eBooks
Basic Science in Obstetrics and Gynaecology, 5th ed. by
Basic Science in Obstetrics and Gynaecology is an essential one-stop, portable revision tool for candidates preparing for Part 1 of the MRCOG specialist examination. Fully updated by experts who are internationally recognised in their fields, the chapters match the syllabus of the exam, combining detailed coverage of the science with related self-assessment questions that you will encounter in the MRCOG. This book is suitable for doctors specialising in obstetrics and gynaecology who want the best chance possible to pass this difficult exam. Covers all topics for the MRCOG Part 1, including basic science and clinical anatomy Contains self-assessment SBA questions to consolidate learning Includes three mock exam papers enabling you to practice for the exam Digital version included Fully revised and updated Completely updated self-assessment chapter, written in the style of the new exam Extensive revision of fetal physiology, biophysics, biochemistry, endocrinology, and physiology New top-quality illustrations to support learning
Before We Are Born, 10th ed. by
Covering the essentials of normal and abnormal human development for students in a variety of health science disciplines, Before We Are Born: Essentials of Embryology and Birth Defects, 10th Edition, reflects new research findings and current clinical practice through concise text and abundant illustrations. This edition has been fully updated by the world's foremost embryologists and is based on the popular text, The Developing Human, written by the same author team. It provides an easily accessible understanding of all of the latest advances in embryology, including normal and abnormal embryogenesis, causes of birth defects, and the role of genes in human development. Features streamlined content throughout, numerous photographs of common clinical cases and embryological explanations, didactic illustrations, and nearly 700 USMLE-style questions with full answers and explanations to help prepare for professional exams. Includes interactive clinical cases in every chapter that make important connections between human development and clinical practice-ideal for preparing for USMLE Step 1. Features access to 18 full-color, expertly narrated animations that guide students through key concepts in learning the complexities of embryologic development. Includes many new color photographs, new diagnostic images (3D ultrasound, CT scans, and MR images), an updated teratology section, revised and highlighted information on molecular aspects of developmental biology, and new information on the cellular and molecular basis of embryonic development. Follows the official international list of embryological terms (Terminologia Embryonica, 2013). Enhanced eBook version included with purchase. Your enhanced eBook allows you to access all of the text, figures, and references from the book on a variety of devices.
Bland and Copeland's The Breast: Comprehensive Management of Benign and Malignant Diseases, 6th ed. by
Multidisciplinary in scope and fully up to date with the latest advances in medical oncology and more, Bland and Copeland's The Breast, 6th Edition, covers every clinically relevant aspect of the field: cancer, congenital abnormalities, hormones, reconstruction, anatomy and physiology, benign breast disease, and more. In a practical, easy-to-use format ideal for today’s busy practitioners, this truly comprehensive resource is ideal for surgical oncologists, breast surgeons, general surgeons, medical oncologists, and others who need to stay informed of the latest innovations in this complex and fast-moving area.
Offers the most comprehensive, up-to-date information on the diagnosis and management of, and rehabilitation following, treatment for benign and malignant diseases of the breast.
Updates include an extensively updated oncoplastic section and extended medical and radiation oncology sections.
Delivers step-by-step clinical guidance highlighted by hundreds of superb illustrations that depict relevant anatomy and pathology, as well as medical and surgical procedures.
Reflects the collaborative nature of diagnosis and treatment among radiologists, pathologists, breast and plastic surgeons, radiation and medical oncologists, geneticists and other health care professionals who contribute to the management of patients with breast disease.
Includes access to procedural videos that provide expert visual guidance on how to execute key steps and techniques.
An eBook version is included with purchase. The eBook allows you to access all of the text, figures and references, with the ability to search, customize your content, make notes and highlights, and have content read aloud.
Clinical Gynecologic Endocrinology and Infertility by
Established for more than thirty years as one of the world's most widely read gynecology texts, Clinical Gynecologic Endocrinology and Infertility is now in its Eighth Edition. In a clear, user-friendly style enhanced by abundant illustrations, algorithms, and tables, the book provides a complete explanation of the female endocrine system and its disorders and offers practical guidance on evaluation and treatment of female endocrine problems and infertility. Major sections cover reproductive physiology, clinical endocrinology, contraception and infertility. This edition has a modern full-color design. A companion website includes the fully searchable text, image bank and links to PubMed references.
Comprehensive Care of the Transgender Patient by
From a renowned specialist at the Cleveland Clinic and medical and surgical experts in this growing field comes an up-to-date, multidisciplinary resource on transgender health care and surgery. Comprehensive Care of the Transgender Patient, by Dr. Cecile Ferrando, covers all aspects of transgender health care, beginning with epidemiology and history and progressing to an in-depth review of the complex transition for patients, including mental health services, endocrine and hormone therapy treatment, and surgical options. Incorporates all of the latest guidelines for providers and patients, written by experts from a wide variety of disciplines involved in transgender patient care. Contains outstanding surgical chapters contributed by prominent surgeons who regularly perform these procedures, providing clear guidance on male-to-female and female-to-male surgical options. Features high-quality, full-color illustrations throughout. Covers key topics in every area of transgender health care, including Mental Health Care for the Adult and for the Child and Adolescent Transgender Patient; Hormone Treatment for the Adult and Adolescent Transgender Patient; Facial Surgery for Transgender Patients; Breast and Genital Surgeries for Transgender Patients; and Primary, Preventive, and Gynecologic Care. Expert ConsultT eBook version included with purchase. This enhanced eBook experience allows you to search all of the text, figures, Q&As, and references from the book on a variety of devices.
Contraceptive Technology, 22nd ed. by
The leading family planning reference for over 30 years with more than 2 million copies in print.Contraceptive Technology is a one stop, person-centered reference guide for students and practitioners in sexual and reproductive health care professions. Whether it is family planning, discussing reproductive desires, maintaining contraception while managing a specific condition, abortion, reproductive tract infection or post-partum contraception, this trusted resource can be referenced in any situation when working with patients seeking guidance on reproduction, sexual health, and contraceptive options.Now in its 22nd edition, this best-selling reference provides breadth, depth of knowledge, and expansive research from over 85 medical experts in the fields of contraception, sexual health, reproductive health, and infectious disease. With a holistic approach, this edition continues the tradition of focusing on the individual patients, meeting them where they are to offer respectful, appropriate care and services. Contraceptive Technology elevates awareness of new and time-honored technologies available in contraception, demystifies misperceptions, provides current, fact-based information, and emphasizes a person-centered approach.
ISBN: 9781284255034Publication Date: 2023-10-10
eBooks
Essential Obstetrics and Gynaecology, 6th ed. by
This is the sixth edition of a popular, highly readable primer in obstetrics and gynaecology. It has been thoroughly updated and aligns with the undergraduate curriculum in O&G devised by the Royal College of Obstetrics and Gynaecology. Highly illustrated throughout Essential information points at the end of chapters Case histories Practical procedures boxes Alert (warnings or advice) and tick (guidance or definitions) boxes throughout Over 100 self-assessment MCQs Appendices: Principles of Perioperative Care; Governance, Audit and Research Reflects the national undergraduate curriculum in obstetrics and gynaecology in the UK and Australia More information on: Fetal development Screening for fetal anomaly: non-invasive prenatal testing Placenta accreta Infections acquired in pregnancy: Zika, Rubella Non-invasive prenatal testin Fetal Doppler examination, e.g. middle cerebral artery, ductus venosus Management of preterm labour: oxytocin antagonists Induction of labour: components of Bishop score Ectopic pregnancy: Caesarean scar ectopic, cornual ectopic Emergency contraception: ulipristal acetate Sterilization: salpingectomy Genital tract infections: role of sexual health clinic, contact tracing Cervix: update on HPV screening and vaccination Ovary: update FIGO staging of ovarian carcinoma; "risk reducing surgery" for ovarian cancer WHO surgical safety checklist added to Appendix A. New self-assessment OSCE questions
The Female Athlete by
Of all the important factors that must be considered when assessing and treating an athlete, the impact of patient sex is perhaps the most critical, yet historically has often been neglected. The "same injury" in a male patient may present differently, sometimes in subtle ways, than in a female patient and may require a different treatment approach. The Female Athlete, edited by Dr. Rachel Frank, provides concise, expert coverage of the ways in which common sports medicine injuries present in female patients versus male patients, describing recent literature analyzing sex differences in injury patterns and available treatment options. Provides a comprehensive review of key areas of importance related to care for women in sports, including the differences in care and treatment for male and female patients. Covers many of the most common injuries female athletes face, including ACL injuries, shoulder instability, concussion, stress fractures, female overuse injuries, and more. Considers prevention strategies, nutritional recommendations, as well as exercise recommendations for women during pregnancy.
Genital Dermatology Manual, 4th ed. by
Practical and highly illustrated, Genital Dermatology Manual, 4th Edition, by Drs. Libby Edwards and Peter J. Lynch, helps clinicians at all levels of experience arrive at an accurate diagnosis for both common and rare genital dermatologic lesions. More than 500 full-color photographs are arranged by appearance for rapid identification, offering superb visual guidance even for conditions not previously encountered. This easy-to-use reference is ideal for any clinician who sees men and women with disorders of the external genitalia, including dermatologists, gynecologists, urologists, primary care physicians, nurse practitioners, nurse midwives, and physician assistants.
Arranges core chapters by disease presentation, such as patches and plaques, papules and nodules, and ulcers
Includes variable morphologies, making it easier to arrive at a correct diagnosis even when encountering an atypical appearance of a common condition—for example, herpes simplex virus infection is discussed in chapters on blisters, erosions and ulcers, and special issues of immunosuppressed patients
Updates include more clinical photographs throughout; an expanded therapy section including sinus tract un-roofing, vestibulectomy, lysis of adhesions and therapy of clitoral pseudocyst and phimosis; a new chapter on patient education; and new coverage of transgender and cosmetic issues
Features chapters on special issues such as symptoms (itching and pain), immunosuppression, and pediatric, psychologic, and geriatric aspects of genital conditions
Offers increased information on diagnostic and therapeutic procedures, as well as patient handouts suitable for copying and distribution.
Handbook of Obesity in Obstetrics and Gynecology by
Handbook of Obesity in Obstetrics and Gynecology addresses all aspects of general obstetrics and gynecology in obese patients, providing evidence-based guidance for the treatment and management of gynecological problems and pregnancy-related care in obese women. The book is a valuable resource for junior doctors, residents and obstetricians and gynecologists looking for a comprehensive guide that addresses the most relevant aspects of obstetric and gynecologic care that are impacted by obesity, an increasingly prevalent condition. The rising prevalence of global obesity is of public health concern, hence obese women suffer from a higher incidence of menstrual disorders, polycystic ovaries, infertility issues, and more. In pregnancy, obesity is associated with an increased risk of early pregnancy loss, recurrent pregnancy loss, fetal developmental abnormalities, thrombo-embolic disease, gestational diabetes, dysfunctional labor, post-partum hemorrhage and difficult operative deliveries.
Human Sexuality: Function, Dysfunction, Paraphilias, and Relationships by
Human sexuality touches us all, pun intended. We all either enjoy it, struggle with it, or may have been victims of it. Sexuality is not just about sex, but about human sexual function, the physiology of sex, the hormones involved and how they affect us, and the cultural norms related to it. Sexual function and dysfunction are closely tied to one's self-esteem, self-respect, and to relationships with intimate partners. Human Sexuality: Function, Dysfunction, Paraphilias, and Relationships, explores the interplay of intimacy and sexuality; how it can enhance relationships, and how it can negatively affect them, or be affected by them. When individuals or partners encounter sexual problems or dysfunctions it can have a long-lasting affect both biologically and psychologically. Dr. Rokach explores the causes and the reasons that these dysfunctions are maintained, and successful treatment methods. Chapters on sexual offenses and paraphilias and what treatment options are available to sexual offenders are also included. This book is the first book to place sexuality where it belongs, within the context of relationships demonstrating how sexuality relates to intimacy by both enhancing and negatively affecting it.
ISBN: 9780128191743Publication Date: 2021-01-29
Marcus and Feldman's Osteoporosis, 5th ed. by
Marcus and Feldman's Osteoporosis, Fifth Edition, is the most comprehensive, authoritative reference on this disease. Led by a new editorial team, this fifth edition offers critical information on reproductive and hormonal risk factors, new therapeutics, ethnicity, nutrition, therapeutics, management and economics, comprising a tremendous wealth of knowledge in a single source not found elsewhere. Written by renowned experts in the field, this two-volume reference is a must-have for biomedical researchers, research clinicians, fellows, academic and medical libraries, and any company involved in osteoporosis drug research and development.
ISBN: 9780128130735Publication Date: 2021-02-15
eBooks
- Marcus and Feldman's Osteoporosis, 5th ed. by
Marcus and Feldman's Osteoporosis, Fifth Edition, is the most comprehensive, authoritative reference on this disease. Led by a new editorial team, this fifth edition offers critical information on reproductive and hormonal risk factors, new therapeutics, ethnicity, nutrition, therapeutics, management and economics, comprising a tremendous wealth of knowledge in a single source not found elsewhere. Written by renowned experts in the field, this two-volume reference is a must-have for biomedical researchers, research clinicians, fellows, academic and medical libraries, and any company involved in osteoporosis drug research and development.
Neinstein's Adolescent and Young Adult Health Care, 7th ed. by
Neinstein's Adolescent and Young Adult Health: A Practical Guide, 7th Edition is your go-to resource for practical, authoritative guidance. The fully updated seventh edition, edited by Drs. Debra K. Katzman, Catherine M. Gordon, S. Todd Callahan, Richard J. Chung, Alain Joffe, Susan L. Rosenthal, and Maria E. Trent, offers a comprehensive view of the interdisciplinary nature of the field and is inclusive of the wide variety of health professionals who care for adolescents and young adults. This award-winning text features a full-color design, several new chapters, numerous algorithms, bulleted text throughout for quick reference at the point of care, and fresh perspectives from new editors--making it ideal for daily practice or certification examination preparation. Features significant revisions and new content on opioid use, vaping, gun violence, survivors of childhood cancer and other chronic illnesses, COVID, and more. Includes new chapters on Palliative Care and End of Life, Quality Improvement, Research, and Healthcare for Minoritized, Disenfranchised, and Marginalized Adolescents and Young Adults. Includes key topics such as technology use, the care of transgender adolescents and young adults, reproductive health, sports medicine, college health, and more Features a globally diverse editorial team and authors who are experts in their respective areas and who reflect the demographics of this wide-ranging field Offers comprehensive, evidence-based content from cover to cover, as well as numerous resources and websites on nearly every topic, where professionals, adolescents and young adults, and parents can find up-to-date information Continues to be a highly useful resource for pediatricians, family practitioners, gynecologists, internists, nurse practitioners, physician assistants, residents, medical students, and fellows practicing in traditional primary care and specialty settings serving adolescents and young adults, as well as in school-based and college health centers, juvenile detention centers, emergency departments, urgent care centers and any other facility that provides care to this population." Enrich Your eBook Reading Experience Read directly on your preferred device(s), such as computer, tablet, or smartphone. Easily convert to audiobook, powering your content with natural language text-to-speech.
The Ovary, 3rd ed. by
The Ovary, Third Edition, includes more than 60% new material that highlights the clinical aspects of human ovarian functions. It covers advances in the areas of genomics, assisted reproductive technology, and cancer diagnosis and treatment. This updated edition synthesizes new information at the molecular, cellular and organismal levels, while also presenting modern ovarian physiology in a more understandable and comparative context. The book looks at ovarian function from a detailed molecular and cellular level that examines all phases of the ovarian lifecycle that places special emphasis on the pathophysiology of the human ovary, including ovarian carcinogenesis.
ISBN: 9780128132098Publication Date: 2018-11-02
Polycystic Ovary Syndrome by
Women's healthcare regarding polycystic ovarian syndrome remains challenging. Patients often go from one specialist to another trying to fully understand and management the disorder. Women often go years before a diagnosis, seeing three or more doctors before a confirmed diagnosis. Polycystic Ovarian Syndrome: Challenging Issues in the Modern Era of Individualized Medicine brings together multiple medical disciplines to improve the care of women with PCOS. Such a multidisciplinary clinical and scientific approach integrates obstetrics and gynecology, pediatric and medical endocrinology, internal medicine, genetics, psychology and laboratory medicine into relevant translational clinical and scientific discussions that update both the scientific understanding of PCOS and the diagnosis and management of all aspects of the syndrome. The impact of PCO on the onset of puberty is subdivided in sub sections to get a better understanding of this condition and the management at different stages in a woman's life.
Principles and Practice of Ovarian Tissue Cryopreservation and Transplantation by
Principles and Practice of Ovarian Tissue Cryopreservation and Transplantation provides methods and techniques of ovarian tissue harvesting and cryopreservation, including instructional videos. This book will benefit a wide audience, guiding infertility specialists, fellows, residents, reproductive surgeons, reproductive endocrinologists, pediatric surgeons, embryologists, infertility nurses and gynecologists. Ovarian cryopreservation and transplantation is rapidly gaining acceptance as a successful and established fertility preservation strategy in cancer patients and beyond. Unlike other fertility preservation strategies, it can be performed in children as well as adults, and can be helpful in restoring natural ovarian function and fertility, hence this is a welcomed resource on the topic.
ISBN: 9780323957533Publication Date: 2022-05-20
Principles of Gender-Specific Medicine: Gender in the Genomic Era, 4th ed. by
Principles of Gender-Specific Medicine, Fourth Edition, has a central theme: discuss advances in understanding the role of epigenetics in regulating gene expression in a dynamic, sex-specific way during human life. It explores the protean role of epigenetics in human physiology, the relevance of environmental experience to human function, the therapeutic promise of cutting-edge methodologies like gene manipulation, the preparation of humans for space travel, the use of artificial intelligence in detection and therapeutic decisions concerning disease states, the possibilities for technological support of not only compromised individuals but of the augmentation of human function, and an analysis of the benefits, limitations and issues that surround our current expectations of personalized medicine.
Surgical Management of the Transgender Patient by
Comprehensive and current, the new Surgical Management of the Transgender Patient provides coverage of the preoperative, intraoperative, and postoperative care of transgender individuals. It takes a step-by-step approach to both transmale and transfemale procedures, and presents detailed descriptions of the techniques and procedures employed by today's surgeons. Featuring full-color illustrations and photos throughout, it's a must-have resource for individuals and programs with an interest in gender confirmation surgery. Expert Consult eBook version included with purchase. This enhanced eBook experience allows you to search all of the text, figures, images, and references from the book on a variety of devices. Takes a systematic approach to the surgical management of transgender individuals, describing preoperative, intraoperative, and postoperative care. Features atlas-style surgical chapters. Guides the user step-by-step through both transmale and transfemale procedures. Provides coverage of hot topics in surgery, including metoidioplasty, chest surgery, and phalloplasty. Full-color design with illustrations and photos enhances your visual understanding.
Telephone Triage for Obstetrics and Gynecology by
Provide top-level obstetrics and gynecology telephone triage that is safe, efficient, and effective, with Telephone Triage for Obstetrics & Gynecology, 3rd Edition. This at-your-fingertips guide offers a wide range of current, evidence-based protocols, backed by proven patient-questioning techniques, quick-reference charts, and real-life patient scenarios. Adaptable to private practice, hospital, clinic, or call center, this invaluable guide will help ensure that your telephone triage standards stay high, while your practice serves individual patient situations with empathy and accuracy, right from the start. Be expertly guided through the telephone triage rigors of data-gathering, protocols, and patient education, with these vital features: NEW chapter on incorporating internet research into advice on specific protoc NEW and expanded protocols that offer updated content on preconceptual screening, infectious disease impacts on pregnancy, infertility management, and emergency contraception Quick-reference sections that arrange protocols alphabetically for fast locating Easy-to-follow, data-gathering, flowchart format that helps you quickly determine the nature and urgency of the caller''s problem, and choose the appropriate intervention Easy-to-explain patient-education sections after each protocol Basic Triage Assessment Forms that address specific problems and require vital patient data Guidance on developing "telephone charisma" and the power of sympathetic listening Effective patient questioning techniques --pertinent questions to ask, types of questions, time management, getting clarification Real-life call scenarios that point out problems with not listening fully to the patient, skipping relevant questions, or exerting judgments Covers telephone triage basics, including logistical and legal considerations, assessments, telephone communication basics and challenges, and more Offers obstetric protocols, including overviews of preconceptual and infertility, early management of unintended pregnancy, fetal prenatal screening, early pregnancy evaluation and surveillance, and more Offers gynecologic protocols, including overviews of abnormal bleeding and spotting, amenorrhea, barrier contraceptives, breast complaints, emergency contraception, injectable contraceptives, intrauterine contraception, menopausal concerns, and more Vital guidance for all gynecologic nurses, obstetric nurses, certified nurse midwives, OB/GYN nurse practitioners, all triage nurses, and health professionals at call centers Your book purchase includes a complimentary download of the enhanced eBook for iOS(tm), Android(tm), PC, and Mac. Take advantage of these practical features that will improve your eBook experience: The ability to download the eBook on multiple devices at one time--providing a seamless reading experience online or offline Powerful search tools and smart navigation cross-links that allow you to search within this book, or across your entire library of VitalSource eBooks Multiple viewing options that enable you to scale images and text to any size without losing page clarity, as well as responsive design The ability to highlight text and add notes with one click About the Clinical Editors Vicki E. Long, DNP, RN, CNM, is an Assistant Professor at the School of Nursing, University of South Carolina Aiken. Patricia C. McMullen, PhD, JD, WHNP-BC, RN, FAANP, FAAN, is a Professor and Dean of the School of Nursing, The Catholic University of America, Washington, DC.
