Infectious Diseases: Preventive Medicine

Foodborne Infections and Intoxications, 5th ed. by J. Glenn Morris Jr.; Duc J. J. Vugia, 2021 Foodborne Infections and Intoxications, Fifth Edition brings together up-to-date, relevant interdisciplinary expertise of 70 authors presenting foodborne disease pathogens and toxins, microbiology, disease diagnosis and treatment, epidemiology, and disease prevention in the context of public health and food safety regulation. Beginning with the estimation of foodborne disease burden at the international scale, this book dives deep in foodborne disease outbreak investigation, food safety risk assessment, and molecular analysis, together with detailed descriptions of the major bacteria, viruses, parasites, and toxins associated with foodborne illness. This new edition also emphasizes development of risk-based approaches to food safety and safety regulation implementation. This book is a valuable scientific resource for understanding causes and management of foodborne diseases. The new edition offers the latest knowledge and updates on foodborne infections and intoxications and food safety for multiple generations of students, investigators, public health workers, food scientists, and food safety practitioners.

Gastrointestinal Diseases and Their Associated Infections by Guy D. Eslick, 2019 Many bacteria, viruses, protozoa, and fungi play key roles in the development of gastrointestinal diseases, and this practical reference brings you up to speed with this increasingly important area. Covering a broad range of GI diseases and cancers, this resource provides an expert overview of the field, ideal for all gastroenterologists and infectious disease physicians. Covers infections associated with gastroesophageal reflux disease and Barrett's esophagus, gallbladder disease, acute pancreatitis, small intestinal bacterial overgrowth, irritable bowel syndrome, inflammatory bowel disease, appendicitis, Whipple Disease, Crohn's Disease, and more. Discusses esophageal cancer, gastric cancer, cholangiocarcinoma, hepatocellular carcinoma, and colorectal cancer. Includes chapters on gut microbiome, fecal transplants, and the molecular pathgenesis of gastrointestinal infections. Consolidates today's available information on this timely topic into a single convenient resource.

Genomic and Precision Medicine: Infectious and Inflammatory Disease by Geoffrey S. Ginsburg; Huntington F. Willard; Christopher W. Woods et al, 2019 Genomic and Precision Medicine: Infectious and Inflammatory Disease, Third Edition, provides current clinical solutions on the application of genome discovery on a broad spectrum of disease categories in IMD - including asthma, obesity and multiple sclerosis. Each chapter is organized to cover the application of genomics and personalized medicine tools and technologies, along with information on a) Risk Assessment and Susceptibility, b) Diagnosis and Prognosis, c) Pharmacogenomics and Precision Therapeutics, and d) Emerging and Future Opportunities in the field.

Genomic Surveillance and Pandemic Preparedness by Rajesh Pandey, 2023 Genomic Surveillance and Pandemic Preparedness offers practical, in-depth instruction in where, how, and why genomic surveillance may be applied. Drawing heavily from the learnings during the COVID-19 pandemic, this book covers different aspects of microbes with a focus on viral genome sequencing and analysis, implementation and inference of genomic surveillance, and global data sharing best practices for future pandemic preparedness. Here, more than a dozen international authors consider host and pathogen genome interaction, population-level prevalence, individual disease susceptibility and gene protection, pathogen mutation evolutionary dynamics, RNA modulation of infection, pathogen diversity, and the role of coinfections and comorbidities in disease severity. A wide range of examples, from bacterial pathogens to fungal and viral infections, with an emphasis on recent COVID-19 analysis, are discussed. Finally, the authors provide step-by-step instruction in experimental and computational approaches for genomic surveillance, including nucleic acid isolation, sequencing library preparation, functional sequencing analysis, and bioinformatics pipelines. Throughout this book, importance is placed on inference--moving from genomic sequencing to meaningful genomic surveillance that bolsters pandemic preparedness.

Infections and the Rheumatic Diseases by Luis R. Espinoza, 2019 This book provides a comprehensive and up-to-date review of the basic and clinical aspects of infections and infectious processes that trigger or aggravate a variety of autoimmune and inflammatory musculoskeletal disorders. It delivers a timely update on the interactions between infection and rheumatic diseases in order to provide clinicians with the tools they need for proper diagnosis and treatment. The book is divided into five main sections. The first examines the basic aspects of bacterial infections with a discussion of molecular biology, the microbiome, various types of bacteria that cause infection, and recent advances in biologic therapy. The next section focuses on different forms of viral arthritis including hepatitis arthritis, arthritis associated with alpha viruses, and parvovirus-related arthritis. Subsequent chapters then discuss arthritis caused by mycobacteria, fungi, spirochete, and other miscellaneous arthritides. Following this are various analyzations onreactive arthritis and infection-related rheumatic diseases such as Whipple's Disease, SAPHO Syndrome, rheumatic fever, and HIV-associated rheumatic manifestations. Finally, the book closes with three chapters on external impacts on infectious diseases such as climate change, vaccinations and systemic lupus erythematosus. Infections and the Rheumatic Diseases is an essential resource for physicians and related professionals, residents, fellows, graduate students, and nurses in rheumatology, clinical immunology, and internal medicine.

The Opioid Epidemic and Infectious Diseases by Brianna L. Norton, 2021 Offering timely guidance on the junction of the opioid crisis and infectious diseases, this practical handbook by Dr. Brianna L. Norton provides concise yet comprehensive coverage of a growing patient population. Infectious disease specialists are increasingly seeing patients who previously used opiods and now use intravenous drugs. Many challenges are unique to this patient population, including new and growing infections such as hepatitis C, endocarditis, HIV, and hepatitis B. The Opioid Epidemic and Infectious Diseases is an up-to-date, real-world guide that covers the scope of the problem, management guidelines, and much more. Describes the new landscape of the opioid crisis in the U.S. and its intersection with infectious diseases, including epidemiology, Opioid Use Disorder (OUD) and rural America, and more. Offers practical guidance on (OUD) and infectious co-morbidities like hepatitis C, STDs, endocarditis, HIV, and hepatitis B. Covers prevention, treatment, and harm reduction. Discusses OUD, infectious diseases, and the criminal justice system. Consolidates today's available information and guidance into a single, convenient resource.

Pediatric Transplant and Oncology Infectious Diseases by William Steinbach, 2021 As the number and types of pediatric transplants increase and the complexity of chemotherapy regimens continues to evolve, there is a greater need for authoritative guidance, clinically actionable strategies, and easy-to-find information in the challenging area of immunocompromised pediatric patients. Pediatric Transplant and Oncology Infectious Diseases offers up-to-date, targeted coverage of this complex field, compiled by world-renowned editors and authors into one convenient volume. Covers the must-know principles for diagnosing and managing opportunistic infections in immunocompromised populations and detailed aspects of their care - information not specifically covered in pediatric infectious disease textbooks or pediatric oncology books. Features algorithms in every chapter that provide visual, accessible overviews of treatment protocols. Discusses key topics such as microbiome implications in transplantation and oncology, antimicrobial resistant Gram-negative bacteria, EBV-associated post-transplant lymphoproliferative disorders, and many others. Offers well-referenced, evidence-based content throughout, with targeted suggested readings provided. Enhanced eBook version included with purchase. Your enhanced eBook allows you to access all of the text, figures, and references from the book on a variety of devices.

Plotkin's Vaccines, 8th ed. by Walter A. Orenstein; Paul A. Offit; Stanley A. Plotkin,et al., 2023 From the latest vaccination evidence, recommendations, and protocols . . . to new vaccine development and the use of vaccines in reducing disease, Plotkin's Vaccines, 8th Edition, covers every aspect of vaccination. Now completely revised and updated from cover to cover, this award-winning text continues to provide reliable information from global authorities, offering a complete understanding of each disease, as well as the latest knowledge of both existing vaccines and those currently in research and development. Described by Bill Gates as "an indispensable guide to the enhancement of the well-being of our world," Plotkin's Vaccines is a must-have reference for current, authoritative information in this fast-moving field. Contains all-new chapters on COVID-19, vaccine hesitancy, and non-specific effects of vaccines, as well as significantly revised content on new vaccine technologies such as mRNA vaccines, emerging vaccines, and technologies to improve immunization. Presents exciting new data on evolution of adjuvants across the centuries, dengue vaccines, human papillomavirus vaccines, respiratory syncytial virus vaccines, tuberculosis vaccines, and zoster vaccines. Provides up-to-date, authoritative information on vaccine production, available preparations, efficacy and safety, and recommendations for vaccine use, with rationales and data on the impact of vaccination programs on morbidity and mortality. Provides complete coverage of each disease, including clinical characteristics, microbiology, pathogenesis, diagnosis, and treatment, as well as epidemiology and public health and regulatory issues. Keeps you up to date with information on each vaccine, including its stability, immunogenicity, efficacy, duration of immunity, adverse events, indications, contraindications, precautions, administration with other vaccines, and disease-control strategies. Covers vaccine-preventable diseases, vaccine science, and licensed vaccine products, as well as product technologies and global regulatory and public health issues. Analyzes the cost-benefit and cost-effectiveness of different vaccine options. Helps you clearly visualize concepts and objective data through an abundance of tables and figures. Enhanced eBook version included with purchase. Your enhanced eBook allows you to access all of the text, figures, and references from the book on a variety of devices.

Red Book Atlas of Pediatric Infectious Diseases, 5th ed. by American Academy of Pediatrics; Tina Q. Tan , 2022 The fifth edition of this best-selling Red Book® image companion aids in the diagnosis and treatment of more than 165 pediatric infectious diseases. Streamline disease recognition and clinical decision-making with more than 1,350 finely detailed color images, combined with step-by-step guidance.

Red Book Pediatric Infectious Diseases Clinical Decision Support Chart, 3rd ed. by David W. Kimberlin, 2024 Fully revised and updated, the third edition of this full-color chart collects many of the most clinically useful tables, algorithms, and other items from the Red Book, 33rd Edition and presents them in an enlarged, enhanced colorized format that is lightweight, portable, and easy to navigate. Additionally, new tables have been created exclusively for this chart, synthesizing important clinical information from the Red Book text. Topics include: Staphylococcal Infections Streptococcal Infections COVID-19 and Multisystem Inflammatory Syndrome in Children (MIS-C) Diarrheal Infections Immunizations Antibiotic Prophylaxis Immune Globulin Kawasaki Disease Tuberculosis Lyme Disease Varicella-Zoster Fungal Infections Genital and Neonatal Herpes Syphilis HIV Immunocompromised Children and Adolescents

Surveillance, Prevention, and Control of Infectious Diseases : An AI Perspective by Muhammad E. H. Chowdhury; Serkan Kiranyaz, 2024 This is a pioneering book that delves into the intersection of artificial intelligence (AI) and healthcare, specifically focusing on the detection and prevention of infectious diseases. Authored by leading experts in the field, this book offers a comprehensive overview of the latest advancements, challenges, and applications of AI in combating infectious diseases. With a unique emphasis on big data, wearable data, and computer vision, the book presents original research works that showcase innovative approaches to leveraging AI for disease surveillance, screening, and severity stratification. Through a combination of review chapters summarizing the current state of the field and novel applications of AI technology, readers gain valuable insights into the potential of AI in addressing major life-threatening infectious diseases identified by the UN Sustainable Development Goal 3. The book's structure ensures a balanced blend of theoretical foundations and practical applications, making it accessible to both researchers and healthcare professionals. By exploring cutting-edge methodologies and case studies, the book equips readers with the knowledge and tools needed to harness the power of AI in the fight against infectious diseases, ultimately contributing to global efforts to improve public health outcomes. With its interdisciplinary approach and focus on AI-driven solutions, " Surveillance, prevention, and control of infectious diseases: An AI perspective" serves as an invaluable resource for researchers, practitioners, and policymakers seeking to stay abreast of the latest developments in this rapidly evolving field. Whether exploring the role of wearable devices in disease monitoring or examining the potential of computer vision for early detection, this book offers a comprehensive overview of AI applications that have the potential to revolutionize infectious disease management and prevention strategies.

Viral Outbreaks, Biosecurity, and Preparing for Mass Casualty Infectious Diseases Events by Trish M. Perl; Daniel Maxwell, 2023 Written by authorities in infectious disease and disaster preparedness, this one-stop resource covers the relevant theoretical, historical, and pragmatic considerations of viral outbreaks and bioterrorism. It provides an expert overview of this complex area for infectious disease physicians, emergency medicine physicians, hospital administrators, and more. Explores the historical context of various agents and potential agents that could be used for bioterrorism, including anthrax, tularemia, smallpox, SARS, and more Discusses the lessons learned from naturally occurring outbreaks that have enhanced preparedness at individual hospitals locally, regionally, nationally, and internationally. Provides forms, checklists, and algorithms throughout - invaluable resources for health care providers and administrators Consolidates today's available information on this timely topic into a single convenient resource

Viruses and Society by Patricia G. Melloy, 2023 Viruses and Society is geared towards professionals and students in college-level introductory biology courses devoted to understanding viruses, vaccines, and their global impact. The beginning of the book introduces cells, DNA, and viruses themselves.