eBooks
Advanced Craniomaxillofacial Surgery: Tumor, Corrective Bone Surgery and Trauma by
Featuring more than 1,300 expertly drawn illustrations and images, the Advanced Craniomaxillofacial Surgery book is the comprehensive, highly anticipated follow-up to the original work on Principles of Internal Fixation of the Craniomaxillofacial Skeleton that was published in 2012. With detailed contributions from more than 80 renowned international authors, Advanced Craniomaxillofacial Surgery significantly builds on the solid foundation laid by the previous textbook. The new book comprises sophisticated techniques in skeletal and soft-tissue analysis for the disciplines of craniomaxillofacial, trauma, tumor, orthognathic surgery, as well as facial and esthetic surgery. The focused expertise of seven disciplines is synthesized together to offer comprehensive and unique interdisciplinary perspectives, necessary to create the "team" approach fundamental to achieving the progress required and expected in high-level medical centers: oral and maxillofacial surgery, plastic and reconstructive surgery, otolaryngology, neurosurgery, ophthalmology, oculoplastic surgery, and head and neck surgery. Nowhere else has there been such a thorough and comprehensive multispecialty approach presented in the head and neck region. The advent of microvascular surgery, skeletal analysis, computerized surgical planning, personalized implant creation, and comprehensive radiographic analysis have given rise to new principles, techniques and possibilities, which are explored extensively in this new textbook. Advanced Craniomaxillofacial Surgery should be part of every surgeon's library.
Atlas of Salivary Gland Pathology by
Surgical pathologists play a central role in patient surveillance and treatment by surgeons, radiation oncologists, and medical oncologists. Although salivary gland tumors are uncommon overall, their histopathologic diversity and challenge command the attention of practicing surgical pathologists. Atlas of Salivary Gland Pathology focuses on the diagnostic approach to salivary gland neoplasia--one of the more challenging fields within surgical pathology--emphasizing the need to understand downstream implications with respect to patient surveillance and treatment. The presence of formidable histologic mimicry in salivary gland neoplasia is well-documented in the pathology literature and has also been observed in the consultation practice of the volume editor. This textbook is designed with the needs of practicing surgical pathologists and pathologists-in-training in mind, providing a comprehensive overview of both common and rare salivary gland neoplasms.The primary educational objectives for readers include the following:1) distinguish benign from low-grade malignant salivary gland neoplasms, 2) effectively use histochemical, immunohistochemical, and cytogenetic studies in challenging cases, 3) understand which diagnoses merit additional surgery and/or adjuvant therapy (radiation, chemotherapy), and 4) enhance pathologist-to-clinician communication in the setting of salivary gland disease.
Diagnostic, Prognostic, and Therapeutic Role of MicroRNAs in Head and Neck Cancer by
Diagnostic, Prognostic and Therapeutic Role of MicroRNAs in Head and Neck Cancer provides detailed information on various miRNA-based approaches for the diagnosis, prognosis, and treatment of HNSCC. The book encompasses various miRNA-based point-of-care diagnostics and drug delivery systems for HNSCC, along with information on clinical trials for improved clinical outcomes in HNSCC patients. In addition, it provides a comprehensive overview of currently available miRNAs associated with HNSCC and their extensive application for early diagnosis, prognosis, and treatment. Scientists and clinicians looking to win the battle against HNSCC will benefit from the book's sections on early diagnosis to improve treatment, increase treatment response rates, and reduce mortality rates. Recently, miRNA-based diagnostics and therapeutics have gained considerable attention among the scientific community. MiRNAs are known to have great potential as biomarkers for early diagnosis, prediction, and prognosis of HNSCC, and play a role in development of targeted gene therapy.
ISBN: 9780443159688Publication Date: 2024-07-30
An Evidence-Based Approach to the Management of Nasopharyngeal Cancer by
An Evidence-Based Approach to the Management of Nasopharyngeal Cancer: From Basic Science to Clinical Presentation and Treatment provides a comprehensive overview with updated management procedures for nasopharyngeal carcinoma. Written by experts on the subject, it is organized in a simple yet comprehensive manner to aid in the understanding of this complex condition. The book discusses several topics related to NPC, including epidemiology, pathophysiology, risk factors and treatment (surgical and non-surgical). Additionally, it discusses key features of clinical presentation of NPC, recent advances and promising new therapies. This will be a valuable source for clinicians, graduate students, oncologists and several members of the biomedical field who are interested in understanding nasopharyngeal cancer in a practical and applicable way.
ISBN: 9780128144039Publication Date: 2020-05-22
Head and Neck Cancer Rehabilitation by
Edited by cancer rehabilitation specialist Dr. Adrian Cristian, Head and Neck Cancer Rehabilitation provides clinicians with a concise and accessible resource covering the holistic rehabilitation of head and neck cancer patients. This book begins with the epidemiology, genetics and pathophysiology of cancer in this region and moves into clinical assessment and treatment options before providing comprehensive coverage of rehabilitation. Featuring practical information, best practices, and the latest advances and research, this book provides a valuable reference for physical medicine and rehabilitation physicians and residents, as well as occupational therapists, physical therapists, and ENT specialists.
ISBN: 9780443118067
Improving the Therapeutic Ratio in Head and Neck Cancer by
Improving the Therapeutic Ratio in Head and Neck Cancer provides a complete review of current approaches to modulating therapeutic sensitivity in head and neck cancer. It presents a broad background of current approaches and by highlighting the potential for clinical translational, introduces a roadmap for how to move promising preclinical findings into the clinic. The book discusses topics such as immunotherapy and molecularly targeted therapies in head and neck cancer, PI3k/mTOR pathway, autophagy inhibition to sensitize HNC to radiation and chemotherapy, TAM and Eph/Ephrin family proteins and metabolic reprogramming to modulate therapeutic sensitivity. Additionally, it details approaches to improve the response to immunotherapy, and Chk1/2 inhibition in radiation and cetuximab resistance. This book is a valuable source to head and neck cancer researchers and advanced students, and to those studying specific approaches in other model systems and disease sites.
ISBN: 9780128178683Publication Date: 2019-10-05
Jatin Shah's Head and Neck Surgery and Oncology, 5th ed. by
Providing practical, multidisciplinary coverage of the latest diagnostic and multidisciplinary therapeutic approaches for head and neck cancer, the 5th Edition of this award-winning text helps you achieve the best possible surgical outcomes and preserve and restore form and function. Internationally renowned surgeon Dr. Jatin P. Shah, joined by colleagues Snehal G. Patel, Bhuvanesh Singh, and Richard Wong, guides you step by step through every aspect of this challenging field, helping you take advantage of every multidisciplinary management approach available for your patients. Offers complete coverage of the scalp, skull base, paranasal sinuses, oral cavity, pharynx, larynx, cervical lymph nodes, thyroid, salivary glands, and soft tissue and bone tumors - from incidence, diagnosis, and work up through treatment planning, operative techniques, rehabilitation, and outcomes. Features new diagnostic approaches, staging, algorithmic thought processes for therapy selection, and outcomes of treatment for head and neck tumors, allowing for a better overall understanding of head and neck oncology. Includes new information on multimodal management of head and neck cancer; a new Radiation Therapy Glossary; and hundreds of new surgical photographs presented in sequential order from the surgeon's point of view. Provides outcomes of therapy data from the NCDB, institutional data from MSKCC, and evidence-based information throughout. Covers key topics such as radiation oncology, medical oncology including targeted therapies, and maxillofacial prosthodontics and dental oncology. Addresses the day-to-day, practical care of patients with basic operating room techniques and technology, intraoperative decisions, and post-operative care for patients undergoing head and neck surgery. Enhanced eBook version included with purchase. Your enhanced eBook allows you to access all of the text, figures, and references from the book on a variety of devices.
eBooks
Novel Therapies in Head and Neck Cancer: Beyond the Horizon by
Novel Therapies in Head and Neck Cancer: Beyond the Horizon, Volume Twelve, provides a high-level synthesis of the latest treatments and outcomes relating to head and neck cancer. Chemotherapy and immunotherapy for those cancer types are rapidly evolving, and an updated source based on the expertise of internationally renowned researchers is necessary. This book discusses the outcome of recent trials using chemotherapy, novel approaches for HPV+ SCCA, cases in which immunotherapy is more likely to be successful, and precision medicine based on target therapies. Additionally, new approaches for rare diseases in head and neck and novel drug delivery platforms are presented. This book will be a very useful source so that students, scientists and clinicians who can be facile with the data, build on what is known, and continue to offer cutting-edge, validated therapies to all patients.
ISBN: 9780128206799Publication Date: 2020-06-29
Oral, Head and Neck Oncology and Reconstructive Surgery by
Oral, Head and Neck Oncology and Reconstructive Surgery is the first multidisciplinary text to provide readers with a system for managing adult head and neck cancers based upon stage. Using an evidence-based approach to the management and treatment of a wide variety of clinical conditions, the extensive experience of the author and contributors in head and neck surgery and oncology are highlighted throughout the text. This includes computer aided surgical simulation, intraoperative navigation, robotic surgery, endoscopic surgery, microvascular reconstructive surgery, molecular science, and tumor immunology. In addition, high quality photos and illustrations are included, which are easily accessible on mobile devices. Management protocols and outcomes assessment provide clear guidelines for managing problems related to adult head and neck oncology and reconstructive surgery. State-of-the art guidance by recognized experts details current techniques as well as technological advances in head and neck/cranio-maxillofacial surgery and oncology. Evidence-based content details the latest diagnostic and therapeutic options for treating a wide-variety of clinical problems with an emphasis on surgical technique and outcomes. Multidisciplinary approach reflects best practices in managing head and neck oncology and cranio-maxillofacial surgery. 900 highly detailed images clearly demonstrate pathologies and procedures. Designed for the modern classroom which lets you access important information anywhere through mobile tablets and smart phones.
ISBN: 9780323265683Publication Date: 2017-08-24
Prosthetic Rehabilitation of Head and Neck Cancer Patients by
The management of malignant tumors associated with the maxilla, tongue, floor of the mouth, mandible, and adjacent structures represents a difficult challenge for the surgical specialist and prosthodontist regarding both control of the primary disease and rehabilitation following surgical treatment. Prosthetic Rehabilitation of Head Neck Cancer Patients is an easy-to-read clinical guide covering the latest multidisciplinary approaches to the treatment of head and neck cancers - from effective surgical management to psychosocial aspects and improved quality of life. Discusses rehabilitation of various defects in the head neck region due to surgical resection of tumors with newly available technology. Covers interdisciplinary surgical management, including both prosthetic treatment and psychosocial management related to craniomaxillofacial rehabilitation, with a focus on improving patients' quality of life. Offers a multidisciplinary approach with valuable contributions from a variety of specialists with experience in head and neck cancer rehabilitation.
ISBN: 9780323823944Publication Date: 2023-08-01
