eBooks
Abeloff's Clinical Oncology, 6th ed. by
Easily accessible and clinically focused, Abeloff's Clinical Oncology, 6th Edition, covers recent advances in our understanding of the pathophysiology of cancer, cellular and molecular causes of cancer initiation and progression, new and emerging therapies, current trials, and much more. Masterfully authored by an international team of leading cancer experts, it offers clear, practical coverage of everything from basic science to multidisciplinary collaboration on diagnosis, staging, treatment and follow up. Includes new chapters on Cancer Metabolism and Clinical Trial Designs in Oncology and a standalone chapter on lifestyles and cancer prevention. Features extensive updates including the latest clinical practice guidelines, decision-making algorithms, and clinical trial implications, as well as new content on precision medicine, genetics, and PET/CT imaging. Includes revised diagnostic and treatment protocols for medical management, surgical considerations, and radiation oncology therapies, stressing a multispecialty, integrated approach to care. Helps you find information quickly with updated indexing related to management recommendations, focused fact summaries, updated key points at the beginning of each chapter ideal for quick reference and board review, and algorithms for patient evaluation, diagnosis, and treatment options. Offers more patient care coverage in disease chapters, plus new information on cancer as a chronic illness and cancer survivorship. Discusses today's key topics such as immuno-oncology, functional imaging, precision medicine, the application of genetics in pathologic diagnosis and sub-categorization of tumors as well as the association of chronic infectious diseases such as HIV and cancer. Enhanced eBook version included with purchase. Your enhanced eBook allows you to access all of the text, figures, and references from the book on a variety of devices.
ISBN: 9780323476744Publication Date: 2019-03-26
Current Status of Prostate Cancer: Diagnosis, Biomarkers and Therapies by
Current Status of Prostate Cancer: Diagnosis, Biomarkers and Therapies, Volume 161 in the Advances in Cancer Research series, covers timely topics such as The Prostate Cancer Tissue N-glycome as a Source of Biomarkers, a Progression from Normal to Metastatic Disease, Multiplexed Targeted Proteomics for Prostate Cancer Biomarker Verification, MRI for the Detection of Clinically Significant Prostate Cancer: Update and Future Directions, Genetic and epigenetic factors for prostate cancer progression, Epigenetic regulation of androgen dependent and independent prostate cancer, Molecular Landscape of Prostate Cancer Bone Metastasis, Future of radioligand Therapy in PC, and more. Additional chapters of note include Advancements in Computer Vision and Pathology: Unraveling the Potential of Artificial Intelligence for Precision Diagnosis and Beyond and Extracellular Vesicles in Prostate Cancer.
ISBN: 9780443296284Publication Date: 2024-07-29
Onco-Nephrology by
Kidney disease and cancer are frequent comorbidities that require specialized knowledge and expertise from both the nephrologist and the oncologist. Written by three pioneers in this growing subspecialty, Onco-Nephrology provides authoritative, definitive coverage of the mechanism and management of these two life-threatening diseases. This unique, single-volume resource covers current protocols and recommends management therapies to arrest kidney failure and allow oncologic treatments to continue and succeed. Addresses acute and chronic kidney diseases that develop from a variety of cancers. This includes direct kidney injury from the malignancy, paraneoplastic effects of the cancer, and various cancer agents used to treat the malignancy. Discusses key issues regarding kidney disease in patients with cancer, including conventional chemotherapeutic regimens and new novel therapies (targeted agents and immunotherapies) or the malignancies themselves that may promote kidney injury; patients with chronic kidney disease who acquire cancer unrelated to renal failure; and kidney transplantation, which has been shown to carry an increased risk of cancer. Contains dedicated chapters for each class of the conventional chemotherapeutic agents, targeted cancer agents, and cancer immunotherapies including the basic science, pathogenic mechanisms of injury, clinical manifestations, and treatment. Includes special chapters devoted to the individual classes of chemotherapies that relate to kidney disease for quick reference. Discusses increasingly complex problems due to more numerous and specialized anti-cancer drugs, as well as increased survival rates for both cancer and renal failure requiring long-term patient care. Covers anti-VEGF (antivascular endothelial growth factor) agents and cancer immunotherapies - treatments that are being recognized for adverse kidney effects. Utilizes a clear, logical format based on the ASN Core Curriculum for Onco-Nephrology, making this reference an excellent tool for board review, as well as a practical resource in daily practice. Enhanced eBook version included with purchase. Your enhanced eBook allows you to access all of the text, figures, and references from the book on a variety of devices.
Prostate Cancer, 2nd ed. by
Prostate Cancer, Science and Clinical Practice, Second Edition, continues to be an important translational reference that bridges the gap between science and clinical medicine. It reviews the biological processes that can be implicated in the disease, reviews current treatments, highlights the pitfalls where relevant, and examines the scientific developments that might result in future treatments. Key chapters from the previous edition have been updated, and a plethora of new chapters describe new concepts of prostate cancer biology and newly developed therapeutics. Each chapter has been written by internationally recognized specialists on prostate cancer epidemiology, genetic susceptibility, cancer metastases, prostate physiology, proteomics, new therapeutics, and clinical trials.
Therapy Resistance in Prostate Cancer by
Therapy Resistance in Prostate Cancer: Mechanisms and Insights, Volume 20 highlights the main mechanisms that are responsible for therapy resistance in PCa allowing researchers and clinicians to have a synopsis of current options and therapies that can be proposed to overcome resistance. Understanding the mechanisms responsible for chemotherapy resistance helps researchers all over the world delve deeper into the pathways behind this resistance and potentially discover new therapeutic targets for PCa. Prostate cancer (PCa) is among the most diagnosed cancers in men worldwide, as well as one of the most common causes of cancer-related deaths. Despite the advances in treatment, the disease remains associated with poor survival and resistance to cytotoxic and targeted therapies.
ISBN: 9780443160325Publication Date: 2023-10-24
eBooks
Urinary Continence and Sexual Function after Robotic Prostatectomy, Radiation, and Novel Therapies, 2nd ed. by
This text focuses on the anatomical, physiological, pathological, and technical aspects of post robotic prostatectomy and post radiation urinary continence and erectile function. This edition has a wider focus than the previous, incorporating radiation, focal therapy, personalized medicine, and medical oncology. It serves as a one-stop shop of pearls on how to maximize functional outcomes in patients undergoing treatment for prostate cancer. This volume provides a comprehensive insight into the mechanisms responsible for maintaining urinary continence and erectile function and elucidates the key concepts and techniques utilized to achieve early return of urinary continence and erectile function after robotic radical prostatectomy and radiation. It includes a state-of-the art exhaustive review of tips and tricks utilized to achieve the trifecta of cancer control, urinary continence, and erectile function in different clinical scenarios like large prostates, post TURP, and in salvage settings. Authors discuss step-by-step surgical techniques with pre- and post-operative interventions that are known to improve urinary and sexual function. All chapters are written by world-renowned experts in their fields and include extensive illustrations and videos to make this the most interactive and visually appealing text available. Urinary Continence and Sexual Function After Robotic Prostatectomy, Radiation, and Novel Therapies will be an invaluable addition to every urologist's library.
ISBN: 9783031642449Publication Date: 2024-10-08
Urologic Oncology by
This comprehensive and timely textbook covers all aspects of the evidence-based management of genitourinary cancers and explains the fundamental principles underlying the available diagnostic and treatment approaches, including chemotherapy, radiotherapy, immunotherapy, and surgery. For each type of cancer - prostate, bladder, renal, testicular, and penile, plus rare urologic malignancies - clinical presentation, diagnosis, and treatment strategies are described in detail and information is provided on etiology, epidemiology, risk factors, and pathology, including TNM classification. Careful attention is also devoted to the complications that may be encountered when treating urologic malignancies and to the management of these complications. The text is complemented by the inclusion of numerous high-definition photographs and illustrations. Urologic Oncology will be a valuable reference and source of guidance for all oncologists, urologists and practitioners in related disciplines who treat patients with urologic cancers.
