Guides: 2024 Plummer Library New Resources: February 2024

Nursing/Allied Health

Nursing Now: today's issues, tomorrow's trends Be prepared for the rapidly changing world of nursing. The rapid transformations in health care and the impact of the pandemic have created new challenges and new opportunities for nursing and nurses. Explore the evolution and history of nursing and the important issues and trends shaping the nursing profession today.   From assuring the delivery of high-quality health care to management methods and techniques through preparing for the Next Generation NCLEX®, you'll be better prepared for the transition to professional practice and equipped with the skills to succeed and thrive.   Updated & Revised! Focus on the important issues and trends shaping the nursing profession today, including healthcare reform, the pandemic, race, culture, racial disparity privilege, women and men's health issues, disparity of the LGBTQ+ population, and cultural humility New Chapter! Next Generation NCLEX®: What You Need to Know introducing the new question types and the new AACN Essentials Expanded! Coverage of the nursing process/problem-based nursing, intergenerational issues in nursing, the interprofessional team and role, and palliative care Expanded! A deeper exploration and analysis of the issues through multiple points-of-view Expanded! Coverage of the pandemic and disaster planning Expanded! More case studies, vignettes, and end-of-chapter critical-thinking exercises Thought-provoking tools to promote critical thinking, including "Issues in Practice" Case Studies with correlating "Questions for Thought," "Issues Now" Case Studies," What Do You Think" questions, and "Critical-Thinking Exercises" at the end of each chapter NCLEX-style review questions at the end of each chapter with answers and rationales in an appendix Need-to-know information on the transition from student nurse to graduate nurse, including preparing a professional resume, fine tuning interview skills, and preparing a portfolio Two bonus chapters online, How to Take and Pass Tests and Governance and Collective Bargaining
Call Number: RT82 .C33 2024
Core Curriculum for Infusion Nursing An official publication of the Infusion Nurses Society, Core Curriculum for Infusion Nursing, 5th Edition, provides comprehensive preparation for the Certified Registered Nurse Infusion (CRNI®) exam from the global authority on infusion nursing and helps you deliver optimal care in any practice setting. The convenient outline format streamlines review and ensures fast access to essential information across the core content areas of Technology and Clinical Application; Fluid and Electrolyte Balance; Pharmacology, Infection Prevention and Control; and Transfusion Therapy, Antineoplastic Biologic Therapy, and Parenteral Nutrition.    This fully revised 5th Edition reflects the latest CRNI exam format and the growing scope of infusion nursing practice:    UPDATED! Content aligned with the current CRNI exam boosts confidence on the certification exam.  UPDATED! Focus on infusion nursing for special populations highlights the latest approaches to children, older adults, and pregnant women.     UPDATED! Coverage of pharmacologic and antineoplastic drugs clarifies important considerations for safe, effective treatment. 
Call Number: RM170 .C67 2024
Conceptual Foundations: the bridge to professional nursing practice Conceptual Foundations: The Bridge to Professional Nursing Practice, 8th Edition provides the foundation you need to prepare for your role as a professional nurse. The book’s conceptual approach lets you explore the thinking of leading theorists, analyze issues, and apply your knowledge to a variety of client populations and clinical settings. Other topics relating to patient care include healthcare policy, economic and legal issues, and the changing roles of nurses. Written by noted nursing educators Elizabeth E. Friberg and Karen J. Saewert, this text will deepen your understanding of nursing and help you advance in your career. Case studies throughout the text provide opportunities to develop your analytical skills. Critical Reflection Exercises help you apply what you’ve learned to everyday nursing practice. Learning objectives at the beginning of each chapter provide a framework for study. Introductionexplains the approach of each chapter and a Summary at the end reviews key content. Key Points emphasize the top take-away concepts in each chapter. Key Terms are presented in italics, and included definitions. NEW! Two new chapters include Fostering a Spirit of Inquiry: The Role of Nurses in Evidence-Based Practice and Diversity, Equity, and Inclusion: Impact on Health Care and Nursing Care Strategies. NEW! Expanded content on interprofessional collaboration is added to this edition. NEW! Trauma-Informed Care chapter covers the evolving science and role of nurses in addressing the care of individuals who have experienced trauma in multiple forms. NEW! Discussions of Healthy People 2030 and the Future of Nursing 2020-2030 are added to this edition.
Call Number: RT86.7 .C66 2024
Wright and Leahey's Nurses and Families: a guide to family assessment & intervention The ideal "how-to" book for harnessing the power of the nurse-family relationship! Use the Calgary Family Assessment and Intervention Models to assess families effectively and know when and how to intervene to reduce suffering and promote health. They are easy to-apply and practical models for nurses working with a wide variety of complex issues and family structures. You'll develop the knowledge you need to prepare, conduct, and document family interviews while you also hone your skills to use questions more effectively. You'll also learn how to avoid the three most common errors in family nursing and how to conduct a 15-minute interview.   Revised & Updated! Applications of the Calgary Family Assessment and Intervention Models to today's complex health care environments and the evolving family New & Expanded! Coverage of diverse groups, pluralism, and cultural dynamics Expanded! Focus on the family within society and the challenges facing families today, including the pandemic and post-pandemic outcomes, bullying, violence, crime, and drugs Expanded! Content on nursing interventions to improve outcomes for the person with the disorder or illness by improving family engagement and effectiveness Detailed clinical guidelines for preparing, conducting, and documenting a family interview Clinical case examples that reflect the diversity of families in society today and the issues encountered in a variety of practice settings, including hospital, primary care, school, community, outpatient, and the home Case scenarios with reflective questions that use the nursing process and illustrate the connection between the Calgary Family Assessment and Intervention Models    
Call Number: RT120.F34 W75 2023
Hospice & Palliative Care Handbook, Fourth Edition "Hospice & Palliative Care Handbook, Fourth Edition, offers concise, focused coverage of all aspects of hospice and palliative care for clinicians, managers, and other team members who provide important care while meeting difficult multilevel regulations. Filled with key topics such as professional standards and guidelines, bereavement services considerations, outcomes, goals, and quality control. Update to 2022 Centers for Medicare & Medicaid regulations"--
Call Number: RA1000 .M37 2024
Demystifying Integrated Care: a handbook for practice Integrated care aims to address inequality through removing fragmented health and social care. It is being adopted worldwide, including in the UK, where the NHS is undergoing significant transformation as it introduces integrated care for all providers. This new book aims to equip students and practitioners to take the lead in this new model of care delivery. It will help them understand the key principles of integrated care and then apply these to the design, implementation and practice of integrated care in their own work. Written by academics and operational healthcare leaders, this book is ideal for final year students of nursing, allied health and social care, postgraduates, and all nursing and allied health professionals who will be required to work within the UK’s new integrated care systems. Comprehensive coverage of the design, implementation and practice of integrated care Covers theory and concepts of integrated care as well as applicability to practice for individuals, organisations and systems Presents a comprehensive and up-to-date evidence base for integrated care Accessible to a range of practitioners Wide range of case studies provide real-life examples of how integrated care has been applied in different areas Contributions from academics across disciplines, including nursing, occupational therapy, social care and public health Co-written with business partners, clinical leads or specialists within their field – reflects the realities of practice Includes an international focus, with examples from countries which have a strong history in integrated care such as the Netherlands, New Zealand, USA and Finland
Call Number: RA418 .D45 2024x
Dr. Nurse: science, politics, and the Transformation of American Nursing An analysis of the efforts of American nurses to establish nursing as an academic discipline and nurses as valued researchers in the decades after World War II. Nurses represent the largest segment of the US health care workforce and spend significantly more time with patients than any other member of the health care team. Dr. Nurse probes their history to examine major changes that have taken place in American health care in the second half of the twentieth century. The book examines the major changes in nursing education and the place of nursing in the post-war research university, revealing how federal and state health and higher education policies shaped education within health professions after World War II. Starting in the 1950s, academic nurses sought to construct a science of nursing--distinct from that of the related biomedical or behavioral sciences--that would provide the basis of nursing practice. Facing broad changes in patient care driven by the introduction of new medical innovations, they worked both to develop science-based nursing practice and to secure their roles within the post-war research university. By their efforts, academic nurses transformed nursing's labor into a valuable site of knowledge production and demonstrated how the application of this knowledge was integral to improving patient outcomes and healthcare delivery. Exploring the knowledge claims, strategies, and politics involved as academic nurses negotiated their roles and nursing's future, Dr. Nurse reveals how state-supported health centers have profoundly shaped nursing education and health care delivery. 
Call Number: RT4 .T63 2022
A Team Approach to Nursing Care Delivery: tactics for working better together The United States now has one of the most severe labor shortages ever experienced in nursing and healthcare. Staff turnover and vacancy rates have skyrocketed even in the best health systems. The current nursing care delivery models rely on the availability of many nurses and are unsustainable. The gap between the number of nurses needed to practice primary nursing and the number of nurses available cannot be effectively bridged even with a significant ramp-up in enrollments and certainly not in a cost-effective way. Outside of a few specialty areas, future care delivery models will necessitate a team-based approach with professionals and support staff all working at the top of their scope of practice. While we once had the luxury of assigning nurses to non-nursing tasks, the situation has changed, and we no longer can. Yet, the transition to a team or collaborative care model is challenging despite the need. Most young nurses today lack the leadership skills to delegate care and manage a team of care providers. It will also require a change in mindset among nurses from thinking about "my patients" to "our patients" as nurses co-manage more patients. This book, A Team Approach to Nursing Care Delivery: Tactics for Working Better Together, provides a roadmap of what to consider as you redesign care and rebuild teams. In an easy-to-read format, each chapter in this book includes stories of challenges and successes that leaders have shared with me about team-based care delivery and efforts to promote effective teamwork. Let this book be your toolkit and practical guide to fostering effective team-based care delivery regardless of your clinical setting.
Call Number: RT89.3 .S576 2023x
Adult CCRN Review Book and Study Guide 2024-2025: 475+ practice test questions and exam prep for the critical care nursing certification Test Prep Books' Adult CCRN Review Book and Study Guide 2024-2025: 475+ Practice Test Questions and Exam Prep for the Critical Care Nursing Certification [6th Edition] Made by Test Prep Books experts for test takers trying to achieve a great score on the Adult CCRN exam. This comprehensive study guide includes: Quick Overview Find out what's inside this guide! Test-Taking Strategies Learn the best tips to help overcome your exam! Introduction Get a thorough breakdown of what the test is and what's on it! Clinical Judgment Cardiovascular Respiratory Endocrine/Hematology/Gastrointestinal/Renal/ Integumentary Musculoskeletal/Neurological/Psychosocial Multisystem Professional Caring & Ethical Practice Practice Test #1 Answer Explanations #1 Practice Test #2 Answer Explanations #2 Practice Test #3 Answer Explanations #3 Studying can be hard. We get it. That's why we created this guide with these great features and benefits Comprehensive Review: Each section of the test has a comprehensive review created by Test Prep Books that goes into detail to cover all of the content likely to appear on the test. Adult CCRN Practice Test Questions: We want to give you the best practice you can find. That's why the Test Prep Books practice questions are as close as you can get to the actual test. Answer Explanations: Every single problem is followed by an answer explanation. We know it's frustrating to miss a question and not understand why. The answer explanations will help you learn from your mistakes. That way, you can avoid missing it again in the future. Test-Taking Strategies: A test taker has to understand the material that is being covered and be familiar with the latest test taking strategies. These strategies are necessary to properly use the time provided. They also help test takers complete the test without making any errors. Test Prep Books has provided the top test-taking tips. Customer Service: We love taking care of our test takers. We make sure that you interact with a real human being when you email your comments or concerns.
Call Number: RT120.I5 A32 2023x
BMTCN® Certification Review Manual "solid tumors, and other genetic or immune disorders. Hematopoietic stem cell transplantation is a critical maneuver for many, with origins dating back to the 1940s from the aftermath of the dropping of the atomic bomb. The first successful donor marrow transplant was performed in 1956. Subsequent investigation has explored the safety and efficacy of hematopoietic stem cell transplantation in special populations, such as older individuals and those with organ dysfunction. As of 2023, this transplantation has never been safer due to ongoing advancements in transplant and supportive care. Innovative cellular therapies for blood cancers have become an important treatment option. For the past 10 years, studies have investigated chimeric antigen receptor (CAR) expression on T lymphocytes. This artificial receptor enables T cells to identify and target cancer cells better and harness the immune system through enhanced immune activation. In 2012, the first child underwent CAR T-cell therapy to treat relapsed acute lymphoblastic leukemia. Further studies have demonstrated the efficacy and safety of CAR T-cell therapy, leading to its improved use in patients with leukemia and lymphomas. Recently approved indications in 2021 and 2022 are for patients with relapsed and refractory multiple myeloma. This second edition of the BMTCN® Certification Review Manual includes critical updates on CAR T-cell therapies and supportive care considerations, such as updated guidelines for prophylactic antibiotics and immunizations. In addition, an extensive review of newly approved therapies with novel mechanisms of action available to treat and support a variety of toxicities such as nausea, neutropenia, and chronic graft-versus-host disease is included. Finally, innovative procedures that improve post-transplant-related outcomes are highlighted within the chapters. Nurses have been integral to the advancement of transplant science throughout the years, especially in their knowledge of supportive care, side effect management, and patient support and education. Patients look to nurses for prompt assessment and evaluation of side effects, which range from mild to severe and life-threatening emergencies. The Oncology Nursing Certification Corporation and Oncology Nursing Society recognize the crucial role of oncology nurses and support the validation of their knowledge through the BMTCN® certification. This study manual follows the BMTCN® test blueprint. Each chapter contains carefully written study questions to use with Hematopoietic Stem Cell Transplantation: A Manual for Nursing Practice (third edition) to prepare nurses for the certification examination. Whether the reader is a nurse on the front line, advanced practitioner, nurse manager, or nurse scientist, this study manual is an important resource for the examination for years to come"--
Call Number: RD123.5 .B68 2023

Medicine

Anatomy: regional, surgical & applied Key features: * Presents a concise, accessible guide to regional and clinically applied anatomy, that clearly demonstrates to students the level of knowledge that is required for medical and healthcare-related curricula. * Uses high-quality clinical and intra-operative images integrated into the text which emphasizes important topics through bullet points. * Features logically arranged seven sections, each devoted to a body region or system, which includes a self-test quiz, with the single best answer and spotter-style questions.
Call Number: QM25 .A4893 2023
The Foundation and Art of Robotic Surgery The first multimedia medical text of its kind--presenting the most comprehensive and up-to-date full-color material about robotics in General Surgery. Written by the senior editors with the contribution of international renowned robotic surgeons and academics, The Foundation and Art of Robotic Surgery shows how to apply robotics in multiple anatomical locations, using a comprehensive, concise and practical written description of each standardized surgical procedure. Fifty-one chapters cover topics including General Principles of Robotic Surgery, Thyroid Surgery, Chest Surgery, Gastric and Bariatric Surgery, Intestinal Surgery, Spleen and Pancreas Surgery, Liver Surgery, Biliary Surgery, Adrenal Surgery, Hernia Surgery, Transplant Surgery and Additional Procedures (including principles of Single Port Robotic Surgery). Each operation is divided into steps with specific timeframes, for learning and teaching purposes, and each of these steps is a unit/block that needs to be sequentially acquired to become proficient in that specific procedure. Packed with 900+ photos and 900+ detailed anatomical and surgical drawings with also quick and easy access to 200+ surgical videos (including video clips of the most important steps and longer videos of full-procedures), The Foundation and Art of Robotic Surgery provides clear, concise and hands-on description of the instruments requirements, indications and relative contraindications to the robotic approach, preoperative phases including trocar placement, patient positioning, OR set-up, and a detailed and step-wise description of the operative steps. The Foundation and Art of Robotic Surgery guides the reader through the processes of using robots to make smaller incisions, decrease blood loss and postoperative pain, as well as foster quicker healing time and reduce hospital stays. Benefits to the surgeon include improved control over the instruments, better views of the surgical field, reduced fatigue, and decreased hand tremors, which are filtered out by the robot's software. Quick access to 200+ videos/video clips is available through the book in addition to boxed text highlighted tips and tricks, anatomical variations, common pitfalls, and average timeframes. Features 900+ photos 900+ drawings of the standard anatomy, anatomical variations and surgical maneuvers. Clear, concise presentation of the instruments/tools/material, indications and relative contraindications to the robotic approach, preoperative phases and each operative steps. Access to instructive videos clips (of the main steps and of the full procedures) appearing alongside numerous photos and anatomical illustrations. Boxed text highlight tips and tricks, anatomical notions, common pitfalls, editorial comments and average time frames. Techniques for robotic transplant surgery, renal aneurysm repair and Single Port Robotic Surgery principles are also covered.
Call Number: E-book
The Handbook of Minimally-Invasive Colorectal Surgery Publisher's Note: Products purchased from Third Party sellers are not guaranteed by the publisher for quality, authenticity, or access to any online entitlements included with the product. A concise, full-color, step-by-step guide to performing colorectal surgery This well-illustrated new book delivers succinct guidance on performing minimally invasive (laparoscopic and robotic) colon and rectal surgery, written primarily for an audience of general surgery residents and fellows in colorectal surgery and surgical oncology. The Handbook of Minimally Invasive Colorectal Surgery takes a high-yield, bulleted approach to describe how to get started with a procedure; how to perform common surgeries of the intestine, colon, and rectum; and how to manage common intraoperative problems in colorectal surgery. Alternatives to each step are discussed, along with common pitfalls and how to avoid them. Full-color illustrations and intraoperative images alongside narrated videos take readers step-by-step through the operations most often performed by general surgeons, colorectal surgeons, and surgical oncologists. This edition includes the latest innovations and procedures in minimally invasive and robotic colorectal surgery.
Call Number: E-book
Hodson and Geddes Cystic Fibrosis Cystic Fibrosis has seen dramatic advances in treatment since the last edition, including targeted cystic fibrosis transmembrane conductance regulator (CFTR) protein modulators for most CFTR gene abnormalities. This new fifth edition is an update and expansion of the rapid clinical and scientific advances in improving prognosis, and the impact of COVID-19, all of which has transformed conventional models of care. It covers basic science, such as how detailed understanding of the biology of the CFTR gene and protein has led to novel and beneficial therapies, as well as all aspects of clinical management in high-, middle- and low-income settings and the voices of individuals with CF from across the world. It will be a useful reference for clinicians, including all levels of trainees, across the whole multidisciplinary team, scientists and students. Key Features - Follows an appealing organization of chapters, by developing fundamental knowledge of the reader before moving on to more complex or developing topics. - Presents a comprehensive, authoritative and up-to-date text, integrating fundamental science and clinical aspects of cystic fibrosis providing an attractive read for clinicians, trainee doctors and scientists. - Draws on global expertise and reflects best evidence-based practice from experts conducting cutting-edge clinical and basic science research from around the world.
Call Number: RC858.C95 H63 2024
Induced Pluripotent Stem Cells and Human Disease This detailed volume presents a series of protocols that are representative of recent developments and improvements in induced pluripotent stem cells (iPS cells) and corresponding human disease models. Reflecting the latest technology for generating induced pluripotent stem cells (iPS cells) and their initial characterization, the book explores techniques invaluable both for studies of disease-specific cell types and for their potential applications in regenerative medicine. Written for the highly successful Methods in Molecular Biology series, chapters include introduction to their respective topics, lists of the necessary materials and reagents, step-by-step and readily reproducible laboratory protocols, as well as tips on troubleshooting and avoiding known pitfalls.  Authoritative and practical, Induced Pluripotent Stem Cells and Human Disease: Methods and Protocols serves as a vital guide that is valuable for not only experts but also novices in the stem cell field.
Call Number: QH588.S83 I532 2022x
Molmenti's Kidney and Pancreas Transplantation: operative techniques and medical management This illustrated, concise guide covers everything you need to know about transplanting the kidney and pancreas With over 1,000 high-quality images, illustrations, tables, and bulleted text, Molmenti’s Kidney and Pancreas Transplantation Management addresses transplantation in a highly visual, concise, and concrete way. Readers will find its approach to be diverse, equitable, inclusive, and multi-disciplinary. The highly structured sections and chapters provide rapid information, depth of comprehension, and strength of knowledge to be applied in routine as well as in emergency situations. Each chapter includes an overview of the essentials of kidney disease, patient management, operative techniques, pathology, and imaging. Molmenti’s Kidney and Pancreas Transplantation covers: Kidney TransplantationoPre- and Post-Transplant Medical Considerations oDonor and Recipient Evaluations oImmunology oPharmacology oAnesthesia oOperative Techniques for Donors and Recipients oQuality Management oPediatric Kidney Transplantation oCutaneous Manifestations oImaging oPathology •Pancreas Transplantation oOperative Technique oComplications oPathology oImaging •Islet Cell Transplantation •Clinicopathologic Cases
Call Number: E-book
Ultrasonography of the Prenatal Brain, Third Edition Publisher's Note: Products purchased from Third Party sellers are not guaranteed by the publisher for quality, authenticity, or access to any online entitlements included with the product. The most trusted, all-in-one guide to fetal brain imaging--now in full color Edited and written by recognized experts, this acclaimed reference is a highly clinical text and visual atlas. It facilitates a thorough comprehension of the normal and abnormal fetal central nervous system--and helps you apply one of the most important advances in modern perinatology: the early detection of central nervous system anomalies. Here, you will find the full spectrum of prenatal sonography tools and insights, from using ultrasound and MRI to diagnose the fetal face, eye, and brain, to the neurobehavioral development of the fetal brain. Featuring a new full-color presentation and an enhanced, reader-friendly design, the third edition of this unmatched guide is completely refreshed to mirror the significant advances made in imaging resolution and three-dimensional Doppler technology. In addition, the book reflects the growing interest in imaging the fetal nervous system as it pertains to the fetal brain. FEATURES New full-color design and additional figures, tables, and graphs New chapter on ventriculomegaly examines the most common presenting sonographic sign of brain pathology New chapters on the evaluation of the fetal cortex and posterior fossa shed light on diagnostically problematic areas of the fetal brain New chapters highlighting intrauterine insults, intrauterine infections, and metabolic disorders demonstrate the progress being made in areas that have become critical to fetal neuroscans Greater emphasis on the use of high frequency and deep penetrating ultrasound transducer probes clearly explain how they can yield high-resolution pictures of the fetal brain and spine Latest perspectives on dissemination of 3D ultrasound techniques and magnetic resource imaging are interwoven into individual chapters to encourage their adoption in daily clinical practice More detailed examination of imaging the fetal brain is based on leading-edge, peer-reviewed research from around the world SI units are included throughout Numerous new 2D and 3D ultrasound images and updated literature references contribute to the most current overview available of this dynamic specialty
Call Number: E-book
Vascular Injury: Endovascular and Open Surgical Management This one-of-a-kind guide gets endovascular and trauma specialists up to date on the rapidly evolving field of vascular injury management New technologies have created fresh opportunities to explore improved care options for patients with vascular injuries, and the discipline of vascular surgery is increasingly moving toward wider use of endovascular treatments. This makes collaboration between trauma and vascular specialists more important than ever when diagnosing and managing care of patients with vascular injuries.   Edited by highly experienced, dual-trained trauma and vascular/endovascular surgeons, Vascular Injury: Endovascular and Open Management walks readers through the process of medical, open, or endovascular management of contemporary vascular injury. Detailed description of endovascular technical elements help endovascular specialists adapt their traditional vascular surgery approaches to trauma; at the same time, the book familiarizes trauma specialists with an expanded technical skillset, as well as the strengths/limitations of technologies not provided elsewhere in traditional trauma training. Chapters include:  ·A brief history of vascular injury - training, diagnosis and management ·Contemporary diagnosis of vascular injury ·General open vascular repair for trauma  ·Basics of endovascular trauma management  ·Endovascular tools and techniques for trauma applications ·Vascular damage control ·Cervical vascular injury ·Upper extremity injury  ·Axillo-subclavian injuries ·Thoracic arch and proximal great vessels ·Abdominal aortic and Iliac artery injury ·General principles of post-operative management and surveillance ·Compartment syndrome in the setting of vascular injury ·Solid organ embolization for management of traumatic injury ·Hybrid trauma care environments and vascular trauma teams Chapters include demographics of injury/epidemiology; anatomy; diagnosis; roles of medical management and open intervention; techniques of open exposure and management; role of endovascular intervention; techniques of endovascular exposure and management; roles for anticoagulation and antiplatelets; post-operative care and surveillance.
Call Number: E-book

Management/Employee Development Books

Lillian Wald: America's great social and healthcare reformer She was the forgotten greatest social reformer of her time. In this immensely significant biography, Paul Kaplan follows powerful activist Lillian Wald, a social and education reformer dedicated to helping less fortunate citizens in New York. While living there, Wald began campaigning for healthcare, which lead her to inserting herself into the social climate of her patients. Groundbreaking for her time, Lillian Wald was not only a revolutionary reformer but also an advocate for women's suffrage, racial integration, and worker's rights. She acted as a leader in a world that has now forgotten her countless contributions. This biography is brilliant for children looking for a strong female role model from the past, for today.
Call Number: HQ1413.W34 K37 2018
Workforce 4. 0: how AI, the home office, and the gig economy are disrupting the status quo What's coming next for today's workforce, and the companies behind them? For those eager and willing to adapt, the possibilities are nearly endless, according to author Gerard Szatvanyi. Recent advances in technology have led to new trends, and this global transformation holds tremendous potential. Nearly every industry will be impacted, and organizations that set the right vision could benefit from breaking into new markets and pioneering the creation of specialized niches. Organizations have the chance to make the most of AI solutions to equip team members and uplevel their skills. Along the way, they'll need to think through the purpose of the office. It will also become increasingly important to follow smart protocols when hiring virtually and to take care as they operate in new regions to make sure these places align with their values. As AI moves into the lives of everyday workers, companies can be assured that the human touch will still be essential. Even as machine learning and automation reduce the need for intense labor, team members will be tasked with higher level responsibilities, including the job of supervising AI and making final decisions. Firms can expect to see benefits ranging from increased productivity, higher rates of worker satisfaction, improved efficiencies, and the potential to produce new revenue streams from specialized products and services. With more than 20 years of experience in the tech industry, Szatvanyi has long been fascinated with digital solutions and their impact. Moreover, he's a champion for bringing in the human connection, recognizing that the best implementations occur when executives first peel back the perceived restrictions and ask, "What if" questions. Having an open mind and a willingness to think differently could help organizations reduce the risk of getting disrupted and instead, increase their chances to gain -- and hold -- a strong position in their respective industries. As founder of OSF Digital, a global IT services company, Szatvanyi has worked with clients and brands around the world, consulting and directing digital initiatives to equip organizations with the tools they need to reach consumer expectations and demand. He has provided insight on upcoming trends and shares that today's technology tools will welcome in a landscape that is unlike any other period in history. Through it all, Szatvanyi shares tips to manage today's workforce and get ready for the great ride of tomorrow.
Call Number: HD5701.55 .S93 2023x
Telehealth Success: how to thrive in the new age of remote care The Definitive Guide to Mastering Telehealth In the wake of the COVID-19 pandemic, the healthcare landscape experienced an unprecedented transformation, thrusting millions of clinicians into telehealth. What was once a niche method of providing care rapidly became the new standard overnight. While some healthcare providers have adapted well, many find themselves wrestling with the challenges of telehealth. Mastering telehealth requires an entirely different set of tools and practices--ones that are not typically taught in medical schools. So what distinguishes those who flourish from those who struggle? In what is becoming the quintessential guide to telehealth, experts Dr. Brandon M. Welch and Dr. Aditi U. Joshi invite readers to explore what it takes to be successful with telemedicine. Enriched by captivating case studies, groundbreaking research, and firsthand experiences, Drs. Welch and Joshi unravel the complexities of telehealth, offering invaluable insights into its failures, successes, and untapped potential. They point out that success in telehealth requires success in each of the five critical domains: Patient Success: Ensuring that patients not only receive the quality of care they expect but also experience it in a manner most suited to their preferences. Clinician Success: Empowering clinicians and healthcare organizations to deliver world-class care in a manner that complements their practice. Technology Success: Demystifying the technology that underpins telehealth, emphasizing the importance of intuitive, reliable platforms. Financial Success: Providing a framework for clinicians, insurers, and patients to reap the financial benefits of telehealth adoption. Compliance Success: Navigating the legal landscape of telehealth, helping clinicians leverage healthcare laws and regulations to their advantage. By following the actionable strategies outlined in this comprehensive book, healthcare providers can transition from merely adopting telehealth to thriving with it. Telehealth holds the promise of shaping a healthcare future that is more accessible, convenient, affordable, and equitable than we've ever known. And this book is your ultimate roadmap to that future.
Call Number: R119.95 .J67 2023x
Process Improvement in Healthcare: leveraging Lean Six Sigma methodologies for success Over the last two decades, healthcare has experienced the emergence of patient consumerism, commercialization, staffing shortages due to strikes and burnout, a worldwide pandemic, increased regulatory pressure, digitization of care, artificial intelligence and more. This transforms the way we provide and receive care. While navigating all this change, it’s imperative to prioritize optimizing functionality of tools and workflows to ensure a solid foundation on which we can integrate future technologies. This book addresses essential concepts to consider when practicing continuous improvement in the industry.
Call Number: RA399.A1 S55 2023x
Lead With Empathy: elevate your leadership & management skills, build strong teams, and inspire lasting change in your business Discover the Future of Leadership in Pete Srodoski's "Lead With Empathy" In the dynamic world of modern business, success hinges on more than just strategies and goals; it's about the profound impact of leadership. Pete Srodoski's "Lead With Empathy" emerges as a transformative guide, redefining the essence of effective leadership for today's managers and executives. Why This Book is a Must-Read: Revolutionize Your Leadership Style: Unlock the potential of empathetic leadership to create a more engaged, productive, and loyal team. Master the Art of Navigating Crises: Learn to lead with confidence and compassion, turning challenges into opportunities for growth and resilience. Enhance Team Dynamics and Innovation: Discover how empathy can be the key to unlocking your team's full potential, fostering an environment where collaboration and creativity flourish. Prioritize Your Well-being: Explore the often-overlooked aspect of leadership - self-care. Learn to maintain your well-being to lead others more effectively. Tailored for Today’s Leaders: Whether you're climbing the corporate ladder, heading a small team, or striving to excel in your leadership journey, "Lead With Empathy" provides the insights and tools needed to transform your approach and leave a lasting impact.
Call Number: HD57.7 .S37 2023x
Emotional Intelligence Habits: a powerful new way to increase your emotional intelligence Change your habits, change your life. A powerful new way to increase your emotional intelligence. Emotional Intelligence Habits is a groundbreaking new book from Dr. Travis Bradberry, author of the bestselling Emotional Intelligence 2.0 that has sold millions of copies worldwide. In Emotional Intelligence Habits, Dr. Bradberry, the world's foremost expert on EQ, offers an abundance of practical strategies that will teach you how to form good habits, break bad ones, and master the micro behaviors that will take your EQ to new heights. The book includes a passcode to the updated online edition of the world's #1 EQ assessment, the Emotional Intelligence Appraisal®, which will show you where your EQ stands today and which new habits from the book will help increase your EQ. By now, emotional intelligence (EQ) needs little introduction--it's no secret that EQ is critical to your success--personally and professionally. But knowing what EQ is and how to use it to improve your life are two very different things. Emotional Intelligence Habits offers a proven framework for increasing your EQ via tiny habits that can yield big results. Step-by-step, you'll learn the key habits that will increase your core EQ skills: Self-Awareness Self-Management Social Awareness Relationship Management Dr. Bradberry is known for his ability to turn complicated topics into simple behaviors that you can easily apply to your life and work. He draws on decades of experience and the latest research in psychology and neuroscience to create an easy-to-follow guide for increasing your EQ. He will teach you how to: overcome a lack of motivation and willpower to form powerful new habits increase your confidence, likeability, happiness, self-control and mental strength form strong relationships by mastering conflict, communication, and neutralizing toxic people beat stress, increase your productivity, and become a great leader Emotional Intelligence Habits will radically alter how you see yourself and the world around you. Better yet, it will give you the tools you need to rewrite your daily habits and transform yourself as you work to achieve yourgoals.
Call Number: BF576 .B723 2023x
Change Management That Sticks: a practical, people-centred approach, for high buy-in and meaningful results This book will transform your approach to change impact assessment so you can drive high change adoption. Drawing on 30-years of successful change management delivery, author Barb Grant lays out how to get any organizational change to "stick". Written in an engaging conversational style and brought to life through cartoon character ‘Change Cat,’ it gets to the heart of how to design, develop, and deliver change that works. How to identify what people really want from change—and sell it to them The difference between how to motivate change leaders and change users How to gather the right information to develop great change management stakeholder assessments, change plans, and impact assessments and what to include in them What to do when the change effort gets into trouble and how to remain authentic when hard messages must be delivered
Call Number: HD58.8 .G73 2023x
The Humor Hack: using humor to feel better, increase resilience, and (yes) enjoy your work The Humor Hack is an entirely different book about using humor to lead a more engaged life. It's a playbook filled with anecdotes, exercises, and discussion of topics that will provide readers a way to understand how humor works and how they can take this knowledge and enrich their personal and professional lives with more laughs, enjoyment, and mirth. The book's content is based in research, but not academic in tone or format, and is accessible to the general reader. The subject matter is broken into chapters that teach people how to understand, recognize, and produce more humor in their day-to-day lives. It is written in a friendly and warm tone and avoids being nothing more than a series of stories about humor or an overly theory-laden academic book. It provides readers with a book that is enjoyable to read, informative, playful, and educational. That's why this is best described as a playbook. The book is meant to provide a sort of text that is missing in the current books out there that profess to be humor how-tos. It takes research related to humor and discusses it in an informed yet accessible fashion.
Call Number: HM132 .C85 2022x
In Their Shoes: lessons on corporate leadership from a former uninspired employee For the first decade of his career, George Parente lived as an uninspired employee. It seemed like every company he worked for cared little about their employees and a whole lot more about their bottom line. Employees were viewed as disposable, and this led George to make a personal promise to himself: If he was ever in a position of leadership, he would lead from a place of empathy and put his team and customers first. From 2000 to 2020, George worked in managerial positions, but never had the final say in leading and setting a culture for a company. In 2021 this changed as he became the owner and CEO of DTG Consulting Solutions. Since that point, George has implemented his own personalized form of servant and transformational leadership--doing his best to lead by walking in the steps of those on his team. The results of this new approach have been astonishing. In 2022, DTG posted the best numbers of the company's fifty-year history, and their financial bottom line has only continued to climb. From George's perspective, this only happened as he put his team first. Through the pages of In Their Shoes, George offers readers a behind-the-scenes look at how he leads an organization along with his personal philosophy of serving others. The goal is to inspire a generation of new leaders to lead their teams from a position of empathy and empowerment. George is on a mission to break down the hierarchical structures that separate the person at the top of the ORG chart from the people at the bottom, and he invites you to join him on this journey.
Call Number: HD57.7 .P36465 2023x
The Leap to Leader: how ambitious managers make the jump to leadership Get ready to make the biggest jump of your career. The chasm separating managers from leaders is widening as the skills required to be an effective leader grow in number and complexity. But you're ambitious. You want to cross that chasm. And your organization needs you to cross it in order to join its bench of stars who will lead with empathy and humanity and ground the organization's strategies in a meaningful, mission-driven, and purposeful way. The Leap to Leader is your trusted playbook for making the biggest jump of your career. You'll learn from more than a hundred successful leaders who share their powerful insights and compelling stories of how to make the leap, along with practical strategies and tactics for building a loyal following, moving up quickly to broaden your impact, and making the subtle but crucial mindset shifts that are required to lead others effectively. As senior managing director at the ExCo Group, Adam Bryant has worked directly with hundreds of fast-rising executives, sharing the leadership development frameworks, tools, and approaches that are at the heart of this book. He draws on the collective wisdom of the one hundred mentors at his firm--all former CEOs or global business leaders--who know what it takes to make the leap to leader. As the creator of the iconic Corner Office column in the New York Times, Bryant has spoken with more than a thousand leaders over the years about the challenges and nuances of leadership. The leap to leader doesn't have to be a leap of faith. If you're ready to make the jump, start here.
Call Number: HD57.7 .B7845 2023