eBooks
Addiction Medicine: Science and Practice, 2nd ed. by
Integrating scientific knowledge with today's most effective treatment options, Addiction Medicine: Science and Practice, 2nd Edition, provides a wealth of information on addictions to substances and behavioral addictions. It discusses the concrete research on how the brain and body are affected by addictions, improving your understanding of how patients develop addictions and how best to personalize treatment and improve outcomes. This essential text is ideal for anyone who deals with patients with addictions in clinical practice, including psychiatrists, health psychologists, pharmacologists, social workers, drug counselors, trainees, and general physicians/family practitioners. Clearly explains the role of brain function in drug taking and other habit-forming behaviors, and shows how to apply this biobehavioral framework to the delivery of evidence-based treatment. Provides clinically relevant details on not only traditional sources of addiction such as cocaine, opiates, and alcohol, but also more recently recognized substances of abuse (e.g., steroids, inhalants) as well as behavioral addictions (e.g., binge eating, compulsive gambling, hoarding). Discusses current behavioral and medical therapies in depth, while also addressing social contexts that may affect personalized treatment. Contains new information on compliance-enhancing interventions, cognitive behavioral treatments, behavioral management, and other psychosocial interventions. Includes neurobiological, molecular, and behavioral theories of addiction, and includes a section on epigenetics. Contains up-to-date information throughout, including a new definition of status epilepticus, a current overview of Lennox Gastaut syndrome, and updates on new FDA-approved drugs for pediatric neurological disorders. Features expanded sections on evidence-based treatment options including pharmacotherapy, pharmacogenetics, and potential vaccines. Addresses addiction in regards to specific populations, including adolescents, geriatric, pregnant women, and health care professionals. Includes contributions from expert international authors, making this a truly global reference to addiction medicine. Enhanced eBook version included with purchase. Your enhanced eBook allows you to access all of the text, figures, and references from the book on a variety of devices.
Addiction Psychiatric Medicine: A Comprehensive Board Review by
Easy to read and use, Addiction Psychiatric Medicine: A Comprehensive Board Review provides a systematic and comprehensive review of all diseases and disorders frequently tested on addiction psychiatry and addiction medicine board examinations. This high-yield manual is divided into two sections: the first section contains short chapters covering important topics in addiction medicine and psychiatry, including alcohol, sedatives, opioids, tobacco, cannabis, and stimulants; the second section divides questions into three 50-question blocks to resemble the board exam format. This learning tool is essential for exam study in addiction psychiatry or addiction medicine and an excellent resource for interacting with patients with substance abuse disorders. Includes close to 300 multiple choice questions and detailed answer explanations Presents information on clinical concepts, etiologies of diseases, treatments, and preventive measures in a format that's easy to remember and apply, with tables and clinical points. Includes commonly missed concepts on exams for addiction psychiatry and addiction medicine to help users achieve optimal sores. Offers quick access to high-yield content critical for success on board exams, clinical clerkships, and medical practice. Enhanced eBook version included with purchase. Your enhanced eBook allows you to access the question bank, plus all of the text, figures, and references from the book on a variety of devices.
Adolescent Addiction: Epidemiology, Assessment, and Treatment, 2nd ed. by
Adolescent Addiction, Second Edition, offers researchers and clinicians a single-volume resource on the nature, extent and treatment of addictive problems in adolescents. The book is divided into three main parts. Part one addresses the foundations of addictive problems, including developmental, social, and neurobiologicl factors. Part two addresses common addictions among adolescents. New chapters include e-cigarette, smartphone, social networking, and exercise addiction. Part three discusses challenges and recommendations for future research in adolescent addiction. All chapters in part two follow a similar format to introduction and clinical characteristics, screening and clinical assessment methods, epidemiology, cormorbidity, course and outcome, protective and risk factors, evidence-based clinical strategies for prevention and treatment, and a concise summary of key clinical points.
The American Psychiatric Association Publishing Textbook of Substance Abuse Treatment by
A robust revision, including many entirely new chapters addressing policy, the latest treatment approaches, and special topics, the Sixth Edition of The American Psychiatric Association Publishing Textbook of Substance Use Disorder Treatment offers a comprehensive and compelling review of this ever-evolving field. New sections address important topics that have gained prominence or become the focus of increased research attention since the Fifth Edition was released. For example, substance use and other psychiatric disorders often co-occur, and the resulting dual disorder is frequently associated with greater symptom severity and worse long-term prognosis than either disorder alone. Accordingly, the section on psychiatric comorbidity covers the epidemiology, assessment, and treatment of substance use disorders (SUDs) that co-occur with psychotic, mood, anxiety, eating, attention-deficit/hyperactivity, or trauma-related disorders. The section devoted to special populations has been revamped, and the topics have been thoroughly updated, some now covered by new contributors and others completely new to this edition. SUDs among women (including perinatal issues), adolescents, patients with chronic pain, sexual and gender minority populations, and older adults are addressed in detailed chapters, as are behavioral addictive disorders and cross-cultural aspects of substance-related and addictive disorders. Finally, the editors have included a section devoted to critically important topics in public health, including the U.S. opioid epidemic, cannabis policy and use, HIV/AIDS and hepatitis C, nicotine and public health, and the prevention of SUDs. New or noteworthy coverage includes the following: * A chapter devoted to the legal and practical aspects of addiction in the occupational sphere, designed for clinicians who treat people with SUDs and/or develop workplace testing programs, employee assistance programs, and occupational drug/alcohol policies for these workers.* A chapter that surveys the growing literature supporting the use of mindfulness, exercise, and other "mind and body" practices (e.g., yoga, acupuncture, tai chi) as complements or alternatives to standard SUD treatment models.* A chapter devoted to hallucinogens, which clarifies their actions, psychoactive effects, historical uses, potential therapeutic benefits, and neural mechanisms, and both identifies their risks and seeks to dispel some of the misconceptions that have continued to surround them.* A suite of chapters devoted to cannabis, encompassing a review of its neurobiology and history, a survey of effective treatment approaches and harm-reduction strategies for cannabis use disorder, and a consideration of evolving public policy around cannabis use.* A trio of chapters devoted to nicotine and tobacco, encompassing a review of neurobiology, a survey of clinical assessment tools, a summary of the research base for effective treatments for tobacco use disorder, and a consideration of public health policy and interventions regarding tobacco use. Evidence-based, down to earth, and meticulously edited, the new Sixth Edition of The American Psychiatric Association Publishing Textbook of Substance Use Disorder Treatment is an essential resource for clinicians who treat SUDs in a variety of settings--from examining rooms to emergency departments, and from hospitals to recovery facilities.
The Assessment and Treatment of Addiction by
Get a quick, expert overview of all types of addiction - from substance use disorders to behavioral addictions and more. This practical resource presents a focused summary of today's current knowledge on topics of interest to all health care professionals who work with those who suffer from this wide-ranging problem. It provides current, relevant information on emerging findings, best practices, and treatment challenges, covering a variety of assessment and treatment strategies and making it a one-stop resource for staying up to date in this critical area. Discusses precision health in addiction; the latest trend of electronic cigarettes; state-of-the-art treatments for opioid use disorder and cannabis use disorder; best practices for chronic pain; prevention among adolescents; the role of physicians in the prescription drug epidemic; and the role of integrative interventions in addiction treatment. Includes coverage of behavioral addictions such as internet, sex, and gambling; food addiction; PTSD and substance use disorders; preventing relapse; the neurobiology of addiction; and more. Consolidates today's available information on this timely topic into one convenient resource.
Behavioral Addictions: Conceptual, Clinical, Assessment, and Treatment Approaches by
This book provides a holistic evidence-based perspective on conceptual, clinical, assessment, and treatment aspects of key non-substance-based addictive disorders related to: gambling, gaming, social media, smartphone, internet, love, sex, exercise, work, and shopping. Each chapter focuses on a different addictive disorder and is structured in a user-friendly way to enable the reader fast navigation, yet the main aspects of the respective disorders are covered in the necessary depth. All in all, this book offers a timely, self-contained introduction to both key concepts and the latest scientific developments in behavioral addictions. It addresses mental health practitioners, researchers in psychology, neuroscience and communication, and undergraduate and postgraduate students alike.
ISBN: 9783031047725
Brief Interventions for Adolescent Alcohol and Substance Abuse by
Bringing together leading experts, this book demonstrates the unique value of brief motivational interventions for addressing adolescent alcohol and other substance use in a range of clinical contexts. It presents cutting-edge knowledge on the etiology and developmental context of adolescent addictive behaviors and reviews exemplary treatment approaches. Effective strategies are described for intervening with diverse populations, such as college students, youth in the justice system and in foster care, those with co-occurring substance abuse and psychiatric problems, LGBT youth, and Latino and American Indian adolescents. This book replaces the editors' influential earlier work, Adolescents, Alcohol, and Substance Abuse, with an expanded focus on practical applications. Most of the chapters are completely new.
ISBN: 9781462535002Publication Date: 2018-05-18
Circuit Breaking : Using Neuroscience-Informed Psychotherapy to Treat Substance Abuse by
Circuit Breaking presents a paradigm shift from traditional forensic and medical treatments for psychoactive substance abuse. This new paradigm teaches therapists and students that a three-stage neurocircuitry of psychoactive substance abuse is the etiological cause of psychoactive substance abuse. Therapists learn how to teach people in treatment to change neurocircuitry within their brains enabling a sustained and successful recovery. This neuroscience-informed, non-disease-oriented treatment approach, inspired by evidence-based research, indicates that positive neuroplastic changes within one's brain and cognitive change within one's mind creates an opportunity for people to cease abusing psychoactive substances. An example of improper and moralistic treatment for impoverished people and people of color occurs when jail or prison becomes their treatment. For middle and upper-class people, mental health practitioners ascribing to the medical model view them as having a disease that causes their abuse of psychoactive substances. These people are propagandized that they have a lifelong chronic illness needing episodic stays in rehab facilities, intensive outpatient treatment programs, detox facilities, and/or attendance in 12-step programs. Circuit Breaking provides a step-by-step guide on how to track daily frequencies of wanting (craving) to reveal activity of an underlying three-stage neurocircuitry of psychoactive substance abuse. By combining cognitive-behavioral interventions, mindfulness-based interventions, brief motivational interviewing techniques, and harm reduction interventions a therapist enables people to learn how to achieve a recovery process that culminates in being recovered. This occurs by extinguishing the underly neurocircuitry driving abuse of psychoactive substances. Using this integrative approach, therapists select techniques and interventions based on individual needs rather than a generic psychotherapeutic approach applied equally to all people being treated. Case vignettes throughout Circuit Breaking show the various ways different people experience neuroscience-informed psychotherapy and harm reduction interventions.
ISBN: 9780197575031
eBooks
Clinical Obesity in Adults and Children, 4th ed. by
Clinical Obesity in Adults and Children A comprehensive and incisive exploration of obesity in society and the clinical setting In the newly revised Fourth Edition of Clinical Obesity in Adults and Children, a team of expert medical practitioners deliver a comprehensive exploration of the increasingly widespread disease of obesity. The book discusses topics such as the causes of obesity, the disease-model of obesity, the management of adult and childhood obesity, and policy approaches to obesity. Designed to enable readers to better understand the full complexity of obesity -- both within society and in the clinical setting -- the book discusses a disease that is the leading cause of ill health around the world. The editors have included contributions from leading international experts in their respective fields that address every major aspect of this often misunderstood disease. Readers will also benefit from the inclusion of: Introductions to the history and scale of the obesity problem across the world and its epidemiology and social determinants Comprehensive explorations of those affected by obesity, including fetal and infant origins, genetic causes, bias and stigma encountered by those affected by obesity, and the psychobiology of obesity Practical discussions of obesity as a disease, including its co-morbidities of dyslipidemia, fertility, cardiovascular consequences, and obstructive sleep apnea In-depth examinations of the management of obesity in adults and children, including contemporary approaches to clinical and dietary management, and behavioral treatments Perfect for doctors and allied health professionals who regularly work with patients suffering from obesity, Clinical ;Obesity in Adults and Children will also earn a place in the libraries of health researchers and scholars studying obesity and nutrition, dieticians, nutritionists, and anyone else with a professional interest in an increasingly prevalent health problem.
ISBN: 9781119695271Publication Date: 2022-09-13
Cognition and Addiction by
Cognition and Addiction: A Researcher's Guide from Mechanisms Towards Interventions provides researchers with a guide to recent cognitive neuroscience advances in addiction theory, phenotyping, treatments and new vistas, including both substance and behavioral addictions. This book focuses on "what to know" and "how to apply" information, prioritizing novel principles and delineating cutting-edge assessment, phenotyping and treatment tools. Written by world renowned researcher Antonio Verdejo-Garcia, this resource will become a go-to guide for researchers in the field of cognitive neuroscience and addiction.
ISBN: 9780128152980Publication Date: 2019-10-01
Cognitive, Clinical, and Neural Aspects of Drug Addiction by
Drug addictions are often difficult to treat. The most successful treatments begin with studying why individuals become addicted to drugs and how to change their thinking and behaviour. Cognitive, Clinical, and Neural Aspects of Drug Addiction focuses on the theories that cause drug addiction, including avoidance behavior, self-medication, reward sensitization, behavioral inhibition and impulsivity. Dr. Moustafa takes this book one step further by reviewing the psychological and neural causes of relapse including the role of stress, anxiety and depression. By examining both the causes of drug addiction and relapse, this book will help clinicians create individualized treatment options for patients suffering from drug addiction.
ISBN: 9780128169797Publication Date: 2020-01-16
Compulsive Eating Behavior and Food Addiction by
Compulsive Eating Behavior and Food Addiction: Emerging Pathological Constructs is the first book of its kind to emphasize food addiction as an addictive disorder. This book focuses on the preclinical aspects of food addiction research, shifting the focus towards a more complex behavioral expression of pathological feeding and combining it with current research on neurobiological substrates. This book will become an invaluable reference for researchers in food addiction and compulsive eating constructs. Compulsive eating behavior is a pathological form of feeding that phenotypically and neurobiologically resembles the compulsive-like behaviors associated with both drug abuse and behavioral addictions. Compulsive eating behavior, including Binge Eating Disorder (BED), certain forms of obesity, and 'food addiction' affect an estimated 70 million individuals worldwide.
ISBN: 9780128162071Publication Date: 2019-07-24
Determinants of Addiction by
Why can two people use a drug and one person becomes addicted while the other does not? Determinants of Addiction: Neurobiological, Behavioral, Cognitive, and Sociocultural Factors unravels the complexities underlying addiction to understand how individual factors at the genetic, cellular, anatomical, cognitive-behavioral, and sociocultural level can influence susceptibility to substance use disorders. The first section reviews the neurobiological determinants of addiction and examines how drugs hijack the reward pathway and alter numerous neurotransmitter systems such as dopamine. The second section covers the behavioral-cognitive determinants of addiction such a conditioning, memory processes, and decision-making. The final section examines individual differences in addiction vulnerability, with a focus on personality factors, sociocultural factors, sex/gender, and stress. The book references commonly used drugs such as nicotine, ethanol (alcohol), opioids, and cocaine.
ISBN: 9780323905787Publication Date: 2022-12-12
Ending the Crisis: Mayo Clinic's Guide to Opioid Addiction and Safe Opioid Use by
What if we could help loved ones misusing opioids and support them as they seek treatment? In Ending the Crisis, addiction medicine specialist Dr. Holly Geyer goes beyond the science of addiction to offer those struggling with opioids a real solution. Developed by trusted Mayo Clinic experts, this empowering and accessible book contains vital information about opioids and addiction, as well as practical tools for recovery, and impactful personal stories from those who've lived through the experience. Recovery is a marathon, not a sprint. Key topics include: Managing pain and using prescribed opioids safely Understanding addiction and opioid use disorder, The intervention: a play-by-play example Treatment programs and help taking the first step Helping loved ones recover from opioid use disorder Opioid overdose: how you can save a life. "The opioid epidemic is a story about all of us. It's about the people we love, the people we've lost and the people we fear losing. Whether the stories we have shared come from friends, family, or total strangers, they're all passed on with a purpose: to educate and plead for change, to pave the path for a different tomorrow."
Food and Addiction, 2nd ed. by
Food and Addiction: A Comprehensive Handbook, Second Edition brings scientific order to the issue of food and addiction, spanning multiple disciplines to create the foundation for what is a rapidly advancing field and to highlight needed advances in science and public policy. It assembles leading scientists and policy makers from fields such as nutrition, addiction, psychology, epidemiology, and public health to explore and analyze the scientific evidence on the addictive properties of food. It provides complete and comprehensive coverage of all subjects pertinent to food and addiction, from how the brain processes food reward and the role of the gut-microbiome in addictive eating, to diagnostic criteria for food addiction, the contribution of industry tactics to the creation of addictive foods, and behavioral, neurological, and pharmacologic interventions, as well as the clinical, public health, legal, and policy implications of recognizing the validity of food addiction. Each chapter reviews the available science and notes needed scientific advances in the field.
ISBN: 9780190671051Publication Date: 2024-08-16
Getting Real About Sex Addiction: A Psychodynamic Approach to Treatment by
As the controversial field of sex addiction treatment reaches for legitimacy across the disciplines of medicine, psychiatry and psychotherapy, Getting Real about Sex Addiction: A Psychodynamic Approach to Treatment applies psychoanalytic framework to concepts of addiction and sex, as well as related concepts of personality and attachment development. Authors Graeme Daniels and Joe Farley explore the intersection of sex and culture and address social undercurrent relating to gender, such as objectification and sexual aggression and how those influence conceptualization goals and procedures in treatment. Through a number of case illustrations and vignettes, this text demonstrates psychodynamic method across treatment contexts, in formats of individual, couples, and group therapy. The result is a work that critiques theoretical, intervention, and gender biases that have infiltrated this important yet embattled field, and provides a fresh, alternative approach from a source with the oldest pedigree in modern psychology.
ISBN: 9781538158067
The Handbook of Alcohol Use: Understandings from Synapse to Society by
Alcohol use is complex and multifaceted. Our understanding must be also. Alcohol use, both problematic and not, can be understood at many levels - from basic biological systems through to global public health interventions. To provide the multi-level perspective needed to address this complexity, the Handbook of Alcohol Use draws together an eclectic set of authors, including both researchers and practitioners, to examine the causes, processes and effects of alcohol consumption. Specifically, this book approaches the topic from biological, individual cognition, small group/systems, and domestic/global population perspectives. Each examines alcohol use differently and each offers its own ways to combat problematic behavior. While these alternative viewpoints are sometimes construed as incompatible or antagonistic, the current volume also explores how they can be complimentary. In summary, the Handbook of Alcohol Use brings together an international group of experts to explore how alcohol use can be understood from various perspectives and how these conceptualizations relate. In doing so, it allows us to understand alcohol consumption, and our responses to it, more from an account which spans 'from synapse to society'.
ISBN: 9780128167205Publication Date: 2021-01-21
Handbook of Eating Disorders and Obesity, 3rd ed. by
This book covers the entire spectrum of eating disorders, including obesity, in a psychotherapy procedure-independent manner and is based on the latest treatment guidelines. All disorders are presented on the basis of current evidence and treatment guidelines that combine psychotherapeutic and pharmacological interventions to provide therapists with clear recommendations for treatment. The 3rd edition has been completely revised to include important current topics and chapters, such as the inclusion of eating disorders in ICD 11/DSM 5, the role of the microbiome and the role of modern media e.g. ehealth in prevention and treatment. In addition, the editors and authors address, among other topics, systemic therapy as a new evidence-based psychotherapy and the discussion of addiction mechanisms in eating and weight disorders, and provide an outlook on the role of neurostimulation procedures to address current developments in obesity and eating disorders. The book is suitable as a reference for physicians in training, educators, and psychologists, especially colleagues from the field of psychosomatics, psychiatrists, and psychotherapists in research, clinic and practice.
ISBN: 9783662676622
eBooks
Neural Mechanisms of Addiction by
Neural Mechanisms of Addiction is the only book available that synthesizes the latest research in the field into a single, accessible resource covering all aspects of how addiction develops and persists in the brain. The book summarizes our most recent understanding on the neural mechanisms underlying addiction. It also examines numerous biobehavioral aspects of addiction disorders, such as reinforcement learning, reward, cognitive dysfunction, stress, and sleep and circadian rhythms that are not covered in any other publication. Readers with find the most up-to-date information on which to build a foundation for their future research in this expanding field. Combining chapters from leading researchers and thought leaders, this book is an indispensable guide for students and investigators engaged in addiction research.
ISBN: 9780128122020Publication Date: 2018-08-29
The Neurobiology of Alcohol Use Disorder by
The Mechanisms Behind Developing Dependence, Sub-groups, and Novel Approaches to Treatment, Volume 174 in the Neurobiology of Alcohol Abuse series, highlights new advances in the field, with this new volume presenting interesting chapters on topics such as Substitution therapy in alcohol treatment, with a focus on mechanisms and possibilities, Designing and analyzing studies on treatments for alcohol dependence, The harm reduction approach for treatment of alcohol dependence, Current treatments for alcohol dependence, with a suggested focus on mechanisms and possibilities, Metabolomics in relation to alcohol dependence with focus on possibilities for precision medicine, and Repurposing drugs for treatment of alcohol dependence.
ISBN: 9780443141645Publication Date: 2024-03-28
Neurocircuitry of Addiction by
People use drugs for many different reasons, including the pursuit of "high," social factors and self-medication of other conditions. Many millions of people are addicted to at least one substance, and the cost of addiction is immense, at both the individual and societal levels. Neurocircuitry of Addiction is the first book of its kind, with a focus on addiction neuroscience from a neural circuit perspective. This book begins with a primer on circuit-based neuroscience that equips the reader with an understanding of the applications described throughout the book. Each subsequent chapter positions a different brain region at the "center" of addiction neurocircuitry and goes on to describe the anatomical connectivity of that brain region, how those circuits are affected by drug exposure, and the role of those circuits in controlling addiction-related behaviors. All chapters of this book are written by content experts for a target audience that has some basic neuroscience background, but no prior in-depth knowledge regarding the neurocircuitry of addiction.
ISBN: 9780128234532Publication Date: 2022-12-02
The Opioid Epidemic and Infectious Diseases by
Offering timely guidance on the junction of the opioid crisis and infectious diseases, this practical handbook by Dr. Brianna L. Norton provides concise yet comprehensive coverage of a growing patient population. Infectious disease specialists are increasingly seeing patients who previously used opiods and now use intravenous drugs. Many challenges are unique to this patient population, including new and growing infections such as hepatitis C, endocarditis, HIV, and hepatitis B. The Opioid Epidemic and Infectious Diseases is an up-to-date, real-world guide that covers the scope of the problem, management guidelines, and much more. Describes the new landscape of the opioid crisis in the U.S. and its intersection with infectious diseases, including epidemiology, Opioid Use Disorder (OUD) and rural America, and more. Offers practical guidance on (OUD) and infectious co-morbidities like hepatitis C, STDs, endocarditis, HIV, and hepatitis B. Covers prevention, treatment, and harm reduction. Discusses OUD, infectious diseases, and the criminal justice system. Consolidates today's available information and guidance into a single, convenient resource.
ISBN: 9780323683289Publication Date: 2020-10-27
Psychology of Substance Abuse: Psychotherapy, Clinical Management and Social Intervention by
This book is a guide for psychologists working with substance users in different healthcare settings, from private clinical practice to larger health institutions and community services. It presents a comprehensive overview of the different aspects involved with substance use disorders from a psychological perspective, from prevention to recovery. The volume offers an integrative view about neurobiological, behavioral and psychosocial aspects related to becoming a substance user; shows how psychological assessment tools can be used to diagnose substance use disorders; describes how different kinds of psychotherapy can be applied in the treatment of substance use disorders; and presents a range of evidence-based clinical and social interventions designed for both prevention and treatment of substance use disorders. Apart from covering the whole range of services related to the prevention, diagnosis and treatment of substance use disorders, the volume also shows how these issues can be approached from different theoretical perspectives within psychology, such as: Behavioral and Cognitive Psychology Neuropsychology Existential Psychology Phenomenology Psychoanalysis Analytical Psychology Community and Social Psychology Psychology of Substance Abuse: Psychotherapy, Clinical Management and Social Intervention will be a useful resource for psychologists and other health professionals working with substance users, as well as to undergraduate and graduate students looking for a comprehensive introduction to the psychology of substance abuse.
ISBN: 9783030621056Publication Date: 2021-04-16
Substance Use and Addiction Research: Methodology, Mechanisms, and Therapeutics by
Substance Use and Addiction Research: Methodology, Mechanisms, and Therapeutics is an up-to-date, comprehensive, practical book on research methodologies for substance use and addiction that is intended for researchers and consumers of research information at all levels. The book is divided into four major sections, including an Introduction, Research Methodology for clinical trials, animal research and retrospective studies, Mechanisms of Use and Addiction, and Investigative Therapeutics: Designing and Measuring Outcomes. It serves a source for addressing all aspects of research design, methods and analysis within the context of the field of opioids, alcohol and other substances. The book covers what is known in the field of quantitative and qualitative research methods, provides future directions, and introduces new models for investigation. It is organized around a translational science framework, with the contents addressing substance use/addiction research in the context of epidemiology, etiology, intervention efficacy and effectiveness, and implementation of evidence-informed interventions.
ISBN: 9780323988148Publication Date: 2023-02-21
Tobacco Dependence: A Comprehensive Guide to Prevention and Treatment by
This book is a guide to pharmacotherapy treatment of tobacco dependence. The 2020 American Thoracic Society clinical practice guidelines on treating tobacco dependence serves as the cornerstone for this work with its robust discussion of recommended treatment options and how to tailor treatment to specific patient populations. Tobacco dependence remains a major health concern for many adults and given the dramatic increase of youth electronic cigarette use, clinicians need a singular resource to treat these different populations. This book addresses that by following the three main points of how to best address the adverse impact of tobacco use on public health: 1) prevent initiation of tobacco use; 2) understand mechanisms of addiction; 3) effectively treat tobacco dependence. The book begins by describing the current patterns of product use, the adverse impact of tobacco on global health, and tobacco-related health disparities. Authors discuss both combustible andelectronic tobacco products, as well as current research on the adverse impact of vaping and associated flavorings including menthol, role of the e-cigarette in cessation, and treatment of adolescent nicotine dependence. Chapters conclude with a discussion of specific tobacco control policies to improve overall public health. This is an ideal guide for pulmonologists, pediatricians, primary care physicians and other specialty providers who see patients with nicotine dependence. This book is also of interest to public health professions to help inform public health campaigns and treatment offerings to reduce overall tobacco product use through prevention and treatment.
ISBN: 9783031249143
