eBooks
Anderson's Pediatric Cardiology, 4th ed. by
As a leading reference on pediatric cardiology and congenital heart disease, Anderson's Pediatric Cardiology provides exhaustive coverage of potential pediatric cardiovascular anomalies, potential sequelae related to these anomalies, comorbidities and neurodevelopmental problems, and current methods for management and treatment. The fully revised 4th Edition addresses significant and ongoing changes in practice, including recent developments in fetal, neonatal, and adult congenital heart conditions as well as expanded content on intensive care, nursing issues, and societal implications. The outstanding illustration program provides superb visual guidance and is now supplemented with a remarkable collection of more than 350 professionally curated imaging and intra-operative surgical videos. Offers authoritative, long-term coverage of a broad spectrum of cardiology conditions, including congenital heart disease, adult congenital heart disease (ACHD), acquired heart disease, cardiomyopathies, and rhythm disturbances. Features exquisite specimen images by Dr. Robert Anderson and Diane Spicer dissected in easily recognizable analogous imaging planes. These are included in the over 850 anatomic, photographic, imaging, and algorithmic figures, and incorporate new images using virtual dissections of 3D datasets obtained in living patients. An extensive new section describing the non-cardiac consequences of congenital cardiac disease and other related issues Outside the Heart, including new chapters on quality improvement in congenital cardiac disease, models of care delivery, neurocognitive assessment and outcomes, psychosocial issues for patients and families, ethics, nursing implications, acute and chronic renal complications, and telemedicine. Three entirely new, expanded sections on the Functionally Univentricular Heart, Fetal Congenital Cardiac Disease, and Heart Failure and Transplantation. Provides a new focus on patient and family-centered care with expert advice on how to communicate difficult diagnoses to patients and families. Features new integration of nursing content into all disease-specific chapters, as well as updated content on genetics, congenital heart disease and follow-up, and new imaging modalities. Contains chapters on new and emerging topics such as MRI and Quantifying the Fetal Circulation in Congenital Cardiac Disease; Congenital Anomalies of the Coronary Arteries; and The Global Burden of Pediatric Heart Disease and Pediatric Cardiac Care in Low- and Middle-Income Countries Shares the experience and knowledge of an international team of multidisciplinary experts in medicine and advanced practice nursing. Expert ConsultT eBook version included with purchase. This enhanced eBook experience allows you to search all of the text, tables and figures from the book on a variety of devices.
Arrhythmias in Children by
Pediatric arrhythmias present numerous challenges to pediatric cardiologists and other practitioners who see pediatric patients, including pediatricians, family physicians, emergency physicians, residents, fellows, and other clinicians. Arrhythmias in Children: A Case-Based Approach features practical methods for diagnosing and treating arrhythmias in these patients across all settings. Nearly three dozen real-world scenarios are presented, followed by a discussion of the diagnosis, clinical thinking process involved, treatment options, expected outcomes, and how to manage anticipated and unanticipated outcomes. These practical, realistic cases provide a unique and engaging way of approaching these challenging patient scenarios. Uses a case-based approach for a full spectrum of pediatric arrythmias in the newborn, child, pre-teen, and teenager. Presents history and physical, differential diagnoses, tests to order, and practical plans of action. Includes a section on arrythmias in special circumstances. Models clinical thinking skills for a wide number of real-world patient situations. Reviews pertinent clinical guidelines, treatment, and follow up.
Atlas of Pediatric Echocardiography by
Written by Dr. Filip Kucera, a pediatric cardiology consultant at Great Ormond Street Hospital, Atlas of Pediatric Echocardiography provides "next level" guidance for clinicians who want to improve their echocardiographic skills. It covers a wide range of levels, from a beginner to an advanced level. This highly illustrated atlas is an excellent resource not only for pediatric cardiologists and trainees in pediatric cardiology, but also neonatologists, pediatric intensivists, and pediatricians with an interest in echocardiography. .Contains over 800 high-quality echocardiograms, depicting normal views followed by congenital and acquired cardiovascular defects and other conditions. .Provides clear explanations for all pathology images for a clear understanding of the diagnosis. .Includes a guide to normal echocardiographic examination. .Covers segmental approach to congenital heart disease; atrial, ventricular and atrio-ventricular septal defects; diseases of the mitral, tricuspid, left and right ventricular outflow tract; double outlet right ventricle; tetralogy of Fallot; transposition of the great arteries; truncus arteriosus; functionally single ventricle; PDA; coarctation and interruption of the aorta; vascular rings; pulmonary and systemic venous anomalies; congenital coronary artery abnormalities; myocarditis; cardiomyopathies; Kawasaki disease; rheumatic heart disease; infective endocarditis; pericardial disease; cardiac tumors; pulmonary hypertension; genetic syndromes; mechanical circulatory support; heart transplantation and more.
Common Cardiac Issues in Pediatrics by
Learn from leading experts the latest information on cardiac issues seen most often in a pediatric office. The scope of focus includes signs and symptoms, management of patients with acquired or congenital heart disease, cardiac implications of common infectious diseases, preventive cardiology strategies, and other issues that are frequently managed or evaluated by the primary care clinician. Topics include: Evaluation of the Patient Common Signs and Symptoms Congenital Heart Disease Cardiomyopathies and Channelopathies Acquired Cardiac Diseases Infectious Diseases Preventive Cardiology Strategies General Issues in Primary Cardiac Care More than 130 full color photos and illustrations enhance disease recognition and clinical decision-making. In addition, the resource features information on preventive cardiology strategies, patient evaluation, and more issues in primary cardiac care.
ISBN: 9781610021449Publication Date: 2018-06-01
Congenital Heart Disease: a Clinical, Pathological, Embryological, and Segmental Analysis by
Authored by the originator of the standard nomenclature for this spectrum of disorders, Congenital Heart Disease: A Clinical, Pathological, Embryological, and Segmental Analysis discusses the history, anatomic features, and physiologic consequences of CHD―in one authoritative resource. The Van Praagh approach to the segmental classification of CHD, developed and implemented by Dr. Richard Van Praagh in the 1960s at Boston Children’s Hospital, remains widely used today, facilitating communication among radiologists, cardiologists, surgeons, and pediatricians who are involved in the diagnosis, characterization, and management of this disease. This unique atlas offers complete coverage of the ubiquitous Van Praagh “language of CHD, including the signs, symptoms, and clinical manifestations of malpositioned, malformed, or absent cardiovascular chambers, vessels, and valves using traditional as well as state-of-the-art technology.
Congenital Heart Diseases: the Broken Heart: Clinical Features, Human Genetics and Molecular Pathways, 2nd ed. by
This 2nd edition has been extensively updated and provides comprehensive and current insight into congenital heart diseases, from embryonic development through to clinical features, including human genetics and our current knowledge of the underlying molecular pathways. The book is divided into three parts: an introduction to the development of the heart and its vessels, an overview of the molecular pathways affecting the development of various cardiovascular structures, and a main section focusing on the different types of structural and nonstructural congenital heart diseases, including their clinical features, underlying genetic alterations and insights from animal models and pathways. All chapters have been updated and new chapters added on state-of-the-art approaches including stem cells and organoids, cardiac metabolism, single cell transcriptomics and 3D reconstruction of human heart development. The clinical chapters have been extended and include new sections on diagnostic imaging techniques. Taken together, the book, written by and for clinicians and researchers, provides an integrated and up-to-date resource for all those who want to learn more about both the clinical aspects and the genetic and molecular basis of congenital heart disease.
ISBN: 9783031440861Publication Date: 2024-06-18
eBooks
Critical Heart Disease in Infants and Children, 3rd ed. by
Now in brilliant full color and reflecting recent significant changes in the field, Critical Heart Disease in Infants and Children, 3rd Edition, keeps you abreast of the skills and knowledge required to safely care for children with congenital and acquired heart disease in the ICU. Pediatric intensivists, cardiologists, cardiac surgeons, and anesthesiologists from leading centers around the world provide a well-rounded perspective on basic scientific principles, medical and pharmacologic treatments, surgical techniques, and equipment. Features comprehensive updates throughout the text, including indications, techniques, potential complications in perioperative management of patients, and surgical techniques for congenital heart disease. Covers recent advances in the treatment of pulmonary hypertension, developments in mechanical assist devices, heart and lung transplantation, and interventional cardiac catheterization. Features an all-new, full-color format that speeds navigation and helps clarify complex concepts. Contains 27 new chapters with an emphasis on the team approach to patient care in the ICU including creating multidisciplinary teams, quality and performance improvement, training , and challenges and solutions to developing a cohesive team environment. Includes a detailed chapter on bedside ultrasound, walking you through the techniques you're most likely to encounter in the ICU. Employs well-documented tables, text boxes, and algorithms to make clinical information easy to access, and more than two dozen video clips provide a more complete understanding of echocardiography, imaging modalities, pulmonary hypertension, and more. Describes the basic pharmacology and clinical applications of new pharmacologic agents. Examines issues affecting adults with congenital heart disease. Enhanced eBook version included with purchase. Your enhanced eBook allows you to access all of the text, figures, and references from the book on a variety of devices. Offers four completely new chapters: Cardiac Trauma, Congenital Heart Disease in the Adult, Congenitally Corrected Transposition of the Great Arteries, and Outcome Evaluation. Describes the basic pharmacology and clinical applications of all of the new pharmacologic agents. Details important refinements and developments in surgical techniques, including the Ross pulmonary autograft replacement of the aortic valve, video-assisted fluoroscopy, and the extracardiac Fontan connection, and discusses their indications and potential complications. Explores the latest advances in the treatment of pulmonary hypertension, new developments in mechanical assist devices, heart and lung transplantation, and interventional cardiac catheterization. Examines issues affecting adults with congenital heart disease.
Echocardiography in Pediatric and Adult Congenital Heart Disease by
Edited by expert clinicians at Mayo Clinic and other leading global institutions, Echocardiography in Pediatric and Adult Congenital Heart Disease remains your reference of choice in this fast-changing field. The Third Edition brings you fully up to date not only with all aspects of pediatric echocardiography, but also with multimodality imaging in adult congenital heart disease, making it an invaluable resource for cardiologists, fellows, internists, and radiologists, as well as pediatric echocardiographers and sonographers. Covers the full range of congenital and acquired heart abnormalities as well as valve prostheses and the transplanted heart, providing state-of-the-art knowledge to assess challenging cardiac lesions and physiology. Places increased emphasis on multimodality imaging (MR/CT), equipping you to better meet the inherent challenges of echo imaging for adults with repaired congenital heart disease. Includes board-style questions and answers for every chapter--perfect for exam review and self-assessment. Helps you obtain the maximum diagnostic value from today's imaging approaches: tissue Doppler, 3D echo, intra-cardiac and intraoperative transesophageal echo, and cardiac MRI and MR angiography. Depicts the full range of echo findings with more than 800 illustrations (most in full-color), more correlative anatomic images, numerous tables, and over 200 videos online. Enrich Your eBook Reading Experience Read directly on your preferred device(s), such as computer, tablet, or smartphone. Easily convert to audiobook, powering your content with natural language text-to-speech.
ISBN: 9781496394019Publication Date: 2020-09-02
Great Ormond Street Handbook of Paediatric Vascular Anomalies by
This new text from the Great Ormond Street Hospital team is a practical guide to the current multi-disciplinary clinical management of paediatric vascular anomalies. Aiming to share their valuable expertise, this book offers a much-needed clinical resource for the multi-disciplinary team. From haematology to orbital vascular malformations, this text provides a comprehensive overview of paediatric vascular anomalies, offering a wealth of tips from practical experience. Including illustrations from current practice, this book is a valuable addition to all those involved in the care of children with these rare conditions.
ISBN: 9781032190280Publication Date: 2023-11-01
Hemostasis Management of the Pediatric Surgical Patient by
Hemostasis Management of the Pediatric Surgical Patient provides knowledge on the emerging area of pediatric hemostasis and its management. It discusses aspects of perioperative blood management in the pediatric population, including how to accurately estimate and monitor bleeding and determine optimal treatment regimens for bleeding in pediatric surgical patients. It also provides information on the implementation of intraoperative blood conservation strategies, goal-directed transfusion therapy, and postoperative estimation of bleeding and thrombotic risks. This book is a valuable resource to pediatric practitioners and researchers who need comprehensive information on pediatric hematology, from basic physiology to pre-, intra- and postoperative care of pediatric patients. The coagulation system of children evolves with age as evidenced by marked physiological differences in the concentration of hemostatic proteins between children of different age groups and adults. Consequently, there are distinct differences in hemostatic management between adult and pediatric patients.
ISBN: 9780323904599Publication Date: 2023-10-24
Nadas' Pediatric Cardiology, 3d ed. by
In the preface to the first edition of his pediatric cardiology textbook published in 1957, Alexander S. Nadas stated: “I do not intend to write a reference book.....I hope to put proper emphasis on clinical recognition and management.” Subsequent editions in 1964, 1972, 1994, and 2006 by Dr. Nadas and his successors at Boston Children’s Hospital remained true to this theme by providing a solid clinical foundation without trying to be encyclopedic. We upheld the tradition for this new volume by including enough material to orient the reader to the modern complexities of pediatric cardiology and cardiac surgery while still ensuring the most important take-home messages for each chapter could be fully digested after a single reading. Likewise, the number of references has been kept deliberately short to better focus our audience on landmark articles and useful reviews. If we have done our job correctly, this should whet the reader’s appetite for more in-depth information to be acquired by studying contemporary journals and caring for actual patients. The latter activity, after all, will always be the undisputed gold standard in medical education.
In addition to providing a general update on diagnosis and treatment, this new edition incorporates several changes to enhance the learning experience. First, most chapters open with five key teaching points highlighting critical content. Second, our cardiac surgeons have taken an active role as coauthors on multiple chapters to provide a more comprehensive view of patient management. Third, new chapters have been added focusing on timely topics such as the failing Fontan circulation, pregnancy in women with congenital heart disease, novel surgical approaches to single ventricle, and evolving transcatheter interventions for hemodynamic lesions and arrhythmias. Finally, our publishing partners at Elsevier have kindly agreed to provide a companion e-book version (complete with video loops) that can be accessed from personal electronic devices. We hope such refinements will prove valuable to our readers at all stages of their careers. It should also be noted that we have refrained from making firm recommendations on medication dosages in this new addition, since textbooks are by nature too static to keep up with evolving data. Readers are referred to web-based or hospital-based formularies that are continuously updated with best-practice dosage guidelines.
As was the custom in previous editions, authors have been drawn primarily from the faculty within our own program. While this introduces a certain degree of institutional bias into management recommendations, we do not mean to suggest our approach is the exclusive way to treat heart disease in the young, but only that it has proven effective in our center’s experience. Reference lists have been constructed carefully to ensure that alternate approaches are suitably recognized.
Well over 60 years have passed since Dr. Nadas’ original textbook was published. To appreciate how far we have come over that time span, just consider his 1957 description of the prognosis for transposition of the great arteries: “ The clinical course is a grim one. Of our 36 patients, 12 died in the first month, 13 between one and four months, and only 3 lived beyond one year. Death approaches with catastrophic rapidity .” We are grateful to Dr. Nadas and the generations of clinicians who followed in his footsteps that such is no longer the case.
ISBN: 9781455705993
Neonatal Cardiology, Third Edition by
A full-color guide to understanding, evaluating, and treating heart disease in fetuses and newborns. Neonatal Cardiology is the trusted go-to guide for pediatricians and neonatologists needing concise, practical guidance on the evaluation and management of newborns with heart disease and other cardiac functional abnormalities. Focusing on physiology, mechanics, and presentation of congenital heart disease, this full-color resource provides a succinct, yet complete overview of neonatal cardiology. Neonatal Cardiology opens with discussions of basic aspects of embryology of the heart and a review of normal and abnormal muscle function. From there, you are led through the clinical assessment of patients with an array of cardiac abnormalities. Management and treatment follow, beginning with a basic chapter on the principles of medical management, followed by drug therapy and post-operative care. The book concludes with a chapter on Epidemiology, Etiology, and Genetics of Congenital Heart Disease.
Park's Pediatric Cardiology for Practitioners, 7th ed. by
Providing authoritative, everyday guidance in the diagnosis and management of children with congenital and acquired heart disease, Park's Pediatric Cardiology for Practitioners is the go-to reference of choice for pediatricians, family practitioners, NPs, and PAs-as well as medical students, residents, and fellows. The 7th Edition of this core text comprehensively covers every aspect of pediatric cardiology in an easy-to-read, practical manner for the non-specialist, bringing you completely up to date with all that's new in this fast-changing field. Covers everything from history and physical examination through preventative treatment and the management of special problems. Incorporates all of the latest concepts and most recent developments in pediatric cardiology. Offers highly accessible content through the extensive use of numbered lists, easy-to-use tables, and explanatory graphs and diagrams. Features new chapter outlines, as well as a new larger size and two-color format for greater readability. Provides fresh perspectives and expertise from new author Dr. Mehrdad Salamat, who joins Dr. Park for this 7th Edition. Synthesizes the most important references for generalists in a Suggested Readings section, ideal for additional reading in greater depth. Enhanced eBook version included with purchase. Your enhanced eBook allows you to access all of the text, figures, and references from the book on a variety of devices.
eBooks
Pediatric Neurovascular Disease: Surgical, Endovascular and Medical Management, 1st ed. by
Bridging the gap between the pediatric specialist unaccustomed to handling neurovascular pathologies and the neurovascular specialist unaccustomed to treating pediatric patients, this text covers the cutting-edge, multi-modal techniques for managing pediatric neurovascular disease, disorders, and malformations. It contains full descriptions and insightful perspectives on the most advanced surgical, endovascular, and medical treatments for cerebral aneurysms, arteriovenous fistulas, arteriovenous malformations, Galen's vein malformations, moyamoya disease, spinal vascular malformations, pediatric stroke, and more.
Highlights:
Easy-to-follow organization of disease topics according to endovascular, surgical, or medical treatment method
Discussion of endovascular techniques and tools for angioplasty and stents in children, as well as how to manage possible complications such as stroke and hemorrhage
More than 200 illustrations highlighting principles of disease pathology
Review of the existing literature helps the clinician gain a full understanding of the fundamentals in neurovascular disease management
With contributions from world-renowned experts, this is an exceptional clinical reference for neurosurgeons, neuroradiologists, neurointerventionalists, neurologists, and pediatricians seeking to gain expertise in a multi-pronged approach to pediatric neurovascular disease.
Pediatric Practice: Cardiology by
Hands-on guidance for managing pediatric patients with congenital and acquired heart disease FULL-COLOR ILLUSTRATIONS A Doody's Core Title for 2021! Part of the Pediatric Practice series, Pediatric Practice: Cardiology is filled with practical, clinically relevant guidance for the diagnosis and treatment of cardiac conditions in children. The care of the patient forms the core of this text, which provides perspectives on epidemiology, pathophysiology, and diagnosis that every pediatrician, cardiologist, family physician, and pediatric nurse needs to know. Pediatric Practice: Cardiology includes concise yet detailed overviews of pediatric cardiac conditions, along with proven diagnostic and management strategies you can incorporate into your practice immediately. It familiarizes primary care providers with the tools used in the care of pediatric cardiology patients and explains the different types of congenital heart defects. Additional coverage includes the risk factors for acquired adult heart disease and the different forms of inflammatory heart disease. Features of the Pediatric Practice Series The Pediatric Practice series simplifies the care of pediatric patients by delivering: Tips that tell you what you must know--and what you must do--at every stage of care Diagnostic and treatment algorithms Signs/Symptoms and Differential Diagnosis boxes "When to Refer" boxes, which examine all the relevant clinical considerations Diagnostic Tests--with a realistic emphasis on the right tests to order Medical Treatment coverage that includes drugs, dosages, and administration in an easy-to-read tabular format Convenient icons and a consistent chapter design Numerous clinical color photos and didactic diagrams
Perloff's Clinical Recognition of Congenital Heart Disease, 7th ed. by
Covering the full spectrum of CHD from infants through adults, Perloff's Clinical Recognition of Congenital Heart Disease, 7th Edition, provides unparalleled guidance on the diagnosis and treatment of common and uncommon CHD in one definitive resource. The editors of this new edition, Drs. Ariane J. Marelli and Jamil A. Aboulhosn, have maintained Dr. Joseph Perloff’s richly nuanced approach while bringing this classic text completely up to date with all the latest evidence and technologic advances in the field. With its comprehensive, step-by-step approach, you’ll acquire a structured understanding of CHD across age ranges, allowing you to effectively detect these conditions as early as possible.
The PICU Handbook by
An innovative new survival guide for the pediatric intensive care unit (PICU). The PICU Handbook is a unique, portable compilation of the information essential for residents and fellows to successfully navigate the modern Level 1 and Level 2 pediatric intensive care unit (PICU). Enhanced by numerous tables, formulas, algorithms, guidelines, checklists, rapid-sequence medication formularies, troubleshooting guides, and clinical pearls this is a true must read for all residents and fellows in pediatrics, family medicine, emergency medicine, and critical care, as well as pediatric hospitalists, pediatric nurse practitioners and advance practice nurses, physician assistants, and medical students. The Handbook is designed to be an easy-reference guide and is logically divided into two parts: Part 1: General Pediatric Critical Care - covers important topics such as resuscitation and stabilization, surgical critical care procedures, and pharmacology Part 2: Organ Systems - includes sections on respiratory, cardiovascular, neurology, renal/fluids & electrolytes, hematology/oncology, gastroenterology/nutrition/hepatology, environmental/toxicology emergencies, and allergy/immunology/genetics The book reflects the fact that pediatric critical care medicine requires a true multidisciplinary approach, with expert chapter contributors who are physicians, nurses, nurse practitioners, respiratory therapists, pharmacists, and nutritionists.
Practical Neonatal Echocardiography by
A concise introduction to the principles and practice of point-of-care echocardiography for neonatologists and other clinicians caring for sick neonates. Practical Neonatal Echocardiography is written to help clinicians develop the skills necessary to perform a high quality neonatal echocardiographic examination, evaluate cardiac function, and recognize abnormalities and defects. This unique text is based on an acclaimed course the authors have taught for the past sixteen years where they train neonatologists and other clinicians in the use of cardiac ultrasound for on-the-spot examination and diagnosis of neonatal patients. Features: Provides an introduction to the basic principles of echocardiography and the ultrasound scanners commonly used at pediatric cardiac centers. Neonatal cardiac anatomy is clearly described through use of 2-dimensional images and video clips. Chapters teach assessment of cardiac structure and function, central and peripheral blood flow, shunts, and pulmonary pressure. Myocardial dysfunction, heart failure, shock, hypotension, cardiomyopathy, cyanosis, pulmonary hypertension, and more are discussed in detail with multiple illustrative cases. Describes common features of ultrasound scanners and how to use them. Helps clinicians make informed choices about transducer selection, detailing particular advantages and disadvantages. Includes detailed descriptions of detecting abnormalities of cardiovascular function with and without congenital defects. Bolstered by more than 200 video clips (available at PracticalNeonatalEcho.com) that display real-life examples of normal vs. abnormal cardiac function in neonates.
