eBooks
The Basic Science of Oncology, Sixth Edition by
Complete coverage of the basis of cancer and molecular biology - from globally recognized experts The Basic Science of Oncology is an accessible and thorough introduction to cancer causation, cancer biology, and the biology underlying cancer treatment. You'll find everything you need to know about the latest critical thinking in oncology, as well ready to apply information about state-of-the-art science and therapeutic applications. Written by leading oncology researchers and clinicians, this is an essential resource for health professionals, students, advanced undergraduates and graduates in biological sciences, and clinicians needing an understanding of cancer cells. Presented in full-color, The Basic Science of Oncology reflects the latest research and developments in the field. Features NEW chapters: Epigenetics and Principles of Genome Regulation and Targeted Cancer Diagnosis and Treatment Thoroughly revised content, with expanded coverage of key topics such as immune system and immunotherapy, tumor growth and metabolism, vaccine development, methods of molecular analysis, tumor environment, and more The most current, evidence-based oncology primer--one that encapsulates the science of cancer causation, cancer biology, and cancer therapy Key insights into molecular and genetic aspects of cancer familiarize you with cancer biology as applied to prognosis and personalized cancer medicine In-depth focus on the discovery, evaluation, and biology of anti-cancer drugs, immunotherapy, and molecularly-targeted agents Up-to-date coverage of the basic science of radiation therapy
ISBN: 9781259862076Publication Date: 2021-04-21
Breast Cancer Radiation Therapy by
The book provides, in a comprehensive yet concise way, essential information to improve the knowledge and skills of all healthcare providers involved in the treatment of patients with breast cancer. The content does not focus on general information that is widely available via different sources, but on technical aspects - "hands-on" daily practices and principles of radiation oncology that are not included in other books. Drawing on information taught in courses at e.g. the ESTRO School, as well as the authors' broad clinical experience, the respective contributions reflect and share the expertise of leading experts in breast cancer radiation therapy, supported by sound data and evidence. Each chapter includes a short introduction summarizing the evidence in the literature and "pearls" (a short bullet-point summary), and is enriched by tables, figures and illustrations to provide a concise, easy-to-follow and appealing overview. The book, containing also useful electronic supplementary material, will be of interest to a wide range of readers, including radiation oncologists, radiation technicians, medical physicists, and others involved in breast cancer care.
ISBN: 9783030911690Publication Date: 2022-08-02
Cancer Rehabilitation, 2nd ed. by
Praise for the previous edition: "This book is a milestone and must-have for anyone involved in the care of those with cancer." --American Journal of Physical Medicine and Rehabilitation "This reference provides a comprehensive, pragmatic approach for physical medicine physicians; speech, occupational, and physical therapists; and nurses with cancer survivor responsibilities... A]ny cancer program with significant rehabilitation services will find this a useful addition to its library." --JAMA (Journal of the American Medical Association) This completely revised second edition of the gold-standard reference on cancer rehabilitation provides a state-of-the-art overview of the principles of cancer care and best practices for restoring function and quality of life to cancer survivors. Authored by some of the world's leading cancer rehabilitation experts and oncology specialists, the book opens with primer-level discussions of the various cancer types and their assessment and management, including potential complications, as a foundation for providing safe and effective rehabilitation. Subsequent sections thoroughly explore the identification, evaluation, and treatment of specific impairments and disabilities that result from cancer and the treatment of cancer. Designed to serve the needs of the entire medical team, this singular resource is intended for any clinician working with cancer survivors to improve function and quality of life. With several new chapters on topics such as inpatient cancer rehabilitation, pediatric oncology, research issues, and barriers to accessing cancer rehabilitation and building a cancer rehabilitation program, the book keeps pace with recent advances in the growing field of cancer rehabilitation. This new edition features updates throughout and expansions to major topics, including imaging in cancer and key disorders such as aromatase inhibitor-induced arthralgias. Presenting the most current medical, clinical, and rehabilitation intelligence, this is a mandatory reference for anyone in the field. Key Features: New edition of the only contemporary comprehensive text covering the field of cancer rehabilitationRevised and updated to reflect current knowledge, practice, and emerging topicsCovers essential aspects of oncology and medical complications of cancer to inform rehabilitation decisions and strategiesProvides state-of-the-art reviews on all major topics in cancer rehabilitation, including pain assessment and management, neuromuscular and musculoskeletal dysfunction, neurologic, and general rehabilitation issues13 new chapters and expanded coverage of signature areasKey points are provided for each chapter to reinforce learningDigital access to the ebook included
ISBN: 9780826111388Publication Date: 2018-09-01
Care at the Close of Life: Evidence and Experience by
From one of the world's leading medical journals comes the definitive evidence-based, full-color guide to end-of-life and palliative care A new addition to the JAMAevidence series, Care at the Close of Life: Evidence and Experience offers evidence-based and clinical expert guidance on caring for patients with life-limiting illness, incorporating the words and perspectives of affected patients, their families, and treating clinicians. Organized by these actual clinical cases, the book is based on the acclaimed 7-year series of 42 articles, originally published in JAMA as "Perspectives on Care at the Close of Life," and now thoroughly updated as chapters and featuring extensive never-before-published material. Care at the Close of Life covers are a wide range of clinical syndromes, disease processes, communication challenges, health-care delivery settings, and issues faced by patients, including withdrawal of dialysis and other life-sustaining measures, cross-cultural approaches, and the role of chemotherapy. Throughout the book, emphasis is on the principles of palliative care, with the patient and family at the center of care, and with attention given to all problems--physical, psychological, social, and spiritual. Reflecting this focus, each chapter begins with a patient case study to introduce the clinical problem, followed by "perspectives" that draw on extensive, real-world dialogue between clinicians, patients, and families. Internationally renowned authors then review the typical challenges illustrated by the case, offering state-of-the-art, evidence-based assessment and treatment approaches. Features Fully revised and updated text with new evidence and references, including the search methodology for each chapter's update Evidence-based orientation presents the current state of knowledge in the care of terminally ill patients and support for their families and caregivers Practical clinical guidance and approaches from international experts in palliative care Self-assessment Q&A, for reinforcing your knowledge of each chapter's content and for preparing for exams A useful Glossary of acronyms, terms, and tests Updated Resources for each chapter offer current, authoritative sources of diagnostic and treatment information that can help you optimize palliative care Medline PubMed ID numbers facilitate quick, convenient access to references.
ISBN: 9780071637954Publication Date: 2010-10-25
Comprehensive Hematology and Stem Cell Research by
Comprehensive Hematology and Stem Cell Research is the first major reference to cover both stem cell research and therapy as well as the range of hematological disorders they are currently used to treat and may potentially be able to treat in the future. This five volume set includes fundamentals, such as the underlying mechanisms of the blood and immune system, highlighting blood disorders and cancers of the blood, including lymphoma, leukemia, and myeloma. Other sections cover stem cell research and therapy, from harvesting stem cells to their utilization in cancer treatments.Finally, the work looks to the future and explores newer stem cell research that may lead to future treatments. This book is an excellent resource for students at the graduate and post-graduate levels, academics, and researchers in the fields hematology, immunology and oncology.- Compiles foundational knowledge and breakthrough research into one concise, comprehensive reference- Takes a translational, bench-to-bedside approach to hematological disorders and stem cell therapies- Covers clinical applications of stem cells, advances in the field, and promising new research
ISBN: 9780443157189Publication Date: 2024-08-14
Conn's Current Therapy 2025 by
Conn’s Current Therapy 2025 is the 77th edition of this title. The textbook has a remarkable history and reputation and continues to garner outstanding reviews by readers and reviewers. The editors are committed to continuing that history of excellence.
ISBN: 9780443121814
Empathy: Real Stories to Inspire and Enlighten Busy Clinicians by
For anyone who communicates directly with patients--the complete guide to handling emotionally charged conversations with the empathy vulnerable people deserve Empathy: Real Stories to Inspire and Enlighten Busy Clinicians helps you approach tough conversations with patients in a new, more effective way by imagining what patients and their families may be thinking and feeling, and then communicating that recognition clearly and confidently. The authors use stories to illustrate what empathy looks and sounds like on an operational level rather than a theoretical, scientific, or conceptual level and provide the actionable advice you need to make empathy the central focus when faced with challenging scenarios, such as "denial," questions about prognosis, existential concerns, difficult family dynamics, anger, and nonmedical opiate use. The viewpoints presented are drawn from a diverse group of clinicians from a variety of medical disciplines, including oncology, palliative medicine, pediatrics, psychology, chaplaincy, and ophthalmology. Each chapter is anchored by a true but anonymized story that clearly illustrates how empathy can unfold in the clinical setting. Vignettes throughout provide sample dialogue and examples of actual words and phrases that help clinicians connect with patients under the most trying circumstances. Much more than a guide to breaking bad news or an overview of all communication skills, Empathy: Real Stories to Inspire and Enlighten Busy Clinicians is a must-read for anyone connected to the healthcare industry.
ISBN: 9781260473414Publication Date: 2022-04-08
Evidence-Based Practice of Palliative Medicine, 2d ed. by
Using a practical, question-and-answer approach, Evidence-Based Practice of Palliative Medicine, 2nd Edition, helps you provide optimal care for patients and families who are dealing with serious illness. This unique reference focuses on patient and family/caregiver-centered care, highlighting the benefits of palliative care and best practices for delivery. The highly practical, user-friendly format sets it apart from other texts in the field, with concise, readable chapters organized around clinical questions that you're most likely to encounter in everyday care. Uniquely organized using a question-and-answer approach, making it easy to find answers to common questions asked by practitioners and patients. Up-to-date, reader-friendly chapters explore interventions, assessment techniques, treatment modalities, recommendations and guidelines, communication techniques, and available resources for palliative care. Expanded discussions on hospice in every chapter, and a new emphasis on pediatrics, with increased material on pediatric malignancies, developmental delays, cystic fibrosis, and perinatal palliative care. New chapters on wellness of the palliative care practitioner, patients with opioid use disorders, telehealth in palliative care, health disparities, rural palliative care, caring for people with hematologic malignancies, integrative and alternative therapies, LGBTQ+ populations, mobile health technologies, and national palliative care implementation strategies. High-quality evidence gathered and reviewed by leading experts in palliative medicine, including clinicians, educators, and researchers across a broad range of disciplines. Numerous algorithms throughout help you make informed decisions, and "take-home" points in every chapter provide a quick summary of key content. Enhanced eBook version included with purchase. Your enhanced eBook allows you to access all of the text and figures from the book on a variety of devices.
Harrisons Manual of Oncology, 2d ed. by
A CONCISE YET THOROUGH OVERVIEW OF THE MEDICATIONS AND APPROACHES USED IN CANCER CARE--BACKED BY THE AUTHORITY OF HARRISON'S Harrison's Manual of Oncology is a carry-anywhere guide to the care of patients with cancer. Enhanced by the latest published results, this valuable clinical companion features numerous tables and succinct, outline-style text that puts important information at your fingertips. You will find content that goes beyond the treatment of primary or metastatic disease to encompass the treatment of all therapeutic complications. The opening sections of Harrison's Manual of Oncology are devoted to the classes of agents used to treat cancer and reviews their pharmacology and mechanisms of action. This section is followed by a detailed discussion of the diagnosis, staging, and treatment of all major types of cancer. There is a strong focus on symptom management and complications of treatment, including pain, nausea and vomiting, anemia, febrile neutropenia, metabolicemergencies, thrombosis, psychological issues, and end-of-life care.
ISBN: 9780071793254Publication Date: 2013-12-16
Hematology: A Pathophysiologic Approach, 2nd ed. by
This is a book that first and foremost approaches hematology from a pathophysiologic perspective, with mechanistic explanations of normal and abnormal function. Hematopoiesis, blood physiology, immunology, neoplasia, transplantation, and hemostasis are presented as interrelated subjects. Because the practice of hematology is highly dependent on a relatively large number of diagnostic laboratory tests, fairly detailed descriptions of blood counting, histopathology, immunohistochemistry, flow cytometry, cytogenetics, and coagulation testing are provided. Numerous color photomicrographs of both normal and abnormal histology are also provided in full color.
eBooks
Hematology in Clinical Practice, Fifth Edition by
The most practical and efficient guide to the diagnosis and management of blood disorders - now in full color 200 full-color illustrations! Hematology in Clinical Practice is a succinct, cutting-edge guide to the diagnosis and treatment of disorders of red blood cells, white blood cells, and hemostasis, and the use of blood components for transfusion. Each disease state is discussed in detail, incorporating the pathophysiology, clinical features, up-to-date laboratory testing, and current management strategies into a comprehensive and practical approach to hematologic disorders. Features: New full-color presentation includes over 200 superb illustrations and classic images of blood morphology, tissue pathology, and clinical findings New Case Histories introduce and continue through relevant chapters, highlighting critical clinical points for diagnosis and management New end-of-chapter Points to Remember encapsulate key clinical information New chapters include Anemia in the Elderly and expanded and updated coverage of Transplantation and treatment of hematologic malignancies Outstanding collection of tables, charts, and illustrations that translate basic science into valuable clinical context Strong focus on practical clinical management and supportive care Coverage of state-of-the-art drugs and chemotherapies and the latest advances in genetic testing and molecular pathways Conveniently organized into sections on Red Cells, White Cells, Hemostasis, and Transfusion Medicine
ISBN: 9780071626996Publication Date: 2010-08-16
The Link Between Obesity and Cancer by
The Link between Obesity and Cancer provides a comprehensive review on the relationship between obesity and cancer, presenting global perspectives on obesity and cancer incidence that are followed by in-depth discussions on cancers for which we have new evidence of a causal relationship with obesity. Readers will gain fundamental knowledge on which cancer types are related to obesity. In addition, this updated resource provides significant knowledge for clinicians on when to act, along with specific management guidelines for patients, as well as how to understand potential risk factors and how to directly or indirectly minimize these risks. The book also provides never-before-published scientific data for any researcher in the field, identifying molecular mechanisms and links behind the development of malignancy and promoting research in new and effective target pathways in developing therapeutic strategies.
ISBN: 9780323909655Publication Date: 2022-09-29
MD Anderson Manual of Psychosocial Oncology by
A practical and comprehensive guide to fostering behavioral and emotional health in cancer patients - from one of the world's leading cancer treatment centers 4 STAR DOODY'S REVIEW! "This is a very helpful guide for continuity of care in addressing these often silent issues with cancer patients. It also will assist in the often difficult conversations that need to take place with these patients, such as poor prognosis, failed treatment, or noncompliance."--Doody's Review Service Reflecting the collective expertise of more than forty contributors, most from the renowned MD Anderson Cancer Center, this manual addresses key psychological and behavioral issues that should be considered when treating cancer patients, including special populations such as children and the elderly. Coverage includes: Communicating with patients and family Distress and cancer Assessment and management of psychological symptoms, including mood disorders, anxiety, fatigue, substance abuse, and delirium Family and cultural issues, including spirituality and religion and supporting the caregiver Integrative medicine Physical medicine and rehabilitation Grief and end-of-life issues, including non-pharmacologic interventions and palliative medicine Healthcare professional wellbeing MD Anderson Manual of Psychosocial Oncology is designed to be a practical guide for clinicians and allied professionals in the day-to-day practice of psychosocial oncology, which is an essential component of the comprehensive care of cancer patients and their caregivers.
ISBN: 9780071624381Publication Date: 2010-12-14
Precision Medicine in Oncology by
A FRESH EXAMINATION OF PRECISION MEDICINE'S INCREASINGLY PROMINENT ROLE IN THE FIELD OF ONCOLOGY Precision medicine takes into account each patient's specific characteristics and requirements to arrive at treatment plans that are optimized towards the best possible outcome. As the field of oncology continues to advance, this tailored approach is becoming more and more prevalent, channelling data on genomics, proteomics, metabolomics and other areas into new and innovative methods of practice. Precision Medicine in Oncology draws together the essential research driving the field forward, providing oncology clinicians and trainees alike with an illuminating overview of the technology and thinking behind the breakthroughs currently being made. Topics covered include: Biologically-guided radiation therapy Informatics for precision medicine Molecular imaging Biomarkers for treatment assessment Big data Nanoplatforms Casting a spotlight on this emerging knowledge base and its impact upon the management of tumors, Precision Medicine in Oncology opens up new possibilities and ways of working - not only for oncologists, but also for molecular biologists, radiologists, medical geneticists, and others.
ISBN: 9781119432494Publication Date: 2020-08-11
Transfusion Medicine and Hemostasis, 3rd ed. by
Transfusion Medicine and Hemostasis: Clinical and Laboratory Aspects, Third Edition, is the only pocket-sized, quick reference for pathology and transfusion medicine residents and fellows. It covers all topics in transfusion medicine and clinical and laboratory-based coagulation. Chapters are organized by multiple hierarchical headings and are supplemented with up to 10 suggested reading citations. This single handbook covers all the topics required to meet the goals of a major program in transfusion medicine and clinical coagulation. Changes to this edition include the latest AABB standards and new chapters focused on a wider range of specific populations requiring blood and related products. Coverage includes essential updates on peripheral blood and bone marrow hematopoietic progenitor cells, as well as cord blood banking and regenerative medicine. The authors also examine advances in therapeutic apheresis and new cellular therapies.
Understanding End of Life Practices: Perspectives on Communication, Religion and Culture by
This book is an exploration of issues that are essential in end of life care. Understanding end of life practices across cultures and religions is important in the delivery of patient centered end of life care. This book helps clinicians and non-clinicians understand the various end of life practices in their vast patient populations, further contributing to providing empathetic and compassionate end of life care to patients. With the advent of many new options at the end of life, this book also explores the modern day approaches to end of life often sought by patients when faced with disease progression and adversity.
ISBN: 9783031299223Publication Date: 2023-10-19
Understanding the Principles and Practice of Legal Oncology by
This authoritative handbook provides the information and insight you need to avoid common medico-legal pitfalls Cancer care represents a significant portion of total U.S. health care spending. Mistakes come at great costs to the individual clinician and the entire healthcare system. One misstep can destroy an otherwise stellar medical career. Clinicians must be versed in the interface of law and medicine so that they can practice medicine more effectively and economically. Understanding the Principles and Practice of Legal Oncology delivers expert advice on how to avoid lawsuits while at the same time contributing to the reduction of healthcare costs and improving patient access. You'll learn how to steer clear of the most common legal hazards and mitigate any anxiety over the need to perform additional workups and documentations. Packed with clinical vignettes and relevant legal principles, this is an essential resource for physicians, surgeons, nurses, researchers, medical physicists, technicians, and those who are in the business of taking care of patients. Features Explores the legal ramifications of prescribing vs. not prescribing opioids in the current stricter regulation landscape Covers the ethical considerations of using artificial intelligence to manage cancer treatment Explains the legal implications of not ordering screening tests when patients request them Describes the goals of a peer review, which is not always in good faith Refines the process on how to give proper informed consent Clears up what to say or not to say in a deposition if a patient files a lawsuit Elucidates the liability of practicing medicine as an employee in a hospital setting Outlines how to use midlevel providers safely, and much more
ISBN: 9781260474077Publication Date: 2022-08-04
Williams Hematology Hemostasis and Thrombosis by
Hemostasis and Thrombosis as only Williams can cover it IN FULL COLOR! A Doody's Core Title for 2019! Featuring twenty-five clinically relevant chapters originally appearing in Williams Hematology, Ninth Edition - many carefully updated by the original authors to reflect the latest developments -- this concise, full-color resource delivers comprehensive and up-to-date coverage of hemostasis and thrombosis. The result of this unique compilation is a focused, timely resource that will be of particular value to advanced medical students who seeks a more detailed review of hematology than generally presented in second year medical school, medicine and pediatric residents, and hematology/oncology fellows faced with patients with bleeding and clotting disorders on a myriad of medications, and physicians of all levels of life-long learning who wish to remain current with anticoagulant and anti-platelet therapies.
ISBN: 9781260117080Publication Date: 2017-12-06
