Lippincott Procedures
- Lippincott Procedures This link opens in a new window Point of care evidence-based guidance for over 1700 procedures and skills from a wide variety of nursing specialties. Also includes Mayo site-specific policies.
Click on All Nursing, then Specialty (Advanced Practice, Ambulatory Care, Critical Care, Emergency, Home Care, Maternal-Neonatal, Medical-Surgical) then Gynecologic Care
eBooks
AWHONN's Perinatal Nursing, 5th ed. by
Leave the self-doubt behind -- get fully grounded in effective perinatal care, with Perinatal Nursing, 5th Edition, an official publication of the Association of Women''s Health, Obstetric and Neonatal Nurses (AWHONN). This freshly updated, comprehensive resource offers expert guidelines and best practices for the full range of patient care issues, from cultural practices and pregnancy complications to newborn assessments and nutrition. Stay current with this must-have, evidence-based support for both perinatal and labor and delivery nursing. Strengthen and upgrade your perinatal nursing strengths and expertise: NEW and expanded content on pregnancy complications - Bleeding in pregnancy, preterm labor and birth, diabetes, cardiac disease, pulmonary complications, multiple gestation, obesity and more NEW content on newborn nutrition - The infant feeding decision, breastfeeding benefits, nutritional components, and preterm milk and lactation NEW and updated content on patient safety and maternal morbidity and mortality in the United States - Instructions on how to make maternity units safer based on the most current evidence, and through application of various care bundles Evidence-based information on clinical conditions - Includes chapter on obesity that covers risks to the mother and fetus, care from preconception to postpartum, and bariatric surgery Text boxes emphasize crucial care standards and guidelines Practical guidance and current best practices for areas including: Perinatal patient safety and quality care Integrating patient cultural beliefs and practices into perinatal care Physiologic changes of pregnancy Antenatal care Hypertensive disorders of pregnancy Pregnancy complications Multiple gestation Maternal-fetal transport Labor and birth Fetal assessment Managing pain during labor Postpartum care Newborn care - Adaptation to extrauterine life, physical assessment and nutrition Common neonatal complications All chapters written by expert nurse clinicians and researchers to support positive perinatal outcomes Nursing staffing standards are included as they apply to each patient population Ideal for those seeking certification in obstetrics nursing (RNC-OB) and maternal newborn nursing (RN-MNN, RNC-LRN) Perfect on-the-job resource and review text for all perinatal nurses, maternal units, and students. Your book purchase includes a complimentary download of the enhanced eBook for iOS(tm), Android(tm), PC and Mac. Take advantage of these practical features that will improve your eBook experience: The ability to download the eBook on multiple devices at one time -- providing a seamless reading experience online or offline Powerful search tools and smart navigation cross-links that allow you to search within this book, or across your entire library of VitalSource® eBooks Multiple viewing options that enable you to scale images and text to any size without losing page clarity, as well as responsive design The ability to highlight text and add notes with one click. About the Clinical Editors Kathleen Rice Simpson, PhD, RNC, FAAN is Perinatal Clinical Nurse Specialist and Editor-in-Chief MCN, The American Journal of Maternal Child Nursing in Saint Louis, Missouri. Patricia A. Creehan, MSN, RNC is Manager of Clinical Operations, Labor and Delivery at Advocate Christ Medical Center in Oak Lawn, Illinois. Nancy O''Brien-Abel, MSN, RNC is Perinatal Clinical Nurse Specialist at Perinatal Consulting, LLC and Affiliate Instructor at the School of Nursing, University of Washington in Seattle, Washington. Cheryl K. Roth, PhD, WHNP-BC, RNC-OB, RNFA is a Nurse Practitioner, Labor and Delivery at HonorHealth Scottsdale Shea/Osborn Medical Centers in Scottsdale, Arizona. Annie J. Rohan, PhD, RN, NNP-BC, CPNP-PC,FAANP is Director of the Doctor of Nursing Practice Program and Director of Pediatric Research at the School of Nursing, Office of Nursing Research and Innovation at Stony Brook University (SUNY at Stony Brook) in Stony Brook, New York.
CNM and WHNP Certification Review: Comprehensive Review, PLUS 400 Questions Based on the Latest Exam Blueprint by
CNM® and WHNP® Certification Review is designed to help you prepare for both the American Midwifery Certification Board (AMCB) CNM®/CM® exam and the National Certification Corporation (NCC) WHNP-BC® exam. This comprehensive resource begins with test-taking strategies and tips on how to manage test anxiety. Chapters are organized according to the exam blueprints and present the information in a clear, concise format. Charts and diagrams are featured to consolidate and illustrate key points and key pharmacology information is highlighted. Each chapter encompasses all the essential knowledge required to pass both exams and includes end-of-chapter questions to assess knowledge retention. The review concludes with two full-length practice tests, one for each certification. With a total of 400 unique practice questions, detailed review content and answer rationales, this resource gives you the tools to study your way and the confidence to pass the first time, guaranteed! Key Features Reflects the latest AMCB and NCC exam blueprints Provides a comprehensive yet concise review of essential knowledge for the exam Covers essential pharmacology content and key medications Highlights key details about diversity, equity, outreach, and inclusion as well as the historical factors that led to health discrepancies Includes end-of-chapter Q&A and two full-length practice tests with detailed rationales Boosts your confidence with a 100% pass guarantee For 70 years, it has been our greatest privilege to prepare busy nurses like you for professional certification and career success. Congratulations on qualifying to sit for the exam. Now let's get you ready to pass! CNM® and CM® are registered service marks of the American Midwifery Certification Board. WHNP-BC® is a registered service mark of the National Certification Corporation. Neither AMCB nor NCC sponsor or endorse this resource, nor do they have a proprietary relationship with Springer Publishing.
ISBN: 9780826170767
Drain's PeriAnesthesia Nursing: A Critical Care Approach, 8th ed. by
Trusted for more than 30 years, Drain's PeriAnesthesia Nursing: A Critical Care Approach, 8th Edition provides comprehensive clinical content tailored specifically for perianesthesia nurses. An easy-to-use format with five distinct sections - covering the PACU, anatomy and physiology, pharmacology, nursing care, and special considerations - means you get the equivalent of five books in one. Nursing and pharmacologic interventions are integrated with in-depth coverage of pathophysiology, and updated content includes the latest standards and current issues affecting perianesthesia nursing practice. Focusing on research, documentation, and psychosocial considerations, this is the one book that can take you all the way from being a novice nurse in the PACU to preparing for CPAN® or CAPA® certification! Five separate sections provide comprehensive coverage, including the PACU, anatomy and physiology, pharmacology, nursing care, and special considerations. Coverage of current policies and issues affecting perianesthesia nursing practice includes patient safety, infection control, managed care implications, pain management, and bioterrorism. Comprehensive information on the various types of anesthetic agents familiarizes you with what will be used in the PACU. Special Considerations section details the care of patients with conditions such as malignant hyperthermia, substance abuse, sickle cell anemia, and cardiac arrest. UPDATED! Revised content throughout provides the most up-to-date information for effective perianesthesia nursing practice. NEW! Full-color layout makes content more visually appealing and highlights important information. NEW! Information on SARS/COVID-19 is now included in the Pathogens chapter. NEW! Chapter on International Care of the Perianesthesia Patient offers complete coverage on this key topic. UPDATED! Coverage of pain management for the perianesthesia patient features the latest guidelines. UPDATED! Patient with Chronic Disorders chapter provides current information on caring for these patients. UPDATED! Evidence-Based Research boxes provide the latest standards of care.
Electronic Fetal Monitoring (C-EFM (R)) Certification Review by
Note to Readers: Publisher does not guarantee quality or access to any included digital components if book is purchased through a third-party seller.Includes 6 months' free ExamPrepConnect digital access with print purchase! Electronic Fetal Monitoring (C-EFM (R)) Certification Review is designed to help you prepare for the NCC C-EFM (R) certification exam. This comprehensive study aid is organized according to the latest exam blueprint and presents the information in a clear, concise format. Key terms, clinical pearls, case studies, and high-quality fetal heart rate tracings are featured throughout. Each chapter covers everything you need to know to pass the exam and includes end-of-chapter questions to check your knowledge. The review concludes with a full-length practice test to get you ready for exam day. With 250 practice questions, detailed review content and answer rationales, and access to ExamPrepConnect, this study aid empowers you with the tools and materials to study your way and the confidence to pass the first time, guaranteed! Know that you're ready. Know that you'll pass with Springer Publishing Exam Prep. Key Features Reflects the latest NCC exam blueprint Provides a comprehensive yet concise review of essential knowledge for the exam Highlights key terms, clinical pearls, and case studies Features 35 high-quality fetal heart rate tracings Includes end-of-chapter Q&A and a full practice test with detailed rationales Boosts your confidence with a 100% pass guarantee Offers on-the-go digital access with ExamPrepConnect ExamPrepConnect Included with your study guide: Review all the high-quality content from the book. Take a full-length timed practice test. Build custom quizzes or study by exam topic. Sharpen your test-taking skills with interactive Q&A tools. Keep on track with your Personalized Study Plan. Take notes, highlight, and bookmark content. Use flashcards to review key terms. Study with your peers in the community discussion boards. Play games to make studying fun. Access everything on any device. See access details inside the book. For 70 years, it has been our greatest privilege to prepare busy nurses like you for professional certification and career success. Congratulations on qualifying to sit for the exam. Now let's get you ready to pass! C-EFM (R) is a registered service mark of National Certification Corporation (NCC). NCC does not sponsor or endorse this resource, nor does it have a proprietary relationship with Springer Publishing.
ISBN: 9780826193018Publication Date: 2023-12-01
Fast Facts for Nurse Practitioners: Practice Essentials for Clinical Subspecialties, 1st ed. by
The first book to provide an insider view of the latest advances and trends in the full range of clinical subspecialty areas. Fast Facts for Nurse Practitioners: Practice Essentials for Clinical Subspecialties takes the busy advanced practice provider or student on a journey through the clinical subspecialties. The author, a highly experienced nurse practitioner, has immersed herself in each of these clinical areas and interviewed medical specialists to identify the latest advances, trends, and tips to more confidently and competently assess, diagnose, manage, and refer patients across the lifespan. The book addresses hot topics in allergy and immunology, cardiology, dermatology, endocrinology, gastroenterology, hematology and oncology, infectious disease, nephrology, neurology, obstetrics and gynecology, ophthalmology, orthopedics, otolaryngology, pediatrics, psychiatry, pulmonology, rheumatology, and urology. Each chapter provides information on common chief complaints, pathophysiology, diagnostic considerations, and key points for management or referral. This concise reference provides evidence-based strategies for managing ever-changing patient needs in an easy-to-digest format. Key Features: Serves the needs of advanced practice providers and students Offers the latest advances and trends for all clinical subspecialty areas in one concise, quick-reference resource Provides evidence-based guidelines to support the principles of assessment, differential diagnosis, management, and referral Highlights only the most relevant and timely information, allowing readers to save time, stay current, and improve patient outcomes
Guidelines for Nurse Practitioners in Gynecologic Settings, 13th ed. by
A comprehensive, one-stop guide to gynecological health for busy clinicians The 13th edition of this gold standard for the assessment and management of gynecological health is updated with a broad trove of new evidence-based information to promote the highest standards of clinical practice. With contributions from expert practitioner/educators, this edition encompasses key guidelines reflecting the most current best practices, several new or updated chapters, and two features designed to facilitate student learning and enhance primary care---30 case studies with Q&A for 15 chapters and updated education templates for input into electronic health records. Guidelines are organized in concise outline format to promote easy access to commonly occurring gynecologic issues and clinical conditions. In addition to its value for clinicians specializing in the comprehensive care of women and individuals across the lifespan, this resource will be an asset to all graduate nursing programs preparing nurse practitioners in women's and gender-related health. Purchase includes online access via most mobile devices or computers. New to the 13th Edition: Extensively revised clinical guidelines and appendices representing the most current evidence-based information from research and national organizations New chapters on care of sexual and gender minority individuals, adolescents, and older women; use of telehealth in gynecologic care; and women-specific pharmacology issues Updated content on substance abuse and misuse and on best practices developed during COVID 19 pandemic Enhanced mental health chapter focusing on pharmacological approaches Updated guidelines for STIs, vaginitis, and vaginosis and prevention and management of HPV-associated cancers with links to ASCCP for ongoing updates Guidelines for addressing vaccine hesitancy Guidelines for care of individuals who have experienced sexual assault Updated information on contraception, hormone therapy, menopause, and osteoporosis Case studies with Q&A to help students/practitioners translate information into practice Updated, customizable education templates for input into electronic health records with lay public-appropriate language Key Features: Evidence-based guidelines empirically proven to boost patient outcomes Outline format ensuring quick and easy access to essential information Online access to appendices presenting updated clinical resources, assessments, and screening tools Online access to case studies and health record education templates to facilitate student learning
Gynecologic Health Care: with an Introduction to Prenatal and Postpartum Care, 4th ed. by
Gynecologic Health Care: With an Introduction to Prenatal and Postpartum Care continues to set the standard for evidence-based gynecologic health care and well-being in an extensively updated fourth edition. As in prior editions, the text presents gynecologic health care using a holistic and person-centered approach. Encompassing both health promotion and management of gynecologic conditions, it provides clinicians and students with a strong foundation in gynecologic care and the knowledge necessary to apply it in clinical practice. With an emphasis on the importance of respecting the normalcy of physiology, it is an essential reference for all midwives, nurse practitioners, physician assistants, and other clinicians who provide gynecologic health care.Written by award-winning clinicians and educators, Gynecologic Health Care covers the topics clinicians and students need to know. Additional chapters provide an overview of prenatal and postpartum care, including anatomic and physiologic adaptations of normal pregnancy and common complications of pregnancy. The Fourth Edition features three new chapters: racism and health disparities, male sexual and reproductive health, and preconception care.
ISBN: 9781284182347Publication Date: 2020-09-15
Hale's Medications & Mothers' Milk 2023, 20th ed. by
The worldwide gold standard for lactation support professionals. Developed by world leaders in lactational pharmacology, this essential reference contains the most current, complete, and evidence-based information available on the transmission of maternal drugs into human milk. It thoroughly addresses one of the most commonly asked questions by breastfeeding mothers-which drugs are safe, and which are hazardous for the infant. The new twentieth edition adds 72 new drugs, updates 356 medications with new data, and adds new information to 927 drugs. The resource relies upon the most current evidence-based studies to evaluate the relative risk of commonly used drugs including Dr. Hales highly renowned Lactation Risk Categories (LRC). Considered indispensable by hundreds of clinicians worldwide, the book lists safe alternatives for drugs one is currently taking or might need to take in the future. For ease of access to information, it includes key points and savvy tips in information boxes, common abbreviations, illustrative diagrams, concise information on evaluating the infant, and more.
eBooks
Holistic Pain Management in Pregnancy: What RNs, APRNs, Midwives, and Mental Health Professionals Need to Know by
This book presents a patient centric, holistic view and management strategy for registered nurses, advanced practice nurses and midwives to care for the pregnant female, including considerations in pregnancy planning. There is a significant gap in information about holistic care and nursing considerations of the pregnant female with regards to pain management, which this book fills. It develops on the preparation before pregnancy, as nutrition or exercise, on behavioural management of pain with the impact of anxiety and different therapies. The book examines the musculoskeletal pain, the headache and fibromyalgia occurring during pregnancy. It also informs on the nutraceuticals in pregnancy, the use of opioids and of nerve blocks. This book finally explores complementary treatments during pregnancy. Case-studies are presented for improved understanding and to provide a real-world perspective. This book, written by nursing and psychology experts in their fields of specialty practice, will appeal to nurses and midwives working with pregnant women or planning to have a baby.
ISBN: 9783031063213Publication Date: 2022-08-25
Safety Training for Obstetric Emergencies: The OB FAST Approach by
Developed to improve patient safety during labor and delivery, the OB F.A.S.T. (Obstetrical Feasible Approach to Safety Training) simulation program is a proven, award-winning resource is designed for all members of the interdisciplinary obstetrics team to use together. Written by Dr. Giancarlo Mari, who developed the program and currently trains providers around the U.S. and the world, this volume helps teams strengthen their common knowledge of obstetric emergencies. This knowledge is then applied to rehearse emergencies together and prepare team members to provide a safe labor and delivery experience for every mother and child. Features easy-to-follow images and diagrams to reinforce team knowledge of common obstetric emergencies, from cardiac arrest and anesthesia considerations to intrapartum fetal monitoring and amniotic fluid embolism. Offers suggestions for how to run a simulation drill, as well as key points for debriefing and documentation. Includes essential background information to facilitate quick reference and skills checklists to evaluate team performance. Designed for every member of the obstetric team - from those who are new to the field to practitioners with years of experience.
Sexual Function and Pelvic Floor Dysfunction: A Guide for Nurses and Allied Health Professionals by
This book provides to nurses an understanding of female sexual function and dysfunction specifically in relation to common gynecological conditions. It offers evidence based overview of assessment of sexual function, including available questionnaires and provides a multidisciplinary approach to managing sexual dysfunction, from incontinence to pelvic organ prolapse and recurrent urinary tract infections. It also covers a holistic approach including over the counter and home treatments, psychological therapies, physical therapies, pharmacological options and if necessary more invasive interventions. Sexual function and pelvic floor dysfunction is often a neglected area due to the taboo nature of discussions. This book aims to educate nurses, to help them understand the types of treatment options available, and encourage them to engage in conversations about sexual function with women, so that they can be referred to appropriate healthprofessionals and access the right care.
ISBN: 9783030638429Publication Date: 2021-02-03
Telephone Triage for Obstetrics and Gynecology by
Provide top-level obstetrics and gynecology telephone triage that is safe, efficient, and effective, with Telephone Triage for Obstetrics & Gynecology, 3rd Edition. This at-your-fingertips guide offers a wide range of current, evidence-based protocols, backed by proven patient-questioning techniques, quick-reference charts, and real-life patient scenarios. Adaptable to private practice, hospital, clinic, or call center, this invaluable guide will help ensure that your telephone triage standards stay high, while your practice serves individual patient situations with empathy and accuracy, right from the start. Be expertly guided through the telephone triage rigors of data-gathering, protocols, and patient education, with these vital features: NEW chapter on incorporating internet research into advice on specific protoc NEW and expanded protocols that offer updated content on preconceptual screening, infectious disease impacts on pregnancy, infertility management, and emergency contraception Quick-reference sections that arrange protocols alphabetically for fast locating Easy-to-follow, data-gathering, flowchart format that helps you quickly determine the nature and urgency of the caller''s problem, and choose the appropriate intervention Easy-to-explain patient-education sections after each protocol Basic Triage Assessment Forms that address specific problems and require vital patient data Guidance on developing "telephone charisma" and the power of sympathetic listening Effective patient questioning techniques --pertinent questions to ask, types of questions, time management, getting clarification Real-life call scenarios that point out problems with not listening fully to the patient, skipping relevant questions, or exerting judgments Covers telephone triage basics, including logistical and legal considerations, assessments, telephone communication basics and challenges, and more Offers obstetric protocols, including overviews of preconceptual and infertility, early management of unintended pregnancy, fetal prenatal screening, early pregnancy evaluation and surveillance, and more Offers gynecologic protocols, including overviews of abnormal bleeding and spotting, amenorrhea, barrier contraceptives, breast complaints, emergency contraception, injectable contraceptives, intrauterine contraception, menopausal concerns, and more Vital guidance for all gynecologic nurses, obstetric nurses, certified nurse midwives, OB/GYN nurse practitioners, all triage nurses, and health professionals at call centers Your book purchase includes a complimentary download of the enhanced eBook for iOS(tm), Android(tm), PC, and Mac. Take advantage of these practical features that will improve your eBook experience: The ability to download the eBook on multiple devices at one time--providing a seamless reading experience online or offline Powerful search tools and smart navigation cross-links that allow you to search within this book, or across your entire library of VitalSource eBooks Multiple viewing options that enable you to scale images and text to any size without losing page clarity, as well as responsive design The ability to highlight text and add notes with one click About the Clinical Editors Vicki E. Long, DNP, RN, CNM, is an Assistant Professor at the School of Nursing, University of South Carolina Aiken. Patricia C. McMullen, PhD, JD, WHNP-BC, RN, FAANP, FAAN, is a Professor and Dean of the School of Nursing, The Catholic University of America, Washington, DC.
Varney's Midwifery by
Varney's Midwifery continues to be the gold standard for midwifery practice in an updated seventh edition. New lead editors assembled a team of expert contributors and authors to continue the legacy of Varney's Midwifery as the trusted, must-have resource for students, professional midwives, and women's health practitioners.Varney's Midwifery uses current evidence-based guidelines to address the care of individuals throughout the lifespan, including primary care, gynecology, perinatal care in a variety of settings, and newborn care. The Seventh Edition reflects the new ACNM Core Competencies for Basic Midwifery Practice published in 2020, including care of transgender individuals and abortion-related care. It also provides updated information on promotion of health equity, new techniques for fetal screening, diagnosis across the lifespan, and chronic conditions in pregnancy.
Women's Health Across the Lifespan: A Pharmacotherapeutic Approach, 3rd ed. by Today, more than at any time in recent history, women’s health care—and even the evidence needed to provide the best possible health care—are under duress. As a result, books such as this one are vitally important if we are to continue making progress in understanding women’s health across the lifespan. Taking sex and gender influences into consideration—at all levels of society, not just research and clinical care—should be as automatic as looking both ways before crossing the street. This book makes clear that the etiology and manifestation of disease varies widely among men and women and can be affected by a host of factors that could have far-reaching consequences many years later.
ISBN: 9781265164225
Women's Healthcare in Advanced Practice Nursing, 3rd ed. by
Holistically addresses women's health, encompassing the needs of transgender and nonbinary individuals and considering ethnicity, social class, and disability/ableness Delivering incisive and comprehensive information on the healthcare needs of women, transgender, and nonbinary persons, the third edition of this distinguished text incorporates a strong focus on the provision of high value, equitable, and unbiased care. It expands research and clinical frameworks for understanding women's health to encompass transgender and nonbinary persons and places women's health within a holistic perspective considering ethnicity, social class, and disability/ableness. All chapters are significantly updated with new evidence-based research, clinical updates and guidelines, drug information, Covid-related information, racism, and health disparities. This text also covers current and pertinent health topics such as substance use and abuse, mental health, early pregnancy decision-making, and LGBTQ+ care, as well as abundant integrated information on care of transgender and nonbinary individuals, and enhanced information on pregnancy and primary care issues that disproportionately affect females. The book is organized for ease of use and is comprised of three distinct but interrelated sections on theoretical frameworks to guide approach and care, health promotion and prevention, and managing health conditions. Rich instructor resources include mapping content to AACN Essentials, case studies, a test bank, and PowerPoint slides. Purchase includes digital access for use on most mobile devices or computers. New to the Third Edition: Focuses on providing equitable, unbiased care for all women including transgender and nonbinary individuals Updated with new evidence-based research, clinical updates and guidelines, drug information, Covid-related information, and racism and health disparities information Expanded information on care of transgender individuals Enhanced content on pregnancy and related issues Four-color presentation to enhance readability Incorporates content in WHNP and CNM national certification examination blueprints Key Features: Distills cutting-edge information on women's health issues through a sociocultural framework Edited by renowned scholar/educators for AP nursing students Organized to provide easy retrieval of clinical information Addresses genetics, LGBTQ+ health, endocrine-related problems, health considerations for women caregivers, dementia care, and more Includes relevant web resources and apps in each chapter Provides extensive instructor toolkit to foster critical thinking
ISBN: 9780826167217Publication Date: 2023-10-01
