Cardiovascular Medicine: Preventive Medicine

Ancient and Traditional Foods, Plants, Herbs and Spices Used in Cardiovascular Health and Disease by Rajkumar Rajendram; Victor Preedy; Vinood Patel, 2024 This book will interest practitioners and researchers in the food science and nutrition fields, and possibly others with an interest in the interaction between diet and health. The need of the book and timeliness are appropriate as the world is heading during the COVID 19 pandemic, cardiovascular disease is one of the comorbidities which has severe adverse effects. There have been considerable advances in scientific techniques in the last few decades and these have been used to examine the composition and applications of traditional cures. Modern science has also seen the investigation of herbs, spices and botanicals beyond their traditional usage. The evidence-based approach that the Editors propose is relatively rare for this type of topic.

Cardiovascular Disease in the Elderly, 2nd ed. by Thorsten M. Leucker; Gary Gerstenblith, 2023 The second edition of this book updates, reviews, and discusses the latest findings on the pathophysiology, diagnosis, and management of cardiovascular disease in the older patient. It explains the physiological changes associated with the normal aging process that may lead to the development of disease, to adverse consequences once disease develops, and which alter the risk-benefit equation for medical and other interventions designed to diagnose, assess, and treat cardiovascular disease. Chapters address key issues in the management of cardiovascular disease in the elderly including prevention, coronary artery disease, valvular disease, hypertensive disease, arrhythmias, and interventions. Wherever possible, the authors take an evidence-based approach to recommendations and rely heavily on clinical trials. The value of lifestyle changes in the aging population, the use of primary and secondary prevention strategies, treatments, and complications are also discussed. Cardiovascular Disease in the Elderly offers physicians and other related providers who care for older patients a gold-standard approach to understanding and managing cardiovascular disease in this group.

Chronic Coronary Artery Disease: A Companion to Braunwald’s Heart Disease by Torbjø Omland; James de Lemos, 2018 Featuring expert guidance from Drs. James de Lemos and Torbjørn Omland, as well as other globally known leaders in cardiology, Chronic Coronary Artery Disease covers every aspect of managing and treating patients suffering from chronic coronary syndromes. This brand-new companion to Braunwald's Heart Disease was designed as a stand-alone reference for physicians treating patients who present with complex, unique challenges, offering the latest information on the use of imaging modalities in diagnosis and treatment, advances in interventional and surgical approaches to revascularization, new medications to improve symptoms and outcomes in chronic CAD, and much more. Relevant updates to the text are sourced regularly from the parent reference, Braunwald's Heart Disease and delivered on Expert Consult at no additional cost. These updates cover late-breaking clinical trials, reviews of important new articles, and the latest guidance on clinical practice, all selected and masterfully edited by Dr. Eugene Braunwald. Covers every aspect of evaluation and treatment of patients who suffer from chronic coronary syndromes. Provides both evidenced based recommendations from the most recent guidelines from the major cardiology societies: AHA, ACC, and ESC, as well as practical management tips from leading experts with extensive clinical experience. Highlights new developments concerning epidemiology and prevention, pathophysiology, and clinical findings, as well as laboratory testing, invasive and non-invasive testing, risk stratification, clinical decision-making, and prognosis and management of chronic coronary syndromes. Features information on today's hot topics, including the use of novel imaging modalities in diagnosis and treatment and emerging therapies to improve outcomes in chronic CAD. Relevant updates sourced from the parent Braunwald's Heart Disease text are available on Expert Consult. Expert ConsultT eBook version included with purchase. This enhanced eBook experience allows you to search all of the text, figures, and references from the book on a variety of devices.

Ellestad's Stress Testing, 6th ed. by Gregory S. Thomas; L. Samuel Wann; Myrvin H. Ellestad, 2018 The sixth edition of Ellestad's classic text on cardiac stress testing has been extensively updated and re-written to communicate contemporary understanding of the classical principles of stress testing to clinicians and researchers, students and seasoned practitioners alike. The current techniques for performing stress tests presented herein reflect major technologic advances in imaging, physiologic monitoring and the assessment of cardiovascular risk, addressing fundamental paradigm shifts in interventional, surgical and medical treatment of heart disease. Moreover, the text addresses the dramatic changes that are occurring in patient demographics and the environmental, socioeconomic, gender and genomic factors that crucially impact heart disease and warrant attention when performing cardiac stress testing. Chapters on the physiology of exercise testing including practical details regarding protocols for conducting the stress test, proper supervision, important parameters to be monitored, and the diagnostic and prognostic information to be gleaned from the electrocardiogram set the stage for expanded chapters on the use of cardiac imaging in conjunction with stress testing. Physiologic and metabolic considerations during stress testing are covered in detail. Application of stress testing to special populations, such as women, children, athletes, and individuals in both high and low risk groups are covered in new chapters. Finally, the authors address the use of stress testing in limited resource environments and discuss global changes in the incidence of atherosclerosis, and suggest how stress testing may evolve.

Emery and Rimoin's Principles and Practice of Medical Genetics and Genomics: Cardiovascular, Respiratory, and Gastrointestinal Disorders, 7th ed. by Reed E. Pyeritz; Bruce R. Korf; Wayne W. Grody, 2020 Emery and Rimoin's Principles and Practice of Medical Genetics and Genomics: Cardiovascular, Respiratory, and Gastrointestinal Disorders, Seventh Edition includes the latest information on seminal topics such as prenatal diagnosis, genome and exome sequencing, public health genetics, genetic counseling, and management and treatment strategies. This comprehensive, yet practical, resource emphasizes theory and research fundamentals relating to applications of medical genetics across the full spectrum of inherited disorders and applications to medicine. Updated sections in this release cover the genetics of cardiovascular, respiratory and gastrointestinal disorders, with an emphasis on genetic determinants and new pathways for diagnosis, prevention and disease management. In addition, genetic researchers, students and health professionals will find new and fully revised chapters on the molecular genetics of congenital heart defects, inherited cardiomyopathies, hypertension, cystic fibrosis, asthma, hereditary pulmonary emphysema, inflammatory bowel disease, and bile pigment metabolism disorders among other conditions.

New Frontiers of Cardiovascular Screening Using Unobtrusive Sensors, AI, and IoT by Rohan Banerjee; Sanjay Kimbahune; Arpan Pal et al, 2022 New Frontiers of Cardiovascular Screening using Unobtrusive Sensors, AI, and IoT provides insights into real-world problems in cardiovascular disease screening that can be addressed via AI, IoT and wearable based sensing. Non-Communicable Diseases (NCD) are surpassing CDS and emerging as the foremost cause of death. Hence, early screening of CVDs using wearable and other similar sensors is an extremely important global problem to solve. The digital health field is constantly changing, and this book provides a review of recent technology developments, offering unique coverage of processing time series physiological sensor data. The authors have developed this book with graduate and post graduate students in mind, making sure they provide an accessible entry point into the field. This book is particularly useful for engineers and computer scientists who want to build technologies that work in real world scenarios as it provides a practitioner's view/insights /tricks of the trade. Finally, this book helps researchers working on this important problem to quickly ramp up their knowledge and research to the state-of-the-art.

Predicting Heart Failure by Issam Bait Bahadur; Kishor Kumar Sadasivuni; Hassen M. Ouakad et al, 2022 PREDICTING HEART FAILURE Predicting Heart Failure: Invasive, Non-Invasive, Machine Learning and Artificial Intelligence Based Methods focuses on the mechanics and symptoms of heart failure and various approaches, including conventional and modern techniques to diagnose it. This book also provides a comprehensive but concise guide to all modern cardiological practice, emphasizing practical clinical management in many different contexts. Predicting Heart Failure supplies readers with trustworthy insights into all aspects of heart failure, including essential background information on clinical practice guidelines, in-depth, peer-reviewed articles, and broad coverage of this fast-moving field. Readers will also find: Discussion of the main characteristics of cardiovascular biosensors, along with their open issues for development and application Summary of the difficulties of wireless sensor communication and power transfer, and the utility of artificial intelligence in cardiology Coverage of data mining classification techniques, applied machine learning and advanced methods for estimating HF severity and diagnosing and predicting heart failure Discussion of the risks and issues associated with the remote monitoring system Assessment of the potential applications and future of implantable and wearable devices in heart failure prediction and detection Artificial intelligence in mobile monitoring technologies to provide clinicians with improved treatment options, ultimately easing access to healthcare by all patient populations. Providing the latest research data for the diagnosis and treatment of heart failure, Predicting Heart Failure: Invasive, Non-Invasive, Machine Learning and Artificial Intelligence Based Methods is an excellent resource for nurses, nurse practitioners, physician assistants, medical students, and general practitioners to gain a better understanding of bedside cardiology.

The Psychology of Cardiovascular Illness by Mark P. Blanchard; Steven Abell, 2022 This important book shows those working with clinical populations how to develop an understanding of the psychology of patients with cardiovascular problems to support appropriate medical care. An understanding of the psychological underpinnings of physical illness can alter the way clinicians conceptualize their patients and the communities they serve. Based on the latest research, this book offers suggestions about how to approach cardiovascular disease holistically in multidisciplinary medical settings with competence and professionalism in mind. With the escalating prevalence of cardiovascular diseases, this book flags the importance of understanding the psychological mechanisms at play in affected patients, highlighting the multifactorial pathways that lead to the development of physical health maladies and comorbid psychopathology. It describes the bidirectional relationship of cardiovascular disease with personality pathology and offers best practices in interacting between primary care, cardiology, psychologists, and other allied professionals. It also provides specific instruction about how to navigate the relationship with medical doctors while illustrating the unique ethical challenges or limitations of the health psychologist working with patients, their families, and providers in clinical practice. Moreover, it includes coverage of treatment plans taking into consideration individual differences in age, health status, and culture. This book will be of interest to anyone interested in furthering their knowledge about the complex interplay between cardiovascular problems and mental health conditions, especially clinical health psychologists who collaborate with social workers, primary care physicians, cardiologists, and surgeons alike.

Sex Differences in Cardiac Diseases by Niti R. Aggarwal; Malissa J. Wood, 2021 Significant biological differences exist between men and women that contribute to sex-specific differences in cardiovascular disease (CVD) risk factors, pathophysiology, presentation, response to therapy, and prognosis. It is essential for clinicians to be cognizant of these sex-specific differences in order to reduce the disparity in diagnosis and management of cardiovascular diseases in both genders. Sex Differences in Cardiac Disease provides a timely review of the contemporary data on these sex-specific differences in pathophysiology, clinical presentation, diagnostic evaluation, and management of cardiovascular diseases that fills a void for clinicians in practice and training. With contributions from renowned experts in the field and guideline writers, the text provides a state-of-the-art review of each topic encompassing the full spectrum of CVD in men and women. Sex-specific guideline-based recommendations are highlighted when available. Tailored to meet the needs of the busy clinicians and researchers, this text provides concise practical data to care for men and women at risk for or with CVD. The book serves as an essential resource for researchers, cardiologists, obstetricians, gynecologists, internists, family practitioners, nurse practitioners and physician assistants, and respective trainees who treat men and women with CVD.

The Truth about Heart Disease: How to Prevent Coronary Heart Disease and Personalize Your Treatment with Nutrition, Nutritional Supplements, Exercise and Lifestyle Tailored to Your Genetics by Mark Houston, 2023 There are over 400 CHD risk factors that need to be evaluated, prevented, and treated. It is crucial that we have tests for early identification, prevention and treatment of CHD and MI. CHD remains the number one cause of morbidity and mortality in the United States. This book discusses not only older traditional risk factors of heart disease, but new considerations including updated genetic material which is state of the art. This book provides a new and detailed explanation of the causes of CHD and MI based on genetics, blood tests, urine tests. vascular tests and cardiac tests. Once this information is understood and applied to the patient the control of CHD risk factors, cardiovascular complications such as MI and heart failure will be improved with fewer adverse effects and lower cost. No other heart book on the market has this updated and extensive data based on published trials and the experience of the author. Chapters are written in an easy- to -understand format and all medical terms are defined for the reader. Tables and figures are provided each chapter to better illustrate what is described in the text, provide concise, understandable, and valuable information. All references are numbered in the text and then listed at the end of each chapter - the references provide additional medical information. Summaries and Key Take Away Points are provided at the end of each chapter. A sources section is listed at the end of the book which lists contact information for the best nutritional supplement companies, lab, and testing companies, as well as other important sources mentioned in the text of the book.

Vascular Disease in Women by Caitlin Hicks; Linda Harris, 2021 Vascular Disease in Women highlights the epidemiology, natural history and treatment of vascular disease, specifically as it pertains to women. The book provides a thorough overview of what is known and waht is now known about vascular disease in women and highlights opportunities for further education and research on this topic. The book will serve as an essential reference for both clinicians and researchers, discussing the disease prevalence, treatment options, and treatment outcomes for vascular disease in women and explores the need for future research in vascular disease specifically as it pertains to women.