Nursing/Allied Health
(Swearingen's) All-in-One Nursing Care Planning Resources: medical-surgical, pediatric, maternity, and psychiatric-mental health
With more than 100 evidence-based, customizable care plans, Swearingen’s All-in-One Nursing Care Planning Resource: Medical-Surgical, Pediatric, Maternity, and Psychiatric-Mental Health is an easy-to-use, curriculum-wide reference to guide the development of patient-centered nursing care plans. The only nursing care planning reference book that covers all four core clinical areas, it features care plans for medical-surgical, maternity/OB, pediatrics, and psychiatric?mental health to help you learn to care for patients in any setting. The interprofessional patient problems focus teaches you how to communicate patient problems using the standard terminology of the health professions rather than in nursing-specific language. Safety icons highlight assessments and interventions that focus on safety measures supported by national patient safety standards and goals. Care plans have been updated throughout to reflect the latest evidence-based treatment guidelines and protocols. Care plan components are now labeled as appropriate with the six cognitive skills identified in the National Council of State Boards of Nursing (NCSBN) Clinical Judgment Measurement Model (CJMM) to help you identify, develop, and implement the clinical judgment skills needed for success on the Next-Generation NCLEX® Exam (NGN) and in clinical practice. With new care plans on Infection, Breastfeeding, and Delirium, a clear, focused approach, an easy-to-use format, and straightforward rationales, this one book will meet your care planning needs throughout your entire nursing program and into clinical practice!
UNIQUE! Care plans cover all four major clinical areas: medical-surgical, OB/maternity, pediatrics, and psychiatric-mental health nursing.
UNIQUE! Colorful design makes the book more user friendly and includes color-coded tabs and improved cross-referencing and navigation aids for faster information retrieval.
UNIQUE! Updated care plan focused on support of LGBTQ+ patients ensures sensitive, professional nursing care.
Consistent format for each care plan facilitates more efficient planning, with headings for Overview/Pathophysiology, Health Care Setting, and more.
Interprofessional patient problems focus equips users to communicate with other health professionals in the interprofessional language of patient problems, rather than in the nursing-specific language of nursing diagnosis.
Safety icons highlight assessments and interventions that focus on safety measures supported by national patient safety standards and goals.
Patient problems are prioritized in order of importance and physiologic patient needs are included to help users focus on the most important assessments and interventions.
Detailed rationales for each nursing intervention help users apply concepts to specific patient situations in clinical practice.
NEW and UNIQUE! Care plan components are now labeled as appropriate with the six cognitive skills identified in the National Council of State Boards of Nursing (NCSBN) Clinical Judgment Measurement Model (CJMM) to help students identify, develop, and implement the clinical judgment skills needed for success on the Next-Generation NCLEX® Exam (NGN) and in clinical practice.
NEW! Additional care plans on Infection, Delirium, and Breastfeeding.
Call Number: RT49 .A45 2024
Access Device Guidelines: recommendations for nursing practice and education
"In a dynamic and intricate healthcare system, the Oncology Nursing Society (ONS) understands the need to provide access device resources supported by best practice and available literature, research, guidelines, and expert opinion. It is with both pride and gratitude that we present the fourth edition of Access Device Guidelines: Recommendations for Nursing Practice and Education. The intent of these guidelines is to provide the foundation for evidence-based practice and support oncology nurses in their day-to-day care of patients. This publication marks the fourth edition of Access Device Guidelines, a slight departure from the previous publication in 2017 titled Access Device Standards of Practice. After considerable thought and discussion, this decision to return to Guidelines was made based on the current evidence available surrounding access device practice and the process utilized to update and develop the text"--
Call Number: RC266 .A235 2023
Adult CCRN Exam Prep Study Guide: print review, plus 300 questions based on the latest exam blueprint300
Adult CCRN® Exam Prep Study Guide gets right to the point with targeted content based on the latest AACN exam blueprint. This easy-to-follow guide includes all the tools you need to prepare, practice, and pass the exam—and nothing you don't.
PREPARE
Concise coverage of the content you'll be tested on.
Quick-reference features with complications, alerts, and nursing pearls.
Need-to-know information to prepare you for exam day.
PRACTICE
Two full-length practice tests—one in book and one online—to assess your readiness and simulate the test-taking experience.
Detailed rationales for correct and incorrect answers.
Pop quizzes that highlight key information you don't want to miss.
PASS
The first time with Springer Publishing Exam Prep's 100% Pass Guarantee.
With confidence, knowing you're well-prepared with all the skills and knowledge you need on exam day and in practice.
With pride in your commitment to patient health and safety
Call Number: RT120.I5 A3842 2024x
Advanced Oncology Nursing Certification Review and Resource Manual
"The profession of nursing is dynamic; future education and practice directions will continue to promote integrity, increased accountability, reliability, and competency-based education. Oncology nursing remains at the forefront of imparting new knowledge and performance standards. The development of this new edition of Advanced Oncology Nursing Certification Review and Resource Manual and all previous edition was in response to requests from the Oncology Nursing Society (ONS) advanced oncology certification review course participants seeking additional resources. Since its first publication, Advanced Oncology Nursing Certification Review and Resource Manual has been a valuable resource for thousands of oncology practitioners across all roles, care settings, and systems. The goals of this third edition are fourfold. The first is to provide a comprehensive review for oncology advanced practice nurses (APNs) who are preparing to sit for any Oncology Nursing Certification Corporation (ONCC) advanced oncology certification exam. The second goal is to provide a comprehensive clinical resource for oncology APNs. The third is to provide a comprehensive overview of oncology advanced practice for faculty and students in graduate oncology nursing education. The fourth is to introduce the recently approved American Association of Colleges of Nursing Essentials: Core competencies for professional nursing education, which re-envisions nursing education. This paradigm shift promotes alignment with newly defined Level 2 competencies and subcompetencies for advanced-level nursing education specialty and role requirements (see www. aacnnursing.org/essentials)"--
Call Number: RC266 .A38 2023
ANCC Nurse Executive Study Guide 2024-2025
All in One ANCC nurse executive study guide for 2023, 2024, and 2025. Includes over 350 Practice Test Questions.
Embark on a transformative journey towards becoming a distinguished nurse executive with the ultimate study companion: "Mastering the ANCC Nurse Executive Exam." Whether you're an aspiring nurse leader seeking to elevate your career or an experienced professional aiming to validate your expertise, this comprehensive guide is your key to success in the challenging ANCC Nurse Executive certification exam.
Drawing upon years of collective experience and expertise, this guide has been meticulously crafted by seasoned nurse executives, educators, and subject matter experts. It is designed to provide you with a comprehensive and strategic approach to mastering the exam content, while also imparting essential leadership skills that are vital for excelling in today's complex healthcare landscape.
Inside the pages of this guide, you will find:
In-depth coverage of all domains and subdomains outlined by the American Nurses Credentialing Center (ANCC), ensuring that you are well-prepared for every facet of the exam.
Clear and concise explanations of core concepts, principles, and theories related to healthcare leadership, management, and administration.
Real-world case studies and scenarios that challenge your critical thinking and decision-making abilities, allowing you to apply theoretical knowledge to practical situations.
Comprehensive practice questions and practice exams that mirror the format and difficulty level of the actual ANCC Nurse Executive exam, enabling you to build confidence and test-taking skills.
Guidance on effective communication, collaboration, and conflict resolution techniques, empowering you to foster a positive work environment and drive optimal patient outcomes.
Insights into healthcare policy, regulations, and quality improvement strategies that are integral to successful nurse leadership roles.
Call Number: RT89 .A42 2024x
ATI TEAS 7: study guide 2024-2025
An important stepping stone for admission to nursing schools. Includes the four critical areas of the exam: Reading, Math, Science, English and Language Usage. Proven test strategies, Comprehensive review, 2,000 questions. This new updated 2024-2025 book is a must.
Call Number: LB2353.7.T43 A83 2024x
ATI TEAS 7th Edition 2023-2024 Study Guide + 1100 practice questions
Introducing our ATI TEAS(R) 7th Edition 2023-2024 Study Guide: 1,100+ Practice Questions and TEAS 7 Exam Prep! Trivium Test Prep's ATI TEAS 7th Edition 2023-2024 Study Guide includes everything you need to pass the ATI TEAS the first time.Quick review of the concepts covered on the ATI TEAS Exam4 full practice tests with detailed answer explanationsTips and tricks from experienced nurses and nurse educators Trivium Test Prep's ATI TEAS 7th Edition 2023-2024 Study Guide is aligned with the official ATI TEAS Exam framework. Topics covered include: Reading TextReading GraphicsNumbers and OperationsAlgebraGeometryStatisticsHuman Anatomy and PhysiologyBiologyChemistryScientific ReasoningParts of SpeechSentence StructureWriting ATI(R) was not involved in the creation or production of this product, is not in any way affiliated with Trivium Test Prep, and does not sponsor or endorse this product.
Call Number: LB2353.7.T43 S56 2023x
Certified Healthcare Simulation Educator (CHSE(R)) Review, Plus more than 350 questions based on the latest exam blueprint
Note to Readers: Publisher does not guarantee quality or access to any included digital components if book is purchased through a third-party seller. The 3rd edition of Certified Healthcare Simulation Educator (CHSE(R)) Review is designed to help you prepare for the Society for Simulation in HealthcareTM (SSIH) certification exam. This comprehensive resource has been updated to closely reflect the latest exam blueprint and encompass current practices. Written by simulation and education experts, this book is organized in a user-friendly format and information is concise and easy-to-read. Chapters include teaching tips that explore key topics and evidence-based simulation practice boxes that include state-of-the-art evidence. Case studies are incorporated throughout to provide real-world application and promote critical thinking skills. Each chapter covers everything you need to know to pass the exam and includes end-of-chapter questions to check your knowledge. The review concludes with a full-length practice test to get you ready for exam day. With more than 350 practice questions, detailed review content and answer rationales, and a convenient print + digital package, this study aid empowers you with the tools and materials to study your way and the confidence to pass the first time, guaranteed! Know that you're ready. Know that you'll pass with Springer Publishing Exam Prep. Key Features Reflects the latest SSIH exam blueprint Provides a comprehensive yet concise review of essential knowledge for the exam Offers teaching tips and evidence-based simulation practice boxes to reinforce key concepts Features case studies to promote critical thinking and situational decision-making Includes end-of-chapter Q&A and a full practice test with detailed rationales Boosts your confidence with a 100% pass guarantee Includes digital access for use on most mobile devices or computers. For 70 years, it has been our greatest privilege to prepare busy nurses like you for professional certification and career success. Congratulations on qualifying to sit for the exam. Now let's get you ready to pass! CHSE(R) is a registered service mark of the Society for Simulation in HealthcareTM (SSIH). SSIHTM does not sponsor or endorse this resource, nor does it have a proprietary relationship with Springer Publishing.
Call Number: R834.5 .R48 2024
Communication in Midwifery: theory and practice
This new book explores communication in midwifery from a range of perspectives and across different settings. It considers the theoretical and practical dimensions of communication, including how and why we communicate and who we communicate with. It uses case studies and practical examples to put ideas into real-world context and to explore topic areas in ways which are thought-provoking, accessible and useful to practitioners.
Above all, Communication in Midwifery supports midwives in developing their theoretical understanding around communication and building a practical toolkit of ideas and strategies for use in a range of settings and with diverse groups of people. It helps midwives and other caregivers in navigating the nuanced and complex situations they encounter every day where clear, honest and collaborative communication is vital.
Covers communication in pregnancy, birth and the postnatal period; the use of written, verbal and non-verbal approaches; and complex scenarios where communication may be challenging, such as diverse groups, trauma and loss
Explores new methods of communicating, including the use of the internet and social media, and their benefits and challenges
Highlights the importance of communication between professions and ways this can be enhanced
Covers contemporary issues of consent, risk and safety in maternity care
Call Number: RG950 .C65 2024x
Community and Public Health Nursing: evidence for practice
From the competencies outlined in the Quad Council of Public Health Nursing Organizations (ACHNE) to the AACN's Essentials of Baccalaureate Education for Professional Nursing Practice and the Healthy People 2023 objectives, Community and Public Health Nursing: Evidence for Practice, 4th Edition, prepares your students to meet the challenges of today's community and public health nursing practice--and beyond--with an evidence-based perspective and an engaging suite of powerful learning tools. Guided by the premise that evidence-based practice improves quality performance, authors DeMarco and Healey-Walsh walk students through the process of gathering, assessing, analyzing, applying, and evaluating clinical evidence derived from epidemiology and other sources, incorporating immersive case studies, exercises, and clinical examples to help students interpret and apply statistical data to practice decisions. This 4th Edition is significantly updated to reflect the most timely topics in community and public health nursing practice, including COVID-19 preparedness, cultural diversity, health disparities, globalism, epidemiology and basic biostatistics, ethical considerations, and more. Dynamic activities and ancillaries round out this practical primer, instilling the critical thinking and clinical reasoning capabilities students will employ throughout their nursing careers.
Call Number: RT98 .H373 2024
Compassion Fatigue and Burnout in Nursing: enhancing professional quality of life
Praise for Past Editions "This book is a vital read for individuals and the collective nursing profession... I encourage those who are concerned about the collective nursing profession, about what nurse educators are teaching students, about healthcare's high staff turnover and poor patient quality outcomes to consider reading and using this book." - M. R. Morrow, RN, PhD., Nursing Science Quarterly "This book addresses the issue that all nurses eventually face at one time or another in their career, a loss of passion. The author takes readers on a journey to recapture their passion...Every nurse should read this book." -V. Hedderick, Doody's Review Service As relevant today as it was when the first edition was published in 2012--likely even more so after the devastation of COVID 19--Dr. Vidette Todaro-Franceschi delves deeper into issues surrounding professional quality of life (PQOL) for nurses and the intricate connection to caliber of care and healthcare outcomes. She offers new insights on compassion fatigue, burnout, moral distress, caring for the dying, PTSD, and workplace bullying and violence noting that while the COVID-19 pandemic has grossly exacerbated existing problems in the workplace it has also created a "perfect storm" for nurses to regain a sense of the meaning and purpose of their work. Written by an acknowledged expert in end-of-life education, professional quality of life, and clinical leadership, this book will help empower nurses so that they can create a healthier, more compassionate work environment. Supported by research but written from a holistic and personal perspective, the text includes real-life examples, strategies, and exercises that will help readers to identify negative patterns and explore ways to recapture the joy in their work lives. New to the Third Edition: Integrates the impact of COVID-19 on the nursing profession throughout Provides new information on enhancing PQOL for nurses Includes new real-life examples from multiple nursing disciplines Key Features: Articulates an ethic of care developed from a transdisciplinary perspective Offers a framework--the ART© model, for mindful healing, living and working Shares real-life examples from critical care, end-of-life, oncology, and other clinical areas Provides a template for nurses, nurse educators and leaders to address critical issues affecting nursing workforce health, happiness and the work environment Includes a Nurse Leaders Resource Kit to assist staff with improving PQOL
Call Number: RT86 .T63 2025
Core Curriculum for Nursing Professional Development, 6th Edition
Core Curriculum for Nursing Professional Development (6th ed.) is a comprehensive reference guide for nursing professional development (NPD) practitioners. Core Curriculum provides a foundation for fulfilling the roles and responsibilities of NPD practice as described in the specialty’s scope and standards. The 6th edition is now a full-text resource that can be used for certification review.
Call Number: RT76 .B78 2023x
Core Curriculum for Oncology Nursing
This definitive resource for the specialty of oncology nursing will help you prepare for oncology nursing practice and for OCN® certification! The Core Curriculum for Oncology Nursing, 7th Edition is the definitive resource for the specialty of oncology nursing, developed in collaboration with the Oncology Nursing Society. Organized to follow the OCN® Exam blueprint, this book covers the entire scope of oncology nursing, including screening and the continuum of cancer care, the scientific basis for practice, types of cancer, treatment modalities, palliation of symptoms, and cultural and spiritual care. An overview of each problem includes assessment, management, and expected patient outcomes. Edited by a team of oncology nursing experts led by Jeannine M. Brant and written in a streamlined outline format, the Core Curriculum is the #1 resource for the specialty of oncology nursing, for initial OCN® certification, and for OCN® recertification.
This definitive study resource for oncology nursing practice and the OCN® Examination is the only such resource developed in collaboration with and under the editorship of the Oncology Nursing Society.
Easy-to-use outline format makes study and review easier; it begins with theory and continues through the steps of the nursing process.
Safety Alerts and emphasis on safety highlight safety considerations to reduce errors and promote quality care.
Content on cancer treatment and related nursing care includes the mostcurrent and accurate information, preparing you for the OCN® Exam and for enhanced clinical practice.
Approximately 60 full-color illustrations and more than 150 summary tables explain complex concepts in oncology nursing, including up-to-date cancer staging information.
Coverage of pharmacologic and nonpharmacologic interventions includes both traditional and alternative therapies.
NEW! Updated content throughout reflects the 2022 OCN® Examination blueprint, along with the latest national and international guidelines and the most current research evidence.
NEW! A Myelofibrosis chapter is added to address this important cancer type, and a Social Determinants of Health and Financial Toxicity chapteraddresses the cost of cancer treatment and financial burden of cancer treatment on patients and families.
NEW! COVID-19–related content reflects the impact of the ongoing pandemic, including differential diagnoses for pulmonary symptoms and the impact of delayed cancer diagnosis and treatment.
NEW! Updated emphases mirror those of the American Association of Colleges of Nursing 2021 Essentials as well as the recommendations of the 2020-2030 Future of Nursing report.
Call Number: RC266 .C67 2023
Fast Facts About Stroke Care for the Advanced Practice Nurse
This practical guide to diagnostic tests, advanced treatments, medication management, research protocols, and best practice standards is a quick and handy reference for the advanced practice nurse caring for stroke patients. Fast Facts About Stroke Care for the Advanced Practice Nurse serves as an instructive resource for advanced practice providers not specializing in neurology or neurocritical care but who are increasingly called upon to care for patients suffering from stroke while integrating into a multidisciplinary stroke team.
This new book provides foundational information on the anatomy and physiology of the stroke patient, as well as diagnostic and assessment tools and details on treatment and education. In addition, the book provides important information on critical care, pharmacology, end-of-life management, and research, as well as examining the role of the advanced practice provider who is integrating within the core stroke team. Fast Facts About Stroke Care for the Advanced Practice Nurse provides advanced practice nurses with the essential knowledge they will need to successfully care for stroke patients while adapting into their role on the core stroke team.
Key Features:
Reflects the most current standards of the American Heart Association, American Stroke Association, and the leading certifying organizations
Foundational information on stroke care, anatomy, and physiology
Comprehensive review of diagnostic studies and treatments
Information on stroke research protocols, pharmacology, and end-of-life management
Advanced level resource for new and seasoned advanced practice providers
Call Number: RC388.5 .M67 2024
Health Promotion and Disease Prevention for Advanced Practice: Integrating Evidence-Based Lifestyle Concepts
Health Promotion and Disease Prevention for Advanced Practice: Integrating Evidence-Based Lifestyle Concepts is a unique new resource that is not afraid to address lifestyle concepts that can change the trajectory of healthcare in the United States and globally. It provides practical, evidence-based approaches to reduce the pandemic of preventable lifestyle-related chronic diseases such as heart disease, hypertension, some strokes, type 2 diabetes, obesity, and multiple types of cancer. It provides nurse practitioners and physician assistants with the lifestyle management tools needed to contribute to a higher level of care to promote health and prevent disease.The authors take a deep dive into the literature regarding lifestyle concepts and practical management of lifestyle-related chronic diseases. They discuss the root causes of diseases and approaches for patient-centered care, strategies for health promotion reimbursement, and trending telehealth delivery of health care. Health Promotion and Disease Prevention for Advanced Practice: Integrating Evidence-Based Lifestyle Concepts is the only resource that provides evidence-based, practical approaches to encouraging patient adherence to healthy behaviors.
Call Number: RA427.8 .D69 2025x
Health Promotion and Health Education in Nursing
Health promotion is a core nursing topic and for the past decade, as a nurse, you will be spending more time and energy in the community, doing preventative work and helping to rebalance services away from hospitals. You are expected to 'Make Every Contact Count' and look for opportunities to encourage healthier behaviours and lifestyles each time you engage with an individual. The recent Coronavirus epidemic has brought public health and health promotion activities even more sharply into the spotlight and this has made a huge impact on the work you do. This book focuses on health education - this is the core health promotion work that you will do on a daily basis and it is ideal for those studying at Masters level. It takes an international approach, with Ruth Cross being extremely experienced with a proven track record in the health promotion community. This book includes: Explanations of the theory and context of health promotion and health education International content from people in the field including Norway, Australia and Ghana ′Tutorial Triggers′, ′Points to Ponder′ and ′Time to Reflect′ features, encouraging you to apply the chapter content to your practice Real-life examples across the lifespan and in a range of different settings
Call Number: RT97 .C76 2024x
iCare's Nursing Informatics Certification Exam Review (NICER) practice exams I & II
This booklet contains two practice exams and answer keys to aide in your preparation for the ANCC Informatics Nurse Board Certification Exam.
Call Number: RT50.5 .I22 2023x
Maternity, Newborn, and Women's Health Nursing: a case based approach
Delivering a comprehensive, case-based approach drawn from real-world nursing scenarios, Maternity, Newborn, and Women's Health Nursing: A Case-Based Approach, 2nd Edition, brings patient-based care practices to life to help students master concepts, retain information, and think like nurses--whether they're applying clinical judgment on the Next Generation NCLEX® or ensuring optimal care in clinical practice. In-depth case studies threaded throughout the text introduce essential clinical content and reinforce the clinical relevance of key concepts by immersing students in patient-based narratives accompanied by engaging learning aids, quizzes, and application exercises that challenge students to apply what they've learned. Unit I confidently prepares students for clinicals, familiarizing them with preconception-to-postpartum care of individuals with common pregnancy-related pathologies and sequelae. Units II-IV detail uncomplicated pregnancies, high-risk conditions, and women's health, incorporating recurring patient encounters to encourage empathy, stimulate learning, and reinforce understanding. Now even more approachable, this extensively revised 2nd Edition employs bias-free, gender-neutral language and a holistic emphasis on inclusivity and diversity to strengthen students' cultural competence and ensure culturally sensitive patient care. Updated content empowers students with the latest coverage of COVID-19 and gender-affirming care, as well as new and enhanced learning features that reinforce essential nursing competencies and help students make a confident transition to clinical practice.
Call Number: RG951 .O44 2024
Medical-Surgical Nursing: concepts for clinical judgement and collaborative care
Learn the clinical judgment skills you need to succeed on the Next-Generation NCLEX® Exam and in medical-surgical nursing practice with Iggy’s trendsetting, concept-based approach! Ignatavicius’s Medical-Surgical Nursing, 11th Edition provides a solid foundationinnursing care that ispatient-centered, evidence-based, and collaborative.
UNIQUE! Unparalleled focus on clinical judgment and systems thinking ensures alignment with the NCSBN Clinical Judgment Measurement Model and emphasizes the six cognitive skills that you’ll need in order to develop effective clinical judgment, to succeed when taking the Next-Generation NCLEX® Exam (NGN), and to enter clinical practice as a safe, competent, compassionate generalist nurse.
UNIQUE! Data-driven Concept and Exemplar selections provide a strong foundation in professional nursing concepts and health and illness concepts, with application in each chapter.
UNIQUE! Exceptional emphasis on NGN preparation includes chapter-opening Learning Outcomes and chapter-ending Get Ready for the Next-Generation NCLEX Examination! sections, plus NCLEX Examination Challenge questions and Mastery and NGN Questions, with an answer key including rationales on the Evolve website.
Consistent use of interprofessional terminology promotes interprofessional collaboration through the use of a common healthcare language, instead of using nursing-specific diagnostic language.
Emphasis on patient safety highlights safety and evidence-based practice with Nursing Safety Priority boxes, as well as Drug Alert, Critical Rescue, and Action Alert boxes.
Focus on care coordination and transition management addresses the continuity of care between acute care and community-based care.
Direct, easy-to-read writing style features concise sentences and straightforward vocabulary, making this one of the most readable medical-surgical nursing textbooks available.
Sherpath (sold separately) for Ignatavicius et al. Medical-Surgical Nursing, 11th Edition provides an interactive, adaptive learning experience!
NEW! Updated content throughout reflects the most current, evidence-based clinical practice in medical-surgical nursing, including the latest national and international guidelines.
NEW and UNIQUE! Key components of AACN’s 2021 Essentials are integrated throughout, including the four “spheres of nursing care: health promotion/disease prevention, chronic disease care, regenerative or restorative care, and hospice/palliative/supportive care.
NEW! One unfolding case for the Next-Generation NCLEX® Exam (NGN) in each Concepts of Care chapter replaces the previous open-ended Clinical Judgment Challenge questions, and each includes multiple questions for the NGN, or 2-3 Bowtie or Trend questions for the NGN.
NEW! Enhanced emphasis on need-to-know content with streamlined A&P and pathophysiology content provides a solid foundation for beginning nurse generalists, including the most important patient problems for each health condition and an emphasis on what is most relevant to nursing care.
NEW and UNIQUE! Iggy’s approach to care views medical and nursing management through the lens of the nursing process and the six cognitive skills of the NCSBN Clinical Judgment Measurement Model, and aligns with the Interprofessional Education Collaborative (IPEC) Core Competencies for Interprofessional Collaborative Practice.
NEW! Case Studies for the NGN on the Evolve website are updated from the previous open-ended question style to questions for the NGN.
NEW and UNIQUE! Key Points in Concepts of Care chapters summarize essential information for each of the nursing spheres with a four-quadrant matrix corresponding to the four spheres of care from the 2021 AACN Essentials.
NEW! Essential Points for Assessment are included at the end of chapters to emphasize critical information in alignment with the 2021 AACN Essentials.
NEW and UNIQUE! The six domains recommended for inclusion in nursing education in the 2020-2030 Future of Nursing Report are incorporated into the textbook, including new Nurse Well-Being boxes, covering the domains of health equity and health care equity, social determinants of health, ethics, environmental health, disaster/public health emergencies, and nurse well-being.
NEW! Coverage of COVID-19 is expanded into an Exemplar disorder, highlighting the multifaceted aspects of care including critical care, and COVID-19 content is also interwoven into other body systems chapters.
NEW! Enhanced index includes all figures, tables, and special boxes, as well as the following types of content:
Legal/ethical issues (including boxes)
Health equity (including boxes)
Veteran health (including boxes)
Older adult health (including boxes)
Health promotion/disease prevention
Critical care topics
Trauma topics
Physical disability topics
Chronic disease topics
Interprofessional collaboration topics (including IPEC boxes)
Healthcare technologies
Evidence-based practice (including boxes)
Quality improvement/systems thinking (including boxes)
NEW! Ethical/Legal Considerations boxes are changed to Legal/Ethical Considerations boxes and increased in number throughout the book to reflect the growing challenges of clinical practice.
NEW! Sequential numbering systems (one for boxes, one for tables) are used for special boxes and Drug Therapy and Lab Profile tables throughout each chapter for quicker and more concise referencing.
Call Number: RT41 .I36 2024
Medical Terminology Made Easy: the easy-to-follow guide to mastering terminology for nursing and healthcare professionals. Quickly learn how to memorize and understand medical terms.
Whether you're a nursing student, healthcare professional, or simply interested in learning more about medical terminology, this guide has everything you need to succeed. It includes practice exercises and quizzes to reinforce your learning, as well as tips for continuing to build your medical terminology skills after completing the guide. With this guide, you'll be able to interpret medical terminology, learn and understand the basic fundamentals, and test your knowledge with multiple-choice questions.
In this book you will find:
Learn the basics of medical terminology quickly and efficiently
Understand and interpret the complex language used in the healthcare field
Perfect resource for nursing students, healthcare professionals, and those new to the field
Reinforce your learning with practice exercises and quizzes
Discover unique tips for continuing to build your medical terminology skills after completing the guide
Call Number: R123 .G73 2023x
Neonatal Intensive Care Nursing Exam Prep Study Guide
Neonatal Intensive Care Nursing Exam Prep Study Guide gets right to the point with a targeted content based on the latest NCC exam blueprint. This easy-to-follow guide includes all the tools you need to prepare, practice, and pass the exam--and nothing you don't. PLUS the convenience and community of ExamPrepConnect for access anytime, anywhere, across all your devices. PREPARE Concise coverage of the content you'll be tested on. Quick-reference features with complications, alerts, and nursing pearls. Need-to-know information to prepare you for exam day. PRACTICE Two full-length practice tests--one in book and one online--to assess your readiness and simulate the test-taking experience. Detailed rationales for correct and incorrect answers. Pop quizzes that highlight key information you don't want to miss. PASS The first time with Springer Publishing Exam Prep's 100% Pass Guarantee. With confidence, knowing you're well-prepared with all the skills and knowledge you need on exam day and in practice. With pride in your commitment to patient health and safety. ExamPrepConnect included with your study guide! Take a full-length timed practice test. Build custom quizzes or study by exam topic. Sharpen your test-taking skills with interactive Q&A tools. Keep on track with your Personalized Study Plan. Use the Strengths & Weaknesses Dashboard to optimize your study time. Take notes, highlight, and bookmark content. Study with your peers in the community discussion boards. Access everything on any device. RNC-NIC(R) is a registered trademark of National Certification Corporation (NCC). NCC does not endorse this exam preparation resource, nor do they have a proprietary relationship with Springer Publishing Company.
Call Number: RJ253 .N46 2024x
Pathophysiology and Pharmacology in Nursing
Written in clear language and specifically for the nursing context, the new edition of this bestselling book is your ultimate guide to pathophysiology and pharmacology. Through a uniquely integrated approach, the book develops your knowledge of both the pathology of common conditions and their pharmacological treatment. This holistic approach builds your knowledge of the key concepts and processes, with real world examples illustrating their application to nursing practice. Key features Logical structure that starts with the basics and before developing your understanding of more complex areas Real world case studies demonstrate the application of pathophysiology and pharmacology across all fields of nursing A clear and concise writing style makes complex terminology and biological processes easy to understand Revised and updated in line with contemporary evidence and best practice Mapped to the 2018 NMC Standards
Call Number: RM300 .A75 2024x
Reflective Practice: reimagining ourselves, reimagining nursing, Third Edition
The 3rd edition of the Reflective Practice book is particularly timely considering the current context of healthcare settings following the acute phase of a global pandemic. The public is aware that nursing is the heart, soul, and backbone of the healthcare profession. Nurse suffering is widespread, some nurses are stepping away, and both healthcare education and practice settings are called on to respond. This book provides a roadmap for how nurse educators can reimage learning environments and guide learners in developing competencies for building effective relationships, psychologically safe inclusive environments, and meaning and purpose. Educators, students, and nurses are invited to connect through meaning, purpose, ethics, and theory that grounds them in caring consciousness. Nurse educators who engage students through reflective practice and create safe spaces to explore what it means to be a nurse invest in the future of nursing to secure global health.Specifically, this book guides educators and nurses on how to facilitate learners at all levels for digging deeply into themselves to cultivate a critical awareness of who they are, and their values, beliefs, and assumptions as the beginning point for engaging in caring relationships with others. Reflective practice facilitates each of us in understanding how this personal knowing informs our moral, ontological, and intellectual practice as a nurse, developing awareness for achieving social justice, diversity, and inclusion. Teaching and practicing nursing are relational endeavors ? thus, relationships play a crucial role in understanding the complexity of nursing practice and the way we work together inter- and intra-professionally.Reflective Practice, 3rd Edition, pulls together multiple approaches for self-development individually and collectively through adaptable exercises and micro-practices, bringing awareness of invisible biases contributing to microaggressions. This book also incorporates caring science and quality and safety? emphasizing lifelong learning and the significance of being in community with others. Authors Sara Horton-Deutsch and Gwen Sherwood provide a rich resource for academic and clinical nurse educators, students, and practicing nurses interested in developing their leadership capacity or their own professional advancement.
Call Number: RT82 .S54 2024
RNC-OB Exam Prep Study Guide: print review plus 350 questions based on the latest exam blueprint
RNC-OB® Exam Prep Study Guide gets right to the point with a targeted content based on the latest NCC exam blueprint. This easy-to-follow guide includes all the tools you need to prepare, practice, and pass the exam—and nothing you don't. PLUS the convenience and community of ExamPrepConnect for access anytime, anywhere, across all your devices.
PREPARE
Concise coverage of the content you'll be tested on.
Quick-reference features with complications, alerts, and nursing pearls.
Need-to-know information to prepare you for exam day.
PRACTICE
A full-length practice tests — to assess your readiness and simulate the test-taking experience.
Detailed rationales for correct and incorrect answers.
Pop quizzes that highlight key information you don't want to miss.
PASS
The first time with Springer Publishing Exam Prep's 100% Pass Guarantee.
With confidence, knowing you're well-prepared with all the skills and knowledge you need on exam day and in practice.
With pride in your commitment to patient health and safety
Call Number: RG111 .R63 2024x
Teaching in Nursing: a guide for faculty
Now in its 25th-anniversary edition, Billings and Halstead’s Teaching in Nursing: A Guide for Faculty, 7th Edition prepares you for the day-to-day challenges of teaching future nurses for practice in today's rapidly evolving healthcare system. This comprehensive resource covers all four components of nursing education: teaching and learning, curriculum, evaluation, and technology-empowered learning. You’ll benefit from the expert guidance on such key issues as curriculum and test development, diverse learning styles, the redesign of healthcare systems, advances in technology and information, global health and curricular experiences, the flipped classroom, interprofessional education, and interprofessional collaborative practice. New to the 7th edition is a full-color design for improved learning and reference; increased use of illustrations, tables, and boxes to promote learning through enhanced usability; updated content throughout to reflect the latest trends in nursing education, including up-to-date content on the Next-Generation NCLEX® Exam; expanded use of high-quality case studies throughout the book; chapter-ending key points; new practice questions for nurse educator certification on a companion Evolve website; and much more!
UNIQUE! Chapter on Global Health and Curricular Experiences focuses on internationalization of the nursing curriculum, with an emphasis on leading international learning experiences; policies, procedures, and guidelines for overseas study; and global and health competencies for health professions programs.
Coverage of concept-based curricula includes strategies on how to approach and implement concept-based instruction.
Pedagogical aids include Reflecting on the Evidence boxes, covering such issues as how to do evidence-based teaching; applications of evidence-based teaching; implications for faculty development, administration, and the institution; and how to use the open-ended application questions at the end of each chapter for faculty-guided discussion.
Strategies to promote clinical judgment and active learning are incorporated throughout the text, highlighting various evaluation techniques, lesson planning insights, and tips for developing examinations.
Guidance on teaching in diverse settings addresses such topics as the models of clinical teaching, teaching in interdisciplinary settings, how to evaluate students in the clinical setting, and how to adapt teaching for community-based practice.
Strong emphasis on teaching clinical judgment, new models of clinical education, and responding to needs for creating inclusive multicultural teaching-learning environments.
NEW! Updated content throughout reflects the latest evidence-based guidelines for best practices in teaching and learning.
NEW! Expanded use of high-quality case studies (two per chapter on average) serves to model sound judgment for beginning nurse educators.
UNIQUE! Full-color design and expanded use of illustrations, tables, and boxes improves accessibility and promotes learning through improved visual appeal.
NEW! Updated content reflects changes in nursing education related to the global COVID-19 pandemic, including the shift to online learning, increased reliance on virtual experiences in lieu of face-to-face clinical experiences, and more.
NEW! Updated content includes guidance on preparing students for the Next-Generation NCLEX® Examination, which represents the most significant revision in the licensure exam since the rollout of alternate-format questions.
NEW! Chapter-ending key points serve as a helpful review and nurse education certification study aid.
Call Number: RT71 .T336 2024x
Medicine
Advanced Health Assessment and Clinical Diagnosis in Primary Care
Take the next step in health assessment by building your skills in diagnostic and clinical reasoning! Advanced Health Assessment and Clinical Diagnosis in Primary Care, 7th Edition goes beyond the basic physical examination to help you learn to accurately evaluate common conditions. Organized by patient symptoms or complaints, the book follows a systematic approach beginning with a chief concern rather than a specific diagnosis or disease entity, then guides you step-by-step through a diagnostic reasoning process to lead to a clinical diagnosis. This edition includes new chapters on veterans'' health and on contemporary approaches in primary care settings, as well as updated content on issues such as race, ethnicity, and gender identity. Written by a team of advanced practitioners led by Joyce E. Dains, this AJN award-winning text helps you learn to think like an expert clinician. Clear, consistent diagnostic reasoning process takes you to the next step of health assessment - beyond basic history and physical examination to diagnostic reasoning and clinical diagnosis. Diagnostic Reasoning: Focused History sections use "self-questions" to walk you through the thinking process involved in obtaining a pertinent, relevant, problem-specific history that will assist in differential diagnosis. Diagnostic Reasoning: Focused Physical Examination sections explain how to perform more advanced diagnostic techniques and interpret the findings. Key Questions guide you through assessment and toward an accurate diagnosis by listing questions to ask the patient, followed by explanations of what the patient''s responses might signify. Laboratory and Diagnostic Studies sections outline the types of tests that might be appropriate based on the focused history and focused physical examination. Differential Diagnosis sections offer the most common diagnoses for each patient problem and summarize the history and physical examination findings, along with recommended laboratory and diagnostic studies. Differential Diagnosis tables provide a quick-reference summary of possible diagnoses for each patient problem. UNIQUE! Care of Transgender and Gender-Diverse (TGD) Patients chapter equips you with the necessary knowledge to properly assess and care for this underserved patient population. Content on pediatrics is integrated throughout to give a true lifespan focus. Information on screening for abuse and sexual assault helps you identify patients who might need additional support or intervention. Evidence-Based Clinical Practice Guidelines chapter helps you to screen for common asymptomatic conditions and promote wellness. Information on screening for abuse and sexual assault helps identify patients who might need additional support or intervention. List of Chapters by Body System inside the front cover provides an alternate means of accessing book content. Compact, convenient size makes it easy to carry this reference in a lab-coat pocket, and colored thumb tabs make it easier to find the information you need. Advanced Practice Nursing (APN) content on advanced assessment serves as a perfect complement to Ball et al.: Seidel''s Guide to Physical Examination and other health assessment textbooks. NEW! Updated content throughout reflects the latest evidence-based approaches to clinical diagnosis and diagnostic reasoning. NEW and UNIQUE! Contemporary Approaches in Primary Care Settings chapter applies public health principles to primary care in the era of COVID-19, and also includes coverage of telehealth/telemedicine, screenings, immunizations, epidemics and pandemics, health promotion, basic epidemiological terminology, and the cultural-spiritual-holistic context of primary care. NEW! Updated content on race, ethnicity, sexual orientation, and gender identity includes special sensitivity to healthcare inequality related to social determinants of health. NEW and UNIQUE! Veterans'' Health chapter covers the health concerns of veterans, such as military sexual trauma (MST) and hazardous exposures. NEW and UNIQUE! Scrotal Pain and Masses chapter addresses this common problem seen in primary care settings. NEW! Updated Evidence-Based Practice boxes summarize the latest scientific literature related to the diagnosis of patient problems.
Call Number: RC71.5 .D35 2024
Bailey's Head and Neck Surgery-Otolaryngology
Designed to enhance the learning experience for both practicing otolaryngologists and otolaryngology residents, Bailey's Head & Neck Surgery--Otolaryngology, 6th Edition, delivers concise, practical information in all areas of this complex field. Dr. Clark A. Rosen (Laryngology) and his hand-picked editorial team representing all of the sub-disciplines of Head & Neck Surgery-Otolaryngology of Drs. Stacey Gray (rhinology), Patrick Ha (Head and Neck Surgery), Charles Limb (Otology), Stephen Park (Facial Plastics and Reconstructive Surgery), and Gresham Richter (Pediatric Otolaryngology) ensure that all content in this two-volume text is current, useful, and evidence based. Each chapter has been written to increase the reader's understanding, retention, and ability to successfully apply information in everyday practice. Features 238 concise chapters covering Basic Science/General Medicine, Rhinology and Allergy, Comprehensive Otolaryngology, Laryngology, Trauma, Pediatric Otolaryngology, Head and Neck Surgery, Sleep Medicine, Otology, Facial Plastic and Reconstructive Surgery, and Contemporary Issues. Includes new chapters on Diagnosis of Pediatric Sleep Disorders, Pediatric Facial Trauma, Endoscopic Ear Surgery, Robotics in Head and Neck Surgery, and Ethics in Otolaryngology. Contains more than 3,000 full-color illustrations; helpful summary tables on diagnosis, treatment, complications, and emergencies; and supplemental videos that make complex topics easier to understand. Provides bulleted lists at the end of each chapter for a quick review of key concepts. Enrich Your eBook Reading Experience Read directly on your preferred device(s), such as computer, tablet, or smartphone. Easily convert to audiobook, powering your content with natural language text-to-speech.
Call Number: RF51 .H43 2023
Comprehensive Wound Management
Comprehensive Wound Management, Third Edition is back with a timely update providing a comprehensive overview of wounds---from etiology to intervention. Featuring more than 300 full-color images, photos, tables, and graphs to aid students in recognizing different types of wounds when performing examination and providing interventions, Comprehensive Wound Management, Third Edition goes beyond the call of duty of a traditional textbook. The book breaks down each of the common wound types, neuropathic, pressure, and vascular, into individual chapters that may be utilized for a holistic approach to learning or as stand-alone reading assignments. Comprehensive Wound Management, Third Edition also covers classes of interventions, plan of care, documentation, and other administrative concerns such as reimbursement and regulations that must be considered in real-life practice of wound management. A major emphasis is placed on teaching how to perform interventions instead of simply mentioning them in context. What's new to the Third Edition: Updated terminology and other changes recently instituted by the National Pressure Injury Advisory Panel Up-to-date information regarding reimbursement and regulations Boxes with summaries of performing examinations and interventions Short-answer questions at the end of each chapter Instructors in educational settings can also visit www.efacultylounge.com for additional instructional resources. Comprehensive Wound Management, Third Edition proves to be as invaluable a text as its previous editions and remains a must-have resource for physical therapy students and clinicians, certified wound specialists, rehabilitation professionals, and any health care provider who is managing the treatment of wounds.
Call Number: RD93 .I75 2024
Essential Procedures for Emergency, Urgent, and Primary Care Settings, Third Edition
This text is a user-friendly guide to performing 77 clinical procedures, ranging from those commonly performed to those infrequently called upon when minutes count in emergency, urgent, and primary care settings. This heavily updated third edition includes current and comprehensive text, graphic, and video instruction on the use of bedside ultrasound for procedural guidance in order to increase procedural accuracy and mitigate complications. Edited and written by academically accomplished physicians, physician assistants, and nurse practitioners, an interprofessional approach to the performance of procedures is highlighted throughout the book. Procedures are consistently formatted and presented in clear language with step-by-step detail organized by system-specific categories for easy access to information. Each procedure includes background considerations, indications & contraindications for performing the procedure, technique for safe and correct performance, special considerations, complications, post-procedure considerations, and patient education points. Original photos, videos, high quality sonographic footage, line drawings, and tables reinforce the guidelines and procedures. Abundant "Clinical Pearls" throughout the manuscript offer practical applications of key information representing years of clinical technical experience. Extensive references at the end of each chapter further enhance the book's utilityNew to the Third Edition: Delivers 16 completely new chapters covering a plethora of newly added procedures, incorporating an interprofessional approach to performing proceduresPrevious chapters have been extensively updated and expandedProvides new illustrative videosPresents a corresponding list of CPT codesKey Features: Delivers current, concise, step-by-step information for performing 77 commonly and less commonly used clinical proceduresProvides abundant four-color photos and figures illustrating each procedureOrganized by body system to provide fast access to key informationEnriched with point of care ultrasound guided proceduresThoroughly introduces and teaches sonography at the most fundamental level as an important tool to enhance accuracy of proceduresReflects latest guidelines and evidence-based practiceIncludes prominently displayed links to numerous videos throughout the textIncludes 12 months' free Springer Connect Digital Access with print purchase!
Call Number: E-book
The Foundation and Art of Robotic Surgery
The first multimedia medical text of its kind―presenting the most comprehensive and up-to-date full-color material about robotics in General Surgery. The Foundation and Art of Robotic Surgery facilitates the learning of surgery while applying robotic technology in multiple anatomical locations, using a comprehensive, concise and practical description of each standardized surgical procedure. The book provides clear descriptions of the instrument requirements, indications and relative contraindications to the robotic approach, preoperative phases including trocar placement, patient positioning, OR set-up, and a detailed description of the operative steps. Each operation is divided into steps with specific timeframes, for learning and teaching purposes. Readers will learn how to use robots to make smaller incisions, decrease blood loss and postoperative pain, as well as foster quicker healing time and reduce hospital stays. Written by the senior editors with the contribution of internationally renowned robotic surgeons and academics, this is an invaluable resource for both beginner and experienced surgeons performing robotic procedures for the first time. The Foundation and Art of Robotic Surgery features: 900+ photos and 900+ drawings of the standard anatomy, anatomical variations and surgical maneuvers Access to 200+ videos (video clips of the main steps and full procedures videos) Fifty-one chapters covering General Principles of Robotic Surgery, Thyroid Surgery, Chest Surgery, Gastric and Bariatric Surgery, Intestinal Surgery, Spleen and Pancreas Surgery, Liver Surgery, Transplant Surgery, and more Clear, concise presentation of the instruments, tools, material, indications and relative contraindications to the robotic approach, preoperative phases and each operative steps Boxed text highlighting tips and tricks, anatomical notions, common pitfalls, editorial comments and average time frames Techniques for robotic transplant surgery, renal aneurysm repair and single port robotic surgery principles
Call Number: E-book
The General Surgeon's Guide to Passing the Oral Boards
A comprehensive, accessible study resource for the general surgery oral boards Preparing for the American Board of Surgery certifying exam can be daunting. Based on the ACS curriculum outline, The General Surgeon's Guide to Passing the Oral Boards is an invaluable tool for maximizing your study time. The unique format makes this book optimal for quick referencing and self-study. The table of contents is broken down by organ system and surgical sub-specialties. Topics on the curriculum are categorized as either core or advanced. Each chapter begins with a list of topics. And each disease process is covered along with the relevant points of the history and physical, work-up, staging, treatment options, key surgical steps, and post-operative care. Designed as a tool to study for the oral boards, this is also an ideal quick reference guide for residents and practicing surgeons looking to brush up on procedural steps or the work up of complex conditions.
Call Number: E-book
The Handbook of Minimally-Invasive Colorectal Surgery
Publisher's Note: Products purchased from Third Party sellers are not guaranteed by the publisher for quality, authenticity, or access to any online entitlements included with the product. A concise, full-color, step-by-step guide to performing colorectal surgery This well-illustrated new book delivers succinct guidance on performing minimally invasive (laparoscopic and robotic) colon and rectal surgery, written primarily for an audience of general surgery residents and fellows in colorectal surgery and surgical oncology. The Handbook of Minimally Invasive Colorectal Surgery takes a high-yield, bulleted approach to describe how to get started with a procedure; how to perform common surgeries of the intestine, colon, and rectum; and how to manage common intraoperative problems in colorectal surgery. Alternatives to each step are discussed, along with common pitfalls and how to avoid them. Full-color illustrations and intraoperative images alongside narrated videos take readers step-by-step through the operations most often performed by general surgeons, colorectal surgeons, and surgical oncologists. This edition includes the latest innovations and procedures in minimally invasive and robotic colorectal surgery.
Call Number: E-book
LANGE Vascular and Endovascular Surgery: Clinical Diagnosis and Management
A concise introduction to clinical diagnosis and management--with 1,500+ practice questions and answers for effective board prep Lange Vascular and Endovascular Surgery: Clinical Diagnosis and Management is the essential, quick-reference guide for residents and attending physicians in vascular surgery, general surgery, interventional cardiology, and interventional radiology. Providing a concise overview of vascular medicine, this unparalleled guide is perfect for a wide range of providers, including vascular surgeons, general surgeons, interventional radiologists, interventional cardiologists, and nurse practitioners and physician assistants who specialize in vascular medicine. Chapters are templated, and include general considerations, anatomy, clinical findings, treatment, complications of therapy and management, guidelines, and management algorithms. Features 800+ illustrations and images, including CT scans, MRIs, x-rays, and anatomic renderings 1,500+ multiple-choice questions and answers for board preparation Clear, concise presentation of the etiology, pathogenesis, clinical findings, differential diagnosis, and medical/surgical treatment of major vascular conditions High-yield descriptions of the latest diagnostic modalities and management protocols
Call Number: E-book
Manual of Structural Kinesiology
Manual of Structural Kinesiology, 22e provides a straightforward view of human anatomy and its relation to movement. While the manual is designed for use in undergraduate structural kinesiology courses, other clinicians and educators will also benefit from the text. The manual clearly identifies specific muscles and muscle groups and describes exercises for strengthening and developing those muscles. The author’s goal continues to be to provide important information in an accessible format through a combination of logical presentation, extensive and clear illustrations, and concise writing style. Brand New, International Global Edition
Call Number: E-book
Molmenti's Kidney and Pancreas Transplantation : operative techniques and medical management
This illustrated, concise guide covers everything you need to know about transplanting the kidney and pancreas
With over 1,000 high-quality images, illustrations, tables, and bulleted text, Molmenti’s Kidney and Pancreas Transplantation Management addresses transplantation in a highly visual, concise, and concrete way. Readers will find its approach to be diverse, equitable, inclusive, and multi-disciplinary.
The highly structured sections and chapters provide rapid information, depth of comprehension, and strength of knowledge to be applied in routine as well as in emergency situations. Each chapter includes an overview of the essentials of kidney disease, patient management, operative techniques, pathology, and imaging.
Molmenti’s Kidney and Pancreas Transplantation covers:
Kidney TransplantationoPre- and Post-Transplant Medical Considerations
oDonor and Recipient Evaluations
oImmunology
oPharmacology
oAnesthesia
oOperative Techniques for Donors and Recipients
oQuality Management
oPediatric Kidney Transplantation
oCutaneous Manifestations
oImaging
oPathology
•Pancreas Transplantation
oOperative Technique
oComplications
oPathology
oImaging
•Islet Cell Transplantation
•Clinicopathologic Cases
Call Number: E-book
Patient Safety: investigating and reporting serious clinical incidents
The second edition of this well-received book, the first to provide detailed guidance on how to conduct incident investigations in primary care, has been thoroughly revised and updated throughout to reflect the current nomenclature for different aspects of the investigatory process in the UK and the latest format for incident reporting. Key features: Explains how to recognise a serious clinical incident, how to conduct a root cause analysis (RCA) investigation, and how and when duty of candour applies Covers the technical aspects of serious incident recognition and report writing Includes a wealth of practical advice and 'top tips', including how to manage the common pitfalls in writing reports Offers practical advice as well as some new and innovative tools to help make the RCA process easier to follow Explores the all-important human factors in clinical incidents in detail, with multiple examples and worked-through cases studies as well as in-depth sample reports and analysis. At a time of increasing regulatory scrutiny and medico-legal risk, in which failure to manage appropriately can have serious consequences both for service organisations and for individuals involved, this concise and convenient book continues to provide a master class for anyone performing RCA and aiming to demonstrate learning and service improvement in response to serious clinical incidents. It is essential reading for any clinical or governance leads in primary care, including GP practices, 'out-of-hours', urgent care centres, prison health and NHS 111. It also offers valuable insights to any clinician who is in training or working at the coal face who wishes to understand how serious clinical incidents are investigated and managed.
Call Number: R729.8 .K45 2024
Zollinger's Atlas of Surgical Operations, Eleventh Edition
Packed with 1,800 images--the gold-standard resource for performing surgical procedures safely and effectively has been fully updated and revised Zollinger's Atlas of Surgical Operations has been the most trusted text of its kind for more than 50 years. This new edition follows the proven-effective design of previous editions, with each procedure fully explained across an illustrated two-page spread. The right page contains stunningly rendered line drawings with color highlights depicting every important action surgeons must consider while performing the operation; the facing page includes consistently formatted coverage of indications, preoperative preparation, anesthesia, position, operative preparation, incision and exposure, procedure, closure, and postoperative care. Zollinger's Atlas of Surgical Operations is useful as a general surgery refresher or for learning a particular procedure. Thirteen added chapters cover procedures not in previous editions, including: *Robotic surgery *Laparoscopic surgery *Endovascular procedures
Call Number: E-book
Management/Employee Development Books
Accountability and Professionalism in Nursing and Healthcare
This is the ideal textbook for students and practitioners of all levels. Using over 130 frequently asked questions and corresponding answers, the style makes you feel as though you′re talking to an expert. The layout is easy to use and accessible, with all answers written in line with Nursing and Healthcare regulations. Questions include:If I have concerns about a colleague what should I do? Can a patient demand a specific treatment? When is it possible to treat a patient without their consent? What happens at a Coroner's Inquest? Find answers to these and many more questions to unravel the complexities of accountability and professionalism in nursing and healthcare.
Call Number: R725.5 .C67 2023x
Effective Writing for Healthcare Professionals: a pocket guide to getting published
This new edition of Effective Writing for Healthcare Professionals is an invaluable insider's guide to publishing, providing tips and advice for time-poor professionals working in the healthcare sector. But how do you get published? Where do you start? How do you know if your writing is good enough and what can you learn to make it better? Offering an accessible guide to the key issues, this is the perfect book for those who have busy working lives and find the process of writing challenging. It covers issues ranging from getting started to the winning habits of successful authors; from the rights and responsibilities of authors to how to get noticed. This new edition has been updated to include guidance on publishing norms, collaborative digital platforms, social media, and the impact of the COVID-19 pandemic on publishing trends. Written by a best-selling academic author, this is an essential resource for novice writers and healthcare providers interested in publishing their work.
Call Number: R119 .J58 2024
Evaluating the Healthcare System: effectiveness, efficiency, and equity
Instructor Resources: test bank, transition guide, PowerPoint slides, and websites of interest. To see a sample, click on the Instructor Resource sample tab above. Student Resources (click here for access) Now in its fourth edition, this book defines and illustrates the application of effectiveness, efficiency, and equity criteria for evaluating health services system performance. It integrates the theories, issues, approaches, and methods of health services research, providing an excellent framework for understanding health services systems and change. The authors take a broad and integrative look at the role of public health and personal care services in enhancing community well-being. This edition has been revised and updated throughout and includes the following new features: Two new discussions have been added on the nature of the health policymaking process and problems in health policy research. The section on populations at risk has been expanded to reflect recent literature on equity disparities related to predisposing, enabling, and need-related characteristics. The discussion of realized access has been revised to emphasize the mutable factors shown to contribute to disparities in health and in access to health services (such as insurance and education). Information about the Patient Protection and Affordable Care Act has been incorporated throughout the text Pay for performance, accountable care organizations, and medical homes are introduced as newer payment and care delivery models designed to improve the efficiency and quality of health services in the United States. The book concludes with a comprehensive new case study illustrating the application and integration of the three perspectives of health services research in evaluating a recent policy change.
Call Number: RA399.A3 E95 2013
The First Rule of Mastery: stop worrying about what people think of you
A USA Today Bestseller High-performance psychologist Michael Gervais presents a groundbreaking guide for overcoming what may be the single greatest constrictor of human potential: our fear of people's opinions (FOPO). FOPO shows up almost everywhere in our lives--and the consequences are great. When we let FOPO take control, we play it safe and small because we're afraid of what will happen on the other side of critique. When challenged, we surrender our viewpoint. We trade in authenticity for approval. We please rather than provoke. We chase the dreams of others rather than our own. But it doesn't have to be this way. In The First Rule of Mastery, Michael Gervais shows us that the key to leading a high-performance life is to redirect our attention from the world outside us to the world inside us. He reveals the mental skills and practices we need to overcome FOPO--the same skills he's taught to the top performers in the world, including sports MVPs, world-renowned artists and musicians, and Fortune 100 leaders and teams. Filled with fascinating stories from the worlds of sports and business, leading-edge science, and insights from the frontier of human performance, The First Rule of Mastery is a much-needed wake-up call that when we give more value to other people's opinions than we do our own, we live life on their terms, not ours.
Call Number: BF637.S8 G423 2024
Going on Offense: a leaders' playbook for perpetual innovation
#2 WALL STREET JOURNAL BESTSELLER NEXT BIG IDEA BOOK CLUB 2023 MUST READ BOOK FEATURED IN HARVARD BUSINESS REVIEW, FORTUNE, AND FAST COMPANY How do the most innovative and agile companies develop a winning mindset that runs throughout the entire organization? Going on Offense is a powerful resource for anyone looking to transform their organization and their people into a perpetual innovator. Based on a comprehensive seven-year study from Stanford University, Going on Offense provides an insider view into the drivers of success and challenges in 26 organizations--including industry giants like Apple, Tesla, Amazon, Microsoft, and Starbucks--along with actionable advice on replicating their winning approaches. In addition, the book highlights the similarities and differences among their five cultures, which, interestingly, mirror the five icons of industry who are leading or led them: Steve Jobs (Apple), Elon Musk (Tesla), Jeff Bezos (Amazon), Satya Nadella (Microsoft), and Howard Schultz (Starbucks). The findings draw on a survey of over six thousand executives, academics, and consumers and interviews with several dozen current and former employees of most of the 26 firms. Explore the challenges of once-innovative tech giants like Facebook and Google and the factors behind their struggles. Delve into the reasons behind an organization's decline through in-depth analysis and real-world examples. Going on Offense analyzes these cases and offers a practical playbook for companies and individuals looking to transform into a winning mindset. Written by world-renowned expert in transformation, bestselling author, and award-winning teacher, scholar, and global advisor, Behnam Tabrizi, Going on Offense is a must-read for any organization looking to stay innovative and competitive in today's rapidly changing market. Armed with this book, a company will be able to go on offense--continually improving its culture, adapting to new environments, and expanding into new territories.
Call Number: HD45 .T33 2023x
HBR Guide to Navigating the Toxic Workplace: set clear boundaries, change what you can, choose whether to stay
Is your workplace toxic? Toxic workplaces take many forms. Whether you're dealing with a narcissistic boss, a backstabbing colleague, endless microaggressions, or a culture of overwork and burnout, it can feel impossible to know what to do. Should you address the issue directly, play office politics, go to HR, or just keep your head down? The HBR Guide to Navigating the Toxic Workplace will help you set boundaries and change what you can while maintaining your mental health and self-respect through some of the toughest interpersonal challenges you'll face at work. You'll learn how to: Recognize what's fixable Help bring problems to light Keep your performance up Protect your reputation and your career Prevent a toxic culture from infecting your team Rebuild trust and psychological safety Move on if you choose, without burning bridges Arm yourself with the advice you need to succeed on the job, with the most trusted brand in business. Packed with how-to essentials from leading experts, the HBR Guides provide smart answers to your most pressing work challenges.
Call Number: HF5548.8 .H365 2023
How to Work with (Almost) Anyone: five questions for building the best possible relationships
Your happiness and your success depend on your working relationships The people you manage. How well you work with your boss. The way collaboration happens with colleagues and peers. How you connect with important prospects and key clients. But the hard truth is this: most of us leave the health and fate of these relationships to chance. We say "Hi," exchange pleasantries ... and hope for the best. But every relationship becomes suboptimal at some point, whether it's a good one that goes off the rails or one that was poor from the start. Mostly we are resigned to the fact that this is what happens: relationships always get a little broken, or a little stale, or a little worse. C'est la vie, c'est la guerre. Carry on. But it doesn't have to be like this. Every working relationship can be better. This book shows you how to build the best possible relationship. One conversation. Five questions. Detailed guidance on how to prepare and set the relationship up for success. Key insights on how to maintain the relationship so that it will continue to thrive.
Call Number: HD30.3 .B86 2023x
The Innovation Mindset: a proven method to fuel performance and results
Your team wants to change the world. Let them!
All humans have an innate drive to make great things. In The Innovation Mindset, Jennifer Kenny shows you exactly how to implement practices that will drive greater innovation, differentiate your products and solutions through better innovation, and maximize the innovation capacity of your team.
With her 25 years of experience in innovation practices that have driven measurable and sustainable results for customers, Kenny can prove that even the most complex technical industries—from robotics to medical research to international finance—can maximize success through empathetic innovation interventions.
Kenny’s Six Step Practice Model gives you a tangible ladder to climb by first discovering the innovative drive within yourself and then harnessing it to build a cooperative ecosystem designed to celebrate unplanned discoveries.
Her Three Levels of Innovation Capacity teaches you how innovation not only upscales the impact of your team but also the caliber and reach of your products and services.
Her revolutionary design-thinking and regenerative leadership frameworks give you the language and the road map to steer your business towards a buzzing, thriving future where “Eureka!” moments are the norm
Call Number: HD53 .K46 2023x
The Lean Toolbox, Sixth Edition
This is the 6th edition of a book that has become a standard reference to Lean principles, systems, and tools. It is used by Lean practitioners and Industrial Engineers in the UK, USA, Ireland, Scandinavia, South Africa, and Australia. Like earlier editions, the book is written in plain language, with minimal padding, especially for busy practitioners and managers at all levels. Previous editions have sold over 130,000 copies, and adapted versions have been translated into Danish, Chinese and German. Across its editions, the Lean Toolbox has been prescribed reading at several UK, US, Irish and South African universities, and has featured as a standard reference for the APICS / ASCM professional CPIM examination. This edition marks once again a significant update. New sections now cover digital tools and how these can support lean transformations, how to respond to complexity and uncertainty in the world firms operate in, and the importance of psychological safety in making sustainable improvements. Significant further revisions reflect advances in scheduling, demand management, problem solving, layout, and in many fundamental topics. Apart from updates in many sections, this new (Sixth) edition has new (or substantially revised) sections on Digital Lean, Process mining, Bottlenecks and floating bottlenecks, Demand management and demand categories, A Scheduling framework, Psychological safety, Environmental sustainability, The Job Characteristics Model, A TPM Maintenance framework, Scrum and Agile, Seru Cells, OODA vs PDSA, and Engagement
Call Number: HD31 .B534 2023x
Modernize Your Resume: Get Noticed...Get Hired
Based on today's real-world job search trends, MODERNIZE YOUR RESUME shows you how to craft a winning resume to meet the complexities of today's highly competitive and technologically driven employment market. The 3rd edition has been updated with new resume samples and designs along with companion LinkedIn profiles and writing guidelines, special chapters for challenging circumstances (career change, consulting/freelance, military transition, return to work), and updated e-resume recommendations. In this book, you'll learn to: Write tight, lean, clean, and laser-focused CONTENT that allows you to tell your whole career story in half the words to keep your reader engaged. Focus on information that is relevant to your target market and integrate keywords that are vital to being found online. Present important information quickly in a resume FORMAT that prominently displays your skills, experience, education, and other credentials as they support your current career objectives. Create a distinctive DESIGN to make your resume stand out and capture attention. Getting noticed is step #1, so make that happen and you're on your way. The 100+ resume samples demonstrate these strategies in action for real-life job seekers who've excelled in their search campaigns. The samples showcase the work of professional resume writers well respected for their expertise in resume strategy, writing, format, and design. Clear guidelines and easy-to-follow examples give you practical know-how for building your own powerful resume that will serve all of your job search needs. You'll learn what works, why it works, and how you can make it work for you. Authors and Master Resume Writers Wendy Enelow and Louise Kursmark have each spent more than 30 years writing resumes, training professional resume writers, speaking to job search audiences, and writing about evolving trends in job search. The latest in their library of more than 30 books is the 3rd edition of MODERNIZE YOUR RESUME, an up-to-the minute resource to guide you to career success. Follow the recommendations of this book and you'll find yourself a more competent and competitive job seeker.
Call Number: HF5383 .E54 2023x
Multi Generational Workplace
Seize the benefits of the five-generation workforce. Generational distrust and ageism are seeping into organizations worldwide. Differences over communication style, technology preferences, identity, and politics are fueling harmful stereotypes and hurting team performance. It doesn't need to be this way. Smart leaders are harnessing age diversity and encouraging mutual learning, cross-generational collaboration, and a culture that embraces both similarities and differences across age groups. Multigenerational Workplace: The Insights You Need from Harvard Business Review will help you bridge divides, reduce prejudice, and unlock the benefits of age-diverse teams. Business is changing. Will you adapt or be left behind? Get up to speed and deepen your understanding of the topics that are shaping your company's future with the Insights You Need from Harvard Business Review series. Featuring HBR's smartest thinking on fast-moving issues--blockchain, cybersecurity, AI, and more--each book provides the foundational introduction and practical case studies your organization needs to compete today and collects the best research, interviews, and analysis to get it ready for tomorrow. You can't afford to ignore how these issues will transform the landscape of business and society. The Insights You Need series will help you grasp these critical ideas--and prepare you and your company for the future.
Call Number: HF5549.5.M5 M85 2023x
Oops! Why Things Go Wrong: understanding & controlling error
Niall Downey brings you the go-to guide for error management for your business and every day life. "I am thirty miles south of London's Gatwick Airport, the world's busiest single-runway airport, when one of the seven Flight Control computers in my Airbus A320 aircraft fails..."So begins this pioneering book by Niall Downey - a cardio-thoracic surgeon who retrained to become a commercial airline pilot - where he uses his expertise in medicine and aviation to explore the critical issue of managing human error. With further examples from business, politics, sport, technology, education and other fields, Downey makes a powerful case that by following some clear guidelines any organization can greatly reduce the incidence and impact of making serious mistakes.While acknowledging that in our fast-paced world getting things wrong is impossible to avoid completely, Downey offers a strategy based on current best practice that can make a massive difference. He concludes with an aviation-style Safety Management System that can be hugely helpful in preventing avoidable catastrophes from occurring.An acknowledged expert in error management, Niall Downey advises governments, major corporations and the health industry on how to develop a systemic approach to controlling for human imperfection. Arguing that prevention is far preferable to denying responsibility after the fact, he gave an influential TEDx talk outlining how healthcare could use aviation's experience to reduce tragic outcomes and improve patient safety.
Call Number: BF323.E7 D69 2023
Optimal: how to sustain personal and organizational excellence every day
In his groundbreaking #1 bestseller Emotional Intelligence, Daniel Goleman revolutionized how we think about intelligence. Now, he reveals practical methods for using these inner resources to more readily enter an optimal state of high performance and satisfaction while avoiding burnout. There are moments when we achieve peak performance: An athlete plays a perfect game; a business has a quarter with once-in-a-lifetime profits. But these moments are often elusive, and for every amazing day, we may have a hundred ordinary and even unsatisfying days. Fulfillment doesn't come from isolated peak experiences, but rather from many consistent good days. So how do we sustain performance, while avoiding burnout and maintaining balance? In Optimal, Daniel Goleman and Cary Cherniss reveal how emotional intelligence can help us have a great day, any day. They explain how to set a realistic, attainable goal of feeling satisfied that you've had a productive day -- to consistently work at your 'optimal' level. Based on research of how hundreds of people build the inner architecture of having a good day, they sketch what an optimal state feels like, and show how emotional intelligence holds the key to our best performance. Optimal is the culmination of decades of scientific discoveries bearing on emotional intelligence. Enhanced emotional intelligence pays off in improved engagement, productivity, and more satisfying days. In this book, you'll find the keys to competence in emotional intelligence, and practical methods for applying this skill set more readily. It will equip you to become a highly effective leader and enable you to build an organizational culture that empowers workers to sustain high performance.
Call Number: BF576 .G656 2023
The Right Call: what sports teach us about work and life
An NPR best book of the year * New York Times bestseller The Washington Post sportswriter and New York Times bestselling author of the "fascinating" (The Wall Street Journal) The Real All Americans presents a love letter to the extraordinary coaches and athletes she has covered over the years and the actionable principles of excellence they embody. Sportswriter Sally Jenkins has spent her entire adult life observing and writing about great coaches and athletes. With her engaging and expert prose, she has helped shape the way we view these talented sports icons. But somewhere along the line, she realized, they had begun to shape her. Now, she presents the astonishing inner qualities in these same people that pushed them to overcome pressure, elevate their performances, and discover champion identities. Based on years of observing, interviewing, and analyzing elite coaches and playmakers, such as Bill Belichick, Peyton Manning, Michael Phelps, and more, Jenkins reveals the seven principles behind success: -Conditioning -Practice -Discipline -Candor -Culture -Resilience -Intention Discover how you can apply these same principles to your life and become your own champion. Colorful, inspirational, and accessible, The Right Call is the one stop shop for anyone wanting to learn how to effectively elevate themselves to greatness.
Call Number: GV706.4 .J45 2023
You Can Publish Your Journal Article: advice from editors to help you succeed
You've completed your research and want to publish it in a peer-reviewed journal. Author Gilbert C. Gee is here to help, sharing what he learned as a writer, reviewer, and Editor-in-Chief, and calling on other journal editors to offer their advice. You Can Publish Your Journal Articlewill not only help you write your paper, but more importantly, be more likely to succeed in peer review. The book has four main premises: that writing involves a relationship between you and your readers, and that your research joins an ongoing conversation in the field; that good writing is rewriting, and revision is critical; that people who write daily are more productive than those who binge write; and finally, that persistency wins, so don't give up when you get a rejection. With chapters offering practical advice on selecting the right journal, peer review, the methods section, displaying your data, writing the results and discussion sections, the book concludes with short essays from invited journal editors about how to avoid common mistakes and ensure success.
Call Number: PN146 .G44 2024
Your 168: finding purpose and satisfacation in a values-based life
Put your values first and focus on what matters most Despite our good intentions, many of us experience a chronic imbalance between the desire to live our values and the distractions and never-ending to-do lists that can get in the way. In Your 168: Finding Purpose and Satisfaction in a Values-Based Life, readers learn how to pursue a values-based life by identifying and committing to their values and priorities. The book is written by bestselling author Harry Kraemer, former Chairman and CEO of Baxter International and currently a professor of management and strategy at Northwestern University's Kellogg School of Management, where he was a Professor of the Year. Kraemer uses personal stories and insights from others to help readers discover the dissonance between what they say is most important and where they actually devote their time. This is an eye-opener for most people, uncovering the obstacles to leading a value-based life. In Your 168, you will learn how to make changes and build new habits that put your values first by: ● Using self-reflection to identify what matters most and become more aware of how you spend your time ● Re-evaluating priorities such as career, family, health, recreation, spirituality, and making a difference ● Avoiding unpleasant "surprises" and "hitting the brick wall" ● Experiencing better balance in real time amid shifting priorities--personally and professionally Fans of Kraemer's previous books on values-based leadership will embrace this new release - Your 168: Finding Purpose and Satisfaction in a Values-Based Life. The book provides actionable advice, filled with tips on how to live a life of meaning and experience a greater sense of purpose. Everyone will feel inspired to make lasting change. All of Harry's proceeds from the book sales are donated to the One Acre Fund in Africa.
Call Number: BF778 .K73 2020
See All New Resources
Click here to review more materials added to all of the Mayo Clinic Libraries,
New book notification
To recommend a book or to be notified of these new resources e-mail:
library.currentawareness@mayo.edu
