and more All chapters updated to reflect evidence concerning health disparities and inequities Concrete ways for clinicians to disrupt the systems of harm and exclusion that can mediate care at every level Prenatal and Postnatal Care is essential for midwives, nurse practitioners, physician assistants, and other healthcare providers who work with childbearing people.
Call Number: RJ254 .P74 2024
Put Some Concrete in Your Breakfast: Tales from Contemporary Nursing: building resilience, empathy, and confidence within a challenging profession This book gives a sincere yet honest representation of modern nursing in all its forms rather than purely focusing only on the 'good' 'the funny' 'the sad' or the 'ugly'. This book provides a collection of stories that concentrate on nursing, that validates, educates and encourages those undertaking a career in nursing. In addition, this book also celebrates the amazing rewards that the unique career of nursing has to offer, for those who can find a way to persevere through the challenges. There is a high rate of burnout among nurses in their early days of practice, because of the high demands placed on them by the healthcare system; hospital administrations; the expectations of management, patients, families and carers; and the sheer size of the patient loads with complex needs these days. The global pandemic erupting has now pushed a health care service that was already under pressure to now be in complete crisis. The world now knows that we need more nurses employed to be able to move forward from this calamity. This book closes that gap in that it encourages the readers to continue to pursue a career in nursing (despite the challenges that the profession holds) while also positively promoting the incredible work that nurses do. The chapters within this book, explore a cornucopia of different aspects of nursing including: caring for dying patients, dealing with bodily fluids and how patients are not very good at working out how sick they really are. The book also covers how to manage the care of patients with complex mental illnesses and those contemplating suicide.  This book is targeted at nurses who may feel a little overwhelmed with the world that is nursing but who wish to thrive and further their career. Discussion questions at the end of the book further add to the reflection and learning process of the reader.
Call Number: RT82 .K33 2023x
Qualitative Research in Nursing and Healthcare Qualitative Research in Nursing and Healthcare Discover how to conduct qualitative nursing research with confidence Co-authored by experienced researchers, Qualitative Research in Nursing and Healthcare offers practical and applied examples for those who carry out qualitative research in the healthcare arena. With clear explanations of abstract ideas and practical procedures, this updated edition incorporates recent examples in nursing research and developments in the qualitative field, providing readers with the latest approaches and techniques for gaining insight into people's attitudes, behaviours, value systems, concerns, motivations, aspirations, culture and lifestyles. From ethnographies to action research, readers will find explorations of data collection, sampling and analysis, including discussions of: Interviewing and participant observation, strategies, and procedures Trustworthiness and validity, and ensuring the credibility of qualitative research A variety of approaches in qualitative research, such as grounded theory, phenomenology and narrative inquiry Whether you're a postgraduate nursing student, a third-year nursing student on a pre-registration nursing programme, or a qualified nursing and healthcare staff member, Qualitative Research in Nursing and Healthcare is the perfect resource to help you conduct meaningful research with confidence.
Call Number: RT81.5 .H656 2024

Medicine

The Art of Medical Communication: bringing the humanities into clinical practice The field of medical humanities is growing rapidly and offers many valuable insights for medical education generally and to enhancing and improving communication specifically. Through practical and thought-provoking examples, this innovative new text demonstrates how engaging with the arts and humanities can benefit the work of doctors and make them better, more effective practitioners with a focus on achieving this through better communication and by stimulating self-reflection. Key features: Utilizes modern and familiar examples, including case studies, to illustrate and explore language and communication skill deployment in a variety of given scenarios Reflects the increasing use of online consultation and the associated importance of ensuring effective communication in virtual settings Describes several models for reflective practice Supported by a selection of eResources to enhance reader experience and understanding; visit www.routledge.com/9781032272726 This new book is written specifically for medical students, junior doctors and medical educators looking to develop or teach communication skills. It will instill and support the background understanding of the role, need and ongoing requirement for humanities engagement in self-development and reflection to enhance and improve the experience of both the practitioner and the patient.
Call Number: R118.6 .G89 2024x
Clinical Ethics at the Crossroads of Genetic and Reproductive Technologies The Human Genome Project has triggered a technological revolution that has influenced nearly every field of medicine, including reproductive medicine, obstetrics, gynecology, andrology, prenatal genetic testing, and gene therapy. This second edition of Clinical Ethics at the Crossroads of Genetic and Reproductive Technologies offers a thorough, timely discussion of ethical issues raised by the latest genetic and genomic technologies applied in human reproductive and prenatal medicine, providing practical recommendations, guidelines, and algorithms to support ethical clinical practice. Here, international experts consider the ethics of technologies from preconception carrier screening to genetic engineering, CRISPR gene editing, mitochondrial gene replacement therapy, sex selection, predictive testing, secondary findings, embryo reduction, and the moral status of the embryo, genetic enhancement, and the sharing of genetic data. Throughout the book, contributors adopt a global, holistic perspective on applied challenges and the moral questions around the implementation of genetic reproductive technologies. The book is an ideal resource for practitioners, regulators, lawmakers, clinical researchers, genetic counselors, and graduate and medical students.This fully updated second edition examines new developments in the field, tackling ethical aspects of organoid development, recent advances in pharmacogenomics, direct-to-consumer genetic testing, and genetic engineering.
Call Number: QH438.7 .C55 2023x
The Diabetes Textbook: clinical principles, patient management and public health issues The Diabetes Textbook: Clinical Principles, Patient Management and Public Health Issues (2nd Edition) addresses diabetes from a comprehensive, multidisciplinary perspective. Its purpose is to integrate state-of-the-art information on diabetes from specialists in various disciplines, including epidemiology, public health, pathophysiology, non-pharmacologic and pharmacologic treatment, patient support, acute and chronic complications, new and unproven therapies, and prevention. The main benefit of "The Diabetes Textbook" is its integrative approach. The book is therefore intended for three main types of readers: 1) physicians and health professionals seeking a comprehensive approach to diabetes; 2) those with previous expertise in a specific professional area who want to expand their knowledge; and 3) those interested in learning about topics not previously covered, who will find the contents of "The Diabetes Textbook" both enriching and innovative. The Diabetes Textbook is intended for a broad readership, including professors of medicine and related disciplines (nursing, nutrition, psychology); general physicians; internists and specialists, e.g. in ophthalmology, endocrinology, cardiology, obstetrics and gynecology, pediatrics, geriatrics, epidemiology and public health. To address these readers' needs, the second edition is divided into the following eleven sections: 1) Magnitude of the Problem from an Individual and Social Context, 2) Diagnosis, Classification and Mechanisms of Disease, 3) Global Experiences in Diabetes Care, 4) Basic Components of Management: Patient-Centeredness, Evidence-Based Medicine, and Outcomes, 5) Resources of Support for Persons with Diabetes, 6) Drug Therapy, 7) Cardiovascular Risk Factors, 8) Acute Complications, 9) Chronic Complications, 10) Diabetes in Special Populations, and 11) Novel Therapeutic Approaches: Evidence-Based and Non-Proven, and Diabetes Prevention.
Call Number: RC660 .D537 2023x
Diagnostic Pathology: soft tissue tumors This expert volume in the Diagnostic Pathology series is an excellent point-of-care resource for practitioners at all levels of experience and training. Covering the wide range of often difficult-to-diagnose variants and subtypes in soft tissue tumors, it incorporates the most recent scientific and technical knowledge in the field to provide a comprehensive overview of all key issues relevant to today’s practice. Richly illustrated and easy to use, the fourth edition of Diagnostic Pathology: Soft Tissue Tumors is a visually stunning, one-stop resource for every practicing pathologist, oncologist, resident, student, or fellow as an ideal day-to-day reference or as a reliable training resource. Provides up-to-date, comprehensive coverage of soft tissue pathology combined with accurate, concise clinicopathologic descriptions, helping you quickly identify tumors and establish actionable diagnoses Contains hundreds of chapters with separate Benign, Intermediate, and Malignant sections to provide the fullest diagnostic picture possible Contains new chapters covering the recently recognized EWSR1::SMAD3 fibroblastic tumor, plexiform myofibroblastoma, anastomosing hemangioma, myxoid pleomorphic liposarcoma, and more Includes details throughout on new immunostains and molecular genetics and testing Features an image-rich layout with more than 4,500 print and online-only images―including high-quality photomicrographs, gross photographs, radiologic images, and detailed medical illustrations―to make tumor identification and diagnosis faster and easier Provides an organized framework that includes "Approach to Diagnosis" chapters designed to help you successfully recognize and diagnose challenging soft tissue tumors with the availability of common patterns and histologic features Includes updates based on the most recent WHO Classification of Tumors: Soft Tissue and Bone Tumors Employs consistently templated chapters, bulleted content, key facts, a variety of tables, annotated images, pertinent references, and an extensive index for quick, expert reference at the point of care
Call Number: RC280.S66 D53 2024
Differential Diagnoses in Surgical Pathology Tumors and Their Mimickers An essential resource to solve challenging cases and sign out with confidence! An all-new volume in the popular Foundations in Diagnostic Pathology series, Differential Diagnoses in Surgical Pathology: Tumors and Their Mimickers is a crucial foundation text for residents and pathologists. Packed with information that helps you quickly differentiate entities that have similar, overlapping histopathologic features, it guides you through the decision-making process, providing a road map to the main differential diagnostic considerations that must be addressed when formulating a diagnosis. Practical and affordable, this resource is ideal for study and review, as well as for everyday surgical pathology practice. Key features of this practical text include:  Concise summaries of clinical and pathologic findings that guide you through the decision-making process, with coverage of most common and uncommon differential diagnoses in surgical pathology.  Numerous high-quality illustrations of similar-looking but distinct entities for easy side-by-side comparison.  Illustrations for each entity accompanied by a clear, concise histopathologic descriptions that highlight how they are distinguished from one another.  A consistent, user-friendly format and at-a-glance boxes and tables throughout the text, as well as selected references for further study.  Enhanced eBook version included with purchase. Your enhanced eBook allows you to access all of the text, figures, and references from the book on a variety of devices. 
Call Number: RC270 .D54 2024x
Embryonic Stem Cell Protocols This fully updated volume explores improved and extended protocols for embryonic stem cell (ESC) research, provided with the most direct and informative methodologies currently available. The book examines how these models for cell lineage and differentiation studies have continued to mature into a critical research workhorse. Written for the highly successful Methods in Molecular Biology series format, chapters include introductions to their respective topics, lists of the necessary materials and reagents, step-by-step, readily reproducible laboratory protocols, and tips on troubleshooting and avoiding known pitfalls.  Authoritative and up-to-date, Embryonic Stem Cell Protocols, Fourth Edition serves as an ideal resource for researching mining the depths of the ESC field.
Call Number: QH588.S83 E46 2022
Genes: a Very Short Introduction bVery Short Introductionsb: Brilliant, Sharp, Inspiring /b In this exploration of the concept of the gene, Jonathan Slack looks at the discovery, nature, and role of genes in both evolution and development. By explaining the nature of genetic variation in the human population, how hereditary factors were identified as molecules of DNA, and how certain specific mutations can lead to disease, Slack highlights how DNA variants are used to trace human ancestry and migration, and can also be used by forensic scientists to identify individuals in crime. He also explores issues such as the role of genetic heritability and IQ as well as the changes that occur in the genes of populations during evolution. An ideal guide for anyone curious about what genes are and how genetics can be put to use, this Very Short Introduction demonstrates the ways in which the gene concept has been understood and used by molecular biologists, population biologists, and social scientists around the world. This second edition has been fully updated and contains new sections on the CRISPR method for targeted genetic modification, on DNA profiling, and developments in our understanding of human ancestry using ancient DNA. ABOUT THE SERIES: The Very Short Introductions series from Oxford University Press contains hundreds of titles in almost every subject area. These pocket-sized books are the perfect way to get ahead in a new subject quickly. Our expert authors combine facts, analysis, perspective, new ideas, and enthusiasm to make interesting and challenging topics highly readable.
Call Number: QH447 .S585 2023
Prenatal and Postnatal Care: a person-centered approach Prenatal and Postnatal Care Situate pregnancy in the emotional and physical life of the whole person with this bestselling guide Prenatal and postnatal care are important and dynamic areas in healthcare research and practice. The needs of the childbearing person before and after birth are complex and intensely personal, combining significant physiological impact with broader emotional needs. In order to supply optimal care, providers must account not only for physiological factors, but also for cultural, social, experiential, and psychological ones. Prenatal and Postnatal Care takes a holistic, person-centered approach to prenatal and postnatal care. Emphasizing the pregnant person and their unique needs, this book presents prenatal and postnatal care as foundational care for a healthy start to family life. This accessible, comprehensive book provides unique knowledge and skills to practitioners so that they can make a positive difference to the people they serve. Readers of the third edition of Prenatal and Postnatal Care will also find: New chapters covering health equity, ethics in perinatal care, exercise, and more All chapters updated to reflect evidence concerning health disparities and inequities Concrete ways for clinicians to disrupt the systems of harm and exclusion that can mediate care at every level Prenatal and Postnatal Care is essential for midwives, nurse practitioners, physician assistants, and other healthcare providers who work with childbearing people.
Call Number: RJ254 .P74 2024
Short Stay Management of Chest Pain The second edition of this book provides scientific and clinical insights on the management of patients who arrive at the hospital with a presentation consistent with a potential acute coronary syndrome. Focusing on the cardiology aspects of chest pain, it presents the science and methodology that has allowed the remarkable improvements in diagnostic accuracy and improved patient outcomes for the evaluation of patients presenting with suspected acute coronary syndromes. Chapters address key issues of the implementation of high sensitivity troponin and the use of contemporary non-invasive myocardial perfusion evaluation technologies (e.g., coronary artery computed tomography). It also addresses the cutting edge application of new technologies that promise to effect the early identification of coronary vascular disease. This new edition offers updated chapters as well as brand new chapters.  Short Stay Management of Chest Pain is a valuable tool for acute care physicians, nurses, and hospital administrators devoted to caring for this population.
Call Number: RC685.C6 S526 2022
Stress Echocardiography This is the seventh edition of a long-selling book (first edition 1991) that was translated into Italian, French, Chinese, Portuguese, Spanish, English. In the last ten years, stress echocardiography has exploded in its breadth and variety of applications.  From a one-fits-all approach (wall motion by 2D-echo in the patient with known or suspected coronary artery disease), the field has progressed to an omnivorous, next-generation laboratory employing a variety of technologies (from M-Mode to 2D, from pulsed, continuous, color and tissue Doppler to lung ultrasound) on patients covering the entire spectrum of severity (from elite athletes to patients with end-stage heart failure) and ages (from children with congenital heart disease to the elderly with aortic stenosis). This new edition is enriched with over 300 figures, 150 tables and   video-clips.  In a societal and economic climate of increasing pressure for appropriate, justified and optimized imaging, stress echocardiography offers the great advantages of being radiation-free, relatively low cost, with minimal environmental impact, and with a staggering versatility: we can get more (information) with less (cost and risk). The volume will be a tremendous aid to current best practices for all health operators who intend to use stress echocardiography and ultrasound for diagnosis and guidance of optimal management  in their patients.
Call Number: RC683.5.S77 P53 2023

Management/Employee Development Books

Health Communication: research and practice for a diverse and changing world This thoroughly revised second edition covers the major areas of research, theory, and practical application in health communication. This textbook takes an in-depth approach to health communication by analyzing and critically evaluating research conducted across multiple paradigmatic perspectives and focusing on translational application of research findings. Using the story of the Montgomery family, a biracial, multigenerational family, and their health experiences as a case study, chapters explore topics including patient-provider communication, health communication in the media, ethical issues, and public health crises. New chapters cover the potential for communication to address discrimination in healthcare settings, health information seeking, social support and caregiving, and the relationship between health and environmental communication. Chapters offer pedagogical features that will prove useful to students and instructors of health communication, such as summary boxes, theory tables, suggestions for in-class activities, discussion questions, and lists of additional resources. Developed for use in advanced undergraduate and master's level health communication and public health courses, this text represents the breadth and depth of health communication theory and research as it exists today. Online resources for instructors including additional theory tables, PowerPoint slides, test questions and assignments, sample syllabi, and lists of additional resources are available at https: //www.routledge.com/9781032100470.
Call Number: R118 .H28 2024
How Leaders Can Inspire Accountability: three habits that make or break leaders and elevate organizational performance Leadership development consultant Michael Timms has discovered three powerful habits that not only make one a better leader, but also encourage those they lead to take greater accountability themselves. Using a compelling combination of teaching principles and illustrations backed by loads of scientific studies, Timms reveals three habits of personal accountability that are easy to implement and which can instantly begin transforming positional leaders into true leaders who inspire everyone to take more accountability for results.
Call Number: HD57.7 .T533 2021x
Managing Cultural Differences: global leadership skills and knowledge for the 21st century New introductory chapter providing an overview of cultural differences in business, connecting themes between chapters Fully revised and updated with new cases and coverage of emerging topics like the impact of the digitization of the workplace on cultural differences in business Second half of the book looks at management in different areas of the world, which gives regional information and practical insights to students and professionals Comprehensive instructor material on a companion website, expanded to including new case studies, a comprehensive set of PowerPoint slides for the first time, links to videos, a testbank and an instructor manual.
Call Number: HD62.4 .H37 2024
The Microstress Effect: how little things pile up and create big problems-and what to do about it How a million little things are dragging you down, and what to do about it. There's a force we encounter every day that we aren't aware of--and it threatens to derail otherwise promising careers and lives: microstress. This hidden epidemic of small moments of stress has insidiously infiltrated both our work and our personal lives with invisible but devastating effects. Microstress doesn't trigger the normal stress response in our brains to help us deal with it. Instead, it embeds itself in our minds and accumulates daily, one microstress on top of the other. The long-term impact can be debilitating. Unregistered microstress weighs us down, damages our physical and emotional health, and contributes to a decline in our well-being. What's more, microstress is baked into our lives. The source is seldom a classic antagonist, such as a demanding client or a jerk boss. Instead, it comes from the people with whom we are closest: our friends, family, and colleagues. The good news is that once you understand microstress, you can fight back. Drawing on fresh research, Rob Cross and Karen Dillon explain the science behind the phenomenon. They also share the secrets of a small set of people who've endured their share of microstress but have still managed to cultivate relationships that enable them to thrive both at work and in life. Compelling interviews with these high achievers bring to life best practices that show you how to build resilience against microstress and ultimately how to find purpose--purpose that helps you break free from this quietly invasive force that's stealing your life.
Call Number: BF575.S75 C757 2023
Quality for the Rest of Us: a friendly guide to healthcare quality management Want to be a healthcare quality professional, but you're not entirely sure what the job entails? Or maybe you have been in the profession for years and want to pick up some new skills? Quality for the Rest of Us is for you. And I mean that sincerely. This isn't one of those books that will bog you down with technical details. The goal is to make healthcare quality approachable for beginners and introduce helpful tools for seasoned professionals. To do that, I share what I learned during my transition from bedside nursing (with almost zero comprehension of healthcare quality) into quality leadership. which has led to over a decade of experience in healthcare quality, working with more than 100 healthcare facilities to improve their processes and patient outcomes. This book provides simple explanations and examples of the quality cycle for improvement, practical tips on data analysis, descriptions of favorite tools and resources, and an overview of abstraction and public reporting: all to build and strengthen a foundational understanding of healthcare quality. The future of healthcare quality is full of possibility and innovation, and I invite you to join me in building your healthcare quality career.
Call Number: RA399.A3 P67 2023
Simply Put: why clear messages win - and how to design them Stop complicating everything! Create simple messages that are more powerful, more memorable, and win people over. Simply Put is a modern exploration of the simplicity principle for anybody who needs to sell stuff or persuade others. This book is a splash of cold water, designed to wake up entrepreneurs, C-suite executives, and marketing pros who have something they need to tell the world but just can't quite connect the dots. With this book, we're all better marketers. So why does simple win? And how do we get simple? The award-winning marketing entrepreneur behind New York Times best-selling authors and notable campaigns such as I Love NY provides answers and tools to simplify messages in this practical guide. From "Yes We Can" to "Just Do It", regardless of if they're trying to get your dollars, your votes, or just your thoughts, effective messages share one thing - they're simple. Being able to tell your story clearly and effectively is the winning skill for the next generation of entrepreneurs and leaders.
Call Number: HF5718 .G88 2023
Strategic Management of the Healthcare Supply Chain A systems approach to understanding the needs of today's healthcare supply chain Strategic Management of the Healthcare Supply Chain offers a big-picture overview and a proven strategic framework for supply chain management in healthcare. It also addresses concrete strategies for risk management, partnerships, logistics, performance assessment, information technology, and beyond. Readers will gain a comprehensive understanding of the issues facing the healthcare supply chain and the opportunities that present themselves as we look toward the future. Written by a team of authors with both research expertise and practical experience in healthcare supply chain, this broad and impactful book teases out the complexities within the supply chain field and the healthcare ecosystem. The healthcare industry is evolving rapidly, and the role of the supply chain is shifting in response. Institutions and practitioners are collaborating more closely than ever with supply chain leaders. This shift introduces new opportunities and challenges at the level of healthcare delivery. Additionally, the role of supply chain in safeguarding the social determinants of health--food, transportation, critical health-related products--is rapidly expanding, especially in historically underserved populations. This revised edition takes a holistic approach to the needs of people and organizations, yielding strategies that will improve both economic and health outcomes. Gain the understanding you need to work toward building a mature supply chain organization Develop perspective on how the needs of the healthcare supply chain are shifting in the modern era Holistically assess supply chain performance and improve clinical, financial, and operational outcomes Identify opportunities to generate value, improve alliances, and cut costs This book will be of interest to graduate students in the health sector and supply chain programs, as well as working clinicians, health sector managers, and supply chain leaders. Policymakers looking to create a more resilient healthcare supply chain in the wake of COVID-19 will also find valuable insight inside.
Call Number: RA395.A3 S3665 2023
Umiker's Management Skills for the New Health Care Supervisor Written for those who have little or no management training, Umiker's Management Skills for the New Health Care Supervisor comprehensively covers what the new health care manager will need to know to be successful in their career. Through real world cases studies, readers gain insight into a supervisor's day-to-day interactions with patients, colleagues, outside stakeholders, and their employees. Updated throughout to cover the many ongoing challenges of the COVID-19 pandemic on healthcare supervisors and managers, the new Eighth Edition offers an all-new chapter on ethics in the workplace; new materials on the aging workforce and women in health care; virtual meeting, remote jobs, and working from home; different types of mentorships, the increase in importance of value-based care, sexual harassment and the #METOO movement; and much more. Key Features:- New chapter on Ethics in the Workplace help students understand ethical vs. unethical behavior and determine how supervisors can enforce ethical behavior.- Coverage throughout of the COVID-19 pandemic and its many challenges to supervisors, management, patients, stakeholders, and more. - Timely new material on the aging workforce, women in healthcare, sexual harassment and the METOO movement, value-based care, healthcare reform updates, employee safety, and more- Case studies and discussion questions in every chapter engage readers and encourage critical thinking skills.- All new faculty resources include PowerPoint slides, answers to discussion questions, chapter quizzes, and more. - Navigate eBook (available stand alone or with the printed text) includes the digital text enhanced with chapter quizzes and more.
Call Number: RA971.35 .M33 2025
X-Teams: how to build teams that lead, innovate, and succeed An essential work on teams--now updated with new research and tools and a new preface--X-Teams shows how an externally focused team model is the key to fueling innovation and your organization's success. You build a team around top-notch talent. The team members work well together; they're committed to the mission and are highly motivated to perform. Yet the results are disappointing. You're not seeing creativity and flexibility. You're not getting breakthrough ideas. "Good" teams build camaraderie, confidence in their abilities, and a solid process for working together. But these internal dynamics--while positive in themselves--can create a wall between the team and the outside world. And that wall can prevent the team from adapting to change and delivering value to the organization. In this updated, streamlined edition, with a new preface and practical tools, Deborah Ancona and Henrik Bresman describe an externally focused team model--the x-team--that is even more relevant today than when it was first introduced. With their distinctively flexible membership and leadership structure, x-teams continuously reach outward to fuel the innovation process. With new examples and research from organizations such as Microsoft, Takeda, and the Museum of Modern Art, Ancona and Bresman show you how to build x-teams that: Keep pace with shifts in markets, technologies, cultures, and your competition Innovate by moving quickly from generating ideas to executing and diffusing them throughout your organization Employ "distributed leadership" to unlock crucial information, expertise, and new ways of working together--wherever these qualities reside, whether within or outside your company In an increasingly complex and ever-changing world, where adaptability and creativity are paramount to an enterprise's success--and even its survival--X-Teams is your handbook for winning.
Call Number: HD66 .A518 2023