eBooks
Blood and Marrow Transplant Handbook: Comprehensive Guide for Patient Care, 3rd ed. by
This updated and expanded edition developed by the Blood and Marrow Stem Cell Transplant team at Oregon Health & Science University Knight Cancer Institute features the latest medical management guidelines and standards of care for hematopoietic stem cell transplant and cellular therapy patients. Spanning the timeline from the initial consultation throughout the transplant process, this handbook begins by providing a general overview of stem cell transplantation and goes on to outline disease-specific indications for stem cell transplantation. It then focuses on transplant complications and ongoing care, and finally explores cellular therapies for hematologic malignancies.Comprehensive and easy-to-use, Blood and Marrow Transplant Handbook: Comprehensive Guide for Patient Care, Third Edition presents a multidisciplinary approach to information for physicians and advanced practice medical providers as well as residents, fellows, and other trainees who care for patients who undergo transplant and immune effector cell therapy.
ISBN: 9783030536268
Clinical Manual of Blood and Bone Marrow Transplantation by
Providing the practicing and trainee hematologist with a practical and immediately applicable compendium of answers the Clinical Manual of Blood and Bone Marrow Transplantation covers the spectrum of the hematopoietic cell transplant specialty, in particular practical issues in transplant patient care, and the set up and functioning of a transplant program. Supplies the practicing and trainee hematologist with a practical and immediately applicable compendium of answers to clinical questions Covers the spectrum of the hematopoietic cell transplant specialty, in particular practical issues in transplant patient care, and the set up and functioning of a transplant program Contains concise chapters written with a focus on tables, algorithms and figures to aid rapid referral Benefits from expert contributions from an international authorship
ISBN: 9781119095453Publication Date: 2017-06-12
Comprehensive Hematology and Stem Cell Research by
Comprehensive Hematology and Stem Cell Research is the first major reference to cover both stem cell research and therapy as well as the range of hematological disorders they are currently used to treat and may potentially be able to treat in the future. This five volume set includes fundamentals, such as the underlying mechanisms of the blood and immune system, highlighting blood disorders and cancers of the blood, including lymphoma, leukemia, and myeloma. Other sections cover stem cell research and therapy, from harvesting stem cells to their utilization in cancer treatments.Finally, the work looks to the future and explores newer stem cell research that may lead to future treatments. This book is an excellent resource for students at the graduate and post-graduate levels, academics, and researchers in the fields hematology, immunology and oncology.- Compiles foundational knowledge and breakthrough research into one concise, comprehensive reference- Takes a translational, bench-to-bedside approach to hematological disorders and stem cell therapies- Covers clinical applications of stem cells, advances in the field, and promising new research
ISBN: 9780443157189Publication Date: 2024-08-14Handbook of Stem Cell Transplantation and Cellular Therapy Management by Handbook of Stem Cell Transplantation and Cellular Therapy Management provides an evidence-based practical guide for clinicians and practitioners who treat cancer patients with these challenging and innovative techniques. The handbook begins with chapters on autologous transplantation for myeloma and lymphoma and allogenic transplantation for leukemia, lymphoma, and myelodysplastic syndrome. Further chapters cover the standards of care for managing adverse events related to acute graft-versus-host disease, chronic graft-versus-host disease, infections of bacterial, fungal, and viral nature, lymphoproliferative disease, pulmonary complications, renal complications, and more clinical issues. Concluding chapters address new CAR T-cell therapies, including their mechanisms of action, indications, and unique associated toxicities, in addition to a chapter dedicated to biostatistics and clinical trials. Throughout the book, extensive tables, flow diagrams, and other figures highlight, simplify, and illustrate key concepts.Written by experienced clinicians at the world-renowned Dana Farber Cancer Center and Harvard Medical School in Boston as well as leading experts at other institutions, this stem cell transplantation handbook combines the clinical knowledge, expertise and practical application of these potential life-saving cell therapies in one quick, point-of-care reference. With real-world clinical vignettes interwoven among the chapters, this handbook is an essential resource for anyone managing patients being treated with stem cell transplantation or cellular therapies.Key Features:Provides latest insights and recommendations for managing challenging treatment complications and adverse eventsConsolidates key information such as diagnosis criteria, disease staging, common complications, and more using detailed tables and diagramsShares real-world clinical vignette examples, which provide insight into clinical assessment, treatment, and management Emphasizes patient management and best practices Discusses short- and long-term risks for stem cell transplantation and cellular therapy
ISBN: 9780826139948
Hematopoietic Cell Transplantation for Malignant Conditions by
Get a quick, expert overview of hematologic and non-hematologic malignancies for which hematopoietic cell transplantation is a treatment option. Drs. Qaiser Bashir and Mehdi Hamadani provide easy-to-find information on basic science of hematopoietic cell transplantation, pharmacology, workflows and procedures, possible complications and side effects, in addition to the role of HCT in conjunction with clinical cellular therapy. Discusses high-dose chemotherapeutic regimens and radiation therapy, patient and donor selection and workup, as well as other key aspects of hematopoietic cell transplantation. Includes practical information on complications, infectious disease, and special populations such as patients with HIV infection. Consolidates today's available information in this fast-changing area into one convenient resource.
ISBN: 9780323568029Publication Date: 2019-02-14
Hematopoietic Stem Cell Transplantation and Cellular Therapies for Autoimmune Diseases by
This book summarizes the global progress in medical and scientific research toward converting traditionally chronic autoimmune diseases into a drug-free reversible illness using hematopoietic stem cell transplantation (HSCT) and other cellular therapies such as T regulatory cells (Treg), mesenchymal stromal/stem cells, and chimeric antigen receptor T (CAR T) cells in order to reintroduce sustained immune tolerance. This title provides information on different types of stem cells and immune cells; post-transplant immune regeneration; cellular regulatory requirements; ethical and economic considerations; and the advantages and disadvantages of HSCT in the treatment of a variety of autoimmune diseases versus current conventional treatments. Arranged by disease, the text provides a comprehensive guide to HSCT for all types of autoimmune/immune disorders including monogenetic autoimmune diseases; autoimmune aplastic anemia; neurologic immune diseases including multiple sclerosis, chronic inflammatory demyelinating polyneuropathy, neuromyelitis optica, and stiff person syndrome; rheumatologic diseases such as systemic sclerosis and systemic lupus erythematosus; dermatologic diseases such as pemphigus; gastrointestinal disorders such as Crohn's disease and celiac disease; and immune-mediated endocrinologic disease type I diabetes mellitus. Guidance is provided on the transplantation technique, cell collection and processing, conditioning regimens, infections, and early and late complications. Key Features Outlines therapies and techniques for HSCT for autoimmune diseases Discusses the advantages of HSCT over conventional therapies Reviews the entire process of stem cell therapy from harvest and ethics to indications, efficacy, and regulatory oversight
Publication Date: 2021-11-17
Manual of Hematopoietic Cell Transplantation and Cellular Therapies by
Led by authors from MD Anderson's Stem Cell Transplantation and Cellular Therapy Department, the world's largest and highly respected program at the forefront of rapidly advancing treatments in the field, Manual of Hematopoietic Cell Transplantation and Cellular Therapies is a comprehensive, focused reference covering the latest clinical developments and applications of stem cell transplant and cellular therapies for hematologic malignancies and solid tumors. This cutting-edge title, with a majority contribution from the MD Anderson Cancer Center and leading faculty from other academic institutions, covers breakthrough cell-based therapies for various diseases including lymphoma, multiple myeloma, leukemia, and select solid tumor and autoimmune diseases. This unique, definitive resource is essential for hematologists, fellows in hematology and immunotherapy, mid-level providers, pharmacists, and oncologists who refer patients for cell-based therapies. Addresses hematologic conditions including leukemia, lymphoma, and myeloma. Offers guidance on hematopoietic cell transplantation for solid tumors. Covers basic science principles, clinical aspects, pharmacology, radiation therapy, and disease-specific guidelines, including prevention and management of complications. Discusses key topics such as hematopoietic cell collection, bone marrow harvesting, umbilical cord blood transplantation, CAR T-cell therapy, and patient/donor selection and preparation of HCT. Features extensive summary boxes, bulleted content, and algorithms throughout for quick and easy reference. Offers team-based, clinically-focused coverage from world-renowned leaders in the field. An eBook version is included with purchase. The eBook allows you to access all of the text, figures and references, with the ability to search, customize your content, make notes and highlights, and have content read aloud.
eBooks
Pathophysiology of Blood Disorders, Second Edition by
A concise full-color review of the mechanisms of blood diseases and disorders - based on a Harvard Medical School hematology course Lange Pathophysiology of Blood Disorders, Second Editionis a well-illustrated, easy-to-absorb introduction to the physiological principles underlying the regulation and function of blood cells and hemostasis, as well as the pathophysiologic mechanisms responsible for the development of blood disorders. Featuring a strong emphasis on key principles, the book covers diagnosis and management primarily within a framework of pathogenesis. Authored by world-renowned clinician/educators at Harvard Medical School and presented in full-color this concise, engagingly written monograph features content and organization based on a hematology course offered to second year students at that school. Succinct, to-the-point coverage that reflects current medical education More than 200 full-color photographs and renderings of disease mechanisms and blood diseases Each chapter includes learning objectives and self-assessment questions Numerous tables and diagrams encapsulate important information
Pediatric Liver Transplantation by
Written and edited by global leaders in the field, Pediatric Liver Transplantation: A Clinical Guide covers all aspects of treatment and management regarding this multifaceted procedure and unique patient population. This practical reference offers detailed, focused guidance in a highly templated, easy-to-consult format, covering everything from pre-transplantation preparation to surgical techniques to post-operative complications. Provides an in-depth understanding of all aspects of pediatric liver transplantation, ideal for pediatric hepatologists, pediatric transplant surgeons, and others on the pediatric transplant team. Covers all surgical techniques in detail, including split graft, living related, auxiliary, and domino. Discusses pediatric liver transplantation consideration for an increasing number of additional metabolic, hematologic and renal conditions; breakthroughs in grafting and stem cell therapy; and techniques and present role of hepatocyte transplantation. Uses a quick-reference templated format; each chapter includes an overview, pathophysiology, conventional management, controversies, and bulleted summary of key take-aways. Includes state-of-the-art mini-reviews based on updated references and author experience throughout the text. Features a full-color design with numerous algorithms, figures, and radiological and histopathological photos. Enhanced eBook version included with purchase. Your enhanced eBook allows you to access all of the text, figures, and references from the book on a variety of devices.
Pediatric Transplant and Oncology Infectious Diseases by
As the number and types of pediatric transplants increase and the complexity of chemotherapy regimens continues to evolve, there is a greater need for authoritative guidance, clinically actionable strategies, and easy-to-find information in the challenging area of immunocompromised pediatric patients. Pediatric Transplant and Oncology Infectious Diseases offers up-to-date, targeted coverage of this complex field, compiled by world-renowned editors and authors into one convenient volume. Covers the must-know principles for diagnosing and managing opportunistic infections in immunocompromised populations and detailed aspects of their care - information not specifically covered in pediatric infectious disease textbooks or pediatric oncology books. Features algorithms in every chapter that provide visual, accessible overviews of treatment protocols. Discusses key topics such as microbiome implications in transplantation and oncology, antimicrobial resistant Gram-negative bacteria, EBV-associated post-transplant lymphoproliferative disorders, and many others. Offers well-referenced, evidence-based content throughout, with targeted suggested readings provided. Enhanced eBook version included with purchase. Your enhanced eBook allows you to access all of the text, figures, and references from the book on a variety of devices.
Post-Transplant Lymphoproliferative Disorders, 2nd Edition by
This disorder transcends multiple disciplines and demands a team approach to improve knowledge and treatment. The highly experienced internationally recognized authors have updated every section and added many new chapters, including some on genetic abnormalities in virus and host seen in PTLDs. In this successor edition, there is a completely new section on PTLDs after hematopoietic stem cell transplantation. The newest PTLD classifications and current treatment paradigms that reflect recently conducted international trials are fully incorporated. As technologies have advanced, this book provided state-of-the-art new diagnostic and prognostic information.Post-Transplant Lymphoproliferative Disorders 2nd Edition is designed to be a valuable reference for oncologists and all transplant professionals, such as surgeons, nephrologists, cardiologists, hepatologists/gastroenterologists, pulmonologists, infectious disease specialists, pathologists, as well as interns and residents in training in these specialists. It provides these professionals with comprehensive and up-to-date information that guides their management of transplant patients before and after transplant, with and without PTLD.
ISBN: 9783030654030
Rossi's Principles of Transfusion Medicine, 7th ed. by
ROSSI'S PRINCIPLES OF TRANSFUSION MEDICINE Transfusion Medicine impacts patients with hematologic, oncologic, and surgical conditions as well as all areas of critical care medicine and multiple areas of chronic care. This book aims to be the single best source for information related to any aspect or application of Transfusion Medicine. Contributors for the sixth edition have once again been drawn from various scientific, medical, and surgical disciplines. Thus, this book ranges from encouraging and managing donors, to collecting and preserving the blood, to matching it to the appropriate recipient, all the way to its clinical uses. It also extends these concepts to implantable tissue and regenerative medicine. Other sample topics covered within the work include: Contemporary issues in donation and transfusion: patient blood management, clinical and technical aspects of blood administration, and donor and patient Hemovigilance Blood components and derivatives: red blood cell metabolism, preservation and oxygen delivery, blood groups, and composition of plasma Apheresis, transplantation, and new therapies: hematopoietic growth factors, therapeutic phlebotomy and cellular apheresis, HLA antigens, alleles, and antibodies How Transfusion Medicine has been affected by the coronavirus pandemic, the role of pathogen reduction and other modern trends This book serves as a complete and comprehensive resource on Transfusion Medicine for clinicians who prescribe blood, students who expect to enter clinical practice, and for the scientists, physicians, nurses, technologists, and others who assure the quality and availability of blood services.
Stem Cell Therapy by
Stem cell therapy is a fast-growing field of medicine with remarkable prospects in a broad spectrum of diseases. Stem Cell Therapy: Practical Considerations addresses the biological properties of stem cells, mechanisms of action; as well as actual therapeutic decisions such as cell type, source, dose, manipulation, and route of injection. After discussing all this data, the book will illustrate how to travel through the idea from abstract question to laboratory experiment, animal experiment and then on to design a clinical trial throughout all its phases. Written for scientists and postgraduate students in the field of stem cell research and therapy. The authors will cover practical therapeutic issues they have long experienced in the field. Provides readers the basics and clinical practice of stem cell therapy Helps to debunk controversies regarding data fabrication in the field Guides the reader through the mechanisms of the regenerative function of stem cells; as well as the therapeutic decisions such as delivery route, delivery timing, cell doses, and follow-up
ISBN: 9780128215708Publication Date: 2022-11-13
