eBooks
Advanced Craniomaxillofacial Surgery: Tumor, Corrective Bone Surgery and Trauma by
Featuring more than 1,300 expertly drawn illustrations and images, the Advanced Craniomaxillofacial Surgery book is the comprehensive, highly anticipated follow-up to the original work on Principles of Internal Fixation of the Craniomaxillofacial Skeleton that was published in 2012. With detailed contributions from more than 80 renowned international authors, Advanced Craniomaxillofacial Surgery significantly builds on the solid foundation laid by the previous textbook. The new book comprises sophisticated techniques in skeletal and soft-tissue analysis for the disciplines of craniomaxillofacial, trauma, tumor, orthognathic surgery, as well as facial and esthetic surgery. The focused expertise of seven disciplines is synthesized together to offer comprehensive and unique interdisciplinary perspectives, necessary to create the "team" approach fundamental to achieving the progress required and expected in high-level medical centers: oral and maxillofacial surgery, plastic and reconstructive surgery, otolaryngology, neurosurgery, ophthalmology, oculoplastic surgery, and head and neck surgery. Nowhere else has there been such a thorough and comprehensive multispecialty approach presented in the head and neck region. The advent of microvascular surgery, skeletal analysis, computerized surgical planning, personalized implant creation, and comprehensive radiographic analysis have given rise to new principles, techniques and possibilities, which are explored extensively in this new textbook. Advanced Craniomaxillofacial Surgery should be part of every surgeon's library.
AOSpine Masters Series, Volume 1: Metastatic Spinal Tumors by
A focused guide from the world's experts on metastatic spine tumors" This first volume in the AOSpine Masters Series integrates the expertise of oncologists and radiology interventionalists with that of master spine surgeons, all of whom are actively involved in the care of patients with metastatic spine tumors. The book provides expert guidance to help clinicians make the right treatment decisions and provide the best care for their patients. Chapter topics range from evaluation and decision-making principles to a spectrum of non-operative and operative treatment options that have been rapidly evolving over the past decade. Key Features: Editors are internationally-recognized authorities on metastatic spine tumors Includes contributions from key opinion leaders working in spine oncology Synthesizes the best available evidence and consensus expert advice on metastatic spine tumors, leading to optimal clinical recommendations Each chapter includes clinical pearls, tips on complication avoidance, and "top 5 must-read references" The AOSpine Masters Series, a co-publication of Thieme and the AOSpine Foundation, addresses current clinical issues whereby international masters of spine share their expertise and recommendations on a particular topic. The goal of the series is to contribute to an evolving, dynamic model of an evidence-based medicine approach to spine care. All neurosurgeons, orthopedic surgeons, neuro-oncologists, and orthopedic oncologists specializing in spine, along with residents and fellows in these areas, will find this book to be an excellent guide that they will consult often in their treatment of patients with metastatic spine tumors.
ISBN: 9781626230484Publication Date: 2014-01-01
AOSpine Masters Series, Volume 2: Primary Spinal Tumors by
An evidence-based guide to managing primary tumors of the spine" This second volume in the AOSpine Masters Series balances critical appraisal of current evidence in spine oncology with the opinions of experienced spine surgeons to create a unique clinical reference for spine oncology surgeons. The book provides expert guidance to help clinicians make the right treatment decisions and provide the best care for their patients. The chapters have been written and researched by key leaders in spine oncology and range from general evaluation, staging, and decision making principles to histology-specific oncologic patient management. Key Features: Editors are internationally-recognized authorities on the treatment of primary spine tumors Synthesizes the best available evidence and consensus expert advice on primary spine tumors, leading to optimal clinical recommendations Each chapter includes clinical pearls, tips on complication avoidance, and "top 5 must-read references" The AOSpine Masters Series, a co-publication of Thieme and the AOSpine Foundation, addresses current clinical issues whereby international masters of spine share their expertise and recommendations on a particular topic. The goal of the series is to contribute to an evolving, dynamic model of an evidence-based medicine approach to spine care. All neurosurgeons, orthopedic surgeons, neuro-oncologists, and orthopedic oncologists specializing in spine, along with residents and fellows in these areas, will find this book to be an excellent resource that they will often refer to in their treatment of patients with primary tumors of the spine.
ISBN: 9781626230491Publication Date: 2014-01-01
Bone Cancer: Bone Sarcomas and Bone Metastases - From Bench to Bedside, 3rd ed. by
Bone Cancer: Bone Sarcomas and Bone Metastases - From Bench to Bedside, Third Edition comprehensively investigates key discoveries in the field of bone biology. New aspects of bone cancer biology are treated in new chapters covering exosomes, autophagy, and metabolism. These have led to the development of entirely new areas for investigation, such as therapies which combine surgery and biological approaches. The Third Edition expands on the original overview of bone cancer development (physiology and pathophysiology), with 40% new material. Each chapter has been written by internationally recognized specialists on the bone cancer microenvironment, bone metastases, osteoclast biology in bone cancer, proteomics, bone niche, circulating tumor cells, and clinical trials. Given the global prevalence of breast and prostate cancers, knowledge of bone biology has become essential for everyone within the medical and cancer research communities. Bone Cancer: Bone Sarcomas and Bone Metastases - From Bench to Bedside continues to offer the only translational reference to cover all aspects of primary bone cancer and bone metastases. This revision opens the door to myeloma with two short chapters dedicated to this bone-associated disease.
Publication Date: 2021-09-22
Chordomas and Chondrosarcomas of the Skull Base and Spine, 2d ed. by
Chordomas and Chondrosarcomas of the Skull Base and Spine, Second Edition, is a major reference and guide for neurosurgeons, medical oncologists, neuroscientists, orthopedic surgeons, head and neck surgeons and radiation oncologists that treat patients and research chordomas and chondrosarcomas of the axial skeleton. This book is the unique result of the collaboration of multidisciplinary specialists from a wide variety of fields (neurological sciences, medical oncology, molecular biology, orthopedics and radiation oncology), offering the most relevant information about chordomas and chondrosarcomas of the axial skeleton from each of these fields condensed into one single volume. It contains new medical knowledge and scientific advances regarding the treatment of these types of tumors. Additionally, the book includes chapters written by the Chordoma Foundation and Sarcoma Foundation of America, providing the most valuable information and support for patients and their relatives.
eBooks
Diagnostic Pathology: Blood and Bone Marrow, 3rd ed. by
This expert volume in the Diagnostic Pathology series is an excellent point-of-care resource for practitioners at all levels of experience and training. Covering the full range of nonneoplastic and neoplastic conditions of blood and bone marrow, it incorporates the most recent scientific and technical knowledge in the field to provide a comprehensive overview of all key issues relevant to today's practice. Richly illustrated and easy to use, the third edition of Diagnostic Pathology: Blood and Bone Marrow is a visually stunning, one-stop resource for every practicing pathologist, hematopathologist, oncologist, hematologist, resident, student, or fellow as an ideal day-to-day reference or as a reliable training resource. Provides practicing pathologists with key details about new entities, newly recognized causes of morphologic change in blood and bone marrow abnormalities, and new strategies for appropriate workup of neoplastic processes--all with a focus on key tests and key differential diagnostic considerations Helps pathologists recognize unique blood and bone marrow findings that can be an indicator for specific exposures, such as new medications, new targeted therapies, or toxins Integrates updated technologies, newly recognized disorders, complications/features in blood and bone marrow, new targeted therapies, and the increased use of homeopathic remedies Contains new chapters covering SARS-CoV-2 infection features in blood and bone marrow, myelodysplastic syndrome (MDS) mimics, blood and bone marrow findings linked to targeted therapies, blood and bone marrow findings linked to other medications, and more Updates all existing chapters and contains expanded information on T-cell neoplasms in blood and bone marrow and intravascular large B-cell lymphoma in blood and bone marrow Includes details from the World Health Organization (WHO) fifth edition Classification of Haematolymphoid Tumours and the very latest 2023 International Consensus Classification (ICC) publications, reflecting new and renamed diagnostic entities, tumor classification changes and updates, and terminology changes and updates Discusses molecular testing strategies based on specific neoplasms and specific differential diagnostic consideration Clearly delineates numerous genetic disorders often found in blood and bone marrow Features more than 2,500 superb images, including histology and gross pathology photographs, full-color illustrations and graphics, clinical photographs and radiologic images, and many new tables and charts/algorithms Employs consistently templated chapters, bulleted content, key facts, a variety of tables, annotated images, pertinent references, and an extensive index for quick, expert reference at the point of care Includes the enhanced eBook version, which allows you to search all text, figures, and references on a variety of devices
ISBN: 9780323879071
Dorfman and Czerniak's Bone Tumors, 2d ed. by
The second edition of Dorfman and Czerniak's Bone Tumors brings together the latest data available on bone tumor pathology, making it the most comprehensive and encyclopedic reference on the epidemiology, clinical, pathologic, and molecular aspects of bone tumors. Now offered in full color and featuring updated imaging throughout, this one-of-a-kind resource provides a highly visual review of every disorder - from the common to the rare. Features comprehensive coverage of bone tumor pathology based on pathologic and clinical data on 11,500 benign and malignant bone tumors from patients treated at the MD Anderson Cancer Center. High-quality full-color images located throughout the text. Completely up-to-date molecular and genetic information is based on the most current genomic databases. Expert Consult eBook version included with purchase. This enhanced eBook experience allows you to search all of the text, figures, and images from the book on a variety of devices. Four brand-new chapters cover Radiographic Imaging of Bone Tumors; Hematopoetic Tumors; Neural Tumors; and Metastic Tumors of Bone. Includes information on molecular and genetic aspects of bone tumors from the UCSC Genome Browser, the Catalog of Somatic Mutations in Cancer, and the GeneCards Database of human genes. Features comprehensive data from nearly 30,000 benign and malignant primary bone tumors and tumor-like lesions from different sources, including over 8,400 malignant bone tumors from the National Cancer Institute's Surveillance, Epidemiology and End Result project. Provides an enhanced visual understanding with updated radiographic imaging and new full-color, high-quality photomicrographs. Updated Molecular and Epidemiologic diagrams added to all new chapters.
ISBN: 9780323023962Publication Date: 2015-10-14
Enzinger and Weiss's Soft Tissue Tumors by
Since its first publication more than 35 years ago, Enzinger and Weiss's Soft Tissue Tumors has established itself as the most comprehensive and authoritative reference available on soft tissue pathology. The 7th Edition from Drs. John R. Goldblum, Andrew L. Folpe, and Sharon W. Weiss, continues this tradition with detailed, well-written, logically organized coverage of the full spectrum of these often difficult and challenging tumors. It offers clear guidance to practicing and trainee pathologists on diagnosis of tumors by microscopy, immunohistochemistry, and molecular genetics, as well as a significant amount of clinically significant information of interest to the clinicians who most frequently see these diseases - dermatologists, orthopaedists, and oncologists. Offers practical information on differential diagnosis of tumors of the skeletal muscles, connective tissue, fat, and related structures, helping you accurately diagnose and confidently sign out pathology reports on even the most challenging cases. Provides unsurpassed scope and depth in this complex area with microscopic findings correlated with the latest developments in molecular biology, cytogenetics, and immunohistochemistry, for a comprehensive and integrated approach to evaluation and diagnosis. Incorporates new knowledge on recently identified entities, next-generation sequencing (NGS), molecular diagnostic techniques, and immunohistochemical and genetic features of soft tissue tumors, providing up-to-date diagnostic and prognostic information that will inform day-to-day therapeutic decisions. Features nearly 2,000 high-quality images that clearly capture the clinical, macroscopic and microscopic features of benign and malignant conditions, helping you relate these characteristics to their specific classifications. Utilizes a logical, well-structured format including summary outlines at the beginning of each chapter, a color-coded page design, and a consistent approach to every entity, enabling you to navigate the text quickly, improve turnaround time when diagnosing a specimen, and clearly report on the prognosis and therapeutic management options. Includes abundant algorithms, tables, and graphs to facilitate rapid decision making. Enhanced eBook version included with purchase, which allows you to access all of the text, figures, and references from the book on a variety of devices
Metastatic Bone Disease: An Integrated Approach to Patient Care, 2d ed. by
Skeletally related events make up approximately 20% of the cancer care economy. Advances in understanding the pathobiology and better biotargeted therapy and improved surgical technology are occurring continuously. Hundreds of thousands of patients are living longer with ever-increasing tumor burden, but patients can remain siloed in their care as they navigate across subspecialty treatments. This comprehensive text ties it all together around the patient, integrating all aspects of care. Providing an integrated approach to the diagnosis and management of patients with metastatic bone disease (MBD), this revised and expanded text combines discussion of the pathobiology of the disease with the latest oncological and orthopedic treatment modalities. After opening with an examination of the epidemiology and impact of MBD, the biology of bone metastases are discussed, along with considerations of the tissue of origin, evaluation, biopsy andmedical therapy, including metabolic agents and biotargeting. The heart of the book presents oncological approaches (supportive, radiation and interventional) and principles of orthopedic surgical oncology, with subsequent chapters covering specific anatomy, from the pelvis to the lower extremity and the spine. Chapters on emerging surgical technology and future directions conclude the text. New to this edition are considerations around patient-reported outcomes. Utilizing the latest clinical evidence and treatment techniques, Metastatic Bone Disease, Second Edition is standalone resource reflecting a comprehensive, patient-centric resource for all types of providers.
ISBN: 9783031520013
Orthopedic Surgical Oncology for Bone Tumors: a Case Study Atlas by
This atlas presents a collection of richly illustrated teaching cases. It covers the fundamentals of orthopedic oncology complemented with relevant aspects that are demonstrated using individual cases. In a specialty that deals with a relatively smaller number of cases compared to tumors of other systems, this atlas prepares readers for clinical practice by combining a problem-based learning (PBL) approach, which lies on the continuum between structured and guided learning, with theory and practical insights. The book is divided into sections, arranged according to anatomical regions and the reconstruction type. Each section focuses on a specific anatomical region, and each case presentation includes the basic clinical history, basic principles, preoperative, perioperative and radiographic images, a pitfall list, treatment strategy, technical pearls, outcomes and complications. For each region the authors discuss both the biological and non-biological reconstruction techniques. The book is designed to actively involve the reader, making it an invaluable tool for all orthopedic surgeons confronted with oncologic surgery. The book is intended for trainees in orthopedics, orthopedic oncology fellows as well as practicing consultants.
ISBN: 9783030733278
