eBooks
Anatomy and Physiology for Speech, Language, and Hearing, 7th ed. by
"A deep understanding of the structure and function of the human body is critical to those charged with the diagnosis and treatment of speech, language, and hearing disorders. With many exciting enhancements and robust online resources, the seventh edition of Anatomy & Physiology for Speech, Language, and Hearing provides a solid foundation in anatomical and physiological principles relevant to the fields of speech-language pathology and audiology. The text is supported by an innovative study software program called ANAQUEST that includes interactive lessons, animations, and videos to further help students master the complex material"--
ISBN: 9781635506280Publication Date: 2023-11-01
Anatomy of the Voice: An Illustrated Guide for Singers, Vocal Coaches and Speech Therapists by
This book is the first to explain, in clear and concise language, the anatomy and mechanics of the mysterious and complex bodily system we call the voice. Beautifully illustrated with more than 100 detailed images, Anatomy of the Voice guides voice teachers and students, vocal coaches, professional singers and actors, and anyone interested in the voice through the complex landscape of breathing, larynx, throat, face, and jaw. Theodore Dimon, an internationally recognized authority on the subject, as well as an expert in the Alexander Technique, makes unfamiliar terrain accessible and digestible by describing each vocal system in short, manageable sections and explaining complex terminology. The topics he covers include ribs, diaphragm, and muscles of breathing; the intrinsic musculature of the larynx, its structure and action; the suspensory muscles of the throat; the face and jaw; the tongue and palate; and the evolution and function of the larynx.
ISBN: 9781623171988
Aphasia and Other Acquired Neurogenic Language Disorders: A Guide for Clinical Excellence, 2nd ed. by
"Covering an array of evidence-based content, including aphasia, traumatic brain injury, dementia, and language in aging, Aphasia and Other Acquired Neurogenic Language Disorders: A Guide for Clinical Excellence, Second Edition is a must-have textbook for clinicians and students studying to be speech-language pathologists. This clinical guide strategically addresses scientific foundations, service delivery, international and multicultural perspectives, assessment, and treatment. Organized to maximize adult learning, the book is adaptable for multiple pedagogic methods for classroom-based courses, independent study, and online learning. The second edition of Aphasia and Other Acquired Neurogenic Language Disorders: A Guide for Clinical Excellence provides clinicians and students a clear pathway for quality and effectiveness in clinical practice"--
ISBN: 9781635501599Publication Date: 2019-11-01
Assessment in Speech-Language Pathology: A Resource Manual, 7th ed. by
"The book covers the diagnosis and evaluation of a wide range of communication disorders in adults and children"--
ISBN: 9781635507102Publication Date: 2023-12-15
Assessment of Communication Disorders in Adults: Resources and Protocols, 3rd ed. by
"Assessment of Communication Disorders in Adults: Resources and Protocols, Third Edition offers a unique combination of scholarly information, invaluable resources, and time-saving protocols on assessment of communication disorders in adults. Most resource books offer limited research and scholarly information, thus making them unsuitable as textbooks for academic courses on assessment and diagnosis. Similarly, most traditional textbooks do not include practical, easy-to-use, and time-saving resources and protocols that the practicing clinicians can readily use during assessment sessions. By combining the strengths of traditional textbooks with newer assessment resources and protocols, this one-of-a-kind book offers a single, comprehensive source that is suitable as a textbook and useful as a practical clinical resource"--
ISBN: 9781635502633Publication Date: 2020-11-01
Assessment of Communication Disorders in Children, 4th ed. by
Assessment of Communication Disorders in Children: Resources and Protocols, Fourth Edition offers a unique combination of scholarly information, invaluable resources, and time-saving protocols on assessment of the full range of communication disorders in children, including nonverbal or minimally verbal children. Most resource books offer limited research and scholarly information, thus making them unsuitable as textbooks for academic courses on assessment and diagnosis. Similarly, most traditional textbooks do not include practical, easy-to-use, and time-saving resources and protocols that the practicing clinicians can readily use during assessment sessions. By combining the strengths of traditional texts with newer assessment resources and protocols, this one-of-a-kind book offers a single, comprehensive source that is suitable as a textbook and useful as a practical clinical resource. This bestselling and trusted text: Includes an extensive discussion of issues in using standardized tests along with detailed information on psychometric principles and offers a detailed discussion of alternative assessment approaches that minimize the problems inherent to standardized tests Describes a new, comprehensive, and integrated assessment approach that derives its strengths from the traditional as well as several alternative approaches Addresses the multicultural issues in assessing communication disorders in children and integrates culturally responsive assessment procedures into the assessment protocols Contains two chapters for each disorder: one on resources that offers scholarly and research background and one on resources that describe practical procedures and protocols that save the clinician's preparation time New to the Fourth Edition: Lecture slides for instructors on the PluralPlus companion website A new section on the assessment of voice in transgender and gender diverse adolescents A new section on selective mutism in bilingual children, included in alternative and integrated assessment of ethnoculturally diverse children All normative tables placed in relevant chapter appendices for quick access The content has been updated throughout to reflect the current state of research Updated diagnostic features of all childhood communication disorders All protocols streamlined and edited for precision (in book and on website) Updated resources for commonly used assessment instruments and standardized tests, now available on the companion website All defined and key terms are now bolded Simplified writing style and reduced redundancy for increased readability and comprehension
ISBN: 9781635502787Publication Date: 2021-07-01
eBooks
Clinical Methods and Practicum in Speech-Language Pathology, 7th ed. by
"Clinical Methods and Practicum in Speech-Language Pathology remains a vital resource for students in speech-language pathology who are about to begin their clinical practicum. The book is divided into two major sections: clinical practicum and clinical methods in speech-language pathology. These sections provide coverage of the structural and functional aspects of clinical practicum in a variety of settings. The book emphasizes clinical practicum is an exciting learning experience. The students will understand what is expected of them in each setting and what they can expect from their clinical supervisors. The book also gives an overview of treatment methods that apply across disorders"--
ISBN: 9781635506914Publication Date: 2023-11-15
Cognitive Communication Disorders, 4th ed. by
The fourth edition of Cognitive Communication Disorders is an essential text for graduate speech-language pathology courses on cognitively-based communication disorders. It provides vital information on the cognitive foundations of communication (attention, memory, and executive function). The book provides readers with a comprehensive theoretical and applied review of how deficits in these core cognitive abilities manifest in right hemisphere brain damage, dementia, primary progressive aphasia, concussion, and traumatic brain injury. Case studies illustrate principles of clinical management, and figures and tables facilitate understanding of neurobehavioral correlates, differential diagnoses, and other critical clinical information. New to the Fourth Edition New co-editor, Sarah E. Wallace A new chapter on working with underserved populations Chapters now begin with learning objectives for an educational frame of reference for students before new material is presented A glossary makes it easy to find definitions of all of the book's key terminology Updated and expanded evidence-based information on assessment and treatment of cognitive communication deficits Updated case studies addressing assessment and treatment of individuals with cognitive communication disorders with attention to underserved clinical populations New online ancillary resources include a test bank and sample syllabus for instructors, and a list of helpful recommended readings for students The international roster of returning and new contributors includes Maya Albin, Margaret Lehman Blake, Jessica A. Brown, Mariana Christodoulou Devledian, Fofi Constantinidou, Petrea L. Cornwell, Heather Dial, Eduardo Europa, Kathryn Y. Hardin, Maya Henry, Ronelle Heweston, Kelly Knollman-Porter, Nidhi Mahendra, Katy H. O'Brien, Mary H. Purdy, Sarah N. Villard, Sarah E. Wallace, and Catherine Wiseman-Hakes.
ISBN: 9781635504408Publication Date: 2023-11-01
Essentials of Communication Sciences and Disorders, 3rd ed. by
Fully revised and updated, Essentials of Communication Sciences and Disorders, Third Edition is an accessible and engaging introductory resource for students new to communication sciences and disorders. This text covers foundational information about speech disorders in both children and adults, while numerous case scenarios and personal stories paint a vivid picture of speech-language pathology. A robust, full color art program illustrates key concepts with detailed anatomical images, photos, and helpful charts and tables. Additionally, this text addresses multicultural issues as well as the emotional and social effects of each disorder on the individual and family, providing students with a comprehensive overview of the profession.Every new print copy includes Navigate Advantage Access that unlocks a complete, interactive eBook, videos of most disorders, PowerPoint slides, and more!New section on Cultural Competence and the diversity in professional and client interactionsNew sections on Interviewing and Therapy Microskills, Orofacial Myofunctional Disorders, Neurodiversity, Transgender Voice therapy, Communication Partner training, and moreNew video footage illustrating almost all disorders, including assessment and therapyInsight Questions throughout the text encourage students to consider how they might relate to the information presented to their personal lives or in ways they had not expectedStudy Questions are provided at the end of each chapter to help students demonstrate their learningWritten for an international market by including journals written by researchers from Canada, United Kingdom, Israel, Argentina, China, Italy, and more
ISBN: 9781284235821Publication Date: 2022-03-11
Fluency Disorders: Stuttering, Cluttering, and Related Fluency Problems, 2nd ed. by
"Fluency Disorders: Stuttering, Cluttering, and Related Fluency Problems, Second Edition is a vital resource for graduate courses on stuttering and related disorders of fluency. This thoroughly updated text features accessible and comprehensive coverage of fluency disorders across a range of clinical populations, including those with developmental and acquired stuttering, cluttering, and various types of developmental and acquired language impairment"--
ISBN: 9781635501476Publication Date: 2019-08-30
Foundations of Aural Rehabilitation: Children, Adults, and Their Family Membersm 6th ed. by
Thoroughly updated with three new chapters, Foundations of Aural Rehabilitation: Children, Adults, and Their Family Members, Sixth Edition introduces the fundamentals of audiologic rehabilitation and hearing-related speech-language pathology in an easy-to-read, concise resource for the field of communication sciences and disorders. The text offers creative coverage of theory, clinical practice, and research-based approaches for identifying, diagnosing, and treating hearing-related communication disorders in children and adults. The book includes case studies, and general demographic, medical, and pop-cultural trends are considered in parallel with corresponding developments in aural rehabilitation. The text is separated into three sections for the most comprehensive coverage of each topic: Part 1 describes the components of an aural rehabilitation plan, Part 2 concerns adults and their family members, and Part 3 concerns children and their parents. Important topics throughout include patient-centered services, counseling, diagnostics, selection and fitting of listening devices, conversational fluency and communication strategies training, auditory training, speechreading, language and speech acquisition, and literacy. New to the Sixth Edition Reorganization of chapters combine shared themes and streamline learning: Audiological Examination and Listening Devices chapters have been combined into Chapter 2 Assessing Conversational Fluency and Communication chapters are now combined into Chapter 6 New chapters on: Auditory training for children, with detailed guidance for developing training objectives and activities (Chapter 13) Language development and language therapy (Chapter 14) Speech and literacy acquisition, along with practical examples of lessons (Chapter 15) Inclusion or expansion of special topics, including auditory processing disorder, hidden hearing loss, unilateral hearing loss, and cultural competency Improved and expanded number of figures that illustrate and illuminate key concepts and ideas Key Features Focus on evidence-based approaches to aural rehabilitation Written in an engaging and clear style Chapters begin with Chapter Outlines and end with Key Chapter Points and Terms and Concepts to Remember Case studies in each chapter Numerous illustrations, tables, sidebars, and text boxes enrich the presentation of concepts Bolded key terms throughout with definitions in the margins and a comprehensive glossary make for easy review Chapter Key Resources and Appendices provide tools that can be used in clinical practice
ISBN: 9781635504170Publication Date: 2022-11-15
Fundamentals of Anatomy and Physiology of Speech, Language, and Hearing, 1st ed. by
"Designed to meet the distinctive needs of todays undergraduates, Fundamentals of Anatomy and Physiology of Speech, Language, and Hearing provides an accessible and visually engaging introduction to the anatomy and physiology of the major body systems involved in the processes of speech-language pathology. Authors Glen M. Tellis and M. Hunter Manasco use their experiences in the classroom to inform their content-forward and technology-driven approach to instruction. Each topic is explored in bullet-point form with augmentative paragraph information, in-depth box features, and detailed illustrations. High-resolution Anatomage virtual dissection table figures derived from real cadavers offer an unparalleled glimpse into the anatomical structures of the human body, featuring true-to-life colors and an impressive level of detail. Topics explored include respiration, phonation, articulation, swallowing, resonance, hearing, balance, neuroanatomy, and neurophysiology"--
ISBN: 9781635507201Publication Date: 2023-09-15
eBooks
Fundamentals of Audiology for the Speech-Language Pathologist, 3rd ed. by
Fundamentals of Audiology for the Speech-Language Pathologist, Third Edition is specifically written to provide the speech language pathologist with a knowledge base to work with individuals who are hard of hearing, deaf and diagnosed with (central) auditory processing disorder. Serving as a guide to the management of hearing loss, this unique resource presents basic audiological concepts in a clear, concise, easy to understand format, eliminating extensive technical jargon. This comprehensive text covers various types and degrees of hearing loss and the resulting auditory, speech, and language difficulties. Moving away from an exclusively diagnostic format of audiology practices, this text also focuses on the rehabilitative aspects of hearing loss and empowering students to collaborate with audiologists throughout their career. Unlike other texts, Fundamentals of Audiology for the Speech-Language Pathologist, Third Edition presents detailed information on all audiometric testing procedures and how to read and interpret audiometric results. The text covers programmatic planning from early intervention through geriatrics while also providing a thorough review of normal hearing development from birth through eight years of age. Each chapter of the text is organized into these helpful sections: What You Need to Know, How it Works, Technically Speaking, Methodologies. This approach breaks down each concept in a way that facilitates student comprehension and retention. Every new print copy includes Navigate Advantage Access that unlocks a complete, interactive eBook, videos and animations, resource tool kit, flashcards, and more! New chapter providing an overview of listening and spoken language therapy certification and training Includes examples of aural rehabilitation goals Provides guidance on how to counsel patients and their families regarding the impact of hearing loss Checklists and patient questionnaires that benefit students once in practice Provides the latest information about the constantly evolving world of hearing assistance technology, including progress made in hearing aids and cochlear implants
ISBN: 9781284222920
Motor Speech Disorders: Diagnosis and Treatment, 4th ed. by
Motor Speech Disorders: Diagnosis and Treatment, Fourth Edition offers a detailed yet streamlined introduction to motor speech disorders for graduate speech-language pathology students and beginning clinicians. The text begins with a brief historical overview of motor speech disorders, providing useful context for understanding the technology and methodology used by today’s speech-language pathologists for assessment and treatment. The book also provides a practical introduction to the human motor system with 45 full-color anatomical illustrations enabling readers to more easily understand the challenging material. A full chapter is dedicated to the assessment of the disorders and includes a detailed explanation of the complete motor speech examination.
ISBN: 9781635504460Publication Date: 2023-11-15
Neuroimaging in Neurogenic Communication Disorders by
Neuroimaging in Neurogenic Communication Disorders provides a comprehensive review of cases utilizing neuroimaging in neurogenic communication disorders. Basic knowledge of neuroanatomy and medical conditions related to these speech and language disorders are discussed. Each case study includes information on neuroanatomy, case presentation, neuroimaging, differential diagnosis, and final diagnosis. This book is written for medical students, practitioners and researchers in neuroscience and speech language pathology. Neurogenic communication disorders are caused by damage to the central or peripheral nervous system. This damage can be caused by Parkinson's disease, stroke, dementia, traumatic brain injury, brain tumors, and other neurologic disorders and causes issues such as aphasia, dysarthria and apraxia.
ISBN: 9780128238752Publication Date: 2023-06-20
Neuroscience Fundamentals for Communication Sciences and Disorders, 2nd ed. by
Neuroscience Fundamentals for Communication Sciences and Disorders, Second Edition is a comprehensive textbook primarily designed for undergraduate neural bases or graduate neuroscience courses in communication sciences and disorders programs (CSD). The text can also be used as an accessible go-to reference for speech-language pathology and audiology clinical professionals practicing in medical and rehab settings. Written with an engaging and conversational style, the author uses humor and analogies to explain concepts that are often challenging for students. Complemented by more than 400 visually rich and beautifully drawn full-color illustrations, the book emphasizes brain and behavior relationships while also ensuring coverage of essential neuroanatomy and neurophysiology in an integrative fashion. With a comprehensive background in the principles, processes, and structures underlying the workings of the human nervous system, students and practitioners alike will be able to better understand and apply brain-behavior relationships to make appropriate clinical assessments and treatment decisions. Extending well beyond traditional neuroanatomy-based textbooks, this resource is designed to satisfy three major goals: Provide neuroanatomical and neurophysiological detail that meets the real-world needs of the contemporary CSD student as they move forward toward clinical practice and into the future where advancements in the field of health and brain sciences are accelerating and contributing more and more each day to all areas of rehabilitation. Provide clear, understandable explanations and intuitive material that explains how and why neuroanatomical systems, processes, and mechanisms of the nervous system operate as they do during human behavior. Provide a depth and scope of material that will allow the reader to better understand and appreciate a wide range of evidence-based literature related to behavior, cognition, emotion, language, and sensory perception--areas that all directly impact treatment decisions. New to the Second Edition 40 new full-color illustrations Reorganization and division of content from Chapters 4, 5, and 6 of the previous edition, into six new and more digestible chapters A new standalone chapter on the cranial nerves Addition of a major section and discussion on the neural bases of swallowing Addition of more summary tables and process flowcharts to simplify the text and provide ready-made study materials for students Revisions to most figures to improve their clarity and coherence with the written material
ISBN: 9781635503609Publication Date: 2022-11-01
