eBooks
Ancient and Traditional Foods, Plants, Herbs and Spices Used in Cardiovascular Health and Disease by
This book will interest practitioners and researchers in the food science and nutrition fields, and possibly others with an interest in the interaction between diet and health. The need of the book and timeliness are appropriate as the world is heading during the COVID 19 pandemic, cardiovascular disease is one of the comorbidities which has severe adverse effects. There have been considerable advances in scientific techniques in the last few decades and these have been used to examine the composition and applications of traditional cures. Modern science has also seen the investigation of herbs, spices and botanicals beyond their traditional usage. The evidence-based approach that the Editors propose is relatively rare for this type of topic.
ISBN: 9781032108582Publication Date: 2023-07-31
Arrhythmia Essentials, 2nd ed. by
Concise, compact, fully-illustrated and easy to read, Arrhythmia Essentials, 2nd Edition provides detailed, practical information on recognizing and treating heart rhythm disturbances for clinicians with any level of expertise. The author team, led by renowned authority in cardiac electrophysiology, Dr. Brian Olshansky, guides you skillfully through the different types of arrhythmias and how they present on ECGs. You'll find specific examples of each arrhythmia, numerous algorithms to facilitate an approach to arrhythmia diagnosis and management, updates on medical therapy, and indications for implantable rhythm management devices and ablation - all in a convenient, softcover volume that's perfect for on-the-go reference. conditions, clinical symptoms/presentations, and management. Includes numerous therapy/guideline tables and treatment algorithms. Offers new coverage of managing arrhythmias during pregnancy and expanded information on athletes and arrhythmias. Incorporates recommendations based on recent published guidelines. New! Expert ConsultT eBook version included with purchase. This enhanced eBook experience allows you to search all of the text, figures, and references from the book on a variety of devices.
ISBN: 9780323399685Publication Date: 2016-11-30
Arrhythmias in Adult Congenital Heart Disease by
Get a quick, expert overview of the many key facets of adult congenital heart disease (ACHD) with this concise, practical resource by Drs. Seshadri Balaji, Ravi Mandapati, and Gary Webb. This easy-to-read reference presents a case-based approach to this fascinating and complex field. Presents cases provided by ACHD specialists of patients with arrhythmia issues, which are evaluated by an international panel of arrhythmia experts. Provides commentary and practical guidance on management of complex cases by today's leaders in the field. Consolidates today's available information and experience in this emerging area into one convenient resource.
ISBN: 9780323485685Publication Date: 2018-11-07
Athlete's Heart: A Multimodal Approach - from Physiological to Pathological Cardiac Adaptations by
Athlete's Heart: A Multimodal Approach - From Physiological to Pathological Cardiac Adaptations provides a complete overview of all adaptations of the heart to sport practice by highlighting the different diagnosis between athlete's heart and pathological remodeling. Written by international experts in the field, chapters discuss ECG findings, echocardiogram data, cardiac magnetic resonance and new forms of multimodality imaging, providing readers with evidence-based guidance on how to differentiate athlete's heart from cardiomyopathies. Athlete's heart is the term given to a constellation of cardiac structural, functional and electrical remodeling that accompanies regular athletic training. Due to the substantial phenotypic overlap between electrical and structural changes observed in the physiological athletic heart remodeling and pathological changes resulted from inherited or acquired cardiomyopathies, distinguishing between adaptive and maladaptive cardiovascular response to exercise is a challenging task. Presents a comprehensive overview of exercise-induced cardiac adaptations Provides practical aspects for a differential diagnosis between a physiological and a pathological cardiac remodeling Includes new imaging technics, with a special focus on multi-modality imaging, such as exercise echocardiography, and new echocardiographic modalities (3D Strain)
ISBN: 9780323952224Publication Date: 2023-05-03
Cardiology Secrets, 6th ed. by
Fully revised and updated, including new information on peripheral vascular and cerebrovascular disease, direct oral anticoagulant agents, and transcatheter aortic valve replacement (TAVR).
New chapter on COVID-19 and the Cardiovascular System.
Several hundred illustrations, figures, and flow diagrams clearly depict key topics.
Top 100 Secrets and Key Points boxes provide a fast overview of the secrets you must know for success in practice and on exams.
Bulleted lists, mnemonics, practical tips from global leaders in the field – all providing a concise overview of important board-relevant content.
Written by global experts and thought leaders in cardiovascular disease.
Portable size makes it easy to carry with you for quick reference or review anywhere, anytime.
Enhanced eBook version included with purchase. Your enhanced eBook allows you to access all of the text, figures, and references from the book on a variety of devices.
Cardiovascular Physiology, 11th ed. by
Gain a foundational understanding of cardiovascular physiology and how the cardiovascular system functions in health and disease. Cardiovascular Physiology, a volume in the Mosby Physiology Series, explains the fundamentals of this complex subject in a clear and concise manner, while helping you bridge the gap between normal function and disease with pathophysiology content throughout the book. Helps you easily master the material in a systems-based curriculum with learning objectives, Clinical Concept boxes, highlighted key words and concepts, chapter summaries, self-study questions, and a comprehensive exam to help prepare for USMLEs. Keeps you current with the latest concepts in vascular, molecular, and cellular biology as they apply to cardiovascular function, thanks to molecular commentaries in each chapter. Includes clear, 2-color diagrams that simplify complex concepts. Features clinical commentaries that show you how to apply what you've learned to real-life clinical situations. Enhanced eBook version included with purchase. Your enhanced eBook allows you to access all of the text, figures, and references from the book on a variety of devices. Complete the Mosby Physiology Series! Systems-based and portable, these titles are ideal for integrated programs. Blaustein, Kao, & Matteson: Cellular Physiology and Neurophysiology Cloutier: Respiratory Physiology Koeppen & Stanton: Renal Physiology Johnson: Gastrointestinal Physiology White, Harrison, & Mehlmann: Endocrine and Reproductive Physiology Hudnall: Hematology: A Pathophysiologic Approach Appendix - Comprehensive MCQ review examination Keywords/concepts
Clinical Cardiac Electrophysiology by
Offering a clear and consistent framework for recognition, diagnosis, and treatment of a wide range of cardiac arrhythmia disturbances, Clinical Cardiac Electrophysiology: A Practical Guide covers the fundamental analytical skills needed in this challenging area. This portable, highly accessible handbook focuses on the basics of clinical electrophysiology- how and when to perform an electrophysiology study as well as principles of ablation and other invasive therapies-all in a succinct and modern format. Focuses on using an effective, consistent, decision-making process in recognizing, diagnosing, and treating rhythm disturbances of the heart, including supraventricular tachycardias, atrial fibrillation, ventricular tachycardias, and other rapid or irregular heartbeats. Covers anatomic fundamentals of cardiac structures, clinical indications for electrophysiology studies, practicalities and methodology of performing an electrophysiology study, and problems encountered during the procedure. Includes quick clinical summaries and more than 180 illustrations: electrophysiology recordings, ECGs, cardiac anatomy, radiographic images, and electroanatomic maps. Discusses key topics such as mechanisms of arrhythmias, conventional and electroanatomic mapping systems, fundamentals of cardiac mapping, biophysics of catheter ablation, and much more. Offers real-world guidance on contemporary practice from leading cardiac electrophysiologists Drs. Demosthenes G Katritsis and Fred Morady, with input from a multinational team of electrophysiology fellows and cardiologists. Ideal as a stand-alone resource or used in conjunction with Dr. Douglas Zipes' renowned textbook, Cardiac Electrophysiology: From Cell to Bedside. Enhanced eBook version included with purchase. Your enhanced eBook allows you to access all of the text, figures, and references from the book on a variety of devices.
Clinical Lipidology: A Companion to Braunwald's Heart Disease, 3rd ed. by
Part of the renowned Braunwald family of references, Clinical Lipidology: A Companion to Braunwald's Heart Disease provides today's clinicians with clear, authoritative guidance on the therapeutic management of patients with high cholesterol levels and other atherogenic lipid disorders. An invaluable resource for cardiologists, lipidologists, endocrinologists, and internal medicine physicians, this one-stop reference covers everything from basic science and the pathogenesis of atherothrombotic disease to risk assessment and the latest therapy options. Now fully updated from cover to cover, the 3rd Edition offers unparalleled coverage of lipidology in an accessible and user-friendly manner. Thoroughly covers the assessment, diagnosis, and treatment of patients with elevated levels of lipids and lipoproteins, including all the latest research-based recommendations, therapeutic breakthroughs, and related clinical advances. Presents the latest data on clinical guidelines, risk assessments, and established and emerging pharmacologic and nonpharmacologic therapies-all from internationally recognized experts in the field. Features condensed, streamlined content that focuses on clinical applications and applying concepts to the practice setting. Chapters have now been completely reorganized into sections on risk assessment; therapy; new and evolving therapeutic targets and platforms; and special populations. Includes new chapters on Polygenic Risk Scores; Inclisiran; Bempedoic Acid; Selective Peroxisome Proliferator-Activated Receptor-a Modulator: Pemafibrate; Evolving Therapeutic Targets: Lp(a), ANGPTL3, and ApoC-III; New Therapeutic Platforms: Gene Therapy and Genome Editing; and more. Contains new or expanded content on inflammation; genetic testing; troponins for risk assessment; statins and role of bile acid sequestrants, niacin, and fibrates; mAbs; CANTOS and CIRT; colchicine; IL-6; and cellular, molecular, and genetic therapy. Provides treatment algorithms throughout, as well as case vignettes that highlight the most common clinical questions in each chapter. Incorporates the latest guidelines from the AHA, ACC, ESC, and EAS, as well as future directions for ongoing research and emerging applications. Enhanced eBook version included with purchase. Your enhanced eBook allows you to access all of the text, figures, and references from the book on a variety of devices.
eBooks
Congenital Heart Diseases: the Broken Heart: Clinical Features, Human Genetics and Molecular Pathways, 2nd ed. by
This 2nd edition has been extensively updated and provides comprehensive and current insight into congenital heart diseases, from embryonic development through to clinical features, including human genetics and our current knowledge of the underlying molecular pathways. The book is divided into three parts: an introduction to the development of the heart and its vessels, an overview of the molecular pathways affecting the development of various cardiovascular structures, and a main section focusing on the different types of structural and nonstructural congenital heart diseases, including their clinical features, underlying genetic alterations and insights from animal models and pathways. All chapters have been updated and new chapters added on state-of-the-art approaches including stem cells and organoids, cardiac metabolism, single cell transcriptomics and 3D reconstruction of human heart development. The clinical chapters have been extended and include new sections on diagnostic imaging techniques. Taken together, the book, written by and for clinicians and researchers, provides an integrated and up-to-date resource for all those who want to learn more about both the clinical aspects and the genetic and molecular basis of congenital heart disease.
ISBN: 9783031440861Publication Date: 2024-06-18
Debulking in Cardiovascular Interventions and Revascularization Strategies by
Debulking in Cardiovascular Interventions and Revascularization Strategies: Between a Rock and the Heart aims to provide a comprehensive overview on the diagnostic and therapeutic aspects of resistant lesions as well as tailored debulking processes in revascularization strategies. Cardiovascular interventionalists and surgeons alike frequently encounter technical challenges and increased risk when attempting to diagnose and treat resistant cardiovascular lesions, bio-tissues and vessels. Calcified plaques, fibrotic or thrombotic lesions, total occlusions, degenerative plaques, complex lesions and vessels impose morphologic obstacles to the safe and effective delivery and deployment of balloons and stents. In such instances, a debulking strategy involving the actual drilling and extraction of the targeted plaque/bio-tissue constitutes a unique option that ensures safe and efficacious subsequent balloon dilatations and stenting. A range of topics is included in the book, from the characteristics and constituents of various resistant targets and bio-tissues, to the corresponding options of debulking methods, and finally the technologic and pharmacologic means available for application. The book also provides an up-to-date description of related management solutions and tools, exploring the medical issues pertaining to the patients with these targets; procedural results and clinical outcomes as related to debulking strategies and associated diagnostic and therapeutic technology and revascularization options. Review and discussion of the pathophysiology of cardiovascular resistant lesions Analysis of the impact on revascularization outcome of cardiovascular lesions/bio-tissues which exhibit resistance to standard revascularization Introduction of the concept of debulking for revascularization of cardiovascular diseases: comprehensive description Presentation of the clinical scenarios associated with resistant cardiovascular lesions and bio-tissue that require debulking Delineation of various state-of-the -art diagnostic imaging modalities for detection and demonstration of the lesions and tissues that require debulking Presentation of the expansive array of mechanical revascularization tools available for debulking Description of surgical debulking approaches to resistant cardiovascular lesions Summary of debulking outcomes
Diagnosis and Management of Adult Congenital Heart Disease, 3rd ed. by
Designed to meet the needs of clinicians working with adults with congenital heart disease, Diagnosis and Management of Adult Congenital Heart Disease , by Drs. Michael A. Gatzoulis, Gary D. Webb, and Piers E. F. Daubeney, offers essential guidance on the anatomical issues, clinical presentation, diagnosis, and treatment options available to practitioners today. This latest edition features completely updated content, including new information for nurses and nurse practitioners who, now more than ever, are playing an important role in the care of adults with CHD. You'll also access four new chapters, illustrated congenital defects, coverage of long-term outcomes, and much more. Drs. Gatzoulis, Webb, and Daubeney lead a team of experts ideally positioned to provide state-of-the-art global coverage of this increasingly important topic. Each disease-oriented chapter is written to a highly structured template and provides key information on incidence, genetics, morphology, presentation, investigation and imaging, and treatment and intervention. Congenital defects are illustrated with full-color line drawings and by the appropriate imaging modality (for example, EKG, x-ray, echocardiogram, MRI, CT, ). Provides coverage of long-term outcomes, including the management of pregnant patients and patients undergoing non-cardiac surgery. Expert ConsultT eBook version included with purchase. This enhanced eBook experience allows you to search all of the text, figures, videos, and references from the book on a variety of devices. Features the addition of four new chapters: A Historic Perspective; Quality of Life in Patients with Pulmonary Hypertension; Psychosocial Issues in ACHD; Supportive and Palliative Care for End-Stage ACHD.
Diastology: Clinical Approach to Heart Failure, 2nd ed. by
Accounting for more than 40% of all heart failure problems, diastolic heart failure is a complex and often difficult diagnosis with rapidly evolving diagnostic management protocols. Diastology: Clinical Approach to Heart Failure with Preserved Ejection Fraction, 2nd Edition, brings you up to date and equips you to successfully diagnose and manage even the most challenging incidences of diastolic heart failure and their comorbidities. It incorporates the latest guidelines for the diagnostic evaluation of the patient with suspected or known diastolic dysfunction, provides a comprehensive review of clinical conditions associated with heart failure with preserved ejection fraction, and describes the complementary role of imaging modalities and novel therapeutic approaches. Keeps you current with recent extensive changes in the understanding of the mechanisms of diastolic heart failure with preserved ejection fraction (HFpEF) that have resulted in dramatic changes in treatment guidelines. Covers the latest molecular, genetic, and cellular mechanisms behind diastolic heart failure as a basis for the latest clinical approaches, diagnosis, and treatment of common and uncommon pathological conditions such as hypertensive heart disease, cardiomyopathies, arterial and valvular diseases, pericardial diseases, congenital heart disease, diabetes mellitus, and metabolic syndrome. Features 50 video cases, new key summary points, new multiple-choice review questions, and six new chapters: Evaluation of Diastolic Function by Radionuclide Techniques; Diastology Stress Test; ASE/EACVI Diastolic Guidelines; Valve Disease; Perioperative Assessment of Diastolic Dysfunction; and Pulmonary Hypertension. Reviews new techniques and indices for assessing diastolic function, such as 3D echo, strain rate imaging, late gadolinium enhancement and T1-mapping by CMR, and novel nuclear scintigraphic methods - as well as the traditional indices of LV filling, LA function, and tissue Doppler indices. Covers emerging topics such as the role of neurohormones, global and regional systolic function of the left ventricle, chronotopic incompetence and pacing, aging, perioperative assessment, and more. Presents information in a quick-retrieval format, covering Epidemiology, Pathophysiology, Diagnostic Evaluation, Differential Diagnosis, Treatment, and Future Directions. Helps you learn efficiently and prepare for self-assessment with key summaries and multiple-choice questions and answers for each chapter. Enhanced eBook version included with purchase. Your enhanced eBook allows you to access all of the text, figures, and references from the book on a variety of devices.
Echocardiography: A Practical Guide for Reporting and Interpretation, 4th ed. by
This book sets echocardiography within a routine clinical context. It aims to synthesise guidelines into a pragmatic clinical approach to real patients providing a step-by-step guide to performing, reporting and interpreting a study. Written with the imagination of the calm voice of a senior echocardiographer teaching a junior, this edition has been extensively revised with an expansion of sections on acute, intensive care and emergency medicine. COVID-19 has necessitated limiting exposure of both patient and operator to infection and also caused a huge increase in waiting lists. This has sharpened the debate over matching the level of scan to the clinical question and also highlights the importance of collaboration between clinicians and echocardiographers. Key features: * Expanded first chapter on levels of echocardiography. * New sections on COVID-19, cardio-oncology, multivalve disease, and specialist valve clinics. * Incorporation of new international guidelines, grading criteria and normal data. * Guide to how cardiac CT and magnetic resonance can compliment echocardiography. * Reformatted text and extra diagrams and tables to improve understanding.
ISBN: 9781032151601Publication Date: 2023-04-07
Endovascular Interventions: A Step-By-Step Approach by
ENDOVASCULAR INTERVENTIONS A practical and systematic approach to current endovascular surgical techniques An increasingly popular alternative to open vascular surgery, endovascular intervention offers many advantages, including reduced patient discomfort, smaller incisions, shorter recovery time, and decreased risk of adverse complications. Practitioners and trainees alike require expert guidance on current technologies and up-to-date techniques. Endovascular Interventions provides clinicians with an easy-to-follow guide for minimally invasive treatment of vascular disease. This invaluable resource delivers concise and accurate instructions on a wide range of endovascular interventions, including aorta, renal and mesenteric interventions, lower extremity interventions, venous interventions, and supra-aortic interventions in high-risk patients. Sequential phases of skill development broaden the reader's abilities as they progress through each chapter, supplying step-by-step instructions on when each procedure should be used and how it can be safely and effectively performed. This book offers a complete reference to essential techniques and procedures, suitable for both novice and experienced vascular surgeons, cardiologists, and radiologists. Endovascular Interventions also: Reinforces comprehension of each procedure with templated chapters, equipment lists and boxed key learning points Provides full-color clinical images and detailed illustrations to demonstrate surgical procedures Presents authoritative coverage of modern endovascular technologies and techniques Written by a team of respected experts and practicing surgeons from internationally recognized hospitals and universities Suitable for varying skill levels, Endovascular Interventions is a precise, accessible instruction manual for safe and effective endovascular intervention, helping practicing clinicians sharpen their existing abilities and keep pace with the latest surgical technologies while instructing trainees on this innovative approach to vascular surgery.
Guide to Patient Management in the Cardiac Step down/Telemetry Unit: a Case-Based Approach by
A practical, case-based approach for beginners to learn the essentials of patient care on the Stepdown floor and cardiac care unit. Specifically written for novices on the telemetry floor, this innovative new book guides the beginner through a wide spectrum of cases they will most likely encounter on the Stepdown floor. The cases included in the text are a compilation of real-life ones the authors have encountered in their extensive clinical careers, and each includes discussion of how to best manage the situation, along with detailed explanations. Guide to Patient Management in the Cardiac Stepdown Unit differentiates itself from other texts on the topic by its case-based, highly practical coverage of initial diagnosis, management, and the creation of a care plan, along with troubleshooting tips on managing more complicated situations. The goal of the book is minimize errors, improve outcomes, deliver practical knowledge, and provide the quick management tips required in a fast-paced, high-pressure environment.
Handbook of Patient Care in Vascular Diseases, 6th ed by
Now in full color, Handbook of Patient Care in Vascular Diseases is a concise quick-reference guide to effectively diagnosing and treating patients with common arterial and venous vascular diseases. Chapter by chapter, content is presented in a convenient online format, and covers everything from the latest diagnostic methodologies to current catheter-based basics to post-op patient management. Diseases and conditions include diabetes mellitus, atherosclerosis, obesity, and more. Emphasizes patient management and care rather than the technicalities of surgical interventions. Thoroughly updated, incorporating recent advancements in endovascular technologies and procedures. Disease-specific chapters cover pathophysiology, pre-op management, diagnosis, examination, procedural planning, and follow-up. Practical, no-nonsense writing style designed for easy and quick absorption of material. Includes management checklists, referenced to current literature, that facilitate efficient care planning and activities. Enhance Your eBook Reading Experience: Read directly on your preferred device(s), such as computer, tablet, or smartphone. Easily convert to audiobook, powering your content with natural language text-to-speech.
Heart Failure: a Companion to Braunwald's Heart Disease by
Up-to-date, authoritative and comprehensive, Heart Failure, 4th Edition, provides the clinically relevant information you need to effectively manage and treat patients with this complex cardiovascular problem. This fully revised companion to Braunwald's Heart Disease helps you make the most of new drug therapies such as angiotensin receptor neprilysin inhibitors (ARNIs), recently improved implantable devices, and innovative patient management strategies. Led by internationally recognized heart failure experts Dr. G. Michael Felker and Dr. Douglas Mann, this outstanding reference gives health care providers the knowledge to improve clinical outcomes in heart failure patients. Focuses on a clinical approach to treating heart failure, resulting from a broad variety of cardiovascular problems. Covers the most recent guidelines and protocols, including significant new updates to ACC, AHA, and HFSA guidelines. Covers key topics such as biomarkers and precision medicine in heart failure and new data on angiotensin receptor neprilysin inhibitors (ARNIs). Contains four new chapters: Natriuretic Peptides in Heart Failure; Amyloidosis as a Cause of Heart Failure; HIV and Heart Failure; and Neuromodulation in Heart Failure. Covers the pathophysiological basis for the development and progression of heart failure. Serves as a definitive resource to prepare for the ABIM's Heart Failure board exam. 2016 British Medical Association Award: First Prize, Cardiology (3rd Edition). Enhanced eBook version included with purchase. Your enhanced eBook allows you to access all of the text, figures, and references from the book on a variety of devices.
eBooks
Infective Endocarditis by
Infective Endocarditis: A Multidisciplinary Approach provides a comprehensive review of infective endocarditis and covers the entire spectrum of medical care for these challenging patients. It covers the ever-increasing scope of the problem, including epidemiology, as well as diagnostic work-up, microbiology, medical therapy, and surgical therapy for this disease. The book also addresses the opioid epidemic and rising infective endocarditis incidence in this population. Each type of practitioner can use this book as a definitive resource in reviewing aspects of care related to the endocarditis patient. This book will also serve as an updated resource to provide recent evidence regarding the management of these patients, as well as author perspectives and approaches to tackling the often complex and challenging issues revolving around care of the endocarditis patient. This is an essential reference and an authoritative source for infective endocarditis and provide physicians, nurses, social workers, and everyone who is routinely involved in the care of these patients.
ISBN: 9780128206577Publication Date: 2021-12-02
Managing Stress: Skills for Anxiety Reduction, Self-Care, and Personal Resiliency, 11th ed. by
Offering a greater focus on anxiety reduction and self-care, Managing Stress: Skills for Anxiety Reduction, Self-Care, and Personal Resiliency, Eleventh Edition provides a comprehensive approach to stress management, honoring the balance and harmony of the mind, body, spirit, and emotions. Referred to as the “authority on stress management” by students and professionals, this book equips readers with the tools needed to identify and manage stress while also coaching on how to strive for health and balance in these changing times. The holistic approach taken by internationally acclaimed lecturer and author Brian Luke Seaward gently guides the reader to greater levels of mental, emotional, physical, and spiritual well-being by emphasizing the importance of the mind-body-spirit connection. Key Features: - New Chapter (1) on Living in an Upside-Down World - New Learning Objectives open each chapter offering direction to students in the learning ahead. - New Self-Care Toolboxes within each chapter provide helpful suggestions for taking care of oneself. - New Chapter (27) on Getting a Good Night’s Sleep - Updates throughout, including new studies and updated statistics that align with current literature. - Added coverage of newer social media platforms, such as Instagram and TikTok - New final chapter (28) provides “Additional Relaxation Techniques”, combining and revising content from chapter, 24, 25, and 26 of prior edition. - Unparalleled student resources, including “The Art of Peace and Relaxation” digital workbook, interactive eBook with audio introduction, knowledge check questions, eBook quizzes, relaxation media, flashcards, and more.
Manual of Percutaneous Coronary Interventions by
Manual of Percutaneous Coronary Interventions: A Step by Step Approach is a practical, easy to read reference guide on how to perform percutaneous coronary. Written by recognized experts in the field, this reference compiles the necessary steps, lists pitfalls to watch out for, and provides tactics on troubleshooting percutaneous coronary interventions. Written to bring a practical and easy to read approach, this book is perfect for interventional cardiologists, interventional and general cardiology fellows, cardiology researchers, physicians, cardiac catheterization laboratory personnel, technical staff, industry professionals and anyone interested in understanding the cutting-edge and rapidly evolving field of coronary PCI.
Mechanical Circulatory Support: a Companion to Braunwald's Heart Disease by
Offering comprehensive, authoritative coverage of mechanical circulatory support (MCS), this fully revised companion to Braunwald's Heart Disease provides the clinically relevant information you need to effectively use this therapy to treat and manage end-stage heart failure. New editors and authors - experts in both cardiology and cardiovascular surgery - bring you fully up to date with the newest technology and devices, as well as basic science, clinical applications, adverse event monitoring and management, socioeconomic implications, future directions, and more. Covers all of the newest techniques, including new-generation devices. Discusses the management of common patient problems, highlighting cautions and outcomes, as well as pathophysiology and rationale for treatment. Brings you up to speed with the latest coverage of ventricular assist devices (VAD), extracorporeal membrane oxygenation (ECMO), next-generation centrifugal pumps, and total artificial hearts. Provides a complete clinical perspective of the latest scientific breakthroughs and analysis of the current literature. Includes coverage of the most recent guidelines and protocols, including MCS for pediatric and congenital heart disease; the Interagency Registry of Mechanically Assisted Circulatory Support (INTERMACS) as a tool to track and advance clinical practice; and cellular, molecular, genomic, and functional changes that occur in the failing heart in response to MCS. Presents practical evidence from the registry of thousands of cases to guide cardiologists, cardiovascular surgeons, emergency physicians, primary care physicians, and other team members on the best management course to follow for each particular patient. Enhanced eBook version included with purchase, which allows you to access all of the text, figures, and references from the book on a variety of devices
Myocardial Infarction: a Companion to Braunwald's Heart Disease by
Get the tools and knowledge you need for effective diagnosis, evaluation, and management of patients with acute myocardial infarction. Myocardial Infarction: A Companion to Braunwald's Heart Disease, by David A. Morrow, MD, is a comprehensive, hands-on resource that provides practical guidance from a name you trust. Concise and easy to use, this text explores the most recent tools for diagnosis and therapeutic decision-making, as well as the full range of available management strategies, providing outcomes data for each strategy. Myocardial Infarction also includes regular updates with late-breaking clinical trials, reviews of important new articles, and the latest guidance on clinical practice, all selected and masterfully edited by Dr. Eugene Braunwald. Provides thorough discussions of ECG, established and emerging biochemical markers, angiography, nuclear cardiology, echocardiography, and cardiac MRI and CT. Features an extensive treatment section that covers the latest drugs and most recent clinical trials of antiplatelet therapy, coronary revascularization, gene therapy, and approaches to reperfusion injury and ventricular remodeling. Discusses special considerations for the evaluation of acute coronary syndromes in the emergency department, and use of advanced technologies in cardiac critical care. Covers key topics such as in-hospital complications, cardiogenic shock, transitions to post-discharge care, and cardiac rehabilitation. Includes Clinical Practice/Controversy chapters that highlight management-focused, practical topics covering expert approaches for areas of uncertainty. Offers guidance on the management of special populations. Online content includes animations illustrating key pathobiology, including dynamic thrombosis, platelet adherence-activation-aggregation and adverse ventricular remodeling, as well as management strategies and procedural techniques. Regularly updated Expert ConsultT eBook version included with purchase. This enhanced eBook experience allows you to search all of the text, figures, and references from the book on a variety of devices.
The Psychology of Cardiovascular Illness by
This important book shows those working with clinical populations how to develop an understanding of the psychology of patients with cardiovascular problems to support appropriate medical care. An understanding of the psychological underpinnings of physical illness can alter the way clinicians conceptualize their patients and the communities they serve. Based on the latest research, this book offers suggestions about how to approach cardiovascular disease holistically in multidisciplinary medical settings with competence and professionalism in mind. With the escalating prevalence of cardiovascular diseases, this book flags the importance of understanding the psychological mechanisms at play in affected patients, highlighting the multifactorial pathways that lead to the development of physical health maladies and comorbid psychopathology. It describes the bidirectional relationship of cardiovascular disease with personality pathology and offers best practices in interacting between primary care, cardiology, psychologists, and other allied professionals. It also provides specific instruction about how to navigate the relationship with medical doctors while illustrating the unique ethical challenges or limitations of the health psychologist working with patients, their families, and providers in clinical practice. Moreover, it includes coverage of treatment plans taking into consideration individual differences in age, health status, and culture. This book will be of interest to anyone interested in furthering their knowledge about the complex interplay between cardiovascular problems and mental health conditions, especially clinical health psychologists who collaborate with social workers, primary care physicians, cardiologists, and surgeons alike.
Zipes and Jalife's Cardiac Electrophysiology: from Cell to Bedside, 8th ed. by
Fully updated from cover to cover.Zipes and Jalife's Cardiac Electrophysiology: From Cell to Bedside, 8th Edition, provides the comprehensive, multidisciplinary coverage you need-from new knowledge in basic science to the latest clinical advances in the field. Drs. José Jalife and William Gregory Stevenson lead a team of global experts who provide cutting-edge content and step-by-step instructions for all aspects of cardiac electrophysiology. Packs each chapter with the latest information necessary for optimal basic research as well as patient care. Covers new technologies such as CRISPR, protein research, improved cardiac imaging, optical mapping, and wearable devices. Contains significant updates in the areas of molecular biology and genetics, iPSCs (induced pluripotent stem cells), embryonic stem cells, precision medicine, antiarrhythmic drug therapy, cardiac mapping with advanced techniques, and ablation technologies including stereotactic radioablation. Includes 47 new chapters covering both basic science and clinical topics. Discusses extensive recent progress in the understanding, diagnosis, and management of arrhythmias, including new clinical insights on atrial fibrillation and stroke prevention, new advances in the understanding of ventricular arrythmias in genetic disease, and advances in implantable devises and infection management. Features 1,600 high-quality photographs, anatomic and radiographic images, electrocardiograms, tables, algorithms, and more additional figures, tables, and videos online.
