Cardiovascular Surgery: Gynecology / Obstetrics

Chesley's Hypertensive Disorders in Pregnancy, 5th ed. by Robert N. Taylor; Kirk P. Conrad; Sandra T. Davidge, 2022 Leon Chesley's Hypertensive Disorders in Pregnancy was initially published in 1978. Four decades later, hypertension complications in pregnancy are still a major cause of fetal and maternal morbidity and death, especially in less developed nations. It is also a leading cause of preterm birth now known to be a risk factor in remote cardiovascular disease. Despite this, hypertensive disorders remain marginally studied and management is often controversial. Chesley's Hypertensive Disorders in Pregnancy, Fifth Edition continues its tradition as one of the beacons to guide the field of preeclampsia research, recognized for its uniqueness and utility. This revision focuses on prediction, prevention, and management for clinicians, and is an essential reference text for clinical and basic investigators alike. It provides a superb analysis of the multiple topics that relate to hypertension in pregnancy, especially of preeclampsia.

Maternal Cardiac Care by John H. Wilson; William Thomas Schnettler; Adam M. Lubert; Andrea Kelley Girnius, 2023 Heart disease is currently the leading cause of maternal mortality in developed countries and is expected to increase further due to advanced maternal age and conditions such as type 2 diabetes. Maternal Cardiac Care: A Guide to Managing Pregnant Women with Heart Disease is an up-to-date, multidisciplinary resource for physicians and advanced practice nurses caring for pregnant patients with a variety of preexisting and emerging cardiac issues. Offers comprehensive information on caring for women with heart disease, in an easy-to-follow, quick-access format.  Shares knowledge from a multidisciplinary group of experts who are well versed in the team approach needed to treat this high-risk patient population.  Includes extensive references for readers who want to delve more deeply into specific subjects.  Ideal for obstetricians, internists, cardiologists, critical care specialists, and advanced practice nurses involved in caring for pregnant patients, as well as institutions and departments that need detailed guidance on establishing a maternal cardiac care program.  Enhanced eBook version included with purchase. Your enhanced eBook allows you to access all of the text, figures, and references from the book on a variety of devices. 

Peripartum Cardiomyopathy by Karen Sliwa, 2021 Peripartum Cardiomyopathy: From Pathophysiology to Management covers the pathophysiology and the heterogenous mode of presentation of PPCM to assist in risk stratification and provide a guide for the acute and long-term management of women affected by this serious condition. Each chapter provides structured figures and practical algorithms as well as prints of electrocardiograms, echocardiographic, MRI images and several case studies throughout. This title is a must have reference for those doing basic research in this area as well as all healthcare providers caring for peripartum women, including obstetricians, general physicians, cardiologists, intensivists, as well as nurses caring for heart failure patients.

Sex Differences in Cardiac Diseases by Niti R. Aggarwal; Malissa J. Wood, 2021 Significant biological differences exist between men and women that contribute to sex-specific differences in cardiovascular disease (CVD) risk factors, pathophysiology, presentation, response to therapy, and prognosis. It is essential for clinicians to be cognizant of these sex-specific differences in order to reduce the disparity in diagnosis and management of cardiovascular diseases in both genders. Sex Differences in Cardiac Disease provides a timely review of the contemporary data on these sex-specific differences in pathophysiology, clinical presentation, diagnostic evaluation, and management of cardiovascular diseases that fills a void for clinicians in practice and training. With contributions from renowned experts in the field and guideline writers, the text provides a state-of-the-art review of each topic encompassing the full spectrum of CVD in men and women. Sex-specific guideline-based recommendations are highlighted when available. Tailored to meet the needs of the busy clinicians and researchers, this text provides concise practical data to care for men and women at risk for or with CVD. The book serves as an essential resource for researchers, cardiologists, obstetricians, gynecologists, internists, family practitioners, nurse practitioners and physician assistants, and respective trainees who treat men and women with CVD.

Vascular Disease in Women by Caitlin Hicks; Linda Harris, 2021 Vascular Disease in Women highlights the epidemiology, natural history and treatment of vascular disease, specifically as it pertains to women. The book provides a thorough overview of what is known and waht is now known about vascular disease in women and highlights opportunities for further education and research on this topic. The book will serve as an essential reference for both clinicians and researchers, discussing the disease prevalence, treatment options, and treatment outcomes for vascular disease in women and explores the need for future research in vascular disease specifically as it pertains to women.