eBooks
Debulking in Cardiovascular Interventions and Revascularization Strategies by
Debulking in Cardiovascular Interventions and Revascularization Strategies: Between a Rock and the Heart aims to provide a comprehensive overview on the diagnostic and therapeutic aspects of resistant lesions as well as tailored debulking processes in revascularization strategies. Cardiovascular interventionalists and surgeons alike frequently encounter technical challenges and increased risk when attempting to diagnose and treat resistant cardiovascular lesions, bio-tissues and vessels. Calcified plaques, fibrotic or thrombotic lesions, total occlusions, degenerative plaques, complex lesions and vessels impose morphologic obstacles to the safe and effective delivery and deployment of balloons and stents. In such instances, a debulking strategy involving the actual drilling and extraction of the targeted plaque/bio-tissue constitutes a unique option that ensures safe and efficacious subsequent balloon dilatations and stenting. A range of topics is included in the book, from the characteristics and constituents of various resistant targets and bio-tissues, to the corresponding options of debulking methods, and finally the technologic and pharmacologic means available for application. The book also provides an up-to-date description of related management solutions and tools, exploring the medical issues pertaining to the patients with these targets; procedural results and clinical outcomes as related to debulking strategies and associated diagnostic and therapeutic technology and revascularization options. Review and discussion of the pathophysiology of cardiovascular resistant lesions Analysis of the impact on revascularization outcome of cardiovascular lesions/bio-tissues which exhibit resistance to standard revascularization Introduction of the concept of debulking for revascularization of cardiovascular diseases: comprehensive description Presentation of the clinical scenarios associated with resistant cardiovascular lesions and bio-tissue that require debulking Delineation of various state-of-the -art diagnostic imaging modalities for detection and demonstration of the lesions and tissues that require debulking Presentation of the expansive array of mechanical revascularization tools available for debulking Description of surgical debulking approaches to resistant cardiovascular lesions Summary of debulking outcomes
Endoscopic Cardiac Surgery: Tips, Tricks and Traps by
This book is unique in describing the practical considerations of endoscopic cardiac surgery. It covers this topic from basic concepts such as patient selection to imaging and outlines the different approaches to particular endoscopic cardiac surgical procedures. As there is an increasing acceptance that cardiac surgery needs to be provided to older and sicker patients and more asymptomatic patients, the option of a sternotomy is becoming less appealing. The endoscope has changed the patient pathway in many surgical specialities, but until recently cardiac surgery has been slow to adopt this approach. With improvements in imaging and better imaging technology, there is a steady increase in accepted procedures and trained surgeons offering this approach.
Endoscopic Cardiac Surgery: Tips, Tricks and Traps captures the experience of endoscopic cardiac surgeons from around the world and is a concise yet thorough reference book for those starting a program in this discipline. With over 3 hours of associated video material, it will be an essential primer for the discipline, therefore making it a valuable reference for trainees in cardiac surgery and experienced surgeons wishing to add this approach to their armamentarium.
Endovascular Treatment of Aortic Aneurysms by
Focusing on the latest safe and effective techniques, Endovascular Treatment of Aortic Aneurysms: Standard and Advanced Techniques provides step-by-step, comprehensive coverage of endovascular repairs of complex aneurysms of the aorta, from basic to advanced. Explains how to perform the techniques in a step-by-step manner, using high-quality images and practical tips and tricks to optimize results. Contains chapters devoted to the repair of leaks that may occur after a repair and the best ways to minimize radiation exposure. Presents information in a consistent, standardized format: introduction, indications for the technique, how to perform the technique, complications and techniques for rescue, and concluding thoughts.
Handbook of Structural Heart Interventions by
Advances in structural heart disease (SHD) is occurring at a rapid rate, and the Mayo Clinic is at the forefront of developing procedural techniques in this fast-changing field. Handbook of Structural Heart Interventions provides practical, focused coverage of SHD, bringing you up to date with today's evidence-based techniques and approaches for common and uncommon SHD procedures. Ideal for both SHD trainees and established practitioners, attendings, and fellows in interventional cardiology, this easy-to-use handbook is a unique educational and clinical resource in a quickly expanding field. Uses a consistent format for procedures, clearly guiding you through the scope of the problem, procedure/technique, and outcomes. Employs a "building blocks" approach pioneered at Mayo as an effective training method for procedural learning. Includes training tips and pitfalls from leading structural heart authorities. Contains 550 full-color illustrations, including anatomy and step-by-step procedures. Features separate sections on aortic valve interventions, mitral valve interventions, ventricular septal interventions, tricuspid valves, pulmonary valves, ACHD interventions, and miscellaneous/variable anatomic positions. Covers key procedures such as TAVR; valvuloplasty, valve-in-valve, and valve-in-ring; left atrial appendage closure; VSD closure, paravalvular leak closure, and more. Provides access to 20 videos of interventional procedures, including PFO and ASD closure, assessment of patients for MitraClip, and aortic coarctation stenting. Enhanced eBook version included with purchase. Your enhanced eBook allows you to access all of the text, figures, and references from the book on a variety of devices.
Johns Hopkins Manual of Cardiothoracic Surgery, 2nd ed. by
An essential guide for daily clinical practice and a thorough review for the cardiothoracic boards, Johns Hopkins Textbook of Cardiothoracic Surgery is filled with authoritative guidance on surgical techniques and pre- and postoperative strategies for managing cardiothoracic disease. The content of this trusted classic reflects the rapidly changing field of cardiothoracic surgery. In addition to the basic curriculum required for certification, you will find coverage of advanced concepts, controversial issues, and new technologies.
Johns Hopkins Textbook of Cardiothoracic Surgery provides an in-depth look at the full-spectrum of disorders and their surgical and medical management options, including congenital, acquired, and neoplastic diseases. Supporting this detailed coverage is an easy-to-navigate design and step-by-step explanations of the most complex operations.
Lange Mohrman and Heller's Cardiovascular Physiology, 10th Edition by
The best cardiovascular physiology text for USMLE review and course work Concise and engaging, Mohrman and Heller's Cardiovascular Physiology provides everything you need to gain a fundamental knowledge of the basic operating principles of the intact cardiovascular system and how those principles apply to clinical medicine. This updated edition is more reader-friendly and includes important updates, design improvements, and fresh perspectives on critical subject matter. Succinct but thorough, the text focuses on the facts and concepts you must know to get a solid "big picture" overview of how the cardiovascular system operates in normal and abnormal situations. No other text will prove more valuable in enhancing your ability to evaluate the myriad new information you will be exposed to throughout your career than Mohrman and Heller's Cardiovascular Physiology. Medical students will find it to be an outstanding review for the USMLE® and experienced clinicians will find it to be a valuable clinical refresher. Features Updated to reflect the latest research and developments in the field "Perspectives" in each chapter identify important, currently unresolved issues Clarifies the details of physiologic mechanisms and their role in pathologic states Links cardiovascular physiology to diagnosis and treatment Summarizes key concepts at the end of each chapter Highlights must-know information with chapter objectives Reinforces learning with study questions at the end of each chapter
ISBN: 9781264617616Publication Date: 2023-06-09
Lumbar Spine Access Surgery by
Quality surgeons must have all the tips, tricks, and tools to provide their patients with the best care possible. Anterior and lateral approaches have revolutionized spine surgery, but even so, many surgeons have not learned the procedures and treatment involved, and the ones who have demonstrate a very difficult learning curve. This can be partially attributed to a lack of instructional literature, and this book aims to fill this gap so that incoming as well as veteran surgeons can add the anterior and lateral approaches to their arsenal. This text guides the surgeon through the full arc of treatment: from deciding which approach to use to treating the patient post-operatively. Specifically, the reader will gain comprehensive knowledge on how to perform each access procedure, how to care for and treat the patient at every stage, and the best ways to handle an array of complications they may face. Seven sections present everything the surgeon needs to know: history and rationale; preoperative and intraoperative care, surgical techniques, intraoperative complications, postoperative care, and a final section covering additional considerations for revision surgery, biological treatments, and approaches for both outpatient and obese patients. Written by experts in the field, Lumbar Spine Access Surgery will be a valuable reference for spine, orthopedic and vascular surgeons looking to expand their skill set.
ISBN: 9783031480348
Manual of Chronic Total Occlusion Interventions, 2nd ed. by
Manual of Coronary Chronic Total Occlusion Interventions: A Step-by-Step Approach, Second Edition, is an easy to read reference for coronary chronic total occlusion interventions (CTO). Written by recognized national and international experts in the field, this reference compiles the steps necessary to preform, what pitfalls to watch out for, and troubleshooting tactics necessary for coronary chronic total occlusion interventions (CTO). This second edition is updated with new developments in the field. The 2nd edition covers techniques like the Carlino technique, "scratch and go", "BASE", double-blind stick and swap, and subintimal crush, along with tips about how to use the latest complex PCI equipment. It also covers recently published trials, CTO scores and hybrid series. Written to bring a practical and easy to read approach, this book is perfect for interventional cardiologists, interventional and general cardiology fellows, cardiology researchers, physicians, cardiac catheterization laboratory personnel, technical staff,industry professionals and everyone else interested in understanding the cutting edge and rapidly evolving field of coronary CTO interventions.
eBooks
Manual of Percutaneous Coronary Interventions by
Manual of Percutaneous Coronary Interventions: A Step by Step Approach is a practical, easy to read reference guide on how to perform percutaneous coronary. Written by recognized experts in the field, this reference compiles the necessary steps, lists pitfalls to watch out for, and provides tactics on troubleshooting percutaneous coronary interventions. Written to bring a practical and easy to read approach, this book is perfect for interventional cardiologists, interventional and general cardiology fellows, cardiology researchers, physicians, cardiac catheterization laboratory personnel, technical staff, industry professionals and anyone interested in understanding the cutting-edge and rapidly evolving field of coronary PCI.
The Psychology of Cardiovascular Illness by
This important book shows those working with clinical populations how to develop an understanding of the psychology of patients with cardiovascular problems to support appropriate medical care. An understanding of the psychological underpinnings of physical illness can alter the way clinicians conceptualize their patients and the communities they serve. Based on the latest research, this book offers suggestions about how to approach cardiovascular disease holistically in multidisciplinary medical settings with competence and professionalism in mind. With the escalating prevalence of cardiovascular diseases, this book flags the importance of understanding the psychological mechanisms at play in affected patients, highlighting the multifactorial pathways that lead to the development of physical health maladies and comorbid psychopathology. It describes the bidirectional relationship of cardiovascular disease with personality pathology and offers best practices in interacting between primary care, cardiology, psychologists, and other allied professionals. It also provides specific instruction about how to navigate the relationship with medical doctors while illustrating the unique ethical challenges or limitations of the health psychologist working with patients, their families, and providers in clinical practice. Moreover, it includes coverage of treatment plans taking into consideration individual differences in age, health status, and culture. This book will be of interest to anyone interested in furthering their knowledge about the complex interplay between cardiovascular problems and mental health conditions, especially clinical health psychologists who collaborate with social workers, primary care physicians, cardiologists, and surgeons alike.
Technical Aspects of Modern Coronary Artery Bypass Surgery by
Coronary surgery encompasses two thirds of all adult cardiac surgery cases. With the endless pursuit of better outcomes, modern coronary artery bypass grafting (CABG) has become technically more complex in ways that are well beyond the training of the average cardiac surgeon. The old concept of "one-technique-fits-all" has been abandoned in favour of a specialized approach tailored to the individual patient. In fact, in recent years, there is a growing movement towards establishing coronary surgery as a super-specialization of cardiac surgery. Technical Aspects of Modern Coronary Artery Bypass Surgery aims to expand on both the basics and complexities of the technical aspects of coronary surgery. It serves as an up to date resource that illustrates and details the advancement and techniques in this field which may soon become a separate super-specialty. With a particular emphasis on illustrations, the book will be an essential reference book for both established surgeons that have no experience in advanced CABG, and the new generation of CABG surgeons.
Textbook of Interventional Cardiology, 8th ed. by
From new research and equipment to new procedures, applications, and approaches, the field of interventional cardiology is one of the fastest-changing areas in medicine. Increasing data and recent technological advances have resulted in exciting changes - and an even greater need for cutting-edge, authoritative guidance on current practice. Textbook of Interventional Cardiology, 8th Edition, covers the theories, trends, and applications of diagnostic and interventional cardiology that cardiologists, cardiac surgeons, vascular surgeons, referring physicians, and advanced practitioners need to know. Focuses on the latest treatment protocols for managing patients at every level of complexity. Includes all-new chapters on Coronary Stenting, Diagnosis and Treatment of Coronary Microvascular Disease, Percutaneous Transcatheter Valve in Valve Implantation, and Percutaneous Tricuspid Valve Repair. Features hundreds of new illustrations, tables, and boxes for visual clarity and quick reference. Offers expanded coverage of transcatheter aortic valve interventions with extensive updates on practice implications. Discusses hot topics such new atherectomy devices, percutaneous mitral valve replacement, and percutaneous treatment of paravalvular leak. Provides the unique insights of expert leaders in the field who have pioneered today's innovative devices and techniques and lend their own analysis of practical, evidence-based clinical applications. Presents the most recent data on how genomics and genetics impact interventional cardiology. Provides an in-depth understanding of cardiology, making it well suited for cardiology and interventional cardiology exam preparation. Enhanced eBook version included with purchase. Your enhanced eBook allows you to access all of the text, figures, and references from the book on a variety of devices.
Vascular Surgery: A Clinical Guide to Decision-Making by
Vascular Surgery: A Clinical Guide to Decision-making is a concise but comprehensive resource for operating vascular surgeons and clinicians. It serves as an essential reference manual, particularly to young vascular surgeons, for consulting the basic scientific knowledge of pathogenesis of various illnesses, as well as how to approach them in a clinical setting. Adopting a translational approach, this book dissects the background of vascular pathology and links it to application in surgical techniques, as well as providing practical tips and tricks for surgical maneuvers. With insights and suggestions from various experienced and skilled vascular surgeons, this book covers a range of topics including the origin of diseases, clinical presentation, and therapeutic options, from medical therapy to surgical or endovascular approach. Each chapter also reviews international cutting-edge research in the vascular field and its clinical application, illuminating future developments in the field. With the contributions of first-class vascular surgeons, this book also covers uncommon and advanced case studies while exploring the pros and cons of each intervention option, helping practitioners make informed decisions when facing difficult cases. This unique reference also helps young surgeons to make quick decisions in challenging cases, such as how to choose between open and endo treatment.
ISBN: 9780128221136Publication Date: 2021-10-19
Vascular Surgery: Illustrated Clinical Cases by
Providing real-world case examples of vascular surgery emergencies and clinical scenarios, this well-illustrated text supports trainees and residents in their daily clinical practice. The focus on decision making and clinical management planning helps trainees prepare for the FRCS (Vasc) and other specialist Vascular Surgery exams. Making speedy and appropriate clinical decisions and choosing the best course of action to take as a result, is one of the most important and challenging parts of postgraduate surgical training. These true-to-life cases will teach trainee vascular surgeons to develop clinical management plans, and to develop their diagnostic and management skills. Key Features Teaches the surgical trainee how to navigate real-world clinical scenarios Reinforces the practical application of basic principles Encompasses challenging cases Provides questions and answer options Case reflections indicate the rationale behind the decision making A broad range of clinical conditions are covered to ensure that the trainee vascular surgeon can respond with confidence when presented with difficult new case scenarios.
ISBN: 9781032804811Publication Date: 2024-11-01
