eBooks
Cardiopulmonary Transplantation and Mechanical Circulatory Support by
Cardiopulmonary Transplantation and Mechanical Circulatory Support provides a comprehensive review of the field. Written for all tiers of healthcare professionals managing such complex patients. The handbook tackles all topics within this field, including heart failure, heart transplantation, lung transplantation, and all tiers of mechanical circulatory support in adults and paediatric patients. The chapters are written by prominent and globally respected experts in Europe and North America, providing their evidence base as well as personal, practical hints and tips for all practitioners.
Cardiovascular Applications of Stem Cells by
The book covers multifarious aspects of stem cell-based therapy for cardiovascular diseases. In addition to stem cells from different sources for cell-based therapy, it covers stem cell organoids and stem cell-derived exosomes in regenerative medicine. The book also encompasses advances in state-of-the-art infrastructure to improve the maturation aspects of pluripotent stem cells-derived cardiomyocytes using a novel scaffold-based cell culture system for cell delivery in experimental animal models and clinical settings. Besides the use of mesenchymal stem cells, the book includes chapters on the use of cardiac progenitor cells (CPCs), microtissue implantation, use of PSCs for valvulopathies, application of de-cellularized organ arrays as natural scaffolds for cardiac tissue engineering, use of epicardial stem cells, and skeletal myoblasts in cell-based therapy for myocardial regeneration. Besides the cell-based therapy approach, the book also reviews the stem cell-derived exosomes, their characteristics, and engineering strategies to enhance their therapeutic potential via targeting and drug loading and use in disease models. Additionally, the book also discusses the latest research on injectable hydrogels for cardiovascular regeneration and how hydrogel-based delivery protects the cells and their retention post-engraftment in the heart, a problem, which significantly reduces the efficacy of cell-based therapy.
eBooks
Heart Transplantation by
This is a comprehensive translational reference covering a range of topics within heart transplantation. Including review of the procedure itself, preoperative requirements, potential complications and follow-up with the most up-to-date research and literature review, it introduces the embryology, anatomy, physiology, pathology and cardio-immunology of the heart. It also delves into other aspects of heart transplantation including organ procurement, religious aspects, the ethical issues that can emerge prior or during the surgery and discussion of the continued development of artificial hearts. The book explores multiorgan transplantation and their outcomes and complications.Heart Transplantation discusses the topic using illustrations and charts to aid understanding, allowing readers to gain a full understanding of the whole procedure easily. A list of practical surgical questions are presented at the end of each chapter to encourage the reader to challenge their understanding of the topic. With an emphasis on an interconnected approach to studying heart transplantation, this book presents a novel approach to educating surgeons in this challenging area of surgery. It is therefore an important addition to the literature for all involved in the management of heart transplantation from surgical residents to surgical nurses, cardiologists, anesthesiologists and experienced cardiac surgeons.
ISBN: 9783031173110
Textbook of Transplantation and Mechanical Support for End-Stage Heart and Lung Disease by
Textbook of Transplantation and Mechanical Support for End-Stage Heart and Lung Disease Comprehensive textbook covering all aspects of the care of patients with advanced heart or lung disease Transplantation and Mechanical Support for End-Stage Heart and Lung Disease is the most comprehensive and contemporary textbook available that addresses the medical and surgical treatment options for patients with end-stage heart and lung disease. All facets of these complex and resource-intensive therapies are covered by leading experts -- including the basics of transplant immunology, databases, regulatory and ethical aspects of transplantation and conventional and new modalities of donor organ harvest. Transplantation and Mechanical Support for End-Stage Heart and Lung Disease includes further information on topics such as: Historical developments that facilitated heart and lung transplantation; engineering advances in continuous flow technologies Transplant organizations, oversight, structure, process, databases and registries in the thoracic transplants and MCS field Current strategies in immune modulation, desensitization protocols and mechanisms of allograft rejection and tolerance/immunosenescence Detailed descriptions of donor and recipient surgical procedures as well as comprehensive implantation techniques for all available short- and long-term mechanical circulatory support devices, including ECMO Organ allocation and prioritization, donor evaluation, high risk donors, marginal donors, and risk assessment Richly enhanced with summary tables and color illustrations to provide an engaging and supportive learning experience, the book will serve as a highly valuable source of contemporary knowledge for medical students, residents, nurses, perfusionists, physicians and surgeons involved in the care of these desperately ill group of patients. "This comprehensive book covers all aspects of advanced heart and lung failure treatment, including shock, short-term and durable mechanical assistance, as well as transplantation. The in-depth information will be welcome by newcomers in the field as well as seasoned veterans." --Andreas Zuckermann, M.D Vice-Chair, Department of Cardiac Surgery, Director of Cardiac Transplantation Program, Medical University of Vienna, Vienna General Hospital "This comprehensive tour-de-force compendium covers practical issues of clinical administration, program development, care pathways, ongoing challenges and opportunities in each treatment area as a must go-to reference for guidance in the rapidly evolving fields of mechanical circulatory support and transplantation." --Mandeep R. Mehra, MBBS, MSc, FRCP Executive Director, Center for Advanced Heart Disease, Brigham and Women's Hospital, Harvard Medical School "This unique textbook authored by key opinion leaders is a refreshing 'wind of change' in our field, one that will well serve all professionals involved in the care of end-stage heart and lung patients for many years to come." --Marcelo Cypel MD, MSc, FACS, FRCSC Surgical Director Ajmera Transplant Centre at UHN , University of Toronto
ISBN: 9781119633853Publication Date: 2023-08-22
